HISTORY OF
HURON COUNTY,
OHIO: ITS
PROGRESS AND
DEVELOPMENT, ..
Abraham J. Baughman
Digitized by Google
U\ 2 ^ b * Google
I V 8
Digitized by Google
HISTORY
OF
HURON COUNTY
OHIO
ITS PROGRESS AND DEVELOPMENT
By A. J. BAUGHMAN
With Biographical Sketches of Prominent Citizens
of the County
ILLUSTRATED
VOLUME I
CHICAGO
THE S. J. CLARKE PUBLISHING CO.
1909
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
PREFACE
It has been well and truthfully said that fortunately the present occupants of
the Firelands are not like those of some other countries, compelled to plunge
into the chaos of antiquity for the origin of their settlements or to trace the
founders of their prosperity to the caverns of the barbarian or to the sucklings
of a wolf. The inhabitants of the pioneer period of the Firelands were for the
most part, a noble-minded, generous people, bold and brave in the defense of
right and upright in their dealings.
Like their ancestors of Plymouth Rock, the Firelanders when they arrived
on the Western Reserve felt that they had reached the theater upon which duty,
as well as interest, commanded them to devote their labors and their lives.
Having entered the threshold of the second century in the history of Huron
county, a retrospective glance at the progress made during those hundred years
reveals achievements of which the first settlers of the Firelands never dreamed.
Being blessed with natural resources, with a healthful climate and a fertile soil,
these with the industry and activity of an enterprising people made the success
that has since been achieved.
The hand of improvement has certainly here been employed, and in that
hundred years, which is only a short time, as nations reckon time, all these ad-
vancements have taken place. The land once covered by the forest is now cul-
tivated fields. District schools have sprung up on all sides and churches are to
be seen in all parts of the country.
Markets for the purchase of all kinds of products have been opened upon
every hand, whereas then they had none. The manners of the people and the
fashions of dress have undergone a revolution. Corn-huskings. flax-pullings
and the old festive games have been put aside for the supposed more accom-
plished amusements of modern times. The still-houses have vanished. And
those who first broke the silence that reigned here in the wilderness in 1 8 r i
have disappeared — some to make new settlements farther west, and others have
gone the way of all things earthly. Some were cut off in the midst of their
toil and were buried amid the scenes of their labors. Some lived to sec what
was once a wilderness changed to a land smiling with peace and plenty, peopled
with intelligent beings and went down to the tomb full of years.
Digitized by Google
4
PREFACE.
The author acknowledges himself indebted to the members of the Advisory
Board for their encouragement and assistance, and to the press for its friendly
notices. Also, to other friends for their assistance in the gathering and in the
compilation of the matter contained in this work. To the Firelands publications
and to Williams' History of Huron County we are indebted for information
which doubtless might have been unattainable otherwise.
And my thanks are especially due to the Hon. C. H. Gallup, president of
the Firelands Historical Society, for courtesies and valuable information.
Many biographical sketches are given in this work, for biography is the
meat and marrow of history. The aim has been to discriminate carefully in the
selection of subjects, although names worthy of perpetuation have in a number
of instances been omitted, either on the account of the apathy of those con-
cerned or the inability of the compilers to secure the necessary information for
the same.
A. J. Baughman,
November, 1909. Mansfield, Ohio.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
HISTORY OF THE FIRELANDS.
The history of the Firelands and of Huron county are, to a great extent the
same. The Firelands embrace the whole of Erie and Huron counties, exclu-
sive of Kelley's island, and include the township of Ruggles, now a part of
Ashland county and the township of Dunbury, now included in the county of
Ottawa. The history of this region, as well as of the entire continent prior to
the period of modern discovery, is a matter of conjecture and will not be con-
sidered here.
What was the "Great West," but what has long since lost that appellation,
was a vast track lying south of the great lakes and between the Allegheny moun-
tains and the Mississippi river, and was for a long time a disputed territory,
claimed alike by the French and English governments. The English based their
title on the discoveries by the Cabots in 1497 and 1498, and therefore claimed
to own the Atlantic coast from New Foundland to Florida, and between those
points westward across the continent from ocean to ocean. The French, how-
ever, disputed the English title and asserted in their own behalf the ownership
of what are now the British possession on the Atlantic coast as far north as
Labrador and their claim extended inland so as to embrace the entire valley of
the St. Lawrence and the Mississippi rivers, thus encircling the English ter-
ritory from the Atlantic westward and south to the Gulf of Mexico.
The rival claims of France and England to this vast territory were long the
source of dissension between those nations until the treaty of Paris in 1763,
by which France ceded to England all her claims to the Canadas and the ad-
jacent provinces. Up to this time the French had, as against the English, held
exclusive possession of the entire valleys of the St. Lawrence and Mississippi,
and the English government had, notwithstanding the contested character of
its title, proceeded as though its ownership was unquestioned, and the King of
England had by various patents, granted from time to time to divers persons
and companies tracts of land of great extent.
Tn 1606, James I., to encourage settlement granted the territory, twelve de-
grees in extent from Cape Fear to Halifax, all then called Virginia to two
Digitized by Google
6
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
associations, known as the Plymouth Company and the London Company. The
northern portion, then called North Virginia, was assigned to the Plymouth
Company, hut the name was soon changed to New England.
In 1628, that portion of the territory covered by the Plymouth patent and
known as Massachusetts extended from the Atlantic ocean to the South sea.
Under a conformatory charter the Connecticut colony was invested with a title
to "all that part of our dominions in New England in America bounded on the
east by Narragansett river, where the river falleth into the sea, and on the
north by the line of Massachusetts plantation and in longitude as the line of
Massachusetts colony running east to west."
This grant embraced a territory of the width of the state of Connecticut and
extending westward from Rhode Island to the Pacific ocean, an area five times
as large as the state of Ohio.
The Firelands now include only the counties of Erie and Huron, and Ruggles
township in Ashland county, which was formerly a part of Huron, and the
township of Danbury in Ottawa county.
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY.
Huron county was formed February 7, 1800, and organized in 1815. It
originally constituted the whole of "the Firelands." The name. Huron, was
given by the French to the Wyandot tribe : its signification is probably unknown.
The surface is mostly level, some parts slightly undulating; soil mostly sandy
mixed with clay, forming a loam. In the northwest part are some prairies, and
in the northern part arc the sand ridges which run on the southern side of I«ike
Erie and vary in width from a few rods to more than a mile. Huron was much
reduced in 1838. in population and area, by the formation of Erie county.
Area about 450 square miles. In 1887 the acres cultivated were 1 39.956; in
pasture, 79,044; woodland, 36,032; lying waste, 2,697; produced in wheat,
459.057 bushels; rye. 5.123; buckwheat, 929; oats, 1.035,918; barley, 5,167;
corn, 698,536; broom corn, 200 lbs. brush; meadow hay, 34.880 tons; clover
hay, 6,837; flax, 20,300 lbs. fibre; potatoes, 108,166 bushels; butter, 982.078
lbs.; cheese. 347.037; sorghum, 2,218 gallons; maple sugar 23,087 lbs.; honey,
11,672; eggs. 403.179 dozen: grapes. 3.579 lbs.; sweet potatoes, 89 bushels;
apples, 35.552; peaches, 4.052; pears, 923: wool. 539-534 lbs.; milch cows owned.
7,756. School census, 1888, 9.929; teachers. 353. Miles of railroad track 138.
TOWNSHIPS AND CENSUS. 1 84O. l88o. TOWNSHIPS AND CENSUS. 1840. l88o.
Rronson 1. 291 1.092 Norwich 676 1,157
Clarksfield 1,473
Fairfield 1.067
Fitch ville 1,294
Greenfield 1*460
Greenwich 1.067
Hartland 925
Lyme 1,318
New Haven 1,270
New London 1,218
1,042 Xorwalk 2.613 7.078
1.359 Peru 1.998 1,194
822 Richmond 306 1,014
000 Rtdgefield 1.59*1 2,359
1,376 Ripley 804 1,038
954 Ruggles 1,244
2-575 Sherman (*)2 1.223
1.807 Townsend 868 1.405
1.764 VVakeman 702 1.450
Digitized by Google
THE OLD PIONEERS
eeting of the Firelands Historical Society, hold at the home of Martin Kellogg
in Bronaon, to celebrate his one hundredth birthday, September 21, 1886.
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
9
Population of Huron in 1820 was 6,677; in 1830, 13,340; in 1840, 23,934;
i860, 29,616; 1880, 31,608, of whom 21,728 were born in Ohio; 3,142 New
York; 963 Pennsylvania; 124 Indiana; 76 Virginia; 54 Kentucky; 1,783 Ger-
man Empire ; 800 England and Wales ; 684 Ireland ; 201 British America ; 103
France; 69 Scotland, and 3 Sweden and Norway. Census of 1890 was 31.049.
Huron county lies in the southwest portion of the Connecticut Western Re-
serve, and originally and for many years after its settlement it comprised all
of the Firelands, or five hundred thousand acres. Its southern boundary is
the forty-fi r st parallel of latitude, and until 1838, when Erie county was formed
out of its territory, it extended northwest to the shores of Lake Erie, including
the peninsula and islands north of Sandusky bay.
The townships in the county were as nearly as possible laid out five miles
square, but owing to the fact that the breadth of the Firelands' tract, from east
to west, is twenty-five miles, fifty-one chains and thirty-two links, each town-
ship, from east to west, is a fraction more than five miles in extent.
The county is, then, generally speaking, a rectangle, twenty-five miles long
by twenty miles in width — its greater length being from east to west. By the
original survey, each township was to contain about sixteen thousand acres
of land. This would give the area of the county as four hundred and seventy-
five square miles, or three hundred and six thousand acres. The auditor's
duplicate for 1877 has three hundred and six thousand and ninety-seven acres,
which, however, does not include lands regularly laid out into town lots. Land
occupied by roads is sometimes, but not generally omitted, as are public grounds,
cemeteries, etc. ; so that probably two or three thousand acres are thus left out.
The county is bounded on the north by Erie county, on the east by Lorain
and Ashland, on the south by Ashland and Richland, and on the west by Seneca
and Sandusky counties. It has nineteen townships, as follows: Wakeman,
Clarksfield. New London, Townsend. Hartland. Fitchville, Greenwich, Norwalk,
Bronson, Fairfield, Ripley, Ridgefield. Peru, Greenfield, New Haven, Lyme,
Sherman, Norwich and Richmond. Its principal towns and villages are Nor-
walk, Bellevue. Monroeville. Plymouth, Wakeman, New London and Collins.
The county originally comprised twenty townships, but Ruggles was set off
at the formation of Ashland county in 1846, and became a part of that county.
The village of Bellevue lies partly in Sandusky county, and that of Plymouth
partly in Richland county.
Huron county has no lakes or considerable ponds; no large or navigable
streams ; no high hills, rocky ledges, nor ravines or gorges of considerable
depth or extent, and yet the surface is far from an unbroken monotonous plain ;
on the contrary, it is pleasantly diversified with hills and dales of often pictur-
esque beauty and attractiveness. The slope of the county is to the northward,
the numerous streams that are found within its limits all bearing tribute to Lake
Erie. On its southern boundary these streams are well nigh insignificant in
size ; in fact, within five miles, the divide is reached, south of which the streams
are tributary to the great Mississippi basin. Huron county is drained by two
principal water courses — Huron and Vermillion rivers — at the mouth of each,
especially at the former, there are good harbors ; but the streams themselves
are too small to be navigable to any distance. However, by the aid of a canal
Digitized by Google
10
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
the former stream was at one time ascended by lake craft as far as the village
of Milan.
Vermillion river has its source in Savannah lake, Ashland county, where
it connects with streams which are tributary to the Ohio, the valleys uniting
at the divide in a continuous channel, now deeply filled with drift, indicating
that the drainage of both valleys was formerly southward. The connection of
the head waters of Huron river with the streams running south is not so dis-
tinctly marked, yet it can be easily traced between them and the two valleys, one
to the east and one to the west of Mansfield, in Richland county, where the
drainage is also to the south.
October 19. 1809. the directors ordered that a road be laid out and cut through
Huron county, from north to south, passing from, or near the shore of Lake
Eric, on the cast side of Huron river, running thence on the most suitable
route until it strikes near the center of the north line of the township of Nor-
walk. and thence southward on a line as near the center of the other township
as the ground will admit ; that William Eldridge be appointed agent to cause
the road to be laid out and cut. causewayed, logged and bridged in the best
and most prudent way regarding the interest of the Firelands Company ; to be
cut and cleared off at least sixteen feet in width, and the stumps to be cut down
smooth with the surface of the ground at least twelve feet in width. The sum
of eight hundred dollars was appropriated for the work, the agent to receive
no compensation for his services.
A second and similar road was ordered laid out north and south through
the county, on or near the line between the twentieth and twenty-fist ranges.
Six hundred dollars was appropriated for the work, and Ebenezer Jesup. Jr..
appointed agent to carry it into effect, and to serve without compensation.
A third, leading east and west in the county, to commence on the east side
thereof, at the termination of the road already laid, marked or cut through
the lands of the Connecticut Land Company, leading from the Portage in the
southerly part thereof, butting on said east line, and extend to, or near the
middle or center of the south line of the town of Norwalk until it intersects the
road already voted to be laid out, or as near as the nature of the ground will
admit.
That a fourth road be laid out to commence at or near the south line of
Norwalk. where the north and south road crosses it. then running west on town-
ship lines, or as near the same as practicable, to the west line of the county.
Another similar road to begin on the south line of Fairfield at the north
and south road and running west, following town lines as near as practicable to
the county line.
Five hundred dollars were appropriated for the construction of the first
road and six hundred dollars for the other two roads, and Isaac Mills appointed
agent to construct them, to serve without compensation. On January 31, 1811,
an act was passed further organizing Huron county, but the war with England
prevented it from being carried out. until January 31. 1815. The first court of
common pleas was held at the county scat, in Avery township, (now Milan.)
Cee>rgc Tod. presiding judge, and Jabez Wright. Stephen Meeker and Joseph
Strong, associates. Complaint having been made that the location of the county
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
11
seat was unsuitable, the legislature was induced, on the 26th day of January.
1818, to appoint Abraham Tappan. of Geauga. William Wetmore, of Portage,
and Elias Lee, of Cuyahoga county as commissioners to view the present seat
of justice of Huron county, and to investigate the claims of other localities,
and if they should consider that the interests of the county require it, were au-
thorized to remove it to such a place as in their judgment might be more
suitable.
The proprietors of Norwalk were much interested in securing a report in
favor of their infant village, and were not, it is to be presumed, backward in
presenting its claims, which they did with so much success that the commis-
sioners decided in their favor and removed the county seat thither.
The first meeting of the commissioners of Huron county was held at the
county seat, in Avery, on August 1, 181 5, at the house of David Abbott. The
commissioners were Caleb Palmer, Charles Parker and Eli S. Barnum : Ichabod
Marshall was appointed clerk, pro tern. Abijah Comstock was appointed county
treasurer.
Among the townships set oft were the following:
Vermillion, to comprise the whole of the twentieth range, together with
all that tract of country belonging to Huron county, east of the twentieth range.
Greenfield, to comprise townships numbers two and three in the twenty-
first, twenty-second" twenty-third and twenty-fourth ranges.
New Haven, to comprise township number one, in the twenty-first, twenty-
second, twenty-third and twenty-fourth ranges.
The commissioners decided at this meeting that the bounty for killing wolves
in the county of Huron to be paid by said county shall be: For each wolf scalp
more than six months old. two dollars; for each wolf scalp less than six months
old. one dollar. They also ordered that the building at the county seat which
hitherto has been occupied as a school-house, should, for the future, tie used for
a courthouse and gaol until other arrangements could be made.
The second board of commissioners consisted of Nathan Cummins, for one
year; Frederick Falley. for two years; and Bildad Adams, for three years; the
length of service being determined by lot. and appointed Frederick Falley as
their clerk. The meeting was held at the house of David Abbott, Esq., at the
county seat, on the first Monday of December. 181 5.
The following townships were ordered set off: Ridgefield. comprising the
townships of Ridgefield. and Lyme, together with the township of Sherman.
June. 1S22. the wolf bounty was fixed at one dollar and fifty cents for each
wolf over six months old. and seventy-five cents for jhosc under that age.
August 12, 1818, it was ordered by the commissioners that notice be given
that the commissioners will, on the first Monday of December following, re-
ceive proposals for a court house, forty by thirty feet, and a jail ; and on the
7th of December following, the commissioners purchased a building of David
Underbill & Company for a court house, for the sum of eight hundred and
forty-eight dollars.
March 2. 1819. the commissioners contracted with Piatt Benedict to build a
jail, twenty-four by forty-six feet, two stories high, for the sum of one thousand
two hundred and seventy-five dollars.
Digitized by Google
12
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The first term of court was held at the old county seat, in October, 1815.
In Vermillion there were two extensive fortifications on the banks of the
river of the same name, and another in the southern part of the township.
There were, in the same township, a number of mounds in which human skele-
tons and scattered bones were found.
In Berlin, in the western part of the township, there was a mound covering
a quarter of an acre, with large trees growing upon it. Near the center of the
township, on the farm formerly owned by the late Lewis Osborn, was another
mound, and in the northern part of the township, a fortification.
In Huron township, mounds were found on the highlands on both sides
of the river. Two of these mounds on the west side of the river and about two
miles from its mouth, were quite large and nearly round. Human bones and
"beads of different colors" were found in them.
In Ridgefield township, Huron county, circular fortifications were found
in lot two and lot three of the first section, and a small mound containing human
bones, in lot eighteen of the second section. The fortifications are on high
banks of branches of the Huron river.
In Norwalk there were three fortifications near the Ridgefield line, and
crossing it, on the farm now owned by Isaac Underhill. That gentleman has
preserved reminiscences of his plowing, when a boy, through the dry and
brittle bones of the men of whom these works are the monuments.
In the western part of New Haven township was a circular fortification with
large trees growing on its embankments when first discovered.
Except a few "conical mounds" said to have been found in Norwich, in
the southeast part of the township.
ROSTER OI COUNTY OFFICIALS OF HURON COUNTY FOR I909.
Circuit Court — Sixth District: lion S. A. Wildman, Hon. R. R. Kinkaid, Hon.
R. S. Parker.
Common Picas Court — Hon. C. S. Reed, Hon. S. S. Richards, Hon. S. P.
Alexander.
Member of Congress — Fourteenth District: Hon. William G. Sharp, Elyria.
State Senator — Hon. T. A. Dean, Fremont.
Representative — Hon. S. E. Crawford, Norwalk.
Probate Court— Hon. A. E. Rowley, Judge; Mrs. Edith Orr and Marguerite
Schock, Deputies.
Auditor—). E. Smith; Deputy, Adelbert S. Vail.
Clerk— C. E. Tucker; Deputy, Clark Blackman.
Treasurer — John McMann; Deputy, Jennie D. Griffin.
Sheriff — W. H. Sattig; Deputy, Clifford Powers.
Recorder — Carl C. Thompson ; Deputy, Arlie A. Holiday.
Prosecuting Attorney — Don J. Young.
Surveyor — Kicth Van Horn; Deputy, L. C. Herrick.
Commissioners — H. G. Trimner, W. H. Grant, H. A. McDonald.
Infirmary Directors — W. G. Blackmore, J. E. Seeley, C. H. Willoughby: Super-
intendent, A. G. Bedford.
Digitized by GoogU^
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
13
Coroner— Dr. E. W. Crecelius.
Court Stenographer and Laxv Librarian — W. R. Bathrick.
Court Bailiff — George H. Gates.
Jury Commission — Frederick Burk. W. S. Weston, Jay Wheeler, H. C. Barnard.
Deputy State Supervisors of Election—]. M. Bechtol, Clerk; William H. Kiefer,
Chief Deputy; W. D. Johnson, Leroy Hoyt, J. F. Henninger.
Blind Commission— Hon. C. P. Venus, Dr. R. H. Reynolds, W. W. Whiton,
Esq.
Board of County V isitors— Hon. H. S. Mitchell, Mrs. E. K. Fisher, S. Gray,
Miss Lottie Gibbs, Hon. C. P. Venus, Mrs. John Rexford.
Janitor — A. J. Curren ; Assistant, Julius Davis.
THE FIRST SETTLERS OF THE TOWNSHIPS.
After the organization of Erie county, March 15, 1838, Huron county was
left with only twenty townships, whose settlements occurred as follows:
Norwalk, in 1809 by Nathan S. Comstock of New Canaan, Connecticut.
Greenfield, in 1810 by William McKelvey, Jr., of Trumbull county, Ohio.
Lyme, in 181 1 by Asa Sherwood of Homer, New York.
New Haven, in 181 1 by Caleb Palmer of Trumbull county, Ohio.
Townsend, in 181 1 by George Miller of Pennsylvania.
Ridgefield, in 181 1 by William Frink.
Sherman, in 181 2 by Samuel Seymour, Burrell Fitch and Daniel Sherman
of Norwalk, Connecticut.
Bronson, in 181 5 by John Welch of Pennsylvania.
New London, in 181 5 by Abner Green of Vermont.
Peru, in 181 5 by Henry Adams, of Marlborough, Vermont, Elihu Clary and
William Smith of Deerficld, Massachusetts.
Fairfield, in 1816 by Widow Sample of Newark, Ohio.
Norwich, in 18 16 by Chauncey Woodruff and Wilder Lawrence of Saratoga
county, New York.
Wakeman, in 1816 by Augustin Canfield of New Milford, Connecticut.
Clarksfield, in 1817 by Samuel Hustead and Ezra Wood of Danbury, Con-
necticut.
Hartland, in 181 7 by William and Alva Munsell.
Fitch ville, in 181 7 by Peter and Abraham Mead of Connecticut, and Amos
Reynolds.
Greenwich, in 181 7 by Henry Carpenter of Ulster county, New York.
Ruggles, in 1823 by Daniel Beach.
Richmond, in 1825 by William Tindall.
Ripley, in 1825 by Moses Inscho. D. Hroomback and James Dickson.
In 1846 the county of Ashland was organized. At that time the old con-
stitution of Ohio provided that no new counties should be created with less than
four hundred square miles of territory, nor should any old county be reduced
to less than that amount. In order to give the new county of Ashland the
constitutional amount of territory, it was found that Huron, among other coun-
ties, would have to be encroached upon, and Ruggles, our southeast corner town,
was taken away from us and became part of the new county.
Digitized by Google
14
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
INTERESTING HISTORICAL DATA FROM THE FOUNDING OF PLYMOUTH COLONY TO
THE SETTLEMENT OF NOR WALK IN l8oO.
HY HON. C. II. GALLUP.
The Pilgrims were English "Separatists" who sailed from Delfshaven (in
the Netherlands) in the Mayflower and founded Plymouth Colony, New Eng-
land, Novemher n, 1620. In 1630 they were followed by others of like faith
and hopes, among whom was John Winthrop, bearing a royal commission as
governor of Massachusetts Colony. April 23, 1662, John Winthrop and eight-
een associates received from Charles II., of England, the munificent grant of
"All that part of our dominions in New England in America," * * * from
"Narragansett Bay on the east to the South Sea on the west, with the islands
thereto adjoining." The same year "The Solemn League and Covenant" for
religious reforms and liberties in England, Scotland and Ireland was renounced
and by order of King Charles declared illegal.
In 1685 Louis XIV., of France, revoked the "Edict of Nantes" the charter of
Huguenot liberties. Those reactionary measures placed the brightest intellects
of Europe at the mercy of bigotry and intolerance and drove the independent,
brainy men of many faiths and nationalities to this new world to find and estab-
lish civil and religious liberty. The descendants of the composite race thus be-
gotten, formed the finest body of creative statesmen since the days of "Moses
the Lawgiver" and gave this country the proud title of "The Beacon Light of
Liberty."
In 1770, George III., in an effort to check and destroy this new spirit of
liberty which was challenging the "Divine Right of Kings to Rule" sent Gov-
ernor Tryon and Benedict Arnold with an army into Connecticut that des-
troyed Greenwich, Fairfield, Danbury, Ridgefield, Norwalk, New Haven, East
Haven, New London and Groton by fire.
September 13. 1786, Connecticut ceded to the United States for the benefit
of herself and the twelve other states, all of the King Charles grant lying west
of a line parallel to, and one hundred and twenty miles west, from the west line
of Pennsylvania. (West boundaries of Huron and Erie counties.) The one
hundred and twenty mile strip was reserved from that concession of Con-
necticut and has ever since been known as "The Western Reserve."
In 1792, the state of Connecticut, to reimburse those of her citizens who
suffered loss by the Tryon-Arnold raid, dedicated five hundred thousand acres
of land lying next to the west line of "The Western Reserve" (Huron and
Erie counties, or Huron county as first organized). This grant to the fire
sufferers is known as "The Firelands." Disputes arose between the grantors
and the United States relating to the ownership of the land. May 30, 1800,
the United States ceded the land titles to the fire sufferers and the representa-
tives of the "Reserve" transferred the political jurisdiction to the general gov-
ernment. The Indian title was extinguished by treaty July 4, 1805, on payment
of eighteen thousand nine hundred and sixteen dollars and sixty-seven cents.
Thomas Comstock, of New Canaan, Connecticut, after the British raid, ex-
tended shelter and such assistance as he could to many of the Norwalk suffer-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
15
ers. To repay his kindness, Simeon Raymond and Gould Hoyt released to him
their claims in the Firelands. aggregating six hundred and twenty-three pounds,
fifteen shillings and three and one-half pence, which under the plan of distrib-
ution made Mr. Comstock the owner of lots numbers twenty-four to thirty-eight
containing one thousand three hundred and sixty-one acres in the second section,
and lots numbers fifty to fifty-six containing six hundred and eighty-four and
one-quarter acres in the third section of Norwalk. In 1806, Nathan S. Com-
stock, son of Thomas, came on to look at and locate his father's lands but failed
to find them. Early in the spring of 1809, bringing with him from Connecticut,
Darius Ferris and Elijah Hoyt, he was more successful and found the land.
Milan was then Pequattiag. a Moravian Indian village. The Indians were
very friendly and gave the pioneers the use of their mission house until they
could build a home for themselves. This home was made of logs, with a
"puncheon" door; its root of "shakes;" its bedsteads were bunks made of poles
driven into clefts between the logs: its mattresses of sacks stuffed with leaves
and moss; its floor of mother earth; its cooking range a brass kettle hung on a
pole supported on two crotched stakes ; its window lights of greased paper.
It was no palace, but rough and strong and made for service, like the strong-
willed, iron-handed men who built it ; it was a home, the first home of .Xonvalk.
It stood a few rods northeast from the "Old State Road" brick schoolhouse,
and near the remains of one of "Johnny Appleseed's" old apple trees and was
the birthplace of Thomas Comstock. the first white child born in Norwalk,
in August, 1812.
In returning to his old home after his family, in the fall of 1809, Nathan S.
Comstock encountered such exposure as to impair his health and he never re-
turned, but sold his possessions to Abijah, his brother, who made them his home
in 1810. Abijah became the first county treasurer of Huron county. After he
had collected the taxes, friends successfully importuned loans of money promis-
ing repayment in time for his settlement with the county commissioners. As is
usual in such cases, they failed to make good. When confronted with his de-
falcation, he lost no time in returning to his old home, mortgaged all his Nor-
walk property back to his brother. Nathan S. : came back to Norwalk and faith-
fully fulfilled his trust, dollar for dollar. He never recovered his losses, but
lived an honest and honored life. He was the brother of Mrs. Eben Boalt, who
was the mother of Augusta Boalt, of Cleveland, and the late Giles and Stephen
Boalt. of Norwalk. Nathan S. was the father of the late Philo. Comstock, of
Milan, whose descendants still hold "the old farm." This review is but a
brief outline of events which have been our lives for the hundred years now
closing. It stops on the threshold of this just maturing first century.
We are to celebrate the event by the return of our sons and daughters, by
reunions, reminders and rejuvenations.
On Firelands Day. there will be much in reminiscent review of this passing
ten-of-tens. Come and help in the review of our century and bring some one
or more contributions to the rare historic collection of the Firelands historical
museum, that you may there be represented and remembered in the coming
centuries.
Digitized by Google
16
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
In October, 1826, an association of individuals was organized, under the
name of "The President, Trustees, etc., of the Nor walk Academy." A three-
story brick building was erected on the site of our present high school. In
October, 1829, the academy was consolidated with the district schools with
John Kennan as principal.
In the museum and the Firelands historical society may be seen a catalogue
of the officers and students of Norwalk academy under date of March 17,
1829. Trustees: Piatt Benedict, president; Timothy Baker, Deverett Bradley,
William Gallup, Henry Buckingham. Thaddeus B. Sturgess, Obadiah Jenney.
John Kennan, principal. Nathan G. Sherman, Levina Lindsey, assistants.
On the eleventh of November, 1833, the Norwalk seminary was opened in
the academy building under the auspices of the Methodist Episcopal church,
with Rev. Jonathan E. Chaplin as principal. The seminary burned February 26,
1836; was rebuilt in 1838, and closed in January, 1846, and the whole prop-
erty sold under execution in favor of the builders. Reopened as Norwalk insti-
tute in August, 1846, under the auspices of the Baptists of Norwalk.
Rev. Jeremiah Hall was the first principal of the "Institute," and was suc-
ceeded by A. S. Hutchins, who continued as principal until 1855, when the
institute ceased to exist by reason of the Akron school law providing for graded
public schools.
In March, 1855, the school board purchased the brick building occupied by
the Norwalk institute, to be used as a central and high school building for the
district. The purchase price was three thousand five hundred dollars which
embraced the entire square occupied by the present beautiful high school build-
ing, a small library and some apparatus. In 1884 the central school building
was erected at a cost of about sixty thousand dollars. The first graduate of
the high school was Sarah E. Wilkinson in 1861. The largest class graduated
is the class of 1905 numbering eighteen young men and sixteen young women.
In all, two hundred and thirty-one young men and three hundred and ninety-
five young women have been graduated from the Norwalk high school.
HURON COUNTY'S SOLDIERS.
Huron county has always had patriots ready and willing to answer any and
all calls the government made upon it for troops. Hundreds of her sons perished
in the war for the Union. Hundreds also responded to the call for troops in
our war with Spain.
The author of this work, a soldier himself, would gladly give the name and
service of every Huron county man who served under the "old flag" in any
war in which our country Jias been engaged, but the space allotted for this
work is too limited for such notices.
The soldiers of the army of the United States have ever been actuated by
the impulses and convictions of patriotism and of eternal right, and combined
in the strong hands of fellowship and unity by the toils, the dangers, and the
victories of war.
A G. A. R. post is maintained at Norwalk, and is well attended by the com-
rades.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI* RON" COUNTY
19
In this connection, we copy the following address delivered by the Rev
E. J. Craft, before the Mansfield historical society, June 12, 1902, the subject
of the address being "Our Unknown Heroes." Mr. Craft is a minister of the
Protestant Episcopal church, and at the time of delivering this address was
rector of St. Timothy's, Massillon.
"Standing in our national cemetery at Gettysburg, one can see around him
the marble shafts and granite blocks which mark the resting place of the
nation's illustrious dead. Here and there among them are grim cannon, keep-
ing their sombre guard over the silent city. Down the slope which stretches
away south and eastward, in the early morning I saw thousands, it seemed, of
little marble slabs which the sun's rays kissed into glistening beauty. They bore
the simple inscription 'unknown.' I knew that after the fearful battle hun-
dreds, yes thousands, of dead men were carried hither and buried in these long
trenches — unrecognized ; no loving hand to fashion for them a last resting place ;
no one to preserve their memory and hand down to future generations their
honored names. What part each took in the great struggle, what deeds of
daring and high courage they performed, none but God can know ; but here no
less than there under the Muted marble on which loving hands have caused to
be engraved a fitting eulogy, sleep heroes of our nation, who toiled, suffered
and died that their children might inherit the promise. Lost though their in-
dividuality may be, their personal efforts unknown, intermingled with the deeds
of thousands, as their bones which lie crumbling there, yet no less to them we
owe a nation's debt of gratitude.
"How typical this is of the great movements of society which have brought
the blessing or upliftment to the race of man. Here and there, in these great
epochs of history some figures stand out clear and distinct among th'e multi-
tudes, and around which all interest seems to be concentrated ; but back, far
back, in the past are souls who inflamed with holy zeal and love for eternal
right, have set in motion a current of events which gathering force has burst
forth from obscurity, and sweeping onward irresistibly has carried humanity
on its tide farther up the height of progress.
"In the pages of the ordinary historian their names are unwritten. In-
deed such research from effect to primal cause is for him an impossibility.
He can only gaze upon the superstructure as it emerges from obscurity and
forget those who toiled with bleeding hands upon the foundation far below.
Vet no one can fully appreciate a great movement of society until by tracing
back through the centuries he is able to be in affinity with the thought, condi-
tions, feeling, spirit and the endeavors which gave it birth, and can count the
cost by which the gift has been transmitted to him from the past. That is the
glorious work which is being performed by the Richmond county historical
society. In bringing to life by patient research the early history of Richland
county, telling to the generations of the present the splendid story of the past,
tracing out the conditions which met the pioneers, their heroic struggle and
their achievements, which have resulted in the founding and developing of one
of the most splendid sections of country upon the face of the globe — bringing
before the present generation that history of courage and fortitude, whose re-
membrance cannot but stimulate and intensify the spirit of true manhood — the
Digitized by Google
20
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
love of home, whose every spot is sanctified by the toil and struggle of those
whose hones make of all a hallowed ground.
"It is a worthy task for worthy men, for spirit touches spirit into existence.
A nation's strength is in its history. Generations are what generations have
been. It is the knowledge and veneration for the past which wings loyalty to
jump from one generation to another, as the sun leaps from mountain peak
to mountain peak around the world. For there is that in this history of our
unknown heroes, and in the development upon the foundations they have laid,
which cannot but call forth admiration, which is the parent of emulation, and
he who presents to mankind an ideal which takes hold upon their thoughts and
imagination has given to the world as great a gift as the Olympian Jove of
Phidias or the Madonna of Raphael. And what a subject is here. Adventures
which in interest and exhibition of courage and resource equal the fabled Ulys-
ses, deeds which outrank a Hector's prowess, devotion and sacrifice beyond
that of a Prometheus, heroism transcending a Thermopylae; for even I, un-
skilled in this county's early history, can imagine something of that which took
place in the foundation building, in the long journey from distant states, the
parting of friends, the long look into the perils of the way, the paths they
blazed through the trackless forest, the danger from wild beasts, the weariness,
the ambush of Indians, the battle from the wagons, the shrieks of tortured cap-
tives, the blazing cabins, the mutilated lxnlies in the embers, the anguish of be-
reavement, sickness, the wayside grave, the humble prayer, the battle with the
forests, the clearing of the land, the plowing of the foreign soil, the failure
of crops and the wasting of the famine. Every foot of soil was won by tears
and blood. For us they suffered that we might inherit the promise. Here was
enacted scenes at which a world might well have wondered, and which took as
much true courage as when the Light Brigade charged at Balaklava.
"You, of this historical society, are erecting a monument to the memory of
the early settlers of the county which will far outlast the marble slabs and the
granite shafts. For as we are gathered here to listen to the records of the
past, in the inner sanctuary of every soul, where we have placed the hallowed
images of our ideals, there with warrior, statesman, poet, philosopher and
heroes, we will place one of majestic outline and of lofty inspiration, which we
will consecrate to the unknown heroes — the pioneers of the early days."
THE FIREEANDS.
HV OK. F. E. WEEKS.
Something over two hundred and fifty years ago, John Winthrop of Eng-
land was elected governor of the colony of Massachusetts Bay. He was held
in high esteem by Charles I. King of England, who gave him a magnificent
diamond ring. Eleven years later, after the death of both these men. Charles
II ascended the throne and John Winthrop the second was governor of the
colony of Connecticut. The colonists desired larger possessions and more lib-
erty, and in 1662 they delegated their governor to go to England and endeavor
to obtain from the king a new charter. When Governor Winthrop reached
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI" RON COUNTY
21
England he obtained an interview with the king, and by way of introduction
showed him the ring which the elder Charles had given to the elder Winthrop.
The king was so much affected by the sight of it that he was moved to tears.
At this opportune moment Winthrop presented before the king the prepared
charter which he had brought with him. This document provided for the right
of self government and extended the territory of the colony westward to the
"South Sea" as the Pacific ocean was called. When the king asked how far
it was to the "South Sea," Winthrop said he thought it could be seen from the
western hills of the colony. The requests seemed to the king to be very modest,
so he signed the charter. That charter gave to Connecticut the territory from
which the Western Reserve was created, and much more came of that diamond
ring than the king or John Winthrop dared even dream of. Connecticut en-
joyed the possession of her unbroken wilderness, with its vague western bound-
ary for more than a hundred years.
Owing to the ignorance of the English people and of the colonists them-
selves, of the true extent of the western portion of our land, charters were given
to other colonies which included the same western territory. Fierce disputes
grew out of this as the lands were settled more. Yirginia, Massachusetts, New
York and Connecticut all claimed wide strips from sea to sea. After the war
of the revolution the United States government claimed these disputed tracts
and some bloodshed followed. To settle the matter Connecticut, in 1786,
ceded to the United States all claim to her western lands but reserved a portion
extending one hundred and twenty miles west from the west line of Pennsyl-
vania, and, of course, the same width as the state of Connecticut, with the 41st
parallel of latitude for its southern boundary. This tract of land was called
New Connecticut, or the Western Reserve. The conflicting claims of the other
states were not finally adjusted until 1800. The United States claimed juris-
diction over the Western Reserve, although recognizing the right of Connecticut
to the ownership of the lands.
This tract of land became a portion of the Northwest Territory and was in-
cluded in the state of Ohio when that state was organized. During the war
of the revolution the British sent different expeditions which burned the towns
along the coast of Connecticut. Among these were the towns of New London,
Norwalk and Danbury.
To compensate the sufferers, the state of Connecticut, in 1792, set apart a
portion of the Western Reserve, containing a half million acres of land, and
granted it to them. This was called the "Sufferers" land, or "Firelands," and
was set off from the western extremity of the Reserve, and comprises the pres-
ent counties of Huron and Erie, as well as the townships of Danbury, in Ottawa
county and Ruggles, in Ashland county.
The state of Connecticut incorporated the grantees of the Firelands, some
nineteen hundred in number, into a company which had full power to transact all
business necessary to be done in surveying and dividing the lands. Nothing ap-
pears to have been done until after the state of Ohio was organized in 1802. In
1803 a new charter was granted to the owners of the Firelands by the state of
Ohio. A board of directors was then chosen, and was authorized to extinguish the
Indian titles, to survey the lands into townships and to divide them among the
Digitized by Google
22
HISTORY OF HI" RON COUNTY
owners according to the amount of their individual losses, and to levy a tax to
defray the necessary expenses. On July 4th, 1805, Isaac Mills, as agent of the
company, and one Janett, representing the United States, met the chiefs of the
Indian tribes at Fort Industry, where Toledo now stands, and made a treaty
with them by which all Indian title was relinquished for a sum of money
amounting to about nineteen thousand dollars. Thus the first owners of the
soil were the last to relinquish their claims, and it is gratifying to note that the
claims of the red men were recognized and respected by the Connecticut people.
The title to the Firclands is derived from a monarch of England, from the state
of Connecticut, from the United States and from the Indians.
In i8tx> the territorial government of Ohio established Trumbull county,
comprising the whole of the Western Reserve. In 1805 it was divided and the
counties of Geauga and Portage set off. Huron county was organized Feb-
ruary 7, 1807, but was left attached to Geauga and Portage counties for judicial
purposes. It comprised more than the Firelands at first, but a little later was
reduced to the limits of the Firelands. In 1838 the northern part was cut off
and organized as Eric county. In 1846 Ruggles township was detached to go
towards forming Ashland county.
The first county scat of Huron county was located on the farm of David
Abbott, north of the present village of Milan. This was in 181 1, but in 1818
the location was changed to the new village of Xorwalk.
On December 16, 1805 the Firelands Company, by their agent, Taylor Sher-
man, (grandfather of Hon. John Sherman) contracted with John McLean and
James Clark, of Danbury, Conn., to survey the Firelands "by Almon Ruggles
or some competent person." the outlines of the half million acres to be fixed
and the whole to be run off into townships five miles square, the work to be
done within a year, unless prevented by the Indians, and provided the Congress
of the United States ratified the treaty made at Fort Industry. The United
States did not run the south line of the Western Reserve as soon as expected,
so the time for completing the survey was extended to June 1st, 1807. The
establishment of the south line being still delayed, the directors of the Firelands
Company empowered Isaac Mills and Isaac Pronson to ascertain the true south
boundary of the Reserve, and the southwest corner of the Firelands, as well as
the dividing line between the Firelands and the rest of the Reserve, < which had
been sold to the Connecticut Land Co.). Seth Pease was employed to do the
work. In the spring of 1806 a company of twelve men started from Danbury
to commence the survey which Ruggles had been hired to make. Simeon
Hoyt. who afterwards settled in Clarksficld. was one of the party and was cm-
ployed as flagman to go ahead of the compass. They had eight horses and
three wagons. At Pittsburg Almon Ruggles joined them. They spent some
time at Cleveland ( which had but three families) while preparing tents, pack
saddles and a canoe. The latter was made from the trunk of a tree which
measured eight feet in diameter. Ruggles took part of the men and the canoe
and started out to get the outline of the lake shore, while James Clark took the
rest of the party, of which Hoyt was one. to run the west line. One of their
horses was stolen by the Indians and another was drowned in Rocky river.
When the west line which was to be parallel with the west line of Pennsylvania.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
23
was run, the men went to Huron, where they found the other party. John
Flcmmond had established a trading post at that place in 1805, and there were
plenty of Indians and squaws as well as Canadian Frenchmen. After surveying
the islands in the lake, which Hoyt says was a difficult job on account of the
great number of rattlesnakes and the tree tops, they went to Cleveland to wait
while the surveyors could make their calculations and know just where to run
the east line of the Firclands so as to cut off the half million acres. The most
of the men went back to Connecticut but Hoyt and one other remained with
Ruggles and Clark and were chainmen for them during their surveys of the
winter. They suffered much from the severe cold while working at running
the east linr> and the township lines during this winter. In the spring they
started for Connecticut with only twelve dollars to pay their way. They reached
New York in twenty-one days with fifty cents of their money. From there they
went to Danbury, after an absence of thirteen months. After a time it was
found that the point from which the south line of the Reserve was measured
was two miles too far west, thus making the west line of the Firelands too far
west and the whole work would have to be done again.
Maxficld Ludlow, a deputy surveyor of the United States, then ran the
south and west lines of the Reserve, setting a post at each mile and noting in
his minutes the character of the country passed over. Ruggles then ran the east
line of the Firelands again, commencing June 8th. 1808, Mr. Hoyt again assist-
ing him. The east and west lines of the Firelands were supposed to be parallel
with the west line of Pennsylvania. After the east line was run off the bound-
aries of the townships were marked off and Ruggles returned to Danbury, but
Hoyt and Jahez Wright built a log hut on the bank of Huron river and re-
mained during the winter. When Ruggles returned in the spring of 1809 they
proceeded to survey into lots the townships of Vermillion, Florence. Wakeman
and Clarksfield, and surveyed into sections the townships of New Haven, Nor-
vvalk and Berlin. Mr. Ruggles received the sum of three dollars per mile for
this survey and it is interesting to note that subsequent calculations showed that
the Firclands, as set off by Ruggles contained five hundred thousand and twenty-
seven acres. Mr. Ruggles soon afterwards settled on the lake shore in Ver-
million township, on the farm which includes the well known summer resort of
"Ruggles Beach," and where his son, Richard Ruggles, still lives. Jabez
Wright settled at Huron and Simeon Hoyt in Clarksfield.
These surveying parties encountered many dangers and suffered many
hardships. They lived principally on flour and salt pork, although a woman
at Huron baked bread for them during the last survey. The party was so large
as to frighten the game away and they could not take time to hunt it. We
should honor these pioneer surveyors for their labors in providing a way for
the future settlement of the country.
After the lands were surveyed it was necessary to divide them among the
various proprietors. In 1808 a committee was appointed to devise some plan,
and the following one was adopted. There were thirty townships, each with
four sections, making one hundred and twenty sections. The total amount of
losses sustained by the original grantees was divided by one hundred and twenty
and the quotient, one thousand, three hundred and twenty-four pounds (the
24
HISTORY OF HI' RON COUNTY
English division of money being still in use) represented the value of each
section. One hundred and twenty tickets were prepared, with the names of
claimant whose claims amounted to the total value of one section, written uj>on
each. An equal number of other tickets were prepared with the name of a
township and number of a section written upon each. The tickets were put into
two boxes and one of each kind drawn by a disinterested person, and the sec-
tion thus drawn was the property of the person* whose names were found upon
the other ticket. We do not learn how the different proprietors managed to
divide the sections. The most of the claims had probably been sold to specu-
lators or land companies who obtained possession of large tracts and the actual
settlers often selected the land they desired after they had arrived here. This
drawing was made on the 9th day of November, 1808. Very few, if any. of the
owners of these lands ever lived uj>on them. Among the names of the pro-
prietors or original fire sufferers we find many names which sound familiar to
Clarksfield people, such as Barnes. Cunningham. Huestcd. Knapp. Barnum. Starr.
Mead, Gregory, Finch. Wildman. Hoyt. Wood, etc.
Forty-six differtnt persons by the name of Mead were "sufferers" at the
town of Greenwich. Conn. On account of the method of making the division
of the lands, many of the purchasers of small tracts could not tell where their
land lay until they reached the borders of the Firelands and they could learn
where their township lay. and when the township was reached they had to find
the lot by means of the trees which the surveyor had marked. The location,
might be g<x>d or it might be poor and there was something of a lottery about
it. Some of the pioneers who came from the rocky hillsides of New England
or New York (like the grandfather of the writer) were not able to judge of the
best soil and passed by the sandy land of Berlin township and chose a tract
of dense timber with its heavy clay soil, further from the lake shore. By reason
of the Firelands being owned by so many different persons, all anxious to
sell, the new settlements did not proceed steadily westward from an older
settlement, but were isolated from each other. The date of settlement of the
different townships shows this:
Huron, 1805.
Ridgefield. 181 1.
Vermillion, 1808.
Sherman. 181 1.
Danbury. 1800.
Bronson. 181 5.
Portland, 1809.
New London. 1 81 5.
Grot on. i8og.
Peru, 181 5.
Florence. 1809.
Fairfield, 1816.
Berlin. 1810.
Norwich. 181 7.
Milan. 1810.
Wakcman. 1817.
Margaretta. 1810.
Clarksfield. 1817.
Oxford, 18 10.
< ireenwich. 1817.
Norwalk. 1810.
Hartland, 1817.
Greenfield. 1810.
Fitchvillc. 1817.
Perkins. 1810.
Ruggles. 1823. \
New Haven, 181 1.
Richmond. 1825.
Lyme, 1811.
Ripley. 1825.
Townsend, 181 1.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
25
Prior to and during the War of 1812 emigration to Ohio was slight. After
the war and especially during the years of 1817-18, when there was .1 revival
of trade and those owning property in New Kngland could sell it if they wished
to. there was a great tide of emigration. One other cause operated powerfully
to hasten emigration at this time, viz., the cold summer of 1816. In New Eng-
land there were severe frosts every month in the year, and crops were nearly
destroyed. Mr. Zahez Hanford. of Wakeman, (father of Mrs. Marquis D. Ran-
dall, of Clarksfield ) who lived in Connecticut at this time, made the following
entry in his family Bible: "The year of our Lord 1816 being a remarkable year
is worthy of record. The spring was very cold and backward with considerable
thunder. From the 6th to the 10th day of June, very cold with severe frost.
The ground froze to some thickness; the wind generally from the north and
dry. Snow fell in Canada on the 10th of this month twelve inches deep. Corn
all cut to the ground. The first of August the summer continues to be dry and
cold. The corn is now very small with but little hope of a crop. Frosts July
24th. August 27th and 29th, so that clothes spread out were frozen stiff."
Communication by railroad, canals and steamboats did not exist as now and
it was difficult to get food from other sections of the country. The follow-
ing winter was severe and the spring backward. There was much distress and
many people nearly perished from starvation. At this time highly colored stories
of the rich soil and mild climate of Ohio were circulated. A sort of stampede
took place from the cold and desolate hills of New England to the land which
promised so much. One writer says that he well remembered the tide of emi-
gration through and from Connecticut on its way west during the summer of
1 81 7. Some persons went in covered wagons — frequently a family consisting
of father, mother and eight or nine small children, with perhaps one a babe
at the hreast — some on foot and some crowded together under the cover with
kettles, gridirons, feather beds, crockery and the family Rible, Watts' Psalms
and Hymn Book and Webster's spelling book. Others started in ox carts and
trudged on foot at the rate of ten miles a day. Many of these persons were in
a state of poverty and begged their way as they went. Some of them died be-
fore they reached their destination.
The roads over the Alleghenies between Philadelphia and Pittsburg were
then rxide, steep and dangerous and some of the more precipitous slopes were con-
sequently strewn with the carcasses of wagons, carts and oxen which had been
'shipwrecked* in their perilous descents. The scenes on the road— of families
gathered at night in miserable sheds called taverns, mothers frying, children cry-
ing, fathers swearing — were a mingled comedy of errors. Even when they arrived
at their new homes * * * frequently the whole family — father, mother, chil-
dren — speedily exchanged the fresh complexion and elastic step of their first
abodes for the sunken check and languid movement which marks the victim of
intermittent fever.
The above sketch will show that our ancestors did not always find the path
to a new home in the wilderness one of roses.
Henry Howe, the Ohio historian, in "The Family Magazine" of 1837 say* :
"The frontispiece of the present number represents a halt for the night of an emi-
grant with bi> family ; one, perhaps, who has left his native M>il and the inheritance
Digitized by Google
26
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
of his lathers, and seeks in the far west for that independence in his worldly cir-
cumstances which he has tried in vain to gain from the stony and harren patri-
monial homestead ; or perhaps one who has looked on his rapidly increasing fam-
ily, and, ambitious of doing something for his children while he is in the prime ot
Hie, or anxicu? to see them settled comfortably around him. that his old age may
he cheered b> their presence, has resolved to go to the far west, the land which
is represented as Hewing with milk and honey, the land which repays with an
hundred fold the labour expended upon it. and the riches of whose bosom far
exceed thi.se in the mines of Peru. Resolved to emigrate, the emigrant collects
together his little property, and provides himself with a wagon and two or three
horses, as his means permit ; a rifle, a shot gun and an axe slung over his shoulder
form part of his equipments, and his trusty dog becomes the companion of his
journey. In the wagon are placed his bedding, his provisions, and such cooking
utensils as are indispensably necessary. Everything being ready, the wife and
children take their stats, the father of the family mounts the box, and now they
are on the move. As they pass through the village which has been to them the
scene of many happy hours, they take a last look at the spots which are hallowed
ty association : the church with its lowly spire, an emblem of that humility which
befits a C hristian, and the burial ground where the weeping willow bends mourn-
fully over the headstone which marks the parents' grave; nor do the children
fcrgci their playground nor the white schoolhouse where the rudiments of edu-
cation have been instilled into their minds.
The road is at first comparatively smooth and their journey pleasant ; their
way is chequered with divers little incidents, while the continual changes in the
appearance of the country around them, and the anticipation of what is to come
prevent those feelings of despondency which might otherwise arise on leaving a
much-loved home. When the roads are bad or hilly the family quit the wagon
and plod their way on foot, and at night they may be seen assembled round the
fire made by the roadside, partaking of their frugal supper. The horses are un-
harnessed, watered and secured with their heads to the trough, and the emigrants
arrange themselves for the night, while their faithful dog keeps watch; or if the
close of the day finds them near a tavern or farm house, a bargain is struck for
the use of the fireplace and part of the kitchen, and the family passes the night on
the fioor. Amid all the privations and vicissitudes in their journey they are cheered
by the consciousness that each day lessens the distance between them and the land
of promise, and that the fertile soil of the west will recompense them for all their
trials. The roads become more and more rough, the swamps and little forest
streams are rendered passable by logs placed side by side, and the bridge- thus
formed are termed "corduroy" from their ridgy and striped appearance. The
axe and the rifle of the emigrant or "mover" as he is termed in the west, arc now
brought daily, almost hourly into use. With the former he cuts down saplings or
ycung trees to throw across the roads which, in many places, arc almost impassa-
ble ; with the latter he kills squirrels, wild turkeys or such game as the forest
affords him. for by this time his provisions are exhausted. If perchance a buck
cn --.es his path and is brought down by a lucky shot, it is carefully dressed and
hung up in the forks of the trees, fires are built and the meat cut into small strips
and smoked and dried for future subsistence. The road through the woods now
Digitized by Google
by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
29
becomes intricate, the trees being 1 merely felled and drawn aside so as to permit
a wheeled carriage to pass, and the emigrant is often obliged to be guided in his
route only b) the "blaze" of the surveyor on the trees, and at every few rods to
cut away the branches which obstruct his passage. The stroke of his axe rever-
berates through the woods but no answering sound meets the woodman's ear to
assure him of the presence of friend or foe. At night in these solitudes he hears
and sees the wolves stealing through the gloom and snuffing the scent of the in-
truders, and now and tlun the bloodshot eye of the catamount glares through the
foliage. At length the emigrant arrives at the landmarks which indicate to him
the proximity of his own possessions. A location for the cabin is now selected,
near a small stream of running water, and if possible, on the south side of a slight
elevation. No time is lost. The trees are immediately felled, and shortly you can
perceive a cleared space of ground of perhaps a few rods in circumference. Stakes,
forked at the top, are driven into the ground, on which are placed logs, and the
chinks Ixtween these are stopped with clay. An inclosure is thus thrown up
hastily, to protect the inmates from the weather.
The trunks of the trees are rolled to the edge of the clearing and surmounted
by stakes driven crosswise into the ground; the tops of the trees are piled on the
trunks, thus forming a brush fence, liy degrees the surrounding trees are killed
by girdling. Some that are fit to make into rails are cut down and split, while
others are either left to rot or are logged up and burned. The next season a
visable improvement has taken place. Several acres have been added to the clear-
ing. The emigrant's residence begins to assume the appearance of a farm. The
brush fence is replaced by a worm fence. The temporary shanty is transformed
into a comfortable log cabin, and although the chimney is built of only small
sticks piled together and filled in with clay, and occupies an end of the cabin, it
shows that the inward man is duly attended to. and the savory fumes of venison
and other good things prove that the comforts of this life are not forgotten, and
that due respect is paid to that important organ in the human economy — the
stomach. In a few years or even months, the retired cabin, once so solitary, be-
comes the nucleus of a little settlement ; new portions of ground are cleared, cabins
are erected, and in a short time the settlement can turn out a dozen efficient hands
for a raising bee, logging bee, etc. A saw mill is soon in operation on one of
the neighboring streams, the log huts receive a poplar weather-boarding, and as
the little settlement increases, a church and school house appear . a mail is estab-
lished, and before many years elapse, a fine road is made to the nearest town ; a
stage coach, which runs once or twice a week, connects the place to the populous
country to the cast of it. A generation passes over. The log buildings have all
disappeared. In their places stand handsome edifices of brick or wood, painted of
a pure white, and the settlement has all the conveniences and refinements of its
parent settlements on the Atlantic frontier. The emigrant himself is now an aged
man. His locks are silvered by time. His toils are over. Some fine summer's
evening he may be seen seated in the porch of his dwelling, his frank, open coun-
tenance beaming with delight as he relates the talc of his early adwnturcs to his
little grandchildren, who, clustering about his knees, drink in every word with in-
tense interest.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF lit RON COUNTY
The first roads through the forest were mere trails and could only he followed
by a line of blazed trees, made by chopping off the bark from a spot on one side of
the tree, and not burning it by fire as some men supposed. The next step was to
chop the brush and small trees from the line of the road, leaving the large trees to
be girdled. In miry place logs of wood, from twelve to fifteen inches in diameter
and twelve or more feet in length, were laid side by side, crosswise of the road.
Although the logs were of a uniform size when laid, some would sink into the mud
more than others ; one end of a log might be supported by a stump or large root
and held up while the other end would sink in the mud and thus the road became
very uneven in time. The roots of the large trees, around which the driver must
pick his way, added to the unevenness of the road and a wagon would rock as
much as a ship in a storm and the horses be almost thrown from their feet. Some
of these logs are to be found in the roads to this day, though placed there fifty,
sixty or seventy years ago.
When the settler had selected the location for his house, near a spring, if pos-
sible, and this fact accounts for the crookedness of some of the earlier roads
which wound along the banks of streams, near which the springs were found, he
first cleared away the brush and trees from a space large enough >o that none of
the standing trees, when they were afterward felled, would endanger the safety
of the house or occupants. Word would be sent to his neighbors, (everybody
within a dozen miles might be considered neighbors ) to come to the "raising." An
experienced man was selected for the "boss" and an expert axman for each corner
to cut the notches in the logs so as to make them fit together. As soon as logs
enough to make a commencement had been cut and hauled, the work of building
the house began. The logs were laid butt and top alternately, to keep the walls
level. When the walls were brea c t high, skids and handspikes were used. The la-
borers were divided into two parties and there was a strife to see which side would
get their walls up first. Accidents sometimes happened from the slipping of the
log, and the ever present black jug did not always help matters. Sometimes the
floor of the house was "Mother Earth," but it was generally made of puncheons,
which were planks or slabs two or three inches thick hewed on one side with a
broadaxe and laid on sleepers. It was far from being tight or smooth. When
the walls were as high as the eaves, a log was placed on each end wall, but long"
enough to project a foot or so beyond each side wall. These were called the "eave
bearers" and supported the "butting jxiles." The logs forming the gable ends,
called "trappings," were of ba<s\vood or some other soft timber, which was easily
chi pped off to make the slant of the roof. Poles called "ribs" were laid length-
wise to support the roof. If the settler was in a hurry the roof was made of bark,
but it was usually made of "shakes." which were shingles three or four feet lopg
split from a straight grained tree by a tool called a "frow." The first course of
shakes was laid on the ribs against the butting pole. A "weight pole" was laid
lengthwise of the roof near the upper end of the first course of shakes and kept
from rolling down by short pieces of wood called "knees." resting against the hut-
ting pole. This weight pole made the hutting pole for the next course, and thus
the roof was carried to the peak. No nails were used and the roof would shetl
water first rate and last many years.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI' RON COL' XT Y
31
When the logs were cut out to form a doorway a piece of plank or puncheon
was set up at each side and pinned to the ends of the logs by wooden pins to
form a door casing. The d>or was made of puncheon, or plank if a sawmill was
in reach, fastened together with a cross piece at top and bottom, pinned on with
wooden pins. The wooden latch was on the inside of the door and was raised from
the outside by means of a leatln-r string which was passed through a gimlet hole in
the door. The door could be locked on the inside by pulling the string inside,
and from this circumstance came the accepted syml>ol of hospitality, "the latch
string hangs out." The windows were made by sawing out a section of one of the
logs and fastening some upright sticks in the opening. To these sheets of paper
were pasted and well greased with lard or bear grease. They It t in a kind of sub-
dued light, but were not much needed for the door and huge chimney let in plenty
of light in the summer and in the winter the light cf the fire wa-. sufficient.
The great chimney was generally built against one end of the house. The
lower part was made of small logs or of stones and the upper end of thin pieces
of wood laid up in clay, and the whole chimney was well plastered on the inside
with clay. Some chimneys would be built only part of the way up, and left
for a more convenient time for finishing, which never came. Sometimes the
chimney was built up on the inside of the house with the lower part built of
stones. Sometimes the settler would not take the trouble to cut out a section
of the wall for the back of the fireplace, but would wait until the logs were
burned through. It is related that in such a cabin a bear once suddenly made
his appearance at the opening back of the fireplace attracted by the savory odor
of a kettle of corn mush which was standing one side of the fire. The woman
cf the house was alone, so without any ado, he thrust his head through the open-
ing and proceeded to eat the mush and then went away. The fireplace generally
had a hearth of stones, but sometimes a portion of the cabin next the fireplace
was not floored over and the fire was built on the ground. In such a case it was
possible to do what boys are now sometimes told to do: "Sit on the floor and
hang your feet off." Building a fire in these fireplaces required some degree of
skill. As large a log a-s could he handled was first rolled to the back side of the
fireplace, and was known as the "backlog." The "andirons" were placed at the
front of the hearth and a smaller log, called the "forestick." was laid upon them.
The space between the logs was filled in with fine stuff and the fire kindled. The
blacklog of green timber would last for several days, and was often hauled into the
house by a horse. The andirons were used to allow a draft under the forestick.
They were made of wrought or cast iron, and the more expensive ones were of
brass and were ornamental when kept brightly polished. The furniture of the fire-
place was not complete without the long handled shovel and tongs, as well as bel-
lows. The shovel and tongs were sometimes ornamented with brass to corres-
pond with the andirons. The fire would be covered with ashes at night, but
if not properly done might go out in the night and then a boy might have to be
sent to a neighbor's to "borrow fire."
An iron crane was fastened to one side of the fireplace in such a way that
it could be swung out from over the fire. The kettles were hung on the crane
by hooks of different lengths or on a "trammel." according to the condition of
the fire. In some of the more primitive fireplaces there was no crane, but a
Digitized by Google
32 HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
stick of timber called the "bearing- stick" was placed across the chimney ten feet
or so above the hearth, and a chain was fastened to it so as to hang down over
the fire. The hook to support the kettle was hooked into a link of the chain at
the proper height to suit the fire, and this arrangement answered the purpose
very well, although not as convenient as a crane. Potatoes were roasted in the
ashes, and no modern way of roasting excels it for qualitv of the "finished pro
duct."' The next improvement was the "bake kettle" or "Dutch oven" with its
three legs and a cover with a raised rim. Live coals were drawn out on the
hearth and the kettle was set upon them, while more coals were heaped— not on
an enemy's head — but on the cover, and thus the contents of the kettle were
cooked. After this came the "tin oven." or "reflector." which was set on the
hearth in front of the fire and the heat was reflected from its polished back and
it would "bake roast or broil." As the frame and brick house superseded the
log house, while the fireplace was in use. the brick oven built at the side of the
fireplace was a great improvement.
The oven was heated by building a fire in it or shoveling in some coals.
When heated, the coals and ashes were swept out and the heat retained by the
oven was sufficient to do the baking. The men folks had to look out and pro-
vide a supply of "oven wood." generally of white ash split fine, and have it dry
for baking day. A long handled flat shovel was used for taking the bread, etc.,
from the oven. Last of all came the modern stove.
The spaces between the logs of the house were filled with triangular strips of
wood, or m iss, and well plastered with mud. Every man was his own mason.
With a cord or so of blazing hickory wcxxl in the fire place, these houses were
fairly comfortable, but the objection to that kind of heat was that it was to .
much on one side; the face would scorch while the back was freezing.
There was a loft to the house. reache>d by a ladder on the outside of the house
or in one corner of the room. It was an airy place for a person to sleep on a
winter night, for the numerous cracks let in plenty of fresh air as well as snow.
In some houses the roof extended down over the eaves far enough to form a
porch or "stoop." A passable bedstead could be made by inserting one end each,
of a side and end pole into holes bored into the logs at the proper distance from
one corner of the r<x>m. the other ends of the poles being supported by a f (irked
stick for a leg. The other side and end would be fastened to these and strips of
basswood hark wound around the poles to support the tick. Probably the most
of the settlers of this town brought their beds with them and were not reduced
to this primitive method. The first settlers of this town could not bring very
many articles of furniture with them and depended upon the trees of the forest
to furnish the material for ordinary furniture and dishes. The table furniture
consisted largely of a few pewter plates, dishes and spoons, but mostly of
wooden bowls, trenches and noggins. Gourds and hard shelled squashes made
serviceable dippers or other dishes, and spoils could be made from horn. The
table might be made of a wide slab hewed smooth on the top with a broad-ax.
with four legs inserted in auger holes. For seats, benches and three-legged
stools were used. One writer says that it was necessary to have three-legged
stools, for more than that numlx-r of legs could not touch the floor at once.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON CO I" NT Y
Wooden pins in the walls supported shelves upon which were arranged the
housewife's store of pewter and wooden dishes.
Poles overhead supported circles of dried pumpkins, strings of drie<l apples,
ropes of onions, etc.. at a time when these were raised. The ax, broad-ax. frow
and auger were about the only tools required for building a house, and no nails
were needed. The houses often had but a single room, unless the settler was a
man of means and could afford the luxury of a double house which was the same
as two houses joined together, end to end, with a covered passage way between
them. A more pretentious house was built of hewed logs, with sawed clapboards
for the gable ends, and glass windows. Many houses had two large doors op-
posite each other so that the back logs could be hauled in by a horse.
The barns were necessarily made of logs, and the old log house was fre-
quently turned into a barn when a new house was built. Those settlers who
were not fortunate enough to get a location near a spring of water were obliged
to dig wells. Instead of the handy pumps of these days the pioneer used a "well
sweep," which consisted of an unright post with a fork at the top. placed at the
side of the well. In this crotch was fastened a pole by means of a pin. with the
small end up, and to the end of this a rope or smaller pole was fastened and the
bucket suspended from it. The large end of the sweep was weighted so that
it would balance a bucket of water.
The new settler found his land covered with a dense growth of huge trees
and thick underbrush, unlike the rocky hills of New England or New York. He
frequently had but little experience in chopping trees and found it slow work to
chop the large trees, hut there were expert choppers who could he hired to
"slash" a piece of timber for four or five dollars an acre, and one man could
chop an acre a week. For ten dollars an acre they would chop the trees and
pile the brush, ready for burning. They planned their work with much skill
and felled the trees so as to bring the bodies of several together, then piled the
brush on top of them. After the brush was burned the trunks could be hauled
around a little so as to bring them parallel and form a log heap with little lalx>r.
Others who were not so particular with their work would commence at one side
of the place which was to be cleared and cut the trees partly off, in such a man-
ner that they would fall toward the center of the strip cut over. When the other
end of the strip was reached a tree was cut off, and in falling it broke another
and that another, and so on until all the trees on the strip chopped over would
be down in a huge winrow. The chopping was generally done in the winter and
after harvest was the time for "burning the fallow." Fire was applied to the
brush and the dry leaves and branches made a roaring bonfire in a few minutes.
Such fires could be seen in all directions and the air was full of smoke. After
the fire had burned out, the operation of "logging" began. The trunk* of the
trees were chopped into lengths convenient to handle. Sometimes the large logs
were cut by "niggcring off." A small log was laid across the large one at the
point where it was to be cut in two, and set on fire at the point of intersection.
As the small log was consumed it was shoved along so as to keep a fire at the
one point, and in time the largest trunks were divided. Oxen hauled the logs
and they were rolled togetber and piled high by the strong arms of the pioneer*.
The crevices were filled with smaller chunks, until the heap was as compact as
Digitized by Google
34
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
it could be made. The fire brand was applied and in a short time the great heap
would be nearly consumed.
It was necessary, at this time, to use handspikes and poles and roll the un-
consumed portions of large logs together so as to keep the fire going. After a
while there would be nothing but "brands" or small pieces left. Then began
the operation of "branding," which was rolling these brands together, or if the
fire had gone out, hauling them to another heap. Sometimes the settler called
his neighbors together to his "logging bee." One man was chosen for a boss
and he planned the heaps and divided the men into gangs who had certain work
to perform. One set of men would take care of the logs as they were brought
to the heaps and rolled them together, or used skids and levers when the heap
was higher than one tier of logs. The oxen were broken to know what was
wanted and as soon as they were hitched to a log would start for the heap with-
out waiting for the word of command. The driver had to look out for himself
for they would hardly wait for the chain to he hooked or unhooked before they
were off. The logs were blackened by the previous fire and the men soon 1k*-
camc as black as negroes, and if a man was not black enough to suit the fancy
of the rest of the company he would be held while the charcoal was applied to
his face in liberal quantities. The work of logging was laborious and the men
needed no tonic to increase their appetites. The "boiled dinner" of potatoes
and pork was heartily enjoyed. In some cases where the land was not immedi-
ately needed for tilling, the trees were girdled and left to die. Such tracks
afforded better pasture than the woods. The fire left the ground bare except
for the stumps and heaps of ashes where the log heaps were burned. The ashes
were carefully gathered and sold to go to the ashcries where potash was made
from them, or the settler made lye from them and boiled it down to "black salts"
and sold it in that form. The sale of ashes or black salts was often about the
only source of revenue for the pioneer, and the great "ash wagons" were as com-
mon as the "egg wagons" are at this day. Some of the ash wagons used to
carry a few articles of dry goods or other goods for barter. After a piece of
timber had been chopped over a dense growth of "fireweeds" sprang up and
grew to the height of six or eight feet. The seeds of these weeds were covered
with fibres like fine cotton and would blow like thistle down. There was an
irritating substance about the seeds which caused sore eyes in those who worked
in the "slashings."
In the fall a crop of wheat was sown. The seed was covered by a clumsy
"A" drag made of three poles and nine heavy teeth. This implement was drawn
by a yoke of oxen or a team of horses and went bounding over the stumps and
roots, endangering the limbs of the driver if he did not keep his distance. Much
of the wheat would he left uncovered and great flocks of wild pigeons and wild
turkeys would feast on it. Notwithstanding these drawbacks large crops were
the rule.
Homer's descriptionn of the sounds of the forest would aptly describe the
sounds during the days mentioned above:
"Loud sounds the axe, redoubling strokes on strokes,
On all sides 'round, the forest hurls her oaks
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
35
Headlong. Deep echoing groans the thickets brown :
Then rattling, crackling, crashing, thunder down."
Gen. Franklin Sawyer says : "Such scenes were the order of the day. Every-
where the woods resounded with the stroke of the axe. The old pioneer 'let in
the daylight,' built his cabin, garnished its walls with dried pumpkin and venison,
danced on his puncheon floor in his moccasins or with bare feet, got jolly over
an ox sleigh ride, went to church at the toot of a dinner horn and knew and
loved his heighbors from one end of the county to the other." In clearing off
a piece of land enough oak or black walnut trees would be saved to make rails
for fencing it. Cattle and hogs could be kept out, but raccoon, woodchucks,
squirrels, deer and turkeys could not be kept out and they took heavy tribute
from the growing crop.
The wheat was cut with a sickle or cradle, raked by hand, threshed with a
flail and winnowed by hand. A winnow was made like a basket, only shallow,
perhaps three feet in diameter, with a handle at each side. The mingled chaff
and grain was put into this and was tossed into the air, the chaff being blown
away and the grain caught again. By repeating this several times the grain was
left quite clean. A windy day was necessary for the best success at the work.
After the country was cleared more and larger quantities of wheat were raised,
the flail was too slow for threshing and machines were invented to do the work.
The first ones used in the Firclands were made at Monroeville in 1834. Fan-
ning mills came into use before this time. Wheat raising grew to be a great
industry in this part of the state and Milan was the principal market. The grain
was hauled for fifty, sixty or even more miles, and no town near had a larger
trade or brighter prospects than Milan until the advent of railroads changed the
scene.
Frequently the first crop of corn would be planted by striking an axe into
the ground and dropping the seed into the opening and covering it with the foot.
The ground was so full of roots that no effort was made to till the crop l>eyond
chopping out the fireweeds and other weeds and sprouts from the tree roots. The
native fertility of this virgin soil was such that a good crop was assured, even
by this rude method of cultivation. Pumpkins, squashes and melons grew lux-
uriantly in the new soil and were a very welcome addition to the bill of fare of
the pioneer and his growing children.
The pioneer had to contend with many difficulties in the way of wild animals.
Bears and wolves were eager to taste of his sheep, hogs and calves. The sheep
had to be penned up every night to keep them out of reach of wolves which were
their special enemies. The wolves were shy and hard to shoot, but could often be
caught in "wolf pens." These were built of rails or poles laid up so as to slope in-
ward at the top and so high that a wolf could not jump over, but could easily clam-
ber up from the outside, but could not escape when inside. A sheep or two was put
inside the pen for bait. After a wolf was inside he would not touch a sheep unless
he knew he could get out again, and the sheep was left unharmed except for the
fright. The great grey wolves were arrant cowards in the daylight and when
alone, but were dangerous to meet when roaming the forest in packs of twenty or
thirty. More than one belated traveler has been obliged to rely on his speed for
safety or has been obliged to climb a covenient tree and remain until daylight drove
3H
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
them to their lair in some dense swamp, or help came otherwise. Many stories are
told of races with wolves, and some of them have a ludicrous side. One man re-
lates a tale of being pursued by a pack of wolves and climbing a tree for safety and
sitting on a limb all night, while kept awake by their howling. At break of day.
when they had left him. he put down his feet preparatory for a descent of the tree
and was thoroughly disgusted with himself when he discovered that in his fright
he had not progressed upward when climbing and had remained all night perched
on a projection of a n ot a couple of feet from the ground. The howling of a wolf
was a most unearthly sound. ( bie man says that it wns like the discord produced
by a brass band when each player makes the most discordant sounds possible. Mul-
tiply that by the number of animals in the pack and you have an idea of what it
sounds like. There used to be a bounty of several dollars on each wolf scalp and
many a pioneer has felt rich when he was lucky enough to kill a wolf and get the
bounty to pay his taxes. The last wolf in this county was killed about 1844 or '45.
William Stiles says that the last wolf heard of in this vicinity crossed the Stiles
mill dam at the present village of West Clarkshcld and went into the "Buckley
swamp" in the northeast part of Hartland township. His tracks were seen in the
snow at different places between here and Medina county. A hunt was organized
and the swamp surrounded by some five hundred men. The wolf was not within
the inner line of men, but attempted to get back into the swamp when he heard the
noise made by another line outside. He attempted to come through near where
William and Samuel Stiles were posted. A well known hunter from Townsend
by the name of Mingus saw him and brought him down at the first shot. He
was a very large animal, but very thin. After the wolf was killed the mo«t of the
men went to Minor's tavern and had a celebration at which the crack marksmen
tried their skill by shooting at a target, the prize being a gallon of whiskey. Wil-
liam Bissell carried Squire Wood's old flint lock rifle and secured one of the prizes.
Hears were not so plentiful, but would make a raid on the hog pen occasionally,
even in daylight. Levi Barnum was once hunting cattle and treed a young bear.
He shot at him and wounded him so that he fell to the ground, but was not disabled.
A hot fight ensued in which the gun was broken, but the young bruin was finally
killed. Mr. Barnum removed the entrails and shouldered the carcass and went
home with the pieces of his gun in his hand. Some of the regular hunters caught
bears in traps. One kind was a very large spring trap, like the common rat traps
in shape, with a piece of log chain to hold it. Another kind of trap was a pen
made of logs with a heavy door so arranged that when the bait was disturbed
it would fall and the bear was shut in. Panthers, painters or catamounts, (different
names for the same animal) were heard and seen occasionally. Deer were plenty
and were a convenient source of food and raiment for the pioneers. Fresh veni-
son was worth four cents a pound, salt venison eight cents and dried vension a
shilling. Venison hams were worth twenty-five cents each. Deer skins were worth
about two dollars and a half each.
Deer licks were places where some salty substance was in the soil and the deer
would go there and lick it. These licks were favorite places for erecting "deer
blinds" of bushes, from which the hunter could easily get a shot. Rattlesnakes
were numerous, but we believe only one death has occurred in this township from
the bite of one. The snakes had a den in the rocks on the hank of Vermillion river
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
39
a short distance north of the Methodist church at the "Hollow," to which they re-
treated when cold weather came. In April, 1819, before the snakes had emerged
from their winter quarters the settlers turned out with bars and picks and pro-
ceeded to unearth the reptiles. Stones were overturned and the snakes killed until
they had a pile of more than sixty of the bodies. One opening could not be fol-
lowed, so it was plugged. Years afterward a quarry was opened at that place and
the skeletons of scores of snakes were found. This raid greatly reduced the num-
ber of the pests, but did not exterminate them entirely. Various entries in Captain
Husted's account book show that the men who took part in this raid were supplied
with that popular antidote for snake bite, "Spiritus Frumenti."
The tracks of otters were sometimes seen, but these animals were so wary that
they were rarely seen or captured. Beavers, wildcats and porcupines were found,
as well as the wild animals of the present day. Wild turkeys were very numerous
and were shot and trapped. The traps were pens made of poles or rails, cov-
ered over the top. Trenches were dug under the bottom poles, so that turkeys could
creep under. A lot of corn or wheat was scattered in the pen and trails of the bait
laid in different directions through the wocxls. When the turkeys found the bait
they would be led to the pen and would follow the line of bait into the pen, through
the trenches. After the bait in the pen was eaten or something alarmed them they
would raise their heads and try to get out of the trap, but did not know enough to
look down and creep out the way they went in. Sometimes eight or ten would
be taken at once. The wild turkey disappeared from this section about thirty years
ago.
Owls were numerous and their hooting would frighten a "greenhorn." This
parody is quite appropriate for the times :
"Hush, my dear, lie still and slumber,
Wolves and panthers guard thy bed ;
Rats and screech owls without number
Flit and scream around thy head !"
Cows were allowed to run in the woods and found plenty to eat in the summer
in the way of coarse marsh grass, young shoots of trees, leeks, etc. Sometimes the
scanty supply of hay or cornstalks provided for winter use would be exhausted be-
fore spring and the cattle would be obliged to browse the twigs of trees and bushes,
which would be cut for the purpose. To assist in finding the cows in the woods
bells were hung on their necks. These were made by the local blacksmiths and gave
forth tones which were far from musical, although far-reaching, and each one would
have some peculiarity of tone which distinguished it to the ear of the boy or girl
who was sent to bring the cows home for the night.
Hogs were frequently turned out in the woods in the fall to fatten upon the
acorns and other kinds of "mast." They became quite wild and could be secured
only by shooting. Many a quarrel and law suit between neighbors has been caused
by two men laying claim to the same hog. Cattle, horses, hogs and sheep often
strayed away and it was hard to track them through the dense woods. The town-
ship records contain many notices of strays being taken up and advertised. If no
owner appeared the strays were sold and the finder received pay for his trouble
and the balance went into the township treasury. For the purpose of identifying
stock each man in the township had the privilege of having his mark <>r brand re-
Digitized by Google
40
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
corded in the township record, so as to prevent two men claiming the same mark.
The marks were made by cutting the ears of stock in various ingenious ways, such
as •holes.-" "swallow fork,," "crops," "half pennies." "slopes," "spades." "slits."
"nitches." etc.
In the early times the settlers suffered much from the loss of cows and oxen
by the "bloody murrain." It was a grievous loss when one of the yoke of oxen
lay down and died.
The earliest settlers on the Firelands were obliged to subsist almost entirel)
upon wild meat until a crop of vegetables could be grown. If the settler came early
enough to get a little patch of ground cleared in time to plant he could have some
the first season. The meat diet was not a good one and did not satisfy hunger.
W ild leeks came up in early spring in the woods and were eagerly eaten by the
pioneers for they made a small change in the diet of corn bread and meat, but the
breath of the eaters! It "smellcd to heaven." The children, especially, narrowly
watched the growth of the potato tops, pumpkin and squash vines and blades of
corn, hoping from day to day to get something to answer the place of meat. How
delicious was the taste of the first young potatoes! What a jubilee they had when
they were permitted to pull roasting ears. Still more so when the corn was hard
enough to re grated and made into johnny cake. The family then became healthy
and vigorous and contented with the situation, poor as it might be. They suffered
much inconvenience from the absence of mills to grind their corn and wheat. They
used to go long distances to Cold Creek or Richland county. When the corn was
not fully ripe it could be shaved off with a plane, but when ripe and hard it must be
ground or pounded in some way. Some men had hand mills, but more of them
used the mortar and pestle or a tin grater. The mortar was a hard wood stump
with a cavity in the top made by boring holes and burning, then scraping the surface
smooth. The pestle was a log of wood, perhaps with an iron wedge, driven into
the lower end. suspended from a limb of a tree, or a spring pole or an arrangement
like a well sweep. The grain was put into the mortar and pounded until tine
enough. The man or boy who operated this primitive mil! truly "earned his br.*ad
by the sweat of his brow." Sometimes the corn was converted into samp or hom-
iny which made a very palatable dish. Wheat was sometimes 1 oiled whole. The
most primitive way of preparing food was to take some corn meal, mix it with
water to make a batter, spread it on a chip and set it before the fire to bake. In ad-
dition to corn bread, venison, turkey, squirrel, raccoon, bear or hog meat was eaten.
The ravenous appetites of growing children, tired wood chopi>ers and hunters sup-
plied the sauce to make this rude meal a feast. When milk could be obtained a
dish o." mush and milk made a healthful and nutritious diet. Sugar could be ob-
tained from the maple tree-. Salt was scarce and hi jh, and a dollar and a quarter
a peck has been paid for it. "Store tea" was too expensive for the pioneer, so he
used blackberry leaves, sassafras or spicebush bark, or parched corn. On special
occasions, such as weddings, raisings, logging lx.*es and the like, whisky was sup-
plied. Captain Hustcd once went ten miles after a barrel of |>ork. but when it was
opened it was found to be too lean to fry itself. A deputation of neighbors was
sent to the iake after cattish, and that remedied the difficulty to a certain extent.
The first -ection of this township was not settled as early as the other portions
and the -coders lived in a primitive way as late as 1841. and we may judge from the
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HCROX COUNTY
41
way they lived as to the customs of the first settlers iti the rest of the town. There
are people living who tell us that they lived on corn and buckwheat, with no wheat
dour. Fat pork swimming in its own grease was the meat. For a Christmas din-
ner wild turkey roasted before the fire place and stuffed with buckwheat pancakes,
wild honey, sauce made from wild crab apples or plums, and tea made from black-
berry le-ives was a menu good enough for the best. ( hie lady says that she passed
through Xorwalk in 1818, at the time the first court held there was in session.
The lawyers and others put up at David Underbill's. They had for supper wild
crabappies stewed, corn cakes, wild honey and crabapple pie. Seth Jennings of
Milan said that in 1819 a grand Thanksgiving dinner consisted of roasted turkey,
venison, pork and other meats, baked Indian pudding, pumpkin and first rate
mince pies. The latter were made without wine, cider, sugar or molasses, apples
or beef. For sweetening pumpkins were boiled down to a syrup, for apples cran-
berries and pumpkins were used, and for beef, venison.
W hen the clothing brought here by the pioneer was used up it had to be
renewed in some way. After the land had been cleared long enough a crop of
flax was raised and garments were made of flax and wool. The flax was rotted,
broken, swingled, hctcheled, spun, woven and made into garments by the set-
tler's own family, perhaps although not every woman had a loom or could weave,
but she need not go out of the neighborhood to get her weaving done. The
garments made from this homespun linen or tow were durable, but not fine.
The long fibres obtained by hctchcling was linen, and could be spun into finer
yarn. It was woven with wool and called "linsey woolsey." It could be colored
with butternut bark, or similar dye stuffs, and woven in checks or stripes, according
to the fancy of the weaver. This was made into shirts and dresses, bed clothing,
etc. The short fibres which were combed cut Ly the hetchel made tow which was
spun into coarse yam for coats, vests, pants and coarse cloth and twisted into
cords and ropes for domestic use.
The very earliest settlers used deer skin for pants and coat. It was well
suUed for rough usage, but had a fashion of stretching marvelously when wet.
If the wearer sat before the fire and allowed the pantaloons to dry upon Iron he
had no easy task to get out of them at bedtime, for they wen- hard and stiff
when dried after being soaked. They would shrink back to their former xtxe
or a little smaller. A man who did not understand this properly once went to
Xorwalk at the time two Indians were hung there. He traveled through the
bushes and swamps on his way there and got his trousers wet. When they first
began to hang down to his heels he cut off a piece of the legs instead of rolling
them up. After a while he cut off another piece. When he arrived at Xor-
walk the sun was shining hot and it was not long until his pants were up to his
knees and he attracted almost as much attention as the Indians. When the pants
were wet by the snow in winter and dried it required a good degree of resolution
to crawl out from the bed in some loft where the floor was covered with an inch
or so of snow and stick one's legs into a pair of these garments, which were
like stove pipes, and it also required no little skill to get into them or bend after
they were once on. It is related of one of the earliest settlers in this county
that his old buckskin trousers were beginning to show signs of passing away.
He had a deer skin which would do for one leg. but the deer which was to
42
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
supply the other leg was still running in the woods. He and a neighbor started
out to find a deer, and as they were traveling through the woods they came upon
a deer which had just fallen from wounds received from other hands. Our
hero jumped, slapped his hands, and shouted: "Fortune favors the brave! I
shall have a pair of breeches yet !" The tannery was an institution which fol-
lowed not far behind the first settlers. Sometimes the tanner followed the
trade of cobbler as well. The shoemaker used to take his kit of tools with
him from one house to another, wherever his services were required, and
make up and mend the supply of shoes for the winter. This was called "whip-
pin' the cat." Boots and shoes were made to order over home made lasts. They
did not have high heels and the distinction between toothpick toe, coin toe or
round toe was not thought of. The leather was neither kangaroo, kid. enamel
calf nor pebble goat, but plain cowhide or calfskin. Buckskin moccasins and
"shoe packs" were worn to some extent. Rubber boots or overshoes were un-
known.
The flood of light from the fireplace in the winter evenings made the room
light enough for most purposes, but tallow candles were generally used to read
by. One man made tallow candles for his own use by melting deer fat in a tea
kettle cover and pouring it over a twisted piece of muslin with a spoon. They
were not handsome, but served to give light for him to attend an evening school.
Sometimes a kind of lamp like the illustration was used. It was suspended by
driving the sharp end of the pointed iron into a log of the wall. I^ard or bear
grease was the oil and a piece of rag, the wick. A "flip ding" or "slut" was a
lamp made out of any kind of dish filled with lard with a piece of twisted rag
in it. These lamps gave a dim light and furnished a cloud of smoke. Friction
matches were unknown. Fire was obtained from coals on the hearth or by
means of "tinder boxes." These were small iron boxes with some pieces of
tinder I made by burning a piece of linen rag to charcoal) or punk, (a sub-
stance found in decayed timber). A piece of steel was struck across the sharp
edge of a flint stone and the spark fell upon the tinder or punk. This held the
fire and a blaze was kindled from this by means of some light shavings or sul-
phur matches I made by dipping bits of wood in melted sulphur). If the set-
tler neglected his tinder box and the fire on the hearth was allowed to go out a
boy was sent to the nearest neighl>or's to "borrow fire," and carried home a burn-
ing brand hetween two pieces of hark.
Clocks and watches were too expensive for universal use. On clear days the
housewife could tell the time of day by a mark on the floor, called the "moon
mark," where the shadow of the door post reached at noon.
The New England pioneers of the Firelands were well aware of the advan-
tages of educational privileges and as soon as a few families had settled con-
veniently near each other a school was established, perhaps in one of the houses
at first, until a school house could be erected. A young lady, daughter of one
of the families was. perhaps, the teacher. After a time a log school house would
he built. The seats were puncheons or slabs from some sawmill, with the flat
side up and pegs inserted into auger holes for the legs. The desks were made
of wide whitewood boards fastened to arms driven into holes bored into the wall.
The nupil could rest his hack by leaning against the edge of the desk. Not
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI* RON COUNTY
43
many branches were taught, the "three R's" being considered about the only
essentials. The teacher "boarded 'round," spending as many nights at each
place as the ratio of pupils sent from that place required. Frequently the
teacher hardly knew where to go for the inhabitants of the district might not
all be ready to board him until they had butchered or done something else which
would answer for an excuse. The wages of a lady teacher were from seventy-
five cents to a dollar and a quarter a week and "found."
The settlers did not possess many books and could not obtain newspapers
until some years after the settlement was made. At first they had to go long
distances after mail, but post offices were established at an early day. It cost
twenty-five cents to receive a letter from New York or New England, and a let-
ter had often to lie in the office some time until the pioneer could obtain the
money in some way to pay the postage.
Many of the early settlers were pious people and soon became acquainted
with neighbors of like minds. They would meet at each other's houses on Sun-
day for religious exercises. One of the number would read a sermon, hymns
would be sung and one or more of them could lead in prayer. Occasionally a
pioneer missionary like Alvin Coe, Harry O. Sheldon, Father Gurley or David
Marks would preach a sermon, and if the house was not large enough to hold
the congregation a log barn would be used. As the community increased in
numbers a church society would be organized and supplied by a pastor from
some neighboring settlement, perhaps. Sooner or later a church would be
erected under great difficulties and with many self sacrifices on the part of the
members. A perusal of the "Memoirs of Rev. David Marks" gives one some
idea of the hardships and dangers which some of the pioneer preachers endured
while engaged in the labors to which they thought they were called. In June,
1882. he left Black Rock, N. Y.. on a schooner on his way to Portland, now San-
dusky. The captain very ungenerously landed him with some others on the
peninsula, six miles from Portland, after taking his last cent to pay his passage.
Besides the lighthouse keeper there were no inhabitants near there. Marks had
eaten but one meal in the last forty hours and the keeper was nearly out of pro-
visions, so they lay down supperless. After the men who landed with Marks
had fallen asleep, the keeper, remembering the "poor boy that had come far from
a father's house to preach the gospel," gave him a cracker and a half pint of
milk. In the morning one of the men killed a fawn and their hunger was ap-
peased. After waiting a day or two and seeing no prospect of getting away
soon, Marks and one of the men calked an old skiff which they found in some
drift wood and started for Portland. They kept afloat for some time by bailing
out the water with a shoe, but were forced to return and were nearly swamped
by the waves. The next day they were so fortunate as to get a ride on a boat
across to Cedar Point. They walked nine miles along the beach before they came
to a house. Marks walked to Milan and there found friends. He was only
sixteen years of age at this time, but no difficulties dampened his ardor for the
work in which he had embarked.
W hen the Northwest Territory was ornanixcd by the government of the United
States slavery was forbidden, but when the constitution of the new state of Ohio
was adopted the friends of slavery who had come from the slave states of New
Digitized by Google
44
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Jersey, Virginia, Maryland and Kentucky and settled mostly in the southern por-
tion of the state, attempted to insert a clause allowing a limited form of slavery,
Judge Ephraim Cutler, of Marietta, a native of New England, turned the scale in
favor of freedom, hut the victory was barely won by one vote. Thus the in-
fluence of New England was felt in this question at an early day. For a long time
there was a large party in the state favorable to slavery, and their influence was
felt in legislation. The colored people were not allowed to testify in courts of law,
nor to vote. Separate schools were provided for colored children, and this law,
the last one of the so-called "Black Laws*" left on our statute books, was repealed
only ten years ago, or so, although it had been a dead letter for years. Many years
ago the enemies of slavery began to aid the slave to escape from his master. These
anti-slavery sympathizers had a system of communication and transportation
known as the "(irapevine Telegraph" and "Underground Railroad," by means of
which hundreds of slaves were assisted on their way to Canada and freedom. Sta-
tions on this road were the homes of the more daring of the abolitionists, a few
miles .apart, and the runaways were secretly conveyed from one station to the
next. Some were captured and returned to bondage, but the mo<t who were able
to reach the Western Reserve, where their enemies were fewer, were successful in
reaching safety. The laws of the United States made it a crime to assist a slave
to escape or to refuse to help capture one when called upon to do so by the owner
or officer in pursuit of him. Nevertheless hundreds of men in the Firelands stood
ready to assist the slave at the risk of person and property. Rush R. Sloane and
Frank D. Parish, of Sandusky, were each heavily fined at one time for defend-
ing the rights in court of escaping slaves, but they were taken to Cincinnati,
where the pro-slavery sentiment was stronger than at Sandusky. When the call
for volunteers came in 1861 and later the Firelands furnished plenty of brave sol-
diers.
The Firelands were not behind the rest of the country in the projection of rail-
ways, and two of the earliest roads in the state, the Mad River & Lake Erie, and
Monroeville & Sandusky, which were commenced about 1835, ran from San-
dusky. Some of the most influential men in the building of the Cleveland, Nor-
walk & Toledo road, now the Lake Shore, lived at Norwalk. Clarksfield's first
railroad will be described later.
When the country was new fever and ague was common. The chills or
"shakes" were very severe, lasting sometimes for two hours, shaking patient, bed-
stead and floor. After the chill was over the patient fell into a deep slumber, but
when the fever came on his sufferings were increased and he was tormented by a
burning thirst. In some forms the chill would not return until the second day
afterward and the patient could work some on the well day. In other ea«es the
chills occurred every day. This condition lasted week after week and month after
month, perhaps, unless the patient succumbed sooner. The patients usually re-
covered, hut frequently a whole family would be down sick at the same time and
there would be scarcely enough well persons in a neighborhood to care for the
sick. Tansy was supposed to be something of an antidote for the ague, and the oc-
casional beds of tansy which are still to be seen were planted for that purpose. It
was used in the form of bitters, nvade with whisky. It was a common practice to
ofFei a neighl>or. when he made a call, a glass of "tansy bitters." w hich might be no
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI' RON COUNTY
45
more than a tumbler of whiskey with a sprig; of tansy in it, and some men got
the reputation of being wonderfully afraid of the ague, judging by the amount
of the antidote they consumed. They ran the risk of the "snakes" t<> avoid the
"shakes!"
Along in the 30's another disease was prevalent. This was called "milk sick-
ness." The symptoms were vomiting, high fever and rapid and extreme prostra-
tion. It was supposed to be caused by drinking milk from cows which had eaten
some poisonous weed. Such sickness, as well as the frequent accidents from fall-
ing trees and limb?, slipping logs, etc., required the services of the physician and
we find the pioneer doctors not far behind the first settlers in a community. Their
path was not one of roses and they had to travel long distances through the woods
on foot or horseback, fording streams, being chased by wolves, getting lost, etc.
Their pay was scanty, but by bming a piece of timber land and getting it cleared
and carrying on farming they eked out a living and brought up their families
respectably.
The first settlers were sometimes obliged to go a long ways to a store, but dif-
ferent men w ould bring a little st-ick of goods with them from the east, and it would
not be long before there would be a store in the community. The goods would
be brought to Huron by boat or by way of Pittsburg overland to the Firelands
by wagon.
Saw mills and grist mills were built along the streams as soon as there was a
settlement large enough to support them, and they did quite a business while the
water lasted. The forests abounded with magnificent oak, whitewood and black
walnut trees, but the cost of hauling the lumber to market w ith ox teams over the
miserable roads of the times left so small a margin for the labor that a large propor-
tion of such timber was burned to get it out of the way. The early settler had no
easy-riding spring carriage for a conveyance, but used a lumber wagon with
chairs for seats, or maybe he hung a hickory pole on each side of the inside of the
wagon box by hooks, and laid board seats on these. These "took off the sharp
edge" of the jolting over corduroy roads. In many instances there would be no
roads cut out between the houses of the settlers and the best way to carry the
women and children on a visit to a neighbor's was to load the family on a sled,
hitch the oxen on and make a "bee line" through the forest, not forgetting to carry
an ax to cut away the bushes and tree tops, if any were in the way. Many used to
go to mill or to the store in this way. Sometimes the vehicle was a stone boat
with chairs for seats. When a young gallant took his best girl out for a ride he
would get a horse with saddle or pillion. The lady sat behind on the pillion and
embraced the young man to prevent her falling off, and the rougher the road the
tighter she hugged. As the roads became drained and settled spring wagons were
made and in time came the modern light carriages.
People frequently became lost in the dense forest, if darkness overtook them
where the only path was the line of blazed trees. The writer's father and aunt
once were obliged to lie in the woods all night on account of being lost.
In the earlier days, before county infirmaries were built, each township was
obliged to care for its own paupers. One of the duties of the trustees was to "sell
the paupers," that is, to let to the lowest bidder the contract for boarding each pau-
per for the year. Very often the man who bid off a pauper made up by scanty
Digitized by Google
46
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
food and clothing for the low price which he received for the board, and the treat-
ment of the unfortunate ones was much less humane than by the modern methods.
Whenever a person came to live in a township and was likely to become a town-
ship charge, either through sickness, intemperance, or other reason, the over-
seers of the poor would "warn him out of town," so that the town from whence
he came would become responsible for any help furnished him in case he required
public aid. The citizens were not so hard hearted as the township records would
indicate, and the persons warned did not always become paupers.
NORWALK — ORIGIN OF THE NAME.
(FROM SELECTION READ BY HON. C. H. GALI.l'l'. AT A MEETING OF THE FIREI.ANDS
HISTORICAL SOCIETY.)
"Two hundred years ago the settlement of Norwalk, Connecticut was begun.
At a session of the General Court of the Colony of Connecticut, 26th June, 1650,
Nathaniel Ely and Richard Olmstead in behalf of themselves and other inhab-
itants of Hartford, desired the leave and approbation of the Court for planting
of Norwaake; to whom an answer was returned in substance as follows : "That
the Court could not but approve of the endeavors of men for the further im-
provement of the wilderness, by the beginning and carrying on of new planta-
tions in an orderly way; and leaving the consideration of the just grounds of
the proceedings of the petitioners to its proper place, did manifest their willing-
ness to promote their design by all due encouragement, in case their way for
such an undertaking were found clear and good ; and provided the numbers and
quality of those that engage therein appear to be such as may rationally carry
on the work to the advantage of the public welfare and peace; that they may-
make preparations and provisions for their own defence and safety, that the
country may not be exposed to unnecessary trouble and danger in these hazard-
ous times : that the divisions of lands there to such as shall inhabit, be made by
just rules and with the approl>ation of a committee appointed for that end by
this Court or to be rectified by the Court in case of aberrations, and that they
attend a due payment of their proportions in all public charges, with a ready
observation of the other wholesome orders of the country."
This is the first mention of Norwalk in the ancient records of the Colony.
Though, in itself, of small moment, yet, as the origin of our name has been
called in question by respectable authority, and an error in regard to it been
spread through standard books, it may be worth while to inquire whence the
name? Barber, in his Historical Collections, says, that according to tradition,
"the name is derived from the one-day's North-walk, that limited the northern
extent of the purchase from the Indians." Whence he learned the tradition, we
know not; but that it is erroneous, if not fabulous, we do know. (1) The
original deeds, in 1640, give the name Norwalke, as then designating the river,
and there is the same evidence that that was the original Indian name, as that
Saukatuh and Rooton were. (2) All the settlements along the coast, and in
♦.he interior, were first called by their Indian names, and were changed only for
Specified reasons. Thus, Quinnepiack was changed for New Haven; Cupheag
and Puquannock for Stratford; Uncowa for Fairfield, and Rippowams for Stam-
Digitized by Googl
Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
51
ford. But Norwalk was never changed. (3) But, thirdly, the fancy that Nor-
walk is an abbreviation of N ortkwalk, is dissipated the moment you open the
original Colony Records. In those records, from 1636 to 1665, the name is often
used, and is spelt in at least eleven different ways. Thus, in the first instance
where the word occurs, the orthography is,
1. Norwaake, Col. Rec, p. 210, 1650. 7. Nor-woake. Col. Rec, p. 265,
2. Nor-wauke. Col. Rec, p. 224. if»5i. 8. Norr-wake, Col. Rec., p. 279,
3. Nor-waack. Col. Rec, p. 228. Nor-walke, Col. Rec, p. 290, 1656.
4. Nor-wack, Col. Rec, p. 242, 1(153. <°- Norwalk. Col. Rec, p. 324, 1658.
5. Nor-worke, Col. Rec, p. 242. 1053. 11. Norwake, Col. Rec, p. 418, 1(363.
6. Nor-wacke, Col. Rec, p. 277, 1655.
Thus the record dissipates the fancied tradition. Who would ever have
thought of the name being derived from North-walk, had it been uniformly
spelt, as at first, in the Colony Records? Not only is there no allusion to such a
derivation, but our present orthography, Norwalk was not used till 1658. Subse-
quently to that period, there seems to have been more unformity — the name be-
ing written Nor-walke. Nor-wake, or Norwalk — the latter finally prevailed. Here
be it observed, that the ancient orthography was designed to express, as near
as possible, the primitive pronunciation, but in process of time, was changed,
to accord more fully with the English form of words.
ONE CENTURY OF NORWALK.
ADDRESS DELIVERED AT THE FORTY-NINTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE FIRELANDS
HISTORICAL SOCIETY, JULY 22, IOXX). COMMEMORATING NORWALK'S
CENTENNIAL BY HON. C. H. GALLUI*.
I have promised to tell a little of the history of Norwalk for the past hundred
yeirs. I think it is upon the program as "One Century of Norwalk." I am going
to tell you some stories, — I will try to make it a series of stories to illustrate how
Norwalk has been built. I have so many times told the story of the origin of the
name "Western Reserve" that I shall not tell it here again. I have so often told
the origin of the name "Firelands" that it is not necessary to repeat it today, but
I am going to tell you just how our ancestors built up this city and township in
the last hundred years.
To commence with, I want to tell you that there were three wolves that im-
mortalized themselves at the commencement of this hundred years. You have all
read the story of the settlement of the Comstock family in Norwalk, the first family
to come into the township in 1809 and the building of their house. They built near
Milan. It wasn't Milan then ; it was a Moravian Indian settlement. They had
a mission house there. They gave the use of that mission house to these first set-
tlers to occupy until they should complete their own house. One day they had
put their dinner to cooking, — pork and beans, and left to do some clearing. When
they returned for their dinner and came in sight of the house, they saw three
wolves scampering away, and when they got to their dinner pot, it was empty. Now
those three wolves immortalized themselves by that failure to stop the start of Nor-
walk. This was in 1809.
Digitized by Google
52
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Settlers came in very slowly. Two or three families came up to 1812. In 1815
two Connecticut Yankees came on to attend court at Avery, and that is a place
now where there is no habitation or sign of life except a hill and grass and trees.
There arc no buildings where the county seat was in those days. Incorrectly it
has been called YVheatsboro. That was a mistake. Avery was the township now
known as Milan. Now these Connecticut Yankees came on there and thought they
saw an opportunity. They had traveled through here land hunting and they had
seen the sand ridge. They had fallen in love with it. They got their heads to-
gether and said, "Well now, we will make a land speculation. We will take the
county seat away from here and up to the sand ridge." Elisha Whittlesey, Piatt
Benedict, Frederic Failcy, three of them, entered into a written agreement to that
effect. Tiny sent 1'latt Benedict on to Connecticut on horse back. He rode eleven
days and the land that Norwalk was built on was bought for about one dollar and
twelve cents an acre. They got an act through the legislature for the appointment
of a commission to locate the county seat. Huron embraced Huron and Erie then.
I don't know what manipulation took place, but they got the report of the commit-
tee. The act authorizing the change of the county seat required that they should
indemnify the owners of property at Avery for any damage they might suffer by
the removal of the county seat. F.lisha Whittlesey gave a bond to indemnify those
people for all losses they might suffer as might be determined by a commission.
The commission was appointed rind acted. They awarded damages amounting to
about three thousand four hundred and forty dollars. Elisha Whittlesey gave a
bond to make that good. Elisha Whittlesey in behalf of the four parties { Falley
having surrendered his interest to E. Moss White and Mathew B. Whittlesey) who
purchased the property here took title in his own name as trustee for himself and
the rest. He said to a certain number of the people of Norwalk, "If you will take
off from my shoulders the responsibility of my bond to those Avery people. I will
surrender my interest in the town plat of Norwalk" and five men stepped up and as-
sumed that liability. I want to give their names; David Underhill. Peter Tice,
Levi Cole. Flatt Benedict and Daniel Tilden. They obligated themselves in the
sum of eight thousand dollars to make good any damage that might occur. Por
five men to assume an obligation of eight thousand dollars away back there in 181 5
or '16 was equal to men of today assuming hundreds of thousands of dollars. They
were poor people, men who had come to hew out a home in the wilderness. Thev
took their courage in their hands and signed the bond. That is the kind of spirit
that builds towns. That is the kind of spirit built up at that time that has never
died from that day to this in Norwalk.
In 1817 Piatt Benedict came on with his family and with him the family of
Luke Keeler. They were the joint settlers of the city of Norwalk. The city hasn't
reached its century mark yet. W e are celebrating the Norwalk Township centen-
nial. These two families came, one settling just east of the Court House, the other
building his home way out east on the sand ridge, so that Piatt Benedict was really
the fir-t settler of the city of Norwalk.
When a few families had become settlers here, they bethought themselves of
the institutions of their old home. They wanted schools ; they wanted churches. A
few of them gathered themselves together and organized a church, and this is the
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
53
paper that records that organization. It is a quaint old paper and I am going to
read you a little from it.
"Norwalk, Huron County, Ohio, Jan. 20, 1821.
At a meeting of a number of persons residing in this vicinity, Piatt Benedict was
elected clerk of the meeting, and the following gentlemen enrolled themselves as
members or friends of the Protestant Episcopal Church of the United States of
America ; Piatt Benedict, John Keeler. Luke Keeler, John Boalt, Amos Woodward,
Samuel Sparrow, William Gardiner, Asa Sanford. Ami Keeler, Henry Hulbert,
William Woodward, E. Lane, Gurdon Woodward, William Gallup. Ezra Sprague,
D. Gibbs, Enos Gilbert and Moses Sowers."
Those men associated themselves together to organize their church. They did
organize it and soon afterward had their first baptism. Here is a record of that.
"On Sunday. Jan. 21, 1821, the ordinance of baptism was administered to the
following persons by the Rev. Roger Searles: Louise Williams, aged three years ;
Theodore Williams, aged one year, children of James Williams. Sponsors, James
Williams, E. Lane. William Gallup, one year. Sponsors, William Gallup, Sarah
( lallup. Kbenezer Shaw Lane, one year. Sponsors, E. Lane, Frances Ann Lane,
James Williams.
This is the record of the first old church that was started here for the benefit
of those settlers who had come in and who were living here with the woods all
around them. Now and thin the nights were made hideous by the drunken revels
of the Indians who came in and got the white men's fire water, and they were
always apprehensive of the results of those drunken revels. They were living in
log houses ; their windows were not glass. Theirs was the spirit that builds towns.
They came in here with the intention of building a town and a home, but they did
not foresee what was to take place. They could not foresee that magnificent dis-
play that took place on our streets yesterday. I wish they could.
They had to have paper. How were they going to get it ? They had to have
flour and things of that kind. When they first came here, they had to carry their
grain way to the Black River on horse back. They had to carry it in bags and
bring it back on horse back. They started a mill here. Henry Buckingham. P'.att
Benedict and a few others started a paper mill and a grist mill. I want to tell you
what they said about it way back in that day. Piatt Benedict in writing to Elisha
Whittlesey under date of August 25th, 1832, said to him, "I have taken possession
of the Henry farm and am improving it, have been offered twelve dollars an acre
cash in hand which I refused, and the steam mill which was thought so foolish and
visionary is the sole cause. The mill does a good business, making seventy to
eighty reams and grinding alxmt a thousand bushels of corn a week." That paper
mill was started in 1831, and run by an engine built here by Daniel Watrous. our
pioneer machinist.
This little book is a pioneer book. It was given to the Firelands Historical
Society April 6th, 1859, by Hon. Frederick Wickham, the father of Judge Wick-
ham, and long editor of the Norwalk Reflector. This is a rare publication. I don't
know of another copy in existence. It is the "Ohio and Michigan Register and
Immigrant's Guide." This was published by J. W. Scott. Florence, Huron county.
Ohio, in 1832. The spirit of commerce was abroad in the land in those days. I
want to refer you to these two ads :
Digitized by Google
54
HISTORY OF Hl'kOX COUNTY
"Norwalk Manufacturing Co., paper makers," etc.
"Printed by S. Preston & Co., Norwalk, Huron county, Ohio." The whole
thing is a product of Norwalk way back there in 1832.
We can't make paper here today. I Hit we have the physical record of that old
paper mill. A mile or so up Norwalk Creek they built a dam and from that dam
they ran a mill race all the way down to town to the mill. That stood over on the
slope of Woodlawn avenue, on the west side of that avenue, about thirty or forty
rods south from Main street. They ran the water down into a well which they
built. I filled that well up myself about twenty-five years ago. There are parts of
the old race still to be seen, showing the enterprise of those days. About half way
down from the dam to the paper mill a saw mill was built and run by water from
that mill race. The tail race from that saw mill is yet plainly in evidence just
south of East Elm street bridge. That spirit of enterprise has always stayed
here. The pioneers started it here and nobody has ever been able to take it away
from us.
In 1 85 1 Norwalk was nothing but a side show to Milan. Milan had a canal
which they had built from Milan down to the deep water of the Huron river, about
eight miles to the lake, and up and down that canal used to go the commerce that
supplied the territory from here south as far as Columbus. The grain and farm
products of all that territory were carried to Milan and marketed in two, four, six
and eight horse wagons, the larger ones called "Pennsylvania Schooners " The
dry goods, groceries, etc., purchased in New York city by our merchants came back
by the Erie canal and lake to Milan. I have seen the streets of Norwalk filled with
those teams at night, camped from one end to the other. Norwalk was simph a side
show. But in 1851 Milan was offered the opportunity to have a railroad through
from Cleveland to Toledo. They didn't want a railroad. Their canal was the main
thing and nobody could take that away. They wouldn't ^ive a dollar for the rail-
road. Norwalk voted fifty thousand dollars bonds ujx>n itself and it then had about
twelve hundred inhabitants. That is the spirit that builds towns and it has always
been here. That proved a good speculation. The capitalists in the cast thought
they saw an opportunity and they commenced buying up the stock of this road.
The directors of the road watered their stock fifty per cent and those people bought
that all up at par, so that the bonds that Norwalk gave brought them back seventy-
five thousand dollars. That was a pioneer road built from Cleveland to Toledo.
John Gardiner, our esteemed and venerated citizen, was its first president. Charles
L. Boalt was the mainspring, the moving spirit that built the road. Lewis D. Strut -
ton sat up all night one night and all day Sunday signing the bonds that they might
get away before an injunction could be gotten out. As soon as they were signed,
Boalt got out of Norwalk and out of reach of an injunction. Bonds from other
towns were put in his hands. With the proceeds of the sale of bonds, he bought the
iron for the first road. He paid one hundred and twenty dollars a ton. It w as
Norwalk enterprise that did it. That spirit that chased the three wolves out down
there was still here.
When these four gentlemen who planned the removal of the county seat to
Norwalk laid out their plot, they dedicated four lots for public purposes; one for a
court house, one for a jail, one for a meeting house and one for an academy for
the promotion of the arts and sciences.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY 55
In 1854 twenty-five gentlemen of Norwalk organized themselves together under
the name of the Whittlesey Academy of Arts and Sciences. They contracted and
sold the rooms that are in the old Whittlesey building by lease, ninety-nine years,
a ground rent charge, and put up that old building. They have received those
rents ever since. They reserved "Whittlesey Hall" and rented that and it brought
in from nine to twelve hundred dollars a year rental for many years. They ac-
cumulated quite a sum of money, but every dollar of that money has gone for
the public benefit of Norwalk. It has gone into the public library, into the build-
ing and upon its shelves. Not one red cent has ever stuck to the fingers of any
one of the twenty-five organizers or their successors. Those twenty-five charter
members constitute a roll of honor, and I am going to read them to you and I
want to say that no one of them now lives, but there are twenty-five successors
still living and still doing what they did, using the proceeds of the rental of that
property for the advancement and welfare of their posterity and all who come
hereafter. These incorporators were:
G.T. Stewart W. L Rose Charles Bishop
M. R. Brailey Louis D. Strutton ' J. A. Jackman
George H. Safford Saml. T. Worcester Hiram Rose
E. Gray John Tift J.H.Morehouse
J. E. Ingersoll S. R. Bcckwith John Cline
C. E Newman 15. F. Roberts George Baker
F. A. Wildman J. A. Jones Joseph M. Farr
O. G. Carter X. S. C. Perkins
Chas. B. Stickney Edward Winthrop
The structure that they built, the sentiment and spirit they put into its creation
is as active and potent today as it was the day they formed the organization. It
is going on now and it has within itself the power of self perpetuation, tor every
member is a member for life. When they leave Huron county or die, successors
are elected to them, and based upon this our Library Association has become a
protege of the Whittlesey Academy. This society has been taken up by them.
The library association may go out of existence, this society may go out of ex-
istence, but the Whittlesey Academy will stay here and see that the work goes on.
We have had some queer experiences here in our time. We once had what
was known as the Norwalk Barrel Company. They grew up and prospered and
then died. A traveling man with a good deal of energy and life about him sug-
gested to certain of our citizens that they should start an organ factory. Judge
Wickham was one of the parties approached and he succumbed to their blandish-
ments and became one of the incorporators of the A. B. Chase Company. They
negotiated for the purchase of the Barrel Company's property. That company
asked four thousand dollars for it. They offered three thousand dollars for it.
No! They offered three thousand five hundred dollars. No! They offered
three thousand, seven hundred and fifty dollars. No! One of our citizens out
upon the street just before train time met A. B. Chase with grip sack in hand,
and he said. "Chase, where are you going?" 'T am going to Fostoria to accept
their offer." "I thought you were going to take the barrel factory." Chase
said. "We won't be punished for staying in Norwalk." He then related the cir-
cumstances, that they had offered three thousand, seven hundred and fifty dollars
Digitized by Google
56
HISTORY OF HURON COCXTY
and it had been rejected. This citizen said, '"Will yon take it for three thousand,
seven hundred and fifty dollars now?" He said, "Yes." "You shall have it."
In less than two hours, two hundred and fifty dollars was raised by subscriptions
"on the street." The money was taken in and paid to the Barrel Company and
a receipt therefor was turned over to Mr. Chase. That settled the location of
the A. I'. Chase factory in Xorwalk. It is one of the most beneficial institutions
in the town, employing hundreds of men. You saw their display on the street
yesterday, which should have taken the premium — the grandest part of the dis-
play was the two hundred and fitly men marching there, all clean cut good citizens
of Xorwalk, home owners, that alone entitled them to the reward.
In 1877 another problem came up for settlement, and that was the location
and building of the Wheeling & Lake Erie Railroad, and I can say to you that the
work done here in Xorwalk was the work that built the Wheeling & Lake Erie
Ra'lroad. It wiuld never have been built if it had not been for the life, energy and
nerve that went into it from Xorwalk. At that time. 1877, we had a population
of about four thousand, I think. Meeting after meeting was held here. Dele-
gates from towns all along the line used to meet lure. The preliminary work of
raising the money to build that road was mostly done here in Xorwalk. At that
time we raised and paid for the building of that road seventy-two thousand dol-
lars. That was a big load for a town of that size. Three years afterward the
question of the location of the shops came up and they pinched us. We had
opposition. Wellington was fighting us. Toledo. Fremont. Massillon were all
bidding for the location of those shops. A committee was sent from here to
Xew York city to try and influence Commodore Garrison who was building the
road. When that committee got to Xew York, they called on Commodore Garri-
son. He said. "I am glad to meet you. I want to bear all about this." One of the
committeemen said, "Is Mr. Griggs here?" "Oh. no," he said, "he won't Ik- here
until Saturday." "Well, excuse us, what we have to say we want to say in the
presence of Mr. Griggs." His son said, "That's right, father." It was arranged
to wait until Mr. Griggs came. He came on Saturday and the interview took
place. One of the committeemen chosen as spokesman told the story that Com-,
inodore Garrison hadn't heard. He said, "You have said to Mr. Gardinei thai
all things being equal you will favor Xorwalk. We propose to show you that as
between Xorwalk and the principal competitor things are not equal. Xorwalk
ha^ subscribed and paid seventy-two thousand dollars for the construction of this
railroad. You now ask us. we suppose, about twenty-three thousand dollars, and
for that sum we have understood you would locate the shops at Xorwalk. Wel-
lington subscribed thirty thousand dollars for the construction of the Win cling &
Lake Frie Road and unbeknown to us obtained from the management of the
road a reimbursement of that subscription in freight and passenger
traffic certificates, and we consider that they are not in this contest
with us." Commodore Garrison turned to the contractor. "Is this
true, Mr. Griggs 5 " "Yes." "Do not let such a thing happen again." "It
sha'n't." He turned to the committee. "Suppose I say to you you will have the
shops if you make the subscription thirty thousand dollars, fifteen acres of land
and free water." One of the committeemen said. "We can't give you free water,
but we can furnish it to you at cost." "That is all right. When you can assure
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
57
me of the fulfillment of these terms, you shall have the shops." These terms
were telegraphed through to Mr. Gardiner. The answer came back, "Twenty-five
gentlemen have guaranteed the subscription, thirty thousand dollars." That was
carried to Commodore Garrison. He said, "That settles it, you shall have the
shops. Mr. Griggs, you arrange the details of this." Ten o'clock the next morn-
ing was set. Ten o'clock came. The servant at his house said, "Mr. Griggs has
gone for the day." That committee camped on Mr. Griggs' door step all day.
It began to rain. Finally Mr. Griggs came at seven o'clock p. m. He said.
"Gentlemen, have you waited long?" "All day." they said. He said. "I have
been spending the day at the grave of my wife. Jt is the anniversary of her
death.'' The contract was put in black and white. That night the committee
went back to Commodore Garrison's house and they were met at the door with
a statement that he could not see the committee. A lady's voice came from
above. "John, tell father it is those gentlemen from Ohio." Commodore Garrison
came in a moment. He said. "I have got a whist party on my hands. What
hotel do you strp at?" "At the Astor House." "What time do you get a train
in the morning?" "At 10:20." "I will he at your hotel at ten in the morning."
He was there. That contract in duplicate was read over. He signed it and the
committee started for Xorwalk. On the way they met S. S. Warner of Welling-
ton coming from the train going to try and get the shops. That is what secured
the shops. That is the kind of spirit that builds towns. That thirty thousand
dollars was added to the seventy-two thousand dollars.
In t<)ot a gentleman from Pittsburg proposed to us if we would buy five
hundred city lots that they might lay out on some property, they would build
a steel plant lure that should employ hundreds and thousands of men. In side
of two weeks. Xorwalk had subscribed for every one of those five hundred lots.
A hitch took place ; that organization went to pieces. A year or two afterwards
another organization brought the proposition to us. and we rcsubscribed one hun-
dred and seventy-five thousand dollars in a very few days to purchase those lots.
That spirit is the spirit that built the old paper mill, that built the old church.
It was still existing, and that is the spirit that builds towns.
In IQ04, The Sandusky, Norwalk & Mansfield Railroad knocked at our
doors and wanted one hundred thousand dollars taken of their bonds. That was
a pretty heavy load at that time, especially after putting so much into those steel
plant lots, that really proved a white elephant. But Mr. Gardiner in negotiation
with the head of another financial institution devolved this plan and one of the
financial institutions made this proposition: — "We will put in two thousand dol-
lars, if each one of the other five banks will put in two thousand dollars and
it will give to this movement a financial standing that it hasn't got now." Mr.
Gardiner saw every one of the banks and they all agreed to it. That subscrip-
tion of twelve thousand dollars gave it a financial credit that put it i pon its feet
and we have the railroad.
In 1.893 Mr. McCrillis burned out in Milan, came and wanted a little help.
In a little while, two thousand five hundred dollars of his bonds were subscribed
for. He built his handle factory here and soon paid back the bonds, and the
plant is running, one of our successful institutions.
58
HISTORY OK HURON COUNTY
Last year, 1908. wc had a calamity. The Wheeling & Lake Erie shops we
had worked for so hard and paid so high for hurned down. The receiver of the
Wheeling road said, "If you will give us fifty thousand dollars we will rebuild
here." Inside of tin days we had raised that, hut when it came to the details
of agreeing upon rebuilding here, we could never fasten them down to it. and we
never paid the money, but it shows the spirit was here yet.
W e have a little institution here called 'Hie Auto ling Company. They asked
for a stock subscription of fifteen thousand dollars. We raised it in a little
while.
I have cited these facts to show you how Xorwalk has been built. I have
tried to convey to you the thought that there is a spirit of brotherhood here that
was implanted by the original settlers that has never left us, and until that leaves
us. nobody is ever going to have a weak back in Xorwalk.
There are four old gentlemen in Xorwalk who have always been boosters and
never kickers. They have always pushed and they have always pulled and
they have always lifted and they have always been found when we wanted them.
They are George M. Darling, ninety-seven years old. Charles W. Manahan, ninety-
six years, John Gardiner, ninety-three years, Benjamin Xyman, eighty-nine years.
Those four men have always been ready and willing to the extent of their ability
to help us along.
All of those things lead me to say that nobody need worry about the future
of Xorwalk. So long as this spirit lives, so long will we progress. When that
spirit becomes tired and lies down, then Xorwalk is dying. The embodiment
of that -pirit is illustrated in these verses:
Trust no future, howe'er pleasant,
Let the dead past bury its dead.
Act, act in the living present.
Heart within and God o'erhead.
Let us then be up and doing.
With a heart for any fate,
Still achieving, still pursuing.
Learn to labor and to wait.
THE NOR WALK CENTENNIAL AND HOME-COMING.
The Xorwalk centennial and home-coming week. July 18 to 24, was opened
Sunday. July 18. by home-coming services in all the churches in the city. A
sacred concert was given in the afternoon, in which all united.
Monday. July 10, was school day. with Professor J. E. Cole as chairman.
At 0:30 a - m - reunion of alumni and for students of high school, Xorwalk
academy and Xorwalk seminary, held in the high school yard, and was ad-
dressed by the Hon. L. C. Laylin. Monday afternoon was taken up by amuse-
ments of various kinds.
Large and patriotic was the crowd which was present Monday night at the
entertainment held in the high school yard under the chairmanship of Rev.
Arthur Dumper.
Digitized by Googl
PEARL STREET LOOKING WEST. CHICAGO, OHIO
by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
For this purpose a grand stand had been erected with seats in front suf-
ficient to provide ample accommodatious for the audience.
The program of the evening was opened with a selection by the orchestra
after which Rev. Mr. Dumper in a happy speech told of the purpose of the
meeting and introduced Mayor C. P. Venus who gave the address of welcome.
The mayor said in part:
"Tt becomes my pleasant duty as Mayor of the city, in accordance with the
general custom, to extend to you. as guests of Norwalk, such a welcome as seems
fitting for the occasion. We feel we have a double claim on you. and you on
us, not as guests and hosts alone, but as father meeting son. and brother meet-
ing brother after years of separation."
Mayor Venus compared the home coming of former Norwalkians with the
return of the Prodigal Son of scriptural times, claiming that the home coming
of Norwalkians was even better in that there is no envious brother to complain
at the merry making and no regret for misspent years.
"Although you have been away from this, your old home, for many years,"
said the mayor, "perhaps to every remote corners of the earth, yet we have known
of you during all of these years, have felt the heart-glow of pride at hearing of
your successes, and how well you have upheld the fame of Norwalk.
"That heart-glow is with our welcome of you back again, to hear from
your lips and to read in your prosperous bearing the full measure of your suc-
cesses, and to meet and greet the sturdy young sons and fair daughters you
are bringing with yon from your distant new homes to this your old home.
The picture of the welcome coming of Santa Clans to a child, or a sister of
mercy to a needy sufferer, can call up no greater response of joy than in the
welcoming we have for you today.
"We have attired ourselves in our Sunday clothes to welcome you. We
have matched the rich, verdant hues that nature has given this charmed home-
spot with bright streamers and bunting; we have killed the fatted calf for the
feasting, and provided all the diversion and entertainment to make more pleas-
ant the all-too-brief hours of your stay in your old home; and if all we have
done appeals to you as proof of the cordial, heart-felt welcoming we would give.
I want you to know that it cannot express one iota of the true feeling of wel-
come in onr hearts. Just as all of the affection of a father to a son, hallowed
by the years of companionship in the old home flowed out into the welcoming
home to the Prodigal Son, so a thousand tender recollections : the drawing of
sacred family ties: of joys and sufferings of younger days; of familiar spots
loved and treasured in the memory; incidents of childhood, too often the only
heritage left us by departed friends ; all these sacred associations in which we
are joint owners, and the loves and friendships of those good old days of our
childhood, made fonder by the years of your absence, and fanned into new
life by your presence here again, are all here speaking to you from us through
this welcoming we are giving you."
"Norwalk of Yesterday." the topic assigned to Hon. S. A. Wildman was
ably handled by that speaker. Mr. Wildman showed an interest in his subject
and a scholarship of historic lore which carried his listeners back, willy nilly.
Digitized by Google
<>2
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
to the days when the silent forests were tread by Indians, '"single file, barefooted,
like dervishes of old."
"The flight of time." said Mr. Wildman. "has interested mankind from time
immemorial. The ancient Creeks and other nations have written of it, and their
ponderings have found a prototype in .Macbeth, wherein Shakespeare picture*
the three witches at the cauldron scene."
Rapidly, but with surprising detail in a speech so short, Mr. \\ ildman sketched
the various phases of Norwalk's early history. He told of the time when the
present Main street was a trail for the Delaware Indians going down into the
fiats to make their maple sugar.
Gradually the town became settled. First one hardy pioneer came and then
another till gradually the little log hut in the wilderness of Western Reserve
had grown, he declared, until today as you stand at Court House square you per-
haps cannot recognize one out of a score who pass you.
Those who came found a warm welcome and that spirit has survived, the
spirit which has made Norwalk the city of which you arc so proud.
The oldest house in Norwalk. the speaker said, is the residence now occupied
by former councilman H. A. Blume. which was built in 1816. It is a yellow
painted frame dwelling and is located on Whittlesey avenue.
Clowing optimism was the keynote of the address: "Norwalk of Tomor-
row," by Ed. L. Young. Mr. Young declared that Norwalk is the product of
the spirit of enterprise of old New England. There is no room in the city, he
said, for the croaker or knocker but all should help push.
"The city has had reverses," said Mr. Young, "but these reverses have puri-
fied certain phases of business life and the standard was never higher than today.
Norwalk's successes far outnumbers her failures.
"Norwalk," he declared, "wants boosters, it needs the spirit of those who
will put their best foot forward. It is a splendid city, surrounded by fertile
fields, it has good stores, solid banks, excellent churches, transportation facili-
ties unexcelled, a municipality well officered, it is a town where law and order
prevails.
"We have in Norwalk the two greatest American advantages, American homes
and American spirit."
The meeting closed with a selection by the orchestra, after which the crowd
spent a few moments visiting the various sights and then returned to their
homes.
Tuesday was Fraternal Day. At nine a. m. the exercises of the day opened,
followed by a grand fraternal parade in which all the fraternal societies of
Huron county participated. In the parade were floats, carriages and decorated
vehicles. The address of the occasion was made by the Hon. Charles E. Piper,
of Chicago, president of the National Fraternal Congress. In the evening there
was a reunion of all former Norwalk officials, with Mayor Venus as chairman.
A pica for universal fraternity was the keynote of the address made by Hon.
F. W. Van Dusen, the first speaker introduced. He said that the spirit of chivalry
did not die with the middle ages, nor has it been limited to any age or time.
Fraternal day. he said, is singularly appropriate for a home-coming cele-
bration for if there are two words in the English language which are syn-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY 63
onymous they arc "home" and "fraternity." If the people, he said, will not
go to the fraternities why should not the latter go to the people?
Civilization, he said, is measured by the aspect with which woman is re-
garded. Among the savages she was a slave, in the early Christian days a toy.
Today she is assuming a better position. Lightly touching the much discussed
question of suffrage he said that the proper place of woman is perhaps not in
the mire of politics where she might only add lo the numerical strength of the
voting force and not improve it.
Hon. Charles E. Piper, of Chicago, president of the National Fraternal
Congress was in a happy vein when he arose to speak. Whimsical, but earn-
est withal he held the attention of his hearers.
The boy starting out in life, he said, learns history three times. First he
learns the bare facts. When he goes to high school these are elaborated with
regard to their position in history, but when he enters college he is for the
third time told that he does not know history and must study it. The instructor
makes him learn not only the facts of history but the facts with reference to
the course of the world. It is not sufficient for him to know that Charles
Martel defeated the Saracens, he must know why the Saracens were in Europe
at that particular time.
In something the same manner we not only should know of the existence
of fraternity but should know of it with reference to the world, why it is here
and what are the objects which it is meant to accomplish.
Wednesday was Merchants' and Manufacturers' Day, opening at ten a. m.
by a grand parade. At one-thirty p. m. was the decorated automobile parade.
At three p. m. address by Hon. Judson Harmon, Governor of Ohio.
The combined efforts of the manufacturers and merchants of the city in
celebration of industrial day resulted in the largest and best pageant in the
history of the city. The various factories and merchants were represented with
elaborate floats in a most creditable manner. The two ends of the parade met
at State street, extending from that thoroughfare to Newton, to Jefferson, to
Cortland, to Main, to State, a distance of over a mde and one-half. It took the
paraders thirty minutes to pass a given point.
The pageant was witnessed by thousands of spectators who thronged the
line of march, particularly in the business portion of the city. Early cars com-
menced bringing people from outlying districts and neighboring towns and
cities until at ten o'clock Main and adjoining streets were a mass of humanity.
The parade moved at ten-fifteen o'clock and included in its make-up Governor
Harmon, who viewed the pageant from his automobile in front of the Avalon
on the counter march. The governor was kept busy lifting his hat in response
to the cheers which greeted him along the line.
The automobile parade in the afternoon was a feature of merchants' and
mechanics' day of the centennial celebration. Fifty handsomely decorated ma-
chines made up the unique pageant, which reflected great credit upon the com-
mittee which had the affair in charge, which included Theodore Williams,
chairman : W. C. Pressing, grand marshal ; E. E. Sly and Arthur Young, assist-
ants.
Digitized by Google
64 HISTORY OF HURON CO I." NT Y
Mr. Pressing's car headed the parade and was followed by Dr. Merritt's
car in which was seated Governor Harmon, Mayor Venus and Hon. S. E. Craw-
ford. Two cars followed carrying the governor's staff and then came Dr. Sim-
mon's car with members of the centennial committee. The cars carrying the
governor and staff and members of the committee were gaily decorated with
Hags and bunting.
At three p. m. the vast crowd assembled at School Park to hear the Gov-
ernor's address.
Governor Harmon made a plea for law enforcement in his address at the
high school grounds during the afternoon. The governor said that every dollar
spent by a government affects the home owner by so much and the failure of
any to obey the laws reacts on all.
There was a large crowd assembled when the governor arrived in an auto-
mobile with his staff. He was briefly introduced by C. F. Jackson, president
of the Chamber of Commerce who said the executive was welcome not only as
the governor but because through ancestry he is in a certain sense a home
comer.
" The mere fact of having existed for a hundred years," said the governor.
" is no matter for glory, but the glory exists in whatever may have been ac-
complished." He said that in looking back to what Norwalk was a century
ago, it has every reason to be proud.
"No state in the union." he declared, "has as many prosperous cities as
Ohio, and of these Norwalk is ranked with the fairest. We are proud of the
cities of our state and proud of the agricultural districts which, created them
and which are sustaining them."
The governor said that he had visited this city in the past and was much
surprised at the numerous industries located within its precincts.
"P»ut more than industry or wealth," he said, "it is necessary for a city to
possess rigid virtue and high ideals, and these Norwalk has.
"I do not know who will stand in my place a hundred years from now."
said Governor Harmon, "but I do know that whoever he is, he will receive
from Norwalk citizenship the same hearty welcome which was accorded me.
"W hen my ancestors moved to what was called west, two hundred years ago.
that is the western part of New York, the house they built was not burned dur-
ing the ravages of Benedict Arnold. Had he done so I might have been here
in the capacity of a home-comer, a native of the Firelands.
"As we come to these home-comings we see that some of us are growing
older but there are those who can show us how to grow old gradually, and teach
us that every age has its pleasures if we will but find them."
The governor referred humorously to the numerous invitations which he has
received from Ohio societies throughout the country and said that if he accepted
one. for instance, which was sent him from the Pacific coast, he would not be
able to attend to his duties at Columbus and the people would say that he is
loafing on the job.
Becoming more serious on this topic he said that home-comings are an ex-
cellent thing, that they tend to strengthen the band of unity between section
and section, making this more and more one country under one (lag.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
65
"One of the things which made easy the Civil war," said the governor,
"was the fact that the criss-crossed lines of kinship did not run north and south
and that we were two great bodies instead of one. It is different now, there are
societies of the north in the south and vice versa."
The governor remarked that one of the signs of prosperity in Norwalk is
the fact that almost everyone owns his own home.
He closed by making a plea for law enforcement because on it depends
much of the safety and happiness of the household.
At the conclusion of his address the governor was whirled away in an auto,
followed by his staff in two other machines, to the Avalon, where a public re-
ception was held in the lobby. Members of company G. formed a pathway
through which the people passed in a jam for three-quarters of an hour to shake
the hand and pass a few words with the chief executive. Mayor Venus in-
troduced the callers to the governor.
Owing to arrangements to take the chief executive to Sandusky where a
public reception was arranged for a short time, the reception at the Avalon was
cut short at three forty-five o'clock. The special car on the Lake Shore Elec-
tric, conveying the governor and several prominent Sandusky democratic politi-
cians, Senator Dean, and Representative Crawford, of this city, who enter-
tained the governor during his stay in this citv, left for the Bay City at three
fifty.
Thursday was Firelands Day. The Hon. C. H. Gallup, chairman.
Rev. Arthur Dumper pronounced the invocation and, omitting the music
by the Italian band, Mr. Gallup at once introduced Hon. C. P. Wickham, who
gave a memorial address to two honored ex-presidents of the society: Hon.
G. T. Stewart, of this city and Judge Rush R. Sloane. of Sandusky, both hav-
ing died in the last year. Judge Wickham's tribute was one that could well
be rendered by one whose acquaintance with the two men had been closely
intimate and personal. Of Mr. Stewart he gave a brief account of his life from
his birth in 1824 to his recent death, of his education at Oberlin. his law study
with Jairus Kennan and Noah Swayne, his newspaper connection with the
Dubuque Times, where he held the unenviable position of anti-slavery editor in
pro-slavery territory, of his long law practice in which he achieved distinction
for his ability and justice. Mr. Stewart was a member of all organizations of
Norwalk with the object of benefiting and uplifting and preserving the good
and valuable, and prominent prohibitionist and temperance worker, last surviv-
ing charter member of the Whittlesey academy and one of the organizers of
Firelands.
Of Mr. Sloane, Judge Wickham said : "He was a product of the Firelands.
born and reared here and with his vital interests centered here. He was active
in the prosecution of the Fugitive Slave law, but was for that afterward re-
warded and recognized by election to various offices, among them probate judge.
Lincoln's appointment as agent of postoffice dq>artment, and afterwards his
commercial ability and recognition in railroad circles, caused him to abandon
active law practice. He also was a member of many archaeological and other
societies and was the donor of five hundred dollars to the Firelands for its
present home."
Digitized by Google
66
HISTORY OK HURON COUNTY
Dr. Heckwith, whose address was entitled "'Reminiscences from 1835 to
1853," is a delightful, breezy old gentleman, whose recollections cover a period
of Norwalk's history that saw great strides in her progress. He was born
in Iimnson, and first remembers Norwalk for an encounter between the Bron-
son and Norwalk lads on "the hill," where the latter essayed to enter Norwalk.
the occasion being a circus. This was soon after followed by a mighty battle
in which the Bronson Davids (with slings) slew the Norwalk Gcliaths and peace
was established. Dr. Heckwith attended Norwalk Seminary and recalled many
interesting episodes. One, the attendance upon a young lady of the female de-
partment, his consequent public reproof, which failed of effect because he has
been waiting on that same young lady sixty years. Dr. Heckwith attended this
school with General McPherson, the famous general of the Civil war. George
R. Haynes, who died early, George G. Haines, late of Toledo, well known as
circuit judge here for many years. Dr. Beckwith's accounts of his earlier ac-
ceptance of homeopathy and its practice was interesting and often humt>rous.
His early study with Dr. TifTt and his treatment of the nervous patient Tim
Strong, his acquiring of drug knowledge in John Dewey's drug store, his asso-
ciation with Drs. Kittredge and Baker and George Crane, all are reminiscences
that recall the well known figures of Norwalk fifty years ago. His early experi-
ence of long rides and disagreeable cases rewarded by small or no fees, were
very interesting. He was actively engaged in practice at the time of the cholera
epidemic in 1853. consulted with Dr. Tildem and Dr. Kramer of Sandusky. An
amusing incident was one »>f his resuscitatiem of a certain amorous Cox after a
dose of laudanum. The sequel was characteristic. Attorney Tim Strong w arned
him that a serious charge had been placed against him, in which all the lawyers
of Huron county were against him. Mr. Strong advised him as a friend, to en-
gage Judge Ranney, of Cleveland. Dr. Heckwith inquired. "Why'" "Because
you brought back to life that 'love-sick' fool, Cox." Dr. Beck with closed with
a glowing tribute to Dr. TifTt, whom many present well remembered.
The afternoon session was principally given to addresses and reminiscences
by pioneer descendants. Hon. C. H. Gallup gave an interesting talk on, "One
Century of Norwalk." recounting the city's growth from its founding by Nathan
Cotmtock, February 7, 1809, to the present day. Another speaker was Professor
A. S. Root, who talked in an entertaining manner with regard to local his-
torical societies, their uses and benefits. "It is such organizations as these," he
said, "that stir patriotism and gives to all a keener interest in the affairs of
state and municipality." He paid a splendid compliment to the local society on
the completeness of its records and the splendid museum.
Another speaker was Professor Prince, of Cincinnati, a member of the Ohio
Archaeological Mid Geological society. He told of the rich historical value of
the Western Reserve and the Firelands as viewed from residents of another
portion of the state. A number of pioneers spoke briefly giving reminiscences
of early days in the Firelands.
The following is taken fre">m the Norwalk Herald, of Friday. [8th: The clos-
ing remarks of the Firelands Pioneer Historical society were made by A. J
Baughman of Mansfield, who was here as representative of the State Archaeo-
logical society, and they were peculiarly appropriate as a prelude to the exercises
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI RON COUNTY
67
of today in which the G. A. R. participated, as at the close, Mr. Baughman re-
cited a little poem, "The Soldiers of the Civil War Are on Their Last March."
They are marching down the valley at the great Commander's call,
Though the way is rough and weary, and the mystic shadows fall ;
But the hearts that beat so bravely in the battle's fierce affray,
Do not falter at the summons, nor the dangers of the way.
They are marching down the valley, hark, the sound of tramping feet!
They go on thro' summer's sunshine, they go on thro' winter's sleet ;
T.anners wave and arms aglitter, and the music's throbbing breath
Echoes in the solemn valley, that we name the Vale of Death.
They are marching down the valley, and we follow gladly on.
For the music sweet and eerie tells the way that they have gone ;
And we'll find them camped in meadows where the waters stilly flow ;
Where the sward is soft and verdant, and the flowers of heaven grow.
Thursday was also Sunday school day.
The parade moved promptly at ten-thirty o'clock, the appointed hour, in
charge of Charles A. Paul a> grand marshal, assisted by Dr. H. Fulstow, Milo
Johnson, Phil Fulstow and Douglas Gardiner.
Following the grand marshals came the Royal Italian band and centennial
officials in carriages. The first Sunday school in the line was the Baptist organ-
ization, headed with a large float trimmed in yellow with a cross in the center,
to which a young woman, with long, flowing hair clung, representing, "Rock
of Ages." Women with babies in carriages, representing the cradle roll came
next. The lathes of D. Kies' Bible class wore gowns of yellow and white
ami clung to white and yellow streamers which led to a staff carried by Mr.
Kiis. One float was filled with boys alongside of which walked men of various
races representing the missionary work of the church.
The Congregational church was the second denomination in line. Their
delegation started with the cradle roll in small carts drawn by ponies, all neatly
decorated with white flowers. Ladies in carriages, children dressed in white,
riding on large floats and another large wagon filled with church pews, on
which were seated elderly people, concluded the delegation from the Congrega-
tional church.
The Junior Order drum corps marched at the head of the Episcopal dele-
gation, the first being a large float filled with children. A small pony and cart
handsomely decorated with yellow cloth and nasturtiums carried yellow. An
auto gaily decorated with flags and evergreens, filled with children followed,
the procession of Fpiscopalians being closed with two carriage loads of children
dressed in white.
The Presbyterian Sunday school was led by two electric automobiles hand-
somely decorated. A large float handsomely decorated in white carried many
children neatly dressed in white suits and dresses. It required, in addition, to
carry the delegation — eight surreys and a band wagon.
Digitized by Google
68
HISTORY OF HL'KOX COUNTY
The Chicago Junction band came between the Presbyterian and Methodist
organizations the latter being headed by several surreys in which were seated
ladies dressed in white. A large float, decorated in pink and white, and covered
with llowers. carried a large number of children, arranged in pyramid form.
Two floats decorated in red, white and blue, carried young people, one repre-
senting the Puritans of several centuries ago. Four automobiles, with white
decorations, carried a number of young ladies in white gowns.
The entire procession was concluded by the Universalist Sunday school,
a float decorated in red. white and blue carrying children, and three carriages
filled with teachers of the school.
Friday was Grand Army and Military Day, and one of the largest gather-
ings of the veterans of the Civil war ever held in Huron county was at the
home-coming in Norwalk on this day.
The meeting of the Soldiers' and Sailors' association was deferred until the
present week in order to combine the two functions and make one grand general
reunion of the veterans and their families, the meetings being usually held in
June of each year.
Thi> morning's session was devoted to the business affairs of the organiza-
tion, the election of officers and other such matters. The meeting was called to
order by President J. M. Chaffee shortly before ten o'clock.
A neat souvenir, consisting of an American flag pin. was presented with
the compliments of the Marsh company, to each of the veterans as he entered
the hall. Vice president Charles Stacey, secretary W. G. Holiday and treasurer
YV. H. Cline were busy at the beginning of the session pinning badges on mem-
bers of the association.
Among those who spoke during the forenoon were Orville S. Reed, of Toledo,
department chaplain, and past department commander of Ohio Rogers of Cleve-
land.
The Gilger theater was filled in the afternoon by veterans of the Civil war.
and their friends to hear the eloquent words that fell from the lips of General
R. P.. Drown, of Zane^ville. past department commander of the Grand Army
of the Republic.
The theater was handsomely decorated for the occasion with flags and em-
blems of the order, the front of the balcony and stage being handsomely fes-
tooned with the national colors. Colonel James H. Sprague was chairman of
the day.
General P>ro\vn, known as one of the most eloquent speakers in the G. A. R.
was at his best yesterday afternoon and his reference to the stirring incidents
of the bl(K)dy civil conflict caused the pulse of his old comrades to quicken, while
numerous pathetic stories of the war caused the tears to course down the furrow >
of the checks of the old soldiers who knew full well the meaning of his word-
It was an intensely patriotic audience that listened to General Brown and he was
frequently interrupted by applause.
General L.rown made a strong appeal to parents to instil in their children
the idea of patrioti>m : to teach them the full significance of their liberty under
this great republic; what its institutions mean, and the great sacrifice made to
bring it into existence and perpetuate it.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
69
The sight of "old glory," he said, prior to the Civil war, with the possible
exception of some Fourth of July celebration, was a rare thing. He ventured
the assertion that had "old glory" been as familiar a sight in the days before
the war as it is today the civil conflict would have been impossible.
Troop K, fifteenth cavalry. U. S. A., arrived in Norwalk Thursday forenoon.
Riding two by two through Main street, the troopers presented a splendid
appearance, were in full marching order, with sabers and carbines and shelter
tents wrapped in rolls, their service uniforms being neat and clean in spite of
their long "hike." At their head as they entered the city rode Captain F. C. Mar-
shall, in command, and First Lieutenant John Cocke.
Saturday was the closing day of the centennial celebration. The day dawned
cool and clear and has been ideal for such a celebration as the city has indulged
the past week. Farmers seemed inclined to take a day off and early afternoon
cars brought crowds from the rural districts.
The officials of the centennial association are supremely satisfied with the
celebration and count it a great success.
The following editorial, suggested by Norwalk Home Week celebration, ap-
peared in the Cleveland Leader of Saturday:
"Such a celebration as that which has taken place at Norwalk this week
is good to participate in, fine to contemplate by those whose early home ties
lead them to some other city or village away from the metropolitan centers.
The "home week" serves both to bring back old memories and to renew old
acquaintances, as well as to show the elder boys and girls who have drifted
away what a fine place the old town is, after all. Thus the new Norwalk
displays its many attractions, while the old Norwalk is brought to life in the
memories of its children.
"Home weeks" in America are less ostentatious manifestations of the spirit
which has inspired Fnglish towns to work out festivals with showy greatness.
American towns have no hoary legends to commemorate, and depend largely
upon the memory of men and women now living to supply the traditions.
For sheer personal enjoyment the American "welcome home" beats the Eng-
lish elaborate pageant all hollow."
The following letters from one of "the old boys of Norwalk"'— "Jim" Patter-
son — will explain themselves:
Denver, Colo., June 14. 1909.
C. P. IVickham, Noncalk, Ohio.
Old Friend Charlie : — I have this day received notice of the "Norwalk
Centennial." in which I read, "Please come home. Old Mother Norwalk wants
to see all her children," and requesting an answer "whether or not you will
be present to celebrate the occasion with us."
How much I would like above all things to come, and will if possible, but am
afraid I cannot.
"Home coming!" What visions open up; how old memories are stirred
when we think of the old home ; how present surroundings recede and the boyish
environments come to the front and occupy the whole stage. Gee !
But say. wouldn't it be better for me to stay away? I shall miss so many
things. Won't I suffer sharp disappointments? Over half a century! Here
70
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
now 1 am an old man ; there I was a boy. I don't know your Norwalk of today ;
the Norwalk of old is in my mind. I am sure I no longer recognize it as you
have made it. 1 could not — nor would I wish to if I could — destroy the illu-
sion. It is a comfort for me to dream of the things that were there once upon
a time, and that was in the long ago. I know that it has not all vanished, but in
the picture memory presents to me I see plainly certain outlines of streets,
houses, gardens, forests, meadows and streams that have vanished or altered.
This gradual change has been going on all those years; you have not noticed
it. it is nothing to you, but it is everything to me.
What are you going to do about it? 1 know. You are going to entertain
the old boys and girls the very best you can ; you are going to "point with
pride" to all your improvements. We old ones will recognize your pride in
these things, as the age in which we live demands them, and your civic spirit
has been equal to the call ; but 1 fear there will be an aching void which you
cannot fill and for which you will be in nowise to blame. We can lay it on to
old Father Time.
In later years when you are no longer there, when long years have intervened,
you are conscious that all those old things are dear to you, necessary to you.
that they are a part of you. and you have a great desire to see them again.
W ill I be able to gratify this longing if I come there?
The>e old scenes which you no longer behold, which you imagine you may
never again behold, and whose memory you cherish, take on a melancholy charm ;
they rise up like an apparition; all that is restful, pleasant, enchantingly visible
to your longing mind. You love it. you call Up things as they were, you cannot
tolerate any change in them, for you were attached to them. They are woven
in the warp and woof of the boy who received his first impression of things
in his most plastic, susceptible state of mind, and you cannot eradicate them
or offer a satisfactory substitute for those things that filled the mind in those
far-oiT days of happy childhood and youth. You cannot erase the indelible im-
pressions produced upon the heart of man by the place where he was born.
No matter how many long years have intervened since you left your native
place, no matter if all your property interests are centered in some other place,
no matter how pleasantly you may be situated or how good your health may
have been, you may be one of the leading citizens of your adopted home, ad-
vising all to come and profit by its wonderful advantages and invest their
money as the hest place in the world ; yet, in the heart of that man the pleasant-
est memories of all his life cluster around the old original home. It might not
have been the best place in the world, but it is the best to think about.
1 long to sec it again, to roam around and examine it, just to see how mucli
damage you have done to it by your improvements.
I would like to ride down to the lake on your electric cars. I used to
down to Huron on foot, or rather on two feet — and both of them bare at that.
Yes. there arc lots of things I should miss, but above all. I should miss the
forms and faces and pleasant voices of so very many of my old companions
ami acquaintances. Some of them are left, and I would like to meet thcrn.
and will if I can. I see your name on the reception committee, and others that
I recollect so well, but there are so many that I do not know : sure they are
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
all right or they wouldn't be there, and if I cannot be with you I hereby send my
heartiest greetings. If I come I will bring them with me. Remember me to
all old friends, and most sincerely to you and yours.
J. O. Patterson.
MAKE REUNION STEADY THING — CITIZEN SAYS HE CANNOT WAIT ANOTHER
HUNDRED YEARS TO MEET HIS FRIENDS.
Why wait a hundred years?
Maybe we'll all be dead then.
There is considerable pith in the suggestion made to the Herald today that
the present glorious home-coming be made an annual event instead of an oc-
casion observed only at each centennial.
"There is no reason for thinking," said a prominent citizen, "that love of
the old city burns but once in a hundred years or that it requires the stimulus
of a centennial to warm the friendly hand-clasp. The flower of love is not a
century plant, nor should the 'cup of kindness' be put on the stove to simmer
for a dozen generations before it is quaffed.
"Those who came to the centennial and home-coming were glad to be here
and we were glad to see them. Will they not be just as glad next year and the
year after, and every year until the end of time?
"This home-coming spirit is a great thing and should be encouraged. It
is just the right procedure to implant in the young mind a love of his native
city, which is only patriotism in a narrower form, and teach him that after
he has flown the home nest there is someone always waiting to hear good things
of him.
"So let us have the home-coming every year. It need not be elaborate, may
be nothing more than the hand-shake and the 'God bless you,' spoken from the
heart but let it become an established institution so that all will know that
Norwalk welcomes its wandering sons.
"If we wished to go into it on an elaborate scale we might have a pageant
typifying the settlement of the Firelands and the Western Reserve. Redskins
scooting down the main street, and pioneers roughly attired going to church
with a gun slung on their shoulders would be a sight to make the youngsters
of today open their eyes, I'll warrant.
"A pageant of this sort could be prepared without a great deal of expense
and people would come miles to see it. It would become a sort of Mardi Gras
of the north and if made an annual event would do more to advertise Norwalk
than one could imagine."
THE CHURCHES OF NORWALK.
THE FIRST METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH.
BY MR. L. L. DOUD.
In 1823 the First Methodist Society was organized with seven members.
Preaching services and Sunday school were held in Joseph Wilson's house, which
stood on the southwest corner of East Main and Prospect streets.
Digitized by Google
74
HISTORY OF HCRON COUNTY
The first church building was erected in 1833-34, on Seminary street, and is
still used for church services In the Evangelical Lutheran Society. The second
church building was erected in 1855-56, on the corner of West Main street and
Benedict avenue, and was occupied until May 1, 1803, when this property was
sold to the C. F. Jackson Co., who built what is now known as the Glass Block on
the site.
The society then held its church services in W hittlesey Hall, across the street,
until the Sunday school room of the present church building was ready for occu-
pancy, February 14. 18*^7. Here the services were held until the main auditorium
was completed and the church finally dedicated, June 22, 1902.
The church record* now, in i<>09. show a membership of six hundred and
thirty enrolled, with about five hundred in the Sunday school. The records on
high alone can tell how many souls have been saved through this church, and
finally garnered in heaven, during the past eighty-six years.
THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH.
BY AiK. BYRON II ANFORP.
On September 20. 1818. four men and one woman joined in a conference
that January, 1819. became the present Baptist church of Norwalk. It numbered
fourteen members. A Scotch minister preached from the words, '"Fear not little
Hock." etc.
Asahel Morse was first clerk, and Lemuel Raymond the first deacon, and the
earliest settled pastor in 182 1 to 1824 was John Rigdon. Services were first held
in a 1< g schoolhousc on land now owned by heirs of Sidney Brown. Ridgefield town-
ship. The present location was contracted for January. 1835, and the first edi-
fice dedicated June. 1836. while the present one was dedicated March. 1880. The
organization has had twenty-two pastors in its ninety years' existence. The late
Otis G. Carter was the earliest Sunday school superintendent and the present
church membership is about four hundred.
THE FIRST I'RFSHVTERI AN CHI RCII.
ItV UK I". ( . W U K II AM .
Of Norwalk was organized in 1830. nearly eighty years ago. In this time it
has had but eight pastors. The first person to be ordained as its regular pastor
was Rev. Alfred Newton, I). D., who served his church for thirty-five vears with
a steadfast purpose that during his time and in after years brought forth rich
fruitage. Retiring from service on account of the infirmity of years, he was
made pastor emeritus carrying with him to his grave the love and esteem of not
only his own church people but of the entire community in which he so long
resided. He was succeeded by Rev. Henry H. Rice, a young and zealous pastor,
and he b\ the following named pastors: Rev. James D. Williamson. Rev. J. M.
Seymour. Rev. Dr. W . A. Broadhurst. Rev. W . D. Atkinson, Rev. II. S. Forrer
and Rev. A. J. Kunnell. the latter having he en called in the spring of 1909.
The church has a live, working membership of three hundred or more and
with it a prosperous and growing Sabbath school.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
75
Sr. PAI L'S Kl'ISCOl'AL CHURCH.
1JY REV. ARTHUR DUMPER.
The earliest record of this parish, a little faded bit of paper now preserved in
the Firelands Historical Rooms, is dated January 20, iS^i, at Xorwalk. It de-
clares that a meeting for organizing an Episcopal church was presided over by
Piatt Benedict, Esq., and that William Gardner was elected clerk. The following
gentlemen thereupon enrolled themselves as members and friends of the Protestant
Episcopal church : Piatt Benedict. Luke Keeler, Amos Woodward, William Gard-
ner. Ami Keeler. W illiam Woodward. Gurdon Woodward, Ezra Sprague, Enos
Gilbert. John Keeler, John Boalt, Samuel S]>arrow. Asa Sanford, Henry Hurlbut,
E. Lane. William Gallup, D. Gibbs and Moses Sowers. The parish was organized
under the name, St. Paul's.
In the year 1K18 the first public religious service in Norwalk was conducted
in the log shanty of Piatt Benedict. It consisted of the service of the Episcopal
church together with the reading of a sermon by a layman. Two years later this
congregation was holding services regularly every Lord's day in the court house.
The old church building now standing in the rear of the new church was
erected in 1835; and enlarged first in the rectorship of E. Winthrop and again,
in the incumbency of the late Rev. Royal Balcom. The first service of the holy
communion was celebrated by the Rev. Roger Searle. February 17, 1822. The
first annual parish meeting was held on Easter Monday. 1821. The first Episco-
pal visitation was that of Bishop Philander Cliase. the founder of Kcnyon Col-
lege, on Sunday, August 14, 1825.
The succession of ministers who have served the parish is as follows: The
Rev. Roger Searle. the Rev. C. P. Bronson, the Rev. John P. Bausman, the
Rev. Ephraim Punderson, the Rev. Anson Clarke, the Rev. J. J. Okfll, the Rev.
Alvon Guion. the Rev. Sabin Hough, the Rev. Edward Winthrop, the Rev.
George W. Watson, the Rev. Henry Tullidge, the Rev. William Xewton, the
Rex . H. H. Morrell. the Rev. Royal B. Balcom, the Rev. Charles S. Aves and
the Rev. Arthur Dumper.
Splendid laymen and women, an illustrious line beginning with Piatt Bene-
dict, have been and still are identified with St. Paul's church: names prominent
and influential in the founding and upbuilding of the city: men and women whose
labors and virtues live fruitfully after them.
The present rector of the parish is the Rev. Arthur Dumper xvho began his
labors here in 1903. In the last few years Benedict Chapel has been enlarged
and its interior remodeled for parish house purposes. The cornerstone of the new
church, a stately Gothic structure of stone, was laid on the fifteenth of Novem-
ber, 1908. It will have a seating capacity of four hundred and fifty, and ex-
clusive of furnishings and memorial gifts will cost about fifty thousand dollars.
The church is in a flourishing condition with bright prospects for the future.
THE FIRST CONOR KG A T 1 0 \ A I . CHURCH.
BY MR. U L. SNOOK.
The First Congregational church of Xorwalk, Ohio, was orgatiized at the court
house in Norwalk, December 10. 1867. under the labors of Rev. A. S. Walsh.
Digitized by Google
76
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The number of original members was fifty-four, mostly drawn from the old
Congregational church of Bronson township, which was thereby disbanded.
For more than three years the infant church was without a sanctuary. A
part of this time it worshiped in the court house, and during the remainder was
the guest of its sisters, the Protestant Episcopal and Baptist churches, wlwse
hospitality deserves kind remembrance. In 1868 the old hotel known as the
GaufT House (standing where the church now stands), was purchased, and
thither the prayer meeting, previously held at private houses, was removed.
Many a hallowed hour, now tenderly remembered, was passed in those rooms,
formerly the scene of drunken revels. Here also the Sunday school was or-
ganized.
The new church was completed early in 1871 and dedicated February 2nd of
that year. The cost of the building and lot was about sixteen thousand dollars.
Several thousand dollars' debt remained after the dedication, which proved a heavy
and almost insupportable burden for many years. At last, in October, 1878, with
the aid of Mr. Edward Kimball, the entire amount was subscribed, and by May
1, 1880, the last dollar was paid and the church has since been free from debt.
THE UNIVERSALIST CHURCH.
BY MR. H. S. CI.APP.
The Universalist church of Norwalk, Ohio, was organized on the third Sun-
day in January, i860, with twenty-seven members. A little more than a year
before this time, Dr. H. L. Canfield, who was then preaching in Peru, began
holding services in Norwalk, where he thought there was an opportunity to estab-
lish a church. From such beginnings, small in every way except the faith and
courage of Dr. Canfield, has grown the Universalist church of Norwalk In
April. 1868, a Sunday school was organized with four scholars which was increased
to fifty in less than a year.
Among the twenty-seven charter members of the church are the names of
such well known old time residents of Norwalk as William A. Mack. Frederick
Scars, Samuel Wilkinson. Aro D. Clapp. George Gauflf. Sterry Cole, Addison
Sigourney. Sarah E. Dunbar and Catherine E. Rose. The first officers of the
church were Frederick Sears, William A. Mack, A. D. Clapp. D. A. Baker and
Frederick Wickham, trustees. Rev. H. L. Canfield. moderator. A. B. Hanna-
ford, clerk. Mrs. Hiram Rose, treasurer. W. A. Mack and S. Wilkinson,
deacons.
When the church was fairly established, steps were taken to build a church
edifice but it was not until December. 1872. that the church was completed. On
Sunday. December 8th. it was formally dedicated. Since that time, we will let
the work of the church speak for itself.
sr. peter's English Lutheran church.
BY REV. H. C. SUTTER.
Congregation organized in January, 1901, by Rev. W. F. Rose, and served
by him until Easter, 1902. From then until Easter, 1907, it was served by Rev.
O. T. F. Tressel. From December, 1907. until now, by Rev. H. G. Sutter.
Church property purchased and remodeled in 1902.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
77
st. Mary's catholic church.
BY REV. p. J. QUINN.
St. Mary's congregation was organized in the summer of 185O and its first
pastor was Rev. Narcissus Ponchell. Prior to Easter Sunday, 1859, when mass
was said for the first time in the newly completed church of St. Mary's, corner
of Milan and St. Mary streets, the English speaking Catholics of Norwalk and
vicinity chose to worship in St. Alphonsus church of Peru, and later in old St.
Peter"s Norwalk. The founding of St. Mary's was a great help to Catholics
in Norwalk. It put the faith and practices of Catholics in a clearer light. The
language of the country was spoken from its pulpit and those outside its fold,
whom chance or impulse brought to attend the services, usually went away with
a clearer conception of the motives and practices of his fellow Catholic citizens.
The congregation grew and pros|>ered until it became necessary to build a
larger edifice. A new site was chosen at the corner of State and League streets,
which is today graced by one of the most beautiful church edifices in Norwalk.
Adjacent to the church stands the new stone parsonage, a type of Norwalk's
recent handsome and substantial residences. A parochial school and sisters'
house also adorn the property.
The pastors who served St. Mary's have been deservedly popular with all
classes in Norwalk, being held in high esteem for their piety, prudence, and
ability. The following clergymen served at the altar of St. Mary's: Rev.
Narcissus Ponchell, i860; Rev. John Quinn. 1864; Rt. Rev. T. P. Thorp, 1868;
Rev. T. E. Hatty, 1884; Rev. C. V. Cheveraux. 1897 ; Rev. Jas. J. Quinn, 1900;
Rev. Francis Malloy. 1003; Rev. P. J. Quinn, present pastor.
ST. PAULS ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH.
BY REV. JOHN A. SCH AFFELI).
The pioneers in the religious field in the territory now called Huron county,
Ohio, of which our beautiful city, Norwalk, is the county seat, were the early
French missionary priests. These men, well versed not only in the science of
religion, but also of the difficult art of topography, thoroughly explored the im-
mense regions of the Great I^kcs.
The Huron Indians had attracted the attention of the French priests at
O/uebec. This tribe was then located a few miles below the site of the present
city of Detroit. From Quebec, missionaries were sent out to them, but effected
little owing to the roving disj>osition of this tribe. This roving disposition ac-
counts for the name of our county. For, dissatisfied with their hunting grounds
at Detroit, a large part of the tribe pushed along the southern shore of Lake
Erie and located at Sandusky Bay, which name owes its origin to the Huron
Indian word, "Ootsandooske." meaning, "there the water is pure." From the
bay they spread to the south into what now constitutes our county — hence the
name. Huron county.
The French missionaries followed the Indians in this migration, and worked
zealously among them. Their journals state that this particular tribe was of very
unsteady habits, being much inclined to intemperance and other excesses. The
Rev. Father Potier and the Rev. Father De la Richardie took charge of the
78
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Huron mission. Both of these priests labored in what is now Huron county,
and where Norwalk now stands. The first Christian religious service held in
this territory was held by Father Fotier, in 1749, who in that year began his
regular visits to the Indians of this county.
From this decidedly humble beginning, the present large and prosperous St
Paul's church and congregation have gradually developed. Three churches they
built, only in turn to find them too small for their ever increasing numbers. Old
St. Peter's, at the west end of Main street, built 1840; New St. Peter's, on Hester
street, built 1868; Old St. Paul's, at the corner of Wooster and Monroe streets,
built in 187O. Finding that even their third building would no longer answer
the demands made upon it by the ever growing congregation, it was decided to
build a monumental building amply large for the future. The result of that de-
termination is the new St. Paul's, the noble, beautiful structure of white lime-
stone and I akc Superior red stone that now graces the corner of Main and
Wooster streets. Nor is this all. Urged on by the conviction that education
can never be real education unless it educates the heart as well as the mind ;
that education, divorced from religion, is incomplete; that the child must be
trained in his duties towards God, his country, his parents and his neighbors as
thoroughly and as well as in the three R's, this congregation has from the very
beginning, built and maintained splendid parochial schools, ever since the year
1858. The present school is the pride of the parish. From it, many of Nor-
walk's noblest men and grandest women have graduated. Not only are all the
ordinary common school branches taught, but thorough, practical instruction
is also given in the commercial branches, bookkeeping, shorthand and typewriting.
Added to this, there is an art department, in which drawing, painting in oil and
water colors, crayon and pastel work are taught. A complete course in needle-
work, plain and ornamental, has been established for the girls. The Sisters of
Notre Dame, who enjoy a very high reputation as teachers, have charge of St.
Paul's school. The art exhibitions of this school, held annually, are noted for
their lavish display of truly artistic work. The number of pupils is three hundred
and twenty-five.
HURON COUNTY HOME FOR THE AGED AND INFIRM.
BY GEORGE MoKDOFF. EX-SUPERINTENDENT.
The old title "Poor House" would seem altogether ridiculous if applied to the
modern "County Home" buildings pictured above.
At the Slate Conference of Charities and Corrections, the Huron county in-
stitution is looked upon as a model, a fact of which every citizen should feel
proud. The modern methods, employed by the management of county institu-
tions, seek to make better men and women of the inmates, and they are in no
sense a retreat for criminals and dissipated characters, as they were once looked
ujMin as being. Sixty or more citizens of Huron county are given a real home —
at least as real as institutional methods will permit. Respects for "The Rights
of Others" is the governing rule.
The land value of Huron county's home is twenty-five thousand, five hundred
dollars, consisting of two hundred and four acres. The building value, forty-
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI' RON' COUNTY
81
three thousand dollars. Live stock value, three thousand, one hundred and forty-
six dollars, and other items of inventory bring the total value to seventy-four
thousand, three hundred and fifty-nine dollars.
The farm produces as follows : Consumed by inmates, produce valued at
four thousand, eight hundred and twenty-one dollars. Live stock sold, value,
three hundred and ninety-eight dollars. Produce sold, eight hundred and eighty-
five dollars. Total value of farm products, six thousand and four dollars.
NOR WALK ACADEMY.
In October, 1826. an association of individuals was organized under the
name of "The President, Trustees, etc., of the Norwalk Academy." A three-
story brick building was erected on the site of our present high school. In
October. 1829, the academy was consolidated with the district schools with John
Kennan as principal.
In the museum of the Firelands Historical Society may be seen a catalogue
of the officers and students of Norwalk academy under date of March 17, 1829.
Trustees: Piatt Benedict, president, Timothy Baker, Deverett Bradley, William
Gallup. Henry Buckingham. Thaddeus B. Sturgess. Obadiah Jenney. John Ken-
nan, principal. Nathan G. Sherman. Levina Lindsey, assistants.
NORWALK SEMINARY.
On the eleventh of November, 1833, the Norwalk seminary was opened in the
Academy building under the auspices of the Methodist Episcopal church, with
Rev. Jonathan E. Chaplin as principal. The seminary burned February 26,
1836; was rebuilt in 1838. and closed in January. 1846, and the whole property
sold under execution in favor of the builders. Reopened as Norwalk Institute
in August. 1846, under the auspices of the Baptists of Norwalk.
NORWALK INSTITUTE.
Rev. Jeremiah Hall was the first principal of the "Institute," and was suc-
ceeded by A. S. Hutchins, who continued as principal until 1855, when the in-
stitute ceased to exist by reason of the Akron School Law providing for graded
public schools.
NORWALK HIGH SCHOOL.
In March, 1855. the school board purchased the brick building occupied by
the Norwalk institute, to be used as a central and high school building for the
district. The purchase price was three thousand, five hundred dollars, which
embraced the entire square occupied by the present beautiful high school building,
a small library and some apparatus. In 1884 the central school building was
erected at a cost of about sixty thousand dollars. The first graduate of the high
school was Sarah E. Wilkinson in 1861. The largest class graduated is the class of
1905, numbering eighteen young men and sixteen young women. In all two
Digitized by Google
82
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
hundred and thirty-one young: men and three hundred and ninety-five young
women have heen graduated from the Norwalk high school.
HISTORICAL SKETCH OK HURON COUNTY.
BY P. O. ROMs COUNTY AUDITOR.
Huron comity. Ohio, was organized in 1815 and embraced all the territory
now included in Huron and Erie counties, having an area of five hundred thou-
sand acres. The first session of the county commissioners was held August 1,
1815, at David Abbott's, the county seat theti being at Avery or in Wheatbor-
ough township near Milan. The first county commissioners were Caleb Palmer,
Charles Parker and F.li S. Barnum. The first county treasurer was Abijah
Com stock.
Previous to 1816 the nearest postoffice was Huron. In that year Dr. Joseph
Pierce was appointed postmaster and a postoffice established at Norwalk in the
Benjamin Newcome house located on what is now known as the Asher Cole farm
south of the old waterworks. The county seat was transferred to Norwalk in
1818. The voting population in 1818 was fifty-six. The first tax duplicate which
included the territory now embraced by Huron and Erie counties was one hun-
dred ninety-two dollars and forty cents. Huron county was divided into Huron
and Eric counties in 1838. From this primitive beginning, Huron county has
grown to be one of the wealthiest and most progressive counties of the state.
Her present population is now about thirty-five thousand with a tax duplicate
of five hundred forty-six thousand, five hundred and seventy-two dollars.
Sixty miles of modern stone and gravel roads have been constructed and
this mileage is being added to rapidly. Nine steam railroads cross the county,
several of them having large shops located in this county, bringing their taxable
value up to two million, five hundred and forty-eight thousand, one hundred and
thirty-seven dollars. Three electric railroads come within the county, with a
taxable value of one hundred ninety-one thousand, six hundred and thirty-two
dollars. Sixteen substantial banks enjoy the confidence of our citizens who have
deposits therein amounting to five million dollars.
The old courthouse which was built in 1 818 was located on the same ground
as the present courthouse. It was rebuilt in 1873 an, l was thoroughly remodeled
in 1908. The old jail, which was built in 1819, occupied the same ground on
which tlie Taber block stands. The present building was erected in 1887.
THE NORWALK CHAMBER OF COMMERCE.
BY C F. JACKSON. PRESIDENT.
Inspired by the success of organized effort in the upbuilding of communities
the Norwalk Chamber of Commerce was organized in njoR to strengthen and
develop the interest of Norwalk and to bring more business to its commercial
and industrial enterprises.
Throu.'h its committees the manufacturers, the retailers and the financial
interests are equally represented.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI ROX COUNTY
83
It is the business of the Chamber of Commerce to develop cooperation. Al-
though its individual members may be competitors in certain lines, that does
not prevent cooperation along lines of mutual interest, and so far, harmonious
united effort of members and committees has prevailed.
It is the purpose of this organization to assist in securing new industries for
Xorwalk. not by bonuses, but by showing Xorwalk's superior advantages, that
it is the best location economically for certain lines of manufacture when a su-
perior degree of intelligence, sobriety and thrift is required of its laborers.
The Chamber of Commerce believes that it is the duty of influential men of
this community to study the signs of the times — to assume the responsibility of
the solutions of problems of the day — to devote their energies to the commercial,
civic, social and esthetic development of the city — to have as their aim the ideal
Xorwalk.
NORWALK OK TODAY FROM A MUNICIPAL STANDPOINT.
BY MAYOR C. P. VENUS.
The city of Xorwalk with a population of about ten thousand people sur-
rounded by a rich agricultural county, with a conservative, intelligent popula-
tion, is a surprisingly resourceful municipality and is abundantly able to care
for its own under any and all circumstances.
Every municipality is judged somewhat by its municipal officers and their
administration of its business.
Our police and fire departments have always been maintained in such a man-
ner, that for efficiency and high standard, they are recognized as among the best
in any city regardless of size. And the fact that for nearly a score of years
back, almost without exception, the city's tax rate has been the lowest of any of
the municipal tax levies of the neighboring corporations, speaks for the business
methods and judgment of other officers louder than any words here could.
The growth of the city is keeping pace with the demands of the day. Many
new dwellings have been completed or are in process of construction, and right
now the demand for houses to rent is at flood tide, and all modern dwellings
offered for rent are immediately occupied.
During the past year, several new stores have been added, besides large addi-
tions to The Class Block ; a magnificent hotel, The Avalon, being finished to meet
Xor walk's increasing commercial demands, and when completed this hostelry
will lie one of the finest between Cleveland and Toledo, a credit to its proprietors
and to the Maple City.
The new Wheeling & Lake Erie shops arc today employing more men than
ever before. The A. 15. Chase Piano Co. and the Gallup-Ruffing Co. have con-
structed large additions to their plants.
Xorwalk is planning and accomplishing for the future, by keeping pace with
this steady increase in our business interests. We take a just pride in our water
supply, which is wholesome ami sufficient for double the present demands.
Xorwalk has well under way a complete and perfect sewerage system, which
includes a disposal plant. Forty thousand dollars was expended last year for
new sewers, which are a part of the proposed plant.
Digitized by Google
84
HISTORY OF HL'ROX COUNTY
City streets are covered with eleven miles of fine brick pavement, and quite
a large amount of pavement is under way which will be completed before the
end of 1909.
The credit for the wholesome condition of the municipality of Xorwalk
belongs to our splendid citizenship, in which we all claim a common share.
Our shipping facilities are of the best, having the main lines of the L. S. &
M. S. and W. & L. E. Railways, and we are one of the largest traction line
centers in the country, over one hundred and twenty-five interurban electric cars
in and out of Norwalk every twenty-four hours.
Xorwalk is an ideal place in which to make one's home. Its natural beauty
and high standard of citizenship of which we boast makes an invitation to come
to Xorwalk almost irresistible to the business man, commercial traveler, me-
chanic 01 manufacturer, as well as the man who is able to retire and live out his
days with most pleasant and agreeable surroundings.
THE INDIAN'S OF THE FIREEANDS.
The Indians found the prairie and woodlands of the Firelands abounding in
game, but many years have elapsed since the last red man hunted within the
borders of Huron county.
Seneca John was accustomed to hunt in the southern and western parts of
Huron county. The early settlers of that region always gave him a cordial wel-
come, and souk of them have placed on record their appreciation of his character.
He could speak but little English, but was always friendly to the settlers, and
was brave, honest, and trustworthy.
Ogontz was better known in the region of Sandusky, which was one of his
favorite resorts at certain seasons of the year, for the purpose of fishing and
hunting, and that locality was for years known, by reason of this fact, as
"Ogontz place."
The tragedy which ended the life of each of these hunter and warrior chiefs,
illustrates the sanguinary character of their race. Seneca John was accused of
witchcraft, and having been condemned by his own tribe, was unhesitatingly
slain — his own brother being the executioner. Ogontz. years before his death,
had killed, in self defense, a rival chief, and had adopted the latter^s son. who.
even in his boyhood, cherished a desire to avenge his father's death. The boy
grew up. and when the opportunity offered, took the life of Ogontz. who had
been a second father to him.
It is a mystery how, in this northern climate, the Indians obtained the means
of living through the winter. Even those tribes who did not despise agriculture
tilled the soil in a superficial way, and often had short crops. In such a season,
their chief dependence was on fish and game, and even these must at times have
failed them.
The Indian's daily work was hunting and trapping game, when he was not
on the war trail, seeking the scalps of his enemies. According to Seneca John,
the hunting grounds were, by agreement, allotted among the tribes, and. doubt-
less, encroachments on one another's territory and disputes as to boundaries, were
the fruitful causes of quarrels and bloodshed.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
85
In the autumn of every year the prairies were burned over, that the abundant
deer might be more easily tracked and hunted over the bare and blackened soil.
While the young men wxre engaged in such pursuits, the other members of
the tribes remained at home.
The squaws, meanwhile, tied up their little pappooses in bark cradles, which
they hung from the limbs of trees, to be rocked by the passing wind while they
toiled with sweating faces and aching backs.
-
THE SETTLEMENT OF HURON COUNTY.
WRITTEN FOR THE ANNUM. MEETING OF THE F I RELAX OS HISTORICAL SOCIETY, JUXE
17, 1896, BY I. If. GILLETTE, OF NOR WALK.
Eighty-seven years ago, there came away from the shores of the Atlantic,
in the state of Connecticut, a little party of three men.
This adventurous band left home and civilization, faced the perils of a jour-
ney of over six hundred miles, and endured the hardships and toils of making a
new home in the wilderness of a strange land.
About eight weeks from their departure, those pioneers arrived at their des-
tination, in the wilds of the Firelands, now Huron county. In these vast woods
the blows of the settler's ax had never resounded; through their branches the
smoke from the settler's cabin had never curled. Here roamed the deer, and the
bear; and here the silence of the midnight hour was broken by the howling of
the wolf and the whoop of the hostile Indian.
They built their cabin and began the clearing of their lands.
After awhile others came in, consisting of families of men, women and chil-
dren. Some of the men were farmers, some were skilled in trades and pro-
fessions.
The women were neat and industrious housewives, and diligent workers at
the spinning wheel and the loom. These pioneers began the great work of con-
verting a forest into a home, by felling trees, building houses and cutting out
roads ; and all through the season, there was busy work in this wilderness.
The primeval forest rang from morn till eve, with the blows of the ax.
New clearings opened out, and new log houses rolled up on every hand. And
the work has gone happily on to this day.
Rustic bedsteads, chairs, tables, and the omnipresent cradle, made their ap-
pearance in every house; and industry and ingenuity soon transformed every
log' cabin into a home.
The winters were safely and comfortably passed by the pioneers. Their
fires crackled brightly and the festivities of Christmas time were observed as
joyously in this Fireland forest, as in the old far-away home.
One great cause of the success of this country was the active help the women
rendered their husbands. Every wife was indeed a helpmeet. She not only did
the housework, but helped her husband in the clearings, amid the blackened
stumps and logs.
And thus Huron county has ever continued to meet the fondest anticipations
of its friends. Its career from the beginning to this day. has been one of con-
Digitized by Google
86
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
stant and Unceasing growth, development and progress. It has never taken a
step backward.
Those of you who never lived in the backwoods, can have no adequate con-
ception of the vast labor and toil undergone in this wilderness, to create the
results which you see all around you. A settler's first years in the woods are a
continued fight, hand to hand, with savage nature, for existence. It is pleasant
for us today, to look out upon the broad fields, green with the growing crops ;
but do we know, can we calculate, how many blows of the ax. how many drops
of sweat, have been expended in turning each one of these broad acres of land
from forest to farm? Huron county's story forms an important chapter in the
history of Ohio. That story 1 would love fully to recount to you step by step on this
festal day, when she celebrates her eighty-seventh anniversary.
I would fain tell of its organization, and that of the townships ; and of the
rise and progress of its churches ; the building of its houses of worship ; of its
schools, and the thorough work they have accomplished ; of the establishment
of mills and factories ; how year after year the forest had been felled, and the
chopping of blackened stumps have been transformed into smooth fields of wav-
ing grain ; how the log cabins have been replaced by substantial and fine resi-
dences, large barns, fruitful orchards and bountiful crops. All this I have and
much more I would be glad to recite in detail to you, but the sun of this long
summer day would set before half could be told, so I will conclude by saying of
our pioneer fathers and mothers who sleep in yonder graveyard, that their noble
deeds will not be forgotten so long as the history of the Firelands is rehearsed
among men.
INDIAN HABITS AND CUSTOMS.
The Indians were always the allies of the British as against Americans, and
as to their treachery and deceit all the white settlers could have attested. They
professed to be friendly to the pioneers until about the breaking out of the war
with Great Britain, when they joined with the English to destroy the whites.
Some of the customs, manners, etc, of the Indians may be of interest here.
The manners, customs, feats, war parties and daily life of these sons of the
forest form interesting chapters in aboriginal history. The character of the In-
dians was largely the result of their lives. They judged and lived by what the
senses dictated. They had names and words for what they could hear, see, feel,
taste and smell. They had no conceptions of abstract ideas until they learned
such from the whites. Hence their language was very symbolical. They could
see the sun in its brightness, they could feel his heat ; hence they compared the
actions of a good man to the glory of the sun, and his fervent energy to the heat
of that body. The moon in her brightness, the wind in its fury, the clouds in
their majesty, or in their slow, graceful motion through a lazy atmosphere; the
grace and flight of the deer; the strength and fury of the bear; the rush or
ripple of water as it coursed along the bed of a river, all gave them words whose
expressiveness are a wonder and marvel to this day. They looked on the beauti-
ful river that borders the southern shores of our state. Their cabins or wigwams
were of two kinds — circular and parallelogram. The former, the true wigwam.
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
87
was in use when the whites came to this country. It was made of a number of
straight poles driven firmly into the ground, their upper ends being drawn
closely together ; this formed a kind of a skeleton tent. The squaws plaited mats
of thongs, hark or grass, in such a manner as to render them impervious to water.
These were spread on the jxdes, beginning at the bottom, and extending upward.
A small hole was left for the egress of smoke from the fire kindled in the center
of the w igwam. Around this fire, mats or skins were spread, on which the In-
dians slept at night, and on which they sat during the day. For a door they lifted
one end of the mat. and crept in, letting it fall down behind them. These tents
were warm and dry. and generally quite free from smoke. Their fuel was nearly
always split by the squaws in the fall of the year, and sometimes kept dry by
placing it under an inverted birch-bark canoe. These wigwams were easily moved
about from place to place, the labor of their destruction and construction being
always performed by the squaws — the beasts of burden among all savage nations.
The wigwam was very light, and easily carried about. It resembled the tents
of today in shape, and was often superior in point of comfort and protection.
The cabins were more substantial affairs, and were built of poles, about the
thickness of a small sized telegraph pole, but were of various sizes, and com-
monly, atout twelve or fifteen feet in length.
The skin of a fat bear was a great prize to an Indian. It made him an ex-
cellent couch on which to sleep, or a cloak to wear. His flesh was supposed to
impart bravery to those who ate it, hence when dipped in sweetened bear's fat,
it was considered an excellent dish, and one often offered to friends. Venison,
prepared the same way, was also considered a dish fit for the most royal visitors ;
a hospitality always extended to all who came to the camp, and if not accepted
the donor was sure to be offended.
They used vessels made of elm bark to carry water in. They would strip the
bark in the winter season when it would strip or run, by cutting down the tree,
and, with a crooked stick, sharp and broad at one end, peel the bark in wide
strips, from which they would construct vessels holding two or three gallons
each. They would often make over a hundred of these. They cut a sloping
notch in the side of a sugar-tree, stuck a tomahawk into the wood at the end of
the notch, and. in the dent thus made, drove a long chip or spile, which conveyed
the water to the bark vessels. They generally selected the larger trees for tap-
ping, as they considered the sap from such stronger and productive of more
sugar. Their vessels for carrying the sap would hold from three to five gallons
each, and sometimes, where a large camp w r as located and a number of squaws
at work, using a half-dozen kettles, great quantities of sugar would be made.
When the sugar-water would collect faster than they could boil it. they would
make three or four large troughs, holding more than a hundred gallons each,
in which they kept the sap until ready to boil. When the sugar was made, it was
generally mixed with bear's oil or fat, forming a sweet mixture into which they
clipped their roasted venison. As cleanliness was not a reigning virtue among
the Indians, the cultivated taste of a civilized person would not always fancy the
mixture, unless driven to it by hunger. The compound, when made, was gen-
erally kept in large bags made of coon skins, or vessels made of bark. The
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
former were made by stripping the skin over the body toward the head, tying the
holes made by the legs with buckskin cords, and sewing securely the holes of the
eyes, ears and mouth. The hair was all removed, and then the bag blown full
of air, from a hole in the upper end, and allowed to dry. Bags made in this way
would hold whiskey, and were often used for such purposes. When they became
saturated they were blown full of air again, the hole plugged, and they were left
to dry. Sometimes the head was cut off without stripping the skin from it, and
the skin of the neck gathered in folds like a purse, below which a string was
tied and fastened with a pin. Skin vessels are not indigenous to the natives
of America. Corn was their principal crop, and was raised entirely by the
squaws. When the season for planting drew near, the women cleared a spot
of rich alluvial soil, and dug over the ground in a rude manner with their hoes.
In planting the corn they followed lines, to a certain extent, thus forming rows
each way across the field. When the com began to grow, they cultivated it with
wonderful industry, until it had matured sufficiently for use.
PIONEER GATHERINGS.
ADDRESS DELIVERED BEFORE THE F1RELAXDS HISTORICAL SOCIETY AT NORWALK,
OHIO, JUNE 27, U,O0. BY A. J. BAt'GH MAX, OF MANSFIELD.
It may be interesting to the younger as well as to the older class of people
to recall some of the industrial, social and religious gatherings of the pioneers
of Ohio.
In the early settlement of the country there were cabin and barn raisings,
log-rollings, wood-choppings, corn-huskings, and sewing and quilting parties,
and at such gatherings, utility and amusements were usually blended.
Rich and poor then met upon lines of social equality, and the old and the
young mingled together in those old-time gatherings.
The pioneers were helpful to each other, not only in "raisings" and "rollings."
requiring a force of men, but also in other ways. If a settler was incapaci-
tated from work by sickness or other cause, his neighbors set a day and gathered
in force and plowed his corn, harvested his grain, or cut his wood for the winter,
as the season or occasion required. And when a pig or a calf or a sheep was
killed, a piece of the same was sent to the several families in the neighborhood,
each of whom reciprocated in kind, and in this neighlxirly way all had fresh
meats the greater part of the summer.
Corn-huskings were great occasions. Sometimes the corn ears were stripped
from the stalks and hauled to a favorable place and put in parallel or semi-
circular windrows, convenient for the buskers. Moonlight nights were usually
chosen for husking-bees, and sometimes bonfire lights were improvised. After
the company gathered, captains were selected who chose the men off into two
squads or platoons which competed in the work, each trying to finish its row
first. The captain of the winning squad would then be carried around on the
shoulders of his men. amid their triumphal cheers, and then the bottle would
be passed.
Digitized by Google
WEST MAIN STREET, NEW LONDON
Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
91
Women also attended these pioneer gatherings and sometimes assisted at
the husking, but more frequently were engaged in the early evening in quilting
or sewing, or in helping to prepare the great supper-feast that was served after
the work was done.
There was a rule that a young man could kiss a girl for each red ear of corn
found at a husking, and it goes without the saying that all the girls were kissed,
some of them several times, for it was surprising how many red ears were found —
so many, that the number was prima facie evidence that some of the boys went
to the huskings with their pockets full of red corn ears.
Nearly all the pioneer gatherings wound up after supper with dancing, in
which the old joined as well as the young, and when a fiddler could not be ob-
tained, music for the occasion was furnished by some one blowing on a leaf,
or by whistling "dancing tunes." The dancing then was more vigorous than
artistic, perhaps, for the people were robust in those days, effeminacy not be-
coming fashionable until later years.
The pioneers were industrious people. The situation required that the men
must chop and grub and clear the land ere they could plow and sow and reap.
And the women had to card and spin and knit and weave and make garments
for their families, in addition to their household work. A pioneer minister's
wife in telling about her work upon a certain occasion, said: "I've made a pair
of pants and a bed-tick, and washed and ironed, and baked six pies today."
Wool had to be carded into rolls by hand, and after the rolls had been
spun into yarn and the yarn woven into flannel, the product of the loom had to be
"fulled" into thicker cloth for men's wear. As this was a hand or rather a
foot process, it necessitated "fulling" or "kicking" parties. Upon such occasions
the web was stretched out loosely on the puncheon floor and held at each end.
while men with bared feet sat in rows at the sides and kicked the cloth, while the
women poured on warm soapsuds, and the white foam of the suds would often
be thrown over both kickers and attendants.
Carding and woolen mills and spinning and weaving factories came later,
served their purpose and time, but are no more, and now people go to stores
and get "hand-me-down" suits without either asking or caring where or how
they were made.
While there were social amusements in pioneer times religious services were
not neglected. As there were but few church buildings then camp meetings were
frequently held during the summer season. Camp meeting trips were en-
joyable outings. The roads to the camp grounds often ran by sequestered farm
homes and through shady woodlands, where the rays of the sun shimmered
charmingly through leafy tree-tops, and the fragrance of the wayside flowers
deliriously perfumed the summer air.
At the camp, white tents in a semi-circle partly surrounded an amphitheater
of seats in front of a pulpit canopied by trees. The Creator of heaven and
earth reared the columns of those camp cathedrals, along whose bough-spanned
dome, soft winds whispered and in whose leafy fretwork birds sang. From the
mossy floor flowers sent up their perfume like altar incense, and in accord with
place and surroundings, the congregation was wont to sing:
Digitized by Google
92
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
"There seems a voice in every gale,
A tongue in every Hower,
Which tells, O Lord, the wondrous tale
Of thy Almighty power!"
At the camp, visitors were received with cordial greetings, for the campers
had the warmth of friendship in their hearts and of Christian zeal in their souls,
and their frank manner and winsome ways were favorable preludes to the ser-
vices that followed.
At these camp meetings some of the worshippers would become cmite demon-
strative at times, for the personal manifestations of joy or devotion differ as
much as our natures differ. No two persons give expression in the same way
to any human emotion. Religion can come to you only in accordance with your
nature, and you can respond to it only in the same way.
Singing was a prominent feature of camp services. It was the old-fashioned
singing, without instrumental accompaniment. Singing. such as our dear old
mothers sang, and although faulty, perhaps, in note, came from the heart and
went to the heart. T he singing of today may be more artistically rendered,
but it is the old-time song* that comfort us in our sorrow and sustain us in
our trials as they come back to us in hallowed remembrance from the years that
are past.
PROC.RP.SS \NI> CHANCES OK THE TIMKS.
The pioneers found the country of which Huron is now a part without church,
school, market, roads, merchant mechanic or cultivated acre — if we except a
few spots that may have been marked by the rude efforts at tillage by the
Indian. Savage beasts and uncivilized men were in deadly conflict throughout
the domain of the wilderness. Except when winter withdrew them to their
caverns, the earth teemed with venomous and loathsome reptiles. The country
was utterly destitute of any of the moral or material resources that bear rela-
tion to civilized life. Such, in brief, was its condition when that band of moral
heroes, the pioneers, entered the country and grappled with privations and
dangers altogether unknown to the generation who now occupy this country,
and even to the experience of those who have of late years undertaken the
subjugation of the forests west of this. There exists no analogy between the
habits and modes of life of those who were backwoodsmen at the commence-
ment nf the present century, and those who have peopled the new states and
territories of the west. Here, until the opening of an Atlantic markeM by the
completion of the New York and Erie canal, in 1825. there had been no sale of
produce except for neighborh<x»d consumption: while westward of this, dur-
ing the iast ten or fifteen years particularly, artificial communications, by means
of canals, turnpikes, or railroads, have advanced, almost with the van of the
immigrating column, and agriculture, commerce and manufactures, with all the
happiness they bestow, have been enjoyed, with the exception of brief delays,
by the first populations of the new states and territories. Steam, as an agent
of transit alone, has wrought a wonderful revolution in accelerating the dis-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI" RON COl'NTV
93
tribution of population and wealth. The pioneers of Huron county made their
way hither from their former eastern homes by the tedious process of horse and
ox teams, and some even on foot, occupying weeks in their journeys. They
were the manufacturers of almost everything they used, including their farming
implements and the fabrics with which they were clothed. Their food, also, as
well as their raiment, was the exclusive production of their own farms. There
were no importations of goods. The modes of pioneer life and their isola-
tion from society did not require imported goods. The early settlers were
pioneers and America is the only country which produced pioneers. Other
countries were settled by people moving enmasse from one place to another, but
here they came singly, each man for himself. In European countries tribes
would move in a body and overrun, absorb or extinguish the original inhabi-
tants of a country, dispossess them and occupy their territory. But in America
we had the gradual approach of civilization and the gradual recession of bar-
barism.
When civilization crossed the crest of the Alleghcnies, Ohio was looked
upon as the garden of the west, and soon various settlements were made in
the territory now known as the Buckeye state. Casuists claim that the deer was
made for the thicket, that the thicket was made for the deer, and that both were
made for the hunter ; and in further correlations state that the soil was not only
intended for those who would cultivate it, but that if the valley produces corn
and the hillside grapes, that people suited to the cultivation of such products
take possession of such localities on the theory of the eternal fitness of things.
It is different now with persons who remove to the far west, from what it
was with the early settlers in Ashland county. Transportation facilities make a
trip to the west a quick and easy matter, and stocks of clothing, farming im-
plements, merchandise and provisions of all kinds can be shipped from the east
to the west by railroads, making rapid transits instead of the ox-team trips of
the long ago. The privations of Huron county pioneer life were serious situ-
ations, compared with those of the early settlers of the west today.
No country settled at and prior to the date of the portion which now forms
the state of Ohio, ever had but one race of pioneers — the men who penetrated
the wilderness, endured all the hardships incident to its subjugation, and trans-
mitted to their successors the comforts and conveniences of a high civilization.
When this class of men pass off a given spot, they disappear for all time; the
country which was first redeemed by them will know them nor their like no more
forever.
We confess to a feeling of veneration for the characters of those men who
penetrated the wilderness and inaugurated civilization and its train of blessings
in a region where savages and wild beasts had maintained undisputed empire.
The scenes through which they passed are suggestive of rich fields for the genius
of the poet and painter, and fields that it is hoped may be hereafter occupied.
In days of yore friends and neighbors could meet together to enjoy them-
selves, and with hearty good will enter into the spirit of social amusements.
The old and young could then spend evening after evening around the fire-
sides with pleasure and profit. There was a geniality of manners then, and a
corresponding depth of soul, to which modern society is unaccustomed.
Digitized by Google
04
HISTORY OF HI ROX COL'XTY
A few years ago, one who had witnessed all the stages of our material
development — the gradual redemption from our wilderness condition to our
recent full estate of national prosperity — and having himself, by years of in-
dustry and economy, gathered about him all the comforts and luxuries of modern
life, had an irrepressible longing to be among the men and scenes of by-gone
days. He would again become a pioneer in a new country. He sighed par-
ticularly for that unbounded hospitality which dissolves —
"As wealth accumulates and men decay."
He could not. of course, hope to realize those halcyon days except in a new
country. He therefore again, old as he was. resolved to sacrifice the comforts
and luxuries of his Huron county home— the results of the toil of his own
hands — and seek a new one in the west. With this view, he traveled over
Iowa, Minnesota, etc. There he found the wilderness, true enough, but he could
not find the men. The old race was not there. He discovered an utter ab-
sence of all the types and shadows of the pioneer times with which he had
been familiar in his early manhood. Instead of the matron and maiden decked
in home-made tow-cloth and linsey-woolsey, he found hoops, silks, satins, and
an exube ranee of vanity and pretension. In place of the large-hearted human-
ity of the days of yore, he found selfishness, and a race for accumulation even
more intensified than had developed itself in the modern times among our-
selves. Far beyond the rising tide of population, he found the locomotive and
its "train" of vice and social demoralization. Our friend returned home, well
persuaded that no condition of society now exists upon the face of the globe
that affords a parallel to the times for which he sighed and with which he was
once familiar.
EARLY SCHOOLS.
For several years after the first settlement, but little attention was paid to
educational matters. The teachers were illiterate, and the school-houses were
of the rudest style of architecture. The following description of one will illus-
trate. It was situated on a knoll about four rods from a fine spring of water
in the midst of a dense forest. It was constructed of round logs twelve and
sixteen feet long, one story high, with a log across the north end placed about
four or five feet high from the floor, and about the same distance from the wall.
ujk n which, and against the end wall, was erected a large stick chimney, plastered
with mortar, joined to a stone back wall cemented with the same material.
The roof was made of clapboards that were held in their places by weight
poles, which in turn were held by a small log. notched into the ends of the top
end logs, and called a butting pole. Not a nail was used. Greased paper wa*
used in place of glass for windows. The ground floor was composed of huge
puncheons, faced and jointed by some pioneer with his broadaxe, and laid upon
large logs placed in as sleepers. The seats were made from small trees, cut
into logs of the proper length and split in two. the bark taken off. and the other side
hewn and made smooth ; two-inch holes were then bored into the ends and
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF Hl/ROX COIWTY
95
middle, into which sticks were placed for legs. Moles were bored into the walls
on the west side, and the south end, and large wooden supporters placed therein,
upon which were laid hoards to write upon ; then, to complete the structure,
the door was made by cutting a hole in the southeast corner of the house, five
and one-half by three and one-half feet in dimensions; the same was cased with
timber, split, hewn and shaved, and fastened with wooden pins.
A scholar thus described his teacher's personal appearance: "lie wore linsey-
woolsey pants and home-made linen vest, red flannel warmus, cowhide shoes,
the sole and upper leather both of his own tanning, together with overshoes
made from sheepskin with the wool on."
As to his pupils, they came from every direction for two miles each way.
Some of them six feet in height, all dressed in homespun from head to foot.
The young women were also clad in homespun. The books corresponded with
other surroundings. A majority of these youngsters went to work with a will,
and soon acquired the rudiments of an education, and matured into excellent
men and women.
There were always three or four classes in spelling, and this exercise was
the last before school was dismissed in the evening. Their old books were
conned over year after year until they were worn out and the children grew up
to manhood and womanhood, and never knew, and perhaps do not know to
this day, what was in the back part of them. That was the kind of a start
many a great man had. These schools cannot be despised when it is remem-
bered that the greatest and best of the nation, including such men as Abraham
Lincoln, Edwin M. Stanton, and Stephen A. Douglas, were among the boys who
attended them.
There was always much competition in the spelling classes as to who should
get the "head mark." In the later schools it was the custom that the best speller
might stand at the head until he missed, when the one who spelled the word cor-
rectly should take his place, and he then stood next to the head ; but they did
things differently in the earlier schools ; the head of the class once gained and
held until the last spelling at night, the head mark was received and the lucky
scholar then took his place at the foot of the class, to again work his way gradu-
ally to the head. These classes sometimes contained thirty or forty scholars,
and it was something of an undertaking to get from the foot to the head. Spell-
ing-schools were the beauty and glory of school-days. The scholars were al-
ways coaxing the teacher to appoint a nijht for a spelling school, which he
usually did for about two nights in a week.
THE PIONEER PREACHERS OF THE FIRELANDS.
A tribute of praise she uld be given the pioneer preachers of the Firelands.
The Methodic ministers were the first on the Firelands of which we find any
record. As early as 1811 the Rev. William (lurley preached in Huron county.
It has been written that great was the joy when they heard that a preacher had
arrived. At that time there was no minister of the gospel within at least forty
miles. So sermon had then been heard in our county, and the news soon spread
for many miles around.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI/RON COUNTY
A log school house, so recently built, was filled at the hour tor worship. It
was "Indian summer." The manner in which the audience were dressed was
striking enough. The men were mostly dressed in tow shirts, linsev coats or
hunting shirts and buckskin pantaloons, and moccasins instead of shoes were
extensively worn. Here and there might be seen a vest of s]x>tted fawn-skin
made with the fur out. caps made of the skins of the raccoon and muskrat were
worn instead of hats. These articles of dress were all of domestic manufacture,
and mostly clumsy and uncouth in appearance. The costume of the ladies was
almost entirely of home manufacture, except that of those who had recently
arrived from the cast. A few Indians, attracted by curiosity, were present ; they
were in their hunting costumes with rifle, tomahawk and knife.
The pioneer preacher's church was the log cabin or the log school house.
His pulpit a rude table. His horse and saddle bags were his inseparable com-
panions. In the early conferences it was customary for the bishop to admonish
the preachers to "be kind to their beast." and truly these itinerant horses shared
with their riders in the arduous toil and struggle connected with planting the
gospel. The pioneer preacher's library was a portable library, consisting of a
Bible, hymn book, discipline and a few other books, carried in the saddle bags
and read on horseback, or by the weird flicker of the pine knot or tallow-candle
in the cabin of the pioneer.
Among the preachers of an early day who visited the Firelands were William
Gurley, True Pattie, James Mclntyre, Harry O. Sheldon and Russel Bigelow.
These pioneer preachers have been described as follows:
William Runnels, who always rode the best looking horse on the circuit, and
of which animal there was no better judge, was a most interesting and pleasing
speaker.
Elder Russel Rigelow, his oratory was of divine inspiration and under his
unequaled and soul stirring appeals I have seen people leave their seats and get
as near the pulpit as possible, apparently unaware of changing their places.
"Such vast impressions did his sermons make, he always kept his flock awake."
Rev. L. B. Gurley was eloquent and his sermons full of pathos, most con-
vincing and often moving to tears.
Rev. Harry O. Sheldon was sublime in his eloquence, of noble bearing, with a
voice musical and penetrating, was the type of a missionary.
Rev. William Disbrow, a profound orator and thinker, scholarly and polished,
warm of heart and in every way attractive.
In 1817 the Ohio conference of Methodists sent the Rev. Alfred Brunson to the
Huron circuit. He thus describes his journey there :
"I was living in Fowler. Trumbull county, Ohio; it was the first week in
January, 1818, that I started for my new (Huron) circuit.
"I was clad in homespun, the produce of my wife's industry. My horse and
equipage were of the humblest kind. The journey was mostly through a dense
forest. I traveled thirty miles before I could find a road leading westward
along the lake shore. Where Elyria now stands there was no bridge and I crossed
the river on the ice. My circuit extended from Black river along the Ridge
road by where Norwalk now stands, then to the little town of New Haven, and
thence by a zigzag course to Sandusky bay and Venice and Portland, now San-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
97
dusky city, thence through Perkins, east along the lake shore to the place of
beginning. I soon formed a four weeks' circuit of twenty- four appointments
with two hundred miles of travel."
The pioneer preacher, with a broad brimmed white hat and round breasted
coat, well posed in his easy saddle, was easily recognized as he drew near the
log cabin, or the "meeting house," where the congregation was usually in wait-
ing. With saddle-bags on his arm, he pressed through amid the devout wor-
shipers, who would strike up some favorite hymn, making "melody in their
hearts, and melody with their voices." Kneeling and offering a silent prayer,
the preacher would first unlace his well bespattered leggings, then draw from the
saddle-bags his bible and hymn-book.
PIONEER STORIES.
The pioneer stories we heard in our youth are enshrined in our hearts and we
recall them with pleasure and sorrow alike.
Many incidents might be enumerated to show that the paths of the pioneers
were not strewn with roses, and many of the comforts which they enjoyed later
in life were obtained by persevering exertions, industry, and economy on their
part and the people of today can form but an imperfect idea of the privations and
hardships endured by the pioneers of Ohio.
In the early pioneer time a neighbor at the distance of ten miles was con-
sidered near enough for all social purposes.
The first work of the newcomer was to select a location, then to cut poles or
logs suitable to build a cabin for his family. The dimensions of the structure
were according to the size of the family.
After the house was completed, the next thing in order was to clear off
a tract of ground for a corn and potato patch. They usually plowed new ground
with a shovel-plow, on account of the roots, and the harness for the horses was
often made of leather-wood. Corn was ground on a hand mill or pounded in a
mortar or hominy block. It was then sieved and the meal or finer portion was
used for bread and the coarser for hominy. Their meat was venison, bear and
wild turkey, as it was difficult to raise hogs or sheep on account of the wolves and
bear, which made pork and mutton scarce. Wolf scalps were worth from four
dollars to six dollars a piece, which rendered wolf hunting a paying business.
The pioneers were a generous, warmhearted and benevolent people. Al-
though they did not want to see the game driven away by a too rapid settlement
of the country, yet when a new settler came, they extended him a cordial wel-
come. There was social equality then — distinction in society came later.
People went miles to assist in house and barn raisings and in log-rollings,
while the men were doing this work the women wnere doing quilting or sew-
ing. Bountiful meals were served at these gatherings, chicken-pot-pie being the
principal part of the bill of fare. These pot-pies were usually cooked in big
iron kettles out of doors. After the day's work was done, the evening was passed
in social amusement — dancing being quite popular. If they had no fiddler, mu-
sic was furnished by some one singing or whistling "dancing tunes."
Digitized by Google
98
HISTORY OK HURON COUNTY
Weddings were the great occasions of those days and brought old and
young together, the festivities lasting two days. The wedding ceremony took
place at the home of the bride and the second day was the "infair" at the home
of the groom.
Although there were many dangers and great privations in pioneer life,
there was happiness, also. In later years, the early settlers often referred to that
period as "happy days of primitive simplicity."
The pioneers would take hickory bark torches and go a mile or more to call
upon a neighbor and enjoy a winter evening in cracking nuts and telling stories,
ending with refreshments being served in the form of a hot supper. Cooking
utensils were few, and a pot or kettle often had to be used for several purposes
in the preparation of a meal.
An anecdote will illustrate how prolific the pioneers were in expedients.
Neighbors, who lived about two miles apart, with a creek between them, had ar-
ranged for a visit on a certain day. When the visiting party got to the stream
they saw that the freshet had washed away the foot-log and as they stood in
perplexity, wondering how to cross, the neighbors whom they were going to
visit, came with his yoke of oxen and mounting the "near" ox, forded the stream
and the woman, Europa-like, sprang upon the back of the "off" ox and was
soon landed in safety upon the other bank of the creek. Another trip and the man
was also taken across. Upon their return in the evening the stream was again
forded in like manner.
Johnny Appleseed was present upon one occasion when an itinerant preacher
was holding forth to an audience at the public square in Mansfield. Johnny
was lying upon some boards near the outskirt of the crowd, when the preacher,
who was speaking against the sin of fashion, exclaimed, "Where is the bare-
footed Christian traveling to heaven?" Taking the question in a literal sense.
Johnny rescinded, "here he is," and raised his bare feet in the air.
Johnny Applesecd's death was in harmony with his unostentatious and blame-
less life. It is often remarked how beautiful is the Christian's life; yea. but far
more beautiful is the Christian's death! Those who were with Johnny at his last
moments, stated that as the end drew near "the fashion of his countenance was
altered ;" that a smile wreathed his thin lips as they moved in prayer, and that a
halo seemed to crown htm with the glory of a saint as he passed "from death unto
life," from the life here to the life there.
In olden time the rich and the poor dressed much alike, the men generally wore
hunting shirts and buckskin pants ; the women wore dresses made of linen and
flannel goods, spun and woven by their own hands.
The school houses were in keeping with the cabins and the times and the peda-
gogues who instructed the youths in the mysteries of the three R's — "readin."
'ritin' an' 'rithmetic," as the London Alderman put it, was called "master." The
scholar whose "ciphering" included the "rule of three" was considered well
advanced.
There were "puncheon" bench seats and wooden pins were put in the logs
at the side of the room, and upon these a board was placed for writing desks and
the preparatory course in writing was to make "jx)t-hooks" and "hangers." There
were no classes, except in spelling, as there was no uniformity in the books used.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
101
They pronounced syllables then and when they had learned to read, could read
anything.
The scholars, old and young, went bare-footed in warm weather and so did the
teacher. The school-master carried a long hickory rod as an insignia of his po-
sition and with which he often enforced his authority, for the pioneer did not be-
lieve in spoiling the child by sparing the rod.
While the old-time schools may be looked back to as inferior to those of to-
day, yet they were the schools in which our Calhouns, our Clays and our Websters
were educated.
Times change and we change with them, but the fount of childhood is per-
ennially fresh and there are little sunburnt, rosy-cheeked boys and girls who now
fill our better appointed school rooms, as the children "of the past did in their day
and generation.
Religious services were frequently held at the homes of the settlers, even after
houses for public worship had been erected. In the summer time the "threshing
floor" of barns were often used as "meeting houses" for Sunday preaching.
Camp meetings were also features of that period.
In narrating deeds of valor of the pioneers, it is well to state again that the
women not only shared the dangers of those troublous times, but often displayed
heroism and deeds of daring equal to those of the bravest of the brave. One in-
stance is all I now have space to cite — that of Elizabeth Zane, sister of Colonel
Zane.
At the siege of Wheeling in 1782 the supply of ammunition became almost ex-
hausted, and it became necessary to renew it from Col. Zanc's quarters, forty rods
distant. Miss Zane volunteered to accomplish the hazardous feat. She was from
Philadelphia, was highly educated and had only a few weeks' experience in border
life and warfare. She was young and active, with courage to brave the danger and
fortitude to sustain her through it.
Brave soldiers stepped forward and insisted that they be sent on the errand,
declaring the lady should not undertake such a dangerous exploit. But Miss Zane
disdained to weigh the hazard of her own life against that of others and claimed
that a woman would not be missed in the defense of the fort, but that every man
was needed. The grandeur of her heroism and the eloquence of her appeal to be
permitted to serve her country at the last won her case, and as the gate was thrown
open, she bounded forth with the buoyancy of hope and in the confidence of suc-
cess. An account of the adventure says that the Indians startled in amazement and
exclaimed "A squaw ! a squaw !" but made no attempt to interrupt or harm her.
Arriving safely at her brother's fortress, she made her errand known, and, get-
ting all the ammunition she should carry, started upon her return trip. But the
Indians were no longer passive. They fired volley after volley at her and the bul-
lets riddled her clothing, but her person was unharmed. She reached the fort in
safety and by her intrepidity and daring the army was saved.
Miss Zane's brother was the- founder of Zanesvillc. The town was laid out
in 1799 and was first called Westbourn, a name which it continued to bear until
a postoffice was established under the name of Zanesville and the village then took
that name.
Digitized by Google
102
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
HUNTING IN THE EARLY SETTLEMENT.
Hunting occupied a large portion of the time of the pioneers. Nearly all were
good hunters, and not a few lived almost entirely for many years on the results of
the chase. The woods supplied them with the greater amount of their subsistence,
and often the whole of it ; it was no uncommon thing for families to live several
months without a mouthful of bread of any kind. It frequently happened that the
family went without breakfast until it could be obtained from the woods.
The fall and early part of winter was the season for hunting deer, and the
whole of the winter, including part of the spring, for bears and fur-bearing animals.
It was a customary saying that fur was good during every month, in the name of
which the letter r occurred.
As soon as the leaves were pretty well down, and the weather became rainy,
accompanied with light snow, the pioneer hunter, who had probably worked pretty
faithfully on his clearing during the summer, began to feel uneasy about his cabin
home ; he longed to be off hunting in the great woods. His cabin was too warm ;
his feather-bed too soft : his mind was wholly occupied with the camp and the chase.
Hunting was not a mere ramble in pursuit of game, in which there was nothing of
skill and calculation; on the contrary, the hunter, before setting out in the morn-
ing, was informed by the state of the weather in what situation he might reasonably
expect to find his game ; whether on the bottoms, on the hillsides, or hilltops. In
stormy weather the deer always seek the most sheltered places, and the leeward
sides of the hills ; in rainy weather, when there was not much wind, they kept in
the open woods, on high ground. In the early morning, if pleasant, they were
abroad, feeding in edges of the prairie or swamp; at noon they were hiding in
the thickets. In every situation, it was requisite for the hunter to ascertain the
course of the wind, so as to get to leeward of the game ; this he often ascertained
by placing his finger in his mouth, holding it there until it became warm, then hold-
ing it above his head, and the side that first cooled indicated the direction of the
wind.
These hunters needed no compass ; the trees, the sun and stars took its place.
The bark of an aged tree is much thicker and rougher on the north side than on
the south ; and the same may be said of the moss ; it is much thicker and stronger
on the north than on the south side of the tree; hence he could walk freely and
carelessly through the woods and always strike the exact point intended, while any
but a woodsman would have become bewildered and lost.
PIONEER BOYHOOD ON THE FIRELANDS.
BY J. O. CUNNINGHAM.
Paper read before the Firelands Historical Society, Norwalk, June 27, 1900,
and published in the Firelands Pioneer a few months later.
I have been asked to come from my home in Illinois to meet the few remaining
Pioneers of the Firelands and such of their descendants as may assemble here, for
the purpose of indulging in reminiscences of the long past, which cover the boy-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
hoed days of many of us, and which are a part of the history of this, our hoyhcod
home.
Although almost half a century intervenes between the present and the bright
morning in August, 1852, when my father, with his two-horse wagon, transported
two of his boys, with their trunks, containing their few worldly possessions, to the
nearest railroad station, for the purpose of taking the train for a distant state, and
thereby, in fact, forever terminating our relations to Huron county as home, yet
this visit, and the occasion of it, awakens emotions and recollections shared per-
haps by none of you who have yet to sever your connection with the homes of your
childhood.
"It brings mc to my childhood back.
As if I trod its very track,
And felt its very gladness."
But to the story which I am to relate: The eighth day of June, 1833, ter-
minated the journey of two immigrant families, the heads of which were brothers,
from an eastern state to the Firelands, in far away Ohio. Such it seemed to those
families before they started and to their friends left behind, and such they realized
it to be before they had completed their journey. A steam craft on Lake Erie had
furnished the transportation to the port of Huron, while, after time spent in pros-
pecting by the heads of the families, ox teams did the remainder of the work of
landing the families, of one of which the boy to whose experience you are asked
to listen was a member, near the prospective home in the forests of Clarksfield.
This journey of twenty-five miles made through Berlin, Florence and Wake-
man, to the center of Clarksfield, was not made over the good roads and easy grades
now to be found, but over traces of roads then newly cut out or blazed through the
forests, with no bridges over many of the streams and no artificial drainage. Those
who remember the vile reputation of "Wakcman Woods," of that day, will not be
at a loss to fully appreciate the horrors of that journey. No wonder that the
young mothers turned their thoughts many times with tearful eyes to the homes
they had left.
The family did not find a ready-made farm house, of comfortable capacity, with
the accompaniments of barn and out houses, orchard and garden in which to rest
its weary and travelworn members. It did not find friends who had gone before
and who were ready to open hospitable doors to the newcomers and make easy
their settlement and welcome their coming. What they did find was an unbroken,
heavy forest of beech, maple, walnut, oak and other kinds of timber, such as bid
a mad defiance to the pioneers all over Ohio at the beginning of the century.
The kindness of a pioneer family which had preceded this family to the depths
of this forest by a few months, gave shelter to the unsheltered for six weeks and
until an opening in the forest upon the site of the future home could be made and
a house could be erected. This house was, of course, of logs, but care was taken
that they should be straight logs, and that they should be nicely notched at the
corners and smoothly hewn on the inside, as they were placed in position, so that
the new house, though covered only with elm bark at the first, was both presentable
and comfortable. Think of it, dear housekeepers, the first fireside of this family,
where the mother cooked for many months, was beside a large stump, near the
Digitized by Google
104
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
door, with no covering over it save that furnished by the native forests left with
a purpose.
This house being finished (and it is remembered that the particular house had
neither closed windows nor door during the first summer, nor until frosts and cold
winds of autumn made them necessary), the next thing to be done was with fire
and ax and strong arms to drive back the domain of the forest and make room for
the field which was to produce the living. This was a slow process and occupied
the labors and efforts of years.
One of the pioneer preachers herein named, in 1866, thirty-three years after
the immigration of the family to Clarksfield, conducted the funeral services of
the father, Hiram W. Cunningham, and in the biographical notice of the deceased
given, said that he had personally chopped, burned and cleared one hundred acres
of Clarksfield's heavy timber. Year by year the cleared circle became larger and
the demand for cribs and a barn more imperative.
The first year of course, yielded no returns for the family support. The lim-
ited amount of money brought as a result of the sale of the little farm in York state,
was all used up in paying the expense of removal or in making the first payment on
the purchased land, so the family must be fed and clothed by some other means,
No resources remained other than the hands of the father, which were skilled in
carpentry and wood craft of other kinds, and the grinding needs of the immi-
grant family for many years made the requisitions upon this resource continuous
and exacting. So, for several years, and until fruitful fields occupied the space of
the primeval forest, the day's work of the father furnished the food of the family
from year to year.
The boy well remembers the first attempt at corn and wheat raising among
the green stumps of a patch just cleared of the timber where no plow could be
used, or if used, could live an hour. The corn was planted, not with a check-row
corn planter, nor with a hoe. even, but with an ax, which was driven through the
roots into the virgin soil a few inches, the corn dropped in and the ground closed
over the seed by the foot. No cultivation could be given it other than by chopping
out the fire weeds, but the hot sun and the rich soil did the work, and the returns
well repaid the effort. In the fall the removal of the corn made way for a seeding
of wheat. In this manner the pioneer provided for his table.
The satisfaction felt by the pioneer in eating from his first crop, produced under
the difficulties here delineated, cannot be well told, even by one who has realized it,
any more than it can be realized by one who has not passed through the experience.
The capitalist may say to himself, "Soul, thou hast much good laid up for many
years ; take thine ease, eat, drink and be merry," but his satisfaction does not ap-
proach the happiness of the pioneer, who, having cleared the forest, has demon-
strated his capacity to produce a crop.
Being thus established in a home, which for most of the time intervening be-
tween the date here given and the legal majority of the boy in question, was his
only home, made better year by year as the means were secured, let us look at the
surroundings :
Clarksfield had then been settled sixteen years only, and everything was new,
in the town as well as in the adjoining towns. Smith Starr, Benjamin Stiles, Sam-
uel Husted, and possibly some others, had moved "out of the old house into the
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
105
new" frame and plastered house, but other than the very few lived in their pioneer
houses, similar to the one above described. The Rowlands, Barnums, Woods, Fur-
longs, Bissells, Clarks, Grays, Days, Lees, Blackmans, Smiths, Pcrceys and nearly
all of the population of the township had progressed no further than the log-house
stage of civilization. These houses were generally built in the most primitive style
of architecture of that day, with log gables, roofs held in place by log weight poles,
instead of by the use of nails, doors hung on wooden hinges, with wooden latches,
which obeyed the pull on the leathern string from the outside. With puncheon
or slab floors and well-chinked and an annual "daubin*," the home could defy the
elements without, and by the aid of a fire upon the hearth of the wide fireplace,
built of rocks gathered from the fields or from the river bed, supporting a mud
and stick chimney, the home was made comfortable at all times. Before these fires
were cooked and served the homely meals, and around them were gathered as
happy families as now gather around the anthracite fires in the elegant houses
which have succeeded these pioneer homes.
The clearings were small and mostly confined to the neighborhood of the "Hol-
low,'* where the first settlement of the town was made, or along the roads leading
therefrom, and to go to Florence or Norwalk, one must encounter the horrors
of the roads, or trails, which served for roads, leading through "Wakcman Woods,"
or "Townsend Woods," terms which, even at this distance of time, awaken a
shudder.
The boy remembers a night spent in a mud hole with his parents in the road
leading from Norwalk to Clarksfield, about April, 1836, when an almost empty
wagon was too much for the team, and it was only after daylight, the next morn-
ing, that aid came and enabled us to release ourselves by doubling teams. The
good roads now leading to Florence and to Norwalk from Clarksfield, through
fruitful fields bordered by beautiful homes, give no intimation of the terrors that
awaited the traveler along the same lines sixty-five years since.
The only roads that existed in the town of Clarksfield at the period written
about, which had the semblance of roads or deserved the name, were those lead-
ing north, south and east of the Hollow, and these were yet much bordered by
woods, and in many places were of the very primitive corduroy character. Other
roads, or what are now known as public highways, in the town, were not then
even "chopped out." with few exceptions, and neighborhood trails across lots and
through the woods were permitted by tolerant settlers as favors to those who, like
our family, had essayed to settle back from the settlements before then made. It
is remembered that the families spoken of only reached their leafy, primeval home,
at Clarksfield center, by leaving the main road a half mile east of the Hollow, and
by following ax-men. who went before the wagons and cut out a trail. It was
many years after this time that the roads were so improved as to be passable for
teams and wagons, and not until after 1850, were the roads leading south and west
from the center of the town, anything more than trails, once chopped out and
partly grown up with briers and other impediments. It was a long time, and only
after the roads were bordered by enclosed fields, that they were made passable their
entire length, and it was unnecessary- for the traveler to make detours here and
there to avoid the swamps and swales which so often intruded across the roads.
The corduroy period was a long one. and the higher duty of the settler to provide
106
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
himself and family a shelter and food before he found time to make roads, kept
these necessary appliances of civilization waiting many years.
Bridges over the two confluents of the Vermillion river were then few and of
an ephemeral character. The substantial stone and steel structures which now
span those beautiful streams, not only command admiration as triumphs of engin-
eering skill, but they serve to bring back recollection of early efforts at bridge
building. Where were once long stretches of corduroy passage ways over the
black alder swamps, are now seen single stone culverts, which serve to bridge the
murky waterway formerly so dreaded by the pioneer.
At the period indicated there was no house of worship in the township, nor
in any adjoining townships, though worshippers were not wanting ; for no district
of country within the nation was more largely settled by religious people than was
the tract of country known as the Firelands. The pioneer school houses, the
scantily furnished cabins, and the leafy forests were made to do duty as places of
religious worship to meet the want of the settlers of which their self-imposed
banishment from older homes had deprived them.
Among the most lasting and thrilling recollections of the boy whose story this
is, are those connected with those primitive gatherings. Take the scene of a few
settlers gathered up from the scattered settlements, connected only by forest trails,
in one of these pioneer log school houses, where the only furniture was that
manufactured by the help of an ax, saw and auger from the outer slab of a
saw log ; where the log structure, dedicated to learning and the arts, was made
without the use of a nail or article of iron, and was as free from metals in its
construction as was King Solomon's temple ; where one side of the little room was
devoted to the fireplace, and its walls made impenetrable to the cold winds by the
"chinkin' and the daubin'," but where the hearts of the gathered worshippers were
one in sympathy and love to the Maker, and their speaker, a circuit rider or ex-
horter, fired by the love of souls, in loud and electrifying appeals called upon the
sinner and the backslider to repent while the opportunity yet remained ; where the
effect of these appeals brought the careless and the scoffer to their knees and led
wicked men to better lives — these scenes, now no longer to be seen, left impres-
sions upon the beholders not to be forgotten.
In the way of religious gatherings of that day, the boy remembers most
vividly the camp meetings, now known to the people of this day only in tradi-
tion. One in Clarksfield in 1837, one in Wakeman in 1841, and one in Rochester in
1846, came under his observation and will serve as typical of the class. These
meetings were generally arranged to come off after haying, late in the summer
or early in the fall, when worldly cares were less likely to distract attention. A
piece of native forest was chosen, where good drainage with shade and water were
to be had. A plat of two or three acres or more was cleared of the underbrush
and the ground smoothed and leveled ; at one end of the plat was erected the
preachers' tent, facing inward, at the front of which was a stand for speakers,
under cover. Upon the other three sides were erected tents or cabins to answer
for the accommodation of the people. In front of the preachers' stand was an en-
closure of seats for from fifty to one hundred people, the enclosure being formed
by poles placed upon posts or crotches set in the ground. The purpose of this
enclosure was for the accommodation of circles for prayer and for those seeking
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HUROX COUNTY
107
after the light of religious experience, which we might call the anxious seat, but
which the irreverent of those days called the "bull-pen." Beyond this enclosure
were seats for hearers, made by placing slabs or planks across supports of logs
and timbers, arranged so as to provide aisles leading towards the preachers' stand.
To these tents people came from many miles around, bringing beds, furniture
and provisions for a week's outing, and here were carried on all the household arts
for a comfortable <tay. Cooking was done by open fires in the rear of the tents,
and sleeping accommodations made upon piles of clean straw and bed clothing
within the apartments of the tents. The tin horn at the preachers' tent served the
purpose of a "church going bell," in calling the people from their tents to the gen-
eral auditorium for the several services, and laggards in the tents met the severe
reprimand of the "preacher in charge." Rules were enacted for the government of
the encampment and severely enforced.
To these gatherings came all sorts of people for all sorts of purposes. Re-
ligious exercises and experiences were not the only incentives. There came the gos-
siper, the curiosity seeker, fun lover and the horse trader. There came the sin-
cere religionist, yearning for the salvation of his neighbor, and there came the
irreverent scoffer of things held sacred by the other class. The gatherings were
not always characterized by the sanctity that pervades church-going assemblies
of this day, but frequently made work for the grand juries. In other cases the
disorders created by the irreverent were informally and promptly treated on the
grounds to doses of muscular Christiaity from an athletic preacher or muscular
layman, a remedy swifter than that afforded by the law and generally more ef-
fective.
It is far easier now to describe the organization and proceedings of such a
gathering than to accurately measure the effects upon the participants. The
measure of one relates to Time, while the effects of the other can only be known
in Eternity. Many who came to scoff and ridicule, left the grounds rejoicing in
a new life, and here steps in the religious life were commenced which terminated
only in a hopeful death.
These school houses and camp meetings produced or furnished the arena of
action of such eminent pioneer preachers of the Firelands as Leonard B. Gurley,
William B. Disbrow, James Mclntire, James A. Kellum, John Mitchell, Adam
Poe, James McMahon, Richard Biggs, H. O. Sheldon, Russell Bigelow, E. R.
Jewett, Thomas Barkdull, William C. Pierce, of the Methodist Episcopal church,
and Revs. Betts and Streeter, of the Presbyterian church ; Rev. David Marks and
Rev. Fairfield, of the Baptist church, as well as many others whose names are re-
membered by the descendants of the pioneers with reverence.
Most of these men were from time to time in the early days guests at the home
of the family in question, and the boy remembers of having heard most of them
from the pulpit or the desk of the school house.
In this connection it may be said that it is probable that Sunday schools were
organized and carried on upon the Firelands at an early day, for as early as 1836,
at Clarksfield Hollow, a school was in operation, conducted by members of dif-
ferent denominations. I remember being in this school at its beginning for that
season ; remember that Rev. Streeter was at the head of it, and the lesson of the
Digitized by Google
108
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
day, which will be found at Matt. III., 1-6, beginning: "In those days came John
the Baptist preaching in the wilderness of Judea."
The library in use is remembered for its utter want of adaptation to the needs
of children. Instead of being of such a character of matter as children would
become interested in, its books treated upon the most severe and sober theological
questions, such as children of no time take to.
A Sunday sch<K>l celebration held near Berlin chapel, between Berlinvillc and
Florence, on July 4, in the year 1843. » s remembered by this particular boy for the
many children it called together from all of the surrounding towns, the pretty ad-
dress delivered by Mr. Dwight, and particularly for the good things we had to eat.
CLOTHING OF THE PIONEER.
The clothing in which the pioneer boy was clad was not tailor-made, nor was
it even hand-me-down, ready-made clothing, but the result of the summer work
and the cunning skill of his mother's fingers, which worked early and late. In
the spring of each year a crop of flax was sown, and at maturity was pulled, rotted,
broken in the flax-brake and hatcheled by the men folks, when it was ready to be
carded, spun and woven into cloth, called "tow and linen," for the next year's
clothing. So of the wool of the few sheep kept. The price of wool in the markets
of the country was not then a burning question as now ; the limited supply was
scarcely sufficient for the domestic wants of the families of the pioneer. The sup-
ply was either carded into bats at home or carried to the woolen mill and made
into "rolls," ready for the spinning wheel. The same mother's hands spun it into
yarn ready for the weaver or ready for her winter's knitting into socks. The
spun yarn, dyed in butternut or blue dye, sufficed for the "filling," in a web, which
was of cotton yarn, and the product was known as "jeans." The weaver's work
done, the same mother's nimble fingers cut, fitted and made the tow and linen or
the jeans into coats, pants and vests for the boys.
As time passed on and the family became more forehanded, which meant, had
more sheep and other stuff and something to sell in the market, the cloth was made
of all wool and went to the cloth dresser for fulling and dressing, and came home
shining like broadcloth. Here came the need of the tailor, who cut the cloth ready
for the itinerant sewing woman, and the boy came out in a suit of "fulled cloth."
with shining brass buttons. So the work of clothing the boys developed from
year to year until maturity enabled him to dress in "store clothes" from his own
earnings.
It was not always that the last year's suit lasted well until this year's suit
made it appearance, in which case the boy, in the interim between the passing
away of the former and the coming of the latter, might have passed for Riley's
"Raggedy Man." It must have been during one of these destitute periods that
the mother in question, ever alert to the needs of the children, wrote to her
mother in the east, in a letter dated November 17, 1830. the original of which
came to the hands of your essayist a few years since, and is now preserved with
the greatest care, as follows : "We have raised our living this season, and it
seems much better than to buy it and not know where it is to come from. Our
children are well, but very ragged, — not having any wool of late, we are quite
Digitized by Google
PI BL1C SCHOOL, NEW LO\]X)\\ OHIO
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
111
destitute of clothing. You wrote you had sent me some stocking yarn, but I
have not received it yet. If 1 could get it I would make my fingers fly."
This letter was sealed with a red wafer. It bears the postmark of Clarks-
field. November 2y, and is charged with eighteen and three-fourths cents post-
age. Letters patent of nobility from a sovereign king or emperor would not
be prized higher. It gives a phase of family and pioneer history not to be for-
gotten. It convicts the pioneer boy of once having belonged to a crowd of
"very ragged" children, but it brings no blush.
Boots and shoes were not brought to the pioneer home ready made and in
assortments sure to meet all demands. Hides, taken from animals killed for
family supplies of meat, or, more often, hides taken from domestic animals
dying from the murrain, were taken to the near by tannery, dressed into leather
and were, by the neighboring shoemaker, made up into boots and shoes for the
family, with the emphasis upon the word shoes for, as a matter of true history,
the pioneer boy in question never possessed the greatly coveted boots until he
was permitted to earn them by work for a neighbor, at thirteen years of age.
SCHOOLS.
For years after the period of this writing, the settlement in question had no
school, and the only school opportunities were obtained by sending the children
to neighboring districts, the tenure of which privileges to us outsiders depend-
ing upon the demands made by children within the districts. Long tramps
through the woods and through swamps spanned by fallen trees only, was the
price paid by the children for the instruction received by them. Finally, in the
spring of 1840. a truly pioneer school house came to the doors of this family,
and its description may be taken as that of pioneer school houses throughout
Ohio and the west. It was built, not by direct taxes levied and collected in due
course of law, nor by the issue of bonds, as would now be done, perhaps; but
by the combined lal>ors of the men in the district, voluntarily given. On a
given day, by appointment, all turned out with axes and teams, and from the
contiguous woods cut the logs, hauled them to the site of Bissell's Corners, and
within a few days had erected a log building about twenty by twenty-five feet
in size. The gables were of logs and the roof of shakes, or boards, as they
are sometimes called, rived with a frow from an oak tree, and held in place
upon the roof by overlaying each course of the roofing with a heavy weight pole.
Openings were cut in the logs, at appropriate places, for the windows and
door. At one end a wide fireplace, without jambs, capable of receiving wood
six or seven feet in length, was provided. This fireplace was built of boulder
stones, picked up in the neighborhood, and served as a foundation for a stick
and mud chimney terminating above the roof. In this fireplace were piled large
quantities of wood in winter, and the fires served well to heat the room. The
door was of rough sawed boards, hung upon wooden hinges and held shut by
a wooden latch. The windows, while supplied with sash for glazing, were, as
the boy well remembers, only covered with greased paper at the first term of
the school, taught in the summer of 1840. Floors of rough sawed lumber were
laid. This building, each autumn during its service, had to be daubed with mud
Digitized by Google
112
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
to keep out the cold. The furniture consisted of benches made without backs,
from slabs, or the outer cuts from saw logs, supported by legs driven into auger
holes For a writing desk for the larger pupils, a wide board, supported by
heavy sticks driven into a log, at the proper height, at one end of the room, did
duty.
Within such a house as this your pioneer boy and the children of his dis-
trict were taught from Webster's Elementary Spelling Book, from Murray's
English Reader, and from Daboll's Arithmetic, and other antiquated primary
books for three months each winter for ten years, beginning with the year 1840.
Near by were the woods and the river and the ample play grounds. Let no
one waste any sympathy upon these children on account of this apparent dearth
of opportunity. The defects in the opportunity are only apparent and made so
by a comparison with the schools of the Firelands of today. That district never
added a single man or woman to the ranks of illiteracy. Out of one enrollment
of thirty-five pupils, now before the writer, more than one-half, after nearly
sixty years, are known to be in life. No one of that company ever entered the
ranks of the criminal class. So let no one despise these antecedents of this par-
ticular boy, for be assured he does not, but glories in them, for from such sur-
roundings came the Lincolns and the Garficlds of loved American fame.
From out of these humble surroundings, which may be said to be typical
school environments of the great majority of schools upon the Firelands in their
beginning, came pupils armed with that best of qualifications, self-respect and
self-reliance. Came also healthy young men and women, taught in the atmos-
phere of morality and patriotism, to bless society here and in other states.
In this semi-isolated life, cut off from the far-off outer world, its faint
eachoes hardly touched this particular family. Books were few, and for many
months no newspaper visited the circle. From year to year the only changes
were the changing seasons. They waited for the spring with eager longing, for
it brought the sugar-making season, so loved by the youth ; it brought with it the
flowers, natural to our woods, and unlocked its treasures of life.
It may be said with propriety that the schools of the Firelands, from the
first, though humble in their pretensions, were fostered by an enlightened and
intelligent public sentiment. The pioneer, though poor, and from a poor New
England or New York home, was not illiterate.
Your pioneer boy, like the school boys of today, improbable as it may ap-
pear from the opportunities and surroundings alx>ve given, had ambition, and
this passion pointed to the Norwalk Seminary, as the object to be attained. His
few visits to the county capital, always looked upon with greater favor than a
visit to Europe with the Paris exposition as a part of the attraction, would now
be viewed, were always more desired by him, for the reason that he could look
upon the seminary and indulge his fancies as to his future in that temple of
learning; but alas for human ambitions, for before the proper time came the
seminary was a thing of the past, and he had to be satisfied with Bcrca and
Oberlin.
He is in error who supposes that the poverty of opportunity herein deline-
ated as the lot of the pioneer and his family was an unmixed evil. Poverty in
no case is without some compensating benefits. The honest efforts of him who
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY 113
suffers from poverty to overcome its inconveniences, strengthens and builds up
his character and renders him stronger for the conflicts of life.
The spirit of unrest by which this age and the century from which we are
about to pass has been so much influenced, invaded the woods of the Firelands
in those years of which we write, and seized upon the boys then as it does now.
Here, then, now, and always, as Willis has expressed it,
"Ambition seeks the chamber of the gifted boy,
And lifts the humble window and comes in."
And more than that it has lifted him out of this and other more eastern
states, and that boy and his girl are moving beyond the Mississippi. The west
is sapping the east of its best material, and if the fathers and mothers of the
latter are asking themselves, "Where is my boy tonight?" the answer comes
back from the far west, "He is here and is building up empires."
AMUSEMENTS.
Did the boys of that day have any fun, do you ask? Certainly. A healthy
boy will manufacture his own amusements, if he does not have to work too hard.
The boys of those times were mustered into the ranks of labor at an early age
say at ten or eleven years of age, and made to contribute to the common weal of
the family ; yet on rainy days fishing was permissible, when it rained too hard for
work. So at night, after having performed all the work during the day that an
ingenious father could get from a rather unwilling boy. fishing parties were com-
mon to the mill ponds. Husking bees, coon huntings, logging bees, and house or
barn raisings, called the young men and boys together.
It may seetrl to the boy of today, who, with his surroundings of a beautiful
country home, a farm productive of everything necessary, as well as of many lux-
uries, where the labors of the farm are so largely performed by machinery, with
the facilities for excursions to distant places, and with frequent trips upon the
lake; with concerts and lectures and theaters and conventions the year round, that
he has all the fun, and that we of sixty years ago must have had only a dull round.
Not so. While we combated roots and stumps in the soil, where the boy of today
plows with no obstruction, while riding his plow, we had before us the virgin
forests, an open book and a museum of unfailing resources of amusement. They
furnished the small game, which we delighted to hunt, in abundance. They fur-
nished nuts of every variety, delicious wild fruits and mandrakes and slippery-elm
bark. They furnished the materials for his stilts, his dart, his pop-gun, his
whistles, and his bows and arrows, as the season for each of these sports came
around. Then the boy of long ago had the fun of chopping down little trees, be-
fore chopping became a daily task, and of seeing them fall, a pastime of pleasure
unalloyed, except by the admonition from his seniors to "cut close to the ground."
Then the streams, little and big, now so nearly dried up in summer, ran high
all the year round, and never failed to furnish amusements of the rarest kind. In
winter the boy sported upon the ice of the river or skated, if he owned the skates,
and in summer he fished or bathed in the water or guided his raft or skiff there-
Digitized by Google
114
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
on. No delight in the world is so welcome to a boy as to spend half of his time
on a warm summer day in the water at his favorite swimming hole. I see it
now, at the bend in the river, embowered by a spreading elm tree's shade, made
more dense and welcome by the wild grapevine which has year by year clambered
up its rugged sides. The noon hour of the school day afforded the time, and the
disposition was never wanting. Since that experience, in the long past, the Hoosier
poet, who knew the joys of the "Old Swimmin' Hole." as the Clarksfield boy
knew it, has put the whole story in poetic dialect:
"Oh, the old swimmin' hole. In the happy days of yore,
When I ust to lean above it on the old sickamore,
My shadder shinin' up at me with such tenderness.
Cut them days is past and gone, and old Time's tuck his toll
From the old man come back to the old swimmin' hole."
Yes, the old man has come back. He finds the river here, but the locus of the
old swimmin' hole has yielded to the shifting sand bank ; the old sycamore has also
passed away, as have the l>oy playmates, without whose presence the visit is almost
a blank.
The pioneer boy had little money, in fact he hardly saw enough of it to recog-
nize the different denominations of the currency of the day. This was largely due
to the fact that there wa- little money in the country. Business was largely car-
ried on by barter. A pound of butter would buy a pound of cut nails. Two pounds
of butter would buy a shilling hat. A good horse could be lwught for from twenty
five dollars to fifty dollars, and a cow for ten dollars. The little money that came
into the family in big copper cents, sixpences and shillings, for dimes and half-
dimes were rarely seen, had to he carefully saved for tax-paying time. In fact
the boy had little use for money. Shows rarely came this way. and a part of our
religion'; teachings was to the effect that a show that had a round ring in the tent,
whatever else it may have had. was awfully wicked. The railroads of the day. all
of which were corduroy roads, always gave free excursions, the passenger carrying
his own lunch.
The gayest of all the year with the boys was the day known as "Trainin' Day,"
when the militia of the town were called out for drill. The bright red and blue
colors of the privates' and non-commissioned officers' uniforms dazzled the eye of
the hoy ; but the finer uniform of the captain and lieutenants, as they marshaled the
men to the stirring music of the fife and drum, or by sharp commands put them
through the manual of arms, drove his senses into something like a stupor. The
grand event of the day was when the colonel, if he happened to be a near by dweller,
gay in his iridescent jjarb of gray and gold, galloped upon the parade ground, sur-
rounded by his staff, and in thundering tones gave orders to the battalion, which
moved the men as a piece of machinery and terrorized and almost froze the heart
of the dazed lad from the back woods. The movements of Sherman's army before
Atlanta, or of Grant's in the Wilderness, could not have been more bewildering.
Some here will remember the coming through the county of the straggling
recruits for the so-called "patriots' war." the uprising of a few disappointed men
in Canada, in 1837, with arms an 1 pieces of artillery, as does the writer, and of the
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
115
alarm all felt at the prospect of a border war with Great Britain, growing out
of the affairs upon the border at Niagara river. These alarms, with the calling
out of the enrolled militia in 1846, when men were wanted for the Mexican war,
were such as to awaken the martial spirit of the people and to set the boys at school
to playing soldier.
The presence in Clarksfield of two water gristmills and sawmills at the time
this story begins made life there much more desirable at that time. The prime
question was to get something to grind. With that the boys had nothing to do
and little concern ; but the going to mill upon an ox sled with a little grist of grain,
the operation of grinding the grist between the two great stones, the delivery
by the dusty miller of the prepared flour or meal, and the great, wide mill pond
were matters, once seen, to be told and talked over for a month and never to be
forgotten by the boy whose experiences and observations had then been so limited.
Later on in life, when his muscles and discretion could be trusted to do the busi-
ness, the boy was himself made the supercargo of a grist of grain on its way to the
mill. The grist was equally divided by the parental hand, one-half in one end of
the sack and one-half in the other end, thrown across the horse, and the boy
mounted on top, with directions to use care in balancing the grist, and he was dis-
patched upon the errand. That boy has the most rueful recollections of his ex-
periences of the grist falling from the horse in the woods road, away from help,
and of his agonizing tears at the disaster. The grist had to be gotten upon a
stump and the unwilling horse led between the stump and a near by tree which
kept him from stepping to one side before the status of affairs had been restored,
but success only awaited perseverance. The varied business ventures of the later
life of that boy. with their adverse turns, bear no comparison to these weeping
struggles with the grist in the wilderness.
TRANSPORTATION.
In the early days of our country hereabouts, the team work was mostly done
with oxen, now almost a thing of the past.
Ox teams were used on the farm, for social visits, and for going to church.
Your essayist well remembers of many occasions when the whole family went to
meeting behind this kind of a team, upon a sled or in an old, squeaky wagon. In-
deed, this was the rule among the pioneers sixty years ago, and caused no
comment.
Before roads for wagons were made, horseback riding for both sexes was most
common, and the horse-block before every door afforded the aid for mounting.
The animal was often taxed to carry double, and this was the favorite mode with
beaus and belles among the pioneers.
A farm wagon behind a span of plow horses showed the wealth and luxury
of the owner, 'while the buggy and surrey, now so common, were unknown.
POSTAL FACILITIES.
The boy well remembers when Clarksfield's mail came but once a week, and
then was brought by a post-boy on horseback with a leathern pair of saddle-
116
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
bags as the mail car. W hen he arrived upon the east hill at the village, to
warn Esquire Starr, the postmaster, of his coming, he most vigorously soundeo
his tin horn, which he carried fastened to his saddle. Mail day, though it
brought little of interest to the people, was the day of the week after Sunday.
Few newspapers were taken, and letters at eighteen and three-fourths cents or
twenty-five cents each, were too costly a luxury to be often indulged in by such
a people. The mail carrier often brought news from the outside world of the
elections, of wars or rumors of wars, which was passed from mouth to mouth.
Now the mail is brought to Clarksficld\s dwellers daily from the east to the
west and from the west to the east. ui>on the fast mail trains of the Wheeling
& Lake Erie Railroad ; and instead of the horn of the mail-boy, is heard the
scream of the locomotive engine and the thunderous rumbling of heavy trains
of cars, fearing the commerce of the continent. Smith Starr, the first and long
time postmaster of the town, who handed out to the hoy in question, sixty-five
years ago. the Western Christian Advocate, the family paper, sleeps with the
neighbors whom he served upon the hill, while the mail is distributed and served
to patrons by a woman postmistress, a descendant of Aaron Rowland, another
of the pioneers of the town.
DEATH AMONG THE PIONEERS.
In those pioneer days people died as they do now only oftener and earlier in
life: for the hard life of privation most of them lived reduced the average term
of life, and the pioneer fell an early victim to the ague or to the fever which
followed in its train.
As people wore home-made clothing in life, so their dead were encoffined
in a home-made, walnut coffin, made to order from an actual measure taken, by
the local cabinet maker or by a carpenter, the funeral always awaiting the con-
venience of the mechanic. The account books of Capt. Samuel Husted. pioneer
merchant and first manufacturer of Clarksfield. still preserved, furnish the only
vital statistics of the town in the charges made therein for coffins, furnished for
the dean 1 among the pioneers.
Funerals among the pioneers were always formal affairs. The newest and
best farm wagon of the settlement served as the hearse, and not until in the
forties did our town furnish a pall for such occasions. A minister, if one could
be had. must come, say a prayer and deliver a sermon. If no minister could
be had. then some devout layman solemnized the occasion by a prayer. The
old hymn begining. "Hark from the tombs a doleful sound," sung to the tune
of China, by uncultured voices, made the solemnity of the occasion almost
gloomy, and always awakened doubts of the reality of the resurrection.
The neighbors for miles around turned out and the funeral rites were decor-
ously and solemnly performed.
The writer has a vivid recollection of his attendance upon a funeral in Clarks-
field. the first that fell under his observation. It was that of a young mother
who had yielded up her life in a forest home. The bereaved home was reached
from our home by a tramp with mother and a neighbor, through a mile of dense
forest. After the ceremony the burial took place upon a knoll in the deep woods
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
117
near by. The sight of the dead mother and of the bereaved little ones made an
impression upon the mind of the five-year-old boy which was deep and lasting.
The little procession bore the body from the lonely cabin home to the grave
where the neighbors filled in the earth and departed. For some years the mound
reminded the observer of the departed, but finally all traces of the entombment
were eradicated and the affair was was forgotten. The place of interment has
long since been passed over by the stranger occupant of the farm with no knowl-
edge of the burial.
Early burials were in most cases made upon the home farm, for cemeteries
were not then established. In a few years, as in the instance above given, these
places of burial were forgotten, so that now the plow and the reaper, unknown
to the farmer in charge, desecrate the places once sacred to the pioneer.
CONCLUSION.
The story you have listened to contains nothing startling, and has, I fear,
hardly been interesting. It is but a recitation of commonplace affairs, with an
antique odor, of which every pioneer boy knows, and perhaps, yes surely, this
is all it has to commend it. Be this as it may, the story has its counterpart in
the history of every section of our country, which has, with such marvelous
celerity, emerged from a wilderness, the dwelling place of the savage, to a
densely populated empire of civilization, within the lifetime and recollections of
many here. The story begins contemporaneously with the first term of Presi-
dent Jackson, the seventh president, and runs to that of the twenty-fifth, counted
consecutively, and covers one-half of the lifetime of our republic. It has seen
the republic doubled and more than doubled in the extent of its territory, and
more than quadrupled in its population ; while in material resources and national
virility the infant has become the giant of this globe.
During this period the last of the men who at the beginning of the story
grappled with the wilderness here, has passed to the beyond. The children of
the pioneer have in many cases, as in the case of the families most conspicuous
in the story, gone to aid in developing other states, so that the only memory of
their names is to be gathered from the tombstones in your cemctries. But such
is the glory of American life everywhere.
JOHNNY APPLESEED.
ADDRESS OF A. J. BAUGHM AN AT THE UNVEILING OF THE JOHNNY APPLESEED MONU-
MENT AT MANSFIELD, OHIO.
John Chapman was born at Springfield, Mass., in the year 1775. Of his early
life but little is known, as he was reticent about himself, but his half-sister who
came west at a later period, stated that Johnny had, when a boy, shown a fondness
for natural scenery and often wandered from home in quest of plants and flowers
and that he liked to listen to the birds singing and to gaze at the stars. Chap-
man's penchant for planting apple seeds and cultivating nurseries caused him to be
called "Appleseed John." which was finally changed to "Johnny Applesecd," and
by that name he was called and known everywhere.
Digitized by Google
118
HISTORY 01* HURON' COUNTY
The year Chapman came to Ohio has been variously stated, but to say it was
one hundred years ago would not be far from the mark. An uncle of the late
Roscella Rice lived in Jefferson county when Chapman made his first advent in
Ohio, and one day saw a queer-looking craft coming down the Ohio river above
Steubenville. It consisted of two canoes lashed together, and its crew was one
man — an angular, oddly-dressed person — and when he landed he said his name
was Chapman, and that his cargo consisted of sacks of apple seeds and that he in-
tended to plant nurseries.
Chapman's first nursery was planted nine miles below Steubenville, up a nar-
row valley, from the Ohio river, at Urilliant, formerly called I-agrange, opposite
Wellsburg, W. Va. After planting a number of nurseries along the river front, he
extended his work into the interior of the state— into Richland county — where he
made his home for many years.
Chapman was enterprising in his way and planted nurseries in a number of
counties, which required him to travel hundreds of miles to visit and cultivate
them yearly, as was his custom. His usual price for a tree was "a lip penny-bit,"
but ii the settler hadn't money, Johnny would either give him credit or take old
clothes for pay. He generally located his nurseries along streams, planted his
seeds, surrounded the patch with a brush fence, and when the pioneers came, John-
ny had young fruit trees ready for them. He extended his operations to the Mau-
mee country and finally into Indiana, where the last years of his life were spent.
He revisited Richland county the last time in 1843, and called at my father's, but
as I was only five years old at the time I do not remember him.
My parents (in about 1827-35) planted two orchards with trees they bought
of Johnny, and he often called at their house, as he was a frequent caller at the
homes of the settlers. My grandfather, Capt. James Cunningham, settled in Rich-
land county in 1808, and was acquainted with Johnny for many years, and 1 often
heard him tell, in his Irish-witty way, many amusing anecdotes and incidents of
Johnny's life and of his peculiar and eccentric ways.
Johnny was fairly educated, well read and was polite and attentive in man-
ner and was chaste in conversation. His face was pleasant in expression, and he-
was kind and generous in disposition. His nature was a deeply religious one. and
his life was blameless among his fellow men. He regarded comfort more than
style and thought it wrong to spend money for clothing to make a fine appearance.
He usually wore a broad-brimmed hat. Me went barefooted not only in the sum-
mer, but often in cold weather, and a coffee sack, with neck and armholes cut in it.
was worn as a coat. He was about five feet, nine inches in height, rather spare
in build was large boned and sinewy. His eyes were blue, but darkened with
animation.
For a numl>er of years Johnny lived in a little cabin near Pcrrvsville (then in
Richland county ), but later he made his home in Mansfield with his half-sister, a
Mrs. Groome.
When upon his journeys '"Johnny" usually camped out. He never killed any-
thing, not even for the purjK.se of obtaining !« h m1. He carried a kit of cooking uten-
sils with him, among which was a mush-pan. which he sometimes wore as a hat.
When he called at a house, his custom was to lie upon the floor with his kit f r 1
pillow and after conversing with the family a short time, would then read from a
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
121
Swedenborgian book or tract, and proceed to explain and extol the religious views
he so zealously believed, and whose teachings he so faithfully carried out in his
every day life and conversation. His mission was one of peace and good will and
he never carried a weapon, not even for self-defense. The Indians regarded him
as a great "Medicine Man," and his life seemed to be a charmed one, as neither
savage men nor wild beast would harm him.
Chapman was not a mendicant. He was never in indigent circumstances, for he
sold thousands of nursery trees every year. Had he been avaricious, his estate in-
stead of being worth a few thousand might have been tens of thousands at his
death.
"Johnny Appleseecfs" name was John Chapman — not Jonathan — and this is at-
tested by the muniments of his estate, and also from the fact that he had a half-
brother (a deaf mute) whose Christian name was Jonathan.
Chapman never married and rumor said that a love affair in the old Bay State
was the cause of his living the life of a celibate and recluse. Johnny himself
never explained why he led such a singular life except to remark that he had a
mission — which was understood to be to plant nurseries and to make converts to
the doctrines taught by Emanuel Swedenborg. He died at the home of William
Worth in St. Joseph township, Allen county, Indiana, March n, 1847, an d was
buried in David Archer's graveyard, a few miles north of Fort Wayne, near the
foot of a natural mound. His name is engraved as a cenotaph upon one of the
monuments erected in Mifflin township, Ashland county, this state, to the memory
of the pioneers. Those monuments were unveiled with imposing ceremony in the
presence of over six thousand people September 15, 1882, the seventieth anniver-
sary of the Copus tragedy.
During the war of 181 2 Chapman often warned the settlers of approaching
danger. The following incident is given : When the news spread that Levi Jones
had been killed by the Indians and that Wallace Reed and others had probably met
the same fate, excitement ran high and the few families which comprised the popu-
lation of Mansfield sought the protection of the blockhouse, situated on the public
square, as it was supposed the savages were coming in force from the north to
overrun the country and to murder the settlers.
There were no troops at the blockhouse at the time and as an attack was
considered imminent, a consultation was held and it was decided to send a mes-
senger to Captain Douglas, at Mt. Vernon, for assistance. But who would un-
dertake the hazardous journey? It was evening, and the rays of the sunset had
faded away and the stars were beginning to shine in the darkening sky. and the
trip of thirty miles must be made in the night over a new cut road through a
wilderness — through a forest infested with wild beasts and hostile Indians.
A volunteer was asked for and a tall, lank man said demurely : "I'll go." He
was bareheaded, baref<x>ted and was unarmed. His manner was meek and vou
*
had to look the second time into his clear, blue eyes to fully fathom the courage
and determination shown in their depths. There was an expression in his coun
tenance such as limners try to portray in their pictures of saints. It is scarcely
necessary to state that the volunteer was "Johnny Applesced" for many of
you have heard your fathers tell how unostentatiously "Johnny" stood as "a
Digitized by Google
122
HISTORY OF HURON 7 COUNTY
watchman on the walls of Jezreel." to guard and protect the settlers from their
savage foes.
The journey to Mt Vernon was a sort of a Paul Revere mission. Unlike
Paul's. "Johnny's" was made on foot — barefooted — over a rough road, but one
that in time led to fame.
"Johnny" would rap on the doors of the few cabins along the route, warn the
settlers of the impending danger and advise them to flee to the blockhouse.
"Johnny" arrived safely at Mt. Vernon, aroused the garrison and informed
the commandant of his mission. Surely, figuratively speaking.
"The dun-deer's hide
On fleeter feet was never tied,"
for so expeditiously was the trip made that at sunrise the next morning troops
from Mt. Vernon arrived at the Mansfield blockhouse, accompanied by "Johnny."
who had made the round trip of sixty miles between sunset and sunrise.
About a week before Chapman's death, while at Fort Wayne, he heard that
cattle had broken into his nursery in St. Joseph township and were destroying
his trees, and he started on foot to look after his property. The distance was
about twenty miles and the fatigue and exposure of the journey were too much
for "Johnny's" physical condition, then enfeebled by age; and at the even-tide
he applied at the home of a Mr. Worth for lodging for the night. Mr. Worth
was a native Buckey< and had lived in Richland count) when .1 boy and when
he learned that his oddly dressed caller was "Johnny Appleseed" gave him a
cordial welcome. "Johnny" declined going to the supper table but partook of
a bowl of bread and milk.
The day had been cold and raw with occasional Hurries of snow, but in the
evening the clouds cleared away and the sun shone warm and bright as it sank
in the western sky. "Johnny" noticed this beautiful sunset, an augury of the
Spring and flowers so soon to come and sat on the doorstep and gazed with
wistful eyes toward the west. Perhaps this herald of the Springtime, the season
in which nature is resurrected from the death of Wititer, caused him to look
with prophetic eyes to the future and contemplate that glorious event of which
Christ is the resurrection and the life. Upon re-entering the house. "Johnny"
declined the bed offered him for the night, preferring a quilt and pillow on the
floor, but asked permission to hold family worship and read "Blessed are the
poor in spirit, for theirs i> the kingdom of Heaven." "Blessed are the pure in
heart, for they shall see God," etc.
After he had finished reading the lesson, he said prayers — prayers long rc-
meml>ered by that family. He prayed for all sorts and conditions of men; that
the way of righteousness might be made clear unto them and that saving grace
might be freely given to all nations. He asked that the Holy Spirit might guide
and govern all who profess and call themselves Christians and that all those
who were afflicted in mind, body or estate, might be comforted and relieved, and
that all might at last come to the knowledge of the truth and in the world to
come have happiness and everlasting life. Not only the words of the prayer, but
the pathos of his voice made a deep impression upon those present.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
123
In the morning "Johnny" was found in a high state of fever, pneumonia hav-
ing developed during the night, and the physician called said he was beyond
medical aid. but inquired particularly about his religious belief, and remarked
that he had never seen a dying man so perfectly calm, for upoi) his wan face
there was an expression of happiness and upon his pale lips there was a smile
of joy, as though he was communing with loved ones who had come to meet him
and to soothe his weary spirit in his dying moments. And as his eyes shone
with the beautiful light supernal, God touched him with his finger and beckoned
him home.
Thus ended the life of the man who was not only a hero, but a benefactor
as wtll : and his spirit is now at rest in the Paradise of the Redeemed, and in the
fullness of time, clothed again in the old body made anew, will enter into the
Father's house in which there are many mansions. In the words of his own
faith, his bruised feet will he healed, and he shall walk on the gold-paved streets
of ihe New Jerusalem of which he so eloquently preached. It has been very
appropriately said that although years have come and gone since his death, the
memory of his good deeds live anew every Springtime in the beauty and frag-
rance of the hlossoms of the apple trees he loved so well.
"Johnny Apple-seed's" death was in harmony with his unostentatious, blame-
less life. It is often remarked. "How beautiful is the Christian's life;" yea, but
far more beautiful is the Christian's death, when "the fashion of his counte-
nance is altered." as he passes from the life here to the life beyond.
What changes have taken place in the years that have intervened between
the "Johnny Applcseed" period and today! It ha> been said that the lamp of
civilization far surpasses that of Aladdin's. Westward the star of empire took
its way and changed the forests into fields of grain and the waste places into
gardens of flowers, and towns and cities have been built with marvelous handi-
work. But in this march of progress, the struggles and hardships of the early
settlers must not be forgotten. Let us not only record the history, but the legends
of the pioneer period ; garner its facts and its fictions; its tales and traditions and
collect even the crumbs that fall from the table of the feast.
Today, the events which stirred the souls and tried the courage of the pio-
neers seem to come out of the dim past and glide as panoramic views before
me. A number of the actors in those scenes were of my "kith and kin" who have
long since crossed over the river in their journey to the land where Enoch and
Elijah are pioneers, while I am left to exclaim :
"Oh, for the touch of a vanished hand
And the sound of a voice that is still."
HOW JAY COOKE FINANCED THK CIVIL WAR.
PAPER READ MY JAY COOKE, OF PHILADELPHIA, BEFORE THE FIKELANDS HISTORICAL
SOCIETY, AT ITS MEETING IN SANDUSKY, OCTOBER 3, IQOO.
COPYRIGHTED I9OO. PUBLISHED BY PERMISSION.
Mr. President, and .\fcmbcrs of the Firelands Historical Society:
You must not expect from me on this occasion anything more than a truthful
talk upon some subjects your President tells me you will be pleased to listen to
Digitized by Google
124
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
as coming from one who, although not a member of your society yet, has for
long years kept himself informed as to your aims and purposes and who has
taken much interest in all you have done. I never delivered a speech in all my
nearly eighty years of life. The largest body I have ever addressed was a male
bible class of sometimes one hundred and fifty members which I have conducted
each Sabbath for nearly fifty years and yet when I recalled the fact that my dear
father, the Hon. Eleuthcros Cooke, so frequently in the long ago met with you
and addressed you and that your society has numbered and now numbers many
old friends, I could not refuse the invitation to appear before you.
My preference would have been, however, to have met and talked with you
at the fireside of my own home. Oh, what hours we could have spent together,
chatting about the good old times, the old friends, the thousand and one incidents,
old customs and experiences and again of the wondrous changes that have
taken place, the rapid progress in arts and sciences and inventions in steamships
and railroads, and telegraph and telephones. Why a whole year of such talks
would hardly suffice to exhaust the infinite sum of the items we would recall
from memory's storehouse, even a memory reaching no further backwards than
three score years and ten.
My friends, I consider myself as one of you. I was born near the spot where
we are now assembled. I have a perfect recollection of Sandusky when it was
but just changing from an Indian village. Old Ogontz many a time has carried
me on his shoulders. I named my beautiful home near Philadelphia after this
old chief and now the whole country around me for miles has appropriated for
their postoffice. railroad station and village the name of Ogontz.
My father, I think, built the first stone house down on Columbus avenue.
The town was then called Portland, and afterwards Sandusky City and now San-
dusky. My first recollection of any public worship was of a Methodist meeting
held in a cooper shop on Market street, our seats rough boards placed on kegs.
Shortly after this a small frame church was erected by the Methodists near where
the courthouse stands. After this a stone church built by the Congregational i«ts,
also a stone church by the Episcopalians and many other societies followed until
in time this fair city has become noted as a city of churches.
The bay was at certain times covered with ducks and wild geese and swan
and the water populous with all kinds of fish. I remember a joke which our rival
neighbors used to perpetrate, i. t\, that before the Sandusky people could dine
or sup they would have to send us boys down to the docks to catch enough fish
for a meal. But in fact this whole country was full of game and fish of all
kinds, a perfect paradise for hunters and fishermen. Deer and squirrels and
prairie chickens and wild turkey, etc.. abounded.
My father never was a hunter but on one occasion he beat us all in prowess
by capturing a couple of dozen of fat wild turkeys without firing a gun. He had
a hundred-acre field of corn out on the prairie and had built a spacious corn
house in the center. One day. riding over this field after harvest, he noticed a
window was open and approaching and looking in discovered a large Hock of wild
turkeys within and feasting on his corn. He promptly closed the window and
captured the whole Hock, thus providing a feast for the good old Thanksgiving
day then near at hand.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
125
On this same prairie between Bloomingville and Strong's Ridge I have
hunted with Judge Caldwell. It was a rare spot for deer and prairie chickens.
And now before closing these personal reminiscences I wish to refer to an
incident which some of you will no doubt recall. It is this, at one of your meet-
ings in Norwalk long ago my father, who was the orator on that occasion took
from his pocket the very first telegram that had been sent from Philadelphia to
Sandusky. He reminded you of past difficulties, particularly in the earlier periods,
in the matter of mails and messages from the East and how that frequently
letters were days and weeks before reaching their destination and how he held
in his hand a message that he had received from his son Jay from Philadelphia in
just five minutes from the time his son had written it that very morning.
To realize the wondrous change that you and I have witnessed we can recall
the time when postage on a letter from Sandusky to Norwalk was twelve and
one-half cents and from Boston to Sandusky was twenty-five cents and if the
envelope contained an enclosure beside the one sheet the postage was doubled.
W hy, my dear friends, I myself have paid seventy-five cents on a letter to my
sweetheart in Kentucky just because there was so much news in Philadelphia
that it required three sheets to tell it all. You and I remember when tomatoes
were called "Love Apples" and were not eaten, considered poisonous. We re-
member the first soda water fountains, the first daguerreotype, the first steam-
ship that crossed the ocean, the first railroad charter obtained in the world and
that by my own father in 1826. We all remember the beginning of the road,
at first between Sandusky and Bellevue, with a thin English strap rail and cars
drawn by a horse.
I was present when, about 1835, ground was broken near Foreman's rope
walk and a grand celebration held. All the great men of the state were invited.
"Old Tippecanoe," the first President Harrison, was there. My father delivered
the oration. We had music and a cannon and we boys all marched in the
procession.
At this time a few other railroad projects had been launched, a few miles
of the Baltimore & Ohio, some three miles of the Germantown road, also a piece
of the Albany & Schenectady road and a mile in the Quincy granite quarries.
But to my father and to the Western Reserve belongs the honor of being the
pioneer in railroad matters. From this small beginning hundreds of thousands
of miles of railroad have been constructed, why, my friends, there are today
enough finished railroads in the United States alone to reach around the world
fully ten times.
I have since 1838, when I took up my residence in Philadelphia, almost con-
tinually been financiering for railroads. As a mcml>er of the great firm of E. W.
Clark & Co.. and afterwards of the firm of Jay Cooke & Co.. I have until recent
years been instrumental in the building of nearly all the older railroads of the
country. The last of these, the great Northern Pacific railroad, now a triumph-
ant success and which has developed one of the finest portions of this country,
where, in 1870, a vast territory was filled with buffalo and Indians, can now be
found over six millions of intelligent and energetic farmers and miners and
merchants and ranchmen, etc., and many large cities and thriving towns, hun-
dreds of churches, schools and colleges and branch railroads innumerable.
Digitized by Google
126
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
In fact whether I journey east or west, north or south, I can recall the fact
that at some early date our firms financiered the bonds issued by these roads many
of which were entirely in our hands at some period of their history. I have
always had faith in well managed railroad property. About the only time I
ever met Jay Gould was when I asked him to assist in extending the Union
Pacific one hundred and seventy-five miles into southern Utah. This he agreed
to do. The purpose was to reach the great Horn silver mine at Frisco and it
took us just twenty minutes to close the bargain, although the railroad alone
cost over two millions of which the Union Pacific subscribed for one-half. This
road was completed in five months. I had, I remember, one other transaction
with Mr. Gould, and I found him in each case entirely trustworthy and reliable,
and my confidence in his word was so great that we did not even draw up or
sign any papers. He simply said: "I will do it. go ahead, and I will do my
part."
I suppose it was this association from early youth with large financial and
commercial transactions that gave me a vast experience and opened my mind
and widened my views as to the future of this glorious nation so that at the
period of the Mexican war from 1846 to 1849, as a member of the firm of E. \V.
Clark & Co.. I assisted in the negotiation of the government loans required
from time to time to carry on that war. Corcoran & Riggs. of Washington,
and E. \V. Clark & Co., of Philadelphia, took all of those loans. The amount
altogether did not exceed sixty or seventy millions. Robert J. Walker was
secretary of the treasury at that time and author of the sub-treasury system. I
was quite intimate with him, not then, but during the war of the rebellion.
I could tell you of some amusing details as to the manipulation of the Mexi-
can war loans. Why our firm made more profit out of each of their shares of
the ten million awards than I made during the whole period of the war of
the rebellion, a period of between four and five years during which, as selling
agent of this government, I negotiated all the great loans issued amounting to
over two thousand millions of dollars, this sum includes the early issue of tem-
porary loan certificates, loan of 1881, 5-20 bonds, 10-40 lx>nds. 7-30 notes, etc.,
etc. This last loan was for eight hundred and thirty millions and I sold it all
within five months, the sales occasionally reaching ten to fifteen millions a day
and one day forty-two millions. It was the closing war loan and before its
marvellous sale was concluded the war had ended. I could tell you, if I had
time, of how I saved the treasury one hundred millions of dollars and how the
success of this loan elevated the credit of this nation to a pinnacle far above that
of any nation on earth and gave the final blow to the great rebellion.
This saving of one hundred millions was acknowledged by all acquainted
with the facts and was originated and carried out successfully solely by myself,
the treasury department simply agreeing to my wishes and plans. It was in
connection with the vast issue of quartermaster certificates and the unwise pro-
vision made for their redemption which, instead of distributing the money, I
poured into the treasury pro rata upon each outstanding group of certificates,
paid out the bulk of it in Philadelphia, New York and Boston, leaving the hun-
dreds of other quartermaster departments frequently for months without funds.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
127
The consequence was that whilst quartermaster certificates in Philadelphia and
the East could be sold when first issued at ten to twelve per cent, discount, the
discount in Cincinnati, St. Louis, Chicago, etc., was twenty-two to twenty-five
per cent, other points thirty to thirty-five per cent, and at Nashville 1 heard of
a sale at fifty per cent discount. Now all this discount together with the doubts
and fears created by the want of prompt payment which greatly checked com-
petition added at least one million per day to the cost of the war and discredited
our bonds and gave hopes to the rebels and their sympathizers at the north
and in Europe that we would break down financially. I pondered over this fear-
ful situation and devised and executed at once a scheme which within thirty
days gave promise of the speedy ending of the war and reduced the discount
on all vouchers issued by quartermasters in all parts of the country to not over
two to three per cent and in fact the money flowed so rapidly into the treasury
that ere long the vouchers were cashed as soon as issued. This, my friends,
is the first time I have made any public mention of my services in connection with
this marvellous matter. You will wonder how it was accomplished.
It was in this way. I called to my office in lliiladelphia to confer with me
all the large holders of vouchers residing in the eastern cities. These men agreed
unanimously and privately to accept my proposition and to keep the plan from
publicity in order that the greatest good could be accomplished by its success.
These men held about eighty millions of vouchers, all of which were within a
few days deposited with me and for which I gave them the current issue of
7-30 notes at |}ar ; they agreeing to use them as a basis of bank loans until I
had closed out the sale of 7-30's for cash. They could borrow twenty-five per
cent more on the 7-30's than on the vouchers, and as the 7"3o's carried interest
they got their loans practically without cost. As these treasury notes were day
by day issued in exchange for the quartermaster's certificates, I was thereby able
to add from three to ten millions a day to the sum of the public subscriptions
which, as I knew it would, created such an increased demand for the notes by
the public and even foreign purchasers that the whole eight hundred and thirty
millions of this issue were all sold within five short months. All the loans I
negotiated went to a large premium. The 7-30 treasury notes after a short
period were all funded into long bonds or paid off. I will say here that all the
bonds I negotiated for the United States were paid off in gold as advertised
and many of them long before they were due and being purchased at a premium
by the treasury.
I am afraid I am already trespassing upon your time with these details, but
you asked me to tell you some of the plans I adopted to win so great a success.
I will but hint at a few of them and simply remark that these plans, originating
as they did from practical business experience and entire independence of action
and freedom from red tape, were such as no official or the government itself
could have planned or executed. Take for instance the following :
Newspapers and individuals got into the habit of deploring the war and its
vicious expenditures. I offset this by quoting the fact that every dollar raised
by the loans went right back into the hands of the people and was new and
vigorous blood permeating all through the body of the nation and at that time
the expense of the war had reached the vast sum of six hundred millions per
Digitized by Google
128
HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
annum. I simply, in addition to the fact as stated above, published statistics
showing the importation annually for years past of the best kind of immigrants,
mostly from the British Isles and the north of Europe. Such importation aver-
aged over six hundred thousand per annum. The cost of rearing to the average
age of those coming here was at least one thousand dollars each. This in addi-
tion to the money and goods which each immigrant brought in. These foreign
countries were contributing to the United States without cost to us more than
we were expending upon our war besides furnishing us many times the number
of those who were killed and wounded and who were ready and glad to take
their places in the ranks. Thus by using the newspapers and pamphlets and
circulars to disseminate these facts thoroughly and constantly all over the land
I soon dispelled all gloom and brought about a more cheerful condition of public
opinion. Another incident. The Quakers, so numerous in Pennsylvania and in
many other states, so rich and patriotic, were, as I knew, only held back from
investing millions in the United States bonds by the thought that the money was
for war purposes. Their consciences could not be reconciled to helping pay for
war and bloodshed. How did I manage them? In this way. I sent for a
number of them whom I knew personally and held conferences with them, the
result of which was that I told them that I was in full sympathy with their
scruples and had taken measures at W ashington to make it possible tor them
also to subscribe for bonds. I told them that millions of money was required
for hospitals and sanitary purposes, the <ick and wounded must be cared for.
etc., and that if they subscribed, their money would by especial agreement be
applied by the treasury department to thus doing good to the suffering soldiers.
My proposition was cordially accepted and was widely made known through
circulars and the newspapers, telegraph, etc.. and soon my Quaker friends began
to pour in millions from all parts of the country. Another incident. I had to
labor with a class of men who invested only in first mortgages on real estate and
would not invest in bonds of the United States. I got some of these men to a
conference and told them that my government bonds were far ahead of their
first mortgages ; that in fact, their first mortgages were only second or third
mortgages after all. In the first place the tax gatherers of the city and state both
have a prior lien. If the owner of the mortgaged property is unable to pay his
taxes the holder of the mortgage must do so or see his security glide from him.
But above all I made clear to them the fact of the supreme position of the
national government not only in the matter of imposition of any amount of taxa-
tion but even to the practical possession of every property in the land if its pos-
session should be required to maintain the life of the nation. The nation's claim
was first of all and universal confiscation of all property would be resorted to
if needed to sustain the nation's life.
This is a solemn fact and these men understood it at once, being practical
business men, and at once began to put their money into the l>est of all, the first
lien upon all, the glorious 5-20's and other United States bonds. These true
views were disseminated everywhere and greatly increased the volume of sub-
scriptions.
I would not for a moment claim all the credit for the wondrous success that
attended these vast negotiations which supplied almost wholly from the begin-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
131
ning to the end the money, the sinews of war during the great rebellion, the
most gigantic contest this world has ever seen, but would share it with the host
of faithful partners, clerks and assistants we employed and with our own numer-
ous editorial staff and with the whole body of the press and newspapers through-
out the land. The latter without exception or any discrimination whether they
were north or south, east or west, republican or democratic, or "copperhead," or
Protestant or Catholic, with the single exception of the Sunday newspapers, I
never paid a dollar to these breakers of the Sabbath, all alike published my ad-
vertisements and my special editorial articles. All were fully paid in cash, no
discount asked and no commissions deducted by agents. It was a grand feast
for the newspapers and the amount I expended during those four or five years
reached probably two millions of dollars. Then too the country all the time was
flooded with circulars and pamphlets and every possible means vigorously adopted
to expand patriotism, to encourage the down-hearted, and to exalt the duty of
every one subscribing to the current loans.
The officers and soldiers in the camps were fully instructed, and in addition
to appeals to them for faithful service they were asked to subscribe and they did
sul»cribe many millions of dollars. It is not too much to say that my efforts to
popularize these various loans reached a grandeur of success that the world had
never witnessed before; and that whilst our brave officers and soldiers and sea-
men were fighting great battles. I was confronted all the time with enemies less
brave but equally active and strategic and determined, whom with the help of
God and of splendid partners and assistants were finally overcome. I was asked
during the great war when it seemed that a large portion of our prominent men
in the army and navy and in public offices from the president and secretaries
down were western men and particularly Ohio men, to explain how this could
be. My answer was, so far as Ohio was concerned, that the men now of an
age and experience to occupy these positions were the children of those energetic
men and women pioneers who settled the Western Reserve and other parts of
the noble state. They came from New York, Pennsylvania and New England
states mostly, and some Virginians and Marylanders, but the mere fact of com-
ing here and of battling as pioneers had given their offspring sturdy and promi-
nent characters, such as Chase, and the Shermans and Stantons.
While I was, of course, more or less intimate with all the public men at
Washington during the war yet 1 found my time so fully engaged that I spent
but little of it in their company and, unless for some especial work or consulta-
tion connected with the creating and issue of some new loan, I seldom visited
Washington. My representatives there were my brother, Governor Henry D.
Cooke, and Mr. H. C. Fahnestock, two noble and able men and partners in our
house there.
I have gone to Washington and conferred with Mr. Chase. Mr. Lincoln, Gen.
Grant and Mr. McCulloch, Mr. Fcssenden, John Sherman and many others, and
all these gentlemen have from time to time visited me at Ogontz, my home near
Philadelphia, and Gibraltar, my Western Reserve island home, and I have en-
joyed unusual opportunities in conversing with them during and since the war,
but w ill have to reserve these anecdotes and details for some other occasion.
They were all noble men ; our nation owes them a debt of gratitude that monu-
Digitized by Google
132
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
merits and honors cannot repay- 1 have always felt that in this matter of men
fitted and horn for the occasion none but our nation's God could have chosen and
sustained these glorious characters who were prominent in those dark days of
strife and bloodshed.
I will state that this nation stands today just where I prognosticated she would
in due time stand, the most powerful, the richest, the most enlightened, and
the freest and happiest nation on this earth.
W e have kept all our promises financially, have seen our whole land again
reunited so that we have no north and no south, and our financial and commer-
cial credit is greater even than Great Britain. We have been able to borrow
money at two per cent, in fact have lately paid off a debt bearing only that
interest and have lately taken a British loan of twenty-five millions and sent them
the gold out of our superabundance to pay for it and I presume from signs I
see that we shall loan large sums to Russia before long and perhaps to other
powers of Europe. We are kings in the iron, coal, cotton and grain trade.
Tt would require hundreds of pages to record the incidents and efforts accom-
panying the plans adopted for raising the millions of dollars required each
month fluring the war, In fact the experience of past negotiations was no guide
to present ones, and not only in the form and terms of the different loans was
there a constant variance, but instead of being sold by the treasury department
the most of these gigantic loans were sold to the public through myself as genera!
subscription agent. I thus employing all banks, bankers and other agents who
were accountable to me direct daily, and by me settlement was made with the
treasury department. I paid all advertising and appointed all my own agents.
The treasury department had practically but little to do in the matter beyond
printing the honds and receiving and disbursing their proceeds. The wisdom oi
Mr. Chase, of Mr. Fes>etiden and Mr. McCulloch as secretaries of the treasury
was shown by a non-interference with my plans and the giving me perfect
liberty to manage the loans in my own way. I was aided by some of the best
w ritt r~; in our land and thus was enabled to introduce and popularize many idea-
tint were adopted and universally believed in. Such for instance as that ex-
penses of war if disbursed in our own borders tends rather to add to the nation'
vigor and wealth, also that the populatiem was rapidly increasing through immi-
gration, increasing far beyond the loss by war. also that a government bond was
first lien upon all else and the best security in the world. Remember, my dear
friends, that from 1861 to 1865 practically the bulk of the funds raised wa-
through my efforts and the efforts of my firm. We were God chosen. I have
always thought we were helped and sustained by His Gracious power.
When in Washington I met, of course, most of our public men. How famous
their names are now. such men as Chase. Lincoln, Sherman. Fessenden. McCul-
loch and Seward.
They were all great men and worthy of our remembrances. I have not
time to tell you of incidents of deep interest taking place continually in connec-
tion with these men. Suffice to say such incidents were exciting and worthy of
the men and the times.
During the battle of Gettysburg my office in Philadelphia was crenvded with
subscribers to the loans, and after the battle many citizens whose sons were in
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
133
that battle and had been wounded and who had failed to get passes to visit
them came to me and said, "Surely we are subscribers to the loans, can't you give
us a pass?" I told them I would try, and sat down and wrote a short note to
the commander at Gettysburg, which was accepted in every instance, allowing
the Philadelphia father to pass to his wounded son. I have always regarded
advertising as the great power to be availed of. I disbursed during the five years
of war over two millions of dollars in advertising the loans.
Now a word in conclusion. The cost in commissions and printing and ad-
vertising, for instance in Europe and perhaps at times in England reaches two
or two and a half per cent. For this guarantee some great banking house like
Rothschild's places the loan. I understand that they simply financier it and do
not take the risk of a dollar.
How different this is from the terms under which Jay Cooke undertook to
financier for our treasury. He got but a paltry three-eighths per cent to cover all
his advertising and agents of all kinds, and out of this scarcely saved a penny.
The whole amount of the outlay by the government during the war for ma-
terials, engraving and printing bonds and commissions allowed did not exceed
seven and a half millions of dollars. So far as Jay Cooke & Co. were concerned
they were left to enjoy the honors of such heroic deeds for they certainly saved
nothing else.
Since writing the above I have seen an article in the September McClure's
magazine written by the Hon. Geo. S. Boutwell, ex-secretary of the treasury,
who says, in part: "It is not easy, in this age of comparative freedom and
power in financial affairs, to comprehend that in the year 1871 the iong estab-
lished bankers of New York, Amsterdam and London, either declined or neg-
lected the opportunity to negotiate the five per cent coin bonds of the United
States upon the basis of their par value.
It was in this situation of affairs that Messrs. Jay Cooke & Co. proposed to
undertake the sale in London, by subscription, of one hundred and thirty-four
million five per cent bonds then unsold. Authority was given to Messrs. Jay
Cooke & Co. to proceed with the undertaking, and when the books were closed,
September 1st, I was informed that the loan had been taken in full."
I may mention in passing that Messrs. Jay Cooke & Co. paid for the bonds
as they were delivered, either in coin or in five-twenty bonds.
Thus the services of Jay Cooke & Co. were called for long after the close
of the war.
In conclusion, my dear friends, after thanking you for your patience in lis-
tening to so long a story, I would refer to the history of this favored portion
of our country and the circumstances which led you to adopt it as your home.
This belt of land on the south bank of Lake Erie, including many islands, is
called the Firelands of the Western Reserve, granted long ago as compensation
for losses and trials and sufferings endured by your fathers and mothers many
years ago in Connecticut in the Revolutionary War. A glorious and goodly land
was then provided for you by a kindly and beneficent government, but, oh, I
would remind you that there is a better land, a land of pure delight which our
loved and powerful Saviour has gone to prepare for you, "Sweet fields ar-
rayed in living green and rivers of delight." This coming inheritance is a new
Digitized by Google
134
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
and Heavenly reserve made ready for all who now hear my voice. The journey
thither will not he through dangerous forests and Indian foes or wearisome
marches and toilful struggles, hut will he to those of you who are looking for-
ward to a future home in that Heavenly reserve, but an instant of transition.
You will find there no early or later toil and struggles such as you met within
this earthly reserve, hut will realize in that Heavenly reserve such peace and rest
and joy as we pilgrims of earth cannot conceive of.
May we all meet again in that Heavenly Reserve. — From the "Firelands
Pioneer."
THE FIRELANDS HISTORICAL SOCIETY.
The Firelands Historical Society was organized in the court house at Norwalk
in June, 1857. It has held annual meetings in Norwalk and numerous quarterly
meetings in various portions of Huron and Frie counties since its organization
fifty-two years ago.
The following is from an address of the Hon. Rush R. Sloane, at the annual
meeting of the Firelands Historical Society in iqo6:
"Nearly half a century has elapsed since the organization of the Firelands His-
torical Society, which took place in this town of Norwalk, when many of the first
settlers of the Firelands were present and participated in that memorable event.
In the years that have since passed, nearly all of those pioneers have crossed the
great divide.
"It is our proud privilege and pleasure to claim the possession and ownership
of the only building solely used for historical and archaeological purjxjses by any
organized county society in Ohio. Even the 'Historical and Archaeological Society'
of our state has as yet no home for its library and valuable archaeological deposits.
While Huron and Erie counties through the agency of this society and many years
of zealous work has now such a home, wherein we can safely deposit in a fireproof
museum the authentic records which commemorate the labors and achievements
of our ancestors. For all time these collections and such other of like contribu-
tions as may come to our society, may be viewed and reviewed by the present and
future generations with a gratified pride of worthy ancestry.
"In 1857 the pioneers of the two counties of Huron and Erie met at Norwalk
and organized 'The Firelands Historical Society.' the chief purpose of which was
to collect and preserve in proper form the facts constituting the full history of the
'Fire Lands.' and to secure an authentic statement of their resources and produc-
tions of all kinds. The society, which has a charter, was not organized for profit,
and yet no corporation has ever declared richer or greater dividends. And what
has this society done? Its meetings, quarterly and annual, have been quite regu-
larly held. Its publications, forty-live numbers or volumes, are. in number of
pages, exceeding those of any county historical society in Ohio or in the west. These
publications devoted t«» the early history of the Firelands and of the state of ( >hio
include nearly seven thousand pages of valuable early history, most of which was
never in print before and contain full and complete memoirs of thirty-two town-
ships reported by original pioneers in these townships. It has collected valuable
books, papers, pamphlets and writings along special lines which cannot now be
gitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
135
duplicated. It has also many hound volumes of newspapers, in which both the
local, as well as the general history of the state and country is preserved for the use
of investigators and historians. Its collection of maps, many made by the original
surveyors, will be of great value in settling matters of facts and early land titles.
It has a large collection of genealogy which is often consulted for early family
history.
"The museum collection embraces a large number of Indian relics, nearly all
found within the Firelands. The selection embraces rare fossils and petrifactions
which possess great interest to the geologist and student, and tend to confirm the
theory that the shores of I^ake Erie at some remote period extended farther south
than they do now.
"There arc original letters from our early statesmen and warriors, from Gen-
erals Washington, Greene and Harrison, from Cass and Chase, from Grant and
Sherman, and from many of the present day.
''There are guns and pistols, cannon and rifle balls, musket ball and grape shot,
powder flasks and pocket books picked up on the battlefields of all the wars in
which our country has engaged, and also numerous mementoes of the battle on
Lake Erie on September 10, 1813.
"During the existence of our society since May, 1857, it has exchanged its pub-
lications with a large number of state historical societies, thus spreading broadcast
the early and important events of our section of Ohio, both in peace and war, which
go far to make up and complete the grand and glorious history of the state of
Ohio's century of growth, and which mark its transformation step by step from a
wilderness into its present prosperous condition.
"In the society's publications are to be found the able, interesting and eloquent
addresses of such pioneer citizens and distinguished men as Eleuthcros Cooke,
Elisha Whittlesey, E. Lane. Giddings, L. H. Gurley, President R. 15. Hayes, Gen-
eral L. V. Pierce, P. N. Schuyler, Clark Waggoner, G. T. Stewart, and many
others. These addresses being of great interest and value and never published
elsewhere."
Every citizen in the Firelands should be interested in preserving a history of
the events transpiring within our borders. The onlv wav to do this successfully
i-i to support the Firelands Historical Society in its laudable efforts to carefully
preserve and frequently publish these volumes of history, biography and record
of passing events.
Piatt Benedict was the first president of the society, and continued its president
until his death, 1866.
CONSTITUTION.
Art. I. This society shall be called "The Firelands Historical Society."
Art. 2. Its objects are to collect and preserve in proper form, the facts con-
stituting the full history of the "Fire Lands;" also to obtain and preserve an au-
thentic and general statement of their resources and productions of all kinds.
Art. 3. The officers of the society shall consist of a president, five vice-presi-
dents, a treasurer, one recording and two corresponding secretaries.
Digitized by Google
136
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Art. 4. The officers hereof shall be elected annually at the annual meeting,
and shall perform the duties usually pertaining to their respective offices.
Art. 5. The annual meeting of the society shall be held in Norwalk, on the
second Wednesday of June, at 10 o'clock a. m., of each year hereafter.
Art. 6. Any person a resident of the "Fire Lands" may become a member
by signing this constitution, and paying into the treasury the sum of twenty-
five cents.
Art. 7. This constitution may be altered or amended at any annual meeting
hereafter, by a vote of two-thirds of the members present.
The secretary, on being called abroad, was excused by the house, and A. G.
Stewart, Esq., was chosen to act in his absence.
An election of officers was then had, which resulted as follows:
President— Piatt Benedict.
Vice-Presidents— William Parish, Eleutheros Cooke, Zalmuna Phillips, Seth C.
Parker, and John H. Niles.
Treasurer — Charles A. Preston.
Recording Secretary — Philip N. Schuyler.
Corresponding Secretaries — F. D. Parish and G. T. Stewart.
The Firelands society has one of the largest and finest museum collections in
the state. It is well cared for and is kept in fire-proof rooms of the Firelands
memorial building.
PRESENT OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, AND TRUSTEES OF THE FIRELANDS
HISTORICAL SOCIETY.
Hon. C. H. Gallup, president, Norwalk, Ohio; Hon. C. P. Wickham, first vice-
president, Nonvalk, Ohio; Hon. Thos. M. Sloane, second vice-president, San-
dusky, Ohio; Hon. S. E. Crawford, treasurer, Norwalk, Ohio; Lucy Strutton,
librarian, Norwalk, Ohio; George F. Titus, assistant librarian, Norwalk, Ohio;
Dr. A. Sheldon, secretary, Norwalk, Ohio ; Hon. C. H. Gallup, curator of museum.
Board of Directors and Trustees — The president and secretary ex-officio;
W. W. Whiton, Wakeman, Ohio ; Hon. J. F. Laning. Norwalk, Ohio ; George F.
Titus, Norwalk. Ohio; G. S. Mordoff, Norwalk, Ohio; A. S. Prentiss, Norwalk,
Ohio.
Publishing Committee— Hon. C. H. Gallup. Nonvalk, Ohio.
Biographer Huron County — Dr. F. E. Weeks, Clarksfield, Ohio.
Biographer Erie County — John McKlevy, Sandusky, Ohio.
REMEMBER THE PIONEERS.
(From a paper written by I. M. Gillett, of Norwalk, and read at a meeting
of the Firelands Pioneer Society.)
In the presence of the old men and old ladies, of the Firelands, nearly a
century looks down upon us today. And what a century ! Never in history has
there been such a century, so remarkable in great events as the past one. There
has never been such men of brains : such men of science as have lived in the past
one hundred years. These meetings of the pioneers bring up the thought that
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
137
all we enjoy are the work of our forefathers. It is difficult, at this late day to
concede or believe all that we owe to them. It was the training that the boys
of the Firelands received that made men of muscle and men of brains. The men
who were chopping the trees, and clearing the forests made way for the railway,
the telegraph, the telephone, and the electric car. I want you all to remember
that the best servants make the best men. A pioneer is one that goes to prepare
the way. I hardly know whether I am a pioneer or not. My father came here
in 1830, with his family of six children, of which I am the only one that re-
mains, that leaves me here fifty-nine years. Is that long enough to make me a
pioneer ?
We all know that the country lying between the foothills of the Alleghanies
and where the prairies break was an interminable forest not many years ago.
The roads, the houses, the schoolhouses in the valley and the churches on the
hilltops, tell the tale of the work of the pioneers, a brave set of men and women.
It required as much courage to face this forest as it did for the Puritans to
face King Phillip, the patriots to fight on Bunker Hill, the soldiers to stand in the
trench as before Vicksburg, and the veterans to hold the field at Gettysburg.
I will not describe those early days. You old ladies and gentlemen can tell
about those times. You old pioneers can go back in memory, and you do not
need to have your recollection revived by me. You remember the thatched log
cabins, the yards full of weeds, and the woods in which the barefooted boy went
for the cows before supper. Then you remember how hard it was to pull out the
plow after it had sucked under a root. 1 think that was the hardest thing to do,
excepting to pay taxes.
I saw the roads in the woods broaden out under the wheels of the carts in
summer and by the sleds in winter. We were a church-going people then. We
will not forget the old Methodist preacher who traveled about and asked for a
gallon of oats for his horse — no half pecks then. Such people went to church.
The church had no ornamental pulpit, no carpeted floor, no cushioned seats,
and often our feet rested on andirons. The fathers and mothers were strong,
but died sooner than now. Early to bed and early to rise made the life work
short. They had little of ideas for riches. They were working for homes ; but
without knowing it, they were preparing the way for roads from east to west, for
great railways that now span the country and all great improvements.
What pleasure there was in the wood-chopping bees, and those house-raisings
and huskings. They had the comfort of knowing that the latchstring was always
out. There were none but were welcome to their generous hospitality. As
they were raised, so they raised their children.
But while these heroic men arc honored, we too often fail to remember the
struggles of the noble pioneer women, our mothers. Always busy, we never knew
when they went to bed, nor when they arose. They cooked for the men working
in the woods, with poor material. They made the woolen cloth, spun it, wove it,
and ten to one, that they cut the garments at home. Where on earth did they
get courage for the work? It was a gift from God.
There was nothing wanted that mother could not supply. Praise then the
pioneers as you will, but when you come to the mothers, your tongues must be
dumb. Talk about your heroes; if you want to find one never daunted, never
Digitized by Google
138
HISTORY OF Hl/ROX COl/XTY
wanting in courage, take one of these old ladies for a pattern. I hope the day
will never come when the old people will not he welcome.
THE PAST AND THE PRESENT,
BY SADE E HAldllMAN, M ANSI" I ELF).
Extracts from a poem read at an historical society meeting.
Into an unbroken wilderness the early settlers came.
Clearing spots for their cabins and searching the forest for game.
And they were a hardy race of men, those grand old pioneers.
Who came to this unsettled country the fertile land to clear.
* * *
The women were brave and hardy, sharing dangers with the men.
And aided in field labor and their homes thev helped defend.
We turn to the dear mothers as the needle turns to the pole.
And in neither verse nor story have their virtues been half told.
« * *
And wc bless the noble pioneers, whose hands with toil were brown.
We will sing their praise through all the land for they deserve renown.
They left their homes and scenes of peace for log cabins in the woods.
Where dangers lurked at every turn, these men and women good.
* * *
They are in a land of light and promise we have never seen.
Where the streams are golden rivers and the forests ever gnen.
And dear forever be the graves and bright the flowering sod.
Where rest the grand old sires who. loved their country and their God.
AN INTERESTING PAPER.
At a meeting 01 the Firelands Historical Society held in Xorwalk. May I,
1907, the following interesting paj>er was read by Mrs. \\ . A. [ngham, of Oberiin.
who as one of the "old girls of Xorwalk." was formerly Miss Mary \\. Janes,
daughter of Rev. John Janes, a Methodist Episcopal minister, who for many years
was an honored citizen of Xorwalk.
"Xorwalk — chief city of the Firelands — our childhood home — was always, to
us, enchanting; the wide streets bordered by rows of maples, the sandy soil and
emerald turf were lovely in our eyes and yielding to little feet.
"In '41 my younger sisters and I were in the primary public schools — Lizzie
Higgins our teacher; whose attractive face, drooping curls and gtntle manner
made her our friend even long after she wedded Hon. J. M. Farr. of the Experi-
ment. Further <>n, Sarah Mason instructed little folks.
"At nine years of age, father and mother wisely placid n*.c in Principal Edward
Thomson's large Latin grammar class al the seminary — :>s a basis of my future
discipline in various language-. A small member thereof gained the hearts of
teacher and pupils by voluntarily, every morning, filling the wood-box, that the
homely, oblong stove might diffuse warmth among us chilly linguists, lie was.
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HUROX COUNTY
141
then Dave Gray, now. D. S. Gray, a railroad magnate and philanthropist residing
in Columbus, Ohio.
"Norwalk Seminary was by far the most popular academy of Ohio, and many
substantial young men and women attended ; among them Rutherford B. Hayes,
Bishop William L. Harris, Governor Charles Foster, General McPherson, Judges
Gershom M. Barber, Charles E. Pennewell and George H. Seney. The latter three
I remember well, also Representative Francis Le Blond, whose personnel and
chapel orations impressed me, an infinitesimal student, in a way altogether grand.
"Sarah Gray, Emetine Yocum and Ellen Dunn were intimates. We had a play-
house in the seminary yard ; of course we played 'school.' Our bell was a rusty tin
basin. But I recall with pleasure Thirza, Delilah and David Allen, the Dunn
boys, the Heath sisters. Julia, Talitha and Irene Pope, Sophia and Cornelia Steele,
Lydia, Althea, Ann and Ambrose Beebe, the Bigelow sisters, McDonough and
Cinderella Cary, Mary Jane Hoyt, Iluldah Scclcy, Mary Tillinghast, Sarah
Shaffer. Thomas Cooper, E. P. Jones, Ann and Thomas Smith (what dimples Ann
had! ) who. with her mother, lived in the present Theodore W<x>stcr house ; Sophia
Walker— handsome, with a trace of Indian blood; Jane Cook, who believed in
Birney and Third Party — Free Soil, it was then. She died at school, universally
mourned : indeed, a long precession seem, now, to pass before me as nameless
shadows.
"In a short time promotion brought into Latin reader the four Marys: Mary
Watrous. Mary Beardsley. Mary Tuttle. Mary Janes; the fifth member was a
bright, genial girl, granddaughter of Piatt Benedict— Sarah Gallup — whom I met
in after years as the dignified Mrs. Henry Brown.
"Another seminary girl, older than we, was the blue-eyed, fair-haired Sarah
Williams, who married Darwin Gardner, of Cleveland.
"It was a cruel fate that deprived us five girls and boys of our father, Rev.
John Janes. He was so witty and wise, so kind and mindful. His untimely taking
off is even yet a source of greatest grief : for years I could not see with composure a
young girl sharing her father's protection and society. Mother mournfully gath-
ered us about her — baby Johnny in her lap. brother Frank, three years old and re-
covering from severe illness, and us three sisters. Father's death in 1843 began an
era for me : as oldest child I felt a responsibility and aged l>evond my years. The
first article ever written by me. appearing in print, were lines on father's taking
away, carried to The Reflector office by Rev. Edward Thomson in February, 1843.
In the next month I passed my eleventh birthday.
"It is interesting to note that The Reflector, aged and honorable, is about to
celebrate its seventy-seventh Christmas. The time-honored journal ought to hold a
diamond anniversary.
"Before the middle of that decade the dear old academy blossomed into the
Ohio Wesleyan University at Delaware, and into Baldwin Institute. Berea, Ohio.
A Christmas tribute should here be paid to a very few who gave of their best years
to Norwalk Seminary. Edward Thomson, a skeptical young man of Portsea. Eng-
land, came to Wooster. Ohio, with his parents, studied medicine in that old town
and was converted there. His deep learning, piety and gifts as orator and writer
brought him to the head of our leading Methodist institution — from Norwalk to
Cincinnati as editor, then president of Ohio Wesleyan. In all these positions he
Digitized by Google
142
HISTORY OF HURON COL* NT V
was brilliant, capable and beloved. His successors at Norwalk were Rev. and
Mrs. A. Nelson, Rev. and Mrs. H olden Dwight ; all of whom needed only to be
known to be forever remembered.
"In April, 1846, Rev. Mr. Dwight became principal of Baldwin Institute, bu!
died in his prime the following November, greatly lamented. Theodore D. Shep-
herd, so long postmaster of the Maple City, was a nephew of Holden Dwight.
•"Henry Buckingham, Alfred Henry Smith and myself were tutored in \ irgi!
at my home, evenings, by Mr. Curtis, a law student. We lived on Main street;
our place being the whole St. Charles Hotel corner plat. Shepherd Patrick had a
dry goods store next to us; Obadiah Jenney kept the Mansion House nearly op-
posite ; in a line with that were Theodore W illiams' and the Stoutenburghs' stores.
Across a narrow street, at the side, was the Presbyterian church. Mother, shrink-
ing from the remote and almost inaccessible Methodist meeting-house, placed us
in the beloved Sunday school, so near our home. Cortland Latimer was superin-
tendent ; John R. Osborn a prominent layman, and Rev. A. Newton, pastor. My
Sabbath school teacher was Flizabeth Buckingham — a grand woman. The only
two class members whom I can define were Belle Scott and Louise l^timer. A
small host of town-girls were delightful friends: Harriet and Sarah Buckingham.
Cecelia Jenney, who from her early years was a pronounced church woman, Martha
and Ann Fliza Mallory, Emma Brown, Sarah Jane, Louise and Caroline Smith.
Jane Rule, Cornelia Boalt, Rebecca and Sara Miller, and Laura Tifft, who married
Dr. Seth Beckwith.
"The names of citizens, wide-wake then, are now chisled in marble and
granite. Some of them live again in their children: Wickham, Kennan, Gibbs.
Carter, Baker. Benedict, Gallup, Colonel James A. Jones and brothers, surely are
honored yet in that community.
"I must mention three or four: Rev. Leonard I'.. Gurley belonged not simply
to one church or village ; Huron and Krie counties revered him, for he was orator,
artist, poet and brilliant in prose, furnishing most rare contributions to the Fire-
lands Pioneer. Who could forget Hon. and Mrs. S. T. Worcester and the Woos-
ters? To my childish eyes no mansion, anywhere, seemed so palatial as Richard
Yredenburgh's villa in the grove. There was nothing, ever, like those pillars!
"1 cannot omit Mr. and Mrs. T. R. Strong. Mr. Strong came in 1873 to see
mother dying in my Cleveland home, and bade her good-bye. He used to say that
she was the most yesterday, today and forever woman he ever knew.
"Joel Blackman and wife, pioneers of Florence and later residents of Norwalk.
were second parents to me in my beginning of life's career.
"It was one of my heart's chief delights, with my little hand in that of Lib
Smith, to go out into the country, on the farms of Charles and Caleb Jackson, and
the Dounce's not far off. Such apples and nuts, with popcorn, never, before nor
since, circulated about a generous hearthstone.
"Right here our mother, Mrs. H. B. Janes, shall have her due. Messrs. Boalt
and Worcester assisted her in the settlement of our estate. She read the statutes of
Ohio, and becoming administratix, secured the respect and confidence of citizens.
Father owned property in Akron, Ohio, and there she chose her 'thirds.' It was
the one great mistakes of our lives, to sell that valuable plat in Norwalk. and has
ever been to us an inextinguishable sorrow.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
143
•"Before mother was twenty years of age she and her sister founded the First
Methodist Episcopal church of Ann Arbor, Mich., and that is how father invited
her to share his life and work.
"Mother did all she could for us children before leaving- Norwalk. Four of
father's nieces — two of whom mother had educated at the seminary, married
stirring business men of Sandusky city ; one of them, W. S. Mills, so long editor
of the Register. The older of these four gentlemen was Leonard Li. Johnson,
whose hospitable home in the city and whose island in Sandusky bay, delighted
us all.
"'She had us know Milan, then in its prime, all>eit Thomas A. Edison was not
yet its most distinguished child. Lyme, Monroeville and es|>ecially Bcllevue were
dear to her. In person and in memory she was devoted to the Firelands— noble
New Filmland woman that she was!
"The fact must not he lost si^ht <»f that this is a Christmas article. When
father died, mother chose a beautiful knoll under two great forest trees in St.
Paul's church-yard, for the repose of her dead. No more charming spot could be
outlined even in Mt. Auburn or Greenwood. Of course. "Cod's acre' endeared
us to St. Paul's — the oldest parish of Norwalk — founded in 1820. The sacred
edifice itself, within and without, inspired us with awe. especially on Christinas
Eve during 'illumination' — the chief anticipation of the whole year.
"'Let us glance into "the church' during its earliest Christmas carols. The
women singers, we will say, were twelve in number; six of them married, dressed
in black with bishop sleeves, white caps ami poke bonnets ; six young ladies arrayed
in white, all the sweet faces with woman's crowning glory coml)ed smoothly
adown the cheek and over the ear. In their hands, all in a line, is the anthem
prepared for the occasion, printed on fly-sheets:
" "Strike the cymbal.
Roll the timbrel."
"And again,
"'Hosanna in the highest!'
''No dim religious light pervades the sanctuary, but an illumination from can-
delabra of wocd suspended from the ceiling, perforated and holding in pyramidal
shnpe a host of tallow candles. Arross the middle of the eight w indows, in a wooden
frame, are lighted candles. The interior of the building is grand with festoons
of groundpine wound by the young men and maidens of the parish. The supreme
moment is when, all the people rising, the rector emerges from the vestry, wearing
a white surplice and introducing in solemn tones the ritual, with 'Dearly beloved,
the Scripture nioveth us in sundry places to acknowledge and confess our manifold
sins and wickedness.'
'"I love my prayer-book and the old established church which John Wesley
never left, and I always loved to go to St. Paul's, expecting to see in the same
places, year in and year out, standing to read the service, Mr. and Mrs. John Gardi
ncr. Theodore Williams, Judge C R. Stickney and the Chapin girls.
"The first rector I can recall, is Mr. O'Kill, a bachelor, who, out of the chancel,
was a very social man : he paid court to the dashing Louise Burgess.
"A commanding figure, high in church circles, was Rev. S. A. Bronson, D. D.,
of Sandusky, pastor of Judge Fbenczer Lane there, also, presumably, of Rush
Digitized by Google
144
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Sloane, our president; he was of a most genial personality and a power in the
pulpit, who, in 1807, a babe in his mother's arms, came from Waterbury, Conn.,
to this Western Reserve, a pioneer of the pioneers. He was well known in St.
Paul's pulpit, and to the satisfaction of everybody, married the elegant Louise
Williams. I remember, also, Rev. Mr. Winthrop and Marion, nor should mention
fail of chief vestryman for years — Charles E. Newman.
"Ever dear to me and mine will be that church-yard, in whose earth our family
<lust is absorbed — even though in glory as a cemetery is departed; in whose en-
closure and grass-grown walks only neglect is apparent ; where a horrible silence
reigns ; whose acres are untrodden by eager feet and over which no flower-laden
hands ever, now, cause the grave to blossom in hope of the final resurrection !"
FXKCUTION OF TWO INDIANS AT NORWALK.
In 1819, two Indians were tried and executed at Norwalk, for murder. Their
name* were Ne-go-sheck and Ne-gon-a-ba. the last of which is said to signify
"one who 7calks far." The circumstances of their crime and execution we take
from the mss. history of the "fire-lands," by the late C. B. Squier, Esq.
In the spring of 1816. John Wood of Venice, and George Bishop of Danbury,
were trapping for muskrats on the west side of Danbury, in the vicinity of the "two
harbors." so called : and having collected a few skins, had lain down for the night in
their temporary hut. Three straggling Ottawa Indians came, in the course of the
night, upon their camp and discovered them sleeping. To obtain their little pit-
tance of furs, etc.. they were induced to plan their destruction. After completing
their arrangements, the two eldest armed themselves with clubs, singled out their
victims, and each, with a well-directed blow upon their heads, dispatched them
in an instant. They then forced their youngest companion, Negasow, who had
been until then merely a spectator, to beat the bodies with a club, that he might
be made to feel that he was a participator in the murder, and so refrain from
exposing their crime. After securing whatever was then in the camp that they
desired, they took up their line of march for the Maumee. avoiding, as far as
possible, the Indian settlements on their course.
Wood left a wife to mourn his untimely fate, but Bishop was a single man
Their bodies were found in a day or two by the whites, under such circumstances,
that evinced that they had been murdered by Indians, and a pursuit was forth-
with commenced. The Indians living about the mouth of Portage river, had seen
these straggling Indians passing eastward, now suspected them of the crime, and
joined the whites in the pursuit. They were overtaken in the neighborhood of
the Maumee river, brought back and examined before a magistrate. They con-
fessed their crime and were committed to jail. At the trial the two principals
were sentenced to be hung in June. 1 819 ; the younger one was discharged. The
county of Huron had at this time no secure jail, and they were closely watched
by an armed guard. They nevertheless escaped one dark night. The guard fired
and wounded one of them severely in the l>ody. but he continued to ran for sev-
eral miles, till tired and faint with the loss of blood, he lay down, telling his
companion he should die, and urging him to continue on. The wounded man was
found after the lapse of two or three days, somewhere in Penn township in a
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HL'ROX COINTY
145
dangerous condition, but he soon recovered. The other was recaptured near the
Maumee by the Indians, and brought to Norwalk, w here they were both hanged
according to sentence.
In this transaction, the various Indian tribes evinced a commendable willing-
ness that the laws of the whites should be carried out. Many of them attended
the execution, and only requested that the bodies of their comrades should not
be disturbed in their graves.
The larger part of the Indians that settled on the Firelands were tribes of the
powerful Iroquois nation.
The Senecas. who were in the habit of passing through the southern part of
Huron county, on their way to eastern hunting-grounds, were particularly fierce
in appearance, bedecked in their barbaric garb of feathers and skins, but never-
theless were friendly.
On these hunting trips they would trade baskets, trinkets and game with the
settlers in exchange for bread, meal or flour.
HONOR THK PIONEER MEN AND WOMEN.
FROM T. F. HILDRETH S ADDRESS AT A MEEI INO OF THE FIREI-ANDS PIONEER SOCIETY.
As we recede farther and farther from the days of the pioneers, the lives
of those who are still among us have a peculiar interest. These are the last
vital lines that bind us to a whole generation that has nearly passed away, and
we are left today with but a few of its living representatives.
The pioneer of today stands along the track of our civilization, like a weather-
beaten finger-board pointing backward to the days of the far-off years. They are
among us like the echo of some grand old hymn with which we used to be
familiar, but the notes of which became fainter and more indistinct, as we get
farther away from the years in which it was sung.
In the nature of the case the time can be but a little way off when the last
one of these heroic men and women will have gone out from us. Indeed, the
pioneer proper — those who first felled the forests, and blazed our highway, and
transformed the wilderness into fruitful fields, are nearly all gone. Here and
there, there is one left, connecting the life of our pushing, cultured generation,
with one whose mode of living and deeds of daring — when told to us — seem
more like fiction than reality.
If it is beautiful to see childhood holding the wrinkled hand that used to
lead it. and steadying the feeble steps that used to guide it, why should not
we cherish and honor the memory of those to whose care and economy we owe
all we now have.
In the history of our pioneers it is eminently true that these have labored
and we have entered into their labors. Nowhere can it be more certainly verified
"that one soweth and another reapeth." It is according to the plans of God, that
the results of every life shall reach beyond the term of its continuance.
There is danger, even though we have inherited the wealth produced by
their care and economy, that we forget or neglect to crown the pioneers with the
honors they so well deserve.
Digitized by Google
146
HISTORY OF IK' RON COUNTY
These annual meeting's ought to have the dignity and inspiration of a public
holiday in which the people unite to keep in perpetual rcmcmhrance the name-
and heroic deeds of those who so well laid the foundations of our civilization.
But few of the hrave men and nohle women of the pioneer days remain
among us. The ring of the woodman's ax echoes no more through the aisles of
the forest, and the lurid glare of blazing windows no more light up the night-
sky, "for the former things have passed away." The log cabins — those most
hospitable homes ever builded anywhere, by hands — have yielded to decay, and
are superseded by cottages of beauty and homes of wealth. Here and there the
old log-house has been spared by the hands that built it, as God has spared the
few hardy pioneers who remain among us.
The men of today may be better educated for business and our women may
be deemed more refined, as society estimates culture ; but we shall never have a
class of men of more stalwart integrity, nor a womanhood whose characters will
shine with greater luster. It is to honor these heroes of the past, whose har-
vests of good we are now reaping, that we annually gather to repeat the story
of their toils and triumphs, and to keep green the memories of those who have
passed from lal>or to repose.
W e began life with the accumulated advantages secured to us by their sacri-
fices and economy, and the record of our achievements ought to be more bril-
liant than theirs. While personal virtue cannot be received among the values
we inherit from our ancestors, the tendencies to integrity may be builded into
the very foundation of our being.
We are standing today in the twilight of receding physical and social condi-
tions, and in the gloaming of a generation of which we may justly be proud to
be its descendants. If the histories of the noble pioneers may not be found in our
public libraries, we may reproduce them by the exhibition of their transcendent
virtues.
HUNTING IN PIONEER TIMES.
Hunting was an important part of the employment of the early settlers. For
some years the woods supplied them with the greater amount of their subsist-
ence, and it was no uncommon thing for families to live several months without
a mouthful of bread.
It frequently happened that there was no breakfast till it was obtained from
the woods. Fur constituted the people's money ; they had nothing else to give in
exchange for rifles, salt and iron, on the other side of the mountains.
The fall and early part of the winter was the season for hunting the deer,
and the whole of the winter, including part of the spring, for bears and fur-
skinned animals. It was a customary saying, that fur was good during every
month in which the letter "R" occurs.
As soon as the leaves were pretty well down, and the weather became rainy,
accompanied with light snows, these men after acting the part of husbandmen
as far as the state of warfare permitted, began to feel that they were now hunt-
ers and became uneasy at home, their minds being wholly occupied with the camp
and chase.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
147
Hunting was not a mere ramble in pursuit of game, in which there was noth-
ing of skill and calculation; on the contrary, the hunter before he set out in the
morning, was informed by the state of the weather where he might reasonably
expect to find game, whether on the bottoms, the sides or the tops of the hills.
In stormy weather the deer always sought the most sheltered places, and the
leeward side of the hills. In rainy weather, when there is not much wind, they
kept in the open woods on high ground. In every situation it was requisite for
the hunter to ascertain the course of the wind, so as to get the leeward of the
game. As it was necessary, too, to know the cardinal points, he had to observe
the trees to know them.
The bark of an aged tree is thicker and much rougher on the north than
on the south side ; and the same may be said of the moss. From morning till
night the hunter was on the alert to gain the wind of his game, and approach
him without being discovered.
If he succeeded in killing a deer he skinned it and hung it up out of the
reach of the wolves, and immediately resumed the chase till the close of the
evening, when he bent his course towards his camp ; when arrived there he
kindled up his fire, and together with his fellow hunter, cooked his supper. A
place for a camp was selected as near water as convenient, and a fire was kindled
by the side of the largest log that could be procured. The ground was preferred
to be rather sideling that the hunters might lie with the feet to the fire, and the
head up hill.
The common mode of preparing a repast was by sharpening a stick at both
ends, and sticking one end in the ground before the fire and the meat on the
other end. This stick could be turned round, or the meat on it, as occasion re-
quired. Sweeter roast meat than was prepared in this manner no European
epicure ever tasted. Bread, when they had flour to make it of, was either baked
under the ashes, or the dough rolled in long rolls, and wound round a stick like
that prepared for roasting meat, and managed in this way. Scarce any one who
has not tried it. can imagine the sweetness of such a meal, in such a place, at
such a time. French mustard, or the various condiments used as a substitute for
an appetite, are nothing to it.
Supper finished, the adventures of the day furnished tales for the evening, in
which the spike-buck, the two and three pronged buck, and the doe, figured to
great advantage.
Many of the sports of the early settlers of this country were imitation of the
exercises and stratagems of hunting and war.
One important pastime of the boys — that of imitating the noise of every bird
and beast in the wood — was a necessary part of the education on account of its
utility under certain circumstances.
HURON COUNTY— THEN AND NOW.
BY J. II. DONALDSON*.
READ BEFORE THE FARMER S INSTITUTE AT GREENWICH. OHIO, FEBRUARY. 8. I906.
Originally Huron county embraced all of the Firelands of five hundred thou-
sand acres of land and was organized by an act of the general assembly of the state
148
HISTORY OF HUROX COUNTY
of Ohio, passed February 7. 1809. The county included all of what is now Erie
county except the territory taken from Sandusky county when Frie county was
formed. The act of the general assembly of the state of Ohio by which the forma-
tion of Frie county was authorized was passed March 16, 1838, twenty-nine years
following the passage of the act authorizing the formation of Huron county
The first county seat of Huron county as first organized was Avery, selected
by a committee appointed by the legislature on the farm of David Abbott near
Milan now within the territory of Erie county.
The location of the county seat was not satisfactory to many of the settlers and
an effort to have it removed to some other place was made and the legislature was
induced on the 26th day of January, 1818. to apjx>int a committee to investigate
the matter and locate the seat of justice at some other place if in their opinion it
was best to change.
The infant village of Xorwalk. scarcely two years old. was the place selected
by this committee and the county seat was removed to this place. The county in
181 1 had its boundaries changed and took in a large part of what is now Lorain
county. Ruggles township belonged to the county until it was transferred to
Ashland county February 26, 1846, the time when that county was formed, so that
after having had slices taken from all its boundaries it now contains only three
hundred three thousand, nine hundred and five acres of land instead of five hundred
thousand acres and more, if we include the territory transferred to Lorain county,
which it had originally.
It is bounded on the north by Frie county, on the east by Lorain and Ashland,
on the south by Ashland. Richland and Crawford and on the west by Seneca and
Sandusky counties. It has nineteen townships, as follows: Wakeman. Clarks-
field, New London, Townsend. Hartland, Fitchville, Greenwich. Xorwalk. Bronson,
Fairfield. Ripley, Ridgefield, Peru. Greenfield, Xew Haven, Lyme. Sherman, Xor-
wich and Richmond.
As the county is now constructed it seems strange that Xorwalk. the county
seat, should be located so near to the northern boundary. It must be remembered
that when the county scat was located at Xorwalk, Erie county was then a part of
Huron county, and when the division was made the northern boundary came very
close to Xorwalk. For many years the settlers in the southern and central parts of
the county had hopes that the county scat would some day be removed to Xorth
Fairfield. And when the Clinton Air Line Railway was in course of construction,
bright visions of a magnificent courthouse sprang up before them. But when the
railroad project failed their cherished hopes were blasted and their spirits died
within them. Xorth Fairfield now has a trolley line and the people are measur-
ably happy.
Settlements were made in some of the townships as early as 1810. but it was
from that time until 1825 before settlements were made in all of the townships.
Ripley and Richmond being the last on the list. Greenwich township was settled
in 1817.
The first authentic census of the county I have been able to find was taken by
townships in 1827 and shows the county at that time to have a population of nine
thousand, one hundred and ten as against a population of thirty-two thousand,
three hundred and thirty in 1900.
Digitized by GoogI
HISTORY OF HURON COI XTY
151
A large majority of the early settlers of Huron county like those of other parts
of the Western Reserve were of Connecticut birth. This gave a fixed character
to the inhabitants. The old stock has given way to younger generations, but the
same traits of character remain unchanged to any great extent. It is therefore
not strange that many of the people of the county today are so nearly like, in many
ways, the people of the Wooden Nutmeg State.
Tiie early settlers of Huron county were a good people; generally speaking
I believe they were Christians, yet they indulged in habits that didn't unchristianize
them then, but would do so now. I refer to the use of strong drink. Everybody
drank then. Even preachers imbibed and nothing was thought of it. But if a
preacher used it as a beverage now he would lose his ministerial standing and
pastorate as soon as the fact was known. I am speaking of Huron county. Whis-
key was regarded as one of the necessary adjuncts of a log-rolling or a house-
raising. No one dared for several years to undertake either without having the
weil filled jug in evidence. But the time came when the Yankee settler was con-
vinced that the use of whiskey, even on these occasions, was evil and only evil and
determined to put it away. But he thought of his slashing covered with logs ready
to be put into heaps to burn, and his log barn which he could not get along without,
yet. true to his convictions, when the invitations to his log rolling or raising went
out, he said "no whiskey." He was told that his logs would not be rolled nor his
building raised but they were, possibly with less help, but we venture with more
safety. So the time honored custom was gradually wiped out and today the whis-
key jug is not a drawing card, especially to the rural people of our county.
It is difficult for us to understand the trials and hardships that the pioneers of
this county had to undergo in a journey from the east to this place. No public
conveyances, no railroads, and even the stage coach was only thought of as a
future possibility. The journey then required w r eeks and sometimes months, and
was supposed to be full of danger from start to finish, and the danger was not over
when here for the country was infested with wild animals while roving bands of
Indians were a menace to the lives of the early settlers. In view of these facts we
do not wonder that the "good-byes" were often pathetic in the extreme.
A lady and her husband emigrated to Huron county in 1829 and settled in
Ripley township where they budded for themselves a home which they occupied
until called to the one not made w r ith hands. I have a letter in my possession
bearing date of November 26. 1829, written by this lady to her friends in the east,
after she was settled in her little log cabin in her Huron county home. In this
she recounts the sad partings from her friends, the trials and perils of her journey
and the hardships attendant on the beginning in those days of a home in the
woods. Seventy-five years later a granddaughter of this lady went 'round the
world with less misgivings and forebodings on the part of herself and friends.
The Indians frequently committed depredations and the lives of the settlers
that came within their power were not always safe. A true incident which oc-
curred in another part of the county illustrates what I mean. The story is of a
woman, and I have it from her own lips, who was alone in her cabin one bright day
and while seated at her little wheel spinning an Indian came in at the open door
and stepping to her side with raised tomahawk, said in his broken English, "Me
tomahawk you." The lady made no outcry and her wheel kept running, but the
Digitized by Google
152
HISTORY OF 1 1 IRON COUNTY
Indian who regarded the situation as one of bravery on the part of the woman
said, "brave woman, me no tomahawk you." The Indian left the cabin and the
woman was unharmed save a bad scare. The settlers most of all feared the wild
animals and the Indians, now the fear of the country people is about equally di-
vided between the lightning rod agent and all other members of that family, the
trolley car and the automobile.
The spinning wheel was a necessity and used in every household, but now if
in the house at all it is stowed away in the garret out of sight or in the parlor as
an ornament, according to the taste of the owner,
The food of the settler was of the plainest kind, consisting chiefly of mush and
milk. Johnny cake or bread of coarsely ground flour or meal. V enison was common
and a little Inter on shack fatted j>ork was not hard to obtain. In the course of
time more dainty dishts were in evidence, especially for company. The following
incident occurred about this time, if it ever did occur:
A young man called unexpectedly on his be>t girl. The evening family meal
was about ready, but now that they bad company something l>etter must be pre-
pared, so the mush and milk were set aside. When supper was called the young
man was asked to say grace and this is what he said: "The Lord be praised how
I'm amazed to see how things have mended: short-cake and tea for supper I »ee,
where mush and milk were intended."
Dogs did not figure in the early history of the county for then they were not
taxed, so we have no means of knowing how many there were, but according to
the auditor's late report there are now one thousand, one hundred and ten. It i-
fair to presume, however, that some got away just before the assessor made his
rounds.
Then there were no railroads, now there are one hundred and sixty mile- of
main track and ninety-eight miles of siding, making a total of two hundred and
fifty-eight miles, with a valuation of two million, four hundred and ninety thous-
and dollars, which brings a revenue to the county by way of taxes of fifty-two
thousand, two hundred and four dollars.
Money was scarce among the early settlers and hard to get. About the only
money crop was black salts or potash. This was made from ashes obtained bv the
burning of Kg heaps and had a market value Now our money comes through
other and various sources. Then the matter of postage was burdensome to the
settlers, sometimes being a> high as twenty-five cents per letter. Now two cents
will carry a letter anywhere within the domains of "Uncle Sam." Besides we
have free rural mail delivery, which was not even in the dreams of the early set-
tler. Then telegraphs and telephones were unknown, now they are so common
and useful that they have long since ceased to be a novelty
The observance of Christmas time was brought to this county by the early
pioneers. The children were not forgotten on these occasions. I fancv I see a row
of little stockings hanging in the little log cabin in the woods. They hang near
the fire-place to t>e convenient for Santa Claus who was supposed to come down
the chimney. Stockings are hung now and filled with gifts more elaborate and
costly. \et the children then were no less happy than now.
Sometime-, sadness comes to our homes even on these occasions ; now more
frequently than then because there are more chances for accidents. A little l>oy
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
153
in Cleveland on the day before last Christmas went shopping for Christmas toys.
On his return home in getting off the car in some way he fell under the wheels
which crushed his lower limbs and otherwise severely injured him. As they
picked him up he said, "I'm killed, I'm killed," but raising one hand, in which
he tightly held a little cart, he said, "This is for brother Willie ; give it to him and
tell him I bought it for him."
It must be remembered that Huron county was heavily timbered and a portion
of which must be cleared away before even the cabin of the settler could be
erected ; then, acre after acre must be cleared for the growing of crops. From our
point of view this would seem like a Herculean task and but few if any of our
young people today would have the courage to undertake it. But the heroes and
heroines of nearly a hundred years ago labored on overcoming obstacle after ob-
stacle and as a result of their well directed efforts we have today fertile farms,
pleasant and happy homes dotted all over Huron county. We owe a debt of grati
tudc to these people the fruits of whose efforts we so richly enjoy.
MEMORIAL DAY MUSINGS.
The graves of soldiers are, in a certain sense, like those of the saints, on an
equality. The place where an officer is buried, like that of a private, is simply the
grave of a soldier. Death obliterates all rank, class and distinction. The grave
of an humble christian is on an equality with that of a prelate, for — "The graves
of all His saints He blest." While in death all are equal, each while living has
his individual part and place.
Upon a bloody page of history is recorded American bravery and devotion
to principle excelled nowhere else in the annals of the world. It is the story of
the Alamo. For several days the Mexican army under Santa Ana had bom-
barded the fortress, and on February 23. 1836, the Alamo was stormed— four
thousand infuriated Mexicans against one hundred and eighty-three Americans
(Texan patriots). Charge after charge had l>een repelled and for every pa-
triot killed, a dozen Mexicans bit the dust. When the Mexicans entered the last
enclosure, but six of the defenders of the Alamo were alive — Crockett and five
of his comrades. Santa Ana's chief of staff then implored Crockett to surrender
and thus spare the lives of his comrades and himself. Rut Crockett would not
surrender. And when the Mexicans made the final charge, the last man of the
little band of patriots was shot down. The Alamo was taken, but its capture
cost Santa Ana one thousand and five hundred of his army of four thousand men.
Every man of the little American band of the defenders of the Alamo died
at his post. Thermopylae had its messenger of defeat — the Alamo had none.
"Remember the Alamo," was the rallying cry of the Texan patriots when
General Houston defeated Santa Ana at Jacinto, which victory assured the in-
dependence of Texas and its annexation to the American Union.
Gen. Sam Houston, in after years, in a speech at San Antonio, said that,
"Whatever state gave us birth, we have one native land and one flag." This
patriotic sentiment struck a responsive chord in the vast audience before him.
and as the American flag was displayed from the Alamo, thousands of smaller
flags were waved — the greatest flag scene in American history. The thunder of
154
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
cannon was answered by the thunder of voices and the clapping of hands. In
answer to this demonstration, Governor Houston said: "Far off. far off, yet
louder than any noi=e on earth, I hear from the dead years and the dead heroes
of the Alamo the hurrahing of spirit-V< ices and the claiming of unseen hands"
Patriotism has ages for its own, and the history of heroic deeds lives after
nations perish.
There was a law in ancient Greece that "He that receives his death while
fighting in the front hattle shall have an annual oration spoken in his honor."
Hut Americans need no decree to honor their soldier dead. Prompted hy the
fulness of grateful hearts they decorate their graves each returning May time
No matter if those graves are beneath the sleeping shadows of the pines or be-
neath the sun-kissed verdure of unsheltered sod, whether in the beautiful ceme-
teries of the North, or whether they are simply unmarked graves in the chastened
South, or in the islands of the sea, whether the storms rage over them or whether
the birds fill the air with the melody of their songs, the hallowed graves of
American soldiers are everywhere revered and honored.
WAR EVENTS AND INCIDENTS.
The first hattle of the civil war was fought at Phillippi, West V irginia, June
3, 1 861. In that engagement the Union troops, under command of Colonel
Kelley, defeated the rebels, killing fifteen of their men. While this battle was
comparatively small in the number of men engaged, it was of great importance
in shaping the events which followed and occupies a conspicuous place in the
history of the war of the rebellion. The victory there won was as inspiring to the
North as it was discouraging to the South.
Phillippi is an historical name. This is not the Phillippi where Brutus fell,
but the Phillippi where the Union troops conquered. There was a Scotch tra-
dition that —
"Which spills the foremost foeman's life,
That party conquers in the strife."
The fate of the battle was often anticipated in the imagination of the com-
batants by observing which party first shed blood. It is said that the Highlanders
under Montrose were so deeply imbued with this notion, that on the morning of the
battle of Tippermoor, they murdered a defenseless herdsman, whom they found
in the fields, merely to secure an advantage which they thought was of so much
consequence to their party. They also believed that the fate of a war hung upon
the result of its first battle. This Scottish tradition was verified in the Ameri-
can war of the rebellion, as it had frequently been in the clannish contests be-
tween the Highlanders and Lowlanders of Scotland centuries ago.
The day following the morning after the battle of Phillippi a captain of the
Fifteenth Ohio Infantry had charge of the troops picketing one of the roads,
with instructions to arrest any person who attempted to enter or leave the town.
While the people of th.it vicinity knew that Colonel Potterfield and his rebel force
were stationed at Phillippi, and that the Union troops were in possession of Graf-
ton, and that the armies being so near to each other a battle might be expected
at any time, when the cannonading began at early dawn upon the 3rd day of
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
155
June, it awakened the country people of Barbour county as they had never been
aroused before. After the noise and smoke of battle had ceased and passed away,
men attempted to go to town to learn the result. In so doing, twenty-three men
were placed under arrest by the Richland. county officer before mentioned. The
officer took his prisoners into the town and reported at headquarters. He was
ordered to take them out and have them shot. War business was new to all
then, and there had been no time to learn the rules, regulations and laws govern-
ing the same. This order seemed an unnecessarily murderous one, and the young
captain was reluctant to carry it into execution. Then his knowledge of the law
came to his relief, that although he had been ordered to have the men shot, no
time had l)«en set for the execution. Therefore, he concluded to defer carrying
out the order, hoping to have it revoked. It happened during the day that a
higher officer took command at PhilKppi, to whom the Richland county captain
presented the case and the order was revoked and the prisoners were permitted
to return to their homes.
It was fortunate for those prisoners that the Richland county captain was -a
gentleman of humane feeling. Some officers might have hastily executed the
order without an effort to have it reconsidered and recalled.
A story is told that early in the eighteenth century, in a Scotch camp, an
orderly who had charge of burying the dead after a battle, reported to the young
laird of Lochnow, who was in command, saluted and said : "Sir, there is a heap
of fellows lying out yonder who say they are only wounded and won't let us
bury them like the rest. What shall we do?"
"Bun them at once," replied the commander, "for if you take their word for
it they won't be dead for a hundred years to come." The orderly saluted and
started off to carry out the order, and the commander had to dispatch a counter
order in haste to prevent his joke from becoming a tragedy.
Another incident has been given. Prisoners were once brought before Sir
William Howard, who was an enthusiastic mathematician. Sir William was deep
in his studies when the prisoners were marched into the castle court yard, and
a lieutenant ran in to get orders for their disposal. Enraged at being interrupted
in his studies, Sir William exclaimed, "Hang the prisoners!" and went on with
his work. After he had finished his problem he went down to learn about the
prisoners and with what they had been charged, and was horrified to learn that
his exclamation, "Hang the prisoners," had been taken for an order and that
the prisoners had all been executed.
A ROMANCE OF REAL LIFE.
A Huron county romance in real life, although ungarnished in the narration,
may be more interesting to many readers than would be an embellished tale of
foreign fiction.
Thomas Ream and Kathryn Rolfe were children and schoolmates in the ante-
bellum years and their parents were neighbors and owned farms in one of the
most beautiful townships of Huron county.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The children were friends from their infancy. Their confidence in and attach-
ment for each other showed the heauty of that faith and love which sometimes
sets two hearts voyaging on the wondrous sea of the future.
Thomas was born in 1840 and Kathryn a few years later. A school incident
occurred in the winter of 1850 that was as amusing to the scholars as it was
embarrassing to Thomas and Kathryn. He had written her a note which was
against the rules of the school, and being intercepted by the teacher, was read
aloud, as follows:
"Dear Kate: 1 take my pen in hand to inform you that I slipped a big red
apple in your dinner basket and when you eat it please think of me.
The pizen vine climbs a holler stump,
And you are as sweet as a sugar lump.
Your lover,
Tom.
The scholars laughed when this was read, which the teacher thought was the
proper thing for them to do, but Kate cried and Tom looked defiant. However,
the incident only drew them closer in the bonds of affections and increased their
attachment for each other.
Those were the good old school days of a generation agone, when children
went to school to work — to study and to recite — with corn-pone and spare-ribs
for a noonday lunch, with an occasional recreation of an hour on the dunce
block, for discarding "thumb-papers" and -.oiling books, or for other acts of
omission or commission.
"Oh were you ne'er a schoolboy,
And did you never train
To feel that welting on the back
You hope ne'er to feel again!"
*
Thomas was a bright, capable boy. and his parents intended him for one of
the learned professions. But how differently things turn out often from what
was intended — how people are moulded and changed by circumstances and
events !
The memorable spring of 1861 ushered in the great war of the rebellion, just
as Thomas was preparing to enter an eastern college. The patriotic blood of a
revolutionary ancestry flowed warmly through Thomas' veins, and he promptly
responded to his country's call for troops to defend its flag. That war is long
since a thing of the past, and since then the north and the south have marched
together against a common foe. and step by step have kept time to the mingled
notes of the "Star Spangled Banner" and "Dixie." blending into the noblest
battle hymn that ever thrilled and inspired soldiers to deeds immortal.
Thomas was one of the first to enlist and in a few days he must leave for
the front But first he must bid Kathryn good-bye, and felt as though he could
not leave until he first had an open avowal of the love he knew to be his. He
called at the house, but was informed that Kathryn had gone down the gravelled
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
157
walk towards the stream. He followed and found her sitting upon the bank,
looking pensively over the sparkling waters of the Huron river, as they rippled
over the pebbled bottom and coursed gracefully with a musical murmur between
the green banks.
There was a sadness in the greeting of these young people, for each felt
that that was their last meeting — at least for years. They talked at first upon
indifferent topics, each dreading to mention the subject of the war, and as he sat
and watched her sweet face in a fading sunlight, he almost regretted that he had
placed himself in a position that forced him to leave her. The sunset faded out
and the moon threw the shadows of the trees at their feet, and a spell of peace
seemed to hover over the earth, making them almost forgetful of the coming war
and of the uncertainties of the future.
Love interviews, proposals and betrothals are difficult to narrate and de-
scribe, especially by one who has never passed through nor witnessed such scenes ;
therefore, suffice to state scntcntiously that ere this couple parted, they were en-
gaged, looking forward to their marriage at the close of the war. And thus they
separated, she to go to her quiet home, he to take his place in the grand army of
the Union, as it went forth to put down the rebellion. Six years later Thomas
and Kathryn met again, but under unlooked-for circumstances and conditions.
In one of the great battles of the war, Thomas was wounded, captured and
confined for two years in a southern prison and for many months all his friends
in the north knew of him was that he was among the "missing."
During the interim, other trouble was added to Kathryn's sorrow. Her
father's health failed, and a change of climate — a trip to California — was recom-
mended. Kathryn was to go with him and this, she felt, would place her farther
from her soldier-lover, whom she confidently believed still lived, and as she pre-
pared for the journey, she hoped each evening that word would come from him
on the morrow. Rut none came, and it was months after she was on the Pacific
coast ere news reached Farmer Ream that his son was in Libby prison. But
Thomas lived through that terrible imprisonment, was finally exchanged, took
his place again in the ranks and served from the beginning to the end of the war.
If Thomas ever wrote to Kathryn after he was taken prisoner, she never
received his letters and time and events drifted them from each other and kept
them apart.
Kathryn's father's health came back to him and he concluded to make Cali-
fornia his permanent home, and while the daughter rejoiced over her father's
restoration, she still grieved for her lover and was in doubt and suspense as to
his fate. She, however, found comfort in her household cares and consolation
in the observance of her Christian duties. She regularly attended religious serv-
ice and one summer evening she was especially devout, and as she looked at the
cross, the chancel lights seemed like resplendent stars casting a halo of glory
upon the altar. She knelt and worshipped, forgetful of earthly cares and of
earthly sorrow. But. presently she was startled, imagining she heard her lover's
voice in the litany responses. In vain she looked over the small congregation,
but he was not there. She then realized it was only a fancy or delusion caused
by the mind being over-strained with anxiety and suspense — an auricular phan-
tasm resultant from tense of brain and nerve.
Digitized by Google
15S
HISTORY OF HI ROX COUNTY
After tour years of war peace came again to the land, and the boys in blue
came "marching home." Thomas was with the number and was the hero of
that neighborhood, and was loved by the young maidens for the dangers he
had passed.
Anion,' the young ladies who smiled bewitchingly upon the returned soldier
was Fllen Moore, whose lather, during Thomas* absence, had moved into the
neighborhood and bought a farm whose broad acres covered the valley and
skirted the hills. Fllen. even as a girl, was as plain as her name, but one of the
most estimable of her sex. Fllen was the very opposite of Kathryn. for the
latter was talented, brilliant and beautiful and capable of adorning any station
in life.
The beautiful girl on the Pacific coast was neglected, if not forgotten, and
Thomas Ream paid court to the matter-of-fact Ellen Moore, and within the
year they were married.
In the meantime. Kathryn Rolfe. hearing of Ream's return, waited long and
impatiently for him to visit her. She had given him her love, had promised to
he his bride and how prayerfully, how hopefully, how despondently at times, she
had waited during five long years for his return and for the fulfillment of his
promise. Hut as he came not she must come to him. she must see him once more,
must hear from his own lips if he still loved her. She crossed the continent and
arrived in her old home village on a Saturday night. The next day she accom-
panied the family to church. A few moments later a bride and groom entered
the church, it being their "appearance" day. The groom was Thomas Ream and
the bride was Fllen Moore, that was.
This pen will not attempt to describe the feelings of disappointment, of
chagrin and of sorrow that may have swayed poor Kathryn's mind, or how the
blow may have bruised her heart. Upon leaving the church their eyes met for
a moment, then they passed on. What each read in the other's eyes is among
the things that are sealed.
Kathryn returned home, where, a few years later, she married a prominent
lawyer, and they live and rank with the best of the people in the city at the
Golden Gate.
Thomas Ream and wife settled upon a farm, have prospered in the world
and seem to be happy.
As the purpose of this article is to state facts, not to explain actions, no cause
can be given for Ream's actions in discarding the girl whom he loved in his
youth.
In his courtship with her be loo'<ed hopefully forward to a professional
career, in which he expected to succeed, for. as Hulwer wrote, in the lexicon of
youth, which fate reserves for a bright manhocd. there is no such word as fail.
Rut when he concluded to be a farmer, as his father was before him, then he
wanted a wife whose mind would be content with counting the profits on butter
and eggs, rather than attending club meetings, dances and theaters.
There mav still be a romantic warm spot in Ream's heart for the Kathryn
of long ago. who has no connection with his present life.
gitized by Googl
y Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
161
PIONEER MEN AND WOMEN OF OHIO.
BY A. J. BAUGHMAN.
PAPER READ AT THE MEETING OF THE FIRELANDS HISTORICAL SOCIETY HELD AT
CLARKSFIELD, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 22, 1899.
Mr. President, Ladies and Gentlemen.—
1 have read of the "Firelands ;" I have from passing trains looked with admira-
tion upon your fertile fields and well-kept farms, and from the late Rev. D. Bron-
son, whose early life was passed in this part of the state, and who was my rector,
for eighteen years, 1 learned much that was interesting of the early history of your
county. I know your first settlers came from Connecticut, and I have never yet
known a people who were ashamed of a New England ancestry.
I come from old Richland county — from the crest of the great "divide," the
water-shed between the lake and the gulf. I come from a county made somewhat
famous as having been for a number of years the home of John Chapman — better
known as. "Johnny Appleseed" — who came west abreast with civilization and
planted nurseries along our streams and throughout our valleys that the pioneers
and their children might enjoy the fruits of the earth. Johnny lived an exemplary
Christian life and was a benefactor of his race. He loved to ramble in the forests,
to listen to the singing of the birds, to look at the stars, and in his Swedenborg
faith, commune with ministering spirits and angels. Chapman's death was in har-
mony with his blameless life. When the death-angel touched him with his cold
finger, Johnny's eyes shone with light supernal, a smile wreathed his lips as they
moved in prayer and a halo seemed to crown him with the glory of a saint as he
passed from the life here to the life eternal. Since then, more than fifty years
have come and gone down the ccholess aisles of time, but the story of "Johnny
Appleseed" is told from generation to generation, and his good deeds live anew
every springtime in the beauty and fragrance of the appleblossoms he loved so well.
I claim a lineal right to speak for the pioneers of Richland county, for my
grandfather Baughman was the first white settler in the Blackfork Valley, near
the historic old Indian village of Greentown, now in Ashland county. And my
mother's father — Capt. James Cunningham — built the third cabin in Mansfield,
boarded the surveying party that platted the town site, and later served his country
as a captain in the war of 1812, as his father— John Cunningham (an Irishman) —
had served as a soldier in all the long and bloody struggle of the war of the
Revolution.
Europe was peopled by larger bodies of men moving from one country to an-
other. But America was settled by a slower process. Those men emigrated col-
lectively — here they came severally, and were called "pioneers," because they fore-
ran the column of civilization.
The pioneers of Ohio were men of "brain and brawn," of courage and perse-
verance. Of their work, adventures and achievements enough has not been writ-
ten, for theirs was not the age of literature. It has been said that the annalist of
that period left his note-book to his son. who lost it while moving farther west.
We know, however, that they endured privations, that they encountered dangers,
that they worked hard and accomplished much.
Digitized by Google
102
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The early history of Ohio tells of a period in the .settlement of America when
civilization crossed the crest of the Alleghenies in its march across the continent,
as "Westward the Star of Empire took its Way."
Ohio, being on the frontier, was, in part, the battleground of the war of 1812,
and the result of the conflicts, engagements and battles may he summarized in the
dispatch of the immortal Terry: "We met the enemy, and they are curs."
During that war a great number of volunteers passed through our part of
Ohio, and observed the gentle swell of its uplands, the fertility ot its valleys, the
magnificence of its forests, its copious springs and abounding streams, and when
the war was over, many who had traversed the country as soldiers returned after
their discharge, entered land, built cabins and made Ohio their home.
We feel grateful as a people and proud as a nation when we retlect upon the
wonderful achievements of the century! In all the history of the world we find
no paral'el to American progress. Beautiful cities have supplanted the wigwam
villages of a hundred years ago. and where unbroken forests then spread their
leafy branches, and tangled weeds held undisputed sway in the valleys, the land
is now teeming with its wealth of fruitful orchards and fields of golden grain.
A^ I have spoken of men as pioneers, permit me in conclusion to pay a tribute
to the women of that period.
The pioneer women did not clerk in stores, but she sold butter and eggs
knit socks and made garments and ministered to the wants and comfort of her
family. She did not write shorthand, nor keep books, but she wrote on the un-
stained tablet of the human heart that line upon line and precept upon precept by
which life is made a holy thing, and which, if a soul heeds, it may bask in the
Father's house in which there are many mansions. She did not build memorials
in brick and stone, but she built that best earthly house — a home, in which children
grew up in her love and care.
The pioneer woman did not ride a wheel, but she had a spinning-wheel, and the
thread she spun was fine and smooth, and the hum of the spinning was music-
sweet to the household.
The pioneer woman did not build hospitals, but her cabin was a wayside inn,
and she herself was both physician and nurse. And not in her own home only,
but wherever fever burned or disease wasted, there her hand ministered, for every
true pioneer woman was a sister of mercy and a friend of the poor.
The pioneer woman did not paint on china, but there are pictures in our mem-
ory in which our dear old pioneer mother is the central figure; pictures that all the
storms of life cannot blot, nor scorching sunlight fade. Pictures of home, pictures
of the scenes of our childhood, pictures dear to every man who loved his mother.
After the reading of the paper by Doctor Shelden, Judge Wildman arose and
spoke as follows: "I am told that in the absence ot the Hon. Ru^h R. Sloane, as
president of the Firelands Historical Society, the duty devolves upon me. as first
vice-president, of presiding at your gathering today. It is a great delight to me
to come back to Clarksfield where I was born and where I spent some of the hap-
piest years of my boyhood, as many of you know, especially of the older people
here, and to see so many familiar faces and so many familiar places. In a letter
which I received some days ago from Doctor Week*, he suggested that it is now
one hundred years since the organization of what is known as the Northwest
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
163
Territory, comprising what is now the state of Ohio and some of the other states
of the Union; he also snooted that this would be a tit occasion for the presenta-
tion of a talk or paper upon the event which is now one hundred years gone, — the
beginning of organized government in the territory emhraced in that great extent
of what was then mainly a wilderness, known as the Northwest Territory. Doctor
Weeks has prepared a paper on this subject and it will he read at this time."
PIONEER TIMES.
A description of a pioneer log-cabin and of the pioneer home-life, may not be
wit liout its interest to the reader of the present day.
The location of the cabin decided upon, the space cleared away, and suitable '
timber having been selected, felled, partially hewn, and cut into proper lengths,
it remained to "raise" the cabin. Word having been given out, the settlers for
miles around gathered to their new neighbor's clearing, glad to lend a helping
hand. A man of experience in such matters was selected as captain or leader;
other expert men. axe in hand, were posted at the corners to cut saddles or
notches in the logs that they might lie more firmly and closer together, the ends
of the logs often overlapping and projecting for a foot or more. The logs hav-
ing been previously drawn to a convenient nearness by oxen, to the major part
of the company was assigned the duty of conveying the logs to the intended
structure; sometimes the combined strength of the party sufficed to lift them up
and carry them, but oftener skids and handspikes were called into use; in
either case the work was done with a will scarce needing the energetic tones and
sharp commands constantly used by the leader. Accidents were not uncommon ;
severe strains often resulted from one man trying to out-do another, while some-
times a log slipped or fell, striking a man down in its descent, and breaking his
leg or arm. The log-carriers were sometimes divided into squads, or parties,
each having a particular end to keep up, and the resulting rivalry made the task
a short one, the building being rarely over a single story in height. The cabin
fairly raised, and the roof poles put in position, the remaining work of finishing
the cabin could be performed more leisurely without the help of so many hands.
The roof was made by laying small logs or saplings, the tamarack being often
used, which were placed lengthwise. These formed a support for the shingles or
"shakes." as they were often called. These were much longer than the shingles
of later years, and, when laid, about three feet was exposed to the weather. They
were generally rived or split out of straight-grained, full-grown white-oak trees.
Nails being then almost unknown, and those few forged by hand, their use was
out of the question, and the shingles were secured by laying poles or logs to
keep them in position. The chimney was often composed of "cats and clay," the
cats in question not being the familiar household tabby, but small sticks split
to a regular size. The base was formed of stone, often undressed bowlders, and
on this superstructure the chimney was built, generally outside, and at the end
of the cabin, the cats forming a framework which was heavily daubed and plas-
tered with clay. As for openings, the door usually was rived planks, unless the
neighborhood was the happy possessor of a "thunder-jjust" sawmill. The hinges
and latches were made of wood. Glass was a luxury rarely met with. Some-
Digitized by Google
164
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
times greased paper served as a substitute, and the windows were small, the
usually open door being another medium for the admission of light. Often, for
months, the ground served for a floor, but, after a time, boards or "puncheons"
were split out for that purpose; they were hewed a little, consequently they were
never very smooth, often quite shaky. Holes were bored in the logs and pegs
driven in, on which to hang the various articles of wearing apparel and house-
hold use— a place to hang the rifle not being forgotten. These pegs served as
a support for shelves and even for beds. But regular bedsteads, cheap and com-
mon enough looking these days, were soon introduced, many settlers bringing
them with them from Connecticut, and, for the children, "trundle-beds" were in
common use. The cabin generally consisted of but a single room. In the
warmer months much of the work of cooking, washing, etc., was performed
outside, under the friendly shade of some convenient tree. At other times the one
room served the purpose of kitchen, dining-room, parlor, closet and bed-room
combined. The larger boys generally slept in the garret, access being had by
a flight of rude stairs or a ladder ; and in the winter season the snow often found
its way between the loosely placed shingles, so that in going to bed they "made
tracks" with alacrity. Rude benches, long enough to seat two or three persons,
made of planks split and shaved, served as chairs. In the plank, holes were
bored and sticks inserted, to serve as legs or supports. Household utensils were
as scanty as the furniture, a single pot or skillet often having to do duty many
times over in preparing a meal. Tinware was scarce and dear, stoves of course
unknown, and as for saving fuel, that was of but little moment, the huge fire-
places admitting a stick as long and as heavy as a man would care to carry.
The fire on the hearth is one of the pleasant memories of early days ; On a
winter's evening, with familiar faces grouped around, the scene is most inviting.
Is the sacrifice of old comforts to modern plans always without loss? The bright
light of the blazing logs often rendered candles or lamps unnecessary, and the
fire being easily kept up and rarely suffered to die out for months together, the
modern invention of matches, now indispensable, was more easily got alon^
without. Clocks were the luxury of the few, but were a few years later intro-
duced and sold at high prices by peddlers, the housewife noting the hours by the
sunlight streaming through the open door or window and casting a shadow of
the wall upon the floor.
The food of the settler was "johnny-cake" and mush, or bread of coarsely-
ground flour or meal. Milk was freely used, butter often dispensed with and
rarely of the best quality, and cheese unknown. Pork and venison were always
at hand; wild turkey, squirrel and other game easy to obtain. Sugar from the
maple was frequently to be had, and tea and coffee were often replaced by de-
coctions of sassafras, spice-bush and parched corn. As for food, the variety and
manner of cooking were quite tolerable to those settlers fortunate in having a
good start and a little money, otherwise they often suffered for necessaries, and
being put on short rations was not an uncommon experience.
In respect to clothing, the contrast with the present time was more noticeable.
Deerskin was largely used for men's clothing. It would wear a long time, but
its adaptability was sadly lessened by the ease with which it would absorb water.
A man getting a pair of deerskin trousers thoroughly wet would soon find them
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
165
lengthened and dangling at his heels so as to seriously interfere with locomo-
tion, and, after hanging them up to dry at night, would, on the following morn-
ing, find them almost as stiff as if made of cast iron.
The loom and spinning wheel were found in every household, and the women,
besides making and knitting yarn, made cloth of flax and wool, often combining
the different materials into a coarse fabric known as linsey-woolsey. The barks
of trees furnished coloring matter, and the making of the garments was com-
pleted without calling into requisition any greater skill than the household
afforded. But these "home manufacturers" could not "compete" with the "pauper
labor" of New England ; and first came the calicoes and brown muslins, dear at
first, doubly so from cost of transportation, handling, and especially from the
scarcity, but very soon so cheap no one could afford to invest money to make
them. Not long afterwards satinets and jeans were introduced for men's wear,
and very soon the loom had no further place in the household, and the spinning
wheel was soon afterward laid aside. More recently the sewing machine, books
of patterns, and ready-made boots, hats and clothing have come into general use, —
the latter commodity no longer content with becoming the apparel of men, but
of women also.
The settler provided with shelter, the work of clearing, grubbing and burn-
ing away the forest and inclosing his fields must be commenced. This is to be
his main vocation, especially in the winter season, for long years to come. He
must rise early and work late, nor is the labor itself easy or inviting. As timber
and wood have no marketable value, they are simply an incumbrance to be got
rid of; occasionally, however, a fine tree is saved for rails or other use. The
manner of clearing, too. is different from that of later years. A shorter, less
laborious method must be adopted — the labor of felling the trees is often avoided
by "girdling" or "deadening" them. The ascent of the sap being arrested by cut-
ting notches entirely around the trunk, the tree dies, and the trunk becomes dry
and is burned in much less time than if it was felled in the first instance and
allowed to lie on the damp ground ; find besides, after a time many of the trunks
are blown over, and the labor of chopping them down avoided. Some trees, the
beech and maple for instance, begin to topple and fall after the third year.
Grain and other crops were often raised in the girdling. After a time the
number of fallen trunks interferes with cultivation, and selecting a dry time,
they are set fire to. This burning is systematically done ; a hundred fires are
set. and the woods and skies are soon darkened by the smoke. To watch and tend
the fires, to cut down an occasional "stub" which is left standing, is the work of
the settler, which is prolonged far into the night, when the bright flames light
up the surrounding forests, and make a scene of beauty upon which he loves to
linger and look. In order to facilitate the burning of the larger logs, fires are
set at different points so as to burn them in two. In some places this is called
"niggering." When the work is sufficiently advanced, the settler invites his
neighbors, who turn out with the same alacrity and willingness they would to a
raising. With long hand-spikes, the burning logs are rolled together into great
heaps. Working in the smoke, treading on hot ashes and embers, facing blazing
fires, and at the same time exerting all the strength they possess, the task is no
166
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
light or easy one; but the work is done with a will, and a hearty "now all to-
gether" that shows them in earnest. The task accomplished, the scene is often
changed into merry-making; a hearty supper is prepared, and liquid refreshments
are not wanting.
RruU.KS, FOKMKKLY IN HURON COUXTY.
Ruggles township was so called after Judge Almon Ruggles. the surveyor of
the Firelands. In 1815. eight years before the first settlement in the township.
Judge Ruggles owned five hundred and eighty-two acres in the second section.
Barlow Sturges also owned one hundred and twenty acres. This is all the ac-
count given of the land holders at that time. Ruggles belonged to Huron county
until the erection of Ashland county in 1846. to which county it has since been
attached.
The central portions of the township are level, the eastern and southern
slightly undulating, the western and northern considerably broken and uneven.
It was originally a dense forest, of which the beech constituted the greater part,
though the maple, elm. bass wood, hickory, whitcwood and ash were by no means
wanting, while the higher lands abounded with the finest oaks, and along the
streams grew the black walnut, the butternut and the sycamore.
In the central portions of the township the soil is clayey, while in other parts
it is for the most part a gravelly loam, and well adapted to either grazing or the
raising of grain. There are two stone quarries, one in the north part on Mr.
Charles Curtiss' farm ; the other in the west part, on Wakeman Beach's farm.
The township is free from marshes or waste lands, while it is excellently well
drained by the Vermillion river and its tributaries. The main stream crosses
the south line nearly two miles east of the southwest corner, and flows north-
westwardly, leaving the township j ust south of the northwest corner. Its prin-
cipal tributary, Buck creek, comes from Troy, crosses the east line three- fourths
of a mile south of the center road, and runs northwestwardly to the north part
of the township, when it receives the waters of another creek, which drains the
southeast corner, and then runs westerly to join the Vermillion. In the southern
part, Whetstone creek runs west to the V ermillion. Another creek, west of the
river, runs northeast till it joins the main stream.
In 1823, Mr. Daniel Beach and Bradford Sturtevant came to Ruggles with
a view of purchasing lands, and in June of the year above named, bought of
Messrs. Jcsup and Wakeman, of Connecticut, six hundred and forty acres in the
southwest corner of section three. Mr. Beach taking the western and smaller
part. This pioneer settler of Ruggles accomplished much towards the rapid
settling up of his township, and his memory is gratefully cherished by the people
of Ruggles.
Benjamin D. Green was the first blacksmith who settled in Ruggles. He
gave up blacksmithing for the carpenters' trade. He was a prominent man in
the community, held several important oftkes. and was a major in the militia.
The first birth was that of Wakeman J. Beach, the son of Daniel Beach, born
January n, 1825.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI ROX COUNTY
167
The first marriage did not take place until the year 1832, when, on the 18th
day of June, Mr. James Poag. widower, was united in marriage to Miss Laura
C. Smith. The ceremony was performed by Daniel Beach, Esq.
The first death occurred in 1826. in which year Mr. Cyrus Sanders, a single
m..n, and a nephew of Mr. P». Sturtevant. died of bilious fever.
The first saw mill was built by Daniel Beach in 1824, on the Vermillion river,
on«- hundred rods north of Ruggles' Corners. This mill was of great benefit to
the early settlers. Mr. Beach built a grist mill also, near the site of the saw
mill, in 1831 or '32, to which steam was subsequently attached. The first store
in Rugbies was opened by Josiah Rots ford at Ruggles* Corners, one and one-
half miles west of the center, in about the year 1831. The first post-office was
established one-half mile south of the Corners.
Prior to 1826, Ruggles was attached to New London for civil purposes, but
at the date named it was detached and organized, the first election occurring
January 2d of that year. Tbere were just a dozen residents who participated in
this first election, as follows: Perry Durfee, Harvey Sackett, Nor mail Carter.
Truman Bates. Reuben Fox, B. Sturtevant, Jacob Roorback. Abraham Ferris,
Justice Barnes, Daniel Beach, Ezra D. Smith, and Aldrich Carver. Mr. E. D.
Smith was chosen clerk; H. Sackett treasurer; J. Roorback. D. Beach, and A.
Carver, trustees; B. Sturtevant and H. Sackett, overseers of the poor; J. Barnes
and A. Ferris, fence viewers ; Reuben Fox and Perry Durfee, appraisers of prop-
erty : N. Carter, constable, and T. Bates, supervisor, — thirteen offices filled with
twelve individuals. Mr. Sackett had the honor of filling two positions. Another
election was held April 3d, when Mr. Ferris was made treasurer, Mr. Bates con-
stable, and Messrs. Fox and Sturtevant supervisors, and Harvey Sackett justice
of the peace. The other offices remained filled as above.
In 1824 a school house was built eighty rods east of the residence of Daniel
Reach, and Betsey Sackett taught school there during the summer of that year.
The second school was upon the north line of the township, and was taught by
Jacob Roorback.
The only village that ever existed in the township was at Ruggles corners,
upon the Wooster and Xorwalk road. There were several mercantile and me-
chanical concerns at this point, as well as a tavern and quite a cluster of dwelling
houses. The place was sustained by the tanning interests of the Xorwalk road,
and when the C. C, C. & I. R. R. was established, as it destroyed the wagoning
business, the lit tit- village soon dwindled away, and eventually entirely disap-
peared.
The first religious services were held at Harvey Sackett's house soon after
the settlement of the township by Lodovicus Robbins. Xot long after a Meth-
odist class was formed, of which there remains no record, and in regard to which
no authentic information can be obtained.
The first church organization in the township was that of the Congregational
in 1827.
NEW LONDON.
This interesting and rapidly growing town is situated seventeen miles from
Xorwalk. the county-seat.
168
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The first settler of what is now the village of New London was John Corey,
who erected the first log cabin. This was in 1816. The Sampson's, the Merri-
ficlds. the Hendryx's, Kinsley's, Dr. Christopher Bates, W. S. Dewitt, and others.
From 1817 to 1822 New London was called Merrifield Settlement; from 1822 to
1837. Kinsley's Corners; from 1840 to 1853, King's Corners. In 1850 the Cleve-
land, Columbus, Cincinnati and Indianapolis railroad commenced to run through
the town, and the place grew rapidly. In the fall of 1853, the village, embracing
about eight hundred acres of land, was incorporated. The first council proceeding-
are recorded for December 3, 1853; R. C. Powers, mayor; John Thorn, recorder ;
J. Bradley, J. F. Badger, A. Starbird, V. King, and A. D. Kilburn, trustees, or
councihven ; A. A. Towers marshal ; J. O. Merrifield, treasurer. In 1851 the vil-
lage suffered from its first serious fire ; and again in 1872, November 17th, property
to the value of forty to fifty thousand dollars was destroyed. The village was in-
corporated in 1853. At this date, 1909, New London contains about one thousand
five hundred inhabitants, mostly descendants of New England and New York
families. New London is located on the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati and St
Ix>uis and Northern Ohio railways, forty-seven miles southwest of Cleveland. The
town is progressive, having about two miles of brick paved streets, owns its electric
lighting plant and has a number of good factories. Its postoffice receipts exceed
twelve thousand dollars annually, bine rural free delivery routes radiate from
this postoffice. The village is surrounded by a good grazing and farming country
where high grade cattle and sheep are bred. A business peculiar to Xew London
farmers is the breeding of ferrets which are shipped to all parts of the United
States, commanding good prices and enriching those engaged in that business.
MONROKVILI.E.
The village of Monroevillc was laid out on September 29. 1817. ft was then
named Monroe, and continued to be called by that name until the establishment
of a postoffice, when the name was changed to Monroevillc. In 1836 an addi-
tion of one hundred and forty-one lots was added. The village wa< incorpor-
ated in 1868. and the first election was held.
The following sketch of Monroevillc was prepared for the Spectator and Mr.
L. O. Simmons has kindly given permission for it to be used in this work :
What is now the beautiful and enterprising village of Monroeville. was an
unimproved waste, inhabited only by the wild beasts of the forests and wander-
ing bands of red men. Lordly trees stood upon the sites of residences of today,
and there was nothing here, per sc. to create or sustain a town. The Huron river
rippled onward then as now. but no village was reflected in its clear transpar-
ent waters. But a change was fast approaching. Change, which is as inevit-
able as time itself, goes hand in hand with civilization, and is the constant com-
panion of the pioneer.
ORIGIN Or THK TOWN.
In the year 1816. a man by the name of Sowers, with his family, emigrated
from the state of Maryland to this locality. About the same time Seth Brown
Digitized by Google
MAIN" STREET. MOXROEVILLE
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI/ROX COI XTV
171
and Schuyler Van Ransalear came here from the state of New York. The land
comprising the present site of the village of Monroeville, was purchased by the
above-named gentlemen, with a view to its improvement for agricultural pur-
poses — to make for themselves and families homes. Soon after they were joined
by others, among whom was one Richard P.urt, who proceeded at once to erect
a saw and grist mill, and which were in operation as early as 1816. These mills
were located, and comprise the original of the mill of The Heyman Milling Co.
of the present day. This was the nucleus of greater things ; the starting j>oint.
the origin of our now populous village. Messrs. Sowers, Brown, and Van Ran-
salear caused the survey of the village plat, which was soon occupied, and prom-
inent among whom, and as the first to locate here, were the following: Setl)
Brown. Schuyler Van Ransalear, Richard Burt, Dr. Cole, a Mr. Fuller, Daniel.
John and James Sowers, and John S. Davis. Mr. Van Ransalaer opened a small
store, and to him belongs the honor of inaugurating mercantile pursuits and
from which insignificant establishment have sprung the many business houses
of today. Verily its progeny has been prolific. Buckley Hutchins, another of
the early settlers of the place, kept the first tavern, not one of the modern con-
cerns like those of the present day, where the blase guest sits down to a dozen
courses, but a humble structure in which the fare was of a primitive character,
where corn pones and venison formed the staple diet. Mr. Van Ransalear was
the first postmaster. The Baptists organized the first church society, and were
closely followed by the Presbyterians and Methodists. Monroeville. like all other
tow ns in a new country, was subject to many annoyances and inconveniences ;
the mail, for instance, put in an appearance quite infrequently, and before the days
of stages and railroads, was carried on horseback or on foot from settlement to
settlement, and the arrival of the postman in those times was hailed as a gala-dav
by the inhabitants. As the years roll by there is a gradual increase in the pop-
ulation, and some new features of improvement adds to the importance of the
place. For many years there was little to attract or encourage immigration.
Situated in the midst of a forest, and surrounded by savages and wild beasts,
the settlement of the country was attended with no litle peril and risk of life.
There were no markets, and the resources for the growth and improvement of
the locality were limited in character, and the growth of the new village was ex-
tremely slow, and for many years traffic with the Indians constituted a very
important item in the business transactions of our merchants. Many amusing
scenes and anecdotes might be related of pioneer life, but as it is our purpose to
chronicle briefly that of an historical nature, we will leave the romantic to those
whose ability, augmented by the experience of early years, is greater than our
own. As the surrounding country became more and more developed, there was
a corresponding increase in the population of the town, also an expansion of
business matters. The building of the railroads in after years marked a new
era in the affairs of Monroeville. It not only infused new life in business mat-
ters, but was the means of a more rapid development of the surrounding country.
It opened up new and hitherto unapproachable markets, and placed us upon the
plane of equality with other and older towns, and was in every respect a consum-
mation that had been long and devoutly wished. Better than all. however, was
the fact that Monroeville and surrounding country contained within themselves
172
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
sustaining force, the soil was of the richest possible character ; it was peopled with
a hardy and industrious race of men and women, who had their competence to
acquire, and whose daily labor was a labor of love. Every tree that was felled
was a step toward prosperity, every acre in cultivation was a guerdon of success.
And sd these noble men and women toiled on, creating for the generation of to-
day an inheritance time shall not dim. This, then, in rude outline, has been the
history of Monroeville. We have not aimed, nor have we time or space to give
fragments of mtnutia?. We must ignore anecdote and incident, those particulars
which go to make up the warp and woof of history; nor are the columns of a
newspaper the suitable place for their preservation. Our sphere of action as
journalists is vastly different from that of the historian.
MONROEVILLE OF TODAY.
Hut what is Monroeville of today? we are asked. We answer: a beautiful
and enterprising village of about two thousand inhabitants, a place whose ap-
pearance has nothing of the speculative or ephemeral — a substantial, well-built
town. Located at the junction of the L. S. & M. S.. Lake Erie division of the
B. & O. R. R. and W. & L. E.. the best of facilities for shipping are secured.
The Huron river, upon whose border the town so gracefully reposes, is suscep-
tible of improvement, and even now furnishes a motive power for driving ma-
chinery of industrial enterprise. The streets are regularly laid out. many of
which, with their abundance of shade trees, present a beautiful and attractive
appearance. The business streets are lined with substantial two and three story
brick blocks, whose appearance will compare favorably with those of any town
of like size in the state. A stroll throughout the town discloses little to remind
one of the past. Many of the residences are really elegant, and nearly all are
attractive. The streets, stores, churches and dwellings are all neat ami present
an appearance that is quite metropolitan. The humble church of half a century
ago must have planted good seed, for as its fruit we see today seven church edi-
fices, mostly of a superior character; we can only name them, however: Baptist.
Presbyterian. Methodist, Episcopal. Evangelical. Reformed and Catholic. The
modest district school has grown with the passing years. Its score of scholars,
with their cabin for a schoolroom, has increased to many hundreds, and we find
today an elegant substantial brick structure, provided with all modern conveni-
ences, and affording advantages for an education that in those early days would
have been confined to the wealthy alone. In brief, we present a town attractive
in itself, ami from its surroundings a place equal to any town in the state for
business advantages.
01. 1) Kl S1DEN S.
But we have little to remind us of the past. The buildings of that early day
are gradually yielding to the growing tooth of Time. Of the first or original set-
tlers none are left, and only a few of those who came a little later remain.
Some of those early pioneers have moved away, while others are quietly sleep-
ing in the grave. Change is written upon everything. Soon nothing but the
memory of those early settlers will be left to remind us that they ever existed.
gitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
173
But they will have with themselves the consciousness that they have not lived in
vain. Their efforts and actions, coupled with the efforts of those of an earlier gen-
eration, have made Monroeville what it is, nor have they any reason to feel ashamed
of the achievements of a life time of labor, as it stands todav a bright jewel in the
diadem of the state.
CHICAGO JUNCTION.
The town of Chicago Junction was formed in the spring of 1875, an <* its loca-
tion is at the junction of the Chicago Division of the Baltimore & Ohio railroad
with the Mansfield-Columbus Division of the same road. It was thought by many
that a city would soon grow up in the woods, and there was much to induce such
an opinion, for the railroad company erected extensive repair shops and a round-
house and employed a large force of men. The company also projected other
works, which if they had been accomplished would have necessitated the employ-
ment of many more men. But their anticipations were not realized and the town
did not grow. The people of the place, as soon as the town began to grow built a
school house and a church, to keep in touch with the educational and religious in-
terest of the age.
The following sketch of the town is from the Chicago Times, a newspaper
of which the citizens of Chicago Junction is justly proud:
Chicago is not an old town, so to speak. On the first day of January, 1874, the
Raltimore & Ohio Railroad Company opened up for traffic a portion of its Chicago
extension, then known as the Baltimore, Pittsburg and Chicago Railway, extend-
ing westward as far as Deshler. Chicago Junction was established as the eastern
terminus of this new division. The station business was transacted in a one-story
frame building about fifteen by twenty-five feet, which comprised freight, ticket,
telegraph offices, passenger depot, baggage and freight nxmis. Railway employes
boarded in Ccnterton and w ith farmers in the neighborhood.
On the 4th day of July following, the first load of stone for the first building
in Chicago Junction was hauled for the hotel and grocery of S. L. Bowlby, and
this little building- -afterward consumed by fire — the pioneer establishment of the
tow n was opened to the public September 7, 1874.
In December, 1874. the railroad was completed to the Windy City, and about
the same month temimrarv shops were erected consisting of an engine house and
two small buildings to be used as blacksmith and machine shops, all frame build-
ings, and giving employment to sixty men. Ow ing to the severe w inter of 1874-5
there was very little work done upon the many new business houses and dwellings
that were in course of erection. Early in the year 1875 the railroad company
laid the foundation for the large brick depot and hotel, shown elsewhere in this
edition of the Times, and same was opened to the public in September following.
During the summer of 1875 work was commenced on the foundation of the
permanent shops of the railroad company and in April, 1876, the machinery and
tools w ere moved into the new buildings.
The opening of the Chicago extension, building of the shops, depot, etc., created
a great boom in property. Town lots were laid out in all directions and within a
year many properties had increased in value three-fold and sold at fabulous prices.
174
HISTORY OF HURON" COUNTY
Business had sprung up in various places and everything pointed to a prosperous
future. All went well until December 8, 1877, when nearly one-half of the town
was consumed by lire. The tire originated in what was known as Mason s news
and hook store on Front street and in less than two hours fifteen business houses
and a large number of dwellings, were reduced to ashes, and the business interests
received a severe blow . In the spring of the following year the livery stable of A.
J. Crawford was burned by incendiary and in the fall following the saloon of
Messrs. Hoffman and Trimble and the shoe store of William Simmermacher were
destroyed by fire, and following soon after was the burning of the Ohms hotel and
saloon. Thu> in the period of one year one-half the business portion of the thriv-
ing village was deprived by fire, leaving many of the victims bankrupt. New
buildings of a more substantial nature were erected and all went well until the
winter of 1881-2 at which time an epidemic of smallpox was introduced by Lloyd
Dillon, a passenger brakeman, who had contracted the disease in Chicago, Illinois,
and which resulted in seventeen cases, six of which proved fatal. Many of the
inhabitants left town during this epidemic and farmers gave the place a wide berth
for months afterwards. Thus it will be seen that the town's pioneer days were
not void of trouble and disaster.
The town was incorporated in the fall of 1882, by electing Samuel Snyder,
mayor; N. B. Parker, clerk; \Y. 1!. Keefer, treasurer; and A. R. Nichols, Otis
Sykes, F. J. dumber, (ieorge H. Miller. F.lias Mason and William Carpenter, coun-
cilmen. All of these men except two, Mr. Nicholas and Mr. Mason are alive t<»-
day. a fact worthy of note. Ex-mayor Snyder is now living at Sunbury, Penn-
sylvania. At the time of incorporation the town had a population of about eight
hundred.
During the years intervening between 1882 and 1888 nothing of importance
transpired to change the monotony of life in a country town. People were waiting
for the completion of the Akron extension of the Baltimore & Ohio, which oc-
curred in k. co. Following the opening of this division the town took on new
life and its growth up to this time has been phenomenal. No town in this section
has enjoyed a more rapid and substantial growth.
During the last eiyht years the town has been provided with all the modem
comforts enjoyed by people of the larger cities. The telephone was introduced in
180.8. waterworks installed in March 1809. electric lights December 1900, paved
streets ieoo, natural gas for fuel and lights in 1903, additional street paving in
1 904 and electric railroad in 1905. During the last ten years all the principal
streets have been placed to a permanent j^rade and today these streets are lined
with beautiful shade trees, uniform stone walks, and on every lot you will find well
kept homos.
This briefly tells the history of Chicago Junction — a town with a future.
That Chicago is one of the most enterprising towns in the state of Ohio goes
without saying. Her people are patriotic to a degree not excelled by any other
municipality in thi> section, and the strides which the town has made are such as
to be a source of gratification to every man in the city who has the interest of his
home town at heart.
It is not very many years ago that Chicago was a mere straggling hamlet, mak-
ing no pretensions to anything abov the ordinary small village. Its population
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
175
did not consist of more than a few hundreds of people and the conditions were
crude at best with not a very inviting future to those desiring to make this place
their permanent abode.
Conditions, however, have materially changed these things, so that today the
stranger sees a town built in a solid and substantial manner — good buildings and
fine streets with every modern convenience that will inure to the happiness of those
who call it home. The residences are such as to do honor to any community and
the entire town is such today as to reflect credit on those who have been instru-
mental in building it up from its former insignificant position.
What the city needs more than anything else is factories. Efforts along the
line of securing labor employing institutions should be made in a concerted and
effective manner. And we believe that should our people agitate this matter suf-
ficiently there would be no question as to the success attending the efforts of those
most concerned.
( hir location is such as to make this town a good manufacturing point — our
railway facilities are such as to warrant the belief that manufacturers would find
every convenience at their doors — and the country surrounding the town is such
as to find no superior within the confines of the great state of Ohio. Is it not
therefore reasonable to believe that with energy and activity great things may be
hoped for and d me along the line of securing manufacturing concerns which
means so much to the present and the future welfare of any community which truly
hopes to become more than ordinary.
In the matter of churches Chicago has every leading denomination represented,
Methodist. Catholic, United Brethren, Presbyterian, Lutheran and Free Methodist.
The pulpits are filled by men well qualified to discharge their duties and these min-
isters have doubtless done much good to bring the moral tone of the community
up to a high standard.
The public schools of the town are a credit to the corporation and reflect noth-
ing but praise on our people and those who administer the affairs of our educa-
tional institutions. The teachers are all men and women with a high purpose —
well prepared to discharge the functions of their offices, and the results are seen
in the efficiency and capacity of the scholars who are yearly matriculated.
Schools, and particularly gocxl schools, should have every encouragement to
the end that the community as a whole may be better for the results obtained.
The population of Chicago is at least four thousand. Its growth has been
steady for the past ten years and it is safe to say that we have now at least the
above number of people within the corporate limits of the town.
The city government has always been good. City officials have spent their
time without recompense in furthering the cause of Chicago's growth, so that it
is fair to assume that the conditions which have prevailed in the past will continue
in the future.
No town of a like population has better streets than has this city. A large part
of the city is already paved and more is under contemplation. This has given the
town a good reputation among those who visit the place, and it certainly adds to
the prestige of the place to be fully abreast of the times in every way.
The banking institutions of this city are ample for the accommodation of the
public. The banks of this town have always been conservatively managed and
176
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
have enjoyed a high degree of prosperity. The deposits at the several institu-
tions are such as to show that tin's section has enjoyed a long season of prosperity
which shows no sign of abatement.
The railroad interests of Chicago are most important to the healthy expan-
sion of the town. Indeed the town was created by the B. & O. system and the pres-
ent prosperity of the place is largely owing to the vast interests of this company,
located at this point.
The li. & O. has made this town the junction point for its lines from Chicago.
Illinois, Pittsburg, Baltimore and Columbus and as a consequence the shops, round
house, division terminal and the like are located in this city.
Each year the business of the company becomes heavier and all of these fact*
have a direct bearing on the prosperity of the town.
The S. N. & M. traction company completed their tracks into this city, the line
running from Sandusky on the north to Mansfield on the south. This line opens up
a lot of good country which will be tributary to Chicago and doubtless will do not
a little to stimulate trade. It also gives the town another outlet for its passenger
traffic, express and freight and will result in the long run in good to the community
as a whole. Promoters are now working on plans for an electric line to Bucyru*
and if their ideas become a reality it means much to Chicago's future.
Traction lines are a modern necessity, their construction is being rapidly pushed
throughout the country and it behooves any community to get as many of them
as possible.
Another important branch of industry in this section is celery growing. There
is in this vicinity vast sections of muck land and much of this in late years has
been drained and planted in celery.
The work of reclamation is steadily going forward and the celery industry is
becoming a business of great magnitude.
The development of the three thousand acres of marsh land by Pittsburg
capitalists will add materially to the growth of Chicago.
Chicago has a bright future and our business men and capitalists should be
on the alert and see that every good move is given encouragement.
The public utilities of Giicago are in line with her other possessions and rank
well up with the best wherever found. We have a fine system of water works,
a well equipped fire department, sewers, electric lights, natural gas for light and
heat, telephone and telegraph service, ample hotel accommodations and every
accessory that will conduce to the happiness and the well being of society.
In the matter of papers the community is well served by the Times which num-
bers among its constituency fifteen hundred families in this city and adjoining
count ry. The Times aims to serve the people in every worthy way — to be abreast
of the times constantly and give its readers the benefit of its best efforts for the
upbuilding of the town.
The agricultural resources of the country adjacent to Chicago is such as to
make of the community a most prosperous region. No better land can be found
in the state of Ohio than we have here, and our farmers are such as to develop
the sections to its fullest. The farming community is well-to-do, a fact which is
evidenced by the large deposits — all indicating that they have had and are hav-
ing most prosperous seasons. Taking the town as a whole and the environment-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
177
of the place and a better location cannot be found for either residence or factory
sites. We confidently believe that the future holds in store for us better things
than the past has given us, and to this end let every citizen of this place strive, in
order that our ambitions may be realized.
From the beginning of the formation of the town, the residents thereof sent
their children to the Sykes district and elsewhere to school until there became so
many of them, there were not sufficient accommodations for them ; then Motson's
hall was rented and also the old buildings now occupied by Mr. Heilman as a
1 esidence. In 1880 the township board of New Haven erected two school houses
for the better accommodation of the pupils. One on the cast side of the B. & O.
in which the east side school is now taught, and another on the site of the present
brick building. Tbese answered till 1883, when the voters of the two districts and
that part of Richmond township within the cor]x>rate limits of the village, decided
by a majority vote to organize themselves into a separate village school district. A
school board was elected at the spring election of 1883, and they began as a sep-
arate and distinct district April 16th of the same year. Several attempts were made
to annex more territory to the district, but they all failed until the spring of 1891.
when a commission was appointed by the probate judge, which held a meeting,
and on July 7. 1 891 , the territory petitioned to be added to the district was an-
nexed with several additional tracts. Immediately after the district had been or-
ganized in 1883, the school board proceeded to erect another frame building near
to the one before mentioned on the site of the present brick building. It was com-
pleted, and school opened in the fall with three teachers. Two years after it was
found necessarry to have another teacher, and a room was provided in the old
Hackett building on Main street. The town grew rapidly, and in 1 886 the neces-
sity of a large central brick building was agitated. March 8, 1887, on motion
of C. B. Tudor, the board decided unanimously to submit to the voters of the
district a proposition to issue bonds to the amount of thirteen thousand dollars for
the purpose of erecting a two-story brick, eight room building. The proposition
was carried at the April election of the same year.
At their next meeting and subsequent meetings the board tried to select a site,
but were a tie on every ballot. They submitted the location to the voters of the
district, and at a special election. May 31. 1887, they selected the present site.
Bonds were issued to the before mentioned amount and sold June 10th, the same
year to Spitzer & Company of Toledo, for the sum of thirteen thousand one hun-
dred and eighty-one dollars.
Work was pushed forward and the building enclosed before holidays. It
was completed the following summer, and schools opened in it September 1888.
On April 19, 1888. the l>oard sold three thousand dollars additional bonds by
special act of the legislature for the purpose of seating the house in part, paying
architect, purchasing heating apparatus, paying for site, and other necessary
expenses.
Without manufactures no country can be truly great and prosperous. With-
out agriculture no country may hope to build up for itself any considerable man-
ufacturing interests. W ithout both of these we cannot expect the arts, the
sciences and literature to progress. It is therefore essential that both of these
factor- enter in a country's wealth — they arc interdependent on each other ; each
Digitized by Google
178
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
gives and receives sustenance from the other, and imparts its beneficent influence
in a hundred ways that educate, enlighten and tend to the general happiness and
prosperity of the people. Manufacturers create an urban population — they set
the life blood of business flowing through all the arteries of trade and commerce.
They dissipate provincialism, produce a desire for the arts, create a taste for
higher education, give a literature to its people and act as the great conserver
of the strength and independence of a nation.
Agriculture alone is like a ship without a rudder. It is always subject to
the caprices and whims of those who purchase farm products, and has no abso-
lute autonomy of its own. Where the nation has both manufacturers and agri-
culture, and exports the products of both industries, besides supplying its own
demands, it becomes a nation which stands alone ; that recognizes no master save
its own people and whose prosperity and progress attain the heighth of human
achievement in everything possible through human endeavor.
The same things are true of a city or town in a lesser degree as they are of
nations — hence how important it is that a city or town strive to create a manu-
facturing center in its midst whose mills and shops draw tribute from every
clime and from every people.
It effects a conquest which all the wars of the ages have failed to accomplish,
it is the one mightly lever that has made easy accomplishment our present mag-
nificent civilization.
How necessary it is then for the people of a town or a city to work in har-
mony and unison for their mutual good. There should be but one spirit animat-
ing the people when any question resolves itself into one affecting the prosper-
ity of the community in which they live. They should lay aside all petty jeal-
ousies of disposition in the endeavor to secure new factories, which means greater
wealth, greater happiness and greater progress toward the goal of earthly at-
tainment.
Chicago as a city is an ideal place for a large manufacturing center. There
is absolutely no reason why it should not become such, providing its people show
a disposition equal to that displayed by some of its neighbors. Secure factories
and you secure more wealth, more everything that is reckoned in the sum and
substance of human happiness.
The Hotel Sheidley is a modern hotel property in every way and possesses
all the conveniences which a first-class hostelry should have.
The Deer Lick Mineral Springs, located right on the edge of this town, are
one of the greatest future assets which this town possesses. These springs are
located in one of the most beautiful sections of woodland to be imagined, the
springs proper being in a basin surrounded with sloping hillsides and fine timber-
land.
Chicago Junction has had marked improvements within the past few years.
It has two school buildings, six churches, two dry goods stores, seven groceries,
three drug s»ores. four physicians, two banks, four or five good hotels, three
hardware -tores, two furniture -tores, three millinery stores and a number of man-
ufacturing plants.
The Baltimore & Ohio railroad company has erected a large, attractive and
commodious Y. M. C. A. building, of which the citizens are justly proud. The
Digitized by Google
CELERY FIELD, UHICAttO. OHIO
by Google
HISTORY OK HURON COUNTY
181
same company has also recently erected a large round-house and additional
shops, being one of the largest round-houses and most complete shops of the
kind in the state, at a very large expense, and are still contemplating further im-
provement at an early date.
A large tract of land of over three thousand acres, about two miles south of
Chicago Junction, which was formerly known as the "marshes," has been re-
claimed by drainage and is now under cultivation, mostly in celery, but other
garden products are also grown in large quantities. The citizens look forward
hopefully to the celery product as an important adjunct to the business interests
of the place.
To Mr. L. E. Simmons, the editor of the Times, and to Dr. A. R. Lydy our
thanks are due for the information and courtesies received during a visit made
to their town in the interest of this work.
There is no field in this section of the state which possesses greater possibili-
ties, and for which the future holds in store such rich promise as the marsh
lands southwest of this town. It has only been a few years since that this land
was brought prominently before the public by Mr. H. C. Johnson, who acquired
a considerable tract and began to experiment in its development. The process
was naturally tedious, because the old timers throughout the region regarded the
property as practically worthless and unfit for cultivation. Mr. Johnson in visit-
ing the various sections of the country where celery, onions, etc., were grown
saw that the land in the region, known as the marsh, possessed features which
made it superior to any land under cultivation for the production of celery and
kindred vegetation. He began to acquire a large section of the property and in
a small way opened up several small sections, planting celery and onions. The
results obtained were such as to justify every hope entertained of the property
in the first place, as the product was such as to make enormous returns from the
labor given to cultivation of the land. By dint of strenuous exertions Mr. John-
son succeeded in interesting a number of Hollanders from Kalamazoo, Michigan,
to come here and the success of these people was such as to soon attract others to
the field. The result is shown today in a good sized village near the borders of
the marsh containing one of the thriftiest and most prosperous people to be
found within the state of Ohio. Where before their advent nothing but a rank
growth of vegetation existed, there is now magnificent tracts of celery land
under cultivation. While but a very small portion of the land is yet under cul-
tivation, yet the work done thus far gives promise that at no very distant date
every acre of this territory will be taken up and utilized to its greatest extent.
Large purchases by Pittsburg capitalists have been made in this tract involv-
ing a heavy expenditure of cash. This fact along with the work already ac-
complished as just noted with the great success of there working the land com-
bine to place these lands in the very front. Of the original holdings of Mr.
Johnson amounting to twelve hundred acres, two hundred and fifty to three hun-
dred acres are under cultivation and of this last there are one hundred acres in
celery, onions, etc.
The number of acres planted by each gardener averages about six, and it will
surprise the average reader to know that on each acre planted the average re-
turns have been greater than three hundred dollars. This year, the writer inter-
Digitized by Google
182
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
viewed a number of the gardeners as to the income from their tracts. One
gentleman stated that his returns had been very close to five hundred dollars
per acre from a part of his field. Another gentleman with eight acres stated
that his gross receipts would be very close to three thousand dollars. W. B.
Keefer has seven and a half acres. This he has put out for him, pays all the
expenses incident to the crop, and his gross receipts for the past three years
have averaged two thousand, five hundred dollars for the time stated per year.
His profits during this time have averaged very close to eight hundred dollars
per year for the seven and a half acres, and this without any labor or exertion on
his part. Where in all the world is it possible to make such profits, and where
such enormous returns are possible, the means leading to them are sure to be
early exhausted. It is only necessary to say in this connection that these celery
lands about Kalamazoo are selling today for three hundred dollars per acre,
while the land in this vicinity can be bought at prices which are ridiculous in
comparison. Another point to be looked at is the fact that these lands are one
day nearer the big eastern markets than the Kalamazoo territory, and have all
about them a large chain of fine cities, making one of the best markets in the
world in which to dispose of the product. The soil here is richer, is of a more
spongy nature, never overflows, and in many other ways has the advantage of
the Michigan fields, all of which means much to the man who buys this property
and its value in ten years time.
Nearly all those who have bought land of Mr. Johnson came here with
very little means. Today their homes are such as to be a credit to any com-
munity, and they have within them such evidence of thrift as would reflect
creditably on any old community. One of the leading bankers of this town told
the writer that one of the residents of the marsh was in debt this spring. He
had just made some extensive improvements and had but lately come here.
He was compelled to make a small loan and owed for material at several places.
This season's crop of celery puts him entirely out of debt and he has up to date
a balance of nine hundred dollars and one-half of his celery still to harvest.
Where, under heaven's dome, is it possible to do better, and be in the midst of
one of the most populous sections of the greatest states in the union.
For the sake of getting a more intelligent conception of this large section we
append herewith some figures which will show the possibilities of the section.
On the area already under cultivation, consisting of one hundred acres, more
or less, the returns are now over three thousand dollars per annum. One man
and his family can care for about six acres of land and the average income will
amount to not less than three hundred dollars per acre, all depending on the
care given the soil and the industry and intelligence of the man who works it.
This tract of land with an annual product of three hundred dollars per acre
means a large revenue for this community than could be expected from manu-
facturing enterprises. A family to every six acres means an added population of
one thousand farmers with their families or a total population of between six
and seven thousand. And this estimate is conservative, not inflated and can be
verified by actual results at a score of different farms in the marsh.
Two crops of celery are harvested every year, as high as seven hundred
bushels of onions and three hundred bushels of potatoes have been raised to the
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
183
acre. Such productiveness is beyond the average man and usually he will not
believe it until the facts are made indubitable. This can be easily demonstrated
by a visit to the fields under cultivation, and every facility will be given to make
verification easy.
The depth of the soil on these lands run from eight to twelve feet; it is
splendidly drained and an abundance of splendid water is easily obtained. They
are not situated in remote parts but are adjacent to lines of railway which skirt
the property on the northeast and south. Chicago, Ohio, is within two miles of
the property, so that every facility is at hand to make life pleasant and the pro-
fits the highest possible.
When Mr. Johnson bought this property he was regarded as foolish, but
developments have shown the wisdom of his purchase and the immeasurable
good which it will ultimately do this town.
Another feature about this property is the fact that it is not necessary to go
to the wilds of Oklahoma or some other equally remote section in order to get a
farm at a small price — a farm not of hundreds of acres but one which will
pnxluce more wealth to the acre than any land in the United States devoted
to staple crops. You are within the limits of civilization ; you have the great-
est market in the world at your doors and for a few hundred dollars it is possible
for you to buy sufficient land to make you an income which you could not hope
to get from hundreds of acres of ordinary farm lands. These are considera-
tions worthy of your careful thought. A few years and the chance of a life
time will be gone, for it will not be many years until this property will be a
veritable garden spot entirely off the market, or held at such figures as to make
its purchase prohibitive by the man of small means.
NORWALK.
Norwalk, the county seat of Huron county, takes its name from Huron,
Connecticut. The inhabitants of that town having suffered great loss by the
British, burning and destroying property in that town, in the Revolutionary war,
were in part compensated for their loss by lands in Ohio, called the Firelands. and
organized as Huron county in 1818, containing half a million of acres. Their loss
was estimated at eighty-six thousand, two hundred and ninety-six dollars.
Norwalk is a beautiful city, fifty-six miles west of Cleveland, about ninety-
five miles north of Columbus, and fifty-seven miles east of Toledo. One of the
chief attractions of Norwalk is its principal avenue, Main street, which is two
miles in length and is beautifully shaded by rows of maple trees. The center
is the business j>ortion, with court house, school buildings and churches. Much
taste is evinced in the private residences and churches, and in adorning the
ground around them with shrubbery and flowers. As a whole the city is one of
the most beautiful and attractive in Ohio.
The town is often called "Maple City," on account of the beautiful maple
trees that line the streets. The town is an important station on the Michigan
.Southern and the Wheeling & Lake Erie railroads. It also has a number of elec-
tric railroads as given elsewhere.
184
HISTORY OF Hl'ROX COUNTY
Piatt Benedict was the founder of the town. He was from Danhury, Connecti-
cut. His death occurred October 25. 1866, at the age of ninety-one years, seven
months and seven days.
He was four years old when the British red-coats came to his native town to
do mischief, having burned Norwalk, Connecticut on their way. Perhaps it was
this incident that indirectly paved the way to his founding an Ohio Norwalk.
When he came out here in 181 7, he was seven weeks on the journey coming out.
with his family and household goods, the latter stowed away in a wagon drawn
by oxen.
About a mile west of the village were some ancient fortifications. The town
is surrounded by rich farming lands, has a fine commercial trade, and consider-
able manufacturing interests.
The site of Norwalk was first visited with a view to founding a town, by
Hon. Elisha Whittlesey. Piatt Benedict, and one or two others, in October, 181 5.
The place was then in the wilderness, and there were but a few settlers in the
county. The examination being satisfactory, the town plat was laid out in the
spring following, by Almon Ruggles, and lots offered for sale at from sixty to
one hundred dollars each. In the fall of 1817, Piatt Benedict built a log house
with the intention of removing his family there, but in his absence, it was de-
stroyed by fire. He reconstructed his dwelling shortly afterwards, and thus the
founding of the village was commenced. In the May following Norwalk was made
the county seat, and the public buildings subsequently erected. The year after a
census was taken and the population had reached one hundred and nine. In the
first few years of the settlement church organizations were formed, the Methodist
being the first, a class being formed in 1820. In 1821, the Episcopal church was
instituted. From that time to the present the town has grown with the progres-
sive increase of the county.
As Norwalk is so thoroughly sketched in the Centennial write-up, further
notice here is unnecessary.
EARLY HISTORY OF BELLE VU E AND ITS PROGRESS.
Bellevue is located on the north and south line between the counties of
Huron and Sandusky, being on the west line of the Connecticut Western Reserve,
one hundred and twenty miles west of the east line of the state of Ohio, and
one hundred and two miles cast of its western boundary, and is twelve miles south
of Sandusky Bay. It is on the line of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern
railroad, forty-five miles east of Toledo and sixty-seven miles west of Cleveland.
Immediately eastward lie the prairies, and. adjacent, on the west are what
was in early times called the "Oak Openings," and the vicinity on all sides is
first class farming land of hardly surpassed fertility and beauty.
The limestone formation— Silurian period — crops out a little east of town,
and its comb on edge, of varying width from two to four miles, extends in a
line nearly north and south from near Sandusky Bay, some fifteen miles south-
ward. The limestone is amply covered by the "drift" adapting the region to farm-
ing uses, but the rock is very much fractured and tilted, forming innumerable
crevices and caves, and so thick is the formation that these caves and crevices
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF Hl'ROX COl'NTY
185
form usually an abundant under drainage to the said limestone region and there
are no streams of any considerable length on the surface. At different places
these caverns cay be entered by passages leading down to the great reservoir
of waters below. This is what is consequently called the "sink-hole" region,
and is beyond question the source of the splendid springs of unfailing and abun-
dant water power to the mills of Gobi Creek and Venice and the village of
Bellevue whenever the times comes, may, by means of the proper machinery,
easily procure from this great natural reservoir an abundant supply of clear,
cold water.
The titles to land in the Huron county portion of the village have an interest-
ing history, going back to the charter of Charles the II., king of Great Britain,
in A. D. 1662, known as the Connecticut charter, and involving also interesting
events in the Revolutionary war, and subsequent accounts of congress and of the
state of Connecticut: but we have not space to pursue the subject.
Huron county was created by the act of February 7, 1807. and included all
the "Firelands." viz., five hundred thousand acres off the west end of the
Western Reserve, and was to be organized when the legislature should think
proper, but till then, was to remain as it then was. attached to Portage and
Geauga counties for judicial purposes. The War of 181 2. and other causes de-
ferred the organization of Huron county, until the 31st of January, 181 5.
The territory now embraced in Lyme and Groton townships was first or-
ganized as the township of Wheatsborough, being named after Mr. Wheat, who
owned a large tract in what is now Groton. In A. D. 1820, Lyme township was
organized, embracing its present territory and also a strip one mile wide next
north thereof now a part of Groton. In 1840, its limits were fixed as they now
are. Sandusky county was part of an old Indian territory, and was organized
April 1, 1820.
EARLIEST SETTLERS.
John Baker and his son, Hiram, Mark Hopkins, Elnathan George, Return
Burlinson. Charles F. Drake, James and John Kinney, Henry Williard, Thomas
G. Amsden, Frederick Chapman, Dr. Amos Amsden, N. Chapman and Dr. L.
G. Harkness are among the first settlers in the vicinity and of the above named
pioneers only three are still living, namely, Hiram Baker, Thomas G. Amsden
and Dr. L. G. Harkness.
FIRST SETTLERS WHO BUILT LOG CABINS IN WHAT IS NOW BELLEVUE.
The first settler within the present limits of Bellevue was Mark Hopkins, of
Genesee county. New York, who with his family located in the fall of 1815,
where Peter Bates now lives and built the first log cabin.
In February, 1815. John Baker, from Cortland county, New York, located
some two and one-half miles northeast from this place.
The next settler was Flnathan George, who came with his family in the
spring of 1816, from Genesee county, New York. He purchased one acre of
land of Gurdon Williams, for which he gave him a cow, and built the second
186
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
log house and fixed his home on the lot where the Tremont block still stands.
The next year he put up an addition to his dwelling, making it a "double-log-
hou.se," and opened a tavern. The settlements in this region were yet very sparse,
but the main line of travel between the east and west was the Strong's Ridge
road to this point.
Return Burlinson next came and fixed his home, on what is now known as
the Ilerl property, on the Sandusky county side in A. D. 1817, and started a
blacksmith shop. He at first bought two acres and afterwards bought eleven
one-hundredths of an acre more at the southeast corner of the same and built the
third log house thereon, and which stood partly in what is now Main street, a
little westward from the southwest corner of the present Exchange hotel and
nearly opposite the head of Kilbourne street. A year or two after Mr. John
Kinney completed a log house, near D. Moore's present blacksmith shop, mak-
ing the fourth habitation of this kind. He also followed blacksmithing.
Giarles F. Drake, in 1822 purchased of the United States "fractional-eighty,"
being the east one-half of southeast quarter of section twenty-five in York town-
ship, embracing most of the present village on the Sandusky side, and about
the same time Captain Zadoc Strong "entered" for Dr. James Strong the eighty
acres next west.
In the division of the Firelands among the "sufferers" that part next to
Bellevue fell to the Larimers, or they became the assignees of the same, and
it was known as the "Latimer tract." Gurdon Williams purchased of the Larimers
in 1 81 6, and Elnathan George bought of Williams. Elnathan George sold his
house to Charles F. Drake, Drake to James Kinney, brother to John, Kinney to
Hiram Baker, who remodeled it into a frame building in 1831. Baker then
transferred it to Mrs. Parmelee, Mrs. Parmelee to Lowell Chandler, who erected
the Tremont house in 1836. It passed through several hands and was then
again purchased by Lowell Chandler. Shortly after, Mr. J. Egle purchased it
and is still its proprietor. The building was occupied as a hotel but a few years,
when Mr. Chandler remodeled it into stores, which are now occupied by W. R.
W est and J. L Reis.
THE FIRST FRAME BUILDING.
The first frame building on the Sandusky county side, was erected by
Chapman & Amsden, on the ground where the Bellevue bank now stands, and
was used by them as a store, T. G. Amsden using the upper portion of this
building as a dwelling house. The next frame building on the same side was
a dwelling house built by N. Chapman, about 1829, in the rear of Good son &
Hubbard's drug store. When the present block was erected this building was 1
moved to the corner of Castalia and North streets. The third frame house Mr.
Return Burlinson erected on the lot now owned by Mrs. Herl, where it still
stands. Hiram Baker built the first frame building on the Huron county side, in
the year 1831, on the land on which the Tremont block is situated. This
building was burned shortly after. He immediately built another frame house
on the same spot, which was occupied by himself and Mr. D. H. Fitch. That
building now comprises the east part of the long building east of the Methodist
Episcopal church. In 1834, Mr. Fitch built another frame building.
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
187
THE FIRST ROAD THROUGH BELLEVUE.
In the fall of 1815, when Mr. Baker came here, there were scarcely any
public roads, although Indian trails were very thick. He and his son, Hiram,
cut a road through the woods from Russel's Corners to Strong's Ridge, where
they lived, to the stone quarries, about one mile west of town, and in the spring
of 1817 Hiram Baker was one of the party who commenced the road through
to Burd's, near Clyde, at which place, and also at Cook's Corners, they put up
guide boards, directing travelers to and from Lower Sandusky through Strong's
settlement, as it had usually gone from Cook's Corners to Pipe creek and up the
North Ridge. At this time there was not a settler between here and Fremont,
or Lower Sandusky, as it was then called.
FIRST STORES.
Thomas G. Amsden, who came into this country in December, 1819, in
company with Nathaniel and Frederick Chapman, has the honor of starting
the first store, which was opened in November, 1823, in a good sized log build-
ing. When he first came into the country, he was engaged in traffic with the
Indians and French.
FIRST HOTELS.
It was very essential for the weary traveler to have some place to rest and
refresh himself, and to provide for this, Mr. Elnathan George threw open the
doors of his log "mansion" and invited all who were in need of refreshments
for the "inner man," to make themselves at home under his roof. This was
done somewhere about 1816, from which time the first hotel takes its date. In
1829 the Exchange was built and opened by Chapman & Harkness.
FIRST DEATH, BIRTH AND MARRIAGE, SERMON AND CHURCH.
In the spring of 1817, Mrs. Mark Hopkins was bitten by a massauger, caus-
ing her death very shortly after. A few hours before her death she gave birth
to a daughter — Jeannette Hopkins. The child grew up to womanhood here. Said
birth and death were the first in Bellevue.
The first marriage was that of Israel Markham to Louise Leonard, in 1818,
at a house on the lot recently owned and occupied by H. M. Sinclair as his
residence.
The first sermon was by Rev. Lot B. Sullivan, in 1818 or 1819, at the house
of Elnathan George.
The first meeting house was on the lot where the Congregational church now
stands, and was built about A. D. 1837.
FIRST SCHOOL.
The first school was opened about the year 1830, at which date the first
school house was built, or rather the log building formerly used by Mr. Kinney
as a blacksmith shop, was remodeled. It stood in the angle of intersection of
Monroe and West streets.
188
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS.
The first manufacturing establishment was a blacksmith shop, owned by
Return Burlinson. Next was the shoe shop of H. Baker. After this Nathan
Colwell built a wagon shop. His brother soon followed him and made wagons
in a log building a few rods east of the Methodist Episcopal church. A saw
mill was next erected by Chapman & Amsden, near the distillery. A postoffice
was established here in 1830, with Frederic Chapman as postmaster and went
by the name of "York Cross Roads." In 1 83 1, Chapman & Amsden put in
operation a tannery. The first cabinet shop was opened by David and Benja-
min Moore, who for some time were the only furniture dealers in Bellevue. The
first practicing physicians were Urs. Harkness and Lathrop. and a Mr. Kent
opened the first law office.
The first mill in Lyme township, was built in 181 8, by John Baker, and was
used only to grind corn. Its construction was as follows: In the first place he
took a large white oak stump, perfectly sound, and built a fire on the top or rim
of the stump, with chips, etc. This he kept burning directed in such a manner
as to form a hole, mortar like, which would hold about one-half bushel of corn.
He then set up a crotch a short distance from it which supported a spring pole.
To the end of the hole he attached a pestle, with a pin through the handle.
About three quarts of corn was put in the mortar at a time, and the churn-like
operation of grinding would commence. People used to come miles to grind
corn enough to keep them alive until such times as they could get to Cold creek.
The finest of the ground corn was used for cake, and the coarsest for mush.
FIRST ELECTION IN LYME TOWNSHIP.
The first election in Lyme township was held in a log school house, on the
Ridge in April. 1820. The following were the officers elected: James Hamilton
and George Sheffield, justices of the peace ; Nathan Strong, Gurdon Williams and
Chester Hamilton, trustees; Joseph and Zadoc Strong, overseers of the poor;
J. Strong and J. Hamilton, fence viewers: Gurdon Williams. Lester G. Williams
and E. Hamilton, appraisers of personal property ; G. Williams and C. Hamilton,
constables; Frances Strong, treasurer, and George Sheffield, clerk.
"RATTLESNAKE DEN OR CAVE."
This cave, situated near the west border of Lyme township, was discovered
by Gurdon Woodward, in 1817. While hunting one day he saw a wild cat run
into a hole, and on removing a stone, discovered the cave. "It is one hundred
and fifty to two hundred feet in depth. At that part the clear water of the sub-
terranean stream, or river, runs north. The cave appears to be formed, or
part at least, by the washing away of the rocks or stones underneath, and the
falling flown of them from above. This process going on from year to year,
will remove a large amount of stone. The descent into the cave is sometimes
Steep and difficult, and in other places it i* a greatly inclined plane. The open-
ing is not in one room, but diversified. It extends north and south with the
Digitized by Google
y Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
191
course of the water a considerable distance. Its width is from one to four feet.
In former times, hundreds of rattlesnakes made this their den."
THE FIRST PAPER.
Bellevue's first paper was started in 1851, by G. W. Hopkins, in a small room
in the second story of the Howard Mansion, on Monroe street. It lived only
three or four months. It was a five column sheet, and bore the title of Bellevue
Gazette, and Huron, Seneca, Erie and Sandusky Advertiser. Its motto was
"Open to all." The next attempt to establish a paper was made by a Mr. Chap-
man, about thirteen years ago, which also proved a failure. His paper was
called the Bellevue Independent. In '67, E. P. Brown started the Bellevue
Gazette, which has been prospering ever since, and is now one of the ablest con-
ducted local journals in the United States.
THOROUGHFARES.
By a treaty between the United States and the Indians, the latter among
other stipulations, ceded to the former the right of way for a road one hundred
and twenty feet wide from the "west" line of the Western Reserve, to the foot
of the lower rapids of the Miami of Lake Erie, also the land to the extent of
one mile on each side of said roadway. The United States afterwards ceded
the same to the state of Ohio for the same purpose. In 1824 said road was laid
out and established on its present line, making its eastern terminus here in
connection with the "Strong's Ridge" road, and its construction immediately
commenced. This was the great starting point towards making a village here.
From Thomas G. Amsden the place was called "Amsden's Corners," and when
the principal roads were established here, it was called "York Cross Roads."
The last name was the one by which it was known abroad and received in the
transmission of letters and goods. The first postofiice here was called "York
Cross Roads."
The Kilbourne road through the influence of Colonel .Kilbourne and prin-
ciply under his management was laid out and established about 1830, from
Sandusky City to Upper Sandusky, running in a right line some sixteen or
seventeen miles from Sandusky City to near the line between Sandusky and
Seneca counties, where was a slight change in its direction to Melmore, etc. It
crossed the west line of the Firclands just ten miles from Sandusky, and passed
into Sandusky county, going about two miles west of Amsden's Corners, and near
the present residence of Amos Carver, and thence on, as aforesaid. Frederick
Chapman and others at once took measures to change its location, and in 1832
procured a change, so that, starting at a point in its original line about eight
miles southwest, it was laid directly to York Cross Roads, and in approaching
the place, the chimney of the "Stone House," (now Exchange hotel,) was an
object of direction of its central line. Between Sandusky City and said point
of deviation to this place, the "Kilbourne" was never opened on its first line.
Said change in its direction bringing its terminus here gave the "Corners" an-
192
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
other lift. Soon after a road was laid out hence to Sandusky City, on a route
near Parkertown, and corresponding very nearly with the subsequent line of the
Mad River & Lake Erie Railroad. But this was reviewed and changed, re-
sulting in the establishment of the present road to Cold Creek or Castalia.
The old Strong's Ridge road, or more properly "trail," at first ran along the
high ground south of Alfred Stebbins". to the sawmill, near the present site of
Woodward's distillery, and thence to where Main street now crosses the county
line. This accounts for the awkward angle at which Monroe street comes to the
center. The Strong's Ridge road was afterwards straightened upon its present
line and thus we see how it is that there is no known line in the village which
conforms to any point of the compass known to the science of navigation. Up
to this date the town had grown up "by guess."
WHEN BELLEVUE WAS SURVEYED AND LAID OUT.
In the year 1835, the land on the Huron county side consisting of fifty acres,
owned by Gurdon Williams, was purchased by F. Chapman, James Hollister,
Josiah Hollister. Thomas G. Amsden. L. G. Harkness and Pickett Latimer, and
during that year was surveyed and laid out into village lots by David Camp.
The lots varied in size and price, fifty dollars l>eing the average price for 2
quarter acre lot. In 1839 Chapman & Amsden, who at that time owned a large
quantity of land west of the county line, had it also surveyed and laid out. These
lots were somewhat larger. In order to induce people to locate here, they put
their prices at the lowest figures possible, giving long time, at the same time
taking great care never to sell to parties who wished to buy the land to speculate
on, their principal object being to build up a village.
•
MAD RIVER AND LAKE ERIE RAILROAD.
The Mad River & Lake Erie railroad, was completed from Sandusky City
to this place in 1839. James H. Bell, a civil engineer in the employ of said rail-
road company, was authorized to name the station here. He called it Bellevue,
as at once suggestive of his own name, and his idea of the appearance of the
place. Said railroad was extended to Republic and Tiffin, in 1841, and soon after
reached its connection with the Little Miami railroad at Springfield. The line
of the Mad River & Lake Erie railroad was changed between Tiffin and San-
dusky, and laid by way of Greenspring. Clyde and Castalia, in 1855, and the
track upon the Bellevue route taken up.
INCORPORATION OF BELLEVUE.
The town of Bellevue was incorporated by the act of the legislature, passed
January 25, 1 85 1, and its charter limits were about a mile from east to west
along Main street, and extending about one-quarter of a mile on either side of
the same, embracing nearly equal portions of Huron and Sandusky counties.
A government was organized February 24. 185 1. with the following officers:
mayor, Abraham Leiter; recorder, Samuel Z. Culver; trustees. Eliphalet D.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
193
Follett, Benjamin F. McKim, David Armstrong, Joseph M. Lawrence and Thomas
G. Amsden.
The Toledo, Norwalk and Qeveland railroad was located through this place
in 1852 and completed the following year. A new era was now dawning in
the history of the village, and from the time of the completion of the Lake
Shore road, dates the substantial progress of Bellevue. The quick eye of the
enterprising settler was equal to the emergency. Shops and business establish-
ments were erected with characteristic energy for the manufacture of such
commodities as the exigences of the place and its growing facilities rendered
necessary. When the town was incorporated, its population was about eight
hundred, but at the present time it numbers three thousand, five hundred and is
constantly increasing with corresponding vitality, and evidences of commercial
progress are manifested on every hand. In 1869 its corporate limits were much
enlarged, being made about one mile and a half square, and still being nearly
equally divided by two counties. We have not set forth in as nearly as possible
their order of occurrence the principal business events which have happened in
the history of Bellevue since the arrival of the first settlers, in 181 5. Every event
we have stated, carries with it some present interest in connection with the city's
rise and progress, especially to old settlers. Could the little company of set-
tlers in 181 5, amid the privations of their log cabins and the hardships of forest
life, have been told that in fifty years from that time Bellevue would be what
it now is, it would have required a strong faith to believe it. Most of the early
settlers have passed away, but their memories and works live green in the hearts
of many left behind. There are still a few remaining, however, in whose breasts
doubtless, linger happy memories of their early struggles, as with a glow of par-
donable pride they gaze upon the prosperity of the city they have helped to
build up, and witness her rapidly extending importance and probable destiny.
Capital and enterprise abound, and on every hand there teems evidence of a
vigorous prosperity, the end of which the future alone can reveal. The history
of the past few years is the index to that future and judging by the past, it is
but just to say that, under the protecting guidance of a beneficent Providence,
Bellevue is destined to become one of the most accumulative and progressive cities
in northern Ohio.
BELLEVUE OF TODAY.
Bellevue today can justly boast that she has within her borders over five
thousand souls, a prosperous industrial activity and untold wealth in the agri-
cultural community surrounding. The growth of Bellevue has not been of a
mushroom variety, but a steady, substantial increasing in the number of homes
and residents. Contrast the classified business list of Bellevue in 1873 with
that of today, and the reader has a most forcible exhibit of the increase in mer-
cantile pursuits. The past thirty years have been fraught with most important
developments. Three railroads in addition to the one then existing have been
laid through the town, and the longest electric line in the world traverses our
main street. Manufacturing has become an important factor in our welfare,
and the future seems to hold all things desired by the most optimistic.
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The people of Bellevue have been lavishly liberal for public and civic im-
provement. We feel safe in saying that no town of equal population has spent
so much money for public betterments and social conveniences than our little
city. Within the last seven years a reservoir has been added to our waterworks
equipment at a cost exceeding thirty thousand dollars ; a water conduit costing
seven thousand dollars has enlarged our water shed ; water mains have been
extended until the whole town is afforded ample fire protection and all who wish,
can have use of city water. This later work has entailed an expense approaching
twenty thousand dollars. This year a contract was let for reinforcing our
reservoir banks with concrete walls, and this work, when completed, will reach
fifteen thousand dollars in expense.
Several miles of street paving has been laid, and this year four streets have
thus been improved and the aggregate cost of this work for the last few years
is over one hundred thousand dollars. Bellevue can boast that she has as many
miles or more miles of paved streets than any town of its size in the state.
A new city hall and fire department headquarters have been erected in the
time specified and their total cost was over twelve thousand dollars. Sewers and
sink-holes have been constructed and drainage improved with consequent ex-
pense. AM other work incident to a growing town has been prosecuted promptly
and successfully and permanently accomplished.
The people of Bellevue gave generously to the establishment of a Y. M. C. A.
and a free public library. Both of these institutions, to which all of our citi-
zens may point with pride, were financed in one brief period, three years ago
We doubt if such a thing could be accomplished in a town twice the size of
Bellevue in the same length of time. Bellevue's contribution to these institutions
was close to twenty thousand dollars — a liberal Riving to a worthy cause for our
advancement. Last year one of the central school buildings received alterations
and additions, that cost nearly twelve thousand dollars. The new central school
building which was erected, but a few years ago. caused an outlay of over thirty
thousand dollars.
Private individuals have also spent money in that time in the improvement
of real estate holdings. Manufacturers have added to their plants and new
plants have been established.
PLYMOUTH.
Plymouth was founded without design, and is situate at the intersection of the
State road and BeaH's trail, thirty-five miles south of Sandusky. The main
street of the village is the county line between Huron and Richland. Owing to its
situation a number of houses were built at the intersection of the roads mentioned,
and in time the que-tion of organizing a village was successfully mooted.
The town was first called Paris, but upon its organization in 1825 its name was
changed to Plymouth. The village was incorporated in 1834, but the records
previous to 1855 are not in existence. The postoffice of the village is south of
Main street, which places it in Richland county.
Although the town is about half and half in each county, perhaps the greater
number of business houses are on the north, or Huron county line. To show the
interest taken by the founders of the town in education, it is only necessary to state
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OK HURON COUNTY
195
that the same year the town was laid out a school house was built, and in 1830 a
ladies seminary was founded, and the young ladies of the surrounding country
very generally took advantage of the opportunity afforded them of acquiring a
seminary education.
In 1875 the common schools were opened in a fine new building of six rooms
and three hundred and fifty pupils were enrolled.
Plymouth now has two steam railroads and a trolley line.
At irregular intervals for years past reports have been made of the discovery of
coal near Plymouth. But such "discoveries" never materialized. And reports have
been circulated that the shaft had been "salted." It is a legitimate part of the
work of the geological survey to expose and prevent frauds, but not to assert
that any particular individual has perpetrated a fraud. Thin seams of carbonaceous
matter or beds of bituminous shale may be reached by boring. Coal, if discovered
in that locality, would have to be found below the carboniferous conglomerate, be-
neath which stratum coal has never been found in paying quantities.
In the ante railroad days, "going to the lake" meant a trip to Portland or Huron
by teams and wagons, and these teams passed through Plymouth in long pro-
cessions enrout< to the lake. What a change the inaudible and noiseless foot of
time has made since then.
Monteith's lake, two miles south of Plymouth, is the head waters of the
Huron river.
The Sandusky, Norwalk & Mansfield trolley line passes through Monteith's
grounds, and the place is now a picnic and summer resort and is called the Huron
Valley Amusement Park.
LIST OF TOWNSHIPS IN HURON COUNTY.
Nineteen in number. (Alphabetically arranged.)
Bronson, Clarksfield, Fairfield, Fitchville. Greenfield, Greenwich, Hartland,
Lyme. Norwalk, New London. New Haven, Norwich, Peru, Richmond, Ridge-
field, Ripley, Sherman, Townsend, Wakeman.
BRONSON TOWNSHIP.
Bronson township still retains its original name. In the spring of 1817, Nor-
walk and Bronson were incorporated as a township for business and held their
firit election at Hanson Reed's.
The township derived its name from Isaac Rronson, one of the principal owners
of the land.
The township, while generally kvel, is diversified by the branches of the Huron
in the western part. In this portion of the township the soil is a loamy clay mixed
with gravel, while the eastern half is mostly clay. Sandstone of the newer forma-
tion underlies a considerable portion of the township, and is quarried in some
portions to a considerable extent. The varieties of timber were whitewood, hick-
ory, beech, white ash, black walnut, the oak in several varieties, butternut, bass-
wood, elm, sycamore, chestnut, and some other kinds of less importance. Several
of the eastern branches of the Huron river run through the township, their general
196
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
course being northwest. The stream called East branch crosses the southwest
corner of the township, and another crosses the northeast corner, while High
Bridge creek flows from the southeast part to the northwest.
The animals of the forest were the bear, deer, wolf, wild cat, fox, raccoon,
opossum, etc. The wild turkey was the principal bird, and was quite abundant.
Bears were not infrequently seen, but were not often killed. Deer were numerous,
and venison was a common article of food with the earlier settlers. Their skin
was an article of clothing, as well as of trade. Two deer skins would suffice to
make a pair of pantaloons, and one would face a pair. The facing was done by
sewing the neck of the hide on to the seat, and the half of the balance on the front
of each leg, with a strip around the bottom.
The woods abounded in wolves, and they were a great annoyance to the farmer.
It was usual to pen their sheep up at night, in rail pens, built near the house, for to
leave them out at night was to insure their destruction.
Rattlesnakes also were very numerous in the first settlement of the township,
more especially in the vicinity of the streams.
The first habitation erected in Bronson, for the abode of civilized people, was
the log cabin of the squatter, John Welch, built in the summer of 1815. He came
from Pennsylvania with his family and located west of the creek, opposite Mr.
Kellogg's. His parents and his brothers came in soon after, some of whom located
in Peru, but none of the family made a permanent settlement.
OLENA VILLAGE.
In the southeast part of the township, on the Hartland line, is the village of
Olena, the first house in which was built by William H. Burras, in 1832. He
purchased sixteen acres of land on the southeast corner of the cross-roads, and put
up a log house. He married Ruth Palmer, daughter of Abijah Palmer, of Fitch-
ville, September 22, 1835, and moved into his log cabin, previous to which he had
occupied with his parents.
Samuel Burras, an older brother of William, came with his family from the
state of New York a short time afterward, and first located on the old State road,
but soon after bought a short distance southeast of Olena and erected a log house,
which was one of the first buildings in the place.
Among the earliest houses built at Olena, besides those mentioned, were those
of Joel Wooley, on the southwest corner of the cross-roads; Hiram Allen, on the
northwest corner, and John Moore a short distance west of Allen.
The first tavern at Olena was kept, in a small way, by Benjamin Drake in a log
house some twenty rods south of the corners about the year 1835. In 1840, Daniel
Angcll bought out Drake, and his son, Ephraim Angell, continued the tavern about
two years, when he bought the sixteen acres of William H. Burras and erected a
framed hotel on the southeast corner of the cross-roads and kept a tavern there
for ten years. Andrew Godfrey built a frame tavern on the southwest corner and
kept the first postoffice there. The tavern business at this point, in the olden times
of wagon trade was something immense. Mr. Angell reports that he used fre-
quently to keep over a single night more than a hundred teams and teamsters. The
rate was fifty cents, including supper and breakfast for a man and four-horse team.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
197
The first store at Olena was occupied by Noah Close, but at what date we are
unable to determine. The business, however, was not extensively carried on until
about 1850, when C. W. Manahan and Courtland Cannon established a store on
the southeast corner in the building formerly occupied as a hotel by Mr. Angell.
They continued some two years and until the death of Cannon when Lewis Mana-
han became a partner of his brother. The village was formerly called Angell's
Corners and continued to be so called for several years, when, at a public meeting
of the citizens, the name was changed to Olena.
We date the actual settlement of the township from the arrival of Benjamin
New comb and family, who moved in in the winter of 181 5- 16 and settled on lot
number four, section number three.
The next settler was Martin Kellogg. He and his family consisting of his wife
and three daughters.
The first white child born in Bronson was Timothy T. Newcomb, son of Ben-
jamin and Stata Newcomb. He was born July 6, 181 6, the next day after the
burial of his father, who was killed by the kick of a horse.
The first couple married was Lott Herrick and Lola Sutliff. This event oc-
curred October 16, 1818, at the house of Nathan Sutliff.
The first death was that of Benjamin Newcomb, who was killed by the kick
of a horse, July 4, 1816.
The first school in Bronson was kept by Lola Sutliff, in the log barn of Martin
Kellogg, in the summer of 1818. Her scholars were Maudane, Lucy, Rebecca and
Polly Kellogg ; Lucy, Jane, Tina, Eleanor and John Ammerman ; Peggy and John
Welch. The teacher received seventy-five cents per week, her wages being paid
by the parents in proportion to the number of children sent.
The first school-house was built of logs on the north part of Nathan Sutliff's
farm in the fall of 1819. Martin Kellogg taught the school in it the next winter
and was the first male teacher in the township. The house was unfinished at the
time he opened his school, and he and William W. Beckwith put it in condition for
occupancy. He had about twenty scholars and received fifteen dollars per month.
The earliest religious meetings were held at this school-house, and a remarkable
revival occurred there in the winter of 1823-24 when twenty-one heads of families
were converted and afterwards united with the church.
The first school-house erected for the benefit of the State road settlement was
built on the north town line.
The first postoffice was established at the center of the township about the year
1829 or '30. John Lyon was the first postmaster.
In the early settlement of the township the settlers obtained their grinding
usually at the grist mill of David Mack, at Macksville, sometimes at Carkhuff's
mill in Greenfield, and occasionally even at Mansfield.
There have been a number of sawmills erected in the township. There were
formerly five in operation on High Bridge creek at the same time.
CLARKSFIELD TOWNSHIP.
BY DR. T. E. WEEKS.
In dividing the Firelands in 1808 the township of Clarksfield was assigned to
the holders of the original claims of one hundred and seventeen persons whose
198
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
claims amounted to eight thousand, three hundred and thirty-nine pounds, worth
then twenty-seven thousand, seven hundred and ninety-seven dollars, but these
claims had been scaled down to seventeen thousand, nine hundred and twenty-four
dollars, which is a little more than a dollar an acre. After the state of Ohio had in-
corporated the company known by the long name of the "Proprietors of the Half
Million Acres of Land Lying South of Lake Erie, Called Sufferers' Land." the di-
rectors assessed a tax of two cents on the pound on the original losses for the pur-
pose of defraying the necessary expense of surveying and dividing the lands. Many
of the owners failed to pay this trifling tax and the lands were sold at "Publick
Vendue." as the deeds state, in 1808. Comfort Hoyt, Jr., was one of the tax col-
lectors and among other claims sold to Zadock Starr claims amounting to seven
hundred and forty-seven dollars for ten dollars and six cents ; to Ezra Wildman
claims amounting to five hundred and sixty-nine dollars for seven dollars and
eighty-four cents; to John Dodd claims amounting to eight hundred and sixty-two
dollars for nine dollars and sixty-four cents, and other claims at like discounts.
This indicates that the original claimants were often indifferent or too poor to pay
the tax. Undoubtedly the most of the original sufferers or their heirs realized
but little from the grant of the land. When the drawing for the division of the
Firelands was made on the 9th of November, 1808, the several sections of Clarks-
field township were drawn by the following persons and their claims entitled them
to the number of acres opposite their names :
First, or southeast section,
William Walton 2253
Timothy Chittenden, Jr 1886
Second, or northeast section,
James Clark 698
Curtis Clark 924
Joseph Trowbridge 1962
Capt. John McLean 443
Timothy Chittenden. Jr 122
Third, or northwest section.
John Dodd 685
L. Phillips 685
Philo Calhoun 683
Zadock Starr 687
Timothy Chittenden 586
Daniel Minor 809
Fourth, or southwest section,
Comfort Hoyt. Jr 2902
J. H. Gregory 2G
Ezra Dibble 1178
The township was named from James Clark, who was one of the greatest suf-
ferers from the incursions of the British in the Revolutionary war. The town-
ship contains more than sixteen thousand acres, as it is a little more than five miles
square.
.At the first meeting of the commissioners of Huron county, held at the county
scat north of Milan, near Abbott's bridge, on the 1st day of August. 1815. Yer-
Digitized by Google
MILL DAM IN IAMAKY. CLARKSFIELD
y Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
201
million township was organized to contain the whole of the twentieth range, that is,
the townships of Vermillion, Florence, Wakeman, Clarksfield, New London and
Ruggles. It also included "all of that portion of Huron county east of the Fire-
lands," which was a considerable of the present county of Lorain. March 2, 1818,
New London township was organized to comprise the townships of Ruggles, New
London and Clarksfield. March 8, 1820, the commissioner "ordered that townships
number three, in the twentieth and twenty-first ranges (Clarksfield and Hartland),
be and the same are hereby organized into a separate township with all the priv-
ileges belonging thereto, by the name of Bethel." In 1826 the two townships were
organized under their present names.
At the December meeting of the county commissioners in 181 5 a road was
ordered to be laid out as follows: "Beginning at the end of the north and south
road which is now laid out from the lake to the south line of Jessup (now Florence),
thence to continue through the twentieth range to the south line of said twentieth
range through the settlement in New London." This road was cut out during the
winter and is the one upon which the village of Clarksfield is located. The settle-
ment in New London was south of the present town of New London. On the
28th day of March, 1816, two brothers, Hosea and Hiram Townsend, left Florence
with an ox team on their way from Massachusetts to New London, and are said
to have been the first persons to drive a team over this road. In 1810 Benjamin
Stiles of New York city purchased of John Dodd one thousand, two hundred and
ninety-five acres of land in Clarksfield township, at one dollar per acre. In 1817,
Samuel Hustcd purchased of John Dodd an undivided interest in seven hundred
and eight-two acres for one thousand, six hundred dollars. At this time all of
the third section except one tier of lots on the south side was owned in common
by F-zra Dibble, Comfort Hoyt, Jr., Timothy Chittenden, Jr., Benjamin Stiles and
Samuel Husted. May 14, 1817, they quit claimed to each other definite portions
of this land, Chittenden getting five hundred and ninety-five acres ; Dibble & Hoyt,
six hundred and ninety-three; Stiles, one thousand, three hundred, and Husted,
seven hundred and fifty-two. May 19, 1817, John Dodd sold to Nathaniel and Ezra
Wood, brothers, of Danbury, Connecticut, a piece of land in common in the second
section, to contain one hundred and twenty-six acres, for two hundred fifty-two
dollars and fifty-six cents. Another deed located the land in lot seventeen and
Nathaniel soon sold his interest to Ezra. In the same year, 1817, Abraham Gray
purchased of Dodd and Dibble lot thirteen in the second section (the lot next east
of the Daniel Rowland farm).
In September, 181 7, Benjamin Benson purchased lot seven in the third section
for three hundred and thirty-five dollars. In 181 1 Comfort Hoyt, Jr., deeded to
his son Simeon one hundred and fifty-nine acres of lot six in the fourth section and
to his daughter Dolly lot four in the same section. This land which comprises the
north part of Andrew Blackman's farm and the farm of George Smith was given
by her to the First Congregational church in 1826, but was deeded back to the
heirs of Comfort Hoyt in 1844.
In 1817, a number of the men who became pioneers of Clarksfield owned land
here and in this year we find the first attempt to make a break in the forest. Samuel
Husted was a stirring man of thirty-eight years of age and with a growing family,
living at Danbury, Connecticut, and he decided to set up a home for himself on the
Digitized by LjOOQle
202
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
land he owned in Ohio — that land of promise so far away from civilization. Ezra
Wood, a young man whose wife was a niece of Mrs. Husted, also desired to see
the new country. These two men started from Danbury in a one-horse wagon
May 19, 1817. The narrative of their journey has fortunately been preserved in
print. We quote from the narrative of Jonathan Fitch in the Firclands Pioneer
of June, 1864: "On the 19th day of May, 1817, I left Norwalk, Connecticut, for
Ohio, in company with Capt. Adam Swan, his Irishman Kclley and John and Seth
Keeler. We went by the way of New York city, which we reached about noon on
the 20th. After resting a few hours we crossed the river to what is now Jersey.
City, and reaching Morristown we put up for the night. Moving forward the next
morning, we arrived at the top of a long hill al>out mid-day when we stopped by
the wayside, fed our horses and resorted to our provision chest. While eating we
discovered two men in a one-horse wagon ascending the hill. As they came near
they raised the shout : 'Hurrah for Ohio!" They proved to he strangers to us. but
we were not long in making their acquaintance. They were Captain Husted and
a Mr. Wood (given name not remembered). They hailed from Danbury. Con-
necticut, atul were bound for Ohio. Learning at Norwalk of our departure, they had
hastened to overtake us. Our numbers being thus increased to seven, we moved
on over hills, valleys, rivers and mountains to Pittsburg, which we reached the
8th of June. Here we rested for the Sabbath. Monday we traveled on to the west
side of the Big Beaver bridge, where our new acquaintances left us, taking to the
right hand road to go to Clarksfield, Huron county, while we kept on direct to
Mansfield. Richland county. We arrived at Mr. Giles Swan's north of Mansfield
June 17th." In the same year Mr. Fitch started back to Connecticut on horse-
back. He and another man left Mr. Swan's, near Mansfield, November 10, 1817.
He says : "On our journey east of Pittsburg we met an ox team with household
goods. I told Smith it must be Captain Husted, but the driver was a stranger to
me. We soon, however, met three horse teams. I raised a hurrah for Captain
Husted, and in response he dropped his lines and waded through the mud to reach
me upon my horse. He said he was overjoyed to see one he knew. A Mr. Starr,
T think, was with him. After a brief interview we bade each other farewell and
went on our ways." Husted anil Wood went to Florence and stopped with Major
Barnum, another Danbury man who had come to Florence ci.^ht years before.
Fitch says that his party reached Mansfield June 17th and we may reasonably sup-
pose that Husted and Wood reached Florence about the same time. Making Flor-
ence their headquarters, they came over into the woods of Clarksfield on HustedV
land and worked for six weeks, preparing the timbers for a log cabin and clearing
off the trees adjoining. Six men raised the house and these men were probably
from Florence. W ood says that Husted cut the first tree and built the first house
in the township, and F. M. Barnum. who came two years later, also says that
Husted put up the first house. We find no reason to dispute this claim Husted
and Wood went back to Danbury after this.
There is considerable uncertainty in regard to the first actual settler in the
township, but we believe the weight of evidence is in favor of the statement that
the family of Stephen Post was the first to live here, although Ezra Wood, Benja-
min Benson and E. M. Barnum, who have written sketches of the pioneer settle-
ment of the township, fail to mention Mr. Post, but Simeon Hovt. who came in
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
203
1 817, says that Mr. Post was here when he came. Although we believe Mr. Husted
built the first house his family did not come until some months afterward. Bush-
nell Post, a son of Stephen, tells the story of his father's journev to Ohio in the
following words: "In the year 1815, down in the Empire state and in the rich
valley of Genesee, there lived a family of Posts, a family of Miners, a family of
Russells and a family of Andersons, all neighbors, or what was called neighbors
in those early days, for though some miles of wooded roads lay between them,
yet their social gatherings and their friendly greetings proclaimed them neighbors
indeed. These four families consisted of the following persons: Stephen Post,
my father; Sally Post, my mother; sisters Cynthia and Anna, brothers Isaiah,
Stephen and William, and the baby, sister Lucinda; and connected with the family
as a hired man at this time was Zara C. Norton, in all nine persons. Asel Miner
and his wife, Polly Miner, George Miner, Joel and Albert Miner make up a family
of six. The Russells were three in number ; the mother and the two sons, Olcott
and Charles; and in the other was Henry Anderson, his wife and a daughter,
Laura, and connected with the family was Simeon Munson, who came down from
Ohio to help move them. The sum total of persons were twenty-two. Some time
in the month of December, 1815, these four families came together with their
goods packed and piled on three or four sleds, and one wagon was loaded with
goods, and these loads were to be hauled by three or four ox teams and two spans
of horses. Around were gathered six cows, three hogs and one pet sheep. The
little lads, with sticks in their hands, were behind to drive the drove, the women and
little children were tucked in among the goods, the drivers were at their post, with
their faces set toward the frozen waters of Lake Erie, and with a crack of the
whip they move on over the creaking snow. * * * They reach the place where
the great city of Cleveland now stands, and — what do they find? One solitary
log hotel down on the bottoms of the Cuyahoga river, but are told that there are
a few houses up on the hills. On, on, we trace them ; we hear the little lads com-
plain of sore feet and weary limbs, the little children cry with cold and hunger,
the mothers with anxious care, can but heave a sigh, and the father's whoa, haw,
gee, with energy rings out along the wooded way. The most serious mishap hap-
pens as they near the mouth of the Vermillion, where an ox sled capsized on the
uneven ice that was cracked and bulged here and there, and scattered its contents
over the ice just as the shades of night were setting thick and fast. A box of axes
found a crack in the ice and slumped through and found a resting place in the
gravelly bed of the lake. The goods were gathered up that night lest a wind
should spring up and ice, goods and all be among the missing ere the dawn o r
another day. But the ice was there ; the crack was found and the box of axes wa
fished out of eight or ten feet of water the next morning. Arriving at what it
known as Spraguc's corners in Florence, my father's family put up for the rest of
the winter — it now being the last of December or some time the first of January,
1816 — while the other three families held on for New London. In the spring of
this year our family moved to New London and into the house belonging to Benja-
min Hendricks and near the west line of the farm now owned by George Bissell.
Here they raised corn, potatoes and garden sauce on the little opening that Hen-
dricks had made, and during that fall they built a house in the southwest corner
of Clarksfieid. and the foundation lo^ were laid very near where now stands the
Digitized by Google
204
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
•
neat and trim white house of Mr. Dunning. They moved to this round log struc-
ture some time that fall or winter— the opening of 1817 — there being but one
white person living in the township at the time, he being an old bachelor who had
a shanty on the place now owned by Mrs. Baldwin — a Mr. Osmer by name who was
there when our family moved into that good old log home built beneath the shades
of the towering trees of southwest Clarksfield. * * * And here, above all
other events on the first day of June, 181 7, the first white child of the township
was born — my youngest sister, Almira. Here, too, occurred the first wedding of
the township, Zara C. Norton, being wedded to my oldest sister, Cynthia, and the
knot was tied by 'Squire Case of New London. This wedding is down in the
pioneer book of this county as having taken place in New London. But this is a
mistake ; it took place in the first log house built in Clarksfield, it being the one
built by the hands of my father. * * * The nearest mill was eighty miles
away, down on Owl creek, where my father went once the first year we lived in
New London with a wagon loaded with corn and wheat and a pair of oxen and
one horse hitched ahead of them to haul the load, my oldest brother riding the
horse to lead the way and Philo T. Porter bringing up the rear with another ox
team hauling another wagon like loaded. Well, they made the trip and returned
home in three weeks, being delayed by high waters, where they found hungry,
anxious friends awaiting them. Our people lived on the Clarksfield farm two
years, but the trouble to get to mill caused them to move to Richland county and
settle near where Hayesville now is. Here they lived for two years." In another
article Mr. Post tells about his father's family coming to Ohio and says that it
was in 1816 that they started from their home in the east and 1817 when they went
to New London and moved into a house built by a Mr. William Hendrix, "and
where on June 1st a little sister was born."
"Here thev tarried for only a short time, until a house could be built on a sec-
tion of land in the southwest comer of Clarksfield, where they moved in the fall
and where they lived for a year or two." Our readers will notice that there are
some differences in these two statements. One makes the date of their arrival in
New London and Clarksfield a year later than the other. One says that the baby
sister was born in Clarksfield. and the other that she was born in New London ;
one says that the house they moved into was built by Benjamin Hendriks, the other
by William Hendrix. [The latter was a son of the former.] These discrepancies
lessen the historical value of the statements and we must look for corroborating
evidence. Dr. Skellenger says that the younger Stephen Post said that they
came to Clarksfield in 1816, but he (Skellenger) upon investigation thinks it was
a year later. In the history of New London township Dr. Skellenger says that
Stephen Post, Henry Anderson and Mrs. Russell and her sons came to New Lon-
don in 181 7. It seems the most reasonable to suppose that Mr. Post came to
Clarksfield in the fall of 1817, after spending the summer in New London.
Zara C. Norton, who came to Ohio with the family of Stephen Post, was bom
in Wolcott, Connecticut, November 15, 1799. He was married to Cynthia Post
October 14. 1818, by Esquire Case of New London, and this was the first wedding
in Clarksfield. After their marriage they lived with Mr. Post, went to Richland
county with him and came back with him, but then settled in a log house on the
north side of the town line road east of Barrett's Comers, on a farm now owned
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
2U5
by Edward Hubbard. The little red house was built by Mr. Norton in later years.
In 1829 he was licensed to exhort and to preach in 1833. At this time he went on
the circuit as a Methodist minister and was away from home much of the time.
In 1840 he was admitted to conference and in 1841 he was assigned to a circuit in
Williams county and remained for two years, but the family remained on the farm.
In the fall of 1817 Simeon Hoyt and Smith Starr started from Danbury, Con-
necticut, with their families, in a wagon drawn by two yoke of oxen and one horse
and after a journey lasting six weeks they reached Clarksfield in October. Hoyt
settled on his farm in the south part of the township where Sherman Smith after-
ward lived and died. It will be remembered that Mr. Hoyt was one of the party
ol surveyors who surveyed the Firelands in 1806 and later. In 1809 Comfort
Hoyt, the father of Simeon, and one of the original proprietors of the Firelands,
came out to see the land and was taken sick at Huron. Simeon sent to Cleveland
for a doctor. After a while he recovered so as to be able to travel. Simeon had
mtended to remain longer, but was obliged to return to Connecticut with his father.
Years afterward, when he was seventy years of age, Comfort Hoyt came to Ohio
on horseback to visit his children, and returned to Connecticut the same way. In
describing his experiences Simeon says: "I came with an ox team in company
with Smith Starr. We were six weeks on the road. I had previously purchased
the land on which I moved. It was nearly all a wilderness at that time. A few
families were living in New London and Stephen Post in this town. We found
it hard times. Provisions were scarce and high, and no roads. How we ever
lived I can hardly tell, but we did, and in a few years became situated very com-
fortably." Also in another letter: "My family the first year comprised eleven
persons, and it was no easy matter to provide provisions for so large a household.
We obtained some flour from Richland county and some from Huron, and made
use of pounded corn some of the time. After the first year we were not troubled
for the necessities of life."
Smith Starr, who came with Simeon Hoyt, was a son of Peter, son of Samuel,
son of Samuel, son of Josiah, son of Thomas, son of Dr. Comfort Starr, who came
from England to Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1634, and later to Boston. He
was born at Ridgefield, Connecticut, and was married to Joanna Knapp in 1805.
When they came to Clarksfield they had a number of children, John T., the oldest,
being eleven years old. They first moved into the log house which Captain Husted
had built in June until their own house could be put up. This was built on the
south hill near the site of the fine frame house which he built afterwards and which
was his home until his death. It is now owned by Grant Johns. He was a shoe-
maker by trade and brought leather on his back from the nearest tannery, some
thirty miles distant. His shop and tools were destroyed by fire, so he gave up the
business and built a sawmill on the bank of Spring brook in 1819, the first sawmill
in the town. He was a useful man in the community and served as postmaster
for many years.
The first of November, 1817, Samuel Husted again started from Danbury, Con-
necticut, for Ohio, but this time he brought his family of wife and six children
with him. Hester Paul and Jachim Morris must have come with them as members
of the family. Eli Seger and family also accompanied them. The Mr. Starr
which Fitch mentions as being with Husted was not Smith Starr. Mary Jane
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Husted was only six weeks old when they started and her cradle was a basket
hung from the top of the covered wagon and she is said to have been the least
trouble of any of the children. Probably the swaying of the wagon as it passed
over the rough roads kept her cradle rocking. They were six weeks on the road.
Husted drove an ox team with a white horse ahead. This animal lived for many
years afterward and was known by the name of "Knitting Work," on account of
her nipping kind of a gait. A piece of their wagon is still preserved by the young-
est son. They came by the way of Pittsburg, Petersburg, Canficld, Rocky River,
Ridgeville and Black river, as an old account book shows. Husted furnished the
means to pay Seger's way and charged him fourteen dollars for carrying a chest
three hundred miles. He went into his own log cabin which stood near the brow
of the hill north of the Hollow, near Albert Stone's house. After a few years he
built the first frame house in the township in the Hollow, near the brick store. The
oid log hoii'C was used for a school house.
Benjamin Benson was a butcher in New York city. He was a member of the
First Troop of Horse Artillery under Colonel Joseph Bogart in the war of 1812,
and spent a little time in camp when the troops were called out to defend the city
against an expected attack of the British, but did not see active service. He pur-
chased a piece of land here in Clarksficld in the summer of 1817. He started for
Ohio Octobtr 14, 1817. He says: "Traveling was very expensive, even when
a man drove his own team, owing chiefly to the great flood of emigration at that
time settling toward the west. The price of oats on the main thoroughfares would
average about seventy-five cents a bushel, with hay proportionately dear. Our
destination was Clark>field, Huron county. Ohio, and we arrived at Florence on
the 2d day of December, where we were accommodated by Major Barnum with
shelter within the body of a log house without chimney or floor or anything but
the bare log- with open spaces of three or four inches between them, thus affording
very inadequate protection again>t the rigor of winter, which, after our arrival
had begun in good earnest and continued through the months of January and
February at a temperature with little variation, bordering upon zero. During this
time we built a log cabin and before the spring opened we had removed to our
intended future home." This cabin stood near the place where Robert Hurlbut
afterward built his house, on the road about a half mile south of the Hollow.
Aaron Rowland was born in 1780, in a military camp at Danbury. Connecticut.
In 1799 he was married to Deborah Dean of Carmel, New York. They located
i.t Southeast. Putnam county. New York. Mr. Rowland was a miller by trade
and operated flouring and sawmills along the Croton river. On the 10th day of
October, 1818, he started from Southeast in a wagon drawn by two yoke of oxen
and one horse. His family consisted of a wife and six children. Accompanying
him was his brother-in-law. Fzra Wood, and family. They reached Clarksficld
November 18th. Captain Husted's wife was an aunt to Mr. Rowdand and Mrs.
Wood, so all hands found shelter in Mr. Husted's log cabin. This addition must
have swelled the number of inmates to about twenty. The probability is that the
Husted family were glad to see some of their own folks and willing to be crowded
for a short time. Mr. Husted charged Mr. Wood four dollars for a week's board
for himself and wife. Mr. Rowland found employment at once in Captain Hus-
ted's new grist mill. Perhaps he had come here with that understanding. He
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
207
built a log house a little ways north of Husted's house where Ezra Wildman after-
wards lived, near the house of Mrs. Hubbell. He operated the mill when there was
water and attended to farming at other times until 1822, when he moved to his
own land which he had bought before he came here.
The first physician to make a settlement in the wilderness of Clarksfield was
Andrew McMillan. He was of Scotch parentage but was born in the state of New
York. About 1820 he came with his father's family to a farm near Monroeville
and in July, 1822. he came to Clarksfield.
Joseph Osyer moved from Canada to Berlin and in 1820 to Hartland Ridge,
settling on the farm known as the Kno Holiday farm. In 1824 he sold out his
place and moved to Clarksfield. living in a log house on the farm of Benjamin
Stiles, hack of Charles Fisher's house. He used to make many shingles and had a
shed near his house where he used to shave the shingles. The Stiles hoys and
others of the neighborhood used to like to go there and watch him at work. He
received two dollars per thousand for his shingles, and the price seems small
when we consider that every shingle was split and shaved by hand and made of
the very best oak or whitewood timber.
On the 3d day of November, 1820, "the inhabitants of Bethel were legally
warned for the purpose of building a bridge across the V ermillion river." This
was without doubt the bridge at the "Hollow."
In 1825 Joseph Waldron received two dollars for putting up guide boards.
In April, 1825, after the separation of the townships the following officers were
elected in Clarksfield: Andrew McMillan, clerk; Asa Wheeler, Jr., Piatt Sexton
and Sheldon Freeman, trustees: Samuel Husted and John Hough, overseers of the
poor ; Ira Feck and Andrew McMillan, fence viewers ; Smith Starr, Lister and An-
drew McMillan, appraisers of property; Aaron Rowland, treasurer; Levi Barnum
and Stiles Webb, constables; John Wriker, John Hough, Stephen Fost, Ezra Row-
land and Harvey Webb, supervisors. In May the trustees divided the township
into four school districts and made a list of the householders, forty- four in number.
Samuel Stiles, who was born November 13. 1818. was without doubt the first
white child born in the township and Bethiah Wheeler was the first girl. Dorothy
Benson, who was born January 9. 1819, was probably the third white child born
here. The first death, as before stated, was that of Ephraim Scger, which occurred
on the 27th or 28th of August, 1818. He had been sent on an errand by his father
and when he returned was set to work picking up chips to put on a log heap. He
was soon heard to exclaim. "What has bit me!" A large rattlesnake was found
in the weeds and was quickly put into the burning log heap. It was found that
the boy had been bitten on the wrist and he died three days afterward. In 1820
Horace Bodwell went down into Levi Barnum's well, a very deep one. on the
Abraham Gray place, and was overcome with the "damps." and fell to the bottom.
Omri Nickerson went down and after several attempts succeeded in fastening a
rope to the body and it was drawn out. but life was extinct. Two deaths by fall-
ing trees, those of Henry Yanderveer and Rodney Blackman, occurred soon after
the settlement of the town.
The first wedding in the township was that of Zara C. Norton and Cynthia
Post, on the 14th day of October, 1818, and the second was that of Obadiah
Jcnney and Hester Paul.
Digitized by Google
208
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Captain Husted, who always had an eye to the "main chance," saw the great
inconvenience of the absence of a grist mill and soon set to work to supply that
deficiency. He began the work of building a mill in April, 1818, and it was
finished in September. The dam had a foundation of rock and has not had as
many mishaps as the most of mill dams. The mill stood near the center of the
present road running west from the village of Clarksfield, in front of the Daniels
house and one of the old mill stones is doing duty as a horse block in front of that
house. It was made from a granite rock. The mill was an unhandy building, two
stories high and all the grain had to be carried up a steep, winding stairway. It
had one run of stones. The stream went dry in the summer and those settlers
who did not lay up a supply of flour and meal had to go to some other mill. Be-
fore this mill was built the settlers here went to Merry's mill at Milan or to Rich-
land county. This mill stood for about twenty years. The first sawmill in the
township was built by Smith Starr in 1820. It stood east of the Hollow on th^
bank of Spring brook, some distance south of the road and some remains of the
dam are yet to be seen. The dam once broke and the flood of water cut a channel
through the road at the foot of the east hill. About 1823 Levi Barnum built a saw-
mill on the east branch of the Vermillion river, short distance north of Rowland's
Corners. He sold out to Asa Wheeler, Jr., and Joseph Bartholamew in a few
years. It thus appears that Clarksfield was well supplied with mills early in the
settlement of the township.
Benjamin Benson says : "The first trading establishment, if it be worth name,
was opened by Richard T. Huyck in the Hollow. He sold rum, a few articles of
stone ware, a trifling amount of groceries and called it a store. Some of the inhabi-
tants would meet there ; the rum was good for the men to get drunk on, and but
little else." We think Captain Husted must have been the first and principal mer-
chant in town. In a few years (probably after he had built his frame house at the
Hollow) he built a store across the street from his house, about where the hotel
now stands. About 1830 it was moved further east to make room for the hotel.
It was a long, low two story frame building and fronted the east after it was moved.
In the latter years of its existence the front part was used for a store and the rear
for a dwelling. Mr. Husted's account books contain the names of men of New
London, Fitchville, Hartland, Wakeman, Florence and Brighton, as well as Clarks-
field. Some of the articles sold were whiskey, tobacco, flour, horse and ox hides,
salt, window sash, potatoes, fish, wooden dishes, cotton cloth, bear skins, kettles,
young bears, pups, deer skins, cranberries, hat splints, ox yokes, bear meat, tallow,
deer meat (salt, dried and hams), hoes, scythes, hats, apple trees and coffins.
Frequent mention of Indians is made. Benson says: "Of money there was but
little in use, for the reason that there were no markets for grain, and but little to
dispose of if there had been. Labor was reckoned at a dollar per day, but a bushel
of wheat would pay for that day's labor, although it was nominally worth but
thirty-seven cents. Thus, the products of the soil constituted the articles of traffic,
and supplied the place of bank paper, or the better currency of gold and silver
coin. Speaking of barter, it would have been truly diverting if a record had been
kept of the many queer exchanges that were made both by the men and the women
at that early period. And if one should now offer to swap toadstools for old socks
or live skunks for 'possum fat, it would not be more ludicrous."
Digitized by GoogI
EAST MAIN" STREET. NEW LONDON*. OHIO
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI ROX COUNTY
211
There have been many other stores in the township, but their history will be
considered at a later date.
The first settlers, coming as they did from New England, were people of con-
siderable education as a rule, and they began to erect school houses very soon
after they were established in their new homes. Captain Hustcd gave Ezra Wood
credit for one day's work at school house in December, 1818. The first school
house in that township was built of logs, south of the Hollow not far from the
Hough house, in 1819 and Miss Alzina Barker was the first teacher. This building
was burned in 1829. It was supposed that some of the young men set fire to it in
hopes of getting a better building. A frame building was soon afterward built
just north of the river on the east side of the road. Soon after the first school
house was built at the Hollow another was erected in the Stiles settlement some
distance south of the present village of West Clarksfield. During the first years
the schools were supported by those inhabitants who sent children to school, the
expense being borne according to the number sent. But three months of school
were taught in a year.
During the first four years of the new settlement the inhabitants had to go to
Florence, or, perhaps, New London, for their mail. In 1821 a postoffice was es-
tablished at Clarksfield with Smith Starr as postmaster, and he held that office
until 1853, with the exception of two short intervals.
In 1834, Asa W heeler, Jr.. sold to Samuel Husted and David Tyler the strip
of land at Clarksfield between the river and the east and west road and running
from Spring Brook west to the north and south road, for fifty dollars. Husted
and Tyler built a saw mill at the west end of this land. The power was derived
from water brought by a race from the grist mill race. The mill cost three hun-
dred forty-two dollars and twenty-eight cents, as shown by one of Husted's books.
This mill was operated until about 1888, but has now nearly disappeared from the
face of the earth. On March 5, 1836, this property was sold to Virgil Squire and
Ebenezer Warner (of Florence) for one thousand, five hundred dollars. On the
same day Samuel Husted sold to Squire and Warner the old gristmill property
including the pond and race, for one thousand, five hundred dollars. On Septem-
ber 30. 1836, Squire and Warner sold both properties to George Lawton and
David Tyler for four thousand, two hundred and fifty dollars and on November
16, 1836, Starr sold to Lawton and Tyler the store and two acres of land after-
ward occupied by J. J. Cobb, for seven hundred and fifty dollars. On March 4,
1837, Lawton and Tyler sold to Virgil Squire a one-third interest in their property
for two thousand, five hundred dollars. In the same year John Hayes sold to
Squire. Lawton and Tyler the land where the present grist mill stands, including
his store and privilege of water from the mill race, and, at the same time Samuel
Husted sold to them the triangular piece of land bounded by the New London
road, where it angles to the east, the lot line and the east and west road, with the
point near the top of the hill, for one hundred dollars. Mr. Tyler soon sold out his
interest. In the fall of 1837 Squire & Lawton began the erection of a grist mill
on the premises and it was completed the next year, about September 1st. On the
day when the mill was started there was quite a gathering of the inhabitants of
the place, and as was usual upon such occasions, the men were ready to indulge in
sports. Myron Furlong attempted to jump across the race, which was sixteen feet
212
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
wide and full of water but he undershot the mark and landed in the water. This
created a laugh and he excused himself by saying that no man could jump across
and that he should have known better than to try. This led to a banter and a bet
that a man could be found who would jump across. Ben Patch, who was not a
man grown, was sent for and when he came Almanza Hamlin told him what was
wanted and patted him on the shoulder, saying, "Bennie, I would rather lose a
hundred dollars than have you fail." He did not fail, but made the jump easily
and the laugh was on Furlong again. The machinery for this mill was hauled by
teams from Huron, to which place it had probably been shipped from Pittsburg.
It had four runs of stone and was capable of doing a good deal of business while
the water lasted. It was driven by a large overshot wheel, which was replaced by a
turbine wheel in later years. About 1850 a steam engine was put in for use when
the water did not suffice. A few years ago modern roller process machinery was
put in and since then all of the stones have been removed and the water power
discarded entirely. It still does a large business with the farmers. Squire &
Lawton did not have capital enough to carry on the business successfully and the
property was heavily mortgaged. In 1842 Lawton sold his interest to Squire for
five hundred dollars. On November 25, 1837, Squire & Lawton sold to David
Tyler a tract of land fifty-two by one hundred feet, including a building upon it.
which stcod twenty-six feet east cf the mill then building, "with a water privilege
of as much water as would spout through an aperture three feet six inches by two
inches, with two feet head, but reserving the right to run four stones and two saws."
This building is where Mr. Tyler carried on the business of making furniture,
drums, coffins and almost anything which could be made from wood. This shop
was burned in 1841 and another was erected in the same place, but it has been
moved away and converted into a barn. In 1837 Samuel H. Gibson entered into a
contract with David Tyler and Samuel Husted. in which Tyler agreed to let Gibson
have the "privilege of water on said Tyler's land for use of propelling a wheel for
carding and cloth dressing, and also agreed to furnish a shop and fit it in order
for the above and put in a fulling mill and furnish one-half of all outgoes, wood,
candles, soap, dye wood, dye stuffs, etc., and in turn was to receive one-fourth of
the avails of the business." Mr. Husted agreed that when the water should not
be sufficient to carry the grist mill and cloth works, to secure the water for the
cloth works for the consideration of one-half of Tyler's avails, at the time his
water was used for said works. The business of cloth dressing was carried on in
the basement of Mr. Tyler's shop until it was burned. Silas Earl then built a cloth
mill across the river from the grist mill and carried on the business until a freshet
came on New Year's Day of 1847 and wrecked the machinery. He used horse
power at first but put in a steam engine later. Virgil Squire kept a store at Clarks-
field in 1835. in a building which stood near the foot of the hill north of Smith
Starr's, and the business was continued by Squire & Lawton.
The building used to face the north, but Cobb had it turned around to face
the west and had it painted anew, and he put in the best stock of goods which
had been brought to the town. He had a partner, Mr. Buckingham, of Norwalk,
until 1843. In 1848 he had the store building moved back and a large two-story
building with a basement was erected and then Mr. Cobb enlarged his business
until he drew trade from all the surrounding country. Excepting a store at Wake-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OK HURON* COUNTY
213
man and another at King's Corners (now New London), Clarksfield offered the
chief facilities for trade in this part of the country, until the advent of railroads
changed the order of things. Mr. Cobb bought anything which the farmers
had to sell and supplied them with nearly everything which could be bought in
stores at that time. The most of his produce was shipped at Milan and his goods
came from there. He kept several teams busy most of the time. When he moved
away he sold out to Tyler & Seger and they were followed in 1858-59 by Sam
and Harley Jones. William Stiles carried on the business from 1859 to 1865,
followed by J. N. Barnum, Seneca Ronk and Frank Wildman. The building
has not been occupied for several years. Winslow Fay opened a store here in
1839 in a new building which he erected on the hill south of Smith Starr's house.
He had a partner, one Albert Sherwood, until 1845. Fay sold out to him, but
put up a smaller building by the side of the one sold to Sherwood, and carried
on a store there for a short time. The first building erected by Fay was fitted
for a school house some years after Fay moved away, and now stands at the
foot of the hill east of the Cobb store. The second building erected by Fay
was cut in two and one-half of it moved to the foot of the hill south of the old
Cobb store, the other half stood on the lot north of the Congregational parsonage
until recently, when it was torn down. When the Vermillion & Ashland railroad
company was building its road north of this place, it bought the Husted store and
hired Simeon B. Sturges to carry on the business, but after the company failed
the store was sold to Abel D. Howe at sheriffs sale. Seger & Curtiss kept store
there at one time. In 1820 Ezra Wildman came from Danbury, Connecticut,
to Clarksfield, bringing a load of goods and he made several trips afterward,
until he moved here in 1828. It is likely that his brother-in-law, Captain Husted,
sold out the goods for him. When Johnson Wheeler bought the Barnum mill
north of Rowland's corners, at what came to be known as Hayesville, he car-
ried on a store in one corner of the mill, until a building was put up on the east
side of the road on the north bank of the ravine, called the "Mansion House,"
where one room was used for a store. He also carried on a distillery. Albert
Seger carried on a foundry at Hayesville for some time and then he and Walter
Bates built a foundry at Clarksfield on the north side of the road just west of
where the old grist-mill used to stand.
We learn that Alvin Coe, a Presbyterian, and William Westlake, a Methodist,
were the first regular ministers. Other men visited the new colony and some of
these missionary workers saw hard times. David Marks was one of them and
in his Memoirs (see page twenty-two) he gives a narrative of his first journey
to Ohio. Finding that a Free Will Baptist church had already been established
at Milan, he journeyed on to New London, Clarksfield and Danbury, where he
attended meetings "with some appearance of success." On the 29th and 30th
of June. 1822, a general meeting was held at Milan. "Brethren attended from
three small churches in Milan, Greenfield and Clarksfield, which were the only
Free Will Baptist churches in this part of the country." In August of this
year he attended meetings at Garksfield in addition to other places. It is prob-
able that the first church society organized in the township was the Baptist, but
we are unable to learn anything more concerning it than stated above.
Digitized by Google
214
HISTORY OF Hl'ROX COUNTY
There was a society of Free Will Baptists here at one time. When the Mil-
lerite doctrine began to be preached here, some of the members of the Baptist
church embraced the new faith but when the prophecy that the world would
come to an end on a certain day in April, 1844, did not prove to be true, some of
these joined the Congregational church, under the preaching of John Todd.
There was a larger society of Close Communion Baptists here, among whotn
were J. J. Cobb and wife, Robert W. Hurlbut and wife, Ezra Wood, the
Fletchers. Aaron and Levi Rowland, Esex Call and family. Asa Percy, William
Wood, Ransom Day and wife, Mrs. [. B. Scott and Mrs. Henry Kress, the last
two being the only ones to hold their membership when the society disbanded.
In 1845 a ncw school house was built across the street from the Congregational
church and the building which had been used was made over into a church. J. J.
Cobb helped much in the work. Elder Hall was the first minister in the new-
church building. The church society was kept up for about ten years and then
there was a division and some of the members withdrew and organized a society
at Rowland's corners. About 1837 a Methodist church was organized at East
Clarksfield and a church building was afterwards erected at White fox corners
and is still in use. We have been unable to get any history of the early days of
this church. Two other Methodist churches have been built in the township,
one at Barrett's corners and the other at West Clarksfield.
FAIRFIELD TOWNSHIP.
Fairfield township still bears its original name. It was so called from Fair-
field, Connecticut, where many of those lived who had received the land in pay-
ment for loss of property in the Revolutionary war. It was detached from
Bronson and organized in 1823.
The surface of the township is quite level, except in the northwest portion
where there are ridges and curiously formed hills. The soil throughout is rich
and there is no waste land. The whole township was originally covered with an
unusually heavy growth of timber — maple, beech, whitewood and black walnut,
the last two varieties being found in great quantity. Black walnut was so common
that it was used in large quantity for fence rails by the earliest settlers. Many
of these old rails have since been worked up into furniture and house finishing
material. The principal stream in the township is a tributary of the Huron river,
and flows westward through sections one and four, thence northward through
section three into Bronson. Fords creek runs through the southwest corner of
the township, and empties into the Huron river in Greenfield township. There
is a sandstone formation underlying the whole township, and it occasionally crops
out in such a manner as to be available for use. There are stone quarries in the
first, second and third sections, but none of them are worked upon an extensive
scale.
Deer was very abundant in the early settlement, often from twenty to fifty
were seen in half a day. Many were killed and their skins were used for clothing.
Wild turkeys were found in great abundance. Wolves were troublesome for the
first few years. A few bears were also found.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY ()F HURON* COUNTY
215
The present generation can scarcely form an adequate appreciation of the
toilsome labor, privation, danger and last, but not least, the deep sense of isola-
tion that the pioneers of the Western Reserve experienced. There was a great
deal to l>e done, and very little to do it with. Food was scarce, and sometimes it
was difficult to obtain a sufficient amount to alleviate hunger. It is said that
some of the early settlers followed the cows around, and selected leaves and
plants that they ate. for greens, knowing that the instinct of the animals would
lead them to avoid any thing of a poisonous nature. The pioneers of Fairfield
were obliged to make a five days' trip to Cold creek, Margaretta township, to get
their milling done. There was but little money in the country, and but little
to buy even had money been plenty. Nearly all manufactured implements brought
a very high price, and the settlers often managed to do the work of clearing and
tilling the soil, with the tools which their descendants would not think of using.
Notwithstanding the hard life they led, the severe toil that was necessary to
procure even the commonest conveniences of existence the pioneers were happy
upon their frugal fare, and healthful. — physically and morally. They passed
minor difficulties without noticing them, and met and overcame the more for-
midable ones bravely. The first few pioneers lent willing aid to those who came
after them, and thus the severity of the settlers' experience was moderated by
degrees until the community had attained a fair growth, and the advantages of
civilization had been secured.
The first clearing in the township was made by a widow, of foreign birth,
named Sanfplc. and the boys in her family of nine children — John, Martha, Betsey,
James. William, Anna. Samuel, Nancy and David. They came from Newark,
Licking county, Ohio, in the year 1816, and settled on lot thirty-six, in the third
section. The widow was a woman of very remarkable ability and of strong con-
stitution. The family was very poor, and Mrs. Sample and her boys and girls
were compelled to live in a manner which many people would consider impossible,
it is related, upon the best of authority, that the boys went bare-footed all of
one winter, while they were chopping timber and extending the clearing in which
their rude cabin stood. They heated large chips by the fire, and carrying them
to the place where they were intending to fell a tree, stood upon them until they
grew cold, and then heated them again and again, until their day's work was
done. Day after day they labored under this disadvantage, which less hardy peo-
ple would regard as insurmountable. The mother of these boys was their equal,
if not superior, in energy and spirit, and was ingenious as well. She out-reaped
a man in the grain field in 1817. and clothed her family in cloth which she wove
from the silk of wild nettles. Mrs. Sample married Jacob Rush, who died soon
after. Her daughter Martha married Amos Harkness. The mother removed to
the west, and lived to be nearly a hundred years old.
When the settlement was new, bears, deer, wolves and other animals were
found in great abundance. The bears made hunting something more than a
dillctanti amusement ; the deer afforded food for the table and clothing for the
hunters ; the wolves were simply an annoyance, and the minor animals lent variety
to the sport of hunting and to the larders of the pioneers' houses. Several bears
were killed in the township. We narrate one instance, as it is a somewhat
novel one. and although seemingly outside of the realm of probability, if not of
Digitized by Google
216
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
possibility, is vouched for by those whose word is above suspicion of unreliability.
George Eldridge, while passing through the woods, one day, in the northern
part of the township, where the Jenning's farm now is, saw, at a little distance,
a full grown bear standing upon the trunk of a large fallen tree. He raised his
rifle, took a steady aim and fired. The bear fell down behind the tree, and Eld-
ridge, not knowing whether he had killed him or not, reloaded his gun. He had
no balls and so put in a beech slug. He had no sooner got his gun in readiness
for use, then he saw the head of bruin raised above the tree trunk. He fired,
and the animal dropped from sight. The hunter prudently loaded a second time
and as quickly as possible, for in those days no man felt safe when in the woods
unless provided for any emergency. After ramming the second beech slug
home, he waited a few seconds and was rewarded with a third shot, which, like the
former ones, apparently took effect. Again the bear fell from the log. Reloading
the rifle, Eldridge went cautiously forward to see whether the three shots fired
had quite ended the animal's life, and on reaching the tree trunk and looking over
it, was surprised to find three dead bears instead of one. He had supposed, al!
of the time, that there was but one bear in the vicinity, that the first and second
shots had only slightly wounded him, and that he had each time, after recovering
his surprise, again clambered upon the tree to reconnoiter the enemy. The trio
consisted of a she bear and two cubs, more than half grown. The old bear
weighed four hundred pounds, and her flesh furnished food for several families.
This bear killing episode was commonly looked upon as something reflecting
great credit upon Mr. Eldridge. He was a good marksman, but probably his
success in this instance depended as much upon "good luck," or the kindness of
fate, as upon his ability. Killing three bears in a period of time measured by
about as many minutes, and with only three shots, two of them with bits of wood
in the place of leaden ball, is a feat not often, if ever, equaled. The adventure
became, and was for a long time, the subject of much wonder throughout the
neigh borhood.
The center road, north and south, was, as originally cut through the forest,
the Harrison road. It was made by the General's troops, and subsequently was
straightened and improved. In 1825, when the new state road was laid out eleven
miles through Fairfield and portions of Ripley and Bronson, the residents of this
township gave material assistance to the enterprise. The road cost one hundred
dollars per mile. The west, or ridge road, was laid out at an early day.
It is probable that Jonas Leonard, a native of Connecticut, who had settled
in Bronson, taught the first school in Fairfield, about 1824. The school house
was in the northwest quarter, or third section. The township is now well provided
with district schools, and the union schools of North Fairfield afford higher
instruction to those who desire it.
The first church in the township was the Methodist Episcopal, in 1822. with
a class of less than a dozen members, but owing to the untiring exertions of
those few a strong membership soon developed and in time a church edifice was
erected. The other denominations came later, and they, too. have prospered
The first postmaster was Walter Branch. He was commissioned January 1.
1829. He held the office for four years, and then resigned in favor of Horace
L. Moulton.
Digitized by Gooq
HISTORY OF HLRON COL" NT Y
217
The first cemetery was laid out in lot eleven, section three, upon the Ridge
road, near the northeast corner of the township. The first settlers located in this
vicinity, and the little piece of ground was set aside for burial purposes at an early
day. There is another cemetery on the same road — lot one, section four : one on
the Rronson town line road — lot six. section three, and one in North Fairfield
village, just east of the corners.
Among the early settlers were Eliphalet W. Day. He was born in Connecti-
cut and settled in Fairfield township in 1818. Aaron Smith settled there in
1820, and Philip Moffitt came in 1819. Spencer Baker also came in 1819. Samuel
Foote also in 1819. Havilah Smith became a settler in Fairfield in 1821, and
John Cherry came at a little earlier date.
A log house could be raised in half a day. The raising would be attended
by all the settlers, and glad they were of the chance to have another settler
added to the population. They took great pride in doing such a job. During
all the chopping and clearing and many log raisings no serious accident occurred
until 1828 when Henry Randall had his skull fractured by the falling of a bent
at a barn raising, and died within an hour.
The Indians would come to the township and hunt every fall for several
years after its first settlement. They claimed to be friendly, but would go to
the cribs and take corn without leave, and were otherwise annoying.
NORTH FAIRFIELD VILLAGE.
The first store in the township was opened at the center in the year 1831, by
Ezra Smith, of Macksville, but soon after several enterprising men made efforts
to establish a village at what was then known as Greenfield's corners. They
were so far successful as to create all that now exists in North Fairfield, and in
fact much more, for the village was at one time a flourishing business center, and
had bright prospects of future prosperity. William Greenfield, Samson Baker,
\Y alter Branch and Samuel Foote were largely instrumental in securing the loca-
tion of various industries at this place. Horace S. Moulton opened the first store
at Greenfield's corners, in 1832. L nion White, of Fitchville, W r oodworth and
Holmes, Clark Sexton, A. R. Eastman, and a man by the name of West, began
at an early day. D. S. Stevens opened a dry goods store in 1838. Manufactories
were established, and the village developed for a few years at a rate, which,
had it been long continued, would have produced a little city. A newspaper.
The Fairfield Gazette, was established, and had, for a time, a fair patronage.
The first copy was issued April 23. 1856. by Robert McCune. Afterwards the
paper was under the charge of J. Ralph Robinson, and still later of O. B. Chapman.
He moved it to Bellcvue. The causes of Fairfield's failure to become all that its
residents fondly hoped, were numerous. Chief among them was the building
of railroads all around the village, at a distance of ten or a dozen miles, and the
failure of the projected Clinton extension, which was (upon paper) a link of a.
long chain extending from New York to the great west. Over seventy thousand
dollars of Fairfield money went out of existence with this bubble. The Milan
canal was another failure. The largest manufactory in the little village — the
chair factory — and the steam mill, built at an early day, vanished in fire — ended
Digitized by Google
218
HISTORY OF HIRON COUNTY
in smoke. Other evils assisted in thwarting the plans of the would-be founders
of a city, and slowly, but surely, the last hope of making North Fairfield a large
and live business town passed away. All that was left the people was the reason-
able certainty that the village would always be, what it now is, a peaceful and
pleasant home, in which there will never be an excess of bustle and din and
sordid strife, but always well being, good manners and better morals.
North Fairfield village contains four of the five churches which have come
into existence in the township, and most of the manufactories.
The first tavern was built about 1835. and is still standing, a part of the
Fairfield house. The first landlord was Otis Thornton.
Although North Fairfield failed to get the courthouse and the steam railroad
it now has a fine electric line running north and south — the Sandusky. Norwalk
& Mansfield. The village contains some fine residences, has a good country trade
and supports a printing office.
FITCH V1LLE TOWNSHIP.
Fitchville township is supposed to have received its name from a man named
Fitch, who was quite a large land-holder within its limits, and who resided in
Connecticut.
The land is generally rolling or sufficiently so to make it easy of drainage
and good tillage. The soil is various, some portions, being well supplied with
clay, others quite sandy, and many of the ridges quite gravelly. The township
was formerly well timbered with beech, maple, white-wood, black walnut, oak,
hickory, white ash, black ash, bass wood and elm. The Vermillion river heads
at a lake near Savannah, Ashland county, enters this township near the southeast
corner, passes through near the center, and leaves it a little cast of the center.
This stream furnished water power and was of great service to the early
>ettlers. As early a> 18.25 there was a sawmill built near there which did much
towards supplying the settlers with lumber.
There was a flouring mill erected at the center at an early date, and there
was also an establishment for wool carding and dressing cloth. The flouring mill
was later run by steam and furnished considerable flour for the eastern market.
The first settlement made in this township was in the summer of 1817, by Peter
Mead, Abraham Mead and Amos Reynolds. They made their beginning on the
east line of the township. Early in the season of 1818 an addition was made
by the arrival of the Palmer family. In 1819 a few more were added to the
number of settlers by the arrivals of Gilbert Martin, W. W. YVatros, Abijah Pal-
mer and Charles Lyon. In 1820 came Jot ham Curtiss, J. N. Pickard, Henry
Pickard. Absalom Coleman and Hiram Curtiss.
Owing to the fact that most of the original owners of the township put up
.the price of their lands too high, the township did not fill up fast with settlers,
until after 1830.
The first school in the township was taught in a little log building, a short
distance south of the center. The building served the double purpose of school
house and place of worship for many years.
Digitized by Google
PUBLIC si/||<x)L FIRE DRILL, CIIICAOO, OHIO
Digitized by Google
ASTOB. 1UM1X vr;o
1LL»EN FOl Mi.\T. »N8
L
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
221
The first Sunday school in the township was held by Allen Johnson, at his
house, in 1825, the pupils being Edward and Benjamin Green, Barnard Johnson.
Louisa Johnson and Sarah Palmer. Mr. Johnson's assistants were Ebenezer
Osborne and Zetta Green.
The people of Fitehville sought early to establish in their midst the institu-
tions of religion and education to which they had been accustomed to in their
eastern homes. There is, perhaps, not another example in the county of such an
early establishment of a church after settlement. The pioneers entered the wilder-
ness in 1817, and in the summer of 1819 the first church was organized.
In early times, Hartland, Fitehville and Greenwich, were grouped together,
or attached for civil and judicial purposes. Hartland was detached about 1820,
and connected with Clarksfield. Fitehville was detached, in 1828, from Green-
wich and organized as a separate township.
The principal cemetery of Fitehville, which occupies the summit and slope of
a gently rising hill, upon the Norwalk road, in the north part of Clinton incor-
poration, was laid out about 1826, or the following year. Alvah Palmer, who died
in 1827, was the first person buried there, and Louisa Green the second.
A number of the first settlers made their homes upon the line of the north
and south center road, and this was the first route of travel upon which any
labor was bestowed in the township. The next was the road running east and
west through the center. The road from Wooster to Norwalk was laid out in
1826, but there was scarcely any improvement made upon it until 1832, and it
was by no means easy of travel. The route most traveled by the early residents
of Fitehville, when they wished to go to Norwalk or beyond, was a trail which
led from Abijah Palmer's, in a northwesterly direction, to a point about a mile
west of Olena, and thence westerly to the old State road, which passes through
the center of Fairfield and Bronson townships.
The enterprise of running a line of stages through from Wooster to Norwalk
was undertaken at this time by Union White, J. C. Curtiss, and an Ashland man.
They commenced by running a two-horse hack each way twice a week, but
afterwards a four-horse stage coach was put on the route by a man named
Myers, to whom was also given a contract for carrying the mail. In 1834. and
for many years after, the people had the satisfaction of seeing this heavy stage,
often well loaded with passengers, dash swiftly or wallow slowly, as the case
might be, through the settlement.
Before the people of Fitehville had a postoffice of their own, they were ob-
liged to go to Norwalk for their mail matter. About the year 1828 the first post-
office was established in the township, and Rundel Palmer commissioned as
postmaster. He kept the office in his dwelling house.
The first tavern built in the township, was the Clinton House, which was
named after the incorporated village of Clinton. It was built in 1833, by Hiram
A. Curtiss. It was a frame building, of fair size, two stories in height. This
was. for a number of years, the only place for the entertainment of the wayfarer
and the stranger, and was well patronized. After Curtiss, Hiram Odell was, for
a time, the landlord of this house, and he gave place to Union White and his
brother, Daniel.
222 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
•
A few years after the building of the Clinton House, probably in 1837 or 38.
Union and Daniel White, erected the large hotel since known as the Mansion
House.
The Fountain House was built by Rundel Palmer for a dwelling house, but
was converted into a hotel and conducted as such by his sons, Isaac and Nathan,
for five years.
J. C. Curtiss built the next hotel, the present residence of his son, S. \V. Cur-
tiss, and was its proprietor for a number of years. This house was known as
Washington Hall.
The first white child born in the township was Varney P., son of Peter and
Alice Mead.
The first death was that of Deborah, wife of Abraham Mead. She died
July 23, 1823. Another of this family, Mary Mead, died in November of the
same year, aged seventeen.
Robert Golden and Rosannah Washburn, a sister of Joseph Washburn, were
the first couple married.
The Meads built the first log house, and Ludovicus Robbins the first framed
dwelling. The latter was about the year 1827, upon lot seventeen, section
three.
In the fall of 1830, Union White came into the township, erected a small
building, and opened a store, which was the first in the township. His stock
was from the store of Buckingham & Sturgis of Norwalk, who had an interest
in the business. In the spring of 1832, their interest was purchased by J. C.
Curtiss, and the firm name became W hite & Curtiss. The first purchase of goods
by this firm was in New York, and they were transported by the Hudson river,
New York and Erie canal, and Lake Erie, to Huron, from which point they were
hauled in wagons to Fitchville, at an expense of from three to four or five shil-
lings per hundred weight. From New York city to Huron the transportation cost
from one dollar and fifty cents to two dollars per hundred. The goods bought
were of the kinds for which it was known there would be a ready market, such
as staple groceries, and the commonest kinds of calico, sheeting, etc. Brown
sheeting was sold at from twenty to twenty-five cents per yard ; calico from two
to four shillings, and satinet from six to four shillings. Iron was eight cents
per pound; nails from nine to twelve cents; tea from ten to fourteen shillings;
pepper, four shillings; coffee, two; loaf sugar from two to two and sixpence,
and whiskey from four to rive shillings per gallon. There being but little money
in circulation these articles were very generally paid for in deer, coon and
muskrat skins and black salts, which were made from ashes by almost even-
family. Messrs. White & Curtiss bought these salts in large quantities and
manufactured them into pearlash, which they sent to the eastern market.
The first circuit preacher was Dennis Goddin. He formed the first class for
the Methodist church at T. B. White's house.
The village of Clinton, within this township, was laid out in 1832, and for
several years was the principal business place for the southeast part of the
county, but railroads made great changes and Clinton is almost forgotten.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OK HURON* COUNTY
223
GREENFIELD TOWNS II IP.
Greenfield township was organized about the year 1815, and then embraced
the townships of New Haven, Greenfield, Peru, Norwich and Fairfield, for town-
ship purposes, and continued so until each of the above townships contained a
sufficient number of inhabitants for separate organization. In the year 1819, the
name of this township was changed to Berlin, and continued by that name until
1822, when the name of Greenfield was restored. The reason for giving it the
name of Berlin, was owing to there being a Greenfield township in Highland
county, with a postoffice of the same name. At the restoration of the original
name of the township, the postoffice was called Lafayette, and Joseph Cook was
the first postmaster. The office continued to be called Lafayette until 1835, when
the name was changed to Steuben.
The surface of the township is generally undulating. The Huron river enters
it about a mile west of the southeast corner, runs a winding, but. generally,
northwest course through the township, and leaves it a little less than a mile
east of the northwest corner. There are several small tributaries, the largest
of which is the west branch, which drains the western part of the town.
The original varieties of timber, east of the river, were principally white
wood, black walnut, beech and maple, with some white oak, butternut and bass-
wcod. West of the river, white and black oak, hickory, beech and maple were
the leading varieties. The soil is a loam of a sandy or gravelly nature, east of
the river, and a clay loam west of it.
There is a stone quarry on the east bank of Huron river. It was first opened
by Ezra Smith, at an early date. The quarry underlies a considerable tract of
land, with a dip to the southeast, extending into Fairfield township, and is sand-
stone of the newer formation. The stone varies from an inch to twelve inches
in thickness, and is largely used for building and flagging.
The history of Greenfield has for several reasons a peculiar interest. The
time that has passed since the pioneer first walked into the wilderness by the
side of the Huron river is almost four score and ten years. Strange and start-
ling scenes have been enacted upon its brink, before and since then. The first
person that came into the township of Greenfield, for the purpose of settlement,
was William McKelvey. Jr., who arrived from Trumbull county in the year
1810. He purchased one hundred and six acres of land of Caleb Palmer, of
New Haven township, on lot number twenty-five, in the second section of this
township, paying for it in work. In 181 1, he cleared eleven and a half acres and
sowed it to wheat. He had harvested his crop and was putting it in stacks when
the news of Hull's surrender reached the settlement. He immediately returned
to Trumbull county, where his father and the rest of the family were then
living, and joined the army as a volunteer for six months. In the spring of
1814 he returned to Greenfield, bringing, with a four-horse team and wagon,
his brother-in-law, Truman Gilbert, and his family. His wheat had been burned
during his absence, evidently by the Indians. The loss was considerable, as
brcadstuffs were then high. He afterwards Ixnight fifteen bushels of the wheat
left in stack by Erastus Smith, on his flight to Trumbull county, for which he
paid forty-five dollars, threshing it himself.
224
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The township records prior to the year 1828 have been lost, and the follow-
ing facts relative to the first election for township officers were furnished by one
who was present.
The election was held at the house of Erastus Smith in the spring of 1816.
Joseph Cook was elected township clerk : Eli Halladay, Bildad Adams and Nathan
Warner, trustees; William McKelvey, constable; Erastus Smith, justice of the
peace. Having no use for a treasurer none was elected.
According to the "enumeration of the white male inhabitants of Greenfield
above the age of twenty-one years," as returned to the county clerk by Seba
Mather, lister, for the year 1819, the number of such inhabitants was one hundred
and thirty. Peru was then attached to Greenfield, and is included in the enumer-
ation.
Hanson Read built the first house in Greenfield in the spring of 181 1.
Franklin Read, son of Hanson and Elizabeth Read, was the first white child
born in this township. The date was April 25, 181 2.
The first marriage was that of William Smith to Miss Lovina Pierce, daughter
of Aldcn Pierce, in 1817. Erastus Smith, justice of the peace, performed the
ceremony.
The first purchasers of the land derived their titles to their farms, in the first
and fourth sections, from Isaac Mills, of Connecticut ; in the second section from
Abecham D. Baldwin and Walter Bradley, of Connecticut, and Tilley Lynd, of
Homer, New York.
The township of Greenfield was surveyed by Caleb Palmer, of Trumbull county,
assisted by Cyrus W. Marsh and B. Ncwcomb, in the year 181 1, and before the war
with Great Britain.
As stated before, the first house in the township was built by Hanson Reed, in
the spring of 181 1. This was on section four. The second house was built by Eras-
tus Smith, in November of the same year. The above two families and their hired
men, C. W. Marsh and Jacob Rush, were the only white settlers in the township at
the time of Hull's surrender. A little later came William McKelvey and his son
and son-in-law, Truman Gilbert, came to the township without their families,
cleared a few acres and sowed wheat, but did not bring their families until later.
The surrender of Hull exposed the whole northwest to the ravages of the
enemy. The frontier settlers had to abandon their homes, or run the risk of being
massacred by the savages. The first settlers of this township chose the former, and
did not return until peace was assured.
The first death in the township was that of an infant son of Samuel C. and
Nancy Spencer, in the spring of 1816. The child was buried on the farm.
Ruth, daughter of David Lovell, was the first person buried in the cemetery at
Greenfield Center. Her death occurred February 17, 1818. at the age of nearly
fourteen.
Dr. Moses C. Sanders, of the township of Peru, was one of the earliest physi-
cians that practiced in this township. The first resident physician was Dr. Henry
Nilcs, who began the practice of medicine in this township in the spring of 1831.
The first religious meeting in the township was held at the cabin of Erastus
Smith, on the first Sabbath in the spring of 181 5, on which occasion the Rev.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
225
Green Parker, from near Milan, officiated. A church organization was not effected
until the year 1822.
In the winter of 18 14- 15, Hanson Read and Abram Powers built a grist mill on
Huron river, in the first section, near where the Phcenix Mills now stand. This
was undoubtedly the first grist mill erected in the county as now constituted. The
character of the establishment was in keeping with those simple times.
The first sawmill was built in 1819. by Josiah Root, on Huron river. The next
was built by Hiram C Spencer, east of the center of town, on the river, a short dis-
tance below the bridge. It was built about the year 1827 or 1828, and did a large
business. A few years after, Archibald Easter erected a sawmill, and at about the
same time one was built by Dan Lindsey on the west branch of the river.
It is impossible for the young people of the present day to understand the con-
ditions of living in the new settlement. The first settlers in Greenfield were among
the first in the county, and they were completely isolated from all the appliances of
civilization. The nearest mill, at which grinding was done, was at Owl Creek, a
great many miles distant, through an unbroken forest. The grain was ground in
the order of its reception at the mill, and sometimes several days would be con-
sumed in going to mill and back. It was customary for one person to take the mill-
ing of the entire neighborhood, when going with a team. While there are no in-
stances of suffering from want of necessary food, in the history of this township,
provisions were by no means plenty. Wheat was at one time three dollars per
bushel, and other articles of food in proportion. William McKelvey on one occa-
sion went to Owl Creek to buy some pork, and could only find some of the "shack"
variety, for which he paid forty-four cents per pound. The meat was a poor sub-
stitute for that of the domestic hog, being spongy and of ill flavor. For fresh meat
the early settlers had venison and other wild game so plenty at times as to become
a drug.
In the matter of necessary clothing, the pioneers experienced a greater difficulty.
The families, in general, came well furnished with wearing apparel, but a year or
two of wear and tear in the woods sadly diminished their stock. Flax could be
raised, and summer clothing of tow, butternut-dyed, and bleached linen could be
manufactured when a weaver could be found to do it ; for, although every woman
was a spinner, only here and there was one weaver, and each family had to await
its turn. The old garments were often worn to rags before the new cloth could be
put through the loom.
To obtain the material for winter clothing was still more difficult.. The in-
troduction of sheep was attended with much difficulty. They were not safe from
wolves, and the new, wet lands proved unhealthy to them. The summer clothing
would often have to answer for winter wear, or other expedients be resorted to.
Buckskin, either wholly or in part, frequently served as material for winter apparel,
but garments made entirely of it were never popular. The pantaloons would fre-
quently be wet to the knees, and when dry would be as stiff and uncomfortable as
if made of tin.
The center of the township is two hundred and ninty feet above the lake and
the surface of most of the township is covered with irregular, undulating hills
of gravel and drift. So many years have now elapsed since the settlement of
Greenfield, where our pioneers cleared away the forests, tilled the soil and at
Digitized by Google
22fi
HISTORY OF HURON" COL'NTY
last left all to their children and children's children, where today they live in
luxury and peace on the farms that are dotted with fine homes attended with
prosperity and happiness.
Mr. Seba Mather opened the first public house in the township in the year
1816 which he kept until 1820, when he discontinued and established the mills
east of Steuben and carried on an extensive business for thirty years when he
retired to his farm and spent the remainder of his life and died at the advanced
age of eighty-eight years.
The first church in the township was built by the Congregationalists in 1832.
It has since been greatly improved. The church is in Steuben.
The Freewill Baptist church was erected in the year 1843. This church is
at present without a pastor.
Mr. Seba Mather erected the first frame building in the township in 1820.
But now. where once were no sounds but those of nature, there has come the
hum of industry, the bustling of trade, a hurrying to and fro. the greetings of
man with man. the activity impelled by varied human interests, men who were
babes when the country was new. grew old and went down to their graves. En
the midst of change only the Huron river went on unchanged.
The Steuben cemetery has been greatly improved during the past year. It
has been thoroughly graded and leveled, gravel walks and roads have been made
through the entire grounds, also an addition of several acres has been added and
laid out into lots and numbered.
Steuben has at present two telephone stations. Many farmers through the
townships also have the lines in their residences and would not do without them.
We have an electric railway which has been built within the past year, and
has increased the value of land in the township from ten to fifteen dollars per
acre.
Much might be said by way of improved machinery of all kinds, the bounti-
ful crops, the health of the township, good prices for all kinds of produce which
we are blessed with at the present time.
GREENWICH TOWNSHIP.
Greenwich township received its name from Greenwich, Fairfield county, Con-
necticut, where most of the original owners of the land resided. It is known as
township number one. range twenty-one.
Its surface is moderately undulating, without marshes of any great extent,
and those that did exist were easily drained. The soil is mostly a clayey loam,
mixed in places with gravel and sand along the streams.
Butternut, black walnut and sycamore are abundant along the streams. Black
walnut is also found on the uplands. In general, the land of the township may
be considered of the beech and maple grade — beech being predominant. White
oaks are more abundant in the first and fourth sections than elsewhere. In the
second and third sections there has been a new growth of timber since the tor-
nado which passed over that part of the township in pioneer times and tore down
all the original growth.
Digitized by Goc
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
227
It is bounded upon the north by Fitchville; east by Ruggles, Ashland county;
south by Ashland and Richland counties ; and west by Ripley. Its surface is low
and quite level for the most part, though, in some places, it is slightly uneven.
The principal streams arc the cast and west branches of the Vermillion river.
The former flows through the northeast corner of the township ; the latter, formed
by the union of the two streams, enters upon the south line, and thence flows north
into Ripley. It again enters the township near the intersection of the east and
west center and the Ripley town line road, and from thence flows northerly and
diagonally across the third section, and, receiving the added volume of water
from a number of small streams that drain a large portion of the township, be-
comes, by the time it reaches the north line, a water-course of considerable size.
The first school was taught by James Nixon, who. with his father, Robert
Nixon, left Ireland at the time of the Irish revolution, and chose America as
the country in which to begin life anew, and drifted, by some chance, to this
locality. The school was held in an abandoned log house, one mile south of the
center, in the winter of 1820-21. About 1825, a school house was built at the
center, and Tracey Case was the first teacher who occupied it. The second school
house was built by James Mitchell's, near the center of section four. Willis R.
Smith, assisted by his wife, gave instruction in writing to a number of young
men (some of them married), in the winter of 1824-25. About a dozen men
attended this school. It was held evenings, in Mr. Smith's house, which he fitted
up for the purpose, with writing desks made of slabs, which were fastened to the
wall as sloping shelves.
But little was done in road-making in this township until 1820. The north
and south center road was the first laid out. The line was established in 1820
but only a small portion ot it had been chopped and cleared half a dozen years
later. The cast and west center road was the second one laid out. It was sur-
veyed and opened through the county. What is known as the "angling road"
was ordered to be laid out in answer to the petition of Ephraim Baker and others
in 1828 or 1829.
The first mail was carried through the township in 1829, and for three years
thereafter, by Robert Inscho, of New Haven. He went once a week between
New Haven village and Medina county, upon horseback. The first postoffice
was established at the center, and Benjamin Kniffin was the first man who held
the commission of postmaster.
Greenwich was attached, in 1815, to New Haven, or was within the jurisdic-
tion of that township (for civil purposes). In 1819. Greenwich, Fitchville and
Hartland were united, and an election was held in that year, at the house of
Thomas B. White, for the purpose of choosing officers for the territory included
within the three. Hartland was detached in 1820, and in 1823, Greenwich was sep-
arated from Fitchville and organized as a separate township, the first election be-
ing held at Thomas B. White's house, and the following officers elected : Jeremiah
Rusco, Henry Washburne, trustees ; David W. Brtggs, clerk ; Varney Pearce,
justice of the peace ; Ephraim F. Barker, constable.
Adna Carpenter, son of Henry Carpenter, was the first white child born in the
township.
Digitized by Google
228
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Henry Carpenter, father of the first born, was the first person who died in the
township. His death, caused by over exertion, occurred in November, 1818. He
was buried in a coffin constructed of hewed black walnut planks. Hannah Barker
was the second person whose demise the little band of pioneers were called to
mourn. The coffin, in which her remains were buried, was made from the boards
of a wagon-box, which were rudely stained with logwood.
The first marriage in the township, was that of David W. Briggs and Alzina,
daughter of E. F. and Hannah Barker. They were made one by Squire Rundel
Palmer, of Fitchville, in August, 1819. Briggs died in 1861.
The first log cabin was built in 1817, near the northeast corner of the township.
Henry Carpenter built the first permanent residence, a log house, a little later in
the same year. The first frame house was built by Joseph Washburne, in 1827,
on lot twenty-seven, section two, and the first brick house was erected at the center,
by Cyrus G. Mead.
The first tavern was built at the center by Benjamin Kniffin, who also had a
store there. The store opened by Ezra Smith, near Joseph Washburne's, in the
northeast corner of the township, in the year 1824, was the first.
For a number of vears after the first settlers came into Greenwich, there was
no regularly ordained minister living in the township, and when there was preach-
ing, it was by some of the ministers from neighboring townships. Religious meet-
ings were held frequently, and preachers of all denominations had assurance when
they came here that they would be met by audiences of large size (for these
times) and gladly listened to. The township had a large element of Quaker pop-
ulation, and many of its earliest pioneers were of this people. The first Quakers,
or Friends, came to Greenwich in 1818. just eighteen years after the first Friends'
settlement in Ohio.
The first .iettler in Greenwich was Henry Carpenter, who came from Ulster
county. New York, in 1817. and located upon lot twenty-two, in section two. He
died in the fall of the following year, from over exertion at a house raising, leav-
ing a wife and four children.
The trials of those men and women who turned their backs upon the places of
their nativity, and sought to hew them out homes in the wilderness, cannot be
fully appreciated at the present day. Many of them had but little to begin with.
Those who had much were scarcely better off. for the comforts and conveniences
of life were not procurable. The early settlers, of whom we shall treat presently,
after succeeding, through almost infinite trouble, in clearing a few acres of ground
and raising a small crop of wheat or other grain, were far from being in a condi-
tion to defy want. They had still to procure articles which were equally necessary.
If the weather had been dry for some time, they were obliged to go to Cold creek
to have their grain ground, and the trip there and back, about seventy-five mile>.
occupied eight cr ten days. Two yoke of oxen were required. The price of carry-
ing a bushel o: wheat was fifty cents. Money, it was almost impossible to get in
sums sufficient to pay taxe>. or buy those few articles which are indispensable to
the family or individual. Daniel Fancher relates that he worked three years, and
did not receive, during that time, three shillings in money, but took grain, dour,
meat, and other articles, which, in the early days of the settlement, were regarded
almost as legal tender Henry Washburne once took a large load of wheat to
Digitized by Google
y Google
LIJIIARY
Tit-!'..'. I,| , .
1 I
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
231
Sandusky, consuming a week in making the round trip, and exchanged it for
one barrel of salt, six milk pans, two pounds of tea, and the cloth for two shirts.
With these few articles, which would seem but poorly to pay for the grain, and
the time spent in getting to the market, he returned, feeling very well satisfied.
He had done fully as well in his barter as others were able to do. Many of the
settlers really suffered for the want of those things which a few shillings would have
bought. Luxuries were unthought of. The unceasing and hard grind of daily
labor was necessary to accomplish the task that lay before the pioneers — the main-
tenance of life and the development of the new country, which they so subdued as
to make a rich inheritance for their children. And yet, with all their hard labor,
with the severe simplicity of their lives, with hardships and privations unnumbered
and unrecorded, the lives spent in the fulfillment of duty were made up more
largely of pleasure than of pain, were fuller of joy than sorrow, and as they drew
to a close, there was the profound satisfaction in every honest, toiling pioneer's
heart, of having accomplished a great and tangible good
Although the forest abounded in game, the Indians, it is supposed, did not
come here with the intention of following the hunt, but the locality was a favor-
ite one for maple sugar making, and they frequently pursued this calling, the
nearest approach to anything like an active, industrial occupation that ever re-
ceived their attention. The Indians had temporary camping places in various
parts of what is now Greenwich, where they resorted in the spring and remained
until the flow of sap. in the sugar maples, had ceased. They made troughs to
receive the sap from the bark of beech trees, and evaporated it in small kettles,
most of the labor being performed by the squaws. Farther east, in the Black
river vicinity, were the favorite hunting grounds of the red-men who belonged to
the great tribe, a portion of which made its headquarters around Upper San-
dusky. They journeyed every year to these hunting grounds, and the paths they
trod were visible only a few years since, in the northern part of this township.
As they always followed the same trail, and invariably passed in single file, a de-
pression of the earth was caused, which was very easily noticeable.
In the early settlement of the township all kinds of game was abundant. Deer
were so numerous that they were frequently seen in droves of from a score to
fifty. A good hunter like David \V. Briggs would kill as many as eight or ten
a day when lucky, and in the season would bring down three or four hundred.
Briggs kept the settlers pretty well supplied with venison, and it was not an un-
common thing for him to have half a dozen or more frozen carcasses hanging
outside of his house at once. He was hired by Mr. Beach, a pioneer of Ruggles,
one time to do a day's shooting, Beach having a number of men at work for him
and nothing in the house for them to eat. Briggs was to report for duty at
Beach's house before breakfast, and to have two dollars for his day's hunting.
He arrived there as he had agreed to. and told his employer that he had killed
two deer on the way over, giving directions for finding the carcasses in the woods.
Beach told him he might call it a day's work and quit, which he did, thus earning
two dollars before breakfast, by doing what any sportsman would travel a
hundred miles to do now-a-days.
As late as 1853, when John M. Carl came into the township, deer were so
numerous that he was able on some occasions, to kill two, or even three, in a day
Digitized by Google
232
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Briggs at this time had given up hunting because, as he said, "game had grown
so scarce." Beside deer, there were all the varieties of small game common to a
new country. Wolves were a great source of annoyance. They committed
numerous depredations, some of them quite boldly.
GREENWICH.
Greenwich was incorporated as a village in 1879. It is fifty-five miles south-
west of Cleveland. The village has never had a rapid growth because the land
was held by a man who was adverse to the town. It has had almost its entire
growth since 1874. and in that time has increased from a small cluster of
houses to a village of importance and the leading place for the shipment of cat-
tle in that part of the western reserve. It is a station of note on what is known
as the Rig Four railroad. The village is surrounded by a rich country and has
within its limits the elements of enterprise, and will doubtless achieve in the
future greater importance as a trading place and shipping point.
IIARTLAND TOWNSHIP.
Hartland township was originally called Canterbury. It was attached to
Clarksfield until 1826; at which time it was organized. into a separate township and
received the name of Hartland.
The first election held in the township was in the school house on the Ridge
in April, 1826.
The surface of the township is generally level, though less so in the south and
east parts than elsewhere. The soil is a clay loam, modified by gravel and sand
along the streams and on the Hartland ridge, which runs a general north and south
direction through the second section. There were formerly a number of swamps
or marshes in the township, the largest of which were known as Canterbury
swamp, Cranberry marsh. Grape swamp and Bear swamp. The first was over
two miles in length, varying in width from fifty to one hundred and fifty rods, and
lay south east of the center. Cranberry marsh lay north of the center, and con-
tained about one hundred acres. These formerly unsightly places have been more
or less reclaimed, and the soil, which is a deep black muck, is the best in the
township.
The principal native varieties of timber were white wood, white, black and
burr oak. white and black ash, black walnut, hickory, birch and maple.
The Vermillion river runs through the southeast quarter of the township, and
adds a pleasing element to the landscape. Indian creek has its source in the south-
west part and flows into the Vermillion near the east town line. Brandy creek,
which is said to have derived its name from the peculiar color of the water, rises
near the center of the township, flows through the northeast part of the township
and across the northwest corner of Clarksfield, uniting with the Vermillion a short
distance west of the center of Wakeman township.
NATIVE ANIMALS.
The animals of the forest were the bear, deer, wolf, wild cat, gray fox and
other species of less importance. Bears were not numerous and seldom seen.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
233
They seem to have collected more generally in the marshes of Ripley, where they
were frequently killed. Deer were very plenty.
The first white child born in the township, was a child of Jared Tolls, in 1818.
The first couple married was Elijah Bills and Mary Howard, daughter of Cap-
tain William Howard. This event occurred June 2, 1822, at the residence of the
bride's parents, — John Beatty, Esq., performing the nuptial ceremony.
The first death was that of Jared Tolls, who died in the fall of 1818. He was
buried on his farm, in a coffin made out of Daniel Bills' wagon-box, as there was
no lumber to be had. A small apple tree sprout was planted at the head of the
grave, which grew to be a large tree, but it has been removed, and the exact lo-
cation of the grave is now unknown. The early settlers sometimes experienced
a great deal of difficulty in getting their grinding done. There were grist mills in
some of the adjacent townships, but they were at rest much of the time in con-
sequence of dry weather, and at such times trips to Cold creek, and occasionally
even to Mansfield, sixty miles distant, and through almost unbroken forests, were
necessary to get grinding done. Families whose supply of flour would be ex-
hausted before the return of the grist from the mill, would enjoy a week's variety
of pounded wheat or "jointed corn."
The first school house was built in the fall of 1821, on the ground that is
now occupied by the Ridge burying ground. The size of the house was sixteen
by twenty feet, with puncheon floor. The door, seats and writing desks were
also made of puncheons, and greased paper served as glass for the windows.
The first school was kept by Cyrus Munger, in the winter of 1821-22. The
families of Josiah Kilbourn, William Howard, Daniel Bills, Joseph Osyor, Nathan
Miner and Samuel White were represented in the school.
In April, 1826, the township was erected by the trustees into one school dis-
trict, called district number one. The following were at that time householders
of the district: Josiah Kilbourn, William Howard, Daniel Miner, Elijah Bills,
Samuel White, Jesse Taintor, Nathan Miner, Sylvester Waldron, Libeus Stoors,
Allen Mead, Eli Barnum and Henry Pickard.
In 1833 the first post office was established in Hartland, with Daniel Miner as
postmaster, who kept the office in his house, on the ridge, for a period of twenty-
one years.
The first sermon preached in Hartland was by the Rev. Lot B. Sullivan, a Con-
gregational home missionary. The first regular religious services were held at the
house of Joseph Waldron, in the summer and fall of 1821, at which the Revs. True
Pattee and James Mclntyre, Methodist circuit preachers, officiated.
After the school house was built, on the ridge, in the fall of 1821, the meet-
ings were held there. There was at this time but one Methodist family in the
township. In 1824, a few Free Will Baptist families moved into the township,
among which was that of Allen Mead, a preacher of that denomination. They
soon after began to hold meetings, and, under the preaching of Mead, Elder
Wheeler of Greenfield, and Rev. Mr. Carlton, quite a revival followed, resulting
in the organization of a church in Clarksfield, with which the Baptists in Hartland
united.
Digitized by Google
234 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The lirst sawmill in the township was built by Judah Ransom, on Indian creek,
in the spring of 1826. There were other saw mills erected later. The Chaffee mill,
in the third section ; the Miles mill, at the center, and the Thomas mill at Olena.
LYME TOWNSHIP.
Lyme township was originally embraced in the present township of Groton.
•n Erie county, and was called "Wheatslxirough," after Mr. Wheat, who owned
a large tract of land in it. It was afterwards organized by itself, and called
Lyme ; many of its first settlers having emigrated from a town of that name in
Connecticut.
The general aspect of the township is level prairie, interspersed with ridges
covered with groves of young oaks and hickories. In many places on the prairie
cottonwood trees have sprung up. The west part of the township was formerly
covered by a heavy growth of oak timber. The soil of the prairies is generally
a mixture of black muck and sand, while gravel and clay abound on the timber
part.
Quarries of lime stone have been opened in the west part of the township,
which supplies stone for building and making lime. A common kind of stone
is found in the center for building purposes.
Pipe and Pike creeks arise in the township, which run northward into Groton.
Stull brook originates in Sherman and runs a northeasterly course through the
township and enters Huron river at Ridgefield. A large creek which arises in
Seneca county crosses the south part of this townshhip and enters the Huron
river south of Monroeville.
Deer used to roam over the prairies, affording fine sport for the Indians and
other hunters, to chase in the fall of the year after the prairies had been burned
over, which was done every year. Wolves and bears sometimes troubled the
sheep.
The history of the settlement of the west is of constantly recurring interest.
The enterprise, intrepidity and self-denial of the pioneers who left the comforts
and privileges of their eastern homes and came to the Firelands, then a far-off
region, associated in the minds of civilized people with savage wild beasts and
Indians, must always command our highest respect and admiration. They en-
dured hardships and privations without number, not for their own advantages
merely — for they well knew that old age would steal upon them long before they
should enjoy the fruits of their toil — but for their children and their children's
children, that to them they might leave a goodly heritage. The most of those
truly, but unconsciously, heroic men and women, have long rested from their
labors, but the good they accomplished remains, the blessings they secured and
transmitted endure, and are now the precious legacy of a happy, prosperous and
intelligent posterity.
Scattering settlements had been made in all the townships along the lake
shore prior to the war of 1812; but the surrender of Detroit by General Hull,
exposed that portion of country to the ravages of the enemy, that a general
exodus of the settlers, southward, followed, and it remained almost entirely de-
nuded of inhabitants until the signal victories, on both land and water, of the
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
235
forces of the United States, rendered it safe for the former residents to return
to their abandoned and, in many cases, ruined homes.
The early settlement of Lyme, like that of most of her sister townships, was
never very rapid. Much of the land was owned by minor heirs, and entangled
with unsettled estates ; more had been bought up by speculators and held by them
at either so high a figure as to greatly retard immigration, or not offered for sale
at all ; and besides all this, government land adjoining, so soon as it came into
market, could be had for less than half the price generally at which the Fire-
lands' tracts were held.
The first settler was Conrad Hawks, who penetrated the thick woods of
Lyme in the year 1808. His location was in the northeast corner of the town-
ship on the farm afterwards so long occupied by John F. Adams.
The first building erected was the log dwelling of Conrad Hawks, built in
1808. The first frame house was erected by Colonel Nathan Strong, in the year
1817, on the Bemiss place. The first brick dwellings were those of John F.
Adams and Horatio Long, built in 1827.
The first settlement at Hunt's Corners was made in the southeast part by
several families named Sutton, and the locality has since been known as the
"Sutton Settlement," or Hunt's Corners. Levi Sutton, a native of Virginia,
bargained for the Moses Warren tract, consisting of eleven hundred and ten
acres, for one thousand dollars, and came on and took possession in the fall of
l8l I.
In 1818, Asaph, Erastus and Israel Cook came with their father, who settled
at Cook's corners near the eastern line of Lyme. They built a large treading
mill and dry house for dressing and cleaning hemp without rotting. This busi-
ness excited considerable interest and was expected to prove profitable to the
owners and the community.
The first saw mill was built in the south part of the township on Frink run
by Levi Sutton, in 1814 or 1815. Another saw mill was built about 1830, on a
creek which drains the prairies in the west part of the township in Bellevue. It
was afterwards used for a brewery.
A tannery was built about 1827. by Horatio Long, on a few acres of land
purchased by him near the line of Abner Nims and Zadoc Strong. He carried
on the business of tanning and shocmaking some ten or twelve years, when he
discontinued the business and became a farmer.
John C. Kinney came to Lyme about 1828. and opened a blacksmith shop near
the corner of lot twelve or thirteen.
Mary Ann Strong, daughter of Francis and Mary Curtis Strong, was the
first child born in the township. The date of her birth was August 3, 1817. She
became the wife of Isaac D. Collins in 1840, and died a short time afterwards.
The pioneer nuptials were those of Burwell Fitch and Susan Hawks, celebrated
in the winter of 1816 and 1817. They settled in Sherman township, where they
resided until their death. The next marriage was that of Ira Bassett and Polly
Hand, which took place in the spring of 1817.
The year 1834 will long be remembered as the one signalized by the first visit
of that fearful scourge, the cholera, to this country. On the 20th of August,
in that year, the wife of Mr. Sheffield was taken with that fearful disease, and
Digitized by Google
236
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
died in a few hours. The old famiy Bible contains a record of her death in his
own hand writing. On the 22d he was himself taken with the same disease, and
died just after midnight on the 23d.
NOKWALK TOWNSHIP.
Norwalk township was incorporated by act of legislature, February 11, 1828.
The following are the two first sections of the act of incorporation:
Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Ohio, That
so much of the township of Norwalk, in the county of Huron, as lies within the
following boundaries, to-wit: Commencing at the southeast corner of the town
plat of Norwalk. in the center of the road leading to Medina, running along the
south side of the back alley as far as it extends, from thence in the same direc-
tion to the center of the road passing widow Tice's dwelling, a distance of two
hundred and sixteen rods from the starting point ; thence along the center of said
road forty rods: thence northeastwardly and parallel with the first line to the
center of the road passing Ebcnezer Lane's dwelling to Milan, a distance of two
hundred and sixteen rods; thence along the center of said road forty rods to the
place of beginning, be and the same is hereby created a town corporate, and shall
henceforth be known and distinguished by the name of the town of Norwalk.
Sec. 2. That it shall be lawful for the white male inhabitants of said town,
having the qualifications of electors of members of the general assembly, to meet
at some convenient place in said town, on the first Monday of May next, and the
first Monday of May annually thereafter, and then and there proceed, by a plur-
ality of votes, to elect by ballot one mayor, one recorder and five trustees, who
shall have the qualifications of electors; and the persons so elected shall hold
their office for one year, and until their successors shall be chosen and qualified,
and they shall constitute the town council.
FIRST CORPORATION Kl.ECTION.
The following is taken from the first pages of the first book of record of the
corporation of Norwalk, and comprises the poll-book and tally sheet of the first
election held as an incorporated village :
Poll-book of the election held in the town of Norwalk, in the county of Huron,
and state of Ohio, this fifth day of May. in the year of our Lord one thousand
eight hundred and twenty-eight. Joseph C. Curtiss, Benjamin Cannon and Wra.
Gallup, judges, and Geo. T. Buckingham, clerk, of this election, were severally
sworn as the law directs previous to their entering on the duties of their respec-
tive offices.
"Norwalk and Bronson were together as an election district from 1817 (the
time of their first organization) to 1822. For a part of this time Fairfield was
included in the same organization, making an election district five miles wide and
fifteen miles long, the same being called Norwalk ; and while so together, all the
elections were held in the part called Norwalk proper."
The first election in Norwalk township was held at the house of Hanson
Reed in April, 181 7. Norwalk and Bronson were at this time organized as an
election district.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI/RON COUNTY
237
Hanson Reed's house was situated on the east side of the road leading from
near the water works to the Fairfield road, and about thirty rods from the lat-
ter road.
Soon after Hull's surrender at Detroit in August of 1812, Thomas, son of
Abijah Comstock, was born on section two of Norwalk. When he was only a
few days old, his parents had to flee from their home to escape the Indians, which
they did just in time, taking him and their other valuables with them, for the
night after their departure their house was burned. This was the first white
child born in Norwalk.
The first death of which he has found any record, was that of Angeline
Lewis. She was the daughter of Samuel B. and Amy Lewis ; born at South
Salem. Westchester county, New York, probably in the fall of 1814 ; was brought
by her parents to Norwalk in the spring of 181 5, and died September 1, 1817.
She was probably the child stolen by two squaws, and rescued by her mother, of
which an account is given in the history of Samuel B. Lewis.
In the spring or summer of 181 5, Hanson Reed, then living in Greenfield, pur-
chased of Samuel B. Lewis, the place upon which Mr. Lewis had erected a house
the previous year.
He soon moved in with his family, and in 1816 or 1817, commenced building
a sawmill on the creek which runs through the present L. B. Mesnard and S. J.
Rogers farms, on the north side of the Fairfield road, and a few rods to the
west of the stone bridge over that creek. In erecting this mill, he was assisted
by his father-in-law, Mr. Abraham Powers. Soon after its completion, it was
destroyed by fire. The two men then made a workshop of the house, and com-
menced work on the machinery of another mill, and in about five weeks had it
completed, running and doing a good business, but when the fall rains came on,
a freshet swept away their dam. They were now without funds, all having been
put into building and re-building, but were not discouraged ; the dam was soon
replaced, and then they began to plan for a gristmill attachment to the sawmill,
and carried their plans into execution in a year or two afterwards.
In 180G Nathan S. Comstock, in company with several others, started on an
exploring expedition to "spy out the country" where their new possessions lay.
They spent some time in looking over the country, but not being provided with
suitable maps or guides, were not certain they found the particular land they
were in search of.
1809. — Early in the spring of this year, Nathan engaged the services of
Darius Ferris and Elijah Hoyt to accompany him on a second expedition to Nor-
walk with the intention of making a permanent settlement. They started with a
span of horses and wagon and such tools as would be necessary in clearing and
building. At Buffalo they found it impracticable to proceed further with their
wagon, so a small boat was purchased, into which their goods were packed, with
the addition of a barrel of whisky. Two of them manned the boat, and pro-
ceeded up the lake, keeping near the shore, while the other took charge of the
horses, and traveled overland, keeping near the lake. In this manner they reached
the mouth of Huron river.
There were at that time quite a number of Indian settlements along that
river, the largest of which was where the village of Milan now stands, and was
238
HISTORY OF Hl'ROX C OUNTY
called Pequatting. They were Moravians, in charge of a missionary named
Frederick Drake, and had a mission house. Being very friendly, they offered
the new comers the use of their mission house until a structure could be erected
to shelter them. A site was selected for the new house in section two. near a
spring, and in the immediate neighborhood of the fine brick residence erected
a few years ago by Philo Comstock, Esq., in section three of Xorwalk. After
cutting the logs, the few white men then in the country, were invited to assist
in putting up the house.
This was the first house erected by white men, in the township of Norwalk,
of which any record can be traced, and was. most probably, the pioneer house.
It was not covered by a mansard roof ; the windows were not set with crown-
plate glass; the front door was not of carved walnut, nor mahogany; the back
door did not exist ; its floor was not covered with a brussels carpet ; there was
no piano and no sewing machine within its walls ; upon the marble-topped center
table (which was not there) lay no daily morning paper containing the latest
telegraph news and the last time card of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern
railroad, nor even that of the Wheeling & Lake Erie railroad company. In fact,
it was no palatial residence, but rough and strong, and made for service like the
strong-willed, iron-handed men who built it. Its roof was made of "shakes;'*
its walls of rough logs ; its floor was the face of mother-earth, carpeted with the
moss of the growth of ages ; the bedsteads were "bunks" with poles for springs,
and their mattresses were sacks filled with leaves and mosses : its cooking range
was a brass kettle hung (in a pole supported by two crotched sticks driven into the
floor, and its chimney was a hole left open in the roof. Rough, uncouth, homely,
yet it was a home, — the first home of Xorwalk.
The house having been erected, they next commenced a clearing of about ten
acres which they completed, in a manner, and sowed to wheat that fall.
NEW LONDON TOWNSHIP.
New London township was settled prior to any township adjacent, and the first
settlement was within what is now the village. The first settlers were Abner
Green, wife ard three 'laughters, in the month of February, 1815, and located on
lot number ten, third section. Here Mr. Green erected the first log house — a small
cabin — using basswcod bark as covering or roofing. His furniture, or rather cook-
ing apparatus, and fanning tools and implements were few and very simple. His-
tory tells us they were conveyed on his back in a box or "chest captured from Gen-
eral Proctor.'' Grtcn was born in the state of Vermont at a day sufficiently early
for him to he a revolutionary soldier, though the date of his birth is unknown —
probably, about 1758. He served also during the war of 1812 as sergeant.
Mr. Green cleared some two or three acres of ground in 181 5. and raised the
first crop of corn in the township, and the historian is informed he had a good crop,
cultivated by the use of the ax and the hoe He was noted as an honest, indus-
trious, patriotic, and religious person, often holding religious meetings, and the
then boys say he did good preaching. He also erected a cabin and lived for a few
ye?rs on lot number twenty- four, second section. Thence in 1823 he moved to the
1
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
239
southern part of Ohio, and died about 1826, from, as is supposed, the effect of a
wound received in the battle of Fort Maiden, under General William H. Harrison.
The township of New London was organized in 1817, and the first election was
held at the house of Mr. William Sweet, on the first Monday in April. W illiam
Sweet. Isaac P. Case and Solomon Hubbard were trustees; Sherman Smith was
township clerk; Hosca Townsend and I!. Crampton were appraisers; Philo T.
Prrter was constable, and H. Townsend acted as lister. The early records of the
township were burned, with all the furniture in the house, at the time Sherman
Smith and brother's house was burned, in 1818 or '19, and the want of any record
con pels us to say we do not km w who was elected in the spring of 1818. It is
conceded there was no fall election in 1817. The first state election was held in
1818, end the jxill b)ok shows twenty votes, which at the ratio now given for boys,
girls, and women (and many of the early pioneers had large families of boys and
girls) would give the town somewhere from sixty to one hundred inhabitants.
The township very naturally took the name of Xezc London from the fact that
N. Douglass. N. Richards, and the Ledvards. w ere the principal, or largest original
proprietors, or sufferers ; and they resided in New London, Connecticut. The
name of the township has never been changed since its first settlement.
The settlement of this township was delayed by the w ar of 1812-15, and again
from the disputes of title from 1820 to "25, which will be more fully noticed here-
after, it being the cause of the greatest suit ever affecting the settlers on the
Firelands.
The surface of the township is generally level, though, in many portions in
the vicinity of the water courses, it is quite rolling, and other portions may be
classed as gently undulating. It was originally, with the exception of a small por-
tion in the fourth section, known as the cranberry marsh, all densely covered by
timber. The principal varieties of wood were black walnut ; elm of several varie-
ties — rock, red and white; maple — hard and soft; l>ecch ; oak — white, yellow and
black ; basswood, whitcwood, hickory, white and black ash, cherry, dogwood and
willow. There has been no particular change in the forest, except the almost en-
tire dif appearance, by use. The soil is very productive — well adapted to grass,
small rains, corn, vegetables and berries — clayey, or marl, with a slight prepon-
derance of the clay, and. in the third section, sandy ; while rich, deep muck, is abun-
dant in the fourth section. It is about equally well adapted to the dairy products,
hay, grain or stock raising. Fruits of several kinds and varieties do well. In short,
for fertility and productiveness, very few. if any town on the Firelands. can sur-
pass this. At an early day in the settlement of the township, quite a large portion
of the third and fourth sections were deemed as low land and swampy ; now, all or
nearly all is drained and is tillable.
The streams running through the town are two. One running northwardly
through the fourth and third sections, is formed by Skellenger's creek, Knowltcn's
creek and Carpenter's creek, uniting with the V ermillion river in the township of
Clarksfield. as its east branch; and Rawson's creek, uniting with other small
streams and making East creek, a west branch of Pilack river. The various creeks
and streams are fed by many springs, which render this section of the county quite
well watered.
Digitized by Google
240
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The first road opened was the Read, a military road from the south side of
the county to the lake on the west line of New London, in 1812. The second
road was for the passage of the army of General \Vm. H. Harrison's division,
1814, through the northeast corner of the township. The first road made by the
pioneers was what is known as the Clarksfield road to Ruggles, commenced 181 6
The first mail matter was obtained at Huron, Judge Jabez Wright, postmaster,
Dr. Richard P. Christopher keeping the office for the Judge. The next was ob-
tained at Norwalk. The first mail route was from Tiffin to New London — a
man in southern Ohio taking the contract for carrying the mail, but mistaking
New London for London in the central part of the state, he gave up his con-
tract, and it was then carried by Squire Palmer, of Fitchville, from Fitchville to
Tiffin and back, once a week; and by Tracy Case and Hosea Townsend from
Fitchville to the office of I. P. Case, postmaster, for the revenue of the office.
This was under J. Q. Adams' administration. Under Jackson's administration
Peter Kinsley officiated as postmaster at "Kinsley Corners," or Merrifield's Set-
tlement. The first route through the township was from Florence to Uniontown,
or Ashland.
The first religious organization was in the log school house where Miss
Sophia Case was teaching; organized by Mr. James Haney, in 1816, a Methodist
from Savannah I then known as Haneytown). Mr. Haney had about thirty lis-
teners. Probably this was the first class, and from which, as a nucleus, the
Methodist church sprang.
The first birth occurred on the 29th day of February, 1816. Unto John
Hendryx's wife was born a son.
The first adult death was that of Mrs. Francis Keyes, who died of consump-
tion in May. 1819, and was buried on their own lot, near John King's orchard.
Mrs. Polly Day, daughter of John Corry and wife of John Day, died in the
autumn of 1820, and was buried on her father's farm, l>eing the first buried in
the village cemetery.
The first house erected was by Ahner Green, on lot number ten, third section,
February, 181 5, and the first frame house by Hosea Townsend on lot number
twenty-three, third section. The first frame barn was built by I. P. Case, and the
first log store (a building twenty-four by thirty-six) in 1819, on his place. The
first frame store was William C. Spaulding's, on lot number seven, third section.
The first boy born in a frame house in the town was Ira Townsend.
The first corn was raised by Abner Green, and the first wheat carried to mill
was by Hosea Townsend. to Uniontown, now Ashland. The first flour and meai
was obtained at Florence.
The first manufacturer of boots and shoes was I. P. Case, in 181 5. The
first black salts or potash was made by Josiah Day and his father, Dr. Samuel
Day. The first orchards from the seeds were planted by II. Townsend, William
Sweet, John Corry, and Francis Keyes, in 1 820 and 22. The first grist mill
was put up by Captain William Blackman in 1826. and was a small concern — two
sand-stones turned by hand. The first brick building was erected in the fall of
1865 and in the summer of 1866. Was used by Thomas Smith as a cellar. The
Masonic hall was built the following year. The first brick store was built by C
W. Gregory in the village in 1866.
Digitized by Google
Tlu- >• '**"
PUBLIC Li-BAR*
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
243
The first school house was in the third section, on lot number thirteen, in
1816, and Miss Sophia Case, daughter of I. P. Case, was the first teacher, and
had fifteen scholars. The first school house in the fourth section, or in the vil-
lage, was on lot two, a little north of B. B. Mead's residence, and Peter Kinsley
taught the first school in 1818; he had about twenty pupils.
When the first white men settled in New London, the black bears and wolves
were the most formidable ; deer, raccoon, otter, sable and gray fox, wild turkeys,
beaver, wild cat, hedgehog and fishers, or pekans, abounded to a limited extent.
The deer and wild turkeys became far more abundant about 1822 evidently com-
ing into the town from the cast ; and the wolves appeared to follow the deer.
There were Indian camping grounds on farms in the second section, but no
villages. The hunters of the Delaware and Wyandot nations frequented their
old grounds for a few years after the white man came.
The first physician was Dr. Samuel Day in the second section in 1817 or 1818.
He was a botanic, and did some practice by the use of indigenous plants and
herbs. He died December 31, 1839.
NEW HAVEN TOWNSHIP.
New Haven township was so named after New Haven, Connecticut, from
the fact that nearly all the early settlers were from that state, and one of the
principal land owners, who inherited or purchased a large portion of the land
in the township from the original grantees of soil, lived in New Haven, Con-
necticut.
It is mostly a level township, but in some places rolling. The soil in the
southwestern part is a black sandy loam ; in the north and eastern part it is more
of a clay soil, or clay mixed with sand. There is a stone quarry in the southern
part from which large amounts of stone have been taken for building purposes,
but was more suited for flagging or foundations than for block work. But it
was an important addition and convenience to the settlers of the township, for it
furnished building material for far and near.
The principal water course in the township is the Huron river, having its
source a few miles south of the southern boundary of the township, thence north
until it finds an outlet into Lake Eric, at Huron. It increases in size quite rapidly.
It receives quite an accession to its waters before leaving the township, the first
of which is called Rice's run, which puts in from the east and intersects the river
during the first two miles of its travel ; the second is a stream having its source
in the extreme southwestern limits of the township, running north until it inter-
sects with the river. It drains a large extent of the level land, or marsh lands, and
is for this reason called Marsh river, and when its waters mingle with those of
the river it is of considerable volume.
The southern boundary of this township forms the line between Huron and
Richland counties. In the southwestern part of the township there is a large
extent of marsh lands, but these have been drained and are largely under culti-
vation.
At an early day there were to be seen the remains of an ancient fortification,
situated in the western part, and within the boundaries of the town plat. Its
244
HISTORY OF HTROX COUNTY
embankments were in a circular form, plainly and distinctly marked, and trees
of a large size were growing upon them.
There were no Indian villages or settlements within this township, hut there
were numerous bands going and coming continually from the neighboring
Wyandot settlement, and on the eastern bank of the river there is said to have
been an Indian burial ground.
The first settlement made in this township was sometime bel ire the war with
Great Britain, supposed to be about 1810 or 1811. by Caleb Palmer, a surveyor,
whose calling brought him into this part of the country, although he then lived
in Trumbull county. A small settlement was then made, and Palmer put up the
first log cabin in the township in 1811. about one mile northeast of the present
village of New Haven, on the road leading to Norwalk. Woodstock and New-
comb also came at a very early date.
The settlement increased quite fast during the years 1814 and 181 5. During
these two years. Josiah Curti>s. Reuben Skinner. Jas. Maclntyre, David Powers.
Samuel R. Carpenter. John Harney. Samuel Knapp. Martin M. Kellogg, the In-
schos. Henry Harney, Royal N. Powers. Chism May, Calvin Hutchinson. George
Beymer, Win. Clark. Jacob Speeker, Rouse Blv, Joseph Dana. John Alberson,
George Shire!. Matthew Bevard, William York, Prince Haskell, Stephen Stil-
well. and many others cast their fortunes with the settlement.
The first election in New Haven township was held on the 17th of August.
1815. John Barney was chairman: Josiah Curtiss and Stephen D. Palmer,
judges; Daniel Powers and James Mclntyre. Jr., clerks. Following are the
names of the officers at that time elected : Samuel B. Carpenter, clerk : Robert
Inscho, John Barney. Martin M. Kellogg, trustees; James Mclntyre, Chisim May,
overseers of the poor; Samuel Knapp. Reuben Skinner, fence viewers; Stephen
D. Palmer. Henry Barney, supervisors; Calvin Hutchinson. Samuel Knapp. ap-
praisers ; Calvin Hutchinson, constable ; Caleb Palmer, treasurer.
The first white child born within the limits of New Haven township, was
Ruth, daughter of Caleb and Hariet Palmer. She was born April 29. 1813. She
married Jesse Youngs.
George Beymer was the first person who died in New Haven. He settled in
the township in 181 5. and died June 24. 1817. after a long illness, contracted
while he was in Franklin county. Ohio. A large family was bereft of a father
when he was removed, and because of this fact, and also as it was the first time
that death had invaded the settlement, the occasion was one of the intensest sor-
row. An old settler, speaking of the funeral, says that it was one of the most
agonizing experiences that he can recall to mind, and one of the most solemn.
The women who were present gave expression to their grief in the most heart-
rendering manner, wailing and sobbing during the whole of the sad service. The
sermon was preached by the Rev. James Mclntyre.
The first couple married in the township, were James Skinner and Harriet
Beymer. They were married in June, 181 7, at Reuben Skinner's house, by Caleb
Palmer.
The first Masonic funeral in New Haven was that of Dr. John B. Johnson,
who died in 1824.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
245
The first school was taught by Sophia Barney, in 1815. Joseph Dana taught
the first singing school, about 1820.
Caleb Palmer's was the first log house. The first framed building was a
small barn built by Royal X. Powers. The first brick house was that of J. K.
Partello.
Mrs. Joseph Darling (a daughter of "Priest" Edwards, of Ripley), taught
the first Sunday school about the year 1830, upon what was later known as the
Henry Trimner farm.
The first sawmill was built by William Clark, on lot sixty-five, section two,
in the year 1816. It was afterwards owned by Moses S. Beach. It has long
since passed away, but the old race can still be seen.
The first gristmill was built by Caleb Palmer, in 181 6, or the year following,
upon lot fifty-seven, section two.
The first Fourth of July celebration of which any information can be gleaned,
was in 1822. It was held upon the square, where a green bower was erected over
the speaker's stand and dinner tables.
Joseph Dana was for many years the teacher of an excellent school at the vil-
lage. He was a man of fine scholarship and had a peculiar ability in, and fondness
for, his profession. He labored, however, against many disadvantages. One of
them was the absence of the conveniences for writing, which are now thought
indispensable. The pupils had no paper, slates or blackboards, upon which to ex-
ercise their chirographic abilities, and traced their "pothooks" and rude letters in
sand strewn upon smooth boards.
A school house was built quite early in the history of the township, which was,
for the time, an unusually k r, *'d one. It was originally but one story high, but an-
other was added b\ the Masonic fraternity.
Most of the Indians who were seen by the early settlers in Xew Haven, were
of the Seneca tribe, one of the divisions of the formerly powerful nation known
as the Iroquois Confederacy. The southwestern part of Huron county was pe-
culiarly the hunting ground of this tribe. The Wvandots or Hurons were also seen,
but not so frequently: and at times, some of the Delawares.
Before the settlement of the country some of these tribes inhabited the Fire-
lands, and held them a< their own. After the pale face came, they, no longer, re-
garded the territory as their home, and seem only to have wandered through it, tar-
rying a little while here and there, hunting, fishing and making maple sugar. They
had some villages in the northern part of the Firelands. but none in the southern.
The Senecas passed through Xew Haven, on their way to the eastern hunting
grounds, sometimes in bodies of several hundreds, but more often in small com-
panies which occasionally camped for a few days or weeks near the bank of the
Huron. Some rode upon ponies, and >oine traveled afoot. All were clothed in char-
acteristic Indian style. The warriors wore the peculiarly fierce appearing feath-
ered headdress, and were clothed in buckskin. The squaws were always neatly
dressed, in short skirts, beaded moccasins, and gaily bedecked blankets. They
brought baskets, deer hams and various trinkets to the settlers, which they were
always anxious to barter for bread, flour or meal.
The first sermon delivered in the township was by James Mclntyre, Jr., in
the log school house. Mr. Mclntyre was a Methodist preacher. He was the son
Digitized by Google
246
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
of an early settler, who bore the same given name, and who came to the county
in 1814. The son was without education save that which he obtained from the
few books which fell into his possession. He was awkward, uncouth, illy clad
and bad a poor voice, but he was in earnest and argument was his forte. Hi->
style was dry, plain, but forcible in reason and was seemingly convincing. He
was a preacher of the argumentative style and was fond of a debate with some
preacher of a different religious faith. Early settlers describe him as a remark-
ably tall, gaunt, ungainly figure, with thin, peaked face, small, deep set eyes, and
sandy hair. He usually appeared at the place where a meeting was to be held,
attired in a tow cloth shirt, often worn in the manner of a frock, tow cloth
pantaloons, one tow cloth suspender, with a "buckeye" hat upon his head, and
barefooted. He was the last man a stranger would have picked out in the little
croup as the preacher. He would begin speaking in a cracked, squeaking voice
and those who had never seen him or heard of him before, would imagine that
they saw before them some poor, cracked and crazed fanatic. Wonder would
soon change to admiration, as the pioneer preacher proceeded with the argument
of his sermon. He was. although poorly educated, naturally smart, energetic and
earnest. His converts were numerous, and the amount of good he accomplished,
great.
New Haven was settled by a superior class of men. Many of them had en-
joyed unusual educational advantages, and a number were much better endowed
with material goods than the pioneers in a new country generally are. As the
village was formed at an early day. there were many who came in without ex-
periencing the pleasures or pains of pioneer life. This class did not, as a ride
take up land. They were not. in the proper sense of the term, early settler-
They located in the village and followed trades, and their number was so great
that many are not even mentioned, while others are barely referred to.
The first lawyer who located in the township was Wm. Clark. Esq., who settled
as early as 18 15.
The first chopping in the township, for the purpose of improvement, was done
in 1810.
The first wheat was sown by Caleb Palmer in 1810 — before he became a settler
— upon the ground where he afterward located his home.
The fir^t orchard was put out upon the farm of Reuben Skinner. Mr. Skinner
and his son took a quantity of cranberries, which they picked upon the marsh or
prairie, to Knox county, and exchanged them for one hundred of very small trees.
The Skinners made their settlement in 1814.
NEW HAVEN VILLAGE.
The village of New Haven was laid out by David and Royal N. Powers, upon
the 8th of April, 181 5. The plat was constructed upon the plan of the town
plat of New Haven, Connecticut, and the village was as tastefully and con-
veniently laid out as any in the state of Ohio. This was the second town plat
laid out upon the Firelands. The center of the plat, an open space, of diamond
shape, was just north of the township center. Streets were laid out. north, ea^t.
south and west, from the angles of this open common, and these were inter-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
247
sected, at right angles, by other streets, all at an equal distance from the center
of the plat. Alleys were laid out, sub-dividing the blocks. There were one hun-
dred and eighteen lots, over sixty of which were sold and improved within the
first few years of the existence of the village. In 1820, New Haven was re-
garded as a rival, in matters of trade and manufacture, of Norwalk and Mans-
field. This rivalry was maintained until the completion of the Sandusky, Mans-
field and Newark railroad, when, from a combination of causes, it began to de-
cline.
New Haven village was incorporated in 1838 or '39, but it is said that officers
were not regularly or properly elected until several years later. Wm. V. B.
Moore was mayor in 1839. No trace of any official mention can be discovered
before that date. The first and second pages of the corporation record are gone,
and the first date shown is 1843. Under this date, by reference to various entries,
wc find that the officers were at that time as follows : P. R. Hoy, mayor ; R. L.
McEwen, recorder (or clerk) ; J. K. Partello, J. C. Towne, Wm. John, D. F. Web-
ber, James Graham, trustees (members of council).
Almost one-fourth of the township, section number four, was originally a wet
prairie or marsh. In an early day, cranberries, huckleberries, "sauger," wild
ducks and pigeons were the principal products found on this marsh, but today it
is reclaimed by an extensive system of drainage so that farmers have a rich re-
ward for their labor, in grass, grain and corn. Celery is also extensively grown.
All of this work has been accomplished within the past forty years. The marsh
feeds a small stream known as Marsh run, tributary to Huron river. It is a
fact not generally known that this marsh is the largest tract of this kind of land
in the United States.
New Haven village was on the direct thoroughfare from the south to the lake,
and the merchants had not only a good home trade, but received the liberal pat-
ronage of the hundreds of teamsters who drove through with loads of produce
from Mansfield and other points in the vicinity. Goods were, in those days,
hauled by teams from Baltimore and Philadelphia to the lake ports north of New
Haven, and the teamsters upon their back trip gave the preference to this vil-
lage, over all others, as a place to purchase those articles they needed for personal
use, and goods for people living along their line of travel south.
These teamsters were men of considerable character and ability. They trans-
acted their affairs in as business-like a way as does the captain of a vessel, or the
officer of a freight line, taking bills of lading, etc. They drove six-horse teams
in front of their immense wagons, called "land schooners," and were thus able
to transport heavy loads of produce and merchandise. Sometimes the roads for
several miles would be filled with these turnouts, presenting the appearance of
an immense procession or caravan. Many a time the diamond, or square com-
mon, in the center of the plat, was so filled with these teams, and those of farm-
ers in the vicinity, who came in to trade, that it was impossible, well-nigh, for
a pedestrian to cross from one side to the other.
Early in the history of New Haven, when there were few banks in the country,
when money was scarce, and the skins of animals, beeswax, and salts or ashes,
were the principal articles of traffic, David Powers, Royal N. Powers and Martin
M. Kellogg, established a banking house and issued notes, the lowest denomina-
Digitized by Google
248
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
tion of which was valued at twenty-five cents. These notes were put into cir-
culation, but after a short time they were not receivable at par, and finally they
were taken in exchange for goods by Royal N. Rowers, when he opened a store.
New Haven's prosperity began at an early day, increased rapidly and ceased
suddenly. Fortune is fickle with communities as well as men. She smiled upon
this one in its infancy ; withdrew her favor and put the past and present con-
ditions of the village into a forcible and saddening contrast. The Sandusky and
Newark railroad was built in the years 1843 and 1844. New Haven lay
directly in the way of the proposed road, and its people were called uj>on to aid
the enterprise to the extent of a few thousand dollars. The amount asked for
would probably have been subscribed, had it not been for the counsel of Judge
Ives. He regarded it as impossible to build the road by any other route than
through the village, and advised against extending any financial assistance.
On account of not receiving the assistance asked for. the road was run a mile
west of the village, and from that time the town of New Haven began its decline.
The Sandusky. Norwalk & Mansfield electric line now traverses its principal
street north and south, but the early day prosperity of the town will never be
revived.
New Haven having in early times, a larger population than any of her sister
townships, it followed naturally that the people led a more jolly, social life than
in most other communities. Almost every Saturday afternoon was given up to
amusement, and nearly the whole population was there gathered upon the square
to indulge in various games, such as ball, pitching quoits, wrestling, running,
jumping, etc. Many a royal frolic was had at the taverns, and many a jovial
crowd assembled to engaged in some hilarious but harmless merry-making.
The weddings and parties were occasions of unbounded enjoyment. There
was a lack of formality and of the artificial but plenty of honest, homely hospital-
ity and good feeling. A number of men and women would often go in an ox
cart to the house of a friend where they had been invited, and there meeting
many other guests, would enjoy in a genuinely sociable way the whole of a long,
but seemingly short evening. Sometimes the accommodations were apparently
insufficient for the number of guests. There would, perhaps, be no table large
enough to hold the substantial supper or dinner that had been provided, but it
was an easy matter to take a door from its hinges and lay it upon a couple of
barrels and the ladies and gentlemen of the olden time probably enjoyed the var-
ious good things, set forth upon this improvised table, as their descendants do the
luxuries now more elegantly served. Some of the weddings were great "social
events."
As early as 1810, a mail was carried from Mansfield to the mouth of the Huron
by a man named Facer, who continued to carry it until May, 1813, when Andrew
Brewster commenced to carry it, and continued to do so for two years. His
father lived in Mansfield. There was then no settlement between Mansfield and
Huron, it being one unbroken wilderness and the road a mere trail. He traveled
what was the old state road, running through the center of Ripley and Fairfield.
He said he would see only three or four white persons on the route, though In-
dians were met very frequently. They made him no trouble, however, and were
never so much a cause of fear as were the wolves. The country was full of these
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
249
disagreeable and dangerous animals, and it is said by old settlers that Brewbaker
seldom dismounted from his horse, because afraid that he would be molested if
he did so. He was accustomed to pour grain into a basin, shaped hollow, which
he had chopped in a fallen tree, and sit-in the saddle while his horse ate.
It was some time during Rrewbaker's period of service that a postoffice was
established in the township. The first was a box nailed upon a post, and thus
literally a post office. Joseph Dana was the first postmaster. His duties were
not arduous. People who expected mail matter were accustomed to go to the
box. open it. examine the contents, and, if they found any letters addressed to
themselves, to carry them home. Although Darling is generally spoken of as the
first postmaster, there is no doubt but that Caleb Palmer was the first man
regularly commissioned to fill that office.
A stage route was laid out through the township, north and south, in the year
1 819. It was only a short time anterior to this date that the roads had become
worthy of the name. They were at first mere trails, winding through the woods,
but the spirit of improvement was abroad, and regular roads were laid out. the
timber cut and travel made less tedious.
Royal N. Power was the first merchant or regular trader who brought goods
into the township and kept them for sale.
Deer, coonskins and beeswax were the principal articles of traffic, and were
the only things that would bring money in the early pioneer times. Coonskins
were twenty-five cents each, deerskins a shilling a pound dry. Beeswax, twenty
cents a pound.
Not long after Mclntire commenced preaching the Methodist doctrine, Pres-
byterian services were held at the house of John Barney, by a Mr. Mathews, of
Ashland.
The first resident physician in New Haven was Samuel B. Carpenter, who
commenced practice as early as 1814.
The mercantile business was of great magnitude. The pioneers in business
were Royal A. Powers, Hopkins, Hinman, and Williams, who had a large «tock
of goods. Ives and Askins. and there were others. Later T. \V. Crowell and
Sumner Webber. At one time there were five dry goods stores and it was not
an unusual thing for the larger ones to take in five hundred dollars a day. New
Haven was on the direct thoroughfare from the south to Lake Erie. The mer-
chants had a good home trade and had liberal patronage from the hundreds of
teamsters that drove through with their produce from Mansfield and other points.
They drove six horse teams with their immense wagons called "Land Schooners."
We of the younger generation in this day of rapid transit with steam and trolley
cars, cannot conceive of the inconvenience of the going and coming of our fore-
fathers.
■
NORWICH TOWNSHIP.
Norwich township was named in honor of its Connecticut namesake. At the
original survey by Almon Ruggles the township contained sixteen thousand
five hundred and twenty-nine acres, and the land was estimated to be worth to
the original grantees about one dollar and fifty cents per acre. From the time
the grant was made to the close of the War of 181 2 many of the grantees had
Digitized by Google
250
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
sold their claims, or at their decease, left them to their heirs, who in some in-
stances sold them to speculators or permitted them to be sold for taxes. The
first house in the township was a cabin built by the surveying party for their
own convenience.
The first road opened to the township was that made by General Beall and his
army in 1812. leading from Woostcr to Fremont, through New Haven and Nor-
wich. The trail came into the township at the southeast corner and ran through
northwesterly and left the township on the north side about one and a half miles
east of the northwest corner. Hopkins made a survey of the trail, and located the
present road leading from where the B. & O. railroad crosses the Greenwich and
Norwich center road.
On the 8th day of November, 1808, the township received its name and was
divided into four sections, as were each of the thirty townships comprising the
Firelands. Norwich was drawn by nineteen persons.
As early as 1815, Daniel L. Coit had become by heirship and purchase the
owner of the township of Norwich, excepting a portion of the first section.
Later he sold sections two and three, comprising the north half of the township
to Judge Canficld. of Connecticut, who soon after sold the same to James Wil-
liams. Philip R. Hopkins and David W. Hinman.
In the spring of 1S16 Messrs. Williams, Hopkins and Hinman surveyed the
two sections into one hundred acre lots. These were in size one hundred and
sixty rods east and west by one hundred rods north and south, making five tiers
of eight lots each in a section, and numbering from the southeast corner of the
sections. Hopkins was the surveyor. These gentlemen also laid out a village.
It was named Barbadoes, and was situated on the west end of lot thirty-eight in
section second, and the adjoining portion of lot six in the third section. The
survey was completed in June. The surveying party built a small log house,
the first in the township, on lands now owned by Kinsman Bowcn. The same year
John Williamson put up the walls and roof of a hewed log house on the village
plat, near where Durwin Houghton's house later stood. That was long known as
the "village house," though no other was built on the plat. Williamson neither
finished the house nor occupied it; in fact, nothing further of his history is
known.
A small band of Seneca Indians, with Seneca John at their head, sometimes
made their camp in the township. John could speak a little English. He was
honest and trusty, but others of the tribe were drunken and thievish. Their
dead were usually enclosed in a bark coffin and buried near their camp. There
were a few conical mounds in the southeast part of the township when first
settled. These were believed to have been burial places for the dead and have
long since disappeared.
In the fall of the year 1816 Chauncey Woodruff and Wilder Lawrence, with
their respective families, left Saratoga county. New York, for the wilderness
of Ohio. After a tedious journey, they reached Trumbull county, where they
rested until the severe months of winter had passed. Chauncey Woodruff
and his son, George II.. came on to Norwich and selected lots for future homes
The son remained at New Haven while his father returned for the family. On
the 8th of February, 1817, Woodruff and Lawrence arrived in New Haven:
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
251
and, on the ioth, started, with their families, for Norwich. Accompanied by a
few friends, they journeyed cm. and before night arrived at the "village house"
before mentioned. This consisted of but the walk and roof; holes had been
cut for a door and fire-place. Oak puncheons had been prepared for a floor,
and lay near by under the snow, which was then about one foot deep. A few were
soon fished out and placed in position and a fire started. Blankets were hung
for a door, and supper prepared, over which the company made merry. In lay-
ing in stores for the occasion, a jug of the "ardent" had been procured, and
doubtless added much to the jollity of the evening within the cabin, while without
the wolves made night hideous with their incessant howling.
Mud run is the largest stream in the township. It rises in Seneca county
and enters Norwich township near the southeast corner and Hows and generally
runs northeasterly. It derives its name from the muddy appearance of its
banks and the absence of stone and gravel in its bed.
Slate run also rises in Seneca county, Hows across the western line of the
township on lot number thirty-four, runs northeasterly across section third, and
unites with Mud run on lot number thirty-eight. It receives its names from the
slate rock over which it runs. These streams are tributary to Huron river.
Other small streams exist in the township, but as they are wholly unimportant
we omit description.
The soil is a clay loam, varying from light clay on the ridges to black loam
between them. The whole is well adapted to agriculture. The subsoil is brick
clay. A few "cat swamps," of a few acres each, lie in the southeast part of the
township. The whole township was originally heavily timbered.
The township was situated on the outcrop of the black slate rock, and oc-
cupies a middle position between the sandstone on the east and the limestone on
the west. The slate rock dips to the east and runs under the sandstone, which
appears on the surface about five miles east, in the township of Greenfield. The
limestone which lies under the slate rises to the surface about five miles west,
in the township of Reed in Seneca county. Above the slate rock, for about
fifteen feet, the subsoil contains a large quantity of water-worn limestone of the
buff-colored variety, containing numerous fossils, Mich as coral and shellfish
of many species. Along the streams are numerous sulphur springs. Some-
times they appear in the bed of the streams, and at others rise to the surface of
the bottom lands, forming deer licks. l*ig lick, the longest in the township, lies
near the center of section four and contains nearly an acre.
Litigations as to titles of property, kept settlers from making improvements,
except for living and this kept others from entering the township with a view
of making settlements.
In 1827 Coit resurveyed the land and sold to settlers, old and new, at two
dollars per acre and improvements began in earnest, and a new era hegan to
dawn, as the industriously inclined from the settled districts of the east began to
seek a place where they might make a home for themselves and their families
in the west.
As the tract was heavily timbered which must be removed before the seed
could be sown, which was to furnish their food, and a place for shelter yet to
be built, labor and privation welcomed them when they made their arrival.
Digitized by Google
252
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Today their ancestors are enjoying the results of their labors.
Instead of the dense forest that welcomed them, we see the well fenced
and tilled farm today.
Instead of the small log house, which was to them, we see today the comfort-
able and commodious farm house and stock and grain barns. That the residents
of the township of today inherited the sturdy qualities of his forefathers is
manifest by fully ninety per cent owning their homes.
The first birth was that of twin children of Mr. and Mrs. Dickinson, on
the 24th of October. 181 7. They lived in the house of Hosea Ilarnden. But
one of these infants survived its birth, and that only a few hours.
The first person barn in the township that survived its birth was Owen Fletche^
son of John Fletcher. February 22. 1818. eleven days subsequent to the time
Fletcher, Rossman and Moore moved into the township. He died near Toledo,
a few years since, of the small pox. leaving no family except a wife.
The first marriage in the township was that of Augustus Cook to Miss Martha
Fletcher. March 3. 1810. The marriage contract was solemnized at the "sur-
veyor's house," where her father lived, by Richard Hurt. Esq., of Monroeville
The wedding was attended by nearly all the settlers in the township, who en-
joyed a friendly social afternoon visit. Augustus Cook was born in Onondaga
county. New York, and came to Norwich in December, 1818. His wife. Martha,
was born in Otsego county. New York, and came to Norwich with her father.
John Fletcher. Mr. and Mrs. Cook lived in the township until 187 1 . when they
removed to Michigan, in which state he died August 14, 1878. leaving a wife and
seven children.
The first death was an infant son of W ilder Lawrence. February 19, 1817. only
nine days after their arrival in the township. It was buried on the bank
of Mud run. some twenty rods northeast of the present burying ground. Soon
after. Chauncey Woodruff buried a son at the same place. One of these children
was born in Trumbull county while the parents were enroute from the state of
New York. The first adult person that died in the township was Richard Mom.
in the fall of 1819. Elder J. Wheeler, then a resident of Greenfield, preached
the funeral sermon. This was the first burial that had been attended with
religious services. The body was interred on the bank of Mud run.
The first frame building in the township was built in 1832. It was a barn
and later stood on the farm of Lewis Bodelier.
The frame dwelling house was built by Cyrus Niles. It was designed as
a dwelling house and cabinet shop. It was built in 1835 and burned the follow-
ing year.
The first brick house was built by John Bowen, Sr.
The first po^toffice was established in 1827. It was North Norwich, so named
to avoid repetition, there being a Norwich postoffice in Muskingum county
Naum (iilson was the postmaster tor perhaps twenty years.
In 1848, postoffices were established on the Mansfield and Sandusky railroad,
at Havana and Ccnterton in the township, and the North Norwich office was
abolished in 1858.
The first corn was planted, on lot seven in the third section, by Messrs. Law-
rence and Woodruff. This was in the spring of 181 7.
Digitized by Google
••• roBi
u. :ui;Y
«. I ! " «X AND
c
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
255
Xaum Gilson sowed the first wheat in the township. This was on lot twenty-
eigtit in above section, the fall following the arrival of Mr. Gilson in the town-
ship.
Asa Gilson. Naum Gilson, Jonas Gilson, George H. Woodruff and Joseph
Read, each planted or set out orchards in 1827. The Gilsons brought their apple
seeds with them, and raised the trees. Joseph Read procured his trees in Nor-
walk township, and G. II. Woodruff purchased his of Morris Read, of Sherman.
Ira Halloway opened a small store on the corners, near the meeting house,
in 1835. He remained long enough to sell out his stock of goods, and retired from
the business.
In 1840. William L. Fish opened another stock of goods in the same house.
He continued in business some five years.
Norwich was attached to Greenfield township in 1818, and, in the year follow-
ing. Naum Gilson was elected supervisor for the township. He was the first
sworn official. In 1820. the township of Sherman was organized, with Norwich
attached. The April election was held at the house of Captain Hanford, in
Sherman. The Norwich men, feeling dissatisfied at being required to go so
far to election, rallied their forces, outnumbered the Sherman voters, and elected
two trustees and the township clerk, in Norwich ; Heckwith and Medad Wood-
ruff were the trustees, and Jesse Woodruff, clerk. The next election was held
at the house of Alvin Blodgett, in Norwich. A compromise was then effected,
and the elections were afterwards held at the house of Burwell Fitch, in
Sherman. In 1820. Russell Woodruff, of Norwich, was elected justice of the
peace, and 'tis said he served the entire term of office (three years) without
issuing a single process. In 1828, Asa Gilson was elected to the office of justice
of the peace. He did not qualify. From that time until 1831, the office was
vacant. In this year, Calvin Powell was elected. He was succeeded, in 1834,
by William Robinson, who served until 1849. In 1857, Wesley Robinson was
elected, and is still in office. L. W. Benham is also a justice of the peace in the
township.
In 1827, Norwich was detached from Sherman and organized as a separate
township. The first election, held in April of that year, was at the log school
house near the former residence of George H. Woodruff, and for many years
were held there. The qualified electors at this election were: Asa Gilson, Augus-
tus Cook. Medad Woodruff, Naum Gilson, Joseph Read, Russell Woodruff, Wil-
der Lawrence and G. H. Woodruff. The officers elected on the occasion, so far
as we are able to ascertain their names, were: Augustus Cook, clerk; Wilder
Lawrence, Asa Gilson and Russell Woodruff, trustees. The only strife at this
election, was over the election of a supervisor, there being but one in the entire
township. Joseph Read and Wilder Lawrence each received an qual number
of votes. The judges decided the contest by casting lots, declaring Joseph Read
duly elected.
In preparing for the fall election, Augustus Cook, the township clerk, in
company with Joseph Read, made a trip to Norwalk for the purpose of procur-
ing the new ballot box, law books, etc., belonging to the township. Two yoke
of oxen were attached to the wagon and driven along, as Read designed, to
bring back a load of boards with which to construct a floor, doors, etc., for his
256
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
cabin. The ballot box and books were put into a bag and placed on the load.
While fording Slate run, on the return, the wagon was overturned. After
buffeting the stream, and carrying out the floating lumber, they discovered that
the hag and its precious contents had floated down the stream, and gave chase.
Far down the run it was seen bounding along in the current : Cook plunged in,
and soon brought it safely ashore.
The first physician who settled in Norwich township was Dr. Hurlburt. He
located on lot number forty, in the second section, in 1825. He practiced in
the township until his death, in 1828.
In 1834, Peter Brown put in operation the first grist-mill in the township
This was propelled by horse power, and it is said did a good business. In 1830.
Benjamin Moore built a saw mill on Slate run. on the west end of the farm
afterwards owned by G. H. Woodruff. Two years later. Thomas Bennett, erected
another saw mill on the same stream, and in 1840. Ira Wood built a third mill
on the same stream. These mills were all eventually carried away by the hijgh
water.
In 1842, Miner Atherton limit a steam sawmill on the fourth section. James
L. Couch built another steam sawmill in the same section, a few years later.
In 1840. John Idler built a steam sawmill at Centerton. This was burned in
1856, and rebuilt in 1857. by Messrs. Idler & Hester. It was again burned in
1850,. and rebuilt the same year.
The first school house in the township was built in 1819. It was located on
the east bank of Slate run. on lot six. The house was a log cabin and was covered
with elm bark, size twelve by sixteen. It had neither floors, windows nor desks.
A row of split oak benches constituted the furniture, and the unchinked places
between the logs served for windows. The school was supported, as all the
early schools were, by subscription, and Miss Aurilla Lindscy was the first
teacher, in the summer following the erection of the house. In 1824, another
school house was erected, also of logs, on the corners, a few rods south of
where a church was later erected.
The first sermon preached in the township was by the Rev. Alvin Coe, in
1817. He was of the Presbyterian faith. The first church building was erected
by the Methodists in 1837. The religious services held in the township had prior
to this been at private houses and in the school houses.
The first post route through the township extended from Tiffin to Fitchville.
It was established in 1827. Adam Hance carried the mail.
PERU TOWNSHIP.
Peru township was in the early settlement called Yredenburgh, after a Mr.
Vredenburgh who had bought up the claims of the sufferers until he owned the
second, third and fourth sections of the township. The first section was owned
by other persons in the east, from whom the first settlers of that section bought
their lands.
In the winter of 1820, the settlers held a meeting at the house of Joseph
Ruggles, for the purpose of changing the name of the township, when the name
of Peru was chosen by vote, and the name of the township has since been Peru.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
257
The south and east portions of the township are rolling, with some hluffs
along the streams. The northwestern part is more level, with considerable low
lands. The principal timber was white oak, black and red oak and white wood,
mostly on the first and fourth sections, black walnut and butternut along the
streams, and mixed with some beech, maple, hickory, basswood, buckeye and
some sugar maple near the streams. There were some small marshes in the early
settlement, but they have been reclaimed.
The wolves were very numerous in the early settlement, and would fre-
quently howl around the cabins by night in different directions at the same time,
though in the day time they were quite shy and kept concealed most of the time.
There was no Indian village in the township at the time of the first settle-
ments, although at that time and for a number of years after, the Indians would
come twice a year or oftener and encamp near by to hunt for deer, turkey, rac-
coons and any other kind of game that suited them, staying several weeks at a
time.
Its principal stream is the river Huron which, rising in Richland county,
enters the township about half a mile east of the southwest corner, runs for the
most part a general northeasterly course, and leaves the township on lot eight,
section three. The east branch of the Huron has its source in Fairfield, enters
Peru from Bronson on lot eighteen, section one, flows a northwesterly direction,
and unites with the present stream in the township of Ridgefield. about a mile
north of the town line. State run comes into the township from Seneca county,
flows a northeasterly course into Ridgefield where it unites with the Huron. The
streams afford excellent water power privileges which are more or less improved.
The earliest settlements in the township were made on the first section. The
first white settlers were Elihu Clary. Henry Adams and William Smith, who
together arrived on lot number five in section one on the 15th day of June,
181 5. Adams, who was from Marlborough. Vermont, had come to Cleveland in
the winter previous with team and wagon, and remained in the vicinity at work
until his removal to Peru, then called Yredenburgh. At Cleveland he was joined
by Clary and Smith in the spring of 181 5 who came from Deerfield, Massachu-
setts, on foot. From Cleveland the journey was made by all three on foot. They
entered the township on the east line, crossed the east branch of the Huron
river, a few rods below the bridge that now crosses the stream in Macksvillc.
The first township election was held at the house of Joseph Ruggles on lot
twenty-eight, on the third day of April, 1820. James \ antine. Elijah Clary
and Richard Eaton were elected trustees ; Elihu Clary, township clerk ; Daniel
Mack and Newell Adams, fence viewers; Joel Clark and Alexander Pierce, over-
seers of the poor ; Thomas Tillson and Eli Nelson, appraisers of property ; and
James Ashley, treasurer.
On the tenth day of October. 1820, the first state election was held at the
house of Joseph Ruggles. Wyatt Cook, Hihbard Smith and Newell Adams
were judges, and Elihu Clary and Henry Adams, clerks. The number of votes
polled was twelve.
A school was opened on the center road, lot number twenty-nine, at the resi-
dence of Henry Adams, in the winter of 1820 and 1821 ; Henry Adams, teacher.
Digitized by Google
258
HISTORY OF HCRON COUNTY
with about sixteen pupils, whose parents paid their schooling in proportion to
the number of days sent.
The first religious meetings were held at the house of Elijah Clary, in i8if>
and Mr. Coe preached the first sermon.
The first school in the township was kept by Nancy Adams, daughter of
Bildad Adams, of Greenfield, in the summer of 1818. She taught in Macksville,
in a log house.
The first house kept for the accommodation of travelers was opened by Henry
Adams, in the fall of 1816. Joseph Kuggles built an addition to the Tillson
cabin in the fall of 1817, when he opened it as a tavern. His sign was a pair of
deer horns, and the tavern was called "the Buck Horn."
The fir-t apple orchard planted, was set out by Henry Adams in the spring
of 1817. the seed being brought by his brother. Newell, from Vermont.
The earliest burials were in private burying grounds. Some twenty or more
bodies were interred on the farm of Henry Adams, but were subsequently re-
moved to the center burying ground.
Moses C. Sanders opened the first store at Macksville, in 1820 or 1821.
Dr. Sanders was the fir>t doctor in this township, and also the pioneer doctor
of many of the surrounding towns. He was born in Milford, Massachusetts,
in the year 1790- He came to Peru in August, 1818.
The first postoffice was established in 1818, under the name of Peru. Thomas
Tillson was appointed postmaster, and kept the office in his own house, on
lot twenty-eight. The location of the office was unsatisfactory to the residents
of Macksville, and Mr. Tillson, after serving a few months, was superseded
by Moses C. Sanders, and the location of the office changed to Macksville.
where it has since remained, the name being Peru. The village is now generally
known by that name.
Daniel Mack built the first frame house in the township, in 1820.
Daniel Mack built the first grist and saw mill in the township, some time in
1817.
Mrs. Polly Pierce used to relate many incidents of pioneer life in Peru, only
one of which, however, touching her own experience, has been preserved. In
the summer, 1816. accompanied by her little dog, she went through the dense
forest on a brief visit to her father-in-law, Alden Pierce, in Greenfield. The fam-
ily supplied her with a quantity of provisions, which she carried home with her.
and. when within a mile of her cabin, she encountered a huge bear, which seemed
intent on making a meal, either of the traveler, her provisions, or the dog. The
heroic woman, however, was determined that old bruin should have neither,
and taking her provisions under one arm. and the dog, crouched through fear
at her feet, under the other, ran for dear life to her home, which she reached in
safety, but not a moment too soon, as the brute was but a few rods behind her
when she arrived at the door of her cabin.
A pioneer thus described his cabin, the bed and the first meal in their new-
home :
It was sixteen feet square, with a roof of "shakers." puncheon floor, and
a door made also of puncheons. His bedstead consisted of two poles. >nme
eight or ten feet in length, one end of which was >tuck into a log in the wall of
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
259
the house, a few feet apart, and joined to a stake at the other end, triangular
in shape. 1 le used elm hark for bed-cord.
Their first meal in their new home consisted of pigs' feet and hulled corn,
the corn costing one dollar per bushel.
Macksville. the only village in the township, is situated on the east branch of
the Huron, near the east town line. It derived its name from Daniel Mack,
the original owner of the land on which the village stands. The town site was
subsequently owned jointly by Moses C. Sanders. John Nelson, John Atwater
and John G. Taylor. Dr. Sanders kept the first store here in a small log house.
Macksville was formerly a place of considerable activity. At one time there
were four stores, two distilleries, three breweries, two asheries, and a hotel
which frequently kept twenty to twenty-five teams and teamsters over night.
This was before the time of railroads and when the wagon trade was something
immense.
In the summer of 1822, an academy was established at Macksville. The prin-
cipal promoters of the laudable enterprise were Dr. Moses C. Sanders, Harry O.
Sheldon. Robert S. Southgate, Eben Guthrie and Elijah Clary. The institution
was incorporated under the name of the "Lima Academic Society of Peru, Huron
county." The first annual meeting was held on the first Tuesday in August,
1822, at which the following persons were elected a board of trustees for the
then current year, viz.: Rev. Alvan Coe, president; Dr. Moses C. Sanders, Dr.
William Gardner. Major Eben Guthrie and Robert S. Southgate. Harry O. Shel-
don was elected clerk.
The school was opened the first Monday in December, 1822, with Amos B.
Harris as principal teacher.
The building was a two-story frame, unpainted, and stood where the brick
school house does now. The institution was called Lima academy, because of
the fact that it was then expected the name of the village would be changed to
Lima. The academy had an existence of only one year. The building was
afterwards used for a common school, and as a house of worship by some of the
religious societies.
RICHMOND TOWNSHIP.
Richmond township was formerly called Cannon, given in honor of Samuel
Cannon, a wealthy man of Norwalk, Connecticut, who was one of the sufferers
during the Revolutionary war. Soon after the grants were made and partitioned
into sections among the grantees, in 1808, Judge Mills, of New Haven, Connec-
ticut, and his brother, Elisha Mills commenced purchasing the interests of the
grantees and acquired a controlling influence in the lands of Greenfield and
New Haven, and a complete ownership of the township of Richmond. Later
part of these lands were sold to George Hoadley and from him to John M. Wool-
sey. Judge Mills took the south part and Woolsey the north part.
The first land sold for settlement in the township was sold by Judge Mills
to William Tidball, in 1825. It was lot twelve, second section. Tidhall cleared
a field the same year, built a cabin and set out an orchard of fifty trees, which he
bought of Johnny Appleseed.
260
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
This township is bounded on the north by Norwich township ; south, by
Auburn and Cranberry townships, in Crawford county; east, by New Haven
township ; and west, by Venice township, in Seneca county.
Richmond is divided into upland and marsh. The upland occupies the north
half of the township and a strip across the west side. This was covered with
heavy timber. The north shore of the marsh is a bluff, and rises thirty or forty
feet above the marsh. The soil is a clay loam, the surface generally undulating,
except in the northwest part, where it is broken by streams.
Honey creek rises in the marsh on the north side, east of the center of the
township, and runs west along the north shore some two miles, where it enters
the woodlands. It leaves the township on the west line and empties into the
Sandusky river above Tiffin, in Seneca county.
Originally the marsh covered over one-third of the township and contained
about twenty square miles. It was six miles from east to west and over three
miles in width, and covered over five thousand acres in Richmond township.
These marshes have largely been reclaimed by draining and the soil is now
cultivated, being particularly adapted for the growing of celery.
Before the lands of Richmond were offered for sale, the thousands of bushels
of cranberries that annually grew on the marsh allured to the north shore a
settlement of squatters numbering perhaps twenty families. An important part
of their business consisted of picking cranberries, which were sold to the distant
settlers. Hunting necessarily claimed a good share of their attention, and as
the deer Hocked to the marsh to avoid the flies in the summer and the hunters in
the winter, their chances for deer hunting were unusually good.
With the sale of their cranberries, deer skins and coon skins, and the product
of small patches of potatoes around their cabins, they managed to live, but made
no improvements to entitle them to the name of settlers, nor did any of them over
become owners of the soil or join in the march of improvement that has since
characterized the inhabitants of the township, who are honest and industrious,
with good churches and well conducted schools, and the township today stands
second to none in moral worth and prosperity.
Near the south shore of the marsh was a point of timbered upland and at the
extreme northern point of this stood the cabin of Morehead, the pioneer hunter.
His principal livelihood was in trapping and spearing muskrats, and in times of
high water, made his daily rounds over the marsh in a small boat kept for that
purpose. Me was the first and for many years the only inhabitant of Richmond
township, and many a weary hunter has sought his cabin and shared his homely
fare, which usually consisted of Johnny cake and venison.
The town-hip was organized in 1836, in the month of June, and on the fourth
day of July following, the first election of township officers was held.
Prior to this, from 1815 to 1836, Richmond was attached to New Haven.
In 1837. the township was divided into two school districts, and a frame
school house built in each, but a school was only kept in the west one in the win-
ter of 1837. The east school house was not completed for a school that winter.
These were the first frame buildings in the township.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
261
The Methodist was the first church organization in the township. The first
sermon preached in the township was by Michael Long, a preacher of the Breth-
ren faith, at the home of Jacob Croninger.
Jn 1839 a postoffice was established, and James Foglesong was the post-
master.
There were births and probably deaths among the squatters, but the first
birth among the settlers was that of Savilla Cline, daughter of John and Susan
Cline.
The first marriage was that of James MqManigal and Eliza Day. The first
death was that of the widow Higley.
Section one — the southeast part of it at a very early day was thought to be a
lake as decaying Indian canoes were found along its shores by the early white
settlers, at this time being almost a worthless piece of land. Along the middle
part of the north side cranberries grew in abundance, at the south side is the
huckleberry marsh. In a few years the farmers made prairie hay from a part
of it, the ground being too soft and miry, it had to be done by hand, mowed
with the scythe, carried together and made in stacks, being drawn out during
the winter when the ground was frozen hard.
In a few years more ditches were constructed the land being tilled from the
edges, corn and potatoes being the principal crops. Only a few years ago Hol-
landers settled along the east side beginning to experiment in celery growing
which has developed into one of the finest celery gardens of the country. Dur-
ing this year a large acreage of the territory has been purchased by Pittsburg
parties and was surveyed into one hundred acre lots.
The Tiffin road was the first one opened, it began in 1836, was completed in
four years. In many low places trees were cut and laid cross wise in the road,
streams had to be forded.
Richmond has only a few miles of railroad, the Sandusky and Newark divi-
sion of the Baltimore and Ohio cuts a small corner off the northeast part, we
have two men living now in the township who worked on this old road-bed, P.
M. Hershiser and John Carrothers. The Chicago division runs from the east
side half way across the township. Street car lines we have none. Telephone
service is quite well extended through the township, having our centrals at Attica,
Chicago and New Washington.
We have the rural mail system and have our mail carried to our doors — one of
the best improvements of the day.
A resident of the township writes thus: "We have had such industries as come
in a farmer's life, sawmills, cider mills, tile and brick yards, etc. The soil being
very productive, the principal crops are wheat, oats, corn potatoes. The growing
and baling of hay has become one of the best paying crops to the Richmond
farmer. We owe a debt of gratitude to our fore-parents for their Christian
zeal and principals taught and instilled into their posterity. Richmond has
furnished men and women who have gone out in nearly all the walks of life
some of them today filling very honorable and responsible positions. We do
not think there will be found in any township in Huron county, finer country
residences, better kept farm buildings, well tilled lands, more comfortable homes,
better society than in Richmond."
262
HISTORY OF HCROX COUNTY
Richmond has never heen Messed with any towns save that part of Chicago
called Millertovvn, years ago it had two small groceries.
RIPLEY TOWNSHIP.
Ripley township was so named after the Rev. Hezekiah Ripley, of Con-
necticut, who was one of the "sufferers," and who located land in the third section.
Ripley is township number one in range twenty-two. It is hounded upon the
south by Richland county, cast by^Grecnwich township, north by Fairfield and
west by New Haven.
The first settlement in the township was made a little earlier than 1826. Some
of the first settlers were advised to not settle in Ripley on account of the then
wild and unbroken forest, inhabited only by a few wandering Indians. Hut the
lands in time were cultivated and is now an industrious and prospering commun-
ity. The whole township was formerly covered with a thrifty growth of timber,
or in the lower parts with swamp bushes. Most of the timber was maple and
beech but there was a great abundance of the other varieties of wood, including
oak. ash and walnut.
The great abundance of maple trees made this part of the county a favorite
camping place for the Indians. They were accustomed to come regularly in the
spring and make maple sugar. For a number of years after the whites came, the
red man carried on this harmless and not excessively lal>orious occupation, the
nearest approach to anything like industry that they ever undertook. Seme of
their bark sap troughs were found in the woods as late af 1830. The Indian^
also hunted here, but their principal object in visiting what is now Ripley township
was to make maple sugar. There were other and better hunting grounds farther
east, and their tribes often passed through upon a trail which led to the Black river
country, where game was more abundant. The game consisted of deer and
occasional bear, and the various smaller animals common to the northern part
of Ohio and the entire west. There were wolves, too, and "shack hogs" — both
great annoyances to the first settlers. The remains of their habitations found
by the early settlers, and the dams still existing, indicated that beavers w ere
quite numerous. No remarkable stories are told of experience with the Indians
or adventure with wild animals.
There was a settlement in the southwest part of Ripley township, in 1820.
Seth Foster, a man by the name of Decker, and another by the name of Jaral-
man. and a son of the latter, lived there in the year mentioned. Foster and
Decker, who were from New York state, returned there after a short residence
in the new country. Jaralman died, and his son moved away. Nothing is known
in Ripley of those few men, who were its transitory pioneers. The first perman-
ent settlement was made by the families of Moses Inscho, D. Broomback, and
James Dickson, in 1825, and the following year. Broomback took up lot thirteen,
in section four. He did not remain long in the township. Dickson settled upon
lot ten, near Broomback, but not long after moved into the eastern part of the
township.
Rev. Joseph Edwards, a native of Connecticut, who had been for two years a
resident of Greenfield, came into Ripley in 1828. and bought a tract of land which
ioogle
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
263
consisted of about nine hundred acres. His home was upon lot twenty-tight in
the first section, where he remained until his death. He was a Presbyterian
minister of the old school, a man of large ability.
Abraham Stotts. of Virginia, came into the township in the fall of 1825,
and purchased land in lot twelve, section three. John Stotts, his son, came in
the spring of 1826, and located on lot eleven, in the same section. Another son
of Abraham Stotts, W illiam, came a little later, and still another, Isaac Stotts,
arrived a number of years later, and located in section two, lot twenty-one.
Henry Hroomback was the first child born in the township. He now lives
in Plymouth.
The first framed house was built by Deacon Timothy Austin, one mile north
of Delphi, in 1834.
The first brick house was that of John Stotts. which stands upon lot eleven,
section three.
The first orchard was planted by Aaron Service.
The first tavern was built by D. E. Merrill at the center, about 1835. It was
a log building.
The first mill was built about the year 1828. southwest of Delphi, upon a
small creek, in which there was usually insufficient water to turn the wheel.
The Rev. Joseph Edwards was the first ordained minister who preached in
the township. He preached in 1827, to the first audience gathered for religious
instruction, and consisting of twenty persons, representatives of seven families
This meeting was held at the house of Abraham Stotts.
Mrs. Harriet Russ. formerly Miss Harriet Edwards, daughter of the Rev.
Joseph Edwards, then living in Greenfield, taught the first school held in the town-
ship, in the year 1827. for the sum of fifty cents per week, paid not in money,
but labor at clearing land. This school was in the southwestern section of the
township. The first school meeting was held also in 1827. A school house was
erected in 1832. near the northeastern corner of the township, principally through
the efforts of Daniel G. Barker. Sallie Eowler was the first teacher at this
school.
The first practitioner of medicine known in the township, was Dr. Moses
Saunders, of Ptru. He, for a number of years, had the whole of what little
practice there was in the settlement. Afterwards, Dr. William M. Ladd, of Fitch-
ville. and Dr. Morton, of Greenwich, practiced in the township. The only resi-
dent physician of any note, in Ripley, was Dr. Cyrus Paine, who began here in
1833 and continued in practice for about five years.
For a number of years after the first settlement was made there was but one
road in the township upon which travel was possible. This was the one running
east and west through the center. The timber had been chopped along the line,
but the road was unimproved, and it was only with difficulty that vehicles could
be moved over it. The road cut through the township for Harrison's army to
pass through, was grown over with bushes and small timber, and it was allowed
to remain in this condition for some time after the settlement was commenced.
Many of the early settlers cut their way into the township through the primeval
forest.
264
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
The first store in Ripley township was opened here hy Uvat Gose.
There was a mail route through Ripley before the township was settled, upon
which a man went once a week, between Mansfield and Norwalk. The first
eastern mail was carried from New Haven through Ripley, Greenwich, Ruggles
and Sullivan. For a few years the settlers were obliged to go to the older settled
townships for their mail ; but about 1830 a postoffice was established at the
locality now known as Edwards' Corners, and the Rev. Joseph Edwards was
made postmaster. When Delphi begun to be a place of trade, the postoffice was
removed there, and designated as Ripleyville.
Rinr.F.FIF.U) TOWNSHIP.
Ridgefield township, according to the original survey and numbering, is
township number four, and range twenty-three. Ranges commence at the east
line of the reserve, and five miles to the range. Townships are numbered from
south to north, consequently the east line of the township is one hundred and
fifteen miles from the east line of the state, and the south line of the town-
ship is fifteen miles north of the southern base line of the Connecticut Western
Reserve and Firelands. The township as a whole is quite level, it might be termed
a plateau, but along the streams there are some high banks, or bluffs, the streams
having worn deep channels, and in the northeast corner of the township it is
somewhat broken or rolling.
Ridgefield township was divided into four sections, and these were again
divided into two-hundred-acre lots, making twenty lots in each section.
It is bounded on the north by Oxford township, Eric county; south by Peru;
east by Norwalk. and west by Lyme townships.
The cast branch of the Huron river enters the township from the south,
crossing the southern boundary on lot six, in section one. Its course is slightly
east of north, flowing from the township on the east line, lot two in the second
section. The west branch of the Huron river is formed from two streams, which
cross the south line of the township ; one on lots one and six in section four, and
the other on lot sixteen in the same section. Uniting on lot seven they form the
main stream. This flows a general northerly direction to near the center of
Monroeville village. Here the course changes to due east, thence a northeasterly
direction, and, after many devious turnings, crosses the north line of the town-
ship on lot fifteen in the second section. Another stream flows from the south-
west, and empties its waters into the west branch, in Monroeville village. This
is known as Frink run, from the fact that William Frink was the first to build
a habitation on its bank. Frink run and the west branch of the Huron river
divide the township, and on the northeast side of these streams the land is of
the nature of prairie, and generally of a deep rich soil, with small islands and
groves of small timber. Another small stream enters the township from the
west, flows east-northea>t and empties into the west branch on lot fifteen, sec-
tion second. It is called Seymour brook, from the fact tTiat a man named
Seymour was killed by the Indians, in 1812. while engaged in cutting a bee-
tree, which stood on its banks. On the south and east side of Frink run and the
west branch of the Huron river, the lands were heavily timbered, and possess a
Googl
EAST MAIN STREET, LOOKING EAST FROM JAMES STREET
NEW LONDON. OHIO.
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Go
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
267
deep. rich, loamy soil, not excelled perhaps, by any township of the Firelands in
productiveness.
The township is underlain with a slate rock, from seven to ten feet below
the surface.
In the early settlement of the township, game of all kinds was very plenty,
as were also fish in the streams.
Numerous parties of the Wyandot and other tribes of Indians had a habita-
tion in early times along the river. They passed the time in hunting, fishing,
making baskets, ax helves, etc., and were generally quiet and peaceable, except
when under the influence of "fire-water," or whisky. During the War of 1812.
two inmates of the Parker block house in Milan. Seymour and Pixley. were en-
gaged in cutting a "bee-tree." standing on the south side of the small stream
flowing through the Clary farm. They had nearly completed their labors, when
they Were fired upon by a party of cowardly Indians, and Seymour instantly killed.
Pixley ran, but becoming entangled in the brushwood, was captured, and remained
a prisoner for many months.
William Frink is thought to be the first white man that contracted for land
in Ridgefield township, for the purpose of settlement. His contract is dated in
181 1. and was for the south part of lot number five in the fourth section Frink
built the first house in the township. It was of logs and stood near the site
of the house now owned by Samuel Clock. Frink was more hunter than farmer,
and when Seth IJrown came into the township, in the spring of 1812, Frink
sold iii s contract ami left the county. Very little is now known of his history,
either before or since he left the township, except that he was eventually found
dead in Seneca county. He was one of those characters who prefer the solitude
of the wilderness.
Ridgefield township was organized the first Monday in December. 181 5, and
comprised the territory now included in the townships of Ridgefield, Sherman,
Lyme, and the south half of Oxford. The first election was held in the spring
of 1 816. at the house of Joseph F. Read, on lot sixteen in section two.
Schuyler Van Rensselaer was the first postmaster in Ridgefield township.
The first white child born in the township of Ridgefield, was a son to
Seth and Sarah Brown, born August 29, 181 5.
The pioneer wedding in the township was Thomas Dickey to Miss Flizabeth
Myers. It transpired in April, 1819. This couple died in Ridgefield, the wife in
185^, and the husband, January 10, 1879.
The first school house in the township was erected on lot number two hun-
dred and seventy-two, in Monroevillc village. It was, doubtless, built of logs,
but the date of its construction, the writer could not ascertain. George Burt
was the first teacher and he was paid ten dollars per month for his services.
In 181 8 a Baptist church was organized in Ridgefield township, composed of
members residing in the territory now embraced in Huron and Erie counties.
The meetings of this body were held in different localities until 1835 when, by
mutual consent, the church was permanently located in Norwalk. This was
the first church organization in the township.
The first house in the township was built by Richard and Henry Burt, in
1817. The sawmill was built first, and the gristmill soon afterward.
Digitized by Google
268
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
A grist and sawmill was next built by George Myers, in the northeast part
of the township. These were located on the Huron river.
Major Underfill] built a sawmill soon after. Tbis was on the east branch,
lot three, section one.
In the first section of Ridgefield township, on lots number two and three, are
found remains of ancient earthworks. It will be remembered the east branch
of Huron river enters the township from the east on the corner of lot number
three. In the first section there is a stream known as the Peru branch, which
flows into the east branch on lot number three, where its course is turned north.
These streams make three high banks or bluffs, which lie nearly in a triangular
form. Upon these are earthwork fortifications of a circular form. There was
also on lot number eighteen in the second section, on the east side of the west
branch of the Huron river, an ancient mound of small size.
In the fourth section is located a circular earthwork, enclosing an area of,
perhaps, ten acres. The indications are that a stockade formerly surmounted
the present embankment. Immediately south of this are a number of mounds.
In these, as in the others mentioned above, human bones have been found, in-
dicating to a certainty that these elevations are the burial places of a race for-
merly inhabiting the country, but long since extinct.
FOUR CORNERS.
Dr. Daniel Tilden was undoubtedly the pioneer settler at the "Corners." The
date of his coming was in 1817 or 1818. The next settler was, without doubt,
the grandfather of Jay Cooke. Lewis Stone was the next settler and Martin
Woman the fourth.
Colonel James Smith settled at "Four Corners" in 1828. He purchased the
hemp machine property in 1832 ; made brick for several years, removed to Monroe-
ville in 1837.
A postoffice was established here as early as 1835, and Edward Cook com-
missioned postmaster.
The comers did not settle rapidly ; in fact, the foregoing are all who may be
regarded as pioneers: John Seymour, now of Lyme township, bought the Vro-
man property, and to him belongs the honor of selling the first merchant goods
at the "corners."' He sold to Lewis Stone. The second store was established by
John K. Campbell in about 1835.
As early as 1830. and possibly earlier, the old stone school house was built.
Prior to this, however, a school was held in one room of Martin Woman's
house. The teacher was a man named Perkins. This was as early as 1825. Re-
ligious services were held in the school house until the erection of the present
church.
A society of the Sons of Temperance was established at quite an early date,
and also a lodge of the I. O. G. Templars.
SHERMAN TOWNSHIP.
Sherman township is number three, range twenty-four, and was thus named
in honor of Taylor Sherman, one of the directors of the Firelands company. The
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
269
name was given at a meeting of the directors held at New Haven. Connecticut,
November 9, 1808.
It is bounded as follows : on the north by Lyme township, south by Norwich
township, east by Peru township, and west by the townships of Thompson and
Reed, in Seneca county.
At this time the lands were divided by lot among those holding "sufferer's"
claims.
The surface is generally level, and the soil principally clay. Along the
borders of the streams it is mixed with yellow sand, and is easily tilled. Away
from the streams the soil is harder to work, but is productive, and improves
very much with proper culture. This township contains but little waste land.
Daniel Sherman, ( son of Taylor Sherman and uncle of General W. T. Sher-
man) Burwell Fitch and Samuel Seymour, were the first white settlers of the
township. The year of their arrival was 181 2. They were from Norwalk, Con-
necticut, and the last end of their journey was over what was then known as
the Portage road, their teams being the first which traveled over it. The
first night after leaving Xewcomb's in Hronson, was spent in the woods. They
were not accustomed to this sort of a life, and were disturbed and considerably
alarmed at the noise of the wild animals with which the surrounding woods
abounded. They immediately commenced improvements, in the second section.
The first clearing was made on Sherman's land, and the next on that of Burwell
Fitch. The first house in the township was built on the land of the latter.
Most of the early settlers located in the first, third and fourth sections, the
second not being in the market. No particular effort was made by the original
owners to draw settlers that way. except, perhaps, by the Lockwoods. In 1814,
land was held at one dollar and fifty cents per acre.— Rlanchard came this year
and bought fifty acres of land. Daniel Sherman gave him fifty acres more to
induce him to settle, and the year following he began clearing his farm.
At the first meeting of the commissioners of Huron county, held August 1,
181 5. Sherman was attached to Greenfield township, and in December of the same
year was detached, and together with the south half of Oxford was united with
Ridgefield. About the year 1820 it was united with Norwich, but no record is
given of it. March 6. 1K27, Norwich was detached, and Sherman has since
remained a distinct township. The first general election, while united with
Norwich, was held in October 10. 1820.
The first election on record after the separation from Norwich was held April
6, 1829, at which time fifteen votes were cast.
The first school was taught by George Han ford in about 1824 or 1825 in a
building standing on lot number eighteen in the third section. There were
some eight or ten scholars in attendance. In 1827 or 1828 the township was
divided into two school districts, termed the east and west districts. The first
school house was built on lot number nineteen in the first section, and the first
public school was taught by Sarah Mason, one of the early settlers of Norwalk.
She received the first public money that ever came into the township for school
purposes, and was paid off in silver half dollars. She had fourteen or fifteen
scholars.
270
HISTORY OF HCRON COUNTY
The first sermon preached in Sherman township was, without doubt, by Rev.
Alva Coe. at the house of Daniel Sherman. It was early in the settlement. The
Methodist ministers were early upon the scene, and organized a church. Meet-
ings were held at private houses, usually at Joseph La Karre's and William
Williams'.
There was at one time a large and flourishing lodge of Good Templars in
the township. This has gone out of existence.
The fir*t death in the township, was a child of R. S. Paine, date not remem-
bered. The body was interred in Lyme township. The second death was the
wife of Daniel Sherman, in 1 821. She was buried on the farm of her husband,
in what is now the burying ground, in lot numl>er six in the third section.
The first frame house in the township, was built by Henry M. Read, soon
after 1820. It was located on Slate run. Coles Hloomer built the first brick
house in Sherman township.
The pioneer "tavern" was opened by Coles ami Albert Lloomer. in 1834.
The present "Sherman house" was establishes! by David Weaver.
Daniel Sherman received a commission as postmaster, but did not accept the
office. Rufus S. I'aine was next commissioned, and became the first postmaster.
After a few years, the office was removed to Weaver's comers, and C. A.
Bloomer was duly commissioned postmaster. In 1871. a mail route was estab-
lished from Rellevue to Lodi. and afterward an office was established at the
German settlement, called liismark, one mile south of the center, with C. West-
rick postmaster.
In about 1835, Messrs. Isaac and David I nderhill of Ridgefield township,
established a store at Weaver's corners. This closed out after a few years.
Few of the present inhabitants can appreciate the privations endured by the
pioneer settlers of Sherman township. Their milling was done at Eldridgc, Cold
Creek, and sometimes Greenfield. Wheat and corn were the principal produc-
tions, but there was no market. At one time thirty-six bushels of corn were
paid for one Ixarrel of salt. Not many of the necessaries, and fewer of the
luxuries, of life were enjoyed by them. Wolf scalps and Owl creek bills consti-
tuted a large portion of the currency.
The Indians were not very numerous in this township, but were often seen
in hunting parties after the war. At one time they had a camp in the town-
ship. Among their number was the noted chief, Seneca John. An Indian trail
ran northwest and southeast through the township, and was visible for many
years.
TOWNSBNO TOWNSHIP.
T«>wu-end township derives its name from Kneeland Townsend, who owned
the greater part of the land in the first settlement. He was. prior to coming to
Ohio, a merchant in New Haven, Connecticut, and was a man highly respected
for hi- integrity, business habits and general uprightness of character.
The surface of the township is generally level with slight undulations in the
second and third section-. The soil is a clay loam, with a mixture of sand in the
northern and northwestern portions. The streams are small, the largest being
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY 271
Rattlesnake creek, a tributary of the Huron, flowing through the west part of
the township. The name originated from the large number of rattlesnakes that
were formerly found along the stream. There arc two other branches of the
Huron in the western part, and La Chapelle. a tributary of the Vermillion, in
the eastern part. The stream is said to have derived its name from a French-
man who discovered it, and explored it to its source,
Townsend was originally clothed with a magnificent growth of timlnr, the
principal varieties of which were white oak. whitewood. ash. hickory, black wal-
nut, butternut, beech and maple. The manufacture of white oak staves was an
important industry of this township for many years. The staves were usually
marketed at Milan, and so extensive was the business that the product was known
as "Townsend wheat."
The first election for township officers was held, in pursuance of an order
of the supreme court. October 15. 1820, at the house of Benjamin Bailey. Jasper
Miles, Abijah Barber, and Isaac R. Wright were judges, and Frederick Perr-
ing and Royal Munger. clerks of election. Township officers were elected as
follows: Frederick Perring, clerk; Abijah Barber. David Lee, and Benjamin
Bailey, trustee* : Thomas F. Fletcher and Isaac R. Wright, overseers of the
poor; Royal Munger and David C. Lewis, fence viewers; Hiram Bailey, ap-
praiser of property; Samuel Sherman, lister: Abijah Barber, treasurer.
The earliest settlements in the township were made in the north part, in
section number three, and George Miller is generally accorded the honor of
being the first settler. He removed with his family from Pennsylvania to Milan,
(then called Avery,) Erie county, Ohio, in 1800,, and remained there until 1811.
when he came to Townsend. and took up his abode on lot number five. His log
cabin was the first habitation for the abode of civilized people in the township.
Mr. Miller was a native of Pennsylvania, and was born in 1765.
Soon after Miller, came William Burduc and family. Burdue was also a
native of Pennsylvania, and was born November 26, 1782. March 28, 1800,, he
married Flizabelh Blazer, who was born September 26, 1791. In 1810 he re-
moved with his family, consisting of wife and one child, to the vicinity of Milan,
then called Indian Village, but remained there only one year, when he moved
into Townsend, making his location on lot number four, in section three.
There was only one mill on the Firelands at that time, and that was situated
at the head of Cold creek.
The first postoffice was established in 1833 or 1834, with Daniel Phillips as
postmaster, who kept the office in his house, on lot ninety-two, in the first sec-
tion. The office was called East Townsend, which name it has retained until
the present time, for the reason that there was an office in Sandusky county of the
name of Townsend.
The fir^t east and west mail through Townsend was carried, on foot, by a
man of the name of Coles, whose trip extended from Akron to Norwalk. At
first his mail bag consisted of a large sized pocket book, locked with a padlock
of alwut the size of a silver half dollar, but the first trip he made through Town-
send his "mail bag" was entirely empty. An early mail carrier was a man by the
name of Waldron. and on one of his trips through the woods he threw the mail
bag at a deer, knocking it down, and before the animal could regain his feet he
Digitized by Google
272
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
jumped upon it and cut its throat with a pocket-knife. A man by the name of
De How carried the mail from Nor walk to Medina, back in the twenties. His
route passed within twenty or thirty rods of Thomas Fletcher's house, on the
creek, south of the Medina road. Fletcher cut a mortise in a large white oak
tree, on the road, for the reception of his mail, and made an arrangement with
the mail carrier to blow his tin horn whenever his "box" contained any mail.
The arrangement was faithfully carried out by De Bow, and the sound of his
horn became as familiar as the song of the whippoorwill.
The earliest doctors who practiced in the township were doubtless from the
surrounding towns. The first resident physician was Dr. G. R. Stanton, who
located at the center, and began to practice in 1847.
The different settlements in Townsend were so separated from each other
that election days were the only occasions on which they met together. Men and
boys attended the election as a holiday, bringing their rifles with them to shoot
at target. As but few votes were pulled and but little excitement, politically, pre-
vailed, they bad plenty of time to engage in sports.
At the presidential election, when Jackson was elected president, there was a
grand wrestling match between the two political parties. It was a close con-
test, but the administration party prevailed, who regarded the result as signifi-
cant, and the affair came very near ending in a general fight.
Although the first settlers in Townsend were among the first in the county,
the township was nevertheless much more slowly settled than many others.
The land was difficult to bring under subjection, being generally wet and very
heavily timbered, and the township was generally shunned by the earlier emi-
grants. Many who did take up land, and ran in debt for it. were compelled, after
years of hard toil and privation, to give up the struggle, thus losing the im-
provements they had made. When the land was once cleared and drained, it
was found to be very productive, and in the character of its soil the township
now ranks among the best in the county.
A substantial, two-story brick town hall was erected in the summer of 1870,
at the center, costing four thousand five hundred dollars. The plan was drawn
and the budding erected by E. Kinney, architect and builder, living at Townsend
center.
W illiam Townsend, one of the original proprietors of the township, put up
a block house at the center, in which he opened a store in 1822 or 1823. It was
furnished from his store in Sandusky, which he established in the winter of
1810-20. bringing his first goods from New Haven. Connecticut, in a sleigh.
A -tore was subsequently kept here a short time by Kneeland Townsend.
brother of William Townsend. and still later by James Arnold, who continued in
merchandise for a number of years.
There arc two villages in the township, of nearly equal size, called Townsend
center and Collins, the latter situated on the railroad, half a mile north of the
center. At Townsend center there are two churches, two stores, one millinery
shop, <»ne blacksmith shop, one school house, one sawmill, one bee-house, one
violin manufacturer and one architect and builder.
At Collins there are one general store one grocery, one tin shop, one millin-
ery store, one hotel, two blacksmith shops, one wagon shop, two shoe shops.
Digitized by Goo
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
273
one h;'rno> >hop, one broom factory, one pump factory, and <me sawmill and
bending' works.
The pioneer mill of Townseml was established by William Hurdue. He
brou ;bt with him from Pennsylvania a pair of small millstones and set up a hand
mill for grinding grain. The rude contrivance was a great convenience to the
early settlers, who were thus saved many miles of travel, through dense woods to
get their milling done.
The first wedding in Townsend was that of Dr. Lyman Fay, of Milan, and
Miss Caroline Kellogg, daughter of Orisimus Kellogg, of this township. This
event occurred at the house of the bride's father. July ji, i 8 1 6, David Abbott.
Esq.. tying the nuptial knot.
William and Elizabeth Hurdue were the parents of the first white children
born in the township. They were twins, were born in the year i8t6, and lived
only a few months. The next birth was that of Roxena Goodell, daughter of
David and Electa Goodell. She was born June iy, 1817. married Amherst Ord-
way. January 24, 1838. and died in Wood county. Ohio, May n. 1876. A birth
also occurred in one of the Harber families in 1817.
David Sayre. was the first person that died in the township, but the date we
are unable to give.
The first tavern was opened by Moses D. Fowler, in the southwest part of
town, on the Medina road, about the year 1834. On the southeast corner of the
cross roads, where the west line road intersects the Medina road, stands the old
"Blue Fly" erected by William Thompson. It was originally painted blue. Some
one facetiously dubl>ed it "the blue fly." and the place has been known by that
name. Thompson kept it as a tavern for five or six years when he sold it to
Theodore Williams, of Norwalk.
The first school house was built in the Barber settlement, about the year 1818.
The first school teacher is not known with certainty, but is generally supposed to
have been Jasper Miles, who taught a winter school. Miss Polly Barber kept the
first summer school. Lucy Tenant was among the earliest school teachers in
the tow nship.
"The Western Reserve Union Institute." was established at Collins, in 1855,
chiefly through the efforts of W. S. Hyde. The institution derived its support
from the tuition of its pupils, and was not incorporated. It had an existence
until about the year 1870. when the building was purchased by the township,
and has since been used as a district school.
The first saw mill in this township was built by David Lee. in 1820. It was
located on lot seventy-three, in the fourth section, on Rattlesnake creek. There
are. at the present lime, three saw mills in operation. The mill near the center
was erected by James Arnold, in the winter of 1848-49. When completed, he sold
it to William Humphrey, who operated it until his death, in 1874, when it passed
into the hands of George Bargus. the present owner.
The sawmill of L. \ . McKesson was established by Cyrus Minor, in 1856.
He operated it for five or six years, when he sold to James McCullough. who,
a year subsequently, moved the machinery away. A man by the name of Funk
afterwards bought the building and fitted it up for a grist mill, which he carried
on for three years, and then removed the machinery to Mt. Vernon.
274
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Mrs. Caroline Fay gave the following account of their flight on hearing of
Hull's surrender: "The sad news was announced at my father's dwelling at the
hour of midnight of the 8th of July. The elder members of our family arose
and set themselves to work immediately, making preparations to flee for their
lives. At ten o'clock in the morning we were all ready and commenced our flight
from the savage foe which we imagined was in close pursuit. We directed our
course for Cuyahoga. Portage county. It had been raining quite hard all of
the previous night. After traveling four or five miles we fell in company with
four families of our acquaintance. We got twelve miles on our journey by
dark, and pitched our tents and partook of our evening meal, and were obliged
to spread our beds on the wet ground, and in the morning they were nearly
covered with water caused by the rain that had fallen during the night. There
we were, in an unbroken wilderness, and an unfrequented road of seventy-five
miles to our place of destination. We were obliged to ford all the streams that
lay in our path or to stop and cut trees and bridge those that were flooded by
the recent rain. We were on our journey eight days and seven nights without
seeing so much as a log cabin, expecting every night when we lay down to
rest to be tomahawked and scalped before morning by the Indians. Many of
the youth of our company were so much fatigued by travel that they could not
stand alone when they first rose in the morning. One night we camped near a
sugar camp where some one had made sugar the previous spring and spread our
beds on some bark that was lying on the ground. To my astonishment, when I
arose in the morning. I saw a blacksnake peeping out his head from under the
bed that I had rested upon. On removing the bed the men killed seven large
snakes."
WAKE MAX TOWNSHIP.
Wakeman township was named for Jesup Wakeman. one of the original pro-
prietors of the land, and it still retains its original name.
It lies generally rolling, especially the east half, and was heavily timbered
with oak. beech, maple, basswood. elm, black walnut, cherry, etc. The soil i*
clayey with a mixture of sand sufficient to make it easy to till.
Vermillion river enters the township from the south near the center of the
town line, and running a wonderfully crooked course, passes about a mile east of
the center and leaves the township a short distance west of the section line.
Brandy creek enters the south line of the township, in the southwest part and
forms a junction with the Vermillion a short distance northeast of the center of
the town. La Chapelle creek rises in Townsend. enters this township south of
the center road and leaves it a mile and a quarter east of the northwest corner.
The stream is said to have derived its name from a Frenchman by the name
of De La Chapelle. who discovered and explored it to its source, long before the
country was settled.
Wakeman was attached to Florence for township purposes until February.
1824. at which time, on petition of the inhabitants, it was set off by the county
commissioners, and organized independently. The election was held at the log
school house near Mr. Canfield's. in April following.
Digitized by boogie
HISTORY OF HI' RON COUNTY
275
The first road was that along the west town line, called the "Reed road," a
man of that name having opened it. The first road within the township was
that along the line of the first settlements, called the New London road. It is a
mile east of the west line road, and runs a generally north and south direction.
It was opened by the settlers, heing at first merely underhrushed and originally
ran a more crooked course than it now docs, in order to avoid swales and steep
hills. The east and west center road was opened west of the center in 1825 or
1826. and east of the center a few years after.
The first religious meeting in Wakeman was held at the house of Augustin
Canfield. Sunday evening, January 10, 1819. Rev. Lot B. Sullivan, a mission-
ary, was the preacher. Mr. and Mrs. Canfield, Dr. Clark and wife led the sing-
ing. They were the pioneer choir of Wakeman for many years.
The first church organization was formed at the house of Mr. Pierce, Octoher
25. 1822, by Rev. A. H. Betts and Rev. Joseph Treat. The society was of the
Congregational order.
The first white child born in the township was Burton M. Canfield, April 18,
1818. The first girl baby born was Mary Smith, April. 1821.
The first wedding in Wakeman was that of Marshall Johnson and Marinda
Bradley. They were married in October, 1820, at the house of Abram Bronson,
Dr. Clark performing the ceremony. The next couple married was Nathaniel
Mine, of Berlin, and Ruth Sherman, in the winter of 1821.
The first death in the township was that of Mrs. Hendricks, mother of Mrs.
Abram Bronson. which occurred in 1820. The death of Mr. Bronson occurred
a short time after that of Mrs. Hendricks.
The first burial ground was on the southwest corner of the crossroads, near
where Mr. Mordoft" later lived. Some of the bodies were afterwards taken up
and removed to other burial grounds, and the former ground was abandoned for
that purpose. The first interment in the cemetery at the center was that of
Mrs. Justus Minor.
The first frame building in the township was the barn of Justin Sherman,
in 1823. The first completed frame house was built by Mr. Sherman in 1827.
The erection of a frame house had previously been commenced by Sheldon Barnes,
but before it was finished, it was taken down and removed elsewhere.
The first public house was kept by Marcus French, a half mile west of the
center on the section line.
The first regular train of cars ran through the township was on November
24. 1852.
The first and only murder committed in the township was in 1843. The
victim was the wife of Alexander Lawtha. She was strangled to death by the
hands of her husband, assisted by John Simpson, a neighbor. The body of the
woman was thrown into a well, and when found, the prints of the fingers on her
neck could be plainly seen. The murderers were convicted of the crime, and
Lawtha was sentenced to the penitentiary for life, but before his removal to the
county jail, he cut his throat with a razor, but before death he made a confession
of his crime. Simpson was sentenced to the penitentiary for a term of ten
years, and served out his term.
27<» HISTORY Or HL'ROX COCXTY
The first settlers went to Ksquire Merry's mill in Milan township to get
their grinding done, a distance of fourteen miles as the road originally ran. Sub-
sequently, and until the erection of a gristmill by Burton Canfield in 1824, the\
obtained their grist at Ruggles' mill in Florence, and at Ilustcd's mill in Clark-
field. In 1823. Burton Canfield built a sawmill on the Vermillion, east of Wake-
man village. The next year he added a frame grist mill with one run of stune.
The mill stones were made out of the ordinary "hard head" stone by Klder Phillip-
a pioneer Baptist preacher of Berlin. lie took the job for thirty-rive dollar*,
and realized less than a shilling a day. the stone proving harder than he hail
estimated.
A sawmill was built on the La Chapelle in 1823 by Justin Sherman. Thi-
and the Canfield mill were erected at the same time, but the Sherman mill sawei!
the first log. On the same stream there were formerly three other sawmill-,
one built by Esquire Pierce about the year 1833. one by C. C. Canfield in 1840
and one by B. M. Canfield in 1848. That of C. C. Canfield was in operation for
thirty years, and did an extensive business.
The first school was opened by Mrs. Dr. Clark in her own house, in the sum-
mer of 1818. Her scholars were Calvert C. Royal R. and Sarah Ann Canfield;
Lemuel B., Bennett and Minott Pierce. Mrs. Clark taught for one dollar per
week, and boarded herself. Her wages were paid, not in money, but in the prod-
ucts of the soil, the usual legal tender in those early times. The school wa*
also kept by Mrs. Clark in the log house of Mr. Canfield. The scholars would
each carry an ear of com to school which the teacher would boil for them, this
constituting the only dinner they had. School was kept in Wakeman only a few
weeks in the year, and the children, or at least the boys, the eldest of whom was
not more than ten years of a^e. attended a school in Florence, traversing an
unbroken forest for a distance of three miles. In the year 1820 the first school
house was built, of logs of course, on the farm of Augustin Canfield.
The log school house served the double purpose of a place of teaching and a
house of worship for about nine years, when it was replaced by a comfortable
frame school house, twenty-two by twenty-six feet in size, with a genuine shingle
roof. The meeting to consider the question of its erection was held at the old
school house, January 29. 1829. Bela Coc was chosen moderator of the meet-
ing, and Augustin Canfield, clerk. It was decided to build the house by a tax.
the cost of which was to be one hundred and seventy dollars. Among other
things it was resolved that "we will have a chimney in said house." that "a writ-
ing desk shall he attached to the side of the house," etc. It was also stipulated
that the house should be opened on the Sabbath to the Congregational and
Methodist churches, each to occupy it one-half of the time, "but if it so happen*
that one denomination does not want to occupy their half of the time, and the
other does more, it shall be their privilege to do so." The house had a kind of
dedication by a union service of the two churches on Christmas eve, 1820,. the
Rev. Xenophon Betts and True I'attee officiating on the occasion. The house \va<
trimmed with evergreens and illuminated. The first teacher in the new school
house was J. M. Root.
In the year 1820 the inhabitants of Wakeman attained to the felicity of a
weekly mail. Isaac Todd and Cyrus Minor drew up, or caused to be drawn tip.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
277
a petition for the extension of the mail route from Grafton, Lorain county, to
Norwalk. and carried it to Grafton to obtain the signatures of the settlers along
the proposed route. After the mail was established, the settlers along the line
turned out and under-brushed a road from Wakeman to Grafton. The first mail-
carrier was one Cole, who carried the mail once a week, making his journeys on
foot. The first trip he made through Wakeman he stopped at Isaac Todd's,
whose house was the first on his route west of La Grange. No mail bag being
visible. Mr. Todd inquired about it. "Oh. I've got it." replied the carrier, and
he reached in his pocket and drew forth a large-sized pocket-book, on which was
a padlock about the size of a silver half dollar. Mr. Todd, naturally taken aback
at the apparent unimi)ortancc of the enterprise he had labored hard to establish,
-aid : "You don't mean to say you carry the mail in that?" "Yes," rejoined Cole,
"and it's large enough ; there's nothing in it!" The route was established, and
the mail-carrier had to make the trip, although there was not an item of matt to
carry. It was not long, however, before a more capacious mail bag was substi-
tuted for the pocket-book.
A man by the name of Waldron afterwards carried the mail. He frequently
stopped at Joseph French's, and on one occasion brought the family a piece of
venison. On being asked where he got it he replied that he "shot the deer with
the mail bag." He came upon the animal while browsing in the top of a fallen
tree, struck it in the head with the bag, which so frightened the deer that he
caught it and cut its throat with his knife.
The first postoffice was established January i, 1833. with Justin Sherman,
postmaster, who kept the office in his house. He served for seven years and three
months, when he was succeeded by Merritt Hyde, and the office was moved to
his dwelling, west of the center.
As already stated. Dr. Harmon M. Clark was the first physician that prac-
ticed in the township. He had been engaged in the practice of medicine before
he came to this country, and was a surgeon or assistant surgeon in the United
States navy in the War of 181 2.
The first store in Wakeman was kept by Justin Sherman near the center, on
lot forty-five. He erected the building in 1839, and sold the first goods on the
third day of July, 1841. His goods were purchased in New York city, and
transported by way of Hudson river. Erie canal and Lake Erie to Huron, and
thence to Wakeman hy team.
The principal species wild animals originally found in the forests of Wake-
man, were the bear, deer, wolf, wild-cat and fox. Bears, though not numerous,
were occasionally seen. Deer were very numerous, and were frequently captured.
They were the settlers' main dependence for meat, while their skins were used
as an article of clothing by the male inhabitants. Suits made wholly of buckskin
were worn only when absolute necessity required, a single wetting and drying
making them very uncomfortable. It was more generally used for facing the ex-
posed ]>ortion of the pantaloons.
The first election of a school board, of which there is a record, occurred Octo-
bert 31, 1828, when Augustin Canfield was elected clerk: Justin Sherman, Philo
Sherman and Samuel Bristol, directors.
278 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Until 1827, the township constituted one school district. The location of the
first school house being determined by the center of the population, it was built
in the third section, as previously stated. In the spring of the above year a
second school district was erected, embracing nearly three-fourths of the town-
ship, and a log school house built at the center of town. A few years after a irame
school house was built there.
In regar.l to the character of her schools and school houses, Wakeman occu-
pies a front rank among the townships of the county.
The first year of the settlement, wheat was two dollars and potatoes one dol-
lar and seventy-five cents per bushel, pork thirty dollars per barrel, and oftener
of the "shack" variety than otherwise. Until the land was brought under culti-
vation provisions were generally obtained in the surrounding earlier settlement-.
The character of the population that took possession *of Wakeman was of the
genuine Yankee sort ; they were, almost without exception, from Connecticut.
Most of them came from Southbury, New Haven county, some from Litchfield
and Fairfield counties, and a few from other parts of the State.
The first family to take up its abode in the wilderness was that of Aligns tin
Canfield. Mr. Canfield started from New Milford. Litchfield county, with his
wife and four children, his brother Burton Canfield, Seymour Johnson and his
hired man, for the Firelands on the 29th day of April, 1817. While journeying
through the "four-mile woods" west of Buffalo, the emigrants experienced a
breakdown, one of the axletrees of the wagon breaking off at the wheel. The
company fortunately possessed sufficient mechanical skill to repair the damage,
cutting out a piece of timber from a tree and splicing it on to the remaining part
of the axle, and thus completed the journey without further mishap.
Many anecdotes are related illustrative of the condition of the roads through
Cattaraugus swamp, or, more particularly, that portion of it known by early set-
tlers as the "four mile woods." A traveler, seeing a hat floating on the mud, pro-
cured a pole and tried to secure it, when a voice from below cried out. "Let
me alone ; I have a good horse under me, and I shall get through all right"
Mr. Canfield and his associates arrived in Wakeman on the 2*d dav of Mav,
performing the long journey in about three weeks. He settled on lot number
twenty-three in the third section, building his cabin near the location of the pres-
ent residence of John G. Sherman. The house was fourteen feet square, built of
rough logs, with a roof of elm bark and a floor of the same. Two large boxes,
or trunks, placed together constituted the only table in the house, and upon which
the scanty meal was spread. The house being without a fireplace, the cooking was
done by a log fire outside. This primitive habitation was occupied about six weeks,
when it was replaced by a more substantial log house, in which the family lived
until 1822, when it was sold, with seventy acres on the south part of the lot, to
Justin Sherman. Mr. Canfield taking up his residence on the north part of the
same lot, where he spent the remainder of his life.
The next man that penetrated the forests of Wakeman was Amial P. Pierce.
He arrived with his family, consisting of wife and four children, and a hired man,
about three weeks after the Canficlds. making the journey from Connecticut
with an ox team. He made his location on the adjoining lot, number twenty-two.
He always resided on this location.
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF IHROX COUNTY
279
He was a man of large size and of great physical strength, excelling in this
respect, any other of the pioneers with the exception of Mr. Bristol. He had
borne the rank of captain in Connecticut, and the title was applied to him here
for many years, and until that of "Squire," owing to his long service as justice
of the peace, was substituted.
The first settlers found this township heavily timbered, the principal varieties
being whitewood, white oak, beech, maple, black walnut, butternut, chestnut, hick-
ory and basswood. On the river bottoms the sycamore, elm and sugar maple were
chiefly found.
Among the early settlers of YYakeman township, were Barzilla S. Hendricks
and family, in 1819. Abram Bronson and wife, in 1820. Sheldon smith and
family and Burton French, in 1820. Justus Minor and family, in 1821. Chester
Manville and Peter Shewnan. in 1822. And about the same time came Justin
Sherman. Philo Sherman, Leveritt Hill, and others. In 1823, Merritt Hyde, Amos
Clark. A few years later came Russell Barnes, William Beers, Sheldon Barnes,
Rufus J. Bunce, Johnson Wheeler, Isaac Todd. Elias Bell, Martin Bell, Simeon
Brow n, Cyrus Strong, Lewis Beers, Bela Coe, Reuben Hall, Mr. Parsons. Also
comparatively early in different portions of the township: John Brooks, Jabez
Hanford, Hiram Rumsey, Henry T. Peck, Isaac Haskins, Dr. Curtis and Cap-
tain Bell.
WAKEMAN.
Wakeman is a town of considerable importance on the Lake Shore Railroad,
eleven miles east of Norwalk. It supports a local paper, which is commendable,
show ing the intelligence of its people.
TIL
igmzea Dy
Google
BIOGRAPHICAL
E. N. HAWLEY, M. D.
Having made careful preparation for the practice of medicine Dr. Hawley is
now successfully following his profession in Norwalk, his ability bringing him
prominently before the public in this connection. A native of Erie county, Ohio,
he was born August 18, 1856. His father, Noah M. Hawley. was born in Con-
necticut and went to Rochester, New York, with his parents, remov-
ing thence to Erie county. Ohio, when twenty years of age. On this trip he also
accompanied his parents and his father Allen Hawley. died in Eric county at
the advanced age of eighty-four years. He served as a general in the Revolu-
tionary war. giving effective aid to the colonists in their struggle for indepen-
dence. He came of the same family as the Hawleys, well known in Connecticut.
In Ohio Xoah M. Hawley turned his attention to general agricultural pursuits
and throughout the remainder of his life was connected with farming interests
in Erie county, being numbered among the representative tillers of the soil in that
portion of the state. He died in 1888, at the age of seventy-six years, having
long survived his first wife, who bore the maiden name of Olive Sayles and who
passed away in Erie county in 1845. Later he married again, his second union
being with Abigail Mowry. Dr. Hawley of this review, has one own sister,
Laura, and three half-sisters and one half-brother — Dr. Charles A. Hawley, now
living in Washington, D. C.
In the country schools Dr. E. N. Hawley pursued his early education and
afterward attended the normal school at Milan, Ohio. He then taught in a
district school for two years and for one year was employed as a teacher in
the Milan Normal College, but he regarded this merely as a preliminary step
to other professional labor for it was his purpose to become a member of the
medical fraternity. He studied medicine for one year in the Bellevue Medical
College of Xew York city, after which he went to Ann Arbor, Michigan, and ma-
triculated in the medical department of the State University, from which he was
graduated with the class of 1881. He then commenced practice in Sandusky,
where he continued for a year, and subsequently spent six years in Wakeman,
Huron county, but seeking a broader field of labor he removed to the county seat
L>S4
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
and for twenty years has been successfully following his profession in Nor-
walk.
His ability in his chosen field of labor is widely recognized, both by the mem-
bers of the medical fraternity and the general public. He is very careful in the
diagnosis of a case, is conscientious in the performance of all professional duties
and in al! of his work is actuated by a broad spirit of humanitarianism. The
scientific side of the profession also makes strong appeal to him and he closely
studies every phase of his work, keeping in touch with the trend of modern
thought and progress as manifested in the work of the medical fraternity. He
belongs to the County and State Medical Society, the Cleveland Academy of
Medicine, and the American Medical Association.
In 1900 Dr. Hawley was united in marriage to Miss Abbie Riley, a daughter
of John Riley, an old resident of Norwalk. They have one son. Edwin Charles
Riley, born October 3. i»*>4. Dr. Hawley is a member of the Benevolent and
Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of Pythias and other organizations. He
has been termed a good man and a good citizen — a high measure of praise, in-
dicating as it does fidelity and honor in all the relations of public and private
life.
HON. GEO. T. THOMAS
Hon. George T. Thomas, ex-speaker of the Ohio house of representatives and
recognized as one of the republican leaders of the state, is now engaged in the
practice of law at Norwalk. where he has followed his profession since April,
1887, save for the period of his service as probate judge. He was born at Green-
wich, Ohio, September II, 1856, and is a son of Uri Baker and Ellen ( McOmber)
Thomas. The former was born October 24, 181 8, and was a son ~t George and
Adeline (Baker) Thomas. George Thomas was born in Rhode Island, May 9,
1795, and on the 16th of August. 1812, married Adeline Baker in Otsego county,
New York. She was born November 25. 1 796. They reared a family of nine
children and Mr. Thomas became a well-to-do farmer of Otsego county. New
York. About 1858 he removed westward to Ohio and settled on a farm in Green-
field township, Huron county. Throughout his entire life he carried on general
agricultural pursuits and he died at Greenwich, November 5. 1882. He had long
survived his wife, who died April 30. 1859. Their children were as follows: an
infant daughter, who was born September 4. 181 3. and died the same day : another
daughter, who was born and died on the 14th of March. 1815; George Hull, who
wPs born April 15. 1816. and died in February, 1905; Uri Baker, the father of
George T. Thomas ; Levi Ward, who was born January 19. 1821, and died in 1861 ;
a son. who was born and died June 3, 1823; Sylvanus Ward, who was born Jan-
uary 20. 1825. and died in May, 1885; Washington Lafayette, born April 15.
1827; Adeline Alvira. born March 30. 1829; Andrew Jackson, who was born
February 3. 1832. and died November 9, i8c>i ; Lucena Icebenda. born February
24, 1835; and Walter B. Wallace, who was horn December 18, 1839, and died
April 4, 1862.
Digitized by Goo
HISTORY OF HI' RON COIWTY
Of this family Uri Baker Thomas, the father of our subject, was a farmer by
occupation and in addition to tilling the soil he raised and dealt in live stock and
in wool. He was married April 16. 1841;, to Miss Ellen R. McOmber, who was
born May 21, 1829, near Castleton. Vermont. Both acquired a fair education in
the schools of their native states, but neither were college graduates. Mr.
Thomas came to Ohio in the year 1846 and settled on his farm in Greenwich town-
ship. Huron county, where he continued to live until his death. July 14. 1904. He
long survived his wife who passed away March 25. i8f>i. By his first marriage
there were born five children: Orr Uri, who was horn May 30. 1850. and died
February 10, 1904; Spencer, who was born in 1852 and died in infancy; George
T.. of this review ; Dora Ellen, who was born August 16, 1858 and died in May.
1887: and Luna A., who was born in 1800 and died in infancy. The mother of
these children having departed this life in 1861, the father was married in 1864
to Miss Myra B. Stowe. Their children were Walter S.. who died in infancy;
and Myra Augusta. The latter was born June 3. 1869. and is now the wife of
Professor Lewis E. Akeley. of the University of South Dakota, at Vermillion, that
state.
George T. Thomas attended the district schools and also the preparatory
schools of Oberlin college, l^ater he was a student in the preparatory depart-
ment of Buchtel college, at Akron, Ohio. He spent about a year in each place
but did not graduate and in addition to the common branches he studied algebra,
plain geometry, physical geography. Greene's analysis of the English language,
physics, or the elements of philosophy, history, and later under Professor Matti-
son at Berea. Ohio, studied Latin to some extent. He has since supplemented his
studies by considerable reading and by the study of law. After leaving school he
was a teacher in the common or district schools for a number of terms, covering
a period of about four years, this being his initial step in professional service.
On the 10th of April. 1880. Mr. Thomas was united in marriage to Miss Em-
ma J. Miller, a resident of Fairfield township, Huron county, and removed from
his father's farm to the village of Greenwich in August, 1880. While engaged in
teaching school he took up the study of law and after thorough preliminary read-
ing was admitted to the bar February 2, 1886. He removed from the village of
Greenwich to Norwalk in 1887 and here entered upon the practice of law, which
he has followed continuously since save for six years, during which time he was
probate judge of Huron county, so acting from February 9, 1891, until February
9. 1897. In his practice he is regarded as a safe counsellor and a strong advo-
cate, his arguments being based upon a reasonably comprehensive knowledge of
the law. while his application of legal principles is correct. His ability has brought
him into prominence among the foremost representative citizens of this section of
the state.
Mr. Thomas has long been recognized as one of the prominent representatives
of the republican party in this part of Ohio. He has been called upon to fill var-
ious local offices and later higher political honors have awaited him. He served
as mayor of the village of Greenwich from 1882 until 1884; was township clerk
of Greenwich township for one term, in 1884-5 ; was a member of the board of
education of the Greenwich village district in 1885 ; and treasurer of the board
for one term. In 1891 he was chosen probate judge and by reelection was con-
Digitized by Google
286
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
tinued in the office for six years. For three terms he represented Huron county
in the state legislature, taking his seat on the ist of January, 1900, and thus serv-
ing until January 1, 1906. During the last term of two years, from January I,
IQ04, until January 1, 1906, he was the speaker of the Ohio house of representa-
tives. A strict parliamentarian, his rulings were always just, fair and equitable,
winning him the respect of the opposition as well as the members of his own party.
He has been an influencing power in republican politics in Ohio for many years
and served as chairman of the Huron county republican executive committee for
three years, from 1894 until 1896 inclusive. His opinions carry weight in party
counsels and he is recognized as a public speaker of ability and is clear, strong and
convincing in argument in any position he assumes.
On the 10th of April, 1880, Mr. Thomas was married to Miss Emma J. Miller,
at Norwalk, Ohio. She is a daughter of John and Sarah (Jones) Miller, of an
English family who emigrated from England abut the year 1849 and settled in
Fairfield township, Huron county, Ohio. They reared a family of nine children,
six sons and three daughters, and Mrs. Thomas, who is the eldest daughter, was
born December 13, 1859. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Thomas has been born an only
child, Alton O. Thomas, who is a graduate of the Norwalk high school and of
the Buchtel college at Akron, Ohio, of the class of 1902.
Mr. Thomas is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, having
taken the degrees of the subordinate lodge and the encampment. He has twice
been representative in the grand todge and also in the grand encampment for two
terms. He is now past counsellor in the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias
and belongs to the Junior Order of United American Mechanics. He is an alert,
enterprising man, quickly utilizing the opportunities which are presented in the
legal and in the political arena, and in a profession where advancement must de-
pend entirely upon individual merit he has attained high rank.
ORRIN M. DOANE.
Orrin M. Doane, a well known and prosperous resident of Bronson township,
has been engaged in operating machinery for the threshing and pressing of hay
throughout the greater part of his business career. I le was born on the 7th of
February, 185 1 , a son of Elon Doane, who in early manhood made his way from
New York to Ohio, becoming one of the first settlers of Huron county. The
district was still largely wild and undeveloped but with characteristic energy he
set to work, cleared a tract of land for farming purposes and was successfully
identified with general agricultural pursuits throughout the remainder of his life.
When he was called to his final rest in 1892 the community mourned the loss of
one of its most worthy and respected pioneer residents. He and his wife reared
a family of six sons and three daughters.
Orrin M. Doane attended the common schools in pursuit of an education and
on starting out in life on his own account took up the work of general farming.
During the greater portion of his business career, however, he has devoted his
Utention to the operation of machinery for the threshing and pressing of hay,
gitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
287
making extensive purchases of hay, which he presses and bales and then sells to
shippers. In all of his undertakings he has met with a gratifying and well mer-
ited measure of prosperity, owing to his untiring industry and capable manage-
ment and is widely recognized as one of the substantial, progressive and repre-
sentative citizens of his community.
On the 23d of December. 1873. Mr. Doane was united in marriage to Miss
Harriet A. Templer, whose birth occurred May 11, 1856. Her father. Valentine
Templer. was born in Rotterdam. Schenectady county. New York, on the 12th
of May. 1832. being the youngest of nine children. On the 29th of December,
1853, he was joined in wedlock to Miss Christie Ann McDonald, whose birth oc-
curred in Schnectady, New York. April 27, 1828, and by whom he had six chil-
dren. In 1865 he brought his family to Ohio and continued an honored and
respected resident of Huron county until the time of his demise, which occurred
in 1895. Though not affiliated with any church, he was a man of high moral
character, whose exemplar)' life well entitled him to the regard and esteem which
were uniformly accorded him. His wife passed away at her home in Olena on
the 13th of July, 1906. The marriage of Orrin M. and Harriet A. (Templer)
Doane has been blessed with the following children: Arthur E.. who was born
July 1, 1874; George L., whose natal day was September 26, 1878; Mrs. Anna
M. Garner, who was born on the nth of December, 1880; and Roy V., whose
birth occurred January 14, 1894. The family are well known in the county and
Mr. Doane and his wife have many warm friends who esteem them for their
genuine worth and many good qualities.
HENRY K. WHITE.
Henry K. White, a substantial and representative farmer of Bronson town-
ship, was born September 25. 1846. in Steuben, Greenfield township, Huron county.
He is a son of William White, who was born in St. Clairsville, Ohio, February
15, 181 1. and was a son of Nathaniel and Nancy A. W hite. In early life he learned
the carpenter's trade and built the courthouse at Sandusky, Ohio, about 1833.
He afterward removed to Huron county where he cut the timber and built a log
house for himself. As the years passed and the country became thickly settled
his carefully managed business affairs made him quite a wealthy man. He mar-
ried Lucy Holland, who was born in Ireland July 2, 1814, a daughter of John
Holland, who came from the Emerald Isle to Ohio. In the family of William
and Lucy (Holland) White were the following children: Thomas, Lewis, Frances,
Maria, Samuel, Henry, Fred, Jane and Charles.
Henry K. White has spent his entire life in this county, where he was reared
to the occupation of farming, early becoming familiar with the duties and labors
that fall to the lot of the agriculturist. His life has been a busy and useful one,
his business affairs being capablv managed so that he has won a fair measure of
success. He has also been quite active in other lines. He has always been a dem-
ocrat in politics, taking an active and helpful interest in the party. He is asso-
ciated with his brother, Fred A. White, in the ownership of a farm on which they
HISTORY OF 1HROX COUNTY
live and they also have the agency for various kinds of fertilizers, having been
connected with that line of business for more than ten years. They have aVj
handled agricultural implements and machinery and have been very successful in
that branch of their business. They also have some good track horses and some
well bred colts.
Fred A. White, his brother's partner in business, was born in Greenfield
township. Huron county. April 6, 1856, and was reared in the usual manner of
farm lads who divide their time between the acquirement of an education and
the work of the farm. On the 12th of December. 1878. he was united in mar-
riage to Miss Sarah Kennedy, who was born in September. 1856. She is a daugh-
ter of John and Priscilla I Fitzgerald I Kennedy, of Richland county. Ohio. They
have become the parents of a daughter. Minnie May, who was born July 13. 1880.
and is now the wife of Claude A. Terry, of Elyria, Ohio. Fred A. W hite and his
wife are members of the Presbyterian church and his political allegiance is given
to the democracy, but he never seeks nor desires office, preferring to concentrate
his energies upon his business affairs. He and his brother have resided upon the
farm where they now live for forty-six years and keep the property in most mod-
ern and up-to-date shape. They are well known as excellent farmers and horse-
men and their business affairs, capably conducted, are winning for them sub-
stantial financial reward.
DAVID B. XI MS.
David P». Xims, a farmer of Lyme township. Huron county, and the owner
of one hundred and seventy-five acres of land that lies partly in this county and
partly in Erie, was born on this farm, November 18, 184 1, the son of Worthing-
tor and Betsy (Barnard) Xims. Both parents were born in Shelborn. Massa-
chusetts. 1803 being the year of the father's birth. He came to this part of the
country with his father at the age of twenty, selecting Strongs Ridge as his first
abiding place. A few years later, he bought the farm his son now lives upon.
Here he built first a log cabin, which he replaced some time later by a frame
house, built on that section of the farm that lay in Groton township. Erie county,
for the line dividing that county from Huron, passes through the farm. In this
house, David B. Xims was born, but as the years passed and brought their meas-
ure of success in increased returns from the soil, this frame house ceased to sat-
isfy, and Mr. Xims built a third house, a large and substantial one. which is now
the home of his son and has well withstood the wear of time. Three children were
born to Mr. Xims: William, deceased; Helen, the wife of Melvin Wood; and
David B. He was a man prominent in the work of the Lyme Congregational
church and when death called him, in 1896, he left many to regret his loss.
David B. Xims has always lived in Lyme township with the exception of a
very short period. His education was derived in the district schools, but the more
vital lessons for his preparation for life were obtained at home under the wise
guidance of his parents. From his childhood, he has been learning the things that
meant success in a farmer's life and wittingly chose agriculture as his vocation in
life. When he first left the tutelage of the home and engaged in farming for
himself, it was on a farm of one hundred and eighty acres in Milan. Ohio. After
gitized by Googl
DAVID B. X I MS
by Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI RON COUNTY
291
a year's residence upon this, he sold it to purchase another, of one hundred and
forty-five acres, in Huron county, buying it of Mr. Burr. Upon this, he lived and
worked for perhaps ten years, when he was called home by the death of his
brother to take charge of the farm where he has lived ever since, during the time
having made many improvements that have increased the value of the land.
In November, 1866. Mr. Nims was united in marriage to Miss Sabra Steb-
bins, a daughter of Alfred and Eliza (Fanning) Stebbins of Lyme township. One
child has been born to the couple, Alfred Nims, whose birth occurred on the 20th
of September, 1870. When he grew to manhood, he married Miss Jessie Wills,
a daughter of George Wills. The couple make their home with his father on the
farm.
Mr. Nims and his family are staunch members of the Lyme Congregational
church, and in their daily lives put in practice those things which are taught es-
pecially on the first day of the week. A member of the older generation of those
who till the soil. Mr. Nims is yet active in all his work and progressive, being
quick to see and grasp any opportunity that will mean the improvement of his
land and an increase in the returns that it will render him.
MERRITT H. HYDE.
Merritt H. Hyde, a well known and successful agriculturist of Wakeman
township, where he owns an excellent tract of land comprising ninety-two acres,
has also been extensively engaged in threshing since 1895. This farm has re-
mained his place of residence from his'birth to the present time, his natal day
being August 7, 1862. His parents were Merritt M. and Elizabeth (Church)
Hyde. The paternal grandfather, Merritt Hyde, came with his family to Huron
county from Connecticut in 1816, making the entire journey by ox team. The
farm on which he took up his abode is the one which is now in possession of our
subject. At the time of his arrival here, there were only thirteen white people
in Wakeman township and the land was all covered with timber. He traded his
Connecticut property for Fircland^ in this county and became possessed of about
four hundred acres of land at one time, on which not a stick had been cut. The
first necessary task was the erection of a cabin home and with the assistance of
the few neighbors a rude dwelling was soon constructed. Then began the work
of cutting down the trees and preparing the land for cultivation and, by dint of
hard and unremitting labor, this, too, was accomplished. Merritt Hyde was a
man of strong character, who faced the hardships and privations of pioneer ex-
istence with undaunted courage and a resolute spirit. The country was yet thickly
populated with Indians and he did considerable trading with the red men. For a
time he served as an Indian agent for the government and his official duties some-
times called him as far as the head of Lake Superior. In those early days he
often found the struggle for existence a difficult one, but as time passed by and
the district was gradually opened up to civilization, his efforts were rewarded
with success and he became a prosperous and influential citizen, possessing a
large fortune at the time of his death. His labors proved an important factor
292
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
in the work of early development and upbuilding and when he was called to his
final rest on the ist of May. 1876, at the age of eighty-one years, the county
mourned the loss of one of its most respected and honored pioneer settlers. His
wife, who bore the maiden name of Sallie Boyd, passed away on the 2d of Feb-
ruary. 1889, when she had attained the venerable age of ninety- four years and
ten months. Both lie buried in the Wakeman cemetery. Mr. Merritt of this
review regards as one of his most prized possessions an old family bible tracing
the ancestral record back to 1724.
Merritt M. Hyde, the father of Merritt II. Hyde, is a native of Huron
county, being born on the farm which continued his home as long as he remained
a resident of this community. He followed general agricultural pursuits while
living here and was widely recognized as a prominent and representative citizen
of Wakeman township. In the year 1883 he removed with his wife and daugh-
ter to San Antonio. Texas, and subsequently took up his abode in Fort Worth,
that state, devoting his attention to the work of farming. At the end of about
two years' residence in the Lone Star state he went to Elkmont. Limestone
county, Alabama, where he has since made his home. In addition to general
agricultural pursuits he is also engaged in the sawmill business, meeting with
well merited success in his undertakings. His wife, who bore the maiden name
of Elizabeth Church, was a native of Cattaraugus county, New York, and in
early life came to Ohio with her parents. She is now deceased, her demise hav-
ing occurred on the 7th of September, 180.1. Mr. and Mrs. Merritt M. Hyde
reared a family of three children, the record of whom is as follows: Merritt H..
whose name initiates this review, was the first in order of birth. William D.. a
resident of Memphis. Tennessee, has been on the river for almost twenty year-
and has been a captain on the Lee line of boats on the lower rivers for a number
of years. Sarah F. is the wife of Thomas Compton. who is associated in busi-
ness with her father in Alabama.
Merritt H. Hyde was reared on his father's farm and obtained his education
in the public schools of Wakeman. As stated above, he has always continued
to reside on the place where he was born and throughout his entire business
career he has devoted his time and energies to general agricultural pursuits, his
farm comprising ninety-two acres of rich and arable land adjoining the village
of Wakeman. In 1895 he bought a steam threshing outfit and every season since
then has been extensively engaged in threshing, his operations covering Wake-
man. Townsend, Clarksfield and other nearby townships. He has threshed in a
single season as high as fifty-five thousand bushels of grain, while his average
record is fully forty thousand bushels yearly. Alert, enterprising and progres-
sive, he has won a gratifying measure of prosperity in his business interests and
is well known and highly esteemed as a prosperous and substantial citizen of his
native county.
Mr. Hyde has been married twice. On the 2d of July. 1887, he wedded Mis?
Martha Wood, a daughter of James and Sarah Wood, of Elkmont, Alabama.
The child born of this union, May E., is now the wife of Werner McCoron, of
Decatur, Alabama. Mrs. Martha Hyde passed away December 2. i88q, and
on the 8th of April. i8<>3. Mr. Hyde was again married, his second union being
with Miss Elizabeth Beam, a daughter of Ephraim and Sarah ( Kessler) Beam.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
293
of Wakeman township. Fphraim Beam died on the 5th of March, 1908. but his
widow still survives and resides in Wakeman. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Hyde have
been born three children, namely: Cora, who is now deceased; Hazel L. : and
Merritt L.
Politically Mr. Hyde is a stanch democrat but does not seek office as a reward
for his party fealty, preferring to give his undivided attention to his private
business affairs. He has an extensive circle of warm friends throughout the
community in which his entire life has been spent, and is well entitled to mention
in this volume as a worthy representative of an honored pioneer family of
Huron county.
GEORGE STOLL.
This gentleman is one of the general farmers and breeders of fine stock in
Wakeman township. He is of German birth, from Reinfeldt, Germany, born Sep-
tember 20, 1866. his parents l>eing Joseph and Catherine (Stork) Stoll. They
never came to free America, preferring to remain in their own Deutschland.
In 1882 Mr. Stoll landed in Cleveland, but soon went to Henrietta, Lorain
county, Ohio, and took up agriculture. The year 1897 saw him in Huron county,
near Wakeman. in his present home. In i&K) he considered himself ready to
wed, and on October 2d, married .Miss Catherine Delafield, of Erie county, the
daughter of Anthony and Margaret (Needing) Delafield. Mr. and Mrs. Stoll
have a family of two daughters and two sons: Mary, Margaret, William and
Harry.
George Stoll believes in progress in all things, and his thoroughly tiled farm
and fine modern home, with first-class buildings, testify to the success of his the-
ories. His Holdings amount to one hundred and forty-three acres of fine, tillable
land, and under the hand of this specialist in fine crops and blooded draft horses,
keeps itself in fine trim. II is breeding of draft horses has produced some highly
commendable specimens of horse flesh.
Although Mr. Stoll is German born, he has become a thoroughly acclimated
American, voting the democratic ticket. He is a member of Wakeman Tent,
No. 93. Knights of the Maccabees, and is highly respected for his sturdy German
traits and hi* consistent portion on the side of improvement and progress.
BENJAMIN BRECKENRIDGE WICK HAM.
Among the younger and more successful members of the Huron county bar,
thus representing a profession which has ever had important bearing upon the
stable progress and prosperity of every community, is numbered Hen B. Wick-
ham, who was born in Norwalk, October 28. 1875. He is a representative of
an old New England family founded in America in early colonial days. His
294
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
father, Frederick C. Wickham, was born in Norwalk in the house on Main
street, which is still standing and which was erected in 1836. The natal day of
Frederick C. Wickham was August 5, 1842. His father, Frederick Wickham.
Sr., was born in New York city, March 7, 1812. and was for years a sailor on
the great lakes, holding official rank in that connection. During 1842 he came
to Norwalk and established his home. He had married Lucy Bancroft Preston,
a daughter of Samuel Preston, who came from Nashua. New Hampshire, and
was a prominent citizen and pioneer newspaper man of Huron county. He
established the Norwalk Reflector, one of the oldest newspapers of the state.
The Preston family has long been a prominent one in America and gave to the
colonies five governors.
Frederick C. Wickham was educated in the public schools of this city and
in 1862. when twenty years of age. enlisted for service in the Civil war, becom-
ing a member of the One Hundred and Twenty-third Regiment, with which
he continued for three years. He was first commissary and afterward became
first lieutenant. At Winchester he was captured and remained for seven months
in Confederate prisons. Later he was again captured by General Mosby's men
near Charleston. He never faltered in the performance of any military duty
whether it carried him to the firing line or placed him on the lonely picket line,
and when the war was over he was honorably discharged and mustered out in
June, 1865. He then returned to Norwalk. where he has since lived, being num-
bered throughout the intervening years with the prominent, influential and valued
residents of the city. Few men have taken a more active part or had more
direct influence upon the upbuilding and progress of the community. For eight
years he served as postmaster, discharging his duties with promptness and
fidelity. For many years he has been in the printing business and in this connec-
tion has been the champion of every movement or measure destined to advance
the city's welfare and improvement. In 1865 he was married to Miss Susan
C. Adams, a daughter of George Quincy Adams, who at one time served as
probate judge of Huron county. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Frederick C. Wickham were
born a daughter and two sons: Charlotte, now the wife of Frank H. Jones, of
Bay City, Texas; Ralph Preston, who died May 19. 1895. at the age of twenty-
five years: and Benjamin Breckenridge. t
The last named is indebted to the public-school *ystem of Norwalk for the
early educational advantages he enjoyed, passing through consecutive grades
iintil he was graduated from the high school with the class of 1892. He after-
ward entered the Western Reserve University and \fas graduated in 1896 from
Adelbert College. He taught school for four years, spending one year in the
high school at Akron and one year in the high school at Fremont. He also
taught for two years in Culver Military Academy, at Lake Maxinkuckee, In-
diana. Believing, however, that he would prefer the profession of law as a
life work, he pursued a course with this end in view in the Western Reserve
University and was graduated with the degree of LL. B. in June. 1903. He was
admitted to the bar in December, 1902. In February. 1903 he entered upon the
active practice of his profession in Norwalk and for a year was a partner of
Judge F. H. Jones, but has since been alone, his individual merit, diligence, en-
terprise and thorough understanding of legal principles being the chief concomi-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
295
tants in his enviable success. In the preparation of his cases he has always
prepared for defense as well as attack and in his practice has been absolutely
fair, never indulging in artifice or concealment, never dealing in indirect meth-
ods but winning his victories, which have been many, and suffering his defeats,
which have been few, in the open field face to face with his foe. He convinces
by his concise statements of law and facts rather than by word painting and so
high is the respect for his legal ability and integrity that his assertions in the
court are seldom questioned seriously.
On the 16th of October, 1906, at Bellevue, Ohio, was celebrated the marriage
of Mr. Wickham and Miss Marguerite L. Asay, a native of Chicago, Illinois, and
a daughter of William C. Asay, an attorney of that city. Her grandfather, Dr.
Amos Woodward, was one of the best known pioneer citizens of Bellevue,
Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Wickham have two sons : Woodward Adams, born August
15. 1907, and Gurdon Frederick, born June 24, 1909. In his fraternal rela-
tions Mr. Wickham is a Mason, belonging to Mount Vernon Lodge, No. 64,
F. & A. M., and Huron Chapter, No. 7, R. A. M., and is also connected with the
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Royal Arcanum and the Knights
of the Maccabees. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and
since 1907 he has been referee in bankruptcy for Huron county. He is not a
politician in the sense of office seeking, however, but manifests a deep interest
in the science of government and believes in practical politics which causes the
individual to uphold the principles and measures which he deems most benefi-
cial in promoting the general good.
L. E. SIMMONS.
L. E. Simmons, the enterprising editor of the Chicago Times, published at
Chicago Junction, Ohio, was born in Monroeville, this state, on the 23d of Decem-
ber. 1869, a son of George and Mary Whaley Simmons, who were natives of
England. The father became a resident of Monroeville in the '40s and there the
family home was established. He conducted a successful grocery business
until his death and was recognized as one of the representative merchants of that
locality.
L. E. Simmons acquired his education in the schools of Monroeville and in
Michigan, living in the latter state for some years with an elder sister. He
then turned his attention to his chosen work and has since been identified with
newspaper interests. He was in Monroeville for one year with his brother and
subsequently went to Norwalk, where for four years he was connected with
the Laning Printing Company. Recognizing the fact that there was a good
opening at Chicago Junction, he came to this place in 1894 and entered upon
journalistic work here as proprietor of the Chicago Times. He has since made
good in every sense of the term. The paper was established in 1883 and in
eleven years changed hands three times. It was not regarded as a successful
venture when he took charge of it but he has made it a credit to the town and
county and has demonstrated what can be done by a man who knows and tries.
296
J 1 1 ST* >RY OF IH ROX COUNTY
His previous experience in the printing business had given him thorough and
practical knowledge of both the mechanical part and the requirements of news-
paper editing and he now sends to his subscribers — and the number is constantly
increasing— a clean and interesting journal, devoted to the dissemination of
local and general news.
Mr. Simmons was married in i8»j<) to Miss Julia Simmermacher, a native
of Chicago Junction and a daughter of William Simmermacher. one of the pio-
neers here. They now have two children. Walter and Evelyn. Mr. Simmons is an
exemplary representative of the Masonic fraternity and is also identified with
the Knights of Pythias. His religious faith is in harmony with the teachings of
the Presbyterian church, in which he holds membership. In politics he is an
independent republican, standing in strong opposition to anything like misrule
in public affairs, believing in clean politics and in competent and honest men in
office. He is stalwart in his opposition to corruption and machine rule ami has
had an influential part in placing politics upon a higher plane. He works for
the good of the town first, last atid always, placing public welfare before parti-
sanship and the interests of the community before personal aggrandizement,
the nature and quality of his citizenship being unquestioned, for his patriotism
and public spirit are factors easily recognizable in his career.
JOHN' WHITMAN.
A feeling of sadness spread throughout Townsend township when on the
30th of January, i<)07, it was announced that John Whitman had passed from
this life, for he was long numbered among the substantial and worthy citizens of
that section of Huron county. He was born in Euchenbcrg. Lorraine. France,
February 17, 1829. a son of Peter and Catherine Whitman, who spent their en-
tire lives in that country. The son accompanied an uncle. Sebastian Remlinger,
to the United States in 1847. being then a youth of eighteen years. He made his
first location in Crawford county, Ohio, where he spent a year at farm labor
and then took up his abode in Erie county, where he followed similar pursuits. It
was w hile living in the latter place that he formed the acquaintance of Miss Abi-
gail II. Richardson, whom he afterward made his wife, their marriage being cele-
brated on the 25th of September, 1864. She is a daughter of Joseph and Miranda
(Sweet) Richardson, who were natives of Oxford township. Erie county. The
father came to the Muckcne state from Pennsylvania after he had reached years
of maturity and here engaged in general agricultural pursuits. Her maternal
grandfather, William Sweet, came to Huron county from Monroe county. New
York, and settled in New London township. There he planted the first orchard
in the township, raising a large number of apple trees from the seed. He re-
mained here until 1831 and then removed to Erie county, this state.
Soon after their marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Whitman located in Wood county,
but only spent a year there, after which they spent two years in Norwalk, Mr.
Whitman being employed in a large warehouse in that city. In 1 868, believing
that farm life would prove more congenial to him. he purchased the farm which is
Digitized by Googl
' THE Nl • ' TOBK
prune i.l;kaky
AsT''n. LI OX 'Mi
T ! : . » .1. H..T-O.VS
R L
Digitized by Google^
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
299
still in possession of his family, the place comprising one hundred and thirty-five
acres of rich land. In 1879. ne erected a modern and substantial brick residence,
which is yet considered one of the best in Townsend township. For many years,
Mr. Whitman gave his time and attention to the cultivation and improvement of
his farm and was numbered among the substantial residents of this section of
the county.
The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Whitman was blessed with three children, but
only two of the number now survive: Tcna II.. the wife of Barton Rhoads, who
lives with her mother, Mr. Rhoads operating the farm : and Cora M.. at home.
Mr. Whitman was a staunch supporter of the republican party and for many
years, served as road supervisor and as a member of the school board. He was
reared in the faith of the Catholic church, but after coming to America, was
identified with no denomination. His fraternal relations connected him with
Norwalk Lodge, I. O. O. F. In his daily life, he closely followed the principle
of the Golden Rule and was numbered among the progressive and public-spirited
men of the community. He lived to a good old age. passing away when seventy-
eight years old. and thus the county lost one of its most honored citizens, while
his family mourn the loss of one who was most devoted to their welfare.
GEORGE E. BARN FY.
George F. Barney is busily engaged in the cultivation and improvement of
his fine farm of seventy-three acres in New London township. He was born in
that township on the 3d of June, 1856. his parents being Edson P. and Sarah
(Sprague) Barney. The father's birth occurred on the nth of December. 1828,
and the mother first opened her eyes to the light of day in the year 1827. Edson
P. Barney passed away in New London on the 12th of March, 1898. having long
survived his wife, who was called to her final rest in 1865.
George E. Barney attended the district schools in the acquirement of an
education that would equip him for the practical and responsible duties of life.
He lost his mother when a little lad of nine years and then went to live with
his aunt and grandfather. After the death of the latter he made his home with
his father until the time of his marriage. He then purchased his present farm
of seventy-three acres in New London township, and his aunt, who came to
live with him, made her home thereon until her demise. He has erected modern
and commodious buildings and has placed many substantial improvements on the
property, so that it is now lacking in none of the accessories and conveniences
of a model farm of the twentieth century. He is practical in his methods and
as the result of his work in the fields he yearly harvests good crops, for which he
finds a ready sale on the market.
On the 25th of December, 1878. Mr. Barney was united in marriage to Miss
Carrie J. Fenn, whose birth occurred in Sullivan, Ohio. June 27. 1859. Her
parents, Kimball T. and Philena (Sutton) Fenn, were born in the years 1827
and 1837 respectively and celebrated their marriage in 1857. They made their
way to California when their daughter, Carrie J., was but five years of age. and
Digitized by Google
300
HISTORY OF HI RON COl/XTY
after a residence of four years in the Golden state the mother was stricken
with smallpox and died very suddenly. A month later the father also Hied
of the same disease, so that Mrs. Barney was left alone in the world when a
little maiden of nine years. She was at that time boarding with a family by the
name of Mosier. with whom her father had placed her at the time of the mother's
death. Subsequent to the demise of her father, her maternal grandfather, Alan-
son Sutton, sent a Mr. Golden to the Mosiers for his little granddaughter but
they refused to give her up. The necessary papers were at once served through
the sheriff, who took the child to Mr. Golden with whom she remained for five
weeks or until the Union Pacific Railroad was constructed to Ohio. She made
the journey from California to this state alone, riding part of the time on the
engine and part of the time in the coach. Many took a friendly interest in the
little orphan and her trip was rendered very pleasant by their kindly assistance.
At the end of a week she reached Toledo, where she was joined by her grand-
father. Mr. Sutton, by whom she was reared until she had attained the age of
fourteen years. She then entered the home of a second cousin, Mr. Berry, where
she remained until the time of her marriage to George P.. Barney. She is now the
mother of five children, as follows: Ross E., who was born Bine 23. 1880: Mrs
Xina Jones, whose birth occurred October 22, 1883; May, born February 9.
1886; Mrs. Lena Robertson, whose natal day was October 31, 1887: and George
Fenn. who was born on the 9th of May, 1897.
Since age conferred upon him the right of franchise. Mr. Barney has cast
his ballot in support of the men and measures of the republican party, being con-
vinced that its principles are most conducive to good government. Having
spent his entire life in this county, he is most widely and favorably known within
its Ixmlers and that his career has ever been an upright and honorable one is
indicated by the fact that the associates of his boyhood and youth are still num-
bered among his stanchest friends.
LEWIS J. HAAS.
Lewis J. Haas is one of the young and representative farmers of Sherman
township, where he owns and operates sixty-eight acres of land, and as the name
indicates lie is of ( ierman descent. He was born on a farm in this township.
March 5, 1875, a son of George and Minnie ( Hankamemer) Haas. The former
was born in Peru township. December 27. 1839, of the marriage of Jacob and
Dora (Herringer) Haas, who were natives of Germany and on coming to the
United States in 1834 settled on a tract of land of seventeen acres in Peru town-
ship, Huron county. This land was partly cleared but the grandfather further
developed and improved it. built thereon a small frame house and in due time
added to his holdings until he owned thirty-one acres. They reared a family
of seven children, namely: Sophia, who became the wife of Fred Mitchell and
both are now deceased; Lena, who was married twice, her first husband l>emg
Joseph Duffner and her second John Setchler. who is also tleceased. her home
being in Kansas: Mary, who became the wife of John Setchler and both have
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
301
departed this life: Jacob, who resides in Monroeville. Huron county; Elizabeth,
the widow of Adam Glasier, her home being- in Norwalk; Anna, the deceased
wife of Jacob Schwam ; and George, the father of our subject.
The last named was reared on the farm in Peru township and pursued his
education in the district schools near his father's home. He remained under
the parental roof until he had reached the age of twenty-six years and then
started out in life on his own account, choosing as his occupation agriculture,
which has continued to be his work to the present time. After reaching years
of maturity he wedded Miss Minnie Hankainemer, a daughter of Daniel and
Elizabeth Hankamemer, of Sandusky, their marriage being celebrated on the
Jist of July, 1864. The birth of Mrs. Haas, however, occurred in Germany,
whence she came to America with her father in 1861, the family home being
established near Monroeville. The mother, who was born in 1810. died in 1857.
prior to the emigration of the family to the new world. Her father was born
in 1800 and died in Huron county in 1804. when he had reached the extreme old
age of eighty-five years. Mr. and Mrs. Hankamemer had a family of seven chil-
dren, Mrs. Haas being the third in order of birth. The other are: William, who
departed this life in 1872; Jane, who died in 1889: Christ, who passed away in
1885; Carl, who lives at Plymouth, Ohio; Kathryn. who died in 1861 ; and Her-
man, who makes his home in California.
It was about two years after bis marriage that George Haas purchased a
farm of one hundred and ten acres in Sherman township and to its further
development, improvement and cultivation he has since l>ent his energies. A
democrat in politics, he has taken an active part in public affairs and for three
terms served as township trustee and he has likewise served as school director.
He is a member of the Lutheran church at Columbus Pike and has served on
its official board. Unto him and his wife have been born seven children, three
sons and four daughters, namely : George C, who wedded Miss Kathryn Scheid
and makes his home in Sherman township, his family numbering three children.
Mildred. Esther and Walter; Elizabeth, the wife of Lewis Leiber, of Lyme
township, by whom she has three children, Olive, lone and Harold ; Emma, still
under the parental roof; William, who is a teacher in the Central high school
at Toledo, Ohio; Lewis J., of this review; Minnie, the widow of Ernest L.
Peckstein, who departed this life December 2, 1908, her family numbering a
son and daughter. Clarence and Gladys ; and Amelia, who is still with her parents.
Lewis J. Haas was reared to the duties of the home farm, assisting his
father in its operation during the spring and summer seasons, while in the
winter months he pursued his studies in the district school at Weavers Corner.
He remained under the parental roof until February, 1905, when he purchased
of his father his farm, consisting of sixty-eight acres, lying in Sherman town-
ship. He has made improvements on this place and now has a good house and
substantial barn and outbuildings. He gives his time to general farming and
in his efforts is meeting with success.
Mr. Haas was married on the 8th of February, 1905, to Miss Louisa Beck-
stein, a daughter «»f Ernest I'.eckstcin. of Lyme township, a sketch of whom
appears in this work. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Haas has been blessed with
an interesting little daughter, Freda.
Digitized by Google
302
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Mr. Haas supports the men and measures of the democratic party, while
his religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Lutheran church, in
the work of which he takes an active part. For seven years he was a teacher
in the Sunday school, while for three years he has been Sunday school superin-
tendent. He works earnestly and persistently in carrying on his business affairs
and if the present is any criterion, the future undoubtedly holds for him still
greater successes.
PETER ROTH.
Germany has sent to the United States many enterprising and progressive
men who. by thtir industry and perseverance, have acquired a substantial meas-
ure of success. Among this number was Peter Roth, now deceased. He was
born November 12. 1835. in Hamburg, Germany, a son of Joseph and Elizabeth
Roth. His early youth was spent in the fatherland, where he acquired his edu-
cation in the common schools of that country. Rumors soon reached him con-
cerning the business advantages offered by the new world, and thinking to
find better opportunities for advancement here than in his native land, at the
age of seventeen he bade adieu to home and friends, and, alone, sailed for the
United States. He did not linger on the eastern coast but came direct to Ohio,
locating at Sandusky where he was engaged as a farm hand by the month until
he was twenty-eight years of age. He was not afraid of work and during the
intervening years he labored earnestly and diligently, so that eventually, through
well directed efforts and careful saving of his earnings, he had accumulated a
sum of money sufficient to justify him in establishing for himself a home. Conr
scquently. on the 27th of November. 1861, he was united in marriage to Miss
Gertrude Schoen, a daughter of Paul and Barbara Schoen who. in 1851, came
from Germany to the United States, locating in Sherman township, Huron county,
Ohio, where the father was engaged in farming.
After their marriage Peter Roth and his wife took up their abode upon a
farm in Sherman township which Mr. Roth had previously purchased. There
he engaged in agricultural pursuits for thirteen years, during which period he
met with most gratifying success in his undertaking. Subsequently he removed
to Weavers Comers, Sherman township, and became identified with mercantile
interests, his connection therewith continuing for twenty-nine years. He was
progressive and up-to-date in his business methods, possessed keen discrimina-
tion, was actuated by the laudable desire, to succeed and the fairness and integ-
rity of his business policy won for him a large and distinctly representative pat-
ronage which continuously expanded as he became better known throughout
the community. In 1902 he retired from the active duties of business life and,
selling his mercantile interests, he purchased a farm in Townsend township,
to which he removed with his family and upon which he resided until his
death.
As the years went by the home of Mr. and Mrs. Roth was blessed with thir-
teen children, namely: Henry: Peter; Mary, the wife of Paul Puffing, of Bel-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
303
levue; George; Joseph; Charles; Anna, who married Peter Weidenger; Anna
and John, both deceased; John; Jacob; Elizabeth; and Josephine. Mr. Roth held
membership in llr* Catholic church, to which his family also belong. In politics
he was democratic, supporting that party at the polls and doing all in his power
to extend its influence throughout the community. He was not, however, an
office-seeker, preferring to devote his time and attention entirely to his business
affairs. He had been singularly successful in both his agricultural and mer-
cantile interests, and not once did he ever have occasion to regret his determina-
tion to seek his fortune in this new world where, although competition is strong,
advancement is rapid and individual effort is unhampered by caste or class. His
personal characteristics were such that, during his long residence in Huron
county, he gained an extensive circle of friends who held him in high esteem and
regard. He passed to his final rest April 16, 1903. His wife and family still
reside upon the home farm and are prominent and highly respected through-
out the community.
CHARLES F. BROWN.
Charles F. Brown, the owner of a well improved and valuable farm of one
hundred and fifty acres in Peru township, was born in that township on the
1 st of January, 1867, his parents being Jacob and Mary (Adleman) Brown.
The paternal grandparents, Jacob and Mary Brown, both natives of Germany,
were among the earliest settlers of Peru township, this county, and here spent
the remainder of their lives. At the time of their arrival this part of the state
was practically covered with timber but they resolutely faced the hardships and
privations of pioneer existence, built a little log cabin and cleared a tract of
land for farming purposes. They were people of the highest respectability and
their labors constituted an important element in the work of early development
and upbuilding. Jacob Brown, the father of Charles F. Brown, spent his entire
life in Peru township, where his birth occurred in the year 1837. He was an
agriculturist by occupation and in 1871 purchased the farm on which our sub
ject now resides from James Easton. He built a commodious residence, also
barns and outbuildings for the shelter of grain and stock and in fact equipped
the place with all the accessories of a model farm. Subsequently he bought a
tract of ninety-eight acres adjoining, on which his widow now resides, giving
his time and energies to its cultivation and improvement until called to his
final rest in 1004. He was widely recognized as a most successful farmer and
public-spirited citizen, and for a number of years did effective service for the
cause of education as a member of the school board. A Catholic in religious
faith, he was a prominent member of that church and his upright and honorable
life won him the respect and esteem of all with whom business or social rela-
tions brought him in contact. His widow, likewise a native of Peru township,
stil! survives at the age of sixty-four years. They reared a family of nine chil-
dren, as follows: Charles F.. of this review; Alfred; Eva. who is the wife of
John Grisner and resides at Norwalk, Ohio; Ida, also a resident of Norwalk.
Digitized by Google
ALU
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
who is the wife of Peter McEnroe; Arthur, Otto and Theodore, all of whom live
with their mother and operate the old homestead farm: Eleanor, the wife of
Peter Lynch, of Norwalk. Ohio; and Laura, who makes her home at Milan.
Ohio, and is the wife of W illiam Meddle.
In his vouthful days Charles P. Brown attended the district and Catholic
schools of Peru township, thus equipping himself by good mental training for
the practical and responsible duties of life. Since putting aside his text book-
he has been engaged in the work of general farming and in thi> line of activity
has won a goodly measure of success as the result of his untiring labor and
capable manrgement. Mis property comprises one hundred and fifty acres of
rich and productive land, and on the place are found many substantial improve-
ments thai in.licate the progress that has been made in agricultural lines.
On the 14th of February, 1900. Mr. Brown was united m marriage to Mi-
Anna lleddle. a daughter of Adam and Anna ( Mann Middle, of Huron county
Like his father. Mr. Brown i- a valued and consistent member of the Catholic
church. Maying always made his home in Peru township, he is widely and
favorably known throughout the community and well deserves mention in thi*
volume as a worthy representative of a family that has been prominently identi-
fied with the agricultural interests of this county from pioneer times down to
the present.
CALV IN CARL MEYMAN.
Calvin Carl Meyman. a farmer of Lyme township. Huron county, and the
owner of ninety-five acres of land on which he lives with his sister, who is part
owner of the estate, was born on this farm, July 4. 1886. Me is the son of Wil-
liam F. and Yerena ( Ballmer ) Meyman. both of whom were of European birth.
The father was be»rn in Germany, February 18. 1839. but was only nine years old
when he came to this country with his parents. The family settled in Lvrne town-
ship in 1848, at a time when primitive conditions still prevailed. Their first hab-
itation was a log cabin and it remained their home during the life of the older
people. William F. Meyman. on attaining his manhood, bought land extensively
and became possessed of three farms in this county, aggregating about thre-e
hundred and sixty-five acres. Me was a prominent member of the Reformed
church, having been at one time one of its elders, and having given, with his
brother, the most of the money which made possible the erection of its edifice in
1863. In 1863 he married Miss Yerena Ballmer, who was born in Switzerland,
May 1844, but came to this country with her parents when very young. She
died January 10. 1901, her husband surviving her something over four years,
his death having occurred April 3. 1905. on the home farm. Twelve children
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Meyman, all of whom are living, namely: Samuel:
Julius: Oliver: Charlotte; Yerena, who married William Longshied. of Lvrne
township; Walter: Arnold: William F., Jr.; Roscoe; Arthur; Paul: and Calvin
Carl.
Calvin Carl Meyman has passed all the years of his life in this county. From
the district school he received all that it could give in the way of formal preparation
Digitized by Google
igitized by Google
Tj/r y mi 7 *
ABTOB. Li:\OX AND
TILIH.N lut .KAT.UNS
J L
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
for life. He early turned his attention to farming, in fact, he has known almost
no other life, for as soon as he was able he was assigned his regular tasks in the
economy of the home, which gradually increased in importance and responsibility
until he was fully competent, when he reached man's estate to assume the man-
agement of his own farm. When he felt that the time had come for him to enter
the battle of life for himself, his sister Charlotte united her money with his and
the two bought the farm upon which they both live from their parents. To-
gether they have shared the responsibility and the labor, though of course the
heavier burden has fallen upon the man. During the period of their possession,
however, the farm has been greatly improved and the soil coaxed to its greatest
productiveness.
Mr. Heyman is a member of the Reformed church, in which all the rest of the
Heyman family have also been confirmed, and he upholds the traditions estab-
lished in it by his father. He is a hard-working young man and a good manager,
so that it is not surprising that he should be reckoned as one of the prosperous
farmers among the younger generation in his locality. His life has meant a great
deal of persistent labor, but even now he is beginning to see the generous returns
this will bring him as the years pass on.
MRS. SUSANNA STIMSON.
Mrs. Susanna Stimson, of Ridgefield township, is the owner of a well im-
proved and valuable farm of one hundred and one acres. It was in Ridgefield
township that her birth occurred, her parents being Ziba and Asenath (Jefferson)
Surles. who were natives of Pennsylvania and New York respectively. She
traces her ancestry back to Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United
States. Mr. and Mrs. Surles were early settlers of Monroeville, Huron county,
Ohio, the father becoming a pioneer blacksmith of this community. They
were married at Monroeville and continued worthy and respected residents
here until called to their final rest, the father passing away in 1890, at the age of
eighty-eight years, while the mother died in 1898. when eighty-two years of
age. Unto this worthy couple were born ten children, namely: Cithera; Willard
J.; Susanna, of this review: Sarah and Stella, who are deceased; James H.;
one who died in infancy: and Lillie. Flora A., and Jessie, all of whom have
passed away.
On the 4th of April, 1866, Miss Susanna Surles gave her hand in marriage
to Garner Stimson, who was born in Cambridgeshire, Fngland. January 2, 1836,
his parents being Joseph and Mar)' Ann Stimson. He was about fifteen years
of age when he accompanied his parents on their emigration to the new world,
the family home being established near Monroeville, Ohio. His mother died
alx>ut six weeks after her arrival in this county. Garner Stimson was the second
in order of birth in a family of nine children, his brothers and sisters being as fol-
lows : Jane, Elizabeth, Joseph B. and Charles, all of whom are now deceased ;
Frank ; John ; Ruth ; and Arthur.
Digitized by Google
308
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
In the fall of 1866 Garner Stimson purchased the farm on which his widow-
now resides and as the years went by made many substantial improvements on
the property, winning a gratifying and well deserved measure of success in his
agricultural interests. On the 4th of September. 1861, he enlisted for three
years' service in the Union army as a member of Company B, Third Ohio V ol-
untcer Infantry, and re-enlisted February 10. 1864. while on the 2d of August,
1865. he was honorably discharged at Nashville, Tennessee. He was promoted
to the rank of first lieutenant of Company I, December 2, 1864. and on the 2d
of August, 1865, the day on which he was mustered out, received a commission
as captain. That his military service was of a most arduous and hazardous
character is indicated by the following list of battles in which he participated :
Corinth, Mississippi; Gunther's Landing, Lexington, Kentucky: Hartsville and
Gallatin, Tennessee; Stone River: Bradyville, Liberty, Snow Hill and Franklin.
Tennessee : Elk River : Pulaski : Alpine. La Fayette and Chickamauga. Georgia ;
McMinnville, Farmington. Charleston. Cleveland and Loudon. Tennessee ; Mur-
phy. North Carolina; Moulton, Alabama: Big Shanty; McAfee's Crossroads;
Tennessee Creek; Kenesaw Mountain; Atlanta and Lovejoys Station. Georgia;
Good Hope Church ; Gadsdin. Georgia; and Blue Mountain.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Stimson were born seven children: Jessie L., is the wife
of Fred P. Rosecrans, who was formerly a school teacher and is now the man-
ager of a >tore on the Hawaiian Islands. They have two children. Garnefhe
and Rita O. Eftie C. the wife of James R. McDonald, resides at Boulder. Colo-
rado and has two children, Ronald J. and Thera G. William S. and Elver re-
side on the home farm with her mother. Susanna S. has passed away. Susie
A. gave her hand in marriage to Allen C. Sctchell and makes her home in
Huron county. Ambrose H. wedded Miss May Bailey, of Norwalk. and lives
on the old homestead farm. They have one child, Ertna May.
Mr. Stimson was a consistent and valued member of the Baptist church, in
which he served as a deacon and in the faith of which he passed away on the
2d of June. 1904. His demise was the occasion of deep and widespread regret,
for he had gained an extensive circle of friends during the fifty-three years
of his residence in this county, his life being characterized at all times by hii^h
and honorable principles and worthy motives. For many years he maintained
pleasant relations with his old army comrades threnigh his membership in the
Grand Army post. Mrs. Stimson. who still survives her husband, has an ex-
tensive circle of warm friends throughout the county in which her entire life
has been spent, her many good traits of heart and mind having endeared her
to all with whom she has come in contact.
HON. II. N. DONALDSON. D. D. S.
Hon. H. N. Donaldson, who is now acting as chief executive of Bellevue.
where he is also conducting a dental office, his professional ability gaining him
rank as a representative of the dental fraternity in this county, was born on a
farm in Washington county. Pennsylvania, on the 1st of June, 1869. He comes
gitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
309
of Scotch- Irish ancestry, the family having been founded in America by his
great-grandfather, Jacob Donaldson, who on crossing the Atlantic settled on a
farm in Mount Pleasant township, Washington county, Pennsylvania. His son,
Isaac Donaldson, was there horn and the same neighborhood was the birthplace
of Dr. Donaldson and his father. The latter was Robert Donaldson, whose natal
day was June 5, 183 1. He is still living in the county of his nativity and is
one of the worthy and respected citizens of the community. In early manhood
he married Rachel Walker, who was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania,
in 1832 and died in 1871. They were the parents of six children: Frank, who
died in igoo at the age of forty-two years; Flora, the wife of J. M. Dinsmore,
living in Washington county, Pennsylvania ; Anna, who became the wife of
Dr. Hugh Hanna, of Philadelphia, and died in 1903; Sarah, the wife of J. M.
Thompson, a resident of Washington county, Pennsylvania; Charles, who is
living on the old homestead in Washington county ; and H. N.
Dr. Donaldson spent the period of his minority in his native county and
attended the district sch<x)ls there, after which he continued his education in
an academy at Buffalo, Pennsylvania. He prepared for a professional career
by a course of study in the Pennsylvania Dental College, from which he was
graduated with the class of 1891. In that year he came to Bellevue, Ohio, and
succeeded to the practice and patronage of Dr. Kirk. He lias since followed
his profession here and is a capable dentist whose broad understanding of the
scientific principles that underlie his work, together with his mechanical skill
and ingenuity, make him one of the foremost practitioners among the represen-
tatives of the dental fraternity in Bellevue. He is very careful in all his work
and his patience and courtesy as well as his professional skill have made him a
popular dentist of Bellevue.
Dr. Donaldson has been married twice. He first wedded Miss Minnie Wade,
a daughter of Lewis and Mary Wade, of Urbana. Ohio. The wedding was
celebrated June 22, 1892, and they were separated by the death of the wife on
the 4th of November. 1905, Mrs. Donaldson being then about thirty-five years of
age, her birth having occurred April 9. 1870. They were the parents of two
children. Robert and Mildred. Dr. Donaldson was again married at Bellevue
in 1907, his second union being with Miss Emma May Barb, a daughter of
James C. and Hannah A. (McDonald) Barb. Her father was born in 1834,
and died in 1901 while the mother, who was born in 1835, passed away in i8*;i.
Mr. Barb was a Lutheran minister, devoting his entire life to the work of the
church. In his family were six children: J. Ernest, who is now a minister; John
M. ; Elsie L. ; Ida; Bertha, deceased; and Mrs. Donaldson, the latter a native of
Tennessee.
Dr. Donaldson has been prominent and influential in community affairs and
his fellow citizens, recognizing his public spirit, his business ability and his de-
votion to the general good, have called him to public office. He was a member
of the school board for about thirteen years when he resigned and was elected
mayor of Bellevue on the democratic ticket in November, 1905. So acceptably
did he serve during the first term that he was reelected in 1907 and has now en-
tered upon the fourth year of his service as chief executive of the city, in which
connection he is giving a business-like and progressive administration charac-
310
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
terized by retrenchment of all useless expenditure but by wise investment in
lines of municipal progress, reform and improvement. He is a member of the
Masonic fraternity, belonging to the lodge and chapter at Bellevue and also to
the Elks lodge of this city. He is likewise a member of the Royal Arcanum
and of the Congregational church and his life is actuated by high and honorable
principles, to which he is loyal in every relation of life. He sustains a high
reputation as a capable representative of his profession, as the city's chief execu-
tive and as well in all those relations of life where warm friendships and strong
personal attachments are formed.
MRS. JOSEPH SWEET.
Mrs. Joseph Sweet, the owner of eighty- four acres of land in Lyme town-
ship, Huron county, is the daughter of Samuel E. Nims and comes of a family
that has been intimately connected with the history of this country from the time
the thirteen colonies battled for their independence from the mother country.
Asa Nims, Mrs. Sweet's great-grandfather, was a soldier in the Revolutionary
war, and when his son Samuel came to Ohio, he accompanied him and partici-
pated in the struggles of the few pioneers here. This Samuel Nims was — n
in Franklin, Massachusetts, in 1790, and with his wife Mahala, came to Huron
county, Ohio, in 1826, but she did not long survive the hard life and its struggles,
dying in her thirty-sixth year. She left two children to mourn her loss. The
older, Betsy, married Rufus Russell, and with her husband has passed beyond
earth's worries. The second child was Samuel E. Nims, the father of Mrs.
Sweet, who is still living, though at a very advanced age. For his second wife,
the grandfather, Samuel Nims, married Miss Fannie Peck, who was born in
1800, and came from Shelborn, Massachusetts, as did his first wife. She be-
came the mother of two daughters, Augusta and Ardelia. The former was
born in 1837, and in the course of time married Samuel Bemiss. She died
October 22, 1907. Ardelia was born two years after her sister and married
Edward A. Barton. She has since passed away, but her husband is living in
Bowling Green, Ohio.
Samuel E. Nims, the father of our subject, has always lived in this part of
the state. He received his early education in the district schools here and later
attended the high school at Bellevue. In after years he demonstrated that he
was a man of many capabilities, who took an active and practical interest in
public affairs and he was elected a member of the school board and was also made
township assessor. In both capacities he acquitted himself with distinction,
leaving a fine record behind him. On the 5th of October, 1859, he married
Miss Julia Stebbins, a daughter of Alfred Stebbins, and through her was blessed
with two daughters : Mattie E., who is the subject of this sketch ; and Nettie C.
The latter married E. W. Avery and now lives in Erie county. They have three
children: Helen, Leland Ford, and Myron M.
Mattie E. Nims was born in this county, October 7, 1862. She received the
best education the schools of this locality afforded and also attended Lake Erie
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
311
College at Paynesville, Ohio, and spent two years at Oberlin Conservatory.
She passed her days on the farm, fulfilling the duties around the house that
fell to her share, but otherwise living in comparative quiet. On the 16th of
February, 1888, she married Joseph Sweet, of Shelborn, Massachusetts, who
was born September 27, 1858, and during the forty odd years of his life pur-
sued the vocation of a farmer, becoming a most successful man. He was a stanch
member of the Congregational church and a thorough Christian in his manner
of life, and when he died, December 28, 1903, he left a large number of friends
to mourn his loss. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Sweet were born two children : Gretchen
M., who was born January 19, 1890; and John M., born December 10, 1891.
Since the death of her husband, Mrs. Sweet has carried on the work and
business of the farm and has not found the task beyond her powers. In fact
she has grown up to her responsibilities and has demonstrated how a capable
woman can conduct a man's work. Some of the courage of her soldier great-
grandfather and grandfather, the latter having fought in the war of 1812, would
seem to flow in her veins, for she never falters before a difficulty and valiantly
comes out ahead in all her struggles.
IRA L. WYANT, M. D.
Dr. Ira L. Wyant is an example of the self-made man, who has never sought
success by devious methods but in a profession where advancement depends en-
tirely upon individual merit, has made continuous progress, proving his ability
to cope with the intricate problems that continually confront the physician. One
of Ohio's native sons, he was born in Sandusky county, on the 10th of March,
1870, a son of Reuben K. and Sarah (Overmeyer) Wyant. His father was a
native of Pennsylvania and in his boyhood days accompanied his parents to
Sandusky county, Ohio. Both he and his wife died, however, during the early
childhood of their son, Ira, and that he has attained to his present enviable posi-
tion as one of the leading physicians of the county is an evidence of his industry,
perseverance, determination and mental capacity. His early education was of
a spasmodic character, being interrupted time and again by the necessity for him
to provide for his own support. He spent two years as a pupil in the district
schools, two years in Huron high school, and one year at the Ohio Normal at
Ada. Becoming imbued with a desire to enter the medical profession, he eagerly
availed himself of every opportunity that advanced him in that direction. Dur-
ing the summer months he sailed on the lakes in various capacities and during
the winter seasons studied at the Homeopathic Medical College at Cleveland,
thus continuing his course until he was graduated with the class of 1894. He
then located for practice in Chesterland, Ohio, where he remained for twelve
years, when, seeking a broader field of labor he came in 1906 to Norwalk, where
he has since remained and in the intervening years has built up a good prac-
tice. By reading and research he keeps in touch with the most progressive
ideas and methods of the profession and his close conformity to a high standard
Digitized by Google
312
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
of professional ethics has won him the unqualified regard of his fellow members
of the medical fraternity.
Dr. VVyant was married in 1895 to Miss Mary Doane, a daughter of Silas and
Eudolpha (DeWitt) Doane. who were old and respected Huron county citi-
zens. The father came to this county when young, settling at Hartland. Unto
Dr. and Mrs. Wyant has been born a daughter, Hilda, whose birth occurred
January 20, 1898. The Doctor's interests center in his home and yet he is not
unmindful of the social amenities of life, finding pleasant relations in fraternal
organizations, being a Knight Templar Mason, a Knight of Pythias and a
Forester. His fellow townsmen recognize him as a citizen, dependable under
all conditions, while his patrons manifest well merited faith in his professional
skill and ability.
CHRISTOPHER G. GALLEY.
Christopher G. Galley, a substantial and representative agriculturist of Huron
county, has resided on his present farm of one hundred and twenty-five acres in
Greenfield and Peru townships for more than a half century. He is numbered
among the worthy native sons of this county, his birth having occurred in Peru
township on the 6th of August, 1829. His parents were George B. and Lydia
(Wilson) Galley, the former being a native of New York, while the latter was
born in Peru township, this county. The mother passed away when her son,
Christopher G., was about seven years of age and since then the latter has never
seen his father, who went to South Carolina about that time. Mr. Galley of this
review was reared by his maternal grandfather, Asa Wilson, who was one of the
first settlers of Peru township, coming here with Henry Coy. He lived in a log
house and had about six hundred acres of land, which he cleared with the assist-
ance of his son and grandson. Christopher G. Galley. Both Mr. Wiison and Mr.
Coy took a prominent am! helpful part in the work of early development and
upbuilding and when the former passed away in 1855, at the venerable age of
ninety-two years, the county mourned the loss of one of its most respected and
worthy pioneer settlers. Asa Wilson was a soldier in the war of 1812 and par-
ticipated in the battle of Plattsburg.
Chri»topher G. Galley obtained his education in the district schools, and has
devoted his attention to general agricultural pursuits throughout his entire busi-
ness career. With the exception of a period of two years sjH-nt at farm work
in Seneca county, this state, he has always made his home in Huron county. The
farm on which he now lives has been his place of residence since 1857, and is a
valuable and productive tract of land comprising one hundred and twenty-five
acres, lying partly in Greenfield township and partly in Peru township. He pur-
chased the property from Asa Hanes and for the first seven years, lived in a
log house, but in 1804 erected the commodious and substantial brick dwelling,
which is yet seen on the place. The many other improvements with which the
farm is equipped all stand as monuments to his thrift and enterprise and every-
thing about the place indicates the supervision of a practical and progressive
Digitized by Google
y Google
ti:k n; york
PLLLIl U-IHRY
tiljm;.; h i. iut wxs
R L
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
315
owner. At the present time, however, he lias largely put aside the active work
of the fields and spends the greater part of his time in the care of his bees, hav-
ing a number of hives. He has met with a gratifying and well merited degree of
prosperity in his undertakings and has long been numbered among the most suc-
cessful and enterprising citizens of the community.
Mr. Galley has been married twice. In 1854, he wedded Miss Kathryn E.
Griswold, a daughter of George W. and Rose Griswold, of Norwich township.
She met with a sudden and tragic end, being killed in 1881 at Havana, Ohio, by
a Baltimore & Ohio Railroad train. On the 20th of February, 1883, Mr. Galley
was again married, his second union being with Miss Elizabeth R. Ryerson, a
native of Vernon, New Jersey, and a daughter of Nicholas and Serepta (Simon-
son) Ryerson, who were likewise born in Vernon, New Jersey. The father, whose
birth occurred in 1813, was called to his final rest in 1861, while the mother was
born in 1817 and passed away in 1897. In the year 1841, when their daughter,
Mrs. Galley was a little maiden of six years, they took up their abode in Peru town-
ship, this county. Nicholas Ryerson acted as superintendent of the Baptist Sun-
day school for more than twenty-five years. Unto him and his wife were born
eleven children, namely : Elizabeth R. ; Christopher S., a resident of Portland,
Michigan ; Mary, the deceased wife of John Lattimore, of Norwalk, Ohio; John
R., living in Norwalk, Ohio; Hannah, the deceased wife of John Hollaway ; Eme-
line, who is the wife of Frank Brown, of Huron county ; Nicholas, of Peru town-
ship ; Walter and William, both of whom reside in Norwalk, Ohio ; Serepta. who
has passed away ; and Margaret, who is the wife of F. E. Hickson and makes her
home near Toledo, Ohio.
Of late years Mr. Galley has given his political allegiance to the men and meas-
ures of the republican party and has served in the position of school director,
the cause of education ever finding in him a stalwart champion. He has now
passed the eightieth milestone on life's journey and. having spent practically the
entire time in Huron county, no man is more familiar with its history or with
events which have left their impress upon its annals and no man of this sec-
tion of the state is held in more uniform respect and regard than is he of whom
we write.
ADELBERT S. VAIL.
Adelbert S. Vail, who is serving as assistant in the auditor's office at Norwalk,
was born on the 24th of April, 1889. His father, David Vail, whose birth
occurred in Newfield, Tompkins county. New York, on the 1st of October, 181 1,
was long numbered among the most honored and respected citizens of Huron
county, with the upbuilding and development of which he was identified from
early pioneer times. In 1833, when a young man of twenty-two years, he emi-
grated to Ohio, driving and walking all the way through almost a continuous
wilderness. He located first at Elyria, which was a little settlement consisting
of a meeting house and two or three small buildings. A few years prior to his
death, in response to a letter received from the editor of a local paper requesting
information regarding his pioneer experiences. Mr. Vail wrote, in part, as follows :
316
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
"I passed through Elyria the last of November of 1833 with my uncle. Joseph
Lindcrman, on my way from the state of New York to Carlisle. Lorain county,
about six miles south of Elyria, where his brother-in-law had lived for some time.
That winter I went to work at Elyria. cutting- cord wood for a cast-iron furnace,
which was situated at or near the junction of the cast and west branches of
Black river. The iron company kept a store and paid the hands in what was
called 'iron money.' a bill which was redeemable in gwds from the store. * * *
I do not known what the population of Elyria was at that time, but there was
besides the iron works, three or four stores, a boarding house and a church,
the bell of which rang at the time it rained stars. That winter I went to Ober-
lin (then called the Presbyterian Colony) to school, about two months, until
the teacher became sick and the school closed. I went back to Elyria to work,
staying until July, when I came to Huron county." While living at Elyria he
helped to build the first road along the Black river into the village of Lorain.
On coming to this county he settled at Olena and turned his attention to general
agricultural pursuits, with which he was successfully identified throughout his
active life. He likewise conducted a general mercantile store in Olean for
several years and in all of his undertakings met with a commendable and well
deserved measure of prosperity, being a man of excellent business ability and
keen discrimination.
On the 7th of December. 1845. David N ail was married at Fairfield. Huron
county, to Almira Adams, of Symphronius. Cayuga county. New York. She
passed away on the 5th of January. 1887. leaving five children: David \V.,
Leonard A., John J.. Alice and Charks \V. On the 10th of April, 1888. Mr.
Vail was again married, his second union being with Miss Ellen Jeanette Sweet,
who was born on the 29th of June, 1846, her parents being Charles R. and
Elizabeth 1 Hodges) Sweet. Her father, whose birth occurred 'in Onondaga
county. New York, August 18, 1814, came to Huron county in 1844 and, pur-
chasing a farm, was actively engaged in general agricultural pursuits throughout
the remainder of his life. He was called to his final rest on the 17th of Septem-
ber, 1870. On the 25th of January. 1842. he had wedded Miss Elizabeth Hodges,
who was born June 24. 1823. and whose demise occurred on the 4th of September,
r866. I nto Mr. Vail and his second wife was bom a son. Adclbert S.. of this
review.
Winn twenty-one year> of age David Vail cast his first vote for Andrew
Jackson, who had again been nominated as the presidential candidate of the
democracy. In 1884. during President Cleveland's first administration, he was
appointed postmaster of Olena, but when Benjamin Harrison was elected chief
executive he gave up the office and served as a notary public for many years. When
Cleveland was reelected president the postinastership was again tendered Mr.
Vail, but he declined, preferring to live a retired life, free from business and
official cares. At the time of his death he- was one of the oldest residents in
the county, and also one of the oldest members of the Baptist church, which he
joined in early life. He passed away at his home in Olena on the 28th of Janu-
ary. 1907, at the venerable age of ninety-five years, three months and twenty-
eight days, and thus the county was called Upon to mourn the loss of one of its
most honored, esteemed and influential pioneer residents. In a review of his life.
gitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
317
written by one of the local papers at the time of his demise, we find the following
statement: "Mr. Vail was a good type of the old-fashioned York state stock, an
honorable and sincere man who won respect by faithfulness, integrity and genial
personal qualities and he doubtless never knew how considerable an impression
his fine character made on his many friends and acquaintances." His aid and
influence could always be counted upon to further any movement or measure
instituted to promote the general welfare, f r he was a most public-spirited, loyal
and progressive citizen.
Adelbert S. Vail, whose name initiates this review, is a graduate of the
Olena schools and also completed a course in the business college at Norwalk.
in 1905. He is now capably discharging the duties devolving upon him as deputy
in the office of the auditor at Norwalk and. although but twenty years of age,
has already gained favorable recognition as a young man of much promise and
ability.
GEORGE H. MAINS.
George H. Mains brought forth the first edition of the Wakeman Indepen-
dent Press on the 10th of September, 1875, and since that date has not missed
a weekly publication of the paper. He is well known as a representative of
journalistic interests in this part of the state and through the columns of the
Press has done much to further the welfare and promote the progress of the
town in which he resides. He was born November 23, 1833. in Athens, Someisc'.
county, Maine, his parents being John and Lura Ann (Boston) Mains, who
emigrated to Ohio in 1836 and settled in Russia township. Lorain county. In
the family were twelve children, of whom the two eldest died in infancy, George
H. being the eldest of those who reached years of maturity. The others were:
Elvira: J <\m; Emeline : Acquilla and Priscilla, twins; Lura \ .11. who became a
noted evangelist of the Free Will Baptist church; Lorenzo; Sumner B. ; and
Mary. The last named is the wife of Gilbert Trcadwcll. a blacksmith of Union
City. Michigan, while Emeline was the wife of Darwin Peekham of Lincoln.
Nebraska, who went to that city when it was first laid out and became a prom-
inent contractor and builder there, erecting many of the public building;. He
died there several years ago. John Mains, the father of this family, was a
blacksmith and worked at his trade throughout his active life, following that
pursuit in Lorain and Erie counties. Ohio, and afterward in Calhoun county.
Michigan, to which place he removed in 1852. there spending his remaining oavs.
Hi* death occurred in Coldwater, Michigan, about twenty years ago.
George II. Mains was educated in the common schools of Erie county and
as a young man learned the cabinetmaker's trade at Birmingham, Ohio. He
accompanied the family on their removal to Michigan in 1852. but only re-
mained in that state for three years, after which he returned to Erie county.
Ohio, in 1856. There he continued to work at the cabinetmaker's trade and
became well known in the community not only by reason of his business affairs
but also owing to the fact that he took quite an active part in the campaign for
Fremont and Dayton. He became one of the early advocates of the republican
318 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
party and voted twice for Lincoln and once for Grant but in 1872 he supported
Horace Greely and since that time has been voting the prohibition ticket, taking
an active interest in promoting the cause of temperance along political lines and
in private life as well.
In 1863 Mr. Mains gave up his trade as a cabinetmaker and turned his at-
tention to mercantile pursuits, with which he was connected for a number of
years. He was also a traveling salesman for a Cleveland house for three years
and later he became a stencil cutter, being thus engaged for several years in
Ohio and Michigan. In 1870 he began the publication of the Literary Pearl, a
monthly paper in which were produced the writings of his two sisters. Elvira,
who was a teacher, and Lura Ann, a missionary worker. This was continued
until 1875 when he was indueed by the merchants of Wakcman to remove to
this town and establish a paper as the town was then without one and the mer-
chants wished an advertising medium. Accordingly in August. 1875. he came
to Wakeman and established the office and on the 10th of September, 1875.
brought forth the first issue of the Wakeman Independent Press, which has
since been produced weekly to the present time. The paper has wielded a wide
influence for great good in the community. l>eing the champion of every meas-
ure calculated to promote public progress, reform and improvement. It has
always been utilized for the dissemination of general and local news and now
has both a good circulation and advertising patronage.
Mr. Mains has been married twice. In 1858 he wedded Miss Jane B. Harri-
son, a daughter of Thomas Harrison, a farmer of Eric county. She lived for
only two years after her marriage, her death occurring in i860. In 1862 Mr.
Mains wedded Miss Ann E. Cross, a daughter of Bartlett Cross. They had
three children : Elmer E. and George H., both now deceased ; and Anson Ferry,
who is associated with his father in the publication of the Press. Mr. Mains
has a nice home and a fine little truck farm in addition to his newspaper. He
is a man, active in local affairs and was the first one to carry the daily mail from
Birmingham to Wakeman, making the round trip, a distance of sixteen miles,
for sixty-two and a half cents. This was in 1858. While he has always been
interested in public measures he has never been a candidate for office. He
belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church and has been interested and active
in this work for a half century, serving almost constantly throughout this period
as one of the church officials and as a Sunday-school worker, frequently acting
as superintendent of the Sunday school. He stands for all that is progressive
and beneficial in the community and his labors have been of far-reaching influ-
ence in promoting Wakeman's welfare.
GEORGE AVERY.
George Avery, a farmer of Lyme township, Huron county, is the owner of
seventy-six acres of land, upon which he has made his home for more than a
quarter of a century. He was born in this township, April 19, 1851, the son
of Luther and Susanna (Ford) Avery. The father was born in New London
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
319
county, Connecticut, but came as a young boy with his father, Dudley Avery, to
Ohio and settled in Lyme township, near Hunte's Corners. Here he pursued
farming all his life, and the task and labor of cultivating the soil in a compara-
tively early part of the history of the county was a much more difficult thing
than it is today, and required the greater part of his time. He died February
22, 1895. A family of six children, however, soon grew up and were able to
afford him considerable assistance. They were Henry A.; Mary, deceased;
George ; James O. ; Edmond W. ; and Addie R.
George Avery has spent all of his life in this township. He received his
early training under the guidance of his parents at home and in the district
schools, where he learned all that these institutions could impart to him. Farm-
ing has been his occupation throughout life, for as a boy he did his full share
about the home from the time that he was old enough to be intrusted with the
responsibilities of the household chores and was able to carry water to those
working in the fields, until he too was able to do a man's work ploughing or
making hay. By the time, therefore, that he had compassed the period of youth
he was fully competent to assume the full management of a farm of his own
and was skilled in the best methods of winning from the land its most bounteous
returns.
On the 29th of October, 1878, Mr. Avery was united in marriage to Miss
Nellie C. Eaton, a daughter of Delos and Calista (Stebbins) Eaton. This
family, like the Averys, were among the early settlers of this part of the county,
where they have spent the greater part of their long and useful lives. There
have been two children born to Mr. and Mrs. Avery: Ethel L. and Ralph.
During the thirty years that he has lived upon his present farm, Mr. Avery
has considerably improved it and the quality of the produce he wins from it, for
he is a man who is ever on the alert to grasp sudh means as will qontribute to
his own convenience and increase the efficiency of his working power. He
professes the creed of the Congregational church, and his daily life bears evi-
dence that his profession is not merely a form. He is highly thought of among
those who have had relations with him, for he is a man whose quiet life, filled
with hard work, contributes its share to the good citizenship of the county.
REV. JOHN A. SCHAFFELD.
Rev. John A. Schaffeld, pastor of St. Paul's church in Norwalk, was born
in Baltimore, Maryland, a son of John Bernard Schaffeld, who was a native of
Germany. In his boyhood days the father came with his parents to the new
world, the family home being established in Baltimore. In 1867 a removal was
made to Cleveland, where for twenty years Mr. Schaffeld made his home, pass-
ing away in 1886 at the age of forty-six years. In early manhood he had mar-
ried Christina Teresa Koenig, a native of Rhenish Prussia, whose father was an
officer in the French army. She is still living and is a well preserved woman for
her years.
320
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Rev. John A. Schaffeld was reared in Cleveland, pursuing his early educa-
tion in St 1 'tier's parochial school. His classical course was obtained at Cani-
sius College in Buffalo, while his preparation for the priesthood was made in
St. Marys Seminary at Cleveland. Having determined to devote his life to the
cause of the church he was ordained to the priesthood on the 17th of December,
1892. and then for eight and a half years was pastor of the church of St. Mary's
in Fnlton county. Ohio. On the expirati >n of that pericxl he came to Norwalk.
where he has since remained in charge of the parish of St. Raul's church. He is
a genial and popular gentleman, high-minded, a liberal man interested in the
cause of general education and most active and efficient in the work of the church,
doing much for the spread of Catholicism in this locality.
CAPTAIN C. C. COOK.
Captain C. C. Cook, a well known and highly esteemed citizen of Bellevue.
where he is conducting a fire insurance agency and is also serving as justice
of the peace, which position he has capably and acceptably filled for about six-
teen years, was born in a little log cabin in tins city January 1, 1838, and therefore
lias been a witness of the growth and development of the city and county for more
than three score years and ten. His parents were N'athan S. and Fliza < Dixon)
Cook, early residents of this part of the state. The father was born in Seneca
county. New York, in 1809 and died in 1850 when returning from California. Ik-
was one of the first to go to the Pacific coast on the discovery of gold in that
section of the country. He had come to Ohio in pioneer times and was closely,
actively and helpfully associated with the work of early development and im-
provement. His wife, who was born in Mcadville, Pennsylvania, in 1816. died in
Huron county in 1 8~« ) at the age of sixty-three years. They were the parents of
six children: C. C. ; Rclert and Mary C, who are both deceased: James D ; and
Charles G. and Kllen. who have passed away.
Captain Cook of this review has always resided at Bellevue, save for the
period of his service in the United States army, spending his youthful days in
his mother's home — his father having died when the son was but twelve venrs of
age — he pursued hi* education in the public schools of Bellevue and later in prepa-
ration for a professional career entered the Buffalo Medical College, from which
he was graduated whh the class of 1867. He practiced medicine in Bellevue for
one year. In the meantime, however, he had rendered active aid to hi* country
as a soldier of the Civil War. I le watched with interest the progress of the events
in the south, preceding the outbreak of hostilities, believed that no state had the
right to withdraw from the I'nion and in April. :8cw, at the fir*t call for seventv-
five thousand men. he enlisted at Bellevue and went to Camp Denison, wliere he
joined the First Zouave Regiment. Becoming a private of Company D. he was
soon advanced to the rank of sergeant and participated in a large number of bat-
tles and skirmishes, including the engagements at Fayetteville, Virginia, and the
Toland and Averil! raid to W est Virginia. He also went on the Hunter raid to
Lynchburg in 1864 and up the Shenandoah valley under Sheridan. He w as in-
)igitized by Google
y Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
323
jurccl at Princet; n and because of this was detailed tor duty as hospital steward
of the regiment. He remained at the front until the close of hostilities and was
mustered out at Columbus. Ohio, in 1805. returning to his home with a most credi-
table military record. It was subsequent to this time that he studied medicine
for a year in Bellevue, but in 1868 he again proffered his military aid to the coun-
try and entered the United States Regular Army, joining General Custer at Fort
Harker, Kansas. He was in the regular service for about ten years, acted for a
time as inspector on General Hancock's staff and visited all the forts from Fort
Leavenworth to Fort Yuma and from British Columbia to the gulf. Promotion
won him the rank of captain of cavalry and he worthily won his officer's stripes.
On retiring from the army, Captain Cook returned to Bellevue. He was
married in 187(7 to Miss Emma Murdock. a daughter of Hiram and Carolina Mur-
dock of Orleans county. New York. Mrs. Cook, who was an estimable lady and
enjoyed the friendship of many with whom she came in contact, departed this life
in 1903.
Captain Cook is well known in Masonic circles, holding membership in the
lodge, chapter and council at Bellevue and in the Knight Templar Commandery
of N'i rwalk, ( ihio. IK- also affiliates with the Royal Arcanum and the Knights
of the Maccabees and is a past commander of the Grand Army Post of Bellevue.
In the work of these organizations, he takes an active, interest and finds special
delight in the camp fires of his post where are recalled the scenes and incidents
of warfare in the south. He went through all the usual experiences of the regular
soldier on the frontier of the west and as commanding officer of his company,
he enjoyed to the fullest extent the confidence and respect of those who served
under him. Since resuming his residence in Bellevue. he has engaged in the fire
insurance business, in which connection he has secured a good clientage. Dur-
ing sixteen years service as justice of the peace, his decisions have ever been
strictly fair and impartial and indicate that he is as loyal to the interests of his
country in times of peace as when he followed the old flag on the battlefields of
the south or protected the nation's standard upon the western plains.
HIRAM R. BOARDMAN.
He whose name initiates this review needs no special introduction to the
readers of this volume, for he is a representative of one of the old pioneer fami-
lies of the county and is, moreover, well known throughout the community as
an aviarist of considerable note, being perhaps the best authority on bee cul-
ture in Huron county.
Hiram R. Boardman was born on the 2d of April. 1834. in old Swanzey,
New Hampshire, near the home of Dcnman Thompson, and is a son of Hiram
and Delia ( Richardson) Boardman. The family was established in Huron county
in June, 1835, the father, prior to that time, having made a trip to the middle
west, traveling most of the distance on foot. Attracted by the splendid oppor-
tunities offered by this great and growing country, he returned east for his
family and brought them by way of the Erie canal to Buffalo and thence to Huron
324
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
by lake steamer, while the remainder of the journey was made by wagon. At
the time of their arrival in Huron county the state of Ohio was still little more
than a wilderness, its lands remaining largely unclaimed and its resources un-
developed. The early settlers had cleared tiny openings in the forest where they
had built their log cabins, while the work of progress and improvement had
scarcely been begun. As the years passed, however, Hiram Boardman. Sr.,
bore his full share in the work of transformation and improvement and became
a prominent and influential member of the community. He was a blacksmith
by trade and followed that occupation after coming to Huron county. I T e
taught school for three years subsequent to his arrival here and was also identi-
fied with the agricultural interests of this county. He became active in public
affairs and was called upon to fill almost all of the local offices of the township,
including that of township clerk, trustee and justice of the peace, while for
many years he was postmaster of Townsend at a time when the mail was carried
from Norwalk on horseback. It was while he was acting as trustee that the
township house, a very creditable brick building which yet stands, was built.
He was deeply interested in and a stanch champion of the cause of education,
and every matter or measure which had for its object the substantial growth and
upbuilding of the community found in him a ready sympathizer and cooper-
ant. He was well known and prominent among the early settlers of Huron
county, and occupied a high place in the esteem and regard of his fellowmen.
His death occurred April 15, 1871, while his wife survived until the 18th of
June, 1899. They were both buried in the Townsend cemetery. In their family
were five children: Hiram R., Horace H.. Marcia, Electa and Wyman, all of
whom are yet living.
Accompanying his parents to Ohio when but one year of age, Hiram R. Roard-
man was therefore reared in Huron county and attended the district schools in
the acquirement of his early education. He later studied for a time in the
special school at Collins, after which he devoted some time to teaching in Wood
county. Subsequently withdrawing from that profession, however, he became
employed in his father's shingle mill on the home farm and later purchased the
mill, which he operated on his own account for several years. Then in 1854,
the year following the border troubles, he went to Kansas and took up one
hundred and sixty acres of land, upon which he remained for one year. After
his return to Ohio he spent a year in the Pennsylvania oil fields as a tool dresser
and then became identified with agricultural interests, exchanging his property
in Kansas for a farm in Townsend Center, upon which he has since resided.
Here he engages in general farming and devotes the greater portion of his time
and attention to his bee interests. Since a young man he has made a careful
study of bees and their habits, specializing along improved and modern methods
of handling them. He has been a large contributor to the foremost bee journals
in the country and is perhaps the best authority and judge of bees in Huron
county. He is a taxidermist of considerable ability and has a collection of
birds and animals that has few equals among private collections and would make
a valuable addition to any museum.
Mr. Boardman was united in marriage in 1873 to Mis s Eliza Lord, a daugh-
ter of Calif and Susan Lord of Rowling Green. Wood county. No children came
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY 325
to bless this union but Mr. and Mrs. Boardman adopted into their home a daugh-
ter, I von May, who is the life and light of the household. Politically Mr. Board-
man has voted the democratic ticket since age conferred upon him the right of
franchise, but he has never desired nor sought public office. Although he has
many times been selected by his fellow citizens as a candidate for various offices,
he has, nevertheless, declined the nomination. For many years he was a mem-
ber of the board of education and has been deeply interested in the cause of
education, being a stanch champion thereof. Fraternally he is a member of
Townsend Lodge, No. 322, F. & A. M., and has been very active in Masonic
circles. He holds membership in the Townsend Grange, and is also affiliated
with the Patrons of Husbandry, in the affairs of which he has been prominent
and active. He is preeminently a public-spirited citizen, prominent and active
in public affairs, and is held in the highest respect and esteem by his fellowmen.
His various interests have been such as constitute a well-rounded character, ap-
preciative of all that goes to make up life's contacts and relations, while the
consensus of public opinion accords him a most enviable position among the
honored and valued representatives of Huron county.
BALSOR LEHMAN.
Balsor Lehman owns a neat and well improved farm of one hundred and
seventy-four acres, situated in Sherman township, where he is now practically
living retired, leaving the more active work of the fields to his son. As the
name indicates, Mr. Lehman is of German birth, his natal day being January
6, 1827. His parents, Nicholas and Mary Lehman, emigrated to the United
States in the year 1833 and made a location in Stark county, Ohio, where they
spent about twelve years. They then sold out in that county and took up their
abode in Seneca county, this state, purchasing property near St. Stephens, where
they made their home until 1863, when they removed to Sherman township,
Huron county, and purchased the farm, which is now owned by our subject.
Balsor Lehman was a little lad of but six years at the time of the emigra-
tion of the family to the new world. It was during the twelve years' residence
of the family in Stark county that he acquired his education in the district
schools. He accompanied his parents on their various removals up to the time
of their arrival in Sherman township. He is now the owner of the old home-
stead property, which has been in possession of the family since 1863, or for a
period of forty-six years. Since taking possession Mr. Lehman has made a num-
ber of substantial improvements and he now has a nice country residence, good
barn and substantial outbuildings to shelter his grain and stock, and everything
about the place is kept in a state of good repair, indicating the practical and pro-
gressive methods of the owner. He has here one hundred and seventy-four
acres of land and for many years was actively engaged in the work of the farm
but as he has now passed the seventy-second milestone on the journey of life,
he is practically living retired, while his son John manages the place.
32G HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
It was in Seneca county, this state, that Mr. Lehman chose a companion and
helpmate in the person of Miss Elizabeth Bunn, their marriage being celebrated
on the 17th of August, 1862. She is a daughter of Martin and Katharine Bunn,
and by her marriage has become the mother of ten children. Lea, the eldest,
was born in Seneca county. Martin, the next in order of birth, wedded Mi-s
Anna Glassner of Fremont and they have had nine children, as follows : Charle>.
Amelia, Reuben. John. Romie. Loretta. Harold, Arthur, and one who died in
infancy. Mary became the wife of Peter Grulich of Seneca county. Ohio, but
is now deceased. She was the mother of five children, JoTm, Clara, Fred.
George, and Victor, deceased. Lena, the fourth member of the Lehman family,
has departed this life. Victor is the wife of Frank Ruffing and resides at Cadiz.
Ohio. They have had eight children but two died in infancy, the others being
Alfa, Nora, Bert. Solomon, Harold and Ralph. Anna is the wife of Joe Falter,
of Seneca county, their home being in East Norwalk. They have seven chil-
dren, Frank, Gertrude. Clem, Louisa, Charles, Urbin and Lea. Louisa first wed-
ded John West, of Tiffin. Ohio, and later became the wife of Sam Higgins, their
home being in California. Elizabeth is the wife of John Garhardstein. a res-
ident of Seneca county. They have had a family of eight children but two of
the number died in infancy, the living members being Robert, Albert, Loretta.
Tillie. Gertrude and Oscar. John lives at home and operates the farm. Rose
is the wife of Leo Leable. of Tiffin, by whom she has five children. Zenobia.
Justice. Harold. Leo and Rush.
Mr. Lehman is a democrat in politics and on that ticket was elected constable,
in which office he served three years. He is a communicant of the Catholic
church, holding membership in the church in Thompson township. Seneca county
In his earlier years he led a very busy and active life and accumulated a property
that now enables him to live retired, enjoying a well earned rest. He leaver the
active work of the farm to his son John, who is an enterprising and progressive
young farmer. His fraternal relations are with the Eagles and the Red Men.
The Lehman family is an old and prominent one in Sherman township and the
hospitality of the best homes in this section is freely accorded them.
E. V. B. BUCKINGHAM, M. D.
The life history of Dr. E. V. B. Buckingham constitutes an important chapter
in the records of Huron county. He has never sought to figure prominently in
political circles or public life and yet his ability in his profession and his worth
as a man and a citizen entitle him to classification with the leading representa-
tives of the community. He was born in Mansfield, Ohio. August 11, 1839. and
has therefore reached the seventieth milestone on life's journey. His parent*
were Ezekiel and Catharine A. (Williams) Buckingham, natives of Baltimore.
Maryland, and of Pennsylvania, respectively. The father arrived in Richmond
township. Huron county, in 1842, and engaged in farming, his place of residence
being about a mile from Chicago Junction. There year after year he carefully
tilled the soil and carried on his work until his death in 1882. when he wa<
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
327
seventy-two years of age. His wife survived him until 1891 and passed away
at the age of seventy-three years.
Dr. Buckingham acquired his early education in the country schools and
afterward received the benefit of instruction in Plymouth high school. Subse-
quently he engaged in teaching in Richmond and New Haven townships for eight
terms and at the same time he devoted his leisure hours to the study of medicine.
His educational privileges were not equal to those which boys of the present day
enjoy, for there was no school in the township at the time of his arrival. His
mother, however, was a lady of intelligence and instructed him in many things,
so that he learned much under her direction. He improved his opportunities of
attending school as the occasion offered and has always been a broad reader,
keeping in touch with the current thought of the day, while at the same time in
his profession he has made continuous progress by his reading and investigation.
In 1864 he was graduated in medicine from the Michigan University, at Ann
Arbor, and in 1872 won the M. D. degree at Miami Medical College in Cincinnati.
He began practice in Centerton, a village which has since given place to Chicago
Junction, and in the intervening years he has remained at this location, enjoying
a large and substantial practice. He has ministered to various families for many
years until the children have grown up and reared families of their own. Through-
out all the intervening period he has kept in touch with the trend of modern
professional thought through his comprehensive study and is regarded today as
one of the best informed physicians of the county. He has been honored with
the presidency of the County Medical Society and holds membership with the
State and American Medical Associations and also the Northwestern Medical
Association. He is likewise a member of the International Association of Rail-
way Surgeons and for eighteen years he filled the position of surgeon for the
Baltimore & Ohio Railroad.
In 1886 Dr. Buckingham was united in marriage to Miss Effie W. Pitts, a
native of Richland county, Ohio, and unto them have been born two sons, Men-
denhall and Huron E. W. The doctor is an Odd Fellow in his fraternal rela-
tions and in religious faith is a Methodist His life has ever been actuated by
high and honorable principles, manifest in citizenship as well as in professional
relations. Not to know Dr. Buckingham in Chicago Junction and this part of the
county is to argue one's self unknown. He is one of the most respected and
reliable citizens, a man who has always stood four square to every wind that
blows and who in every relation of life can be depended upon to conserve the
interests of those things which are best and most worthy.
JOHN G. HOULE.
John G. Houle, a well known and prosperous agriculturist of Lyme town-
ship, is the owner of a finely improved farm of one hundred and eleven acres,
most of which is in Erie county. His birth occurred in Lyme township on the
28th of January. 1856. his parents being William H. and Lucy (Gaydon) Houle,
both of whom were natives of Devonshire. England, where they were married.
I
328 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Almost immediately after the ceremony they sailed for the new world and on
reaching the United States took up their abode in Lyme township, Huron county,
the father here working as a farm hand for a number of years. Carefully sav-
ing his earnings, he was at length enabled to purchase a farm of his own and
in 1876 bought the property which is now in possession of his sons, John G. and
Fred, being successfully engaged in its cultivation and improvement until he
passed away in 1892 at the age of sixty-four years. His wife, who survived him
for several years, died on the 8th of February, 1899, when sixty-eight years of
age. They were devoted and faithful members of the Lyme Congregational
church and were well known and highly esteemed throughout the community as
people of genuine personal worth and upright lives. Their children were seven
in number, namely : William H. ; John G., of this review ; Jennie and Lucy, who
are deceased ; Frank, who is a professor in the schools at Martins Ferry ; Ida,
who has likewise passed away ; and Fred, who with his brother, J. G., cultivates
the home farm.
John G. Houle obtained his education in the district schools and with the ex-
ception of one year, which he spent on the old Wright farm in Groton township,
Erie county, has continuously been a resident of Lyme township from his birth
to the present time. Since putting aside his text-books he has given his un-
divided attention to the work of the fields and, as before stated, is now the owner
of an excellent farm of one hundred and eleven acres, which was purchased by
his father from George Dole. The place is under a high state of cultivation and
gives every evidence of his careful supervision and practical methods.
On the 5th of December, 1899, Mr. Houle was united in marriage to Miss
Kate Becker, a daughter of Barney and Caroline (Beeler) Becker, who were
early settlers of Lyme township. By reason of their long residence in this county
both Mr. and Mrs. Houle are widely and favorably known here and the hospi-
tality of their own home is greatly enjoyed by their many friends.
JOHN NORMAN.
John Norman, a retired farmer of Lyme township, Huron county, and the
owner of one hundred and ten acres of land on which he lives, was born in Eng-
land, March 30, 1835, the son of John and Mary (Ellis) Norman. Both par-
ents died in the country which had always been their home, but in their life-
time had given to the world ten children, of whom John Norman and a younger
brother Zachariah and one sister, Sarah Ann, who were the sixth, seventh and
ninth in the family, respectively, alone survive, Samuel, Lydia, Ellis, Charles,
Diana, Jesse and an infant having passed away.
John Norman came to the United States in 1858 and settled in Lyme town-
ship, Huron county, Ohio. At first he worked around for different farmers here
until he was able to rent a small tract of land to cultivate for his own interests.
By hard and diligent work, he was soon able to save up enough money to buy
a little farm. This he cultivated up to a higher grade of productiveness, sold, and
with the proceeds bought a larger piece, continuing this practice for some time
Digitized by Google
y Google
HISTORY OF HI" RON COUNTY
331
until his good management and labor made it possible for him to purchase his pres-
ent large farm in 1879. It was originally part of the old Sawyer farm, and is
a valuable piece of land today, for Mr. Norman with knowing skill has improved
it in every way possible. Some years ago, he gave up the active duties of life,
rented his farm, and now lives in the enjoyment of a well deserved rest and
comfort.
Mr. Norman was married twice. His first wife was Miss Sarah Ann Car-
penter, by whom he had six children, but Charles and the youngest died in in-
fancy. Of the other four, William K.. living in Lyme township, married Miss
Dora Daniels and has five sons, Roy, John. Hen, Gus and William: Mary M. is
the wife of Gus llesstler. of Hellevue ; John lives at home; and Samuel M. mar-
ried Mis> Lena Wright and lives at Norwalk. He is the father of two children,
Percy and Lillian M. Mr. Norman was again married I>ecember 24, 1 886, his
second union being with Mrs. Jane (Norman) Francis, the widow of Richard
Francis, and the daughter of Samuel and Deborah (Pickering) Norman. Moth
her parent* were horn in England, the father in 1812. the mother in 1815. They
came to this country when their daughter Jane was eighteen years of age and
were accounted old settlers in this locality. Mrs. Norman was third in a family
of five, of whom she and the oldest son, Samuel, alone survive, Anna. John and
Eliza having passed away. IJy her former husband, Mrs. Norman had seven
children: George W.. who lives at home; Eliza A., who married Frank Ekert, of
Norwalk, and is the mother of one child. Carl ; Albert, now deceased, who mar-
ried Miss Lottie Pence, and left three children. Mabel, Ralph and Leona; Cora,
the wife of Fred Willard, of Cleveland, and the mother of three children, Ernest,
Viola and Grace ; and three little ones who died in infancy.
Mr. Norman is a meml>er of the Episcopal church, but his wife is a regular
attendant at the services of St. Joseph's Catholic church of Monrocvillc. He is
a man who has lived the active years of his life profitably and we'll and has made
many friends who do not begrudge him the rest he has so well earned nor the
comfort he is now permitted to enjoy.
L. JAY GIFFORD.
L. Jay Gifford. owning and operating a farm of one hundred and seventy-
five acres in Fitchville township, is an agriculturist whose well directed energy
and keen foresight are bringing to him a creditable measure of prosperity. His
birth occurred in Genesee county, New York, on the 5th of February, 1857, his
parents being Fernando and Maria L. (Green) Gifford. both of whom were like-
wise natives of Genesee county. The father was born July 20. 1825, while the
mother first opened her eyes to the light of day. December 6, 1827. In 1818,
Zalmon Green, the maternal grandfather of our subject, walked from Cayuga
county, New York, to Fitchville, Huron county, Ohio, a distance of four hun-
dred miles. Fernando Gifford, the father of L. Jay Gifford, followed general
agricultural pursuits throughout the greater part of his life, meeting with suc-
cess in his undertakings. In 1863 he made his way from the Empire state to
Digitized by Google
332
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
this county, here purchasing a tract of land of one hundred and twenty acres,
a portion of which is now comprised within the boundaries of the farm belong-
ing to his son, L. Jay GifFord. His political allegiance was given to the repub-
lican party and he was deeply interested in all matters pertaining to the general
welfare. For several terms he capably discharged the duties devolving upon him
in the position of township trustee. In religious faith he was a Presbyterian
and his life was at all times in harmony with the teachings of that church. His
demise occurred July 17, 1803, and was deeply mourned by an extensive circle
of friends and acquaintances. His wife, whom he wedded May 19, 1852. was
called to her final rest September 6, 1902.
L. Jay Gifford was a little lad of six years when he accompanied his parents
on the journey to Huron county in 1863. Reared on the home farm, he early
became familiar with the duties and labors which fall to the lot of the agricultur-
ist and which have claimed his time and energies throughout his entire business
career. Subsequent to the death of his father he took up his abode on the old
family homestead, looking after his mother's interests until she, too, passed away.
As time has passed and his financial resources have increased, owing to his un-
tiring industry and judicious management, he has added to his landed holdings
by additional purchase until his farm now embraces one hundred and seventy-five
acres in Fitchville township. The soil is rich and productive and responds
readily to cultivation, so that he annually gathers bounteous harvests which find
a good sale on the market.
On the 13th of September. 1883, Mr. Gifford was joined in wedlock to Miss
Marion B. Smith, a daughter of Thomas and Joanna Smith, of Fitchville. Their
union has been blessed with one son, J. Floyd, who was born June 29, 1885. and
is still under the parental roof.
Mr. Gifford is a stalwart republican in his political views but, though he is
deeply interested in matters of public concern and has frequently been solicited
to become a candidate for various positions, he has no desire for the honors and
emoluments of office, preferring to give his undivided attention to his private
affairs. He belongs to the Grange and his religious faith is indicated by his
membership in the Presbyterian church. As he has lived for many years in this
county, he was a wide acquaintance here and his friends know him as an enter-
prising farmer and a man of genuine worth.
NOBLE G. HURST.
Noble G. Hurst, whose carefully directed labors as an agriculturist and sheep
raiser in former years brought him the competence that now enables him to live
retired, was born in Henrietta, Lorain county, Ohio, on the 20th of September,
1856. his parents being John and Mary A. (Longway) Hurst. The paternal
grandparents, John and Elizabeth (Drien) Hurst, were native* of Lincolnshire.
England, and the grandfather served as a soldier in the English army for thirty-
two years, participating in the wars of his country during that period. He was
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
333
stationed at Quebec and during his military service crossed the ocean four times.
After being honorably discharged from the army he established his home in
Quebec, where he spent the remainder of his life. John Hurst, the father of our
subject, made the journey from Quebec to Ohio in company with his young
bride, a settlement being made in Henrietta, Lorain county. His financial re-
sources were very limited at the time of his arrival in this state but he possessed
in large measure the sterling qualities of industry, honesty and frugality and as
the years went by gained a handsome competence through the careful conduct
of his agricultural interests. He was widely recognized as a most public-spirited,
substantial and respected citizen and his death, which occurred on the 21 st of
October, 1892, was the occasion of deep ond widespread regret. His wife was
called to her final rest on the 29th of May, 1907, and both lie buried in Wake-
man cemetery. Unto this worthy couple were born two sons and two daughters :
Elizabeth P., whose demise occurred in June, 1882; Noble G., of this review;
Margaret H. ; and Melvin J.
Noble G. Hurst spent his youth on the home farm of his father and obtained
his education in the public schools of Wakeman. Subsequent to his marriage
he carried on agricultural pursuits in Wakeman for three years and then farmed
in Camden, Lorain county, for two years. At the end of that time he returned
to Wakeman, where he remained for four years and then once more located in
Camden, Lorain county, there continuing for twenty years. In May, 1906, he
again came to Wakeman and has here since lived retired, enjoying in well earned
ease the fruits of his former toil. He has a fine home and twelve acres of land
in the suburbs of the village of Wakeman and has become quite an extensive
landowner, possessing two farms on the county line between Wakeman and
Camden, Lorain county. Both farms, comprising one hundred and fifty and one
hundred and forty acres of land respectively, are well improved and under a
high state of cultivation. Throughout his business career Mr. Hurst was en-
gaged in general farming and sheep raising, in which lines of activity he was
eminently successful, gaining recognition as one of the county's most substantial,
progressive and representative citizens.
On the 29th of November, 1876. Mr. Hurst was united in marriage to Miss
Ida A. Pierce, a daughter of Elbert P>. and Hattie A. (Becchcr) Pierce, who
were prominent pioneer settlers of Wakeman. This union was blessed with one
child, Mabel E., who is now the wife of Clayton E. Ford, a well known agricul-
turist of Clyde, Oakland county, Michigan. Mrs. Ida A. Hurst passed away
when her little daughter was but five weeks old, and on the 22d of April. 1885,
Mr. Hurst was again married, his second union being with Miss Mary M. Mor-
gan. Her parents, David and Agnes (Scott) Morgan, of Camden. Lorain
county, spent their entire married life, covering more than fifty years, on the
same farm. They came to this district when it was a dense forest but with
characteristic energy Mr. Morgan set to work to cut down the trees and grad-
ually transformed the once wild tract into a productive farm and ideal home.
Both he and his wife are now deceased and lie buried in the cemetery at Cam-
den, Lorain county. Unto Mr. Hurst and his second wife were born the fol-
lowing children: Edna M., now the wife of Sumner E. Todd; Blaine N. ; Meryl
L. ; and one who died in infancy. With a full realization of the value of good
334
HISTORY OF HI RON COUNTY
mental training as a preparation for the practical and responsible duties of life.
Mr. Hurst has given his children the best educational advantages obtainable.
In his political views Mr. Hurst is a stalwart republican and an enthusiastic
advocate of all measures and movements calculated to benefit this section of the
country or advance its wonderful development. He is especially interested in
the efforts to keep the public highways free from weeds that may contaminate
adjacent farms. A man of domestic tastes, he greatly enjoys the companion-
ship of his wife and children and is a most loving and devoted husband and
father. Both he and his wife possess in large measure the confidence and esteem
of those with whom they have come in contact, and the hospitality of their pleas-
ant home is greatly enjoyed by their many friends.
NOAH YOUNG.
Noah Young is living retired in a beautiful residence in Collins, which has
been his home since 1905. but he still retains possession of his farming property
of one hundred and fifty acres, from which he derives a good annual rental.
Mr. Young was born in Townsend township, November 24. 1840. a son of
MahlOfl and Orrilla (Young) Young. The father's people removed from the
far east by teams to Ohio in 1812. making a location in Richland county, this
state. At that time few families had settled in the county, much of the land in
Richland county being still in possession of the Indians, while wild game was
also abundant. The mother's people came to the Buckeye state from Vermont.
Upon reaching the district on which Monroeville now stands, they sought a place
to stay for the night at a cabin by the side of the old Indian trail, for as yet no
roads had been laid out. The family from whom they sought shelter proved to
be relatives of Mahlon Young, who. though of the same name, were not related
to the parents of Orrilla Young. The family arrived about the year 1830. and
being pleased with Huron county, the father here purchased a farm, and in the
following spring made a trip to Indiana and purchased six hundred and forty
acres there, but never removed to that state, Monroeville proving more attrac-
tive to him as a place of residence. The children of the two Young families
grew up together in that pioneer district and in due time Mahlon Young and
Orrilla Young were united in marriage. They established their home on a farm
near Monroeville. where they lived two or three years, and in the spring of 1840.
Mahlon Young purchased a farm in Townsend township, on which he took up
his abode. He was a cooper by trade and in connection with his farming inter-
ests also followed his trade. His farm, consisting of one hundred acres, was to
be paid for in barrels, a certain number to be made each year until the debt of
the farm was liquidated. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Mahlon Young were born seven
children, Sylvia. Noah, John. Martha. Mary, Mahlon and Orrilla. Of these all
are living with the exception of John. He served in the Civil war as a member
of Company F, Third Ohio Cavalry, enlisting for three years. During his ser-
vice he was drowned at Macon, Georgia, while bathing. Roth the parents are
now deceased, the mother surviving the father's death about five years. Both
lie buried in the cemetery at Collins.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF Iil'ROX COUNTY
335
Noah Young was reared on the home farm, assisting his father with the work
of the fields during the period of his boyhood and youth. In the winter seasons
he pursued his education in the district schools. When he had reached the age
of eighteen years, ambitious to start out in life for himself, he left home and
secured employment from William Manahan at farm labor, remaining with him
two years. He agreed to pay his father one hundred dollars for his time until
he attained his majority but the father released him at the end of that time by
the payment of eighty dollars. While employed by Mr. Manahan, Mr. Young
attended sch<x>l for about ten weeks each winter, thus completing his studies. It
was about this time that the father removed to Collins and Noah Young and his
brother John rented the home farm, their sister Sylvia acting as their house-
keeper. After about a year the brother joined the army and thus the entire man-
agement of the farm devolved upon Mr. Y'oung of this review.
Mr. Young further established a home of his own by his marriage on the 24th
of Xovemlwr, 1864, to Miss Emma Jarrctt. a daughter of Elias and Sarah (Siph-
let) Jarrctt, a prominent pioneer family of Huron county. Following his mar-
riage Mr. Young continued to operate the home farm until 1865, and then oper-
ated rented land for three years. In the meantime, however, he purchased a
farm in Townsend township and eventually took up his alxxle thereon, where
he remained five years. He then disposed of that tract and bought one hun-
dred and fifty acres, a mile and a half from Collins, in Townsend township
He was engaged in the cultivation and improvement of this farm throughout a
long period and in the years that have come and gone not only made it a valu-
able property but also annually gathered good crops, thus greatly enhancing his
financial condition. In 1905 he abandoned all business pursuits and removed to
Collins, where he occupies a nice modern home but he still retains possession of
his farm and derives a good rental therefrom. While on the farm Mr. Young
also engaged in raising chickens on quite an extensive scale, being ably assisted
in this enterprise by his wife.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Y'oung were born four children : Sarah, the wife of Lewis
Krcpps, a resident of Townsend township; Rosa, the wife of Joseph Bate, of
Fremont ; George, who is married and resides in Fremont ; and Arthur, who is
also married and makes his home in Colorado. After a happy married life of
forty-two years Mr. and Mrs. Young were separated by the death of the wife,
which occurred October 19, 1906. Mrs. Young was a most estimable woman,
active in every good work and beloved by all who knew her. She was a true
friend, a faithful wife and devoted mother, and all who knew her are full of her
praises and all mourn the loss of a good woman. Her remains were interred in
the cemetery at Collins. Mr. Young was again married, April 15, 1908. his
second union being with Mrs. Minnie Humphrey, the widow of Jefferson
Humphrey, and a daughter of Henry and Eliza (Green) Alder, formerly of
Cleveland but later residents of Elkhart, Indiana. Both parents are now de-
ceased. By her former marriage Mrs. Young had two children: Ruth, now the
wife of Robert A. Wise of Cleveland; and Katharine, the wife of A. B. Shellen-
trager, also of Cleveland. Mrs. Y'oung is an estimable woman and presides with
gracious hospitality over her home, which is noted for its culture and refinemnt.
Digitized by Google
336
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
A republican in his political views, Mr. Young has ever taken a deep interest
in all public matters. For six years he served as township trustee, while for
many years he acted as road supervisor and as a member of the school board.
He is a member of Townscnd Grange and is a charter member of the Patrons
of Husbandry. He is most public spirited, every movement calculated to benefit
his home locality, receiving his hearty endorsement. Starting out as he did
when but a youth, he has gradually worked his way upward until today, he stands
among the substantial citizens of Huron county, respected and esteemed by all
who know him.
WILLIAM A. CAN FIELD.
The history of Huron county could not be written without mention of the
honored name of Canfield, for the lives of the members of that pioneer family are
indissolubly connected with her early development and progress. Augustine Can-
field, grandfather of the gentleman whose name heads this review, was one of the
sturdy New Knglanders, who braved the hardships and uncertainties of pioneer
life in the early years of the Nineteenth century to found a home for themselves and
their progeny. With his family he left his Connecticut home, and in May, 1817,
arrived in the almost trackless forest of Huron county. He soon located, choosing
the spot in Wakeman township where W illiam now resides. His was the first
white family to settle in the township and the farm was virgin forest, not a clear-
ing in the township. The usual log cabin was erected, bark roof and floor, with a
greased cloth in the window for light, and the battle against the elements was
begun. Theirs was the "simple life" indeed, but they were happy in it, even with
the lack of the comforts and conveniences of civilization. As time passed these
were added and were the more appreciated, because of their scarcity. The grand-
parents lived out their time and laid down their burden, having been factors in the
establishment of correct principles and a healthy moral status.
Calvert C. Canfield, the father of our subject, was a part ot all this, being
active in the county's affairs. He served two terms as county commissioner and
held various offices of trust, all with efficiency. He is remembered as a man of
strung character, virile and vigorous, and of uncompromising principle. He
won success abundantly, becoming a large landowner with some five hundred
acres. He reared a family of six children: Sarah F.. Alban J., William A., Fran-
cis A., Darwin and George F. Of these Alban J. and Darwin are deceased. On
April 27, 1895. the father passed peacefully away, aged eighty-six years, his wife
having laid down the burden of life May 14. 1882. She bore the maiden name of
Mary E. Han ford and was also a member of an honored pioneer family.
Noting the more salient points in the career of the second son, William A. Can-
field, his birth occurred at the old homestead. May 17, 1841. With a public-school
education and the practical training of a well conducted farm, he began life, teach-
ing school successfully for some ten years in the winter and tilling a farm near
where he now lives, in the summer, this place having since been added to his hold-
ings. Heeding the call of his country on May 2. 1864, he enlisted as a private
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
339
soldier in Company H, One Hundred and Sixth-sixth Regiment, O. Y. I., serving
in the Army of the Potomac one hundred days. He then returned and resumed
his former life until 1874, when he went to Sandusky and entered the employ of
the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad, as a cashier. He remained with
this company for seven years, doing efficient service, and then became station
agent of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, at the same place. In May, 1899, he
reirvovcd to Cleveland, where he acted as shipping agent for several large coal
companies, handling their lake shipping business. But the farmer boy never
gets so high up in business or so far away from the farm that he can completely
stifle the desire to return. The family came back to the old liomestead in 1890,
and in 1892. Mr. Canfield, himself retired from business and has since tilled the
soil of his fathers. He has added to the original tract until his holdings aggre-
gate five hundred and forty-seven acres. The different farms are thoroughly
appointed, well tiled, and with ample equipment in buildings for the successful
prosecution of a trcneral farming busine>s, to which Mr. Canfield now gives
his entire time. His home is on the same site where, in 1828. his grandfather
erected his house, which was the first frame house in Wakeman township.
Mr. Canfield's political allegiance lies with the republican party, his religious
life being passed in the Congregational church, the whole family being active
workers, and prominent in all its interests.
On the 24th of August, 1863, William A. Canfield married Jane A. Whitney,
a daughter of Abel and Jane Levira (Beecher) Whitney, the family coming to
Huron county from the Nutmeg state, in 1849. Their children were: Eunice O.,
Ruggles N.. Hannah K.. Charles P., Frederick A., Theodora R. and Jane A. Han-
nah, Frederick and Mrs. Canfield are the living members, the father dying Aug-
ust 8. 1887, and the mother February 28. 1889. The children of Mr. and Mrs.
Canfield are : Calvert C, who is married and lives in Cleveland. Ohio, where he
is engaged in the shipping business; and Mary Levira, who was graduated at
Oberlin college and is now a successful teacher. The family are widely and favor-
ably known and their home is a hospitable one. its appointments being such as to
attract strangers and friends alike.
WILLIAM H. HOULE.
William H. Houlc, who is successfully engaged in farming in Lyme town-
ship, who is operating one hundred and eighty acres of land in Huron county,
which is owned by his wife and her sister, and sixty-three acres that lie in Erie
county, was born in this county May II, 1854. His parents. William H. and
Lucy (Gordon) Houle, were natives of Devonshire. England, where they were
reared, became acquainted and were married, but almost immediately after the
wedding ceremony they embarked on the journey to America. Seven weeks and
two days was the length of time it took them to cross the ocean, and their de-
parture to this country was a much more serious undertaking than it is regarded
today. Upon their arrival in the United States. Mr. and Mrs. Houle settled in
Lyme township, Huron county. Ohio, in 1853, where for several years the father
340
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
was employed at various pursuits. Then he bought one acre of land near the
church and rented other property, which he cultivated with so great profit to
himself that in 1872 he was able to purchase the old homestead in Erie and
Huron counties. On this the seven children, with which the couple were blessed,
were reared and here the parents died, the father on January 2, 1892, and the
mother in February, 1897.
William H. Houle was the eldest of this family of seven children : John G.,
the brother next younger, lives upon the old homestead ; Jennie died in her youth .
Lucy has also passed away ; Frank G. is a teacher in the schools at Martin's
Ferry; Ida Mary is deceased; and Fred lives on the old homestead. William
H. Houle has always lived in this county. He received his early preparation
for life under the parental roof and in district schools here and in the schools
of Rellcvue. As might be surmised his early years were closely identified with
farming interests, but in 1881 he entered for a time the business world. In
that year he went to North Dakota, where he remained for about fifteen months,
selling farm implements. Upon returning to this section of the country he still
continued in this line of work and had more than a fair degree of success in
sales in this vicinity. When opportunity offered, however, he severed his con-
nection with the business and has since devoted all his attention and time to the
cultivating of the farm.
On the 1 st of January, 1884. Mr. Houle was married to Miss Jennie A. Col-
lins, a daughter of J. D. and Mary (Webster) Collins, who are old settlers in
this vicinity and are well and favorably known. Mr. and Mrs. Houle have one
son, Albert C, who was born August 21, 1887. At present he is attending col-
lege at Ann Arbor, for he has shown more than the usual predilection for study.
Before he entered the university he attended the schools here and was graduated
from the high school at Bellevue, and during several summers attended the classes
at Wooster, where Mr. Houle's brother was a teacher.
The hard, persistent work which Mr. Houle has put into the farm has resulted
in the compensation which the years have brought him. He possesses those
traits of character most needed by him who seeks his livelihood from the soil
and has won a well deserved success. He has not given much time to local af-
fairs, aside from casting his influence on the side of right and order, but has
evinced considerable interest in the welfare of the Congregational churcn. which
his fellow members have appreciated in electing him a trustee of the body.
JAY C. PARK.
Jay C. Park is the owner of three hundred, sixty-two and a quarter acres of
valuable land in Huron county and is numbered among the leading agriculturists
of his part of the state. He was born in Huron county, November 16, 1869.
His father, Joseph Park, was born in Ireland, March 17, 1828, and came to
America with his parents when a boy of eighteen. He located in Huron county
with his father, Joseph Park, Sr. Joseph Park, Jr., worked on the farm for a
few years and about 1847 he drove a transportation wagon through to California
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
341
and after a few years he commenced mining. In that work he met with suc-
cess and returned to Ohio with sufficient means to buy the old homestead which
his son, Jay C, now owns. He was then identified with agricultural interests
throughout his remaining days. He was active in public affairs and for several
years served as assessor. His political allegiance was given to the republican
party and he held membership in the Presbyterian church.
Jay C. Park acquired his education in the district schools and the Norwalk
high school, which he attended for three and one-half years. He has always been
a farmer, early becoming familiar with the duties and labors of the field as he
assisted his father through the period of his boyhood and youth. At the age of
eighteen he took charge of his father's farm and continued as the manager until
1904, when his father died and Jay C. Park removed to his own farm of one
hundred acres. He also inherited the old homestead of one hundred and eleven
acres, which he still owns. He intends always to keep it and maintain it in honor
and memory of his good and kind parents. In 1908 Mr. Park purchased eighty-
five acres of land so that his title holdings are now three hundred, sixty-two and
a quarter acres. This constitutes some of the valuable farming property of the
county and in its management and control Mr. Park displays excellent business
ability and unfaltering diligence.
On the 28th of October, 1896, Mr. Park was united in marriage to Miss Dora
E. Mead, who was born December 28, 1875. They are now parents of one son,
Frank Mead Park, born September 11, 1899. Mrs. Park is a daughter of F.
M. Mead, of Huron county.
In his political views Mr. Park is an earnest republican and keeps well in-
formed on the questions and issues of the day. His religious faith is indicated
in his membership in the Presbyterian church and also in his life, which is in
strict conformity with his principles.
GEORGE FRANCIS TITUS.
George Francis Titus, office manager for the F. B. Case Tobacco Company of
Norwalk, in which responsible position he has figured for many years, was born
in Erie county, New York, on the 17th of August, 1853, and represents an old
New England family. His father, George A. Titus, was a native of Dedham,
Massachusetts, where he resided until after his marriage, the lady of his choice
being Miss Sarah Briggs, a native of Erie county. New York. Subsequently he
removed to that county but after a brief period came to Norwalk, Ohio, where
he located in 1854. Here he secured employment in the shops of the Cleveland
& Toledo Railroad Company. He commenced as a car builder and was advanced
until he became foreman of the car shops, so continuing until the plant was re-
moved from Norwalk. He was well known as a prominent and worthy repre-
sentative of the industrial interests of the city and his business enterprise and
integrity won him the high respect and confidence of those with whom he came
in contact. He died in Norwalk in 1905 at the age of seventy-seven years, hav-
ing long survived his wife, who passed away in 1856. There were three chil-
342
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
dren in their family: Willis A., who is now a resident of Cleveland; Nellie, now
Mrs. Burkhardt. of Massillon, Ohio; and George F.
The last named was only about a year old when the parents removed from
the Empire state to this city and at the usual age he entered the public schools
where he continued his studies until he was graduated from the grammar de-
partment. He then put aside his text-books and for two years was employed
in a grocery store, at the end of which time he resumed his studies, entering
Oberlin College, where he remained for a considerable period. When the F. B.
Case Tobacco Company was formed he secured a position in the office and ha*
been with the company continuously since, acting for a long period as office man-
ager. He neglects none of the duties or responsibilities which devolve upon
him in this connection and has the entire confidence of the company which he
has thus represented for a long period. While in the employ of the Case Com-
pany, Mr. Titus devoted his leisure hours to the study of law and in 1881 was
admitted to the bar. He has since been a representative of the profession in
Norwalk, although his attention is chiefly given to his office management.
In 1876, Mr. Titus was united in marriage to Miss Mary M. Cook, a native
of Indiana and a daughter of Jackson Cook, of Huntingdon, that state. Three
daughters have been born of this union: Clara, now the wife of A. J. Trumble,
a resident of Cleveland: Lura M., the wife of W. A. Fisher, living in Norwalk;
and Gertrude E.. now the wife of C. G. Pheil, of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Mr.
Titus has always taken an active part in politics and public affairs. He gives
stalwart allegiance to the democratic party, has served as a member of the board
of education and on the water works board and in 1907 was elected vice-mayor.
His fidelity and capability in the discharge of his official duties are salient factors
in his life. At all times he has been a man loyal to every trust reused in him,
whether of a public or private nature, and his worth as an individual and a cri-
men have won for him a firm hold on the regard of his fellow townsmen.
MANDERYILLE V. ARMSTRONG.
Manderville V. Armstrong, now living retired in a pleasant home in the sub-
urbs of the village of Wakeman, was born in Otsego county, New York, on the
28th of August, 1837, his parents being William and Eunice (Gibson) Arm-
strong. The father, who was a stonemason and plasterer by trade, assisted in
the construction of the Erie canal and the entire canal system of the state of New
York. In 1852 he brought his wife and children to Ohio, the family home being
established in Sullivan township. Ashland county. He continued to work at hi*
trade after becoming a resident of this state and in 1861 came to Wakeman town-
ship, Huron county, where he successfully followed the stonemason's trade until
enfeebled health necessitated his retirement from active labor. He was widely
recognized as a man of many sterling traits of character and unfaltering integ
rity and his death, which occurred on the 24th of June. 1894, was the occasion
of deep regret among his many friends. He lived to attain the venerable age
of ninety-eight years and the record of his honorable and useful career is st!1 T
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
343
-cherished by all who knew him. His remains were interred in the cemetery at
Wakeman, as were also those of his wife, whose demise occurred March 3, 1884.
when she was eighty-four years of age. Unto this worthy couple were born
eleven children, namely : Daniel. Harriet, Andrew, Elizabeth and William, all of
whom are deceased; Manderville V., of this review; Ann; Henry, who died in
infancy; Emmer; Ellen; and Polly J.
Manderville V. Armstrong obtained his education in the public schools of
his native county and in early manhood learned the stonemason's trade, working
at that occupation in association with his father for twenty-five years, through-
out the counties of Huron. Lorain. Erie, Medina, Ashland and others. Subse-
quent to his marriage he took up his abode in Wakeman and has here since con-
tinued to make his home. He worked at his trade for a number of years and also
engaged in farming to some extent, while during the early period in Wakeman's
history he conducted a dray line for eight years. In 1890 he was appointed
superintendent of the Wakeman cemetery and continued in that capacity until
the spring of 1909, when he resigned because of advanced age. He possesses
considerable skill as a landscape gardener and met with great success in the care
of the shrubs and flowers under his supervision, the Wakeman cemetery being
recognized as one of the most beautiful "cities of the dead" in the entire state.
The prosperity which has attended him in his various undertakings is but the
merited reward of his well directed and untiring labor and enterprise and he has
long been numbered among the most substantial, respected and progressive citi-
zens of the county.
On the 30th of June, 1870, Mr. Armstrong was united in marriage to Miss
Ruth Kingsbury, a daughter of Lemuel and Jerusha M. (Durbin) Kingsbury,
who were natives of New York. The paternal grandparents of Mrs. Armstrong
were born in Otis, Massachusetts, and took up their abode in the state of New
York in the early years of the eighteenth century. Lemuel H. Kingsbury, the
grandfather, served as a soldier in the Revolutionary war and lies buried in
the Wakeman cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. Kingsbury, the parents of Mrs. Arm-
strong, were married on the 20th of February. 1844, and came to Ohio in 1845.
The father, a shoemaker by trade, was well known and highly esteemed for his
many excellent traits of character and genuine personal worth. His family num-
bered ten children, five sons and five daughters, as follows: Mary A., James M.,
Daniel D., Martha A., Sarah A., Ruth E., Lemuel M., John A., Jane A., and
Romaine J. Of these, James M., Romaine J. and Daniel B. served as loyal de-
fenders of the Union during the Civil war. the two first named laying down their
lives on the altar of their country. Daniel B., however, returned safely to his
family. The Kingsburys were farming people, whose time and energies were
largely given to the cultivation of the soil. Lemuel Kingsbury, the father of
Mrs. Armstrong, was called to his final rest on the 7th of September, 1879, while
his wife passed away on the 28th of April, 1881. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Armstrong
have been born two daughters: Clara M.. who is now the wife of George Coon,
of Wakeman; and Ella J., at home.
In his political views Mr. Armstrong is a stanch republican, has always been
an active worker in the local ranks of the party and has frequently served as
a delegate to county, district and state conventions. In the position of road
Digitized by Google
344
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
supervisor of Wakeman township, which office he held for six years, he won a
reputation for efficiency and fidelity that could hardly be surpassed. "What-
ever is worth doing at all is worth doing well" has ever been his motto and this
constitutes the secret of his success. He is an enthusiastic advocate of all public
improvements that tend to promote the general welfare and his influence is ever
given on the side of right, truth, justice and progress. For more than fifty years
he has been identified with the Disciples church, of which the other members of
his family are also valued members. For the past several years Mr. and Mrs.
Armstrong and their daughter. Ella J., have spent the winter season in Florida
but during the rest of the year reside near the village of Wakeman. owning an
attractive and commodious home, which is justly noted for its gracious and warm-
hearted hospitality. A well spent life, characterized by all that is honorable in
business and straightforward in his relations with his fellowmen, has brought
Mr. Armstrong the uniform respect of all with whom he has come in contact
and it is with pleasure that we present the record of his career to our readers.
IRA M. GILLETT.
The name of Gillett is an old and prominent one in Huron county, for repre-
sentatives of the family have been associated with its agricultural development
since 1839, and Ira M. Gillett of this review was one whose labors were directed
in this line as well as that of carpentering. His death occurred February 1,
1908, and thus the county lost one of its most valued and substantial citizens.
Mr. Gillett was born in Spafford, Onondaga county, New York, June 18, 1826, a
sen of Mr. and Mrs. Ambrose Gillett, who, on removing westward from the
Empire state, located on a farm in Huron county.
Ira M. Gillett was a lad of thirteen years when he accompanied his parents
on their removal to Huron county, and as they took up their abode upon a farm,
the son was reared to agricultural pursuits, assisting his father in the develop-
ment and improvement of the home place. He was a young man of twenty-six
years, when in 1852, he purchased fifty-three acres of land in Norwalk township
and thus started out upon an independent business venture. The land when it
came into his possession was a wilderness, but with characteristic energy and
high ambitions, Mr. Gillett at once undertook to clear the land and in due time
had it under a good state of cultivation As the years passed, he continued to
add improvements to his place and eventually made it a valuable property, on
which he spent his remaining days and which at his death was left in possession
of his widow. Mr. Gillett was a carpenter by trade and in addition to his farm-
ing operations also worked at that occupation, thus acquiring a good living for
himself and family.
Mr. Gillett chose as a companion and helpmate for the journey of life, Miss
Caroline M. Clawson, who was born in North Hector, New York, February 26.
1836, their marriage being celebrated on the 21st of December, 1854. She is a
daughter of John G. and Clarissa Clawson. The former was a carpenter by trade
and coming to Huron county in 1835, here worked at his trade for a time. A few
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
347
months after his arrival, he was followed by his wife and infant daughter, who
was then six months old. She was but three years of age when the family took
up their abode in Milan, and three years later they removed to the Lockwood
road, where Mr. Clawson purchased a sixty-acre tract of wilderness. He cleared
his land, erected his own dwelling and in time made the place a valuable one.
In addition to tilling his fields, in which he was assisted by his sons, he also en-
gaged in shipbuilding and cabinet making, constructing fine coffins, etc. He
assisted in building the first gristmill in Clarksfield, this county, and in many
ways was a progressive and influential citizen of this community. In 1865, he
purchased a farm in Bronson township and removing to that place, there spent
his remaining days. He was a republican in his political views and a Baptist
in religious faith. Mr. and Mrs. Clawson reared a family of nine children and
all lived to be more than fifty years of age. The father departed this life Feb-
ruary 14, 1871, and the mother, surviving for many years, passed away Novem-
ber 14, 1894. Thus Huron county lost two of its prominent pioneer residents.
Mr. and Mrs. Gillett celebrated their golden wedding December 21, 1904.
They were the parents of four children, three daughters and one son, namely:
Charity I., who was born June 7, 1857, and is still with her mother on the old
home farm; Mrs. Clara M. Miller, who was born July 13, 1863; Mrs. Matilda R.
Taylor, whose birth occurred June 3. 1866; and Mortimer S., twin brother of
Matilda, who wedded Miss Elizabeth W. Thomasson.
Mr. Gillett gave his political support to the men and measures of democracy,
while his religious faith was indicated by his membership in the Episcopal church.
He possessed a remarkably retentive memory and was ever a deep student of
history. He was one of the directors of the Firelands Historical Society for
many years and wrote many articles of historic interest, which were published in
the new series of the Firelands Historical Pioneer Life, which are mentioned in
the historical portion of this work. He took a prominent part in all matters per-
taining to the progress and upbuilding of Huron county and always stood ready
and willing to aid and co-operate in any movement that might prove beneficial to
the public. Honest and upright in every relation of life, Huron county was for-
tunate in numbering him among her citizens.
HARLEY F. FLETCHER.
Harley F. Fletcher is an enterprising, progressive and prosperous farmer and
stock-raiser of Clarksfield township, owning and operating more than two hun-
dred acres of rich and valuable land, from which he derives a good annual re-
turn. He was born on the 18th of August, 1859, in the same house in which he
now resides, his parents being William and Maria (Vrowman) Fletcher, both
of whom were natives of the state of New York. They made their way to this
county at an early period in its development, the father purchasing the farm on
which his son, Harley F., now resides when it was still entirely covered with
timber. With charactertistic energy, however, he set to work to clear away the
trees and soon had the land ready for cultivation. Owing to his well directed
Digitized by Google
348
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
and untiring industry, he prospered in his farming operations as the years went
by and became widely recognized as a substantial and respected citizen of the
community. His political allegiance was given to the republican party and he
was most progressive and loyal in citizenship. He was an exemplary member
of the Baptist church, in the faith of which he passed away on the 28th of May,
1879, his remains being interred in the Clarksfield cemetery. His wife, whose
demise occurred when her son, Harley F., was but thirteen years of age, also
lies buried in that cemetery. Unto this worthy couple were born seven children,
namely: William H. ; George; Charles, who is deceased; Andrew J.; Mary J.
and Daniel W., who have also passed away; and Harley F., of this review.
The last named was reared on the old home farm and attended the district
schools of his native township in the acquirement of an education. On putting
aside his text-books he began working as a farm hand by the month and was
thus busily engaged until the time of his marriage. He then took up his abode
on the old family homestead in Clarksfield township and has here since continued
to reside, devoting his time and energies to general agricultural pursuits with
gratifying success. He started out on his own account with a tract of twenty
acres but, as he prospered in his undertakings, gradually added to his landed
holdings until he now owns over two hundred acres of rich and fertile soil. In
addition to the cultivation of the fields he also raises stock to some extent and, as
the result of his unremitting industry and capable management, has gained a
place among the representative and enterprising agriculturists of his native
county.
On the 21 st of December, 1879. Mr. Fletcher was united in marriage to Miss
Flla Vosburgh, a daughter of John and Jane ( Johnston) Vosburgh, of Camden,
Lorain county. Their union was blessed with one son, Earl F., who is now mar-
ried and lives on a farm adjoining that of his parents.
Politically Mr. Fletcher is an ardent republican and is always deeply inter-
ested in matters pertaining to the general welfare. At the present time he is
serving in the position of township trustee, while for several years he has been
a member of the township board of education. He and his family are devoted
and consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church and exemplify its
teachings in their daily lives. They are widely and favorably known in the com-
munity and enjoy the warm regard and esteem of all with whom they have come
in contact.
GEORGE WASHINGTON RUNYAN.
When taking into consideration his years of continuous connection with
journalistic interests, George W ashington Runyan is one of the oldest newspaper
men in northern Ohio, having since 187 1 been the publisher of the New London
Record. His birth occurred in New London, Huron county, Ohio, on the 14th
of May, 1851. his parents being Nathaniel and Phebe (Cookingham) Runyan.
both of whom were natives of the state of New York. They were numbered
among the early pioneer settlers of this state, taking up their abode here in 1837.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
:U9
The father, who was a shoemaker hy trade, followed that occupation in early
manhood but subsequently conducted a general mercantile establishment in New
London. He passed away in 1882, having long survived his wife, who was called
to her final rest in 1856. They had four sons who served in the Civil war, two
of them being members of the Twenty-third Ohio Regiment, known as Mc-
Kinley's Regiment. At that time William McKinley was a private in the reg-
iment, while Rutherford B. Hayes served as colonel.
George W. Runyan obtained his education in the public schools of his native
town, literature, geography and grammar being his favorite studies. At the age
of seventeen years he put aside his text-books and entered the village printing
office in the capacity of printer's devil or office boy. After repeated failures on
the part of persons who attempted to make a newspaper a success, he obtained
possession of the office in 1871, when but twenty years of age. Six months after-
ward the establishment was destroyed by fire. Nothing daunted, however, Mr.
Runyan started out anew, contracting a debt of several hundred dollars in order
to do so. By close application and unfaltering perserverance he finally piloted
the enterprise to a self-supporting basis and now ranks among the oldest pub-
lishers in northern Ohio, having edited the New London Record for the past
thirty-eight years. The Record is the first and only newspaper in New London
and its publisher is widely recognized as a prominent and progressive representa-
tive of journalistic interests in Huron county.
On the 25th of June, 1872, Mr. Runyan was united in marriage to Miss
Caroline Elizabeth Messenger, who as compositor in the office of the New Lon-
don Record aided in permanently establishing the enterprise. They have two
children : Marie Messenger, born October 6, 1891 ; and Lena May, whose birth
occurred May 17, 1896.
Where national questions and issues are involved Mr. Runyan gives his po-
litical allegiance to the republican party but at local elections casts an inde-
pendent ballot, supporting the candidate whom he regards as best qualified for
office. He has served as a member of the board of education in New London
for nineteen years. Fraternally he is identified with New London Lodge, No.
615, I. O. O. F.. of which he is a past grand. His life in all of its phases has
been thoroughly honorable and he is an advocate of temperance, never using
intoxicants or tobacco. A resident of the county throughout his entire life, he
has a very wide acquaintance here and many good qualities have gained for him
the regard and esteem of all with whom he has been associated.
JOSEPH A. DENMAN.
Joseph A. Denman, a successful and enterprising agriculturist of Wakeman
township, was born in that township on the 14th of May, 1853, and is the eldest
child of Edward and Jane (Archer) Denman, a sketch of whom appears on an-
other page of this volume. J. A. Denman was reared under the parental roof
and obtained his education in the common schools of his native township. Sub-
sequent to his marriage he settled on a farm on the outskirts of the village of
Digitized by Google
350
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Wakeman, and has here since continued to make his home, devoting his time and
energies to the pursuit of farming and to the buying and shipping of stock and
fruit. Energetic, industrious and progressive, he has met with a commendable
measure of prosperity in his undertakings and is numbered among the substan-
tial and representative citizens of the community.
On the 1 2th of October. 1871, occurred the marriage of Mr. Denman and
Miss Frances L. Fierce, a daughter of Lemuel I?, and Eunice (Burr) Pierce.
Unto them were born four sons, namely Ferry P., a resident of Coffeyville.
Kansas; Ralph R. and Tracy A., living in Columbus, Ohio; and Loyd B.. who is
at home. The wife and mother passed away in January, 1903. her demise being
the occasion of deep and widespread regret.
In his political views Mr. Denman is a stalwart republican, while his religious
faith is indicated by his membership in the Congregational church, with which
the other members of his family are also identified. Having spent his entire life
in this county, he has an extensive circle of friends within its borders and is
well worthy the regard and esteem which are uniformly accorded him.
ARTHUR B. VI ALL.
Arthur B. Viall, who is conducting a wall paper business on Main street,
Bellevue, Ohio, was one of the first men to engage in mercantile affairs in that
city. He was born October 29. 1843, in Akron, Ohio, the son of Bennett and
Sarah (Anderson) Viall. The former also claimed Akron as his birth place,
his birth occurring in 1821. In the prime of his early manhood, at the age of
twenty-three, he was taken from those who loved him. leaving a wife and a
baby son, Arthur. His widow who was one year the junior, survived him for
over twenty years, and for her second husband she married George Barber. Of
this union there were two children : Charles and Luella.
Arthur B. Viall passed the years of his childhood and youth in Summit county,
Ohio. They were quiet enough years, with little but happy memories to recount,
but they engendered an eagerness to be out in the world where one might
make a name and a fair fortune for himself. He was but eighteen years of age
when he formed the determination to be up and doing for himself, and came
to Bellevue to obtain his first business experience. His initial position was as a
clerk in the employ of C. A. Willard and Company, who conducted an enter-
prising dry-goods store here. A few months before he attained his majority,
on the 1st of May, 1864, Mr. Viall responded to the call for aid in the defense
of his country and enlisted in Company I, One Hundred and Sixty-ninth Ohio
Volunteer Infantry. He was stationed at Arlington Heights. Virginia, but had
no further opportunity to prove his valor, for in the following fall was mustered
out at Cleveland, Ohio. The will to fight for the Union in his case had to be
taken in place of many wounds and sufferings, which the hand that guided his
destiny spared him, though it deprived him of the honor of being enrolled among
those who sacrificed themselves for the good of the cause. On returning from
the war he engaged in the dry-goods business, which he followed for some
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
351
twelve years or more, winning from it a deserved success. About five years ago
he opened his wall paper establishment in this town and has since then been
doing a creditable business.
On the 3d of May, 1868, Mr. Viall was united in marriage to Miss Clara
E. Miller, the daughter of Samuel Miller, an old settler of Huron county. Five
children have been born to bless this union. Bennett, the eldest, married Miss
Gertrude Hoyt and is at present living in Bellevue, the father of five children:
Esther, Arthur, Robert, Dorothy and Gertrude. Gertrude, the eldest daughter
of Mr. and Mrs. Viall, died in her tenth year. Elizabeth, the next in the family,
married Harry DeW'itt and makes her home in Bellevue. Ruth married Milton
Squares of Bellevue and they have two daughters, Ruth and Dorothy. The fifth
child in the Viall home died in infancy.
Mr. Viall is a member of the Congregational church of Bellevue and makes
of his religion a matter of daily practice. He is a man who has been found most
honorable in his dealings with those persons who have made a demand upon his
services, and enjoys the good will of the community. The people gave some in-
dication of their confidence in his judgment and abilities when six years ago
they elected him a member of the school board, which position he has filled to the
entire satisfaction of his constituents. Of the local Grand Army post he is past
commander and has been for years the adjutant of the post.
PETER LORETZ.
Prominent in the ranks of the worthy agricultural class of Huron county is
Peter Loretz of Wakcman township, who lives on a splendidly appointed farm
of two hundred and four acres, well tilled and under a high state of cultivation.
He gives attention chiefly to general farming, but like most successful farmers
has a specialty. In his case it is the Jersey cow, his herd being noted as one of
the finest in the county.
Peter Loretz comes naturally by his love for pasture land, his parents having
come from Switzerland. Jerome and Barbara (Ycrger) Loretz were married
in the little mountain republic and shortly afterward set out for the great repub-
lic across the sea, in 1854. They came direct to Huron county, Ohio, where Mr.
Loretz found lucrative employment in a sawmill. Later the family removed to
Norwalk, where they have since resided, respected and esteemed citizens.
Peter Loretz was born in Peru, Huron county, May 25, 1855, and was reared
in Norwalk, receiving a good public-school education before beginning the battle
of life. At nineteen years he began at the very bottom of the ladder as a section
hand on the I-ake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway. Faithful and industrious
here, he advanced by rounds to freight and passenger conductor, remaining in the
latter position some fifteen years, to the time of his final retirement from rail-
roading in 1899. The railroad company found in Mr. Loretz a careful and
painstaking employe, who looked after the interests of a corporation with the
same fidelity as he looked after his own. In 1884 he purchased the farm where
he now resides and conducts it in company with his son Reuben. He puts into
352
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
the cultivation of this farm the same intelligent comprehension of affairs agri-
cultural which marked his railroad experience. There is "a place for everything,"
and the movements on the farm go on with the regularity attending the "block"
system on the railroad.
The family life of Mr. Loretz began with his marriage to Miss Louisa
George, of Huron county, June 13, 1878. Mrs. Loretz was a daughter of Peter
and Mary (Lawrence) George, farmers who lived near Peru. To this union have
been born five children : Cecelia, Reuben, Leonora, Gertrude and Eloise.
A democrat in political faith and a Catholic, the interests of these two worthy-
organizations employ the mind of Mr. Loretz for the most part while away from
the farm. He takes quite an active interest in the councils of his party, being at
present the Wakeman member of the democratic county central committee. His
face is a familiar one at the different county and state conventions, where his
advice is of weight in the formation of party policies. In church affairs he is a
leader and he supports his faith liberally, being charitable to a degree. All
movements looking to the public weal find a friend in Mr. Loretz, and he is
universally esteemed.
DAVID C. SMITH.
David C. Smith, who well deserves the proud American title of self-made man,
was born in London, England, December 26, 1856, and is a son of Jonathan C. and
Hannah (Pedley) Smith. The father, who was a stonemason by occupation,
came to America in the late '50s, locating in Bcllevue, Ohio, where he continued to
follow his trade until his death, which occurred July 6, 1882. His wife passed
away March 17, 1907.
Coming to America when but two and one-half years of age, David C. Smith
therefore acquired his education in this country, becoming a pupil of the schools
at Norwalk and Milan. Remaining under the parental roof for a time after set-
ting aside his text-books, he assisted his father in the cultivation of his fields until
1877, when he engaged in business on his own account as a renter, at first operat-
ing a farm of one hundred and sixty acres. He was thus engaged for six years, at
the end of which time he removed to his present place, which he rented for a time,
and in 1895 purchased sixty-six acres. He engages in general farming, in which
connection he also operates a dairy, owning about twelve cows. For sixteen
years he had a milk route in Milan but later sold the route although he continues to
furnish the milk. He makes a specialty of raising sheep, having on hand a fine
flock of the Delaine brand, which average over eleven and a half pounds of wool
per head. He conducts his various enterprises on a strictly business basis and
his keen sagacity and sound judgment are the salient elements in the gratifying
degree of prosperity which he now enjoys. His farm, which is free from all en-
cumbrances, is surely proving a most satisfactory investment.
On the 9th of March, 1890, Mr. Smith was united in marriage to Miss Emma
D. Brown, who was born in Monroeville. Ohio, on the 20th of April, 1868. She is
the daughter of Charles and Phoebe Brown, and the father now makes his home
Digitized by Google
I
D. C. SMITH
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
355
with her, while the mother passed away May 10, 1878. She is a graduate of the
schools oi Monroeville, and is a very estimable lady, being- of no little assistance
to her husband in the conduct of his business affairs. Mr. and Mr.-. Smith have
become the parents of four children, namely: Ethel L., born May 22, 1891, who at-
tended school for three years at Norwalk and later graduated fruin the school at
Milan; Florence K., born Septeml>er 18. 1893. who is now a pupil in school at
Milan; Don C, born November 10, i8«>>; and Glenn R., tx>rn June 6, 1902.
Mr. Smith i- a thorough believer in education and is doing all in his power to
give his children the advantages of thorough training. He hold , membership in
the Presbyterian church and is a man of honorable, upright life, temperate in all
his habits and true to the ideals of noble manhood. In politics he votes with the re-
publican party and is public spirited in his citizen-hip. doing all in his power to
further the material, intellectual and moral welfare and upbuilding of the com-
munity. Starting out in his business career without any especially favoring ad-
vantages, he has by energy, industry, perseverance and integrity, worked his way
upward into a position of which he may well feel proud, for he is recognized as
otic of the prosperous, progressive and valued citizens of Norwalk township.
OTIS SYKES.
Otis Sykes, who is filling the position of postmaster of Chicago, where he is
also successfully conducting a grocery store, was born in Richmond township,
this county, on the 2d of May, 1847. lie is a son of Daniel Sykes, a native of
Vermont, and Arabella (Butler) Sykes, a native of New York. In 1836 the
father came with his wife and one child to Huron county and for one year re-
sided in Greenfield township, where he engaged in farming. He then removed
to Richmond township where he settled upon a tract entirely uncultivated. He
at once devoted his attention to its reclamation, made the land ready for culti-
vation and in course of time gathered rich crops as a reward for his labors. Upon
that place he reared his family and made it his home until his death in 1882.
when he was seventy-six years of age.
In the family were four children, of whom Otis Sykes is the youngest. The
country schools afforded him his educational privileges and at the age of fifteen
years he enlisted for service in the Civil war, joining Company C of the One
Hundred and Twenty-third Ohio Volunteer Infantry in August, 1862. He
took part in all the engagements with his command in the Shenandoah Valley
campaign and in September, 1864, was wounded, in consequence of which he
lost a limb. He was then but seventeen years of age. He sustained this wound
at Winchester while fighting under Sheridan and because of his injuries received
an honorable discharge in June, 1865.
Mr. Sykes at once returned to his home in Huron county. His was a most
creditable military record, characterized by loyalty to duty in every relation. When
he again came to the north he took up the study of medicine and dentistry and
continued in the practice of the latter with success for a number of years, fol-
lowing the profession in Plymouth and in Findlay. He afterward engaged in
Digitized by Google
356
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
the drug business in Wabash, Indiana, and in 1876 came to Chicago Junction,
where for two years he practiced dentistry. On the expiration of that period he
opened a drug store which he conducted for fifteen years and then turned his at-
tention to the grocery business, which he carries on in partnership with A. C.
Byers, under the firm name of Sykes & Ryers. They conduct a high class business,
carrying a large and well selected line of staple and fancy groceries and their
trade is constantly increasing owing to their honorable methods and straight-
forward dealing. Throughout the years of his residence here Mr. Sykes has also
been active in connection with public affairs, being deeply interested it: every-
thing pertaining to the welfare of the community. In March, 1906. he was ap-
pointed postmaster of Chicago Junction and is now most capably filling that posi-
tion. He has never been a politician in the ordinary sense of the term but since
age conferred upon him the right of franchise has been a warm adherent of the
republican party and its principles. In fact he is actively interested in every-
thing connected with his town and county. He has served for several years as
president of the board of education and three terms as a member of the city
council, during which time he has put forth earnest and effective work for the
best interests of the community. He is a conservative and safe adviser and a
progressive citizen.
In June. 1873. Mr. Sykes was married to Miss Elizabeth A. Miller, a native
of Columbiana county. Ohio, and they have two children: Maud, who died at the
age of thirteen years, and Doris M. The family are prominent socially and have
many friends in every part of the county where they are known. Mr. Sykes be-
longs to the Masonic fraternity and also holds membership relation^ with the
Maccabees. Leaving the army at the aue of seventeen years, handicapped h\
the loss of his limb, he has possessed and displayed the resolute spirit which does
not stop at ohst'u-les nor is impeded by difficulties but continues on with firm de-
termination to the objective point. He has manifested many sterling qualities in
both hi< business and official life as well as in all the ties of home and friendship.
ADAM S. LEIS.
Adam S. l.eis, who owns and operates a fine farm of one hundred and sixty
acres of land in Sherman township, was born in this township on the 20th of
January, i860, and is a son of Peter and Margaret < Frish) Leis, l>oth natives of
Germany. The father, who was l>orn February 16, 1829, was a son of Joseph
and Agatha 1 Hover) Leis. He came to the United States in 1848. making the
journey in about forty-two days, and came direct to Ohio, locating in Sherman
township. Huron county, where he worked as a farm hand for some time. Dur-
ing that period he was employed by John W right for a number of years and then
began farming on his own account, purchasing eighty acres of land, which he cul-
tivated and upon which he continued to reside until a few years ago. lie i-
still living in Sherman township. He was married in January. 1865. to Miss
Margaret Frish. who was also born in Germany and who passed away in 1 896.
He helped to erect the Catholic church in 1857 and has continued an officeholder
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
357
therein most of his life. He and his wife became the parents of thirteen chil-
dren, namely : John, residing in Kansas ; Paul, making his home in Indiana ; Peter,
of Putnam county, Ohio; Adam, of this review; George, deceased; Anthony,
living in Sherman township ; Mary, who married Anthony Ruffing, of that town-
ship ; Sophia, the wife of Anthony Brown, also of that township ; Helen, residing
at Fremont, Ohio; Maggie, the wife of Frank Gerdeman, residing at Findlay,
Ohio; Anna, who married Anthony Corps, of Upper Sandusky, Ohio; Tillie;
and Rose.
Adam S. Leis acquired his education in the schools of Sherman township.
His boyhood and youth were spent on the home farm, during which time he be-
came familiar with the duties of the farm, and he remained at home until twenty-
six years of age. when he went to Indiana. There he was employed as a farm
hand for about six years and then purchased a farm of his own, consisting of
one hundred acres in Pulaski county. He operated that place for about twelve
years and then sold out, returning to Sherman township, Huron county, Ohio
where he purchased the old homestead. He has since directed his efforts to its
further improvement and development, and as the years have gone by the place
has become one of the valuable and desirable farm properties of this township.
He is engaging in general farming, and in his undertaking is meeting with sub-
stantial success.
On the 19th of January, 1892, Mr. Leis was united in marriage to Miss Anna
Westrich, a daughter of Charles and Elizabeth (Brown) Westrich, the wedding
occurring at Norwalk, Ohio. Mrs. Leis was born in Seneca county, Ohio, and
her parents, who were old settlers in this district, conducted the general store
at Bismarck for a number of years. In their family were ten children, as fol-
lows: Anna, Victor, Peter, Fred, Albert, Alvin, Theodore, Carl, Tillie and* Ida.
The home of Mr. and Mrs. Leis has been blessed with six children, namely, Ver-
onica, Fred. Monica, Carl, Alma and Agnes, all at home. The family are mem-
bers of the Catholic church of Bismarck and are respected and esteemed in the
community. Politically, Mr. Leis belongs to the democratic party and is public
spirited in citizenship. Industrious and enterprising, he has gained a goodly
amount of success and is today ranked among the leading farmers in Sherman
township.
WILLIAM HIMBERGER.
Prominent among the energetic, farseeing and successful business men of
Norwalk, is William Himberger, a lumber merchant, who in spite of disastrous
fires and other obstacles which have barred his path to success, has steadily
worked his way upward and today enjoys an extensive patronage in his chosen
field of labor. His energy has been most intelligently directed and, wisely utiliz-
ing every opportunity that has come, he has gradually advanced to a place among
the men of affluence in this city. His birth occurred in Hessen, Nassau, Ger-
many, November 23, 1841, his parents being William P. and Wilhelmina (Horn)
Himberger, both of whom were natives of the same place. The family came to
the United States in 1855. Crossing the Atlantic to the new world, they made
Digitized by Google
3. r )8
HI STORY OF IRROX COUNTY
their way to Bloomingville, Kric county, Ohio, where the mother had a hrother
living. The same year, however, they removed to Monroeville, Huron county,
where the father engaged in general farming. In 1803 he was accidentally killed,
heing then forty-nine years of age.
William Himberger was a lad of ahout thirteen years when he sailed across
the hroad Atlantic with his parents and came with them to Ohio. He remained
under the parental roof until September, 1S61, when he responded to the coun-
try's call for aid to crush out the rebellion in the south, enlisting as a member of
the Third Ohio Cavalry. He afterward enlisted in the Thirty-fourth Kentucky
Infantry and did active service in Alabama. Mississippi, Virginia and West Vir-
ginia until the close of the war. He took part in a number of hotly contested
battles and in the long, hard marches of wearisome campaigns and was mus-
tered out on the 24th of June 1865, at Knoxville, Tennessee. He had witnessed
the close of the war when Victory perched upon the Union banners and with a
creditable military record he returned to his home in Huron county.
Here Mr. Himberger started in business life as a common laborer but has
worked steadily upward to his present position as one of the representative and
prosperous merchants of the city. In [866 he came to Norwalk and in 1867
became employed in a lumberyard, learning the trade, in the place which he now
owns, with David D. Moorchouse. He afterward spent five years as an employe
of the lumber firm of Brown & Goodnow and when those gentlemen dissolved
partnership the firm became Lawrence & Brown and afterward Lawrence &
Gilson. Mr. Himberger remained with the business throughout all its changes
in partnership until 1880 when he felt that his previous extended experience and
careful expenditure justified him in engaging in business on his own account.
He then became a partner in the firm of Smith, Himberger & Company for the
conduct of a general lumber business which was carried on under that name
until 1886 when the firm became Smith & Himberger. In April. 1901, Mr. Him-
berger purchased his partner's interest and continued the business alone until
March, i<fO/, when the Himberger Lumber Company was organized. It is
exclusively a family concern and Mr. Himberger is the president of the Com-
pany. Between 1880 and Kjoi the firm had three disastrous fires, one occurring
on the 8th of March. 1881, another on the 30th of October. 1891. and the third
on the 2d of August. 1901. Not disheartened by these disasters Mr. Himberger
resolutely set to work to retrieve his losses and his honorable business methods
secured him a liberal patronage which has brought him substantial success as the
years have parsed. The company today owns one of the largest lumbervard- in
this part of the state and its trade i- extensive and profitable.
In February, i8'rf>, Mr. Himberger was united in marriage to Miss Mary
Hundsdorf, a native of Germany and a daughter of John Hundsdorf. an old
resident of Huron county who came from the fatherland in 1853. Unto Mr. and
Mrs. Himberger were born four daughters: Minnie, now the wife of Charles
Prechtel, who is manager of the Himberger Lumber Company; Katherine. now
Mrs. Smith: ?nd Zedona Llizabeth and Louise Frederica. twins. The wife and
mother passed away on the 30th of January. 1904, when fifty-eight years of a^e
and her death was deeply regretted by many friends who had come to know
and esteem her for her many sterling traits of character.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
359
In his political views Mr. Ilinibcrger is a stalwart democrat with firm belief
in the principles of the party but lias never been an office seeker. He has, how-
ever, served as a member of the council from 1890 to 1892 and from 1905 to 1907,
was a member of the board of public works. lie is never remiss in the duties of
citizenship nor does he neglect to give hearty aid to the measures and movements
for the public good. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias fraternity and to the
Knights of the Maccabees and maintains pleasant relations with his old army
comrades through his membership in Wooster and Bolt Post, G. A. R. He is a
devoted meml>er of the Episcopal church, in which he has served as warden for
many years. He is a splendid specimen of the self-made man who owes his suc-
cess entirely to his well directed efforts, bis persistency of purpose and his un-
daunted energy. He is public-spirited, unassuming in manner and thoroughly
reliable. Throughout his entire life he has always been the same genial, courte-
ous gentleman, whose ways are those of refinement and whose word no man can
question.
ORIN P. REYNOLDS.
Orin P. Reynolds, a representative of the farming interests of Hartland
township, was born in that township, on the 3d of December, 1854, his parents
being Theodore M. and Malissa (Sholes) Reynolds, who were natives of Con-
necticut and Xew York respectively. The father, who came to this county with
his parents in 1835, was an agriculturist by occupation and for many years was
numbered among the prominent and respected residents of Hartland town-
ship. His upright and honorable life won him the esteem and friendship of all
with whom he was associated and his demise, which occurred on the 12th of
July, 1903, was the occasion of deep and widespread regret. He took an active
part in public affairs and for many years capably served in the position of town-
ship trustee. His wife, who came to this state in early womanhood, is also
now deceased, having passed away on the 14th of June. 1905. Unto this worthy
couple were born three sons: Dayton, Orin P. and Rion, all of whom are still
living.
Orin P. Reynolds was reared to manhood on his father's farm and obtained
hi«- education in the district schools of his native township. When not busy
with his text-books he assisted his father in the work of the old home farm and
continued to reside thereon until twenty-eight years of age, when he was married.
Subsequently he removed to Lucas county, Ohio, where he was engaged in
general agricultural pursuits for two years, on the expiration of which period he
returned to Hartland township and cultivated his father's farm for a year. In
1886 he became identified with mercantile interests at Hartland Center, success-
fully conducting a general store of that character for about sixteen years. At
the end of that time he once more took up the work of the fields and now owns
the old home farm in Hartland township, in the cultivation of which he is meet-
ing with a most gratifying and well merited degree of prosperity. Whatever
he has undertaken he has carried forward to successful completion and has gained
Digitized by Google
360
HIbTORY OF HURON COUNTY
enviable recognition among the substantial, progressive and representative citizens
of the community.
On the 7th of March, 1882, Mr. Reynolds was united in marriage to Miss
Asenath Sisson, a daughter of Jabez and Lydia ( Payne) Sisson, of New York.
Mrs. Reynolds made her way to Ohio in early womanhood, and by her marriage
she has become the mother of three children: Carl, Glen and Fern, all of whom
are still under the parental roof.
Mr. Reyonlds is a stanch republican in his political views and an active
worker in the local ranks of his party. He has served in the office of township
treasurer for twenty-two years, was a member of the board of education for
many years and has also done effective service in the position of road super-
visor. For a number of years he has been a member of the republican county
committee and he is a frequent delegate to county, district and state conventions.
He always gives his influence and aid to progressive public measures and stands
as a stalwart defender of justice, truth and right in public as well as private re-
lations. In the community where practically his entire life has been spent, he
is regarded as a leading and valued citizen, being held in high esteem for his
manly bearing and his integrity of character.
JOHN L. PRATT.
John L. Pratt, living in Bronson township, is engaged in farming, his posses-
sion now aggregating three hundred and seventy-five acres in Huron county.
He is a native son of the Buckeye state, his birth having occurred September 7,
1852. His parents were DeMorris and Mary (Roberts) Pratt. The father was
a native of Washington county. New York, born on Christmas day of 1808, while
the mother was born in Massachusetts, September 6. 1814. DeMorris Pratt ac-
companied his father-in-law, Abijah Roberts, to Fitchvillc, Ohio, in 1836, where
each purchased a farm. Mr. Pratt was a local preacher of the Methodist de-
nomination but never accepted a salary for his services. He performed many
marriage ceremonies in his district and the money he received for his services in
this connection he always presented to the bride. He served two. terms in the
Ohio state legislature and in many ways took an active and prominent part in the
development and improvement of the community in which he made his home.
His family numbered five sons and two daughters, namely: A. R. and Jesse, now
deceased: and one daughter who died in infancy; Phillip; J. F. ; Mrs. Frances
Pond : and John I., of this review.
The last named acquired his early education in the district schools of Fitch-
ville township and later attended the schools of Oberlin and Bcrea, afterward
pursuing a business course in a college at Poughkeepsie, New York. When start-
ing out to make his own way in the world, Mr. Pratt engaged in farming and in
connection with E. L. Tucker conducted a butter and cheese factory for twenty
years. During this time they did a very extensive business, controlling the largest
enterprise of its kind in this section at that time. However. Mr. Pratt now de-
votes his entire time to fanning and as the years have passed and he has pros-
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
365
pcred in his undertakings, he has added to his holdings until his possessions now
aggregate three hundred and seventy-five acres, all valuable and well improved
land. A valuable work which Mr. Pratt assisted in performing in this section was
the organization of the Olena Telephone Company, of which he is now the pres-
ident. This is one of the finest systems to lie found anywhere, connecting with
the Bell Company and the local company.
Mr. Pratt was married November 4, 1873, the lady of his choice being Miss
Delia Manahan, who was born in Ohio, July 23. 1852. Her father, Lewis Man-
ahan, at one time owned the farm on which Mr. Pratt now lives, and this has been
the home of Mrs. Pratt since she was four years of age. Mr. Manahan fol-
lowed fanning throughout his entire life and during the time of the Civil war
was an extensive buyer of horses, which he sold to the army, and he also dealt
heavily in all kinds of stock. Mis death occurred in 1897, when he was seventy-
nine years of age, his birth having occurred in 181 8, while his wife, who bore
the maiden name of Sarah Chapin, was born in 1828 and departed this life in
1906, when in her eightieth year.
The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Pratt has been blessed with two sons. The
elder, DeMorris C. Pratt, who was born January 11. 1875. was educated in the
village school and is now engaged in farming. He is a republican in politics and
a Presbyterian in religious faith, while his fraternal relations are with the Macca-
bees. He was married April 7. 1898. to Miss Lela Burrows, a daughter of W. L.
and Ella Burrows, and their home has been blessed with a little daughter. Mar-
garet B. Pratt, who was bom August 27. 19x34. The younger son. Worthing C.
Pratt, was born September 10. 1877. and is cashier of the Huron county bank.
Prominent in public affairs as an adherent of the republican party. Mr. Pratt
has filled the office of township treasurer sixteen years and also served as justice
of the peace hut refused to accept the latter office for another term. He is a
Methodist in religious faith and also belongs to the Maccabees Tent. Quick to
discern opportunities for advancement in a business sense. Mr. Pratt has worked
his way to the front until today he stands as one of the largest and wealthiest
landowners in Huron county. However, his success has been honorably won. and
his record also in public life has been one of unremitting and tireless energy and
there is no blot or stain of dishonor upon his name. He represents one of the
oldest and most prominent families of this part of the state and all who know him
have for him high regard.
ELMER E. TOWN SEND.
Elmer E. Townsend, president of the New London National Bank and closely
identified with financial interests of the county since 1898, was born in Eitch-
ville. Ohio, September 22. 1852. His father. John T. Townsend. was born in
New London township, July 22, 1824, and was the second of the eight children of
Hosea Townsend, who was born in Greenbush, New York, in 1794. His father.
William Townsend. was a native of Massachusetts and a millwright by trade
At the time of the birth of his son. Hosea Townsend, he was temporarily em-
Digitized by Google
366 HISTORY OF HUROxV COUNTY
ployed at his trade in Grecnbush. His wife bore the maiden name of Rhoda
Skinner. Their sun, llosea Townsend, was reared and educated in Massachusetts
where he resided until 181 5, when lie came to Huron county on a tour of in-
spection. After a brief period he returned to Massachusetts, but that he was
pleased with his western trip was indicated in the fact that in the following year
he again came to Ohio and settled on lot 23 of the third section in New London
township. Only a few years before had Ohio been admitted to statehood and
many portions of the state were still unclaimed and unsettled by the white race.
In fact Ohio was regarded as on the very border of civilization and Mr. Town-
send belonged to that class of sturdy anil representative American nun who ex-
tended the frontier by introducing all of the evidences of modern civilization
into his region. In the development of a farm here he built a log house and
cleared his land which in the course of time was made to bring forth rich har-
vests. As he prospered in his undertakings he added to his holdings and at
length became a very successful and influential citizen of his part of the >tate.
In 1820 he married Sophia Case, whose family came from New York and
settled in New London township, her father being Tracy Case, well known in
early pioneer times. Mrs. Townsend was well educated and taught the first school
in New London township. She reared a family of eight children who were a
credit to her superior training. It is worthy of note that she never allowed a
book to pas- into the hands of her children without first reading it herself that
she might know whether its contents were detrimental or injurious to the moral
training. The only members of the family now living arc II. \Y. Townsend and
Mrs. A. F. Johnson. The father. Hosea Townsend. continued to engage in
farming until 1874, when he removed to New London and made his home with
his daughter, Mrs. Johnson, until his death, in 18S4. He had survived his wife
for an entire decade. lie was a man of strong, sterling characteristics and
enjoyed the esteem and trust of all who knew him. In antebellum days he was
a strong opponent of the system of slavery and when the republican party was
formed to prevent its further extension he joined its ranks and as one of its
representatives was called to a number of local offices, the duties of which he
discharged with promptness and fidelity. John Townsend. the father of Elmer
E. Townsend, was reared to farm life in the usual manner of boys who spend
their youthful days amid agricultural environments. Good educational oppor-
tunities were afforded him for after attending the country schools he was per-
mitted to become a student in Oherlin College. Later he engaged in teaching at
Clarksville. Fitchville and New London and did good work as an educator, his
instructions being clear, cogent and forceful. He married Elizabeth Palmer,
a native of Clarkstield township and a daughter of Linus Palmer who located in
that township in pioneer days, as did her mother, who bore the maiden name of
Jemima Rowland. After his marriage John Townsend abandoned teaching and
concentrated his energies upon farming pursuits in Fitchville township, care-
fully operating his fields for many years. In 1880 he was elected county com-
missioner and served for two terms, while for the long period of thirty years he
was justice of the peace, his "retention in the office plainly indicating that his
opinions were strictly fair and impartial, being based upon the law and equity
in the case. In 1898 he removed to New London, where he died, March
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
367
5, 1907. His widow still survives and now makes her home with her
son, Elmer, their only child. In his political views John Townsend was
a stalwart repuhlican hut ever placed the public good before partisan-
ship, and at all times sought the welfare and progress of the comtnunitv. which
numbered him among its most honored and representative citizens.
Following the acquirement of his education in Obcrlin College. Elmer E.
Townsend took up the profession of teaching and for a time was identified with
the high school at Fitchville. In 1873 he located on the farm, formerly the prop-
erty of his grandfather and for twenty-five years was closely, actively, and suc-
cessfully associated with the work of tilling the soil. It was not until 1898 that
he put aside the plow and removed to New London, where he has since been
identified with banking interests. The First National Hank was established in
1872 and in 1892 was reorganized as the New London National Hank, from which
time Mr. Townsend served as a director. On the death of his uncle. Ira Townsend.
lie was elected to the presidency and has since continued at the head of the
institution, bending his energies to executive control and .administrative direction.
He is thoroughly conversant with the banking business in all of its phases and has
made the New London National one of the safe, conservative and reliable
moneyed institutions of the county. While he has never been a politician in the
sense of office seeking he has nevertheless been elected and served as mayor of
New London, was trustee of the township for several terms and at the present
writing, i«i<wi, is corporation treasurer. He votes with the republican party, for
his mature judgment sanctions its principles as most conducive to good govern-
ment.
In 1873 Mr. Townsend was married to Miss Abbie Curtis, a native of Fitch-
ville. who died in 19x33. He has since wedded Miss Ida Robertson, a native of
Pennsylvania and a talented lady who for several years taught in the NCw
Lontlon public schools. Mr. Townsend is a member of the Knights of Pythias
fraternity and is appreciative of the social amenities of life. He is never neg-
lectful of any of the obligations of citizenship or of friendship, while his integrity
in business has made his an unassailable reputation.
FRANK 13. SEYMOUR.
Frank P.. Seymour, a farmer of Lyme township and the owner of sixty-five
acres of land, that lies mostly in Erie county, was born on this farm, October 24,
1856, the son of George W. and Charlotte E. (Hotchkin) Seymour. The
father was born in Gibson, Susquehanna county. Pennsylvania, August 15,
1824, and died on this farm, January 18. 1892. while the mother was born at
Waterville. New York, May 15, 1827. and is still living at P.ellevue, Ohfo.
George W. Seymour came to North Monroeville, Ohio, with his father, John
Seymour, and his mother. Sarah (Thatcher) Seymour, in 1825. Her father,
Moses Thatcher, who came with them, is buried at North Monroeville. For
about ten years the family lived at North Monroeville, in which vicinity Mr. Scy
mour owned about four hundred acres of land. Later they removed to the farm
Digitized by Google
368
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
in Lyme township, Huron county, which the grandfather purchased from a Mr.
Russell, and improved greatly during his lifetime. John Seymour was a prom-
inent man in this locality in early days when stage coaches were still running
and he was located at the intersection of the stage routes between Cleveland,
Maumee, Sandusky and Columbus. Here he had a general store and distributed
the mail, in his capacity of postmaster, that the great wagons brought. He
was deeply interested in the welfare of the little community he served and for
a period of thirty years he fulfilled the duties of township clerk. He was ac-
counted one of the pillars of the Strong's Ridge church, of which he had always
been a member and of which he was a deacon at the time of his death. His
eventful and useful life came to an end in his ninetieth year. George W. Sey-
mour succeeded his father as deacon of the church and during the whole of hi>
life was identified with fanning interests. On the 29th of April, 1852. his mar-
riage to Miss Charlotte E. Hotchkin was celebrated at Watertown. New York,
and their union was blessed with three children: Anna K., who was born June
1, 1854. and married Albert Young, now deceased; Frank B., our subject: and
W illiam, who was born August 16. 1866. but lived only till the following Decem-
ber.
Frank B. Seymour lived on his present farm, receiving his preparation for life
at home, under the direction of his parents and at the district schools, which he
attended until he was thirteen and was then a student in the Bcllevue high school
for four years. His education completed, he engaged in the hardware business,
working in Chicago, Illinois, and Cleveland, Ohio. This connection with the
world of affairs he gave up when he received word of his father's illness and
returned home to take charge of the farm. To this he has since devoted his
attention and upon the old homestead he has resided.
On the 23d of June. 1 897, Mr. Seymour married Miss Clara Barnard, who
was lx>rn December 19. 1867. in Lyme township, and is the daughter of Alfred
and Ruth fBemiss) Barnard, long residents of Huron county. Mr. and Mrs.
Seymour's union has been blessed with four children: George B.. born June 28.
1808: Ruth H.. bom October 3. 1900: Ethelwyn, born on the 18th of January.
1904: and Alberta Y.. born March 25. 1906.
Mr. Seymour is a member of the Knights of Pythian lodge and has passed
all the chairs. In the work of the Lyme Congregational church he is also prom
inent and has been its treasurer for a number of years.
CARL C. THOMPSON.
Carl C. Thompson is now capably and faithfully discharging the duties de-
volving upon him in the position of county recorder of Huron county. He \va-
bom in Fitchville township, this county, on the 23d of September. 1868. his
parents being John C. and T. YV. (Welsh) Thompson, the former a native of
Noble county and the latter of Belmont county, this state. They established
their home in Huron county, about the year 1859. The father was a Congre-
gational minister and their residence lacked permanency on that account. He
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
9169
was a republican in his politic.il views and represented Huron county in the
state legislature for two terms during the '60s. A progressive and loyal citizen,
he did not believe that his holy calling barred him from participation in affairs
of public moment and his aid and cooperation could always be counted upon to
further any movement instituted to promote the general welfare. When he
passed away in August, 1891, the county mourned the loss of one of its most
respected, influential and worthy residents. His wife, surviving him for more
than a decade, was called to her final rest in May. 1992. Their remains werte
interred in the cemetery at Plymouth. Huron county. They reared a family of
five children, three sons and two daughters, namely: Isyphene; Hershcl, who is
deceased ; Sumner ; one who died in infancy : and Carl C, of this review.
The last named supplemented his preliminary education, obtained in the pub-
lic schools, by a course at Oberlin College, while later he attended the Val-
paraiso Business College at Valparaiso. Indiana. After completing his own '
education he taught school in Huron county for a period of eight years, im-
parting clearly and readily to others the knowledge that he had acquired. Dur-
ing some of these years he only taught in the winter terms and in the summer
season* was employed by Adriance. Piatt & Company, implement manufacturers
of Poughkeepsie. New York. The confidence and trust rej>osed in him by his
employers is indicated by the fact that he was selected as their foreign repre-
sentative during the seasons of 1893. 18^5 and 1896. introducing the harvesting
machinery manufactured by the concern into Germany, Austria, Hungary. Rou-
mania and Bulgaria. I le was married when about twenty-six years of age and
established his home in Clarksfield. He has been in the employ of Adriance,
Piatt & Company at different intervals, his connection with the concern cover-
ing- twelve seasons altogether. In 1903 he established a warehouse at West
Clarksfield on the Wheeling & Lake Erie Railroad and began dealing in hay.
grain and coal, successfully conducting this enterprise until the summer of
1009. Throughout his business life he had made it his aim to do thoroughly
whatever he has undertaken and he long since demonstrated his reliability as
well as his enterprise.
In November, 1894. Mr. Thompson was joined in wedlock to Miss Alma
Ronk, a daughter of Seneca and Zelma (Cooley) Ronk, of Clarksfield township.
Their union has been blessed with three children, as follows: Marguerite. Harold
and Jay.
Mr. Thompson gives his political allegiance to the men and measures of the
democracy and has always kept well informed on the questions and issues of the
day. He has served as assessor of Clarksfield township for three terms and has
also acted as school director for some years, being a stanch friend of the cause
of education. In 1908 the Huron county democratic convention nominated him
as their candidate for the position of county recorder. The fact that he had
made no effort to secure the nomination and was not even present at the con-
vention speaks in unmistakable terms of his personal popularity and well known
ability. He was elected the following November and entered upon the duties
of the office on the second Monday of September. 1909. A week prior to that
time he became a resident of Norwalk. He is a valued member of Clarksfield
Tent. K. O. T. M.. and he and his family belong to the Congregational church,
Digitized by Google
370
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
in the work of which they are actively
ever assailed his good name and on the
the honorahle, reliable, successful man,
worthv friend.
interested. No breath of suspicion has
contrary he stands as a splendid type of
the public-spirited citizen and the trust-
DAYID DE FOREST BENEDICT.
David De Forest Benedict, now deceased, who for many years was actively
and successfully identified with the mercantile interests of Norwalk as proprietor
of a drug store, was long numbered among Huron county's most respected and
honored citizens. His birth occurred in Norwalk on the 1st of August, 1833. Hi-
paternal grandparents were Piatt and Sally (De Forest) Benedict and the former,
who was one of the first settlers in Huron county, assisted in founding the town of
Norwalk. The maternal grandparents, Henry and Harriet (Talcott) Bucking-
ham, were natives of Connecticut and the latter was a direct descendant of Gov-
ernor Bradford, of Massachusetts. They celebrated their marriage in 1803.
Henry Buckingham, whose birth occurred in 1779, likewise became one of the
earliest settlers of Huron county and served as county treasurer for many years.
He was recognized as a most prominent and influential citizen and his death,
which occurred in 1845. was the occasion of deep and widespread regret. His son,
Ceorge Talcott Buckingham, who was the organizer and editor of the Norwalk
Reflector, was called to his final rest in 1847. In early manhood, he had wedded
Miss Lovina Lindsey, of Monroeville, Ohio. Jonas Boughton Benedict and Fanny
(Buckingham) Benedict, the parents of our subject, reared a family of four
children, namely: Piatt ; David D., of this review; Mary Starr; and Mrs. Fanny
St verance.
David D. Benedict was reared on the old homestead place where his birth
occurred and which continued to remain his place of residence throughout his
entire life. The family home still stands on the same site. After completing his
literary education in Kenyon College, he took up the study of medicine a> a
student in the Cleveland Medical College, being graduated from that institution
in 1859. His patriotic spirit being aroused by the attempt of the south to over-
throw the Union, he offered his services in its defense in 1862. becoming a member
of the Seventeenth Regiment of Ohio Yolunteer Infantry as a contract surgeon,
being later commissioned a regular surgeon. He was the youngest officer of that
••ink in the regiment and continued in active service until honorably discharged
on the 16th of July, 1865. He underwent many of the hardships and dangers
incident to warfare and following his capture by the Confederates at the battle
of Chickamauga. he was confined in Libby prison fur about forty days. After the
close of hostilities, he returned to Norwalk and Ixcame an active factor in its
mercantile life, purchasing a drug store, which he conducted until within a few
years of his demise. He was very successful in this undertaking, becoming widely
recognized as a most substantial, enterprising and progressive citizen of his
community. In addition to his other interests, he likewise served as one of the
directors of the First National Bank and was a trustee of the Wood lawn ceme-
tery, a member of the Loyal Legion, Mason. Delta Kappa Epsilon.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
373
On the 14th of October, 1856, Mr. Benedict was united in marriage to Miss
Harriet M. Deaver, whese birth occurred in Watertown, New York, on the 4th
of May, 1835, her parents being James and Harriet Deaver. By this union, there
were born the following children : Mary Deaver, the eldest, to whom we are
indebted for the material in this sketch, is a well known and highly esteemed resi-
dent of Norwalk. Harriet M. gave her hand in marriage to William B. Benham,
an attorney by profession, who is now compelled to live practically retired, be-
cause of failing health. Agnes C. is the wife of Frank D. Wickham. Fanny B.,
the next in order of birth, was joined in wedlock to A. J. Hottel. Frederick
Piatt Benedict, the fifth in order of birth and the last of the line of the Benedicts,
died May 11, 1885. Ellen E. is the wife of Louis W. Wickham. Susan R., who
is a graduate of Smith College at Northampton, Massachusetts, and also pur-
sued a course in Columbia College, is now a teacher in the former institution. She
is very proficient in mathematics and has won the degree of M. A. The mother
of these children was called to her final rest on the 25th of April. 1909. eight
years after the death of her husband.
In his political views, Mr. Benedict was a stanch republican and served as a
member of the school board for many years, the cause of education ever finding
in him a stalwart champion. His religious faith was indicated by his member-
ship in the Episcopal church, in wfiich he was acting as senior warden at the
time of his demise, which occurred on the 5th of January, 1901. He was a most
public-spirited and loyal citizen, whose aid and influence were always given on
the side of progress, improvement and upbuilding. A man of genial, kindly na-
ture, he gained the friendship and regard of all with whom he was associated and
well deserves mention in this volume as a worthy representative of an old and
prominent pioneer family.
CHARLES STACEY.
A busy life has brought to Charles Stacey success in his undertakings as a
farmer in Townsend township. He was born January 22, 1843, in Earith, Eng-
land, his parents being John and Elizabeth (Leeden) Stacey. In the family
were nine children and when the father decided to come to America he had only
money enough to pay his own passage and that of two of the children. Crossing
the Atlantic he first settled at Lockport, New York, where he eagerly availed
himself of any opportunity to earn an honest living. As fast as he could
accumulate a sufficient sum of money he would send for the other members of
his family and after all had arrived in the new world the family removed to
Norwalk, Ohio, in 1854. with the exception of the eldest son who was the last
of the household to come to America and who remained in New York when the
others sought a home in this state. The father became a farmer of Huron
county and in the tilling of the soil provided a living for those dependent upon
him.
Owing to the limited financial resources of his parents Charles Stacey early
engaged in whatever work there was to do upon the home place and also worked
374
HISTORY OF HI 'RON COUNTY
on neighboring farms. He was educated partly in England, partly at Lockport.
New York, and completed his course in the public schools of Huron county
When hostile feelings between the north and south terminated in civil war
and the president issued his call for men to crush out the rebellion in the south,
Charles Stacey, on the 13th of September. 1861. offered his services to the gov-
ernment, enlisting as a number of Company D, Fifty-fifth regiment of Ohio
Volunteer Infantry. This command was attached to the army of the Potomac
until after the battle of Gettysburg and participated in a number of hotly con-
tested engagements. At Gettysburg the regiment was suffering from the firing
of sharpshooters and Mr. Stacey volunteered to go beyond the lines as a sharp-
shooter and if possible locate the sharpshooters of the enemy. It was a perilous
undertaking and he was constantly in danger from the balls of expert riflemen,
who were coolly picking off their men one by one. He was finally successful,
however, in silencing the shots from the sharpshooters in the Confederate line,
maintaining his perilous position for four hours. In recognition of this service
congress awarded him a medal of honor for conspicuous heroism displayed
during the battle. Well may he prize this award highly. He never faltered in
the performance of any duty, no matter how r hazardous but with unflinching
loyalty stood by his guns and fortunately escaped all injury during his strenu-
ous service. Every one of his bunk-mates with the exception of one was either
killed or wounded in the engagement. After the battle of Gettysburg the fifty-
fifth Ohio Regiment was transferred to the army of the Cumberland. On the
night of July 2. 1803, following the second day of the battle of Gettysburg.
Mr. Stacey was taken prisoner with a eletail of seven men of Company D, who
had been sent to charge upon a barn from which some of the Confederate sharp-
shooters were bring. While executing this command the Union detail was
surrounded and the men were taken prisoners. They were sent to Richmond.
Virginia, and spent two elays in Libby prison, after which they were transferred
to Iiellc Isle. Their incarceration continued for eighty-nine days after which
they were paroled and sent to Annapolis, while subsequently they were sent to
Camp Chase at Columbus to await exchange. Mr. Stacey rejoined his regiment
em the 26th of June, 1804. when the troops were located at Kenesaw Mountain.
The Fifty-fifth participated in a battle there and he was in the thickest of the
fight. He was also with his regiment in the Atlanta campaign and was at the
front until April 12. 1866, making an actual service of four years, one month and
seven days. On various occasions he received special mention for heroism and
for conspicuous service and his record was one of value to the country and
constitutes a chapter in his life history of which he has every reason to lie proud.
I Ie has always maintained his interest in military affairs and is a member of Town-
send Post No. 414. G. A. R.. and has been post commander for a number of
years. He has also served as adjutant <>f the post and that he is popular with his
comrades is shown in the fact that he has been made a delegate to the state and
national encampments and has served as aid on the staff of several national com-
manders. He became a charter member of M. F. Wooster Post, No. 34. G. A. R.,
of Norwalk, the first one organized in the county, but later he transferred his
membership to Townsend Post. The first regimental battle-flags of the Fiftv-
fitth Ohio, presented by the ladies of Norwalk. are in possession of Mr. Stacev
Digitized by Goo
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
375
and he gives them scrupulous care. His son. Charles L.. was a soldier of the
Spanish-American war, serving creditably in Company G, of the Fifth Ohio
Volunteer Infantry.
On leaving the army Mr. Stacey again came to Townsend township and on
the 20th of October. 1866. he was married to Miss Lydia F. Sherman, a daughter
of Mr. and Mrs. William Sherman, and a representative of a family prominent
and prosperous in the county. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Stacey have been born seven
children: George E. ; Rose F , now the wife of R. D. Sly. of Clarksficld ; John W.,
of Wellington; Sarah L., now the wife of W. F. Cronk; Charles L., who has
carried the rural mail out of Norwalk on route No. 1 ever since its establishment
ten years ago; Grace F., now Mrs. Thorn A. Speck, of Norwalk; and James C,
also of Norwalk. All the members of the family are well located and are pros-
perous in business. There are twenty grand-children in the family and the
record is remarkable as no death has ever occurred among children or grand-
children.
Throughout his entire life Mr. Stacey has followed fanning and has been
very successful as the result of his close application and energy. He keeps in
touch with modern methods of farming and everything about his place, present-
ing a neat appearance, is indicative of the careful supervision and progressive
Npirit of the owner. In his political views Mr. Stacey is a republican and has
been very active in the affairs of the township and county. In 1906 he was elected
county infirmary director and has served Townsend township for three years in
the office of trustee, while for a number of years he has been justice of the
peace. He has likewise been on the township board of education for a number
of years. He belongs to the Congressional Medal of Honor Legion, of Ohio,
of which he is now commander. A stanch temperance advocate, he has been an
active worker in his opposition to the use of intoxicants and in fact has ever
been active in movements and measures to advance good morals and promote
the public welfare. The poor and needy find in him a friend who makes
generous contributions for their assistance. He does not hesitate to extend a
helping hand where it is needed and in all of his life has manifested sterling
traits of honorable, upright manhood. He has been especially interested in the
improvement of public highways, in the erection of modern public buildings,
and in the adoption of a progressive school system, and believes that taxation with
a judicious expenditure of the public money is always justified. In short there
i> nothing narrow nor contracted about his nature. He looks at life from a
broader standpoint than that of self and realizes the obligations of man to
his fellowmen as a factor in human society.
T. I\ KELLOGG.
T. P. Kellogg, one of the representative members of the Huron county bar.
who is now rilling the office of city auditor, was born in Norwalk. October 2.
1S74. His father, T. H. Kellogg, was a native of Tompkins county. New York.
Arriving in Huron county, Ohio, in early life he attended the old Norwalk
Digitized by Google
376
HISTORY OK HURON" COUNTY
Academy and after studying law in preparation for practice before courts he
opened an office in Fairfield, this state, and entered upon the active work of the
courts. In 1869 he removed to Norwalk where he continued in practice until
1903, figuring for many years as one of the prominent attorneys of the Huron
county bar. In the year mentioned he went to Kansas City, where he engaged
J n journalistic work and later located in Pasadena, California, where he spent
his remaining days, his death occurring in 1908 when he had reached the ripe
old age of seventy-six years. He was very prominent in republican politics, his
opinions carrying weight in the councils of the party. He possessed brilliant
powers of oratory, being a logical, entertaining speaker, master of the art of
rhetoric and ever forceful in the presentation of his thought. In the practice of
law he was analytical, recognizing quickly the component elements of his case
and so arranging them as to bring their combined weight upon the point which
he desired to prove. He ranked for a long period as a leading attorney of the
Huron county bar. served as city attorney, was also elected prosecuting at-
torney of the county and filled the office of justice of the peace and member of
the city council. His labors in behalf of public progress were far-reaching and
beneficial, for while he reached up to high ideals he ever utilized the practical
methods at hand. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Frances Esther
Penfield. was a native of Fairfield. Ohio, and a daughter of Samuel Penfield,
one of the first settlers of that locality, removing westward from Fairfield, Con-
necticut. Mrs. Kellogg also died in Pasadena. California, being called to her
final rest in 1908 when seventy-four years of age. By her marriage she had be-
come the mother of seven children, five sons and two daughters: Charles R..
Clara E., Frederick \Y.. Robert J., Mary F. and Edward S.
The other member of the family is T. P. Kellogg of this review, who is
indebted to the public-school system of his native city for the educational priv-
ileges which he enjoyed and which fitted him for life's practical and responsible
duties. It was his intention to enter the journalistic field but owing to an acci-
dent he abandoned that idea. For several years he engaged in teaching school
and was then called to public office, being elected city clerk in 1899. To that
position he was reelected in 1901, so that his incumbency covered four years.
In 1903 he was chosen by popular sufTrage to the office of city auditor and was
reelected in 1907 so that he is filling the position at the present time. His politi-
cal endorsement is given to the republican party which finds in him a stalwart
champion. While in office he gave his leisure time to the study of law and was
admitted to the bar in 1902.
It was in 181)5 that Mr. Kellogg was united in marriage to Miss Carlossie
M. Pond, a daughter of A. A. and M. M. Pond, both old residents of Huron
county. Two children graced this union. Marjoric F. and Raymond P. Both
Mr. and Mrs. Kellogg have many warm friends in Norwalk. having been lifelong
residents of the county and the hospitality of the best homes is freely accorded
them. Mr. Kellogg is identified with the Masonic fraternity, the Benevolent and
Protective Order of Elks, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and other
fraternal organizations. He has long been recognized as a leader in the ranks
of the republican party and for three years has been president of the Norwalk
McKinley Club. He has also served three years as vice president of the same
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
377
club. He is an efficient officer and a popular man whose geniality, deference
for the opinions of others and kindly spirit have gained him a firm hold on the
affection and regard of those with whom he has come in contact.
THOMAS LAWRENCE.
Thomas Lawrence, who has long been numbered among the most successful
and energetic agriculturists of Bronson township, was born on the farm which
he now owns and operates, his natal day being October 26, 1858. His parents,
Alonzo and Lois (Morse) Lawrence, were both born in the year 1830. Captain
Samuel Lawrence, the paternal great-grandfather of our subject, whose birth
occurred in 1760, served throughout the entire period of the Revolutionary war
as a commissioned officer. Thomas Lawrence, the paternal grandfather, became
one of the pioneer residents of Huron county, Ohio, settling in Bronson town-
ship in 1833. He taught school during the early days of the county's development,
his labors proving no unimportant element in the progress of the community
along intellectual lines. He was a native of South Salem, New York, his birth
having there occurred in 1794. On the 27th of November, 1823, he wedded
Miss Clemence Reynolds and subsequent to her demise was again married, on the
24th of May, 1831, his second union being with Miss Ada Bishop. For his
third wife he chose Miss Drusilla Stone, the marriage ceremony taking place in
1844. The maternal grandparents of Mr. Lawrence of this review were Daniel
and Lucy (Cleveland) Morse, the latter being a relative of Grover Cleveland.
The parents of Mr. I^awrence are both deceased, the father passing away in
1904, while the mother was called to her final rest on the 10th of March, 1903.
Unto this worthy couple were born four children, namely: Edwin. Thomas,
Mary and Daniel.
Thomas Lawrence has spent his entire life on the farm where his birth oc-
curred and early gained practical knowledge of the best methods of tilling the soil
through the assistance which he rendered his father in the work of the fields.
The old homestead farm, comprising one hundred and fifty-four acres of rich
and productive land in Bronson township, is now in his possession and in its
cultivation he has gained a most gratifying measure of prosperitv. annually
harvesting good crops, for which he finds a ready sale on the market.
On the 25th of Fehruary, 1883, Mr. I^awrence was united in marriage to
Miss Ella Farrar. who was born on the 26th of September. 1863, her parents
being Allen and Hannah (Goodlin) Farrar, natives of England. Mr. and
Mrs. Farrar reared a family of three children: Stella, Alonzo and Ella. Unto
Mr. Lawrence and his wife have been born three children, as follows: Blanche,
whose birth occurred October 8, 1886. and who is now the wife of Edwin Mc-
pherson ; Bertha, who was born July I, 1894; and Leland, who first opened his
eyes to the light of day on the 12th of January. 1898.
Mr. Lawrence has always given stalwart support to the men and measures of
the republican party and in the capacity of school director has done effective
service for the cause of education. He was also at one time the capable incumbent
Digitized by Google
^7S HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
in the j)osition of postmaster at Olcna. Both he and his wife belong to the Pres-
byterian church and are highly esteemed throughout this locality as people of
genuine personal worth and sterling traits of character, having gained the con-
fidence and regard of all with whom they have come in contact. As a worth}
representative of an honored pioneer family Mr. Lawrence is well entitled to
mention in this volume and it is with pleasure that we present the record of hi-
life to our readers.
HENRY T. PECK.
The name of Henry T. Peck will be recognized by intelligent readers of this
volume as worthy of mention among the better class of agriculturists in the
county. He resides on the old Peck homestead in Wakeman township. Mr
t'eck was born February 22, 1858, his parents being Henry T. and Abigail ( Has-
kins) Peck, the father coming from Connecticut, and the mother from Massa-
chusetts. They were early settlers in the virgin forest of Huron county, and met
and conquered all the dragons of the pioneer times. They were thrifty, and, using
their earnings for investment, finally became large land owners in the county,
having some six hundred acres, in their family were thirteen children, who grew
to maturity, as follows: Warren, Atlanta, P»yron, Julia, Adelbert. Royal, Lavinia.
Fdward, \\ ilmer. Virgil, Everett, Henry T. and Alice. 0» r these four are de-
ceased: Adelbert. Fdward, Lavinia and W illiam. Fdward was killed at the bat-
tle of Shiloh. It is remembered of the father of this family that he was of sturdy
character, firm in his convictions of the right as be saw them and brave to main-
tain them. His home was one of the stations on the underground railroad, and
many a black face shone with gratitude for the helping hand extended during
those perilous times. He was one of the founders of the Episcopal church in
Wakeman and in many other ways stamped his impress upon the history of his
township. He died in 1883. aged seventy-two years, his wife surviving until
August, 1903, reaching the ripe age of ninety-one years.
Henry T. Peck was reared to farm life and secured a fair education in the
schools of the home community and at Wakeman high school. At the age of
twenty-* ne, he traveled extensively through the west for three years, but finally
returned and took up the life of a farmer in his home district. After his marriage,
he bought the old homestead, which he has since cultivated, adding many new
features and improvements. He ''runs to sheep," for the most part, though he
also raises many fine horses. The homestead comprises one hundred and ten
acres, all of which is kept under cultivation. Mr. Peck also owns some town
property as an investment.
His marriage certificate hears date of October 14. 1878, the other contracting
party having been Mis> Mary Diggins, a daughter of Martin and Sarah Diggitis
The birth of three children blessed this union: Clayton H.. Marion and Gertrude.
Henry T. I'eck is known as a man of fine public spirit, entering into various
projects for the betterment of society and government with enthusiastic zeal. Ik-
has served several terms as township trustee, has been a member, at different
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
381
times of the school board. He is an active republican and for years and is at
present a member of the township board of elections. He has attended the dif-
ferent conventions of his party as a delegate many times, when the influence of
his personality has been wielded for sane and safe measures. He and his family
affiliate with the Congregational church and are active in its work and support
liberally its enterprises. Take him all in all, no truer citizen can be found in
Huron county.
ROBERT MARCH.
Robert March, who throughout his active business career has been success-
fully identified with general agricultural pursuits, is the owner of an excellent
farm of thirty-six acres in Peru township. His birth occurred in Germany on
the 4th of November, 1842, his parents being Joseph and Anna (Phillips) March.
In 1852 they set sail for the United States and after a voyage of forty-two days
reached New York city, where they remained for about a year. Subsequently
the family home was established in Peru township, Huron county, Ohio, where
the sons purchased a tract of land of eight acres, on which stood a log house.
Here the parents spent their remaining days, the father passing away in 1866
when fifty-eight years of age, while the mother's demise occurred in 1879,
when she had attained the age of sixty-five years. Their children were twelve
in number, as follows : Ralph, who is now deceased ; Pauline, the deceased wife
of Herman Longyear ; Burkhart, who participated in the Civil war as a member
of Company G, Twenty- fourth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and died at the Sol-
diers' home at Sandusky; Gertrude, the widow of Nicholas Hophefecker; Thad-
deus, a resident of Norwalk, Ohio; Henrietta, who is the wife of David Bauman
and makes her home in Huron county ; Robert, of this review ; Tracy, living in
Peru township, who wedded Julius Link; John, who lives at Fostoria, Ohio;
Stella, the wife of Andrew Itesman and two who died in infancy.
Robert March obtained his education in the district schools and since the
age of twelve years has made his home continuously in Peru township. In
February, 1864. he enlisted as a soldier of the Union army, becoming a member
of Company A, One Hundred and Ninety-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry.
The regiment went to Camp Chase and was then sent to Virginia and participated
in a number of skirmishes. Mr. March was mustered out on the 2d of Septem-
ber, 1865, and returned home with a most creditable military record, having
never faltered in the performance of any task assigned him. The farm of thirty-
six acres which he now owns and operates has been his place of residence for
about fifty- four years and in the conduct of his agricultural interests he has
won a well deserved and creditable degree of success. He has erected a commo-
dious and attractive residence, as well as substantial barn and other outbuildings
and the air of neatness and thrift which pervades the place indicates the super-
vision of a practical and progressive owner.
On the 13th of January, 1874, Mr. March was united in marriage to Miss
Louisa Hertzman. a native of Germany, who was brought to the United States
382
HISTORY or HURON COUNTY
by her parents. Anthony and Lena 1 krtzinan. when two years of ajje. The
family located in Seneca county. Ohio. Unto Mr. and Mrs. March have been
born eight children, namely: Cnrolin?, who has passed away; Charles, living at
Norwalk. Ohio, who wedded Miss Lizzie Rustein, by whom he has three daugh-
ters ; Mary, also a resilient of Norwalk. who gave her hand in marriage to
William Longyear. by whom she has one son. Albert : Rose, living at Norwalk,
is the wife of Frank Blendsley and has three children. Walter. Clifford and
Irene; Lizzie, a resident of Monroeville. is the wife of Charles Lord, by whom
she has three children. Harold, Rose and Fdna : William, who likewise makes
his home at Norwalk ; Tillie. living at Monroeville, who is the wife of George
Palding, by whom she has one child. Gilbert; and one who died in infancy.
In his political views Mr. March is a stanch republican and has capably served
his fellow townsmen in the positions of school director and road supervisor.
In religious faith he is a Catholic and belongs to the church of that denomina-
tion at Monroeville. His genuine personal worth and many sterling traits of
character have gained him the friendship and regard of those with whom he
has been associated, and in matters of citizenship he is as loyal to his adopted
country as when he followed the old flag on southern battlefields.
GEORGE E. CAN FIELD.
George E. Canfield, farmer and oil operative of Wakeman township is a
worthy descendant of one of the pioneer families of the county, his wife also
claiming distinction in that respect, the Shermans having been equally well
and favorably known in the days of "auld lang syne." They live in one of the
most lovely of the fine farm homes familiar to Huron county residents — sup-
plied with all the modern conveniences and comforts, and with choice books,
music and flowers, and a congenial and refined atmosphere pervading it all — a
place where intimate friend and partial stranger alike love to linger.
George E. Canfield's nativity lies right where he now lives, the date having
been April 8. 1849. His farm is the first one owned by his father, Calvert C
Canfield, of splendid reputation among the older residents of the county. An
elder brother of George E. is treated elsewhere in this volume, and the reader is
referred to his sketch for further family data. George E. Canfield was the young-
est of the family. He was liberally educated, passing from the public schools
to Oberlin College and Merlin Heights Academy. In the interim of his school
life, he learned under the master hand of his father to cultivate the old home-
stead, and thus at age found himself competent to handle all the problems of
farm life. He was married in the year of his majority, October 1 1. 1870, to Miss
Florence G. Sherman, a daughter of John and Julia ( lleccher) Sherman. They
were farmers of Wakeman township, their ancestry hailing from Rridgewater.
Connecticut, and settling in Huron about 1818. Mrs. Canfield's mother died in
young womanhood, she being her only child, and John Sherman married a
second time. He died in l8<;o, full of years, respected by all.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
3«:5
To Mr. ami Mrs. Canfield have been horn two children, the elder of whom.
Mary F., horn February 2<>. 1874. died May 20. 1875. The younger, also named
Mary F., born June 11, 1876, is now the wile of Farl H. Jaynes, an attorney or"
Cleveland. Ohio. Mr. Canfield brought his wife, at marriage, direct to the home
roof and here they have since lived. There are one hundred and one acres in the
old homestead, fine and fair to look upon. Indeed it is kept more like a park,
with its private golf links, and splendid, tiled fields. In connection with his farm-
ing interests Mr. Canfield has, of late years, in company with his brother-in-
law, John M. Sherman, operated in oil at Fremont, Ohio, and quite successfully.
A republican in politics, he casts an intelligent vote, but eschews o'fice. He
and his family are active workers in the Congregational church and Sunday
school, of which he has been a trustee for fifteen years. Their home, open to
a host of refined and cultured friends from city and countryside. Mr. and Mrs.
Canfield wield a powerful influence for good throughout Huron county.
W. F. GILL, M. D.
As a citizen as well as a physician. Dr. Gill takes high rank in Xorwalk. He
was born in Ridgeville, Huron county. August 16, 1855. His father. Fdward
Gill, was born on the Isle of Man and when twenty-five years of age crossed the
Atlantic to the new world, establishing his home in this county. He was a ship
carpenter by trade and a fine mechanic, but after taking up his abode in Ohio
his attention was turned to general farming, which he followed just across the
line in Frie county. He mnrried Miss Fsther Young, a daughter of Lazarus
Young and a native of Huron county. It was after the birth of their son. Dr.
Gill, that the parents removed to Erie county, where the father continu nisly en-
gaged in fanning until his life's labors were ended in death in i8',*<>. His family
numbered four sons and six daughters, who were a credit and honor to his name
Dr. Gill supplemented his early education acquired in the district schools
by study in the high school of Monrocville, and also in the Ohio State Univer-
sity at Athens. His literary training therefore proved an excellent foundation
upon which to build the superstructure of his professional knowledge. He
entered upon the study of medicine under the direction of Doctors Maguire and
Morrell, old and prominent physicians of Xorwalk, and later was graduated from
the I'ulte Medical College, of Cincinnati, v. ith the class of 1876. He at once
located in Xorwalk for the practice of his profession and has since maintained his
office here. Throughout the entire time he Ins livid in the s un? locality and
is one of the best known citizens of the county. Following his graduation he
practiced for some time in partnership with his old preceptor. Dr. Morrell. and
has since been alone, lie is widely recognized as a physician of marked ability
and of thorough understanding of the scientific principles of the profession.
ITe has ever kept abreast with the trend of modern thought, research and in-
vestigation, and while he is not hasty in discrediting the old and time-tried
methods of practice, at the same- time he quickly ta'<es up any new idea which he
believes will prove of practical value in his chosen life work.
Digitized by Google
384
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
In 1879 Dr. Gill was married to Miss Sarah A. Cline, a daughter of John
Cline, one of the pioneer residents of this city. They now have one son, Robert
Cline. who was born November 17. 1888. Dr. Gill is a prominent Mason, hav-
ing attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish rite. He is most highly
respected as a citizen and one whose efforts in behalf of public progress have
been valuable elements in its welfare and upbuilding. He has cooperated in mam
movements that have been beneficial to both the city and county and in all of
his citizenship manifests a most patriotic spirit. In professional lines he is
connected with the Huron County Medical Society, of which he is the secre-
tary, and with the Ohio State Medical Society. Anything which tends to bring
to man the key to the complex mystery which we call life is of interest to him.
and his ability and devotion to his professional work have long been recognized
and have won him honorable success.
NORMAN A. BARNES.
Norman A. Barnes, the owner of considerable property in the town of Belle-
vue, was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, June 28. 1824, the son of
Norman and Sybel (Parker) Barnes, both of whom lived in that county until
their death, which occurred in the case of the father in 1838. when he was but
forty-seven years of age. The mother, on the other hand lived to the advanced
age of ninety-two, having known forty-five years of widowhood. The loneliness
of these, however, was alleviated through the loving care of ten children, though
but few of these exhibited the hardiness of life that distinguished her. Of this
large family but one beside the subject of this sketch survives, James C, the
fourth son. Those deceased are Walter S.. Sylvester, Charles, Lucinda. Mamie.
Jane, and two who did not live beyond the period of childhood.
Norman A. Barnes, who was the eighth in this large family, spent the first
nineteen years of his life in the county of his birth. From there he went to
Lewis county. New York, where he learned the trade of harncssmaker and lived
for two years. In 1845 he came west to Ohio, pursuing his trade in various
cities of the state, such as Dayton, Cincinnati, and others, until in 1849, when he
came to Bellevue. Here he started in the harness business on Main street,
and though he was more than moderately successful, his health began to fail
him after four years' application and he gave it up. He then commenced buy-
ing and selling live stock, seeking a market in New York and other cities in the
east. For upwards of forty years he was engaged in this business, changing
his methods with the changes that passed over the country during all those
years, for when he first commenced dealing in live stock, he was wont to go
on horseback over the country to any place he heard that fine animals were to
be procured. When he retired from active participation in the business, the life
of a stockman had become in many particulars a less strenuous one.
On the 10th of October, 1850, Mr. Barnes was united in marriage to Miss
Julia A. Sloane. a daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Skinner) Sloane. who were
born August 18, 1786, and January 13. 1792, respectively. Their birth fol-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY 385
lowed shortly upon the permanent establishment of the federal government, and
their deaths, the father's occurring November 4, 1850, the mother's, March
13. 1862, antedated by but a few years the great struggle for this same govern-
ment's preservation. Mr. Sloanc was a native of Vermont and his wife of New
Hampshire. Their union was blessed with nine children, all of whom but Mrs.
Barnes, the youngest, have passed away. The others were Flavilla, Annetta,
Elvira. Luanda, Joseph. William, Sirenus and Elizabeth. Mrs. Barnes was
born in York, Livingston county, New York, on the 22d of January, 1828. and
was the mother of two children, both of whom she survives. Ella F., who was
born October 16. 1851, died February 1. 1900; and Julia F., born July 2, 1853,
died in September the year following.
Fraternally Mr. Barnes is connected with the Masons, and has the distinc-
tion of being the oldest member of the Rellevue Lodge, No. 273 A. F. & A. M.
Some years ago he was presented with a fine knife, which is hereafter to descend
and to be the property of the oldest member. From 1866, Mr. Barnes dates his
affiliation with the organization, and during that time was chaplain of the blue
lodge, and counsellor for ten years. In politics he gives his allegiance to the
republican party and has served as councilman of his town for a number of
years as the choice of his party. In the Congregational church, of which he has
been a member for sixty-two years, he has held the honorable position of deacon
for a long time. In short, he is a man who in the many years he has made
Bellcvue his home, has ever stood for its advancement and stability. He is well
known, and the reputation which has spread abroad concerning him is one that
might be a credit to any man. There are but few who can boast that they have
lived five years past a half-century in the same house.
FRANK J. WALTER.
Frank J. Walter is the owner of a finely improved farm of seventy acres in
Ridgefield township, where he successfully and energetically carries on his
agricultural interests. His birth occurred in Peru township, Huron county, on
the 28th of March, 1857, his parents being Joseph and Biligaldas (Snyder)
Walter, both of whom were natives of Baden, Germany. The former, who was
born in 1825, was but six years of age when he made the voyage to the United
States with his father. Frantz Walter, who was engaged in the butchering busi-
ness in this county at an early day, supplying meat for the men employed on the
construction of the Lake Shore Railroad. This venture did not prove profitable,
however, as he lost considerable money through a dishonest foreman. Joseph
Walter, the father of our subject, obtained his early education in the district
schools and was identified with agricultural pursuits throughout his active
business career. He purchased his farm from Christ Duffncr and as the years
went by made many substantial improvements on the property, erecting a com-
modious and attractive residence as well as good barns and outbuildings. He
capably served in the position of township trustee for a number of years and
was a communicant of the Catholic church at Monroeville, in the faith of which
Digitized by Google
386 HISTORY OF HI RON COUNTY
he passed away in 1907. His wife, whose birth had occurred in 1829, was called
to her final rest in i8<>»j. L'nto this worthy couple were horn six children, namely:
Dennis, who i> deceased; Frank J-, of this review; William; Emma, who has
also passed away; Jennie, who is the widow of Henry Zip ft 1 and reside- at
Monrocville, Ohio; and Adolph.
Frank J. Walter supplemented his preliminary education, acquired in the
district schools, by a course of study at Notre Dame and since putting aside his
text-books has given his time and energies in undivided manner to the work of
the fields. As before stated, his farm comprises seventy acres of productive
land in Ridgcfield township, which he purchased from his father's estate, lit-
is a thorough student of the scientific methods of farming and has adopted all
that is progressive in that line. This, together with his untiring industry and
unremitting energy, has made him one of the prosperous and representative
agriculturists, as well as substantial citizens, of his native county.
In the spring of 18*14 .Mr. Walter was united in marriage to Miss Sadie
Spohrcr. a daughter of Joseph and Tracy Spohrer, who were natives of Ger-
many and became residents of Huron county. Ohio, on their emigration to the
new world. I nto Mr. and Mrs. Walter have been born two children. Adela and
Albert, both at home. Mr. Walter is a devoted and faithful member of thf
Catholic church. He has been a resident of this county throughout his entire
life ami that his career has ever been an upright and honorable one is indicated
by the fact that the associates of his boyhood and youth are still numbered among
his stanch friends and admirers.
DANIEL E. SHKDD.
It is but proper that the name of Daniel K. Shedd should be mentioned in this
volume in connection with the honored dead of Huron county, for he was for
many years one of the progressive and public spirited men of Norwalk township,
where he was engaged in farming pursuits. He was a native of this county, born
in Peru township, February 23, 1839, a son of Mr. and Mrs. Enoch Shedd. The
former was a native of New York state and was a Minute Man in the Revolu-
tionary war.
Daniel E. Shedd, whose name introduces this record, was reared in Huron
county and started out in the business world as a railroad employe, acting as con-
ductor on a train for nine years. In 1874. however, he purchased a farm of seventy-
five acres in Norwalk township, which he operated during the remainder of his
active business career, or until his death, which occurred June 14. 1896, and this
property is still in possession of his widow. In his work Mr. Shedd always dis-
played a most progressive spirit and in his undertakings met with success so that
he was numbered among the county's substantial fanners and public spirited men
It was on the 1st of January. 1863. that Mr. Shedd was married, the lady of his
choice being Miss Mary Jane Standish. who was l)orn April 4. 1841. in North
Fairfield. Huron county. Her paternal grandfather was Peleg Standish, who
was born in New York. Her father. Zachariah Standish. was a farmer by occu-
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
38<J
pation and is now deceased. He was a direct descendant of Miles Standish, a
renowned military leader and the subject of Longfellow's celebrated poem en-
titled The Courtship of Miles Standish. Zachariah Standish wedded Miss Lucy
Smith, a daughter of Aaron and Esther Smith, residents of North Fairfield, Huron
county. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Shedd was blessed with two sons and one
daughter. Edward D., the eldest, wedded Miss Alice House, of Norwalk, a
daughter of Hiram K. House, who once served as mayor of that city. Their chil-
dren, three in number, are Charles G., Earl and Mary E. Charles S., the next
member of the Shedd family, is with his mother on the home farm, which he is
operating. Maisie, the only daughter, is the wife of Albert B. Kittinger, a resi-
dent of East Townsend, Huron county, and they have one son, Clair Shedd Kit-
tinger. who was born in 1898. All the children were accorded liberal educational
advantages, completing their studies in the Norwalk schools.
Mr. Shedd was identified with the agricultural life of this section of the state
for almost a quarter of a century and during this time took a deep interest in the
advancement and progress that was made in this direction. He led a busy, use-
ful life, was honorable in all business dealings, considerate of the welfare of his
family, and thus his death, which occurred June 14, 1896, when he had reached
the age of fifty-seven years, was mourned not only by the members of his own
household but as well by a host of warm and admiring friends.
CHARLES GODFRED.
Charles Godfred, a well known and prosperous agriculturist of Bronson
township, was born in Bavaria, Germany, in 1837, a son of Philip and Barbara
(HertU Godfred. When but a small babe he was brought to this country by
his parents, the family home being established in Huron county, Ohio. The
brothers and sisters of our subject are as follows: Philip, Adam, Jacob, Peter,
Louis, Harriett, Minnie and Caroline.
In early manhood Charles Godfred was employed for six years as the
traveling representative of a firm dealing in agricultural implements and like-
wise held a position as bookkeeper in Fort Wayne, Indiana. He worked in
various capacities in different parts of the country but since the time of his
marriage has devoted his attention to general agricultural pursuits and still lives
on his farm in Bronson township. By reason of his persistent and unflagging
energy, guided by sound judgment, he has won a creditable and commendable
measure of prosperity in his undertakings and has gained wide and favorable
recognition as a substantial, representative and respected citizen of his com-
munity. He can read and speak German, French and English and is well edu-
cated in these languages.
In 1872, Mr. Godfred was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Brandt, a
native of Ohio and a daughter of Casper and Mary Brandt, who came to this
state from Switzerland. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Godfred have been born the fol-
lowing children: Henry C, Frank, Ralph, Louisa and Laura. The parents are
consistent and faithful members of the German Reformed church and arc highly
Digitized by Google
390
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
esteemed as people of genuine personal worth and upright, honorable lives.
Though Mr. Godfred has now passed the Psalmist's allotted span of three score
years and ten. in spirit and interests he seems yet in his prime and his active
and useful career has made him well worthy the respect and regard which are
uniformly accorded him.
ALP.F.RT C. WILLIAMS.
Alhert C. Williams, a representative and prosperous agriculturist of Lyme
township, owning a valuable farm of ninety-one acres, has continuously lived on
this place from his birth to the present time, his natal day being April 5, [837.
His parents were C. C. and Mary Williams, the former born May 15. 1796. and
the latter on the 22(1 of August. 1795. In the year of 1834 they made their
way from Orange, New Jersey, to Lyme township. Huron county, the father
purchasing the farm which is now the property of his son. Alhert C. He was
successfully identified with agricultural interests throughout his active business
career and remained a worthv and respected resident of the community until
called to his final rest on the 15th of lune, 1862. His wife, surviving him for
a number of years, passed away December 23. 1887. in her ninety-third year,
in the faith of the Kpiscopal church, with which Mr. Williams was also affiliated.
Unto this worthy couple were born nine children. Sarah E„ whose birth oc-
curred January 27. 1823, died on the 25th of January. 1890. Abraham, born
August 4. 1824. passed away September 24, 1824. Phoebe Harriet, who first
opened her eyes to the light of day on the 27th of October. 1825, was called to
her home beyond on the 8th of April. 1907, Abraham W.. who was born Jan-
uary 6. 1828, met death on the 1 6th of August. 1844. being kicked by a horse.
Mary Frances, born May 6, 1830, passed away on the 28th of October, 1889.
Caleb Dayton, whose birth occurred April f», 1832. did active duty in the Union
army as first lieutenant of Company P.. One Hundred and Twenty-third Ohio
Volunteer Infantry, and was killed in the service on the 18th of July. 1864.
Benjamin Heber. born May 13, 1834. likewise laid down his life on the altar of
his country, being killed while serving as a private of Company B, One Hundred
and Twenty-third Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Albert C. of this review, is the
next in order of birth. Charles H.. who was born December 9, 1840. passed away
on the 9th of November. 1890.
Albert C. Williams attended the district schools in pursuit of an education
and early in life also became familiar with the duties and labors that fall to the
lot of the agriculturist, for he assisted his father in the cultivation of the home
farm. On attaining man's estate he chose as a life work the occupation to which
he had been reared and in his farming operations has met with that measure of
prosperity which is ever the reward of persistent and untiring labor when
guided by sound judgment and keen discrimination.
On the 5th of December, i8f>6, Mr. Williams was joined in wedlock to Miss
Mary Frith, whose birth occurred in Lyme township. December 10. 1843. her
parents being George and Flizabeth Ann Frith, who were natives of London,
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OK HIROX COUNTY
391
England, and in 1834 established their home in Lyme township. Huron county,
Ohio. Into Mr. and Mrs. Williams have been horn six children. Gertrude E.
and P.enjamin II.. who reside at home, are engaged in the conduct of a dairy
Herbert K.. living in Lyme township, wedded Miss Mary Southworth. by whom
he has one child. Albert K. Dayton A., who married Miss Julia Cavanaugh,
makes his home in Tacoma. Washington. Alice K.. is the wife of Dr. Rufus
Southworth and has two children. Edward and Elizabeth Ann. twins. They
reside at Glendale. Hamilton county. Ohio. Harold P.. is a resident of Tacoma,
Washington.
In his political views Mr. Williams is a stalwart and inflexible republican
and has capably served his fellow townsmen in various positions of public trust
and responsibility. He was township trustee for four years, acted as county
commissioner from 1873 until 1882 and has also been a member of the school
hoard, ever discharging his official duties in a prompt and efficient manner. He
is a life-long member of the Episcopal church at Monroeville and for twenty years
has been its senior warden. Having spent their entire lives in this county, both
he and his wife are widely and favorably known within its borders, while their
many excellent traits of character have gained them the respect and esteem of
all with whom they have been associated.
W. II. SATTIG.
On the roster of capable and loyal public officials in Huron county appears the
name of W. II. Sattig, one of the native sons of Norwalk township, his birth
having there occurred on the 17th of September. 1861. His father, Martin
Sattig. was a native of Alsace, Germany, born in 181 1. and the year 1826 wit-
nessed his arrival in Norwalk township. After a brief period he removed to
Ashland county. Ohio, where he lived for a year and then went to St. Louis,
where he remained for three years. On the expiration of that period he re-
turned to Xorwalk and after a short time passed in the city gave his attention to
fanning interests, which he followed about two miles from the county scat.
There he lived until 1887. when he removed to the town, continuing to make it
his place of residence until he was called to his final home in 1895. He was
a man greatly respected because of his genuine personal worth, his good quali-
ties winning him warm friendships wherever he was known. He married a Miss
Humm. a native of Erance, and they became the parents of eleven children, four
sons and seven daughters, all born in the same house in Norwalk township
Eight of this number are still residents of Huron county.
W. H. Sattig acquired his early education in the country schools and after-
ward attended Milan Academy. He crossed the threshold of the business world
as an employee of the Lake Shore Railroad Company, with which he continued
until 1890, when he became night policeman in Norwalk. On his retirement from
that position he spent five years in the employ of the Chase Piano Company,
after which he was again called to public office, serving as marshal of the city
for two terms. He had previously learned the carpenter's trade in his youth
Digitized by Google
392
HISTORY OK HURON COUNTY
and after the expiration of his term as marshal he again took up work along that
line. He also engaged in farming until he was elected sheriff of the county
in 1907. He is the first democrat ever chosen to the office and in his election over-
came a normal republican majority of fifteen to eighteen hundred, being elected
by nearly seven hundred votes ahead of his opponent, which indicates his per-
sonal popularity and the confidence and trust reposed in him.
In 1884 Mr. Sattig was married to Miss Lena A. Meyers, a daughter of
Jacob Meyers, one of the well known pioneer residents of Norwalk township.
They new have one daughter. Emma W. Mr. Sattig is connected with the
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and with the Knights of the Macca-
bees. He is familiarly known throughout the county as "Hank*" Sattig. What
is more pleasing than a nickname? It indicates close friendship and kindly
regard, congenial companionship and attractive social qualities. All these are
characteristic of Mr. Sattig, who has been a life-long resident of Huron county
and in his official and business relations has made a creditable record. More than
eight decades have passed since the family was first established in this part of
the state and in the intervening years the representatives of the name have
borne a commendable share in the work of general improvement and progress
here.
M ELY IN J. HURST.
Melvin J. Hurst, a prominent farmer of Wakeman township and a representa-
tive of one of the pioneer families of the county, was lx)rn in Camden. Lorain
county. Ohio, May 18. 1864. His parents, John and Mary (Longeway) Hurst,
were natives of Quebec. Canada, where they resided until 1854, when they
came to the United States and settled in Lorain county. There in a prosperous
farming country they took up their residence with the pioneers, becoming one of
them, not only by long residence, but by the substantial qualities of good citizen-
ship. For sixteen years the father engaged in farming in Lorain county, when
he moved his family to Wakeman, where they have since resided. There were
four children in the family: Pamelia. Noble G., Margaret and Melvin J., all
of whom are living except Pamelia. The father died in October. 1892. and
the mother May 29, 1907. The three deceased members of the family lie in
Wakeman cemetery.
Melvin J. Hurst, the youngest son. who forms the immediate subject of thi>
review, was educated in the public schools of Wakeman. This schooling, to-
gether with the experimental knowledge acquired during his youth, as assistant
in the general farm work, laid the foundation of his present prosperity.
On January 4, 1890. Mr. Hurst married Miss Jennie Beecher, a daughter of
Horace and Fannie I Pierce) Beecher. Both the Pierce and Beecher families
were among the very early pioneers of Huron county and were prominent in the
development which followed. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Hurst eight chil-
dren were born, seven sons and a daughter: Horace B.. John M.. Lynn M.. Helen
M.. Harold W., Kenneth. Elten and Charles W., all living at home. After mar-
riage Mr. Hurst farmed in another part of the county until 1893. when he re-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OK HURON* COUNTY
35)3
moved to the old homestead in the central part of Wakeman township, where
he has since resided. His specialty is general and systematic farming, though
he raises stock to some extent. He has a farm of one hundred and seven acres
and the yield per acre is unusually large under his skillful management. Few
farms in the township equal it in productive values.
Mr. Hurst exhibits fine public spirit and is always interested in the affairs
of his county. He served a period of three years as trustee of his township.
In politics he is a stanch republican, one of the stand-patters, but he takes only
such part in the affairs of his party as is consistent with good citizenship, not
caring for office. His beliefs arc embodied in public improvements, good roads,
best of educational advantages, and he insists on an honest expenditure of the
public money.
Socially Mr. Hurst is a member of the Maccabees, and in Christian work the
Congregational church claims his family's allegiance, the whole family being
active workers in that organization. Both Mr. and Mrs. Hurst believe in higher
education and the younger members of the family will be given the best. The
home itself represents the character and thoughts of the family, being well sup-
plied with good standard and current literature and bearing every evidence of its
refining influence.
JOHN C. RANSOM.
John C. Ransom, who for more than six decades was numbered among the
most prominent and respected residents of Huron county, was born in Lyme,
Connecticut, on the nth of August, 1819, and passed away June 4, 1903, when
he had attained the age of eighty-three years, nine months and twenty-four days.
His parents were Captain Judah and Nancy M. Ransom. The father was one
of the pioneers of modern navigation on the great chain of lakes, having been
the first navigator who sailed to the upper lakes and returned. Those of the
early settlers of this county who still survive, well remember the fatal voyage of
the "Helen Marx" in 1840. The boat left Sandusky in November with a cargo
of wheat and was wrecked at Point Abino, twenty miles from Buffalo, carrying
to a watery grave her heroic commander, Captain Judah Ransom, and his
entire crew. Captain Ransom's widow and her children were left to fight the
battles incident to life in the Firelands in those early days, the Captain having
acquired several hundred acres of land in Hartland township, Huron county,
Ohio. The children were three in number, as follows : Elizabeth D., Charles H.
and John C.
The last named took up his abode in Hartland township in 1842, and by his
well directed and unremitting efforts transformed a timber tract into a produc-
tive farm and beautiful home. Surrounded, as we are in this day, with highly
developed farms and attractive and palatial residences, it is difficult for those
who are enjoying the fruits of the labor of those sturdy pioneer farmers who
wrought this mighty change, to appreciate the task of the transforming hand.
Coming from stanch New England stock, Mr. Ransom inherited all those noble
394
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
qualities with which the Puritan was endowed, thus fitting him for the hard-
ships lie was called upon to endure. Success eventually crowned his labors
and he became one of the most prosperous and influential residents of the county.
He owned about one thousand two hundred and forty acres of valuable land and
also had other financial interests.
In 1844 Mr. Ransom was united in marriage to Miss Gitty Ann Johnson,
whose birth occurred December 28. 1823 in Middlesex county. New Jersey
her parents being William and Lydia Johnson, natives of the state of New Jer-
sey, In 1835 they made their way to Hartland township, this county, becoming
prominent frctors in the pioneer development and upbuilding of the community.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Ransom were born four children, the record of whom is a*
follows, George W., a resident of Wellington. Ohio, married Miss Olive C. Case,
a daughter of Charles and Fine-line Case, of Clarksfield township. They have
one daughter, Anna F.. now the wife of Frederick Frazier. of I'ottstown. Penn-
sylvania. Mary C. Random and her brother. Charles J., both reside on the old
homestead in Hartland township. John H.. the second member of the family,
is deceased, having been called to his final rest on the 22(1 of February. 18/0.
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Sarah Ann Snyder, was a daughter of
Benjamin F. and Mary ( T.iddinger ) Snyder, of Ashland county. Ohio. She stil!
survives her husband and the two daughters of her marriage are also yet living.
They are: Lena M., the wife of Holland S. Donaldson, of Cleveland: and Mary
I., who is the wife of Clifton D. Tucker, of Los Angeles. California. The death
of Mrs. Gitty Ann Ransom, the wife of John C. Ransom, occurred on the Qth of
March. 1892, about eleven years prior to the demise of her husband.
Mr. Ransom exercised his right of franchise in support of the men and meas-
ures of the republican party hut. though a man of strong political convictions, he
had no desire for the honors and emoluments of office, for he was quiet and re-
tiring in disposition and preferred the seclusion of his own pleasant home to the
glamour of publicity. He was deprived of educational advantages in his youth-
ful years but had such an inherent fondness for b4K>ks that he easily overcame
this lack of early mental training and in later years became recognized as a widely
informed and well educated man. Honorable in business, loyal in citizenship,
charitable in thought, kindly in action, true to every trust confided to his care,
he commanded the respect of a large circle of friends and acquaintances. As
before stated, his son and daughter. Mary C. and Charles J., now live on the old
family homestead in Hartland township — celebrated for its attractive surround-
ings as well as for its hospitable and refined atmosphere.
S. H. COOK.
S. H. Cook, a well known business man of Bellevue, Ohio, was born in Seneca
county. New York, October 22, 1844, the son of Flihu and Lorinda ( Hall ) Cook.
The mother died there two years after the birth of this son. at the early age of
twenty-eight, and the father subsequently came to Ohio, settling in Huron county.
He lived here but a short time, when he removed to Republic, Seneca county, Ohio,
Digitized by Google
S. H. COOK
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
397
where he made his home for some five years. From there he went to Michigan,
and in Clinton county, that state, his death occurred in 1861, at the age of forty-
six. By his first marriage Mr. Cook had two sons: Artemus, who lives in St
Louis, Michigan ; and S. H. Cook, our subject. By his second marriage, his wife
being Miss Magdalena Burbick, he had two more children : William, who lives at
College Place, Washington ; and Elihu, whose home is in Bay City, Michigan.
S. H. Cook lived in Michigan some few months after his father's death and
then came to Bellevue, where he enlisted in Company D, Thirty-fourth Ohio
Volunteer Infantry, the First Piatt Zouaves. His experiences in the war of the
Rebellion were numerous and the list of his campaigns, which is a long one, may
be summarized as follows: he enlisted at Flat Rock, Ohio, August 22, 1862, joined
regiment at Point Pleasant, Virginia, in September; participated in battle of Buf-
falo Gap, West Virginia, September 27, 1862; Manassas Gap, Virginia. Novem-
ber 5. 1862; Wytheville, Virginia, July 17, 1863: Averills raid through West
Virginia, August 25th to the 30th, 1863: Princeton. West Virginia, May 6, 1863;
Clovd Mountain, Virginia. May 9, 1864; Cove Mountain, Virginia, May Qth and
10th. 1864; New River. Virginia, May 10, 1864; Salt Pond Mountain, June 1,
1864: Panthers Gap. West Virginia, June 3. 1864; Piedmont, Virginia, June 5,
1864: Buffalo Gap. West Virginia, June 6, 1864; Lexington, West Virginia, June
10th and nth, 1864; Buchanan, West Virginia, June 14, 1864; Otter Creek, Vir-
ginia. June 16, 1864: Lynchburg. Virginia, June 17th and 18th, 1864; Liberty,
Virginia. June 20, 1864: Salem, Virginia, June 21, 1864: Monocacy, Maryland,
July 9, 1864; Snickers Gap. Virginia. July 17, 1864; Snickers Ferry. Virginia,
July 18, 1864: Winchester, Virginia. July 20. 1864; Kernstown, Virginia, July
23, 1864: Winchester, Virginia, July 24, 1864; Martinsburg, Virginia, July 25,
1864: Summit Point, Virginia, August 21. 1864; Halltown, Virginia, August 24-
26-27. 1864; Berryville, Virginia, September 3, 1864; Opequan, Virginia, Septem-
ber 19, 1864; Fishers Hill, Virginia, September 22, 1864; Strasburg, Virginia,
October q. 1864. Later he was sent to the hospital at Baltimore on the sick list,
where he remained until discharged from the army, June 7, 1865. Upon return-
ing from service he came to Bellevue, but remained here only two months, when
he went to Michigan, which was the scene of his labors for about three years.
From there he came again to Bellevue. where he has lived ever since.
On the 2d of December, 1873, Mr. Cook was united in marriage to Miss
Caroline Baughman, the daughter of Hieronymous Baughman, of Bellevue. Mr.
Cook's old regiment chaplain performed the ceremony and blessed the couple, such
being the wish of the man who endured so much on the field of battle when the
Rev. Collier's words of counsel gave added courage. No children have been born
of this marriage.
In his youth Mr. Cook learned the cooper's trade, at which he worked for
some time, and for a few years he served as a grocery clerk, but it is as the
proprietor of a restaurant that he is best known, for he has been engaged in that
business for the past twenty-five years. He has other commercial interests, for
he is a stockholder and a member of the board of directors of the Bellevue Kraut
Company. Me belongs to the local post of the Grand Army of the Republic and
in the company of his fellow soldiers revives the memories of those four years
of fighting. His fraternal affiliations are with the Royal Arcanum, of which he
Digitized by Google
398
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
is a devoted member, and in Masonry he holds membership in the blue lodge,
chapter and council. Mr. Cook is one of that rapidly diminishing body of men
who are living examples of a militant patriotism. As an old soldier and for the
qualities of noble manhood which he possesses, he is respected among those who
know him.
LOUIS (IK INK.
Louis Urine, the owner of a tract of land of one hundred and eighty acres in
Peru township, devotes his attention to farming, which George Washington desig-
nated as "the mo»t useful as well as the most honorable occupation of man."
His birth occurred in Sherman township, Huron county. Ohio, on the 23d of
January, 18G9, his parents being Alois and Kathryn (. Houch) Urine, the former
a native of Germany and the latter of Peru township, this county. The father,
whose birth occurred in. the year 1X40, set sail for the United States in 1861 and
after landing on the shores of the' new world, he came to Sherman township, this
county, where he worked at carpentering for a number of years, having learned
that trade in his native country. Subsequently he purchased eighteen acres of
land in Sherman township and later bought more land in Peru township. Loth
he and his wife still survive and make their home in Sherman township, being
well known and highly esteemed throughout the community as people of gen-
uine personal worth. His wife, who was born in Peru township on the nth of
November. 1846. was a daughter of Lawrence and Kathryn Houch, early set-
tlers of this county. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Alois Grine were lx>rn nine children,
as follows: Emma, who is the wife of August Miller and resides on a farm near
Tiffin, Ohio; Louis, of this review; Joseph, a resident of Buffalo, New York;
Mary, living in Cleveland. Ohio; Daniel, of Peru township; Peter, who makes
his home at Ellwood City, Pennsylvania; George, who lives in Washington, near
the Pacific coast; Rose, who resides near Tiffin. Ohio; and Edward, of Buffalo,
New York.
In the acquirement of an education Louis Grine attended the district and
German schools of Sherman township and there continued to make his home until
twenty-seven years of age. since which time he has resided in Peru township.
In 1SS2. be bought from Eli Ellis the farm of one hundred and eighty acres
which he now operates and the many substantial improvements which are seen on
the property bespeak his thrift and enterprise. He raises the cereals best adapted
to soil and climate and annually garners bounteous harvests as the result of his
care and labor in the cultivation of the fields.
On the 23d of January. ior>o. Mr. Grine was united in marriage to Miss Isa-
bellc Fisher, a native of Sherman township and a daughter of George and Jo-
sephine I Setterly) Fisher, who were born in Germany, but arc now residents of
Sherman township. They reared a family of ten children, namely : George ; Eliza-
beth ; Joseph, who is now deceased; Marx: Mary; Carrie; Rose; Isabell, now
Mrs. Grine; William; and Catherine. Mr. and Mrs. Grine have no children of
their own, but have an adopted son. George Eckert. whom they took from the
Cleveland Home.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
399
In January. 1008. as a candidate of the democratic parly. Mr. Grine was
elected a township trustee and i> therefore the present incunthent in that posi-
tion. He likewise held the office of road supervisor in Sherman township for
a number of vears. Both he and his wife are faithful communicants of the Catho-
lic church at Monroeville and have an extensive circle of warm friends through-
out the county in which their entire lives have been Spent.
L 1*. IIEXSIXGER.
I.. l\ Hensinger. mayor of Chicago Junction and also well known in con-
nection with the business interests of the city, being now engaged in real estate
dealing, was bom in Indiana. August 4. 1803. Hi- father. John Hensinger, was
a native of Pennsylvania, and came to Seneca county. ( )hio, with his parents, where
they lived for a short time, a removal then l>cir.g made to Allen county, Indiana,
where the family became identified with general agricultural pursuits. In i8(»6,
John Hensinger came again to Ohio and once more took up his abode in Seneca
county. He became a prominent farmer, merchant and miller and is still in ac-
tive business there, lie celebrated his golden wedding in 11,04, having been mar-
ried in 1854 to Miss Catherine Newkirk, a native of Ohio. He is a very active
man in both business and public affairs and his influence on the life of the com-
munity is a beneficial and far-reaching one.
I . P. Hensinger was educated in the country schools of Huron county, where
he obtained his diploma, after which he entered the milling business in connection
with his father at \Yc»t Lodi. There he continued lor seven years when he came
to Chicago Junction, arriving in 1893. Here he built and successfully operated
a mill for seven years, after which he leased it and turned his attention to the
grocery business, which he conducted until io/xj. when he sold out ami embarked
in the real estate business. He now has an extensive clientage in this connec-
tion, handling town and farm property, and is doing a very extensive business
throughout the southwest and Canada, while at the same time he is interested in
property in Chicago Junction. He is quite successful, displaying intelligent ap-
preciation of opportunities and at all times keeping well informed concerning
property values. In December. 10,07. he was elected mayor o. Chicago Junc-
tion and is now rilling the office, giving to the city a businesslike and progres-
sive administration. He has also done other important public service, having been
for two years a member of the school board, while for two years he served on
the city council and for two years was on the board of public service, his previous
official duties well qualifying him for the mayoralty, and as chief executive of the
city he has instituted various needed reforms and improvements. He has been
a ven active politician, and a strong testimonial of his popularity is the fact that
he has always received a substantial majority in a republican district although
he is a pronounced democrat. He ever has the courage of his convictions, fear-
lessly advocating any cause that he may espouse.
In iS'-sS. Mr. Hensinger was united in marriage to Miss Laura S. Norris. a
native of Seneca county and a daughter of John T. and Elizabeth Norris. They
Digitized by Google
400
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
have six children: Alia B., Mabel M., Hazel B., Eula E., Delbert N. and Eva
M. The family attend and support the Methodist church, of which Mr. Hensin-
ger is a member. He also belongs to the Masonic fraternity and the Benevolent
and Protective Order of Elks and the Knights of Pythias. His life work has
been characterized by continuous progress, whether in private or business af-
fairs or in public service and the many substantial qualities that he has displayed,
have won him the esteem, good will and confidence of all who know him.
E. D. SACKETT.
E. D. Sackett, engaged in the practice of law in Norwalk, was born near New
London, in Huron county. Ohio, November 7. i860, and is a representative of an
old New England family. His father, D. R. Sackett, was born in Connecticut in
the early '40s and, removing westward to Huron county, carried on the ix-cupa-
tion of farming for a time, but after a brief period removed to New London,
where he lived for many years. He was long connected with the business in-
terests of the town and was a prominent and respected resident there. He served
for some time as justice of the peace and was also elected mayor of the city. In
1803, he removed to Chicago, where he engaged in business for a number of
years, but later went to the Pacific coast and is now a resident of California.
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Mary Jane Washburn, was born in
Huron county, a daughter of James Washburn, who came to this section of the
state at a time when he had to chop his way through the forests. His father.
Joseph Washburn, was one of the very earliest pioneers of northern Ohio and the
founder of the Washburn family which is now a numerous and influential one in
the southeastern part of the county. The death of Mrs. Sackett occurred in 1892,
when she was fifty-three years of age. ere the removal of her husband to Chicago.
E. D. Sackett spent his early childhood under the parental roof, and the schools
of Lebanon and Oberlin, Ohio, afforded him his educational privileges. When
his literary course was completed, he took up the study of law and was graduated
from the Michigan University at Ann Arbor in the class of 1884. He then prac-
ticed in Huron county until 1893. after which he went to Chicago to take charge
of his father's business, for the father's health had failed. E. D. Sackett also
practiced law in the city on the lake and after residing there for a time, went
to San Diego. California, where he engaged in the practice of his profession for
three years. In 1808. he returned to New London, where he opened a law office,
but in 1900. he sought a broader field of labor by a removal to Norwalk. being
engaged on the editorial staff of law publishing department of the Laning Com-
pany for a year and a half. On the expiration of that period, he took up active
practice, which he carries on alone, and that his knowledge of the law is com-
prehensive and exact is manifest in the success which has attended him in the
trial of his cases. Ernest effort, close application and the exercise of his native
talents have won him prestige as a lawyer at a bar which has numbered many
eminent men.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
401
In 188.). Mr. Sackctt was married to Miss May Johnson, a daughter of Alvin
Johnson, and a granddaughter of David Johnson, a prominent early citizen and
one of the first sheriffs of the county. Mr. and Mrs. Sackctt have one son, Vic-
tor, who was horn February 24. 1891.
Mr. Sackctt is a member of the Knights of Pythias lodge and also of the
Macabbees tent. His political allegiance is given to the democracy and he is
one of the active workers in its ranks, doing all in his power to promote the
growth and insure the success of the party. He has served as secietary of the
executive committee and is a good manager and organizer. He is widely and
favorably known throughout this, his native county, and his salient characteristics
are of that substantial character which everywhere win respect and regard.
CHARLES A. RUSSELL.
Charles A. Russeli. proprietor of Maple Hill farm in Wakeman township,
was born October 18. 1867. and is a native of the township in which he resides.
He is a son of William H. and Emerette (Palmotier) Russell. The father was
a native of Huron county and his grandfather, Isaac Russell, came from Scotland
as a boy with his parents, who settled in Connecticut. At eighteen years of age
Isaac came to W akeman. where he was married first to a Miss Sisson. who lived
but a year and was the mother oi William H. Isaac Russell was a shoemaker in
Birmingham, Erie county. Ohio, for many years, but farmed after coming to
Huron county. William H. Russell learned the cooper's trade and later engag-
ing in the lumber business, at present resides in Shiloh, Richland county, a pur-
chasing agetit for a large lumber company.
Charles A. Russell was educated in the Wakeman public schools, supple-
menting that knowledge by a term at an academy at Collins. He learned the trade
of tinner, which he followed for five years, spending a like period of time as a
clerk in a clothing store in Wakeman. In 1881, yielding to the call of the great
west, he went to Lincoln. Nebraska, where, for two vears, he worked on a stock
ranch, with a shorter period in a store in the city. Returning to Wakeman in
18S3. he again engaged in clerking, and put in some time at his trade lie then
married and settled down, clerking for two years, and then located on Maple
Hill farm, where he has since resided. This is one of the choice farms of Wake-
man township, containing one hundred and seventy-five acres of splendidly im-
proved bud. with substantial and roomy buildings, all new and modern. His resi-
dence is lighted with acetylene and supplied with water throughout, as are also
all the barns and stables. He engages in general farming, specializing in Merino-
Delaine sheep, being both breeder and feeder. He has been very successful, hand-
ling large Hocks at all times.
Mr. Russell was married December 17. 1889. to Mi<s Bertha D. Rowland, a
daughter of Samuel and Betsy (Wall) Rowland, a sketch of whom appears
elsewhere in this volume. Children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Russell as fol-
lows: Iona E. and Gladys A., both of whom are still inmates of the home.
Digitized by Google
402
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Mr. Russell takes an active interest in the affairs of his home community, sup-
ports republican principles, and he served for three years as presiding judge of
the township board of elections and also as a member of the republican county
central committee. He and his family are members of the Congregational church
and are quite active in all its interests. Mrs. Russeil is a lady of superior attain-
ments, being especially gifted as a vocalist. She was educated in music at the
Oberlin Conservatory. Her public appearances, which are frequent throughout
the county, leave nothing to be desired in the warmth of her reception. A splen-
did home-keeper, she deserves credit for much of her husbands success. Mr.
and Mrs. Russell arc prominent in the social life of the community and are
popular with friends and neighbors.
ELMER E. ROWLAND.
Elmer E. Rowland is a most public-spirited citizen who ever has the interest
of the community at heart, and he is also numbered among the substantial farm-
er <if Huron county owning and operating a tract of one hundred and twenty-
eight acres, in Clarksficld township. This farm was located by this paternal grand-
father, Aaron Rowland, in 1818. he having removed to this place from Con-
necticut. When he settled here, this district was all wild and unimproved and
much of the land was still in possession of the Indians and wild game of all
kinds was abundant. He pos.-e>sed a sturdy character and with energy and deter-
mination at once began to develop and improve his farm.
Daniel Rowland, the father of our subject, was reared to farm life and after
reaching years of maturity, wedded Miss Harriet Chaffee. They reared a family
of f< ur children, one son and three daughters, the sisters of our subject being:
Emma, who died March 30, 1853, aped two years and seven days ; Celia. now the
wife of Dorr Twaddle, a resident of Clarksfield township: and Carrie, who died
November 18. 1870. aged eleven years, ten month and twenty-four days. Event-
ually the father came into possession of the old home farm and through many years
was id:nti£cd with its cultivation. 1 ike his father, he took a very prominent
part in community affairs and the early development and progress of Clarksfield
township is due in large measure to their efforts. Dame' Rowland departed thi v
life September 24. 1881. and he was survived by him wife but a few year-, her
death < ccurriivr on the i-t of June. 1889.
Elmer E Rowland was born on the farm which i- still his home. March 20.
1854. and was early trained to the duties that usually fall to the lot of the farm
lad. In the winter months, he attended the district schools and later spent two
years in study at Oberlin College. He then returned home and to the present
time has given his time and attention to general fanning and stock raising, his
tract consisting of one hundred and twenty-eight acres. The land is rich and
arable, and the place is supplied with substantial buildings, everything being kept
in the best repair.
Mr. Rowland has been married twice. He first established a home of his own
by his marriage on the 25th of October. 1877. to Miss Eva Lee, a daughter of
Digitized by Google
Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
405
John and Sarah (Rood) Lee. To them were born two sons, Ray and Ralph.
Both sons are married, the former making his home in Clarksfield township, while
the latter is engaged in business in Wellington. After a happy married life of
twenty-three years, the wife and mother was called to her final rest, her death
occurring June 2, 1900. For his second wife Mr. Rowland chose Miss Theresa
J. Woodruff, whom he wedded October 29, 1902. She is a daughter of Joel and
Lavina (Stout) Woodruff, and by her marriage has become the mother of a little
daughter, Ruth May, born August 2, 1906.
A republican in politics, Mr. Rowland takes a deep and active interest in all
public affairs. For one term he served as justice of the peace, while for a num-
ber of years he has served on the township board of education and for some time
was president of the board. He is especially interested in good schools that his
children and those of his neighbors may receive the best possible instruction to
fit them for the responsibilities of life. His record in public service has ever been
one of unremitting and tireless toil, while his farming interests are also carried
on with a determination and persistency of purpose that has led to well merited
success.
JOHN A. LEE.
John A. Lee, a progressive and enterprising farmer of Clarksfield township,
is also extensively engaged in the raising and feeding of stock. He was born
in Camden township, Lorain county, Ohio, on the 27th of February, 1861, his
parents being John P. and Sarah J. (Rood) Lee. both natives of the state of
New York. About the year 1833 they were brought to this state by their re-
spective parents, the Lees settling in I>orain county, while the Rood family
located in Stark county. The paternal grandfather of our subject was among
the earliest settlers in Camden township, Lorain county, where he took up his
abode when the district was largely a dense forest in which wild game abounded.
He was a farmer by occupation and as such his labors proved an important
element in the pioneer development and upbuilding of the community, so that he
became widely recognized as a most prominent and valued citizen. John P. Lee,
the father of the gentleman whose name introduces this review, also followed
carpentering throughout his active business career.
John A. Lee obtained his education in the district schools of his native
county and spent his youthful days on his father's farm, assisting the latter in
the work of the fields. He was married when a young man of twenty-two .
years and. starting out as an agriculturist on his own account, has since devoted
his attention to general farming and stock-raising interests with excellent suc-
cess. He raises and feeds stock on quite an extensive scale and this branch of
his business adds not a little to his annual income. His farm comprises ninety-
six acres of well improved and valuable land in Clarksfield township, and his
wife owns a tract of fifty-four acres adjoining.
Mr. Lee has been married twice. On the 19th of March. 1883. he wedded
Miss Sarah E. Barnes, a daughter of Alonzo and Lucretia (Granger) Barnes,
by whom he had two sons, Walter B. and Clyde M. The wife and mother was
Digitized by Google
406
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
called to her final rest in May, 1900. and in December, 1903, Mr. Lee was again
married, his second union being with Miss Rose A. Phillips, a daughter of
William and Ellen (St. Clair) Phillips.
In his political views Mr. Lee is a stalwart republican and takes an active
and helpful interest in all matters pertaining to the public welfare. He has served
as a member of the township school board and for several terms capably dis-
charged the duties devolving upon him in the office of township trustee. He is
a devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal church and exemplifies its teach-
ings in his daily life. He has always lived in this part of the state and is wel!
known and highly esteemed as one of the prosperous and representative citizens
of his community.
NULAND VV. LEE.
Nuland \Y. Lee, a brother of John A. Lee, successfully carries on general
farming and stock-raising on his place of one hundred and sixteen acres in
Clarksfield township. He is numbered among the worthy native sons of Huron
county, his birth having occurred in Clarksfield township on the 7th of July,
1866. In early manhood he learned the bricklayer's trade and followed that
occupation for some time in Lorain, Erie and Sandusky counties. In 1899,
however, he abandoned this line of activity and turned his attention to the work
of farming, which has since claimed his time and energies. He now owns and
operates a rich and productive tract of land of one hundred and sixteen acres
in Clarksfield township and also devotes considerable attention to the raising of
stock, handling sheep on an extensive scale.
On the 26th of November. 1892. Mr. Lee was united in marriage to Miss
Rosa M. Twaddle, a daughter of W illiam and Sabra A. ( Pixley ) Twaddle. They
now have two sons, Ira W.. and Harry R.
Mr. Lee gives his political allegiance to the men and measures of the repub-
lican party and has been a member of the school board for a number of years,
the cause of education ever finding in him a stalwart champion. He is serving as
trustee of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which his wife is also a faithful
and consistent member and they take an active ami helpful part in both church
and Sunday-school work. They have an extensive circle of friends throughout
the community in which they have now long resided and the hospitality of the
best homes is cordially extended to them.
HENRY C. GODFRED.
Henry C. Godfred, who devotes his time and energies to the work of general
farming, is the owner of a rich and productive tract of land of eighty-three acres
in Bronson township. He was born in that township on the 27th of March. 1872,
his parents being Charles and Elizabeth (Brandt) Godfred, the former a native
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HL'ROX COUNTY
407
of Germany. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Charles Godfrcd were born the following chil-
dren: Henry C, Frank, Ralph, Louisa and Laura. A sketch of the father ap-
pears on another page of this volume.
Henry C. Godfred was reared to farm life, thus early becoming familiar with
the duties and labors that fall to the lot of the agriculturist. On reaching man's
estate he chose farming as a life work and now owns and operates a tract of
eighty-three acres in Bronson township, upon which place he has made his home
for the past nine years. Alert, enterprising and energetic, he is meeting with a well
merited measure of success in the conduct of his agricultural interests and is
recognized as a progressive and substantial citizen of the community
In February. 1807, ^' r - Godfred was united in marriage to Miss Alice E.
Bowersox, a daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth Bowersox. Mr. and Mrs.
Bowersox reared a family of six children, as follows: Alice E., Delia, Sophia,
Amanda. Hattie and May. Unto our subject and his wife have been born three
children: Esther F., Willard H. and Dorothea E.
Mr. Godfred gives his political allegiance to the republican party, having firm
faith in its principles and policy. Well known in the county where he has re-
sided from his birth to the present time, he has a wide acquaintance here and has
won uniform trust and good will by reason of a life which in all of its phases
has been straightforward and honorable.
HENRY C. BARNARD.
Henry C. Barnard, owning and operating forty acres of gmd land in Lyme
township, is well known in this section for the prominent part he has played
in local affairs. He is the son of Calvin and Mary (Nims) Barnard, and was born
on the farm which is his home today, on the 19th of November, 1841 The father
was born at Shelborn, Franklin county, Massachusetts, August 4, 1805, and came
to Ohio in 1828, locating first at Elyria, where he helped to build the first court-
house, for he was a carpenter by trade. When be came to Lyme township, shortly
before 1835 he assisted in the building of the Lyme Congregational church, which
is one of the oldest edifices of its kind in the state, so that by his business, if by
nothing else, Calvin Barnard was connected with the early history of Ohio. On
the occasion of his first marriage his bride was Miss Hulda Stebbins Cooley, of
Elyria, to whom he was united on the 9th of August, 1831. She bore him two
children: Betsy Ann, who was born January 16, 1833, and died in the spring of
1887; and Elihu C, born August 8, 1835, who now lives at Whitewater, Wis-
consin. The first wife died September 29. 1838, and on the 16th of May, 1839,
Calvin Barnard married Miss Mary Nims, by whom he had three children:
Henry C, of this review; Luther, born June 20. 1844, now a resident of Decatur,
Illinois; and Herman F.. who was born May 15, 1848, and died sixty years later,
on January 16, 1908. Mrs. Barnard died December 14, 1864 when more than
fifty-three years of age, having been born in April, 181 1. Mr. Barnard was a con-
scientious member of the Congregational church, active in all its affairs and work,
and superintendent of its Sunday school for years. In the years immediately pre-
Digitized by Google
408
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
ceding the Civil war he took a prominent part in the anti-slavery agitations and
was glad to be able to send three sons to the war to fight for the Union. In Jan-
uary, 1879, his earthly course was run and he was given release from earth's
cares.
Henry C. Barnard has always lived on his present farm, which his father had
purchased in 1834, except during the years he was at school and while he was in
the army. In the district institutions of instruction he received his eaily education,
later attending a select school in Medina county, where his brother was engaged
as a teacher. At one of the first calls for men during the Civil war he enlisted
in Company G. One Hundred and Twenty-third Ohio V olunteer Infantry, at the
school house in Lyme township, and during three years took honorable part in
many battles and skirmishes. At the battle of Winchester he was captured and
lay in prison at Belle Isle and at Libby. for about a month, when he was ex-
changed. He served through the whole campaign of Petersburg, and in the first
battle at Winchester. Virginia, he was wounded so severely that he had to remain
in the hospital for four months. On June 12, 1865, he was discharged at Camp
Chase, whence he returned home and engaged in farming, which he has pursued
ever since.
Mr. Barnard has been married twice. He chose for his first wife Miss Sophia
Carr, a daughter of Samuel Carr. to whom he was married November 22, 1864,
while he was home on a furlough. Of this union there were two children born :
Mary S., the wife of James Tice and the mother of one child, Ruth ; and Jennie
C, who is married to Walter Bliss, the superintendent of schools at Bienssville.
Louisiana, and is the mother of three children. Mary, Margaret and Henry B.
Mrs. Barnard died April 19, 1898, at the age of fifty-four, and October 5, 1905,
Mr. Barnard married Miss Alice Rushton, daughter of Henry C. and Mary
(Avery) Rushton.
Mr. Barnard is closely identified with many local affairs. For a number of
years he has served as township trustee, and by the republican voters of the county
was elected county commissioner, to serve from January 1, 1893, to September,
1899. He is a deacon in the Congregational church and is superintendent of the
Sunday school. As a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, he revives the
memories of the days of fighting, oftentimes rehearsing the tales of a notable
brave act, and he is a man of many excellent traits of character that have won
for him the admiration and confidence of all with whom he comes into contact.
F. H. LANING.
F. H. Laning, capably and effectively filling the position of postmaster in Nor-
walk, was born near New London, in this county. October 7. 1876, a son of J. F.
Laning. At the usual age he entered the public schools, passing through con-
secutive grades until he had completed the course in the Norwalk high school t^-
his graduation with the class of 1804. He next entered the Ohio Wesleyan
University, at Delaware, attending that institution for three years, or until 1897.
At the outbreak of tin- Spanish-American war his patriotic spirit was aroused
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON" COUNTY
and he offered his services to the government, enlisting as sergeant major of the
Fifth Infantry, on the 26th of April, 1898. He continued with his regiment until
mustered out on the nth of November. 1898, and afterward remained with the
Ohio National Guard as battalion adjutant in the Fifth Regiment for one year.
Prior to the war he had been interested in military affairs in connection with the
National Guard, and on the 20th of June. 1907, he was elected captain of Com-
pany G. of the Fifth Infantry.
At the close of his connection with the National Guard. Mr. Laning returned
to Norwalk and entered the employ of the Laning Company as secretary. To
this position he brought the enterprise and energy of young manhood, concen-
trating his efforts upon the upbuilding of the business. He has always been
active in public affairs and has done not a little to shape the political history of
Norwalk in recent years. In November. 1903, he was elected a member of the
city council and continued to serve until January. 1905, when he resigned to
accept the position of postmaster of Norwalk. This position he now fills, hav-
ing been reappointed on the 26th of January, 1909, so that his incumbency will
continue until 181 3. In the office he is proving most capable, discharging his
duties with the same business-like dispatch that characterized his connection with
the Laning Company. He has carefully systematized the work of the office and
his promptness and accuracy well entitled him to reappointment. Moreover he is a
popular official, being always courteous and obliging.
On the 21 st of December, 1899, Mr. Laning was married to Miss Myrtelle
Lupham, a native of Akron, Ohio, who died on the I St of November, 1904. They
had one son, Paul F., whose birth occurred October 24, 1900. In his fraternal
relations Mr. Laning is a prominent Mason, having attained the thirty-second
degree of the Scottish Rite. He is also connected with the Knights of the Mac-
cabees, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and other organizations of
which he is an exemplary representative, being in hearty sympathy with the
beneficent principles which underlie those societies. He is very widely known
in this county where his entire life has been passed, and the fact that his record has
always been an honorable and commendable one is indicated in the fact that many
of his stanchest friends are those who have known him from his boyhood to the
present time.
M. R. COLEMAN.
M. R. Coleman, who is conducting a large warehouse in New London and is
also operating a flax mill which is proving a profitable industry, was born in New
London township, September 26, 1850. His father, Philip Y. Coleman, was born
in Steuben county, New York, in 1816, and in 1843 came to New London town-
ship with his wife, Sarah Coleman, whom he married in New York. He settled
a mile and a half east of New London on a tract of land of one hundred and eighty
acres, of which only six acres had been cleared, and there he gave his time and
attention to the further development and improvement of the property save for
the period of his service in the Civil war when he became a member of the Twelfth
410
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Ohio Battery and did active duty at the front. He died in 1895, while the death
of Mrs. Coleman occurred in 1897.
M. R. Coleman gained his additional understanding of reading, mathematics,
arithmetic, grammar and other studies in the country schools near his father s
home and later continued his education in the New London public schools. He af-
terward engaged in farming on the old homestead and as the years passed worked
in the fields from the time of early spring planting until crops were harvested in
the late autumn. In 1K80 he began buying and shipping hay. thinking to find it
a profitable field of labor and in this opinion he was not mistaken In 1904 he
came to New London and has since conducted a growing business, having an ex-
tensive warehouse in which he handles coal, grain, lime, cement, et cetera. He
still owns his farm from which he derives a good rental and he likewise operates a
flax mill where he manufactures flax into upholstering tow. This is proving a
profitable undertaking and his business interests in the different cases are bringing
to him well merited and substantial success. For the past five years he has also
been a director in the New London National Bank.
In his political views Mr. Coleman is an earnest republican, giving unfaltering
support to the principles of the party and while he has never been a i>o1itician in
the sense of office seeking, in 1890, he was elected real estate appraiser for the
township. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias fraternity, becoming a charter
member of Carnation Lodge, No. 734. in which he has filled all the chairs. He is
diligent and enterprising, progressive and prosperous.
CHARLES J. HEY MAN.
Charles J. Heyman, a well-to-do farmer of Sherman township, is the owner
of one hundred and twenty-eight acres of land, in two farms, part of which lies
in Lyme township. He was born in the latter township. October 18, 1852, and is
the *on of George \Y. and Kathryn (Moore) Heyman, both of whom were na-
tives of Germany. The father came to this county with his parents, George and
Margaret Heyman, in 1848, and settled at Hunts Corners, where they purchased
about one hundred acres of land. Their home there was an old frame building
situated where the church now stands and in this house both grandparents passed
away. George \Y. Heyman later removed to Sherman township, where he bought
land extensively, until at one time he was possessed of upwards of six hundred
acres. He was a farmer all his life and a man of considerable local prominence,
for he served as trustee of Sherman township and was active and influential in the
Reformed church from its inception, assisting in the establishment of that body,
and for many years serving as deacon. His wife came with her parents from Ger-
many to Sherman township, but was not permitted to enjoy many years' compan-
ionship with her husband, for she died in 1854, leaving Charles J., a small child.
Mr. Heyman survived her for half a century lacking one year and was again mar-
ried, his second wife being Miss Elizabeth Longscheid, who bore him ten chil-
dren : George, deceased: Emelinc, the wife of August Schied, of Peru township;
Daniel and Thomas, both of Lyme township ; Mary and Philip, deceased ; Jacob.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY 413
of Sherman township ; Mary, deceased ; William C, of Lyme township ; and Al-
bert, of Sherman township.
Charles J. Heyman has been a life long resident of this county. He acquired
his fundamental education in the district schools here, and also attended for one
winter the German school in Sandusky. Farming has been his occupation during
his entire life, from the time he was able to help around the home. In 1881 he
bought his present farm from Hiram Latham and on it has since made his home.
However, he has greatly improved the place during the years that it has been in
his possession, and it is a fine tract of land well adapted to the line of general
farming that he carries on there.
On the 22d of February, 1876, Mr. Heyman was united in marriage to Miss
Elizabeth Scheid. She was born in Peru township, the daughter of William and
Kathryn (Beilstein) Scheid. and is the sister to August and William Scheid, whose
sketches will be found elsewhere in this volume. Six children have been born
to Mr. and Mrs. Heyman, all of whom are living: August, George. Lydia, Elmer.
Mary and Anna. The family attend the Reformed church at Hunts Corners, in
which Mr. Heyman has held various offices for years. A practical and successful
farmer, he is also a man of public spirit who has not refused to give his time for
the good of the community he serves. He has entered somewhat into politics and
at one time acted as trustee of his township, as a choice of the democratic voters.
The period of his incumbency of the office was marked by good judgment and up
Tightness and afforded additional reason for the respect in which he is held here.
JOHN J. ANDREWS.
John J. Andrews, who since 1901 has lived retired in a beautiful home situ-
ated in the suburbs of the village of Wakeman, was formerly for many years ac-
tively and successfully identified with the agricultural interests of Clarksfield
township. He was born in New York city, on the 10th of August, 1833, his pa-
rents being Thomas and Maria (Goodheart) Andrews. His maternal great-grand-
father, John Goodheart, served as a soldier in the British army and after leaving
England came to America, making his home in this country until the time of his
demise. He lived to be more than one hundred years of age. Thomas Andrews,
the father of John J. Andrews, was a native of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and
in early manhood removed to New York city, where he followed his trade of shoe-
making. He was married in the eastern metropolis to Miss Maria Goodheart, by
whom he had nine children, two of whom still survive, John J. and Elizabeth.
John J. Andrews obtained his education in the schools of his native city and
also of Philadelphia, living with an uncle in the latter city. When eleven years of
age he went to a farm in Orange county, New York, where he attended the coun-
try schools and remained until he had attained the age of fifteen. He learned
the trade of a brass finisher but only worked at that occupation fcr two years.
Subsequently he entered the employ of a large cooperage company in New York
city, with which he was connected for a period of twenty-six years, his long re-
tention in the service of the concern being unmistakable evidence of his efficiency
Digitized by Google
414
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
and trustworthiness. In 1872 he established his home in Clarksfield township,
Huron county, Ohio, and turned his attention to general agricultural pursuits.
In addition to cultivating the cereals best adapted to soil and climate he was also
engaged in dairying to some extent, both branches of his business returning to
him a gratifying annual income. In 1901, having accumulated a comfortable com-
petence, he left the farm and took up his abode in the suburbs of Wakeman, where
he owns an attractive and commodious residence.
On the 16th oi July, 1850, Mr. Andrews was united in marriage to Miss Mar-
garet Ann Alsdorf, her parents being Hiram and Ann ( \ andermark ) Alsdorf, who
were natives of Ulster county. New York. Mr. and Mrs. Andrews have reared a
family of five children, namely: Anna, the w id. w of Alfred Ncwhall : Jesse L.,
who follows fanning in Clarksfield township; Sarah, the wife of Amos Scott, of
Norwalk township; Thomas G., who is engaged in the mining business in Brit-
ish Columbia ; and Dora, who conducts a millinery establishment in Wakeman.
Mr. Andrews gives his political allegiance to the men and measures of the
republican party and. though not active in its ranks, is an intelligent and valued
advocate of its principles. He has served his fellow townsmen in the position of
road supervisor and also as a member of the board of education, believing that
improved highways and good schools are important factors in the growth and
upbuilding of a community. His aid and cooperation can always be counted upon
to further any movement instituted to advance the general welfare and he is
widely recognized as a most progressive and public-spirited citizen. His fraternal
relations are with the Masons and he is a worthy exemplar of the craft. He
finds his chief source of recreation and enjoyment in fishing and indulges his love
of this spon at the expense of the finny tribe, who bask in the waters of the Ver-
milion river, which flows by Wakeman. A congenial and courteous gentleman,
he has a host of warm friends, and never lacks companions on his fishing jaunts.
Both he and his wife are widely and favorably known throughout the community
where they have now long resided and their home is noted for its genuine hos-
pitality and good cheer. Mr. Andrews has now passed the seventy-sixth milestone
on life's journey and can look back over the past without regret and forward to
the future without fear, knowing that his career has been an honorable and use-
ful one.
CHARLES A. STOWER.
Charles A. Stowcr follows farming in Lyme township. Huron county, where
he owns ninety-three acres of land, upon which he has made his home for a long
period. He was born in this township. December 21, 1871. the son of Thomas
and Emma ( Dolling t Stowers. who were old settlers in this part of the state.
Both parents were bom and reared in England, where they were married ann 1
where the most of their children were born. In 1X70 they came to this country,
locating in Lyme township, Huron county. Ohio, where they engaged in farm-
ing. At first they rented a tract of land, but in the spring of 1879 they pur-
chased the farm on which Charles A. Stower now lives. When they took pos-
session the land was in a comparatively rough state, but when death called them.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
415
the father at the age of seventy-three and the mother at the age of seventy, the
farm showed the result of their long and arduous toil. They had improved it
greatly and had increased its productive power, besides erecting several build-
ings that were a credit to them. Mr. and Mrs. Stower were blessed with a family
of ten children. Sabina, the eldest, now deceased, married Robert Rope; John
is also deceased; Susie married William White, a farmer of Lyme township:
Robert and James were followed by Samuel and William, both of whom have
died; Alexander was the next of the family; Anna married Allen Farr; and
Charles A., the subject of this sketch, was the youngest and the only one of the
family born in this country.
Charles A. Stower has lived all his life in Lyme township and has devoted his
entire time to farming. From the district schools he received his fundamental
education, which coupled with the training he received at home constituted his
preparation for life. During his boyhood days he worked on the home place
under the guidance of his father, thus acquiring a practical experience in farm-
ing which was to be his vocation in later years when he was called upon to con-
duct his own establishment. The years passed quickly and in the main unevent-
fully, though bringing with them their recompense for hard toil.
On the ioth of November, 1897, Mr. Stower was united in marriage to Miss
Alice Maud Sherman, the daughter of Joseph and Mary ( Farr) Sherman. The
parents were both natives of England, though the father was only six years old
when he came to this country, and they were among those early settlers who
have contributed by their efforts to the development of this part of the country.
Seven children were born to them: Elizabeth, Maud, Jennie, Mollie. Gertrude.
William and Josephine, all of whom arc living useful lives. Mr. and Mrs. Stower
have three children: Clarence, born March 22, 1899; Gordon, born August 26.
1902. and Bertha, born March 7. 1905. The family are all members of the
Lyme Episcopal church and take active part in its religious and social work.
Mr. Stower is one of the prosperous young farmers of his localitv. He has
not specialized in his cultivation of the soil but has given his attention to a va-
riety of crops which have well repaid him for his diligent labor. Good fortune
has attended his efforts and he has been enabled to add considerably to the im-
provements his parents made upon the land. He is a man respected and hon-
ored in the community and has the good will of those with whom he comes in
contact.
CLAYTON E. TUCKER.
Huron county has been signally favored in the class of men who have occupied
its offices, for the great majority of them have 1 een loyal to the best interests of
the community and have manifested marked ability in discharging the dutie.> that
have devolved upon them. Of this class Clayton E. Tucker is a representative.
For six years he capably served as deputy probate judge of the county and in
November, 1908, was elected clerk of the court, his term beginning in August,
1909. At the present time, however, he is filling out the unexpired term of Frank
E. Miller and his experience is well qualifying him for continuance in the position
Digitized by Google
416
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
to which he has been called by popular suffrage. One of the county's native sons,
his birth occurred near Fitchville, on the 22d of September, 1873. His father, Ed-
gar L. Tucker, was born at Miles Strip, Onondaga county, New York, on the
1st of March, 1847, while the mother, who bore the maiden name of Mary L.
Clark, was a native of Lorain county, Ohio. It was in the year 1870 that Ed^ar
L. Tucker removed to Huron county, establishing his home in Fitchville, where
he engaged in the butter and creamery business for twenty-seven years. He then
turned his attention to general merchandising in West Clarksfield, where he still
continued in business, being one of the enterprising representatives of trade re-
lations in that locality.
Claytcn E. Tucker pursued his education in the schools of Fitchville, being
graduated from the high school with the class of 1892. He then further continued
his studies in the Fostoria Academy, from which he graduated in 1894. He af-
terward engaged in teaching school in the county for five years, or until appointed
deputy clerk under C D. Miles, in which capacity he remained until 1902 when
he entered the probate office, there remaining until November, 1908. At the elec-
tion held Et that time he was elected to the office of clerk of the court, that office
being left vacant by reason of the unexpired term of Frank E. Miller. He was
appointed to the position and at the ensuing election, was chosen tor the office,
his elective term to begin in August, 1909. He has ever been an active republican
since age conferred upon him the right of franchise, but in the discharge of his
duties he never allows partisanship to interfere, being thoroughly just and unbiased
a* well as accurate and reliable.
On the 3d of May, 1903, Mr. Tucker was united in marriage to Miss Gertha
Dowler, and they havt one son, Edgar, who was born April 1, 1904. Mr. Tuck-
er belongs to the junior order of American Mechanics, the Knights of Pythias and
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, while his religious faith is indicated in his
membership in the Baptist church. In his manner he is unassuming and in his
work is efficient, while his many good qualities and social disposition have made
him popular with a host of warm friends.
ROSWFLL DERBY, SR.
Roswell Derby, Sr., a prominent and well known citizen of Wakeman town-
ship, was born in Cherry Valley, Otsego county. New York, on the 1 6th of August,
1823. his parents being David and Susan (Dutcher) Derby. Both his paternal and
maternal grandfathers, David Derby and Cornelius Dutcher, participated in the
struggle for American independence as soldiers in the Revolutionary army.
David Derby, the father of Roswell Derby, who was a machinist by trade, in-
vented the first wool carding machine ever operated in the United States. It was
in almost universal use in the woolen mills of this country until about 1830.
David Derby passed away in 1835. having for but one year survived his wife, who
was called to her final rest in 1834. Their remains were interred in a cemetery
at Cherry Valley, New York.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
417
Roswell Derby attended the public schools of his native town until twelve
years of age, when, his father having died, he went to live with his brother Mor-
gan, a blacksmith of Cherry Valley. He there worked at the blacksmith's trade
under the direction of his brother, with whom he remained until he had attained
the age of fifteen years, when he went to Persia, New York, where he made his
home with his brother David, who was also a blacksmith by trade. He completed
his apprenticeship under the latter's direction and remained in Persia until twenty
years of age. During this period he had also gained a practical knowledge of the
carpenter's and joiner's trade, at which he worked in the summer months, while
in the winter seasons he gave his attention to blacksmithing. In the spring of
1844, ne made his way to Ohio, arriving at Cleveland on the 18th of May. He
remained in the vicinity of Cleveland during the summer of 1844, being employed
at farm labor, and in the fall of that year he went to Newbury, Geauga county,
Ohio, where he was engaged in the blacksmithing business in association with his
brother John until February, 1845. At that time he removed to Springfield, this
state, and purchased a tract of eighty acres of timber land, which he began clear-
ing for farming purposes. During the first summer he cleared ten acres, which
he sowed in wheat. The entire region was practically a wilderness and was
sparsely settled, there being not more than thirty voters in the entire township.
The county seat had been established at Bryan, where a log courthouse was
erected. The locality was a most unhealthy one and Mr. Derby fell a victim to
the ague but recovered in time to take charge of a school for the winter term.
In the spring of 1846 he went to Lenawee county, Michigan, entering the employ
of a Mr. Smith, who operated a distillery. He received a salary of fifty dollars
per month, which was considered good pay in those early days and remained with
Mr. Smith until the fall of 1846, when he was again stricken with ague and
fever. After recovering from his illness he went to Adrian and became agent for
what was then known as the Michigan Southern Railroad Company, receiving a
monthly remuneration of seventy-five dollars for his services. His health again
failing, in the fall of 1846 he returned to his home at Cherry Vailey, New York,
where he remained until the fall of the following year, devoting his time and en-
ergies to the work of farming. It was in the fall of 1847 that he returned to Cleve-
land, Ohio, and became connected with the butchering business, engaging in the
sale of meats. Shortly afterward he went to Michigan for a time and in 1848
came to Hartland township, Huron county, Ohio, here first working at the black-
smith's trade and later at carpentering. At times he was employed at farm labor
by the day and also at other pursuits, proving a capable man in many ways. In
1849 ne wen * to Townsend Center, Huron county, where he opened a blacksmith
shop, purchased property and erected a home. He was married in that year and
then removed with his wife to Canandaigua, Michigan, where he worked at black-
smithing for a short time. Returning to Townsend township, this county, he was
here engaged in blacksmithing until 1863. when he went to Fulton county, Ohio,
there purchasing a tract of land and devoting his attention to general agricultural
pursuits until 1883. In that year he returned to Wakeman, Huron county, and
has here since resided, working at various occupations. He was engaged in the
coal business for a time and also conducted a mercantile establishment in associa-
tion with his sons. Possessing a liberal education and being well read in the law,
Digitized by Google
i
418 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
he was also for a number of years engaged in practice in partnership with his
son, Roswell Derby, Jr., who is a lawyer by profession. Mr. Derby of this review
has continued his legal practice to the present time and is widely recognized as
a sound and safe counselor.
On the 27th of June, 1849, Mr. Derby was joined in wedlock to Miss Mary
Ann Whitcomb, a daughter of Hiram and Hannah (Butler) Whitcomb. Her pa-
ternal grandfather. Thomas Whitcomb, participated in the Revolutionary war,
serving as what was known as a "cowboy." Hiram Whitcomb, the father of Mrs.
Derby, came to this county from Herkimer county, New York, about 1842 and be-
came identified with agricultural pursuits in Townsend township. At the time
of his arrival here this district was practically a wilderness but he resolutely set
to work, cut down the trees, grubbed up the stumps and soon had his land ready
for cultivation. He hecame widely recognized as a prominent and prosperous
citizen and will long be remembered as one of the worthy pioneer settlers whose
labors contributed in substantial measure to the early development and improve-
ment of this county. Mr. and Mrs. Derby have reared a family of six children,
namely : Hiram W., a resident of Cincinnati, who is in the employ of the Cincin-
nati, Hamilton & Dayton Railroad Company; Muriel, the wife of Elmer S. Hart,
of Elkhart, Indiana: Roswell, Jr., now living in Milan. Ohio; Frank, of Fulton
county. Ohio ; and Joel E. and Darwin A., both of whom reside in Florence, Erie
county, Ohio. The parents of these children have now traveled life's journey to-
gether for six decades, their mutual love and confidence increasing as the years
have gone by.
Since age conferred upon him the right of franchise Mr. Derby has cast his
ballot in support of the men and measures of the democracy but. though keeping
well informed on the questions and issues of the day, has not been active in poli-
tics as an office seeker. For one term he acted as justice of the peace in Wakeman
township and also served as a member of the board of education, the cause of
public instruction ever finding in him a stalwart champion. He has now passed
the eighty-sixth milestone on life's journey and receives the veneration and re-
spect which should ever be accorded one who has traveled thus far on this earthly
pilgrimage and whose career has at all times been upright and honorable.
JOHN J. DIDION.
John J. Didion. who owns an excellent farm of eighty-one and a half acres
in Sherman township, dates his residence in that township since 1852. He was
born in Germany on the 23d of December. 1833, his parents being John and Sjphia
(Bashob) Didion. The paternal grandfather, Gottlieb Didion, spent his entire
life in the fatherland. John Didion, Sr., the father of our subject, was a wagon-
maker by trade and followed that occupation while a resident of Germany but after
coming to this country devoted his attention to general agricultural pursuits. It
Aas in 1852 that he brought his wife and children to the United States, the family
home being established in Sherman township, Huron county, Ohio, where
both he and his wife remained until called to their final rest. They were people of
1
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON" COUNTY 421
genuine personal worth and unfaltering integrity, whose upright and honorable
lives won for them the respect and esteem of all with whom they came in contact.
Their children were five in number, namely: Peter; John J., of this review; Bar-
bara, the widow of Frank Koenig ; Christopher; and -Martin.
John J. Didion obtained his education in the schools of his native land and
after putting aside his text-books assisted his father in the wagon shop. Sub-
sequent to his arrival in this country he worked for a time at the carpenter's trade
but afterward secured employment by the month as a farm hand and has since
been identified with agricultural interests. When his well directed and untiring
labor had brought him sufficient capital, he purchased a farm of his own and is
now in possession of a tract of land comprising eighty-one and a half acres, which
annually returns to him a gratifying income. Throughout the years he has suc-
cessfully and energetically carried on the work of the fields and has long been
numbered among the substantial, enterprising and representative citizens of the
community.
On the 6th of February. 1 866, Mr. Didion wa< united in marriage to Miss
Rosella Herman, a daughter of Paul and Mary Herman, who were natives of
Germany but became early settlers of Seneca county, Ohio, where they passed
away. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Didion have been born sixteen children, as follows:
Mary ; John and Frank, twins ; Charles ; August ; Martin and Sophia, twins ;
Elizabeth ; Rosa ; Cecelia ; Susan ; Henry ; Andrew ; William ; and two who died
in infancy. Of those living all are married with the exception of two, and Mr.
and Mrs. Didion now have thirty-five grandchildren.
In his political views Mr. Didion is a stanch democrat, while his religious faith
is indicated by his membership in the Catholic church, of which the other mem-
bers of his family are also faithful communicants. He has a very extensive and
favorable acquaintance throughout the community where he has now resided for
fifty-seven years, and in this land, where labor is unhampered by caste or class,
has met with a goodly measure of success in his undertakings. He has now passed
the seventy-fifth milestone on life's journey and his has been a commendable
record, actuated by honorable principles.
NORMAN S. CART WRIGHT.
Norman S. Cartwright is the owner of an excellent farm of fifty acres in
Bronson township, the attractive appearance of which indicates his careful super-
vision and progressive methods. He was born in Norwalk township, this county,
October 23. 1846. The branch of the Cartwright family to which he belongs
traces its ancestry back to Colonel Fthan Allen, of Revolutionary war fame.
The family has an excellent military record. The great-grandfather served in
the Revolutionary war, while the grandfather. Orin Cartwright, defended Ameri-
can interests against the English in the war of 181 2. Mr. Cartwright of this
review was a soldier in the Civil war, while his son Oliver donned the nation's
uniform for active service in the Spanish- American war. The grandparents of
our subject were Orin and Lydia ( Hunter) Cartwright, both of whom were na-
Digitized by Google
422
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
tives of Vermont and of English descent. They went to that state with their son,
Milo Cartwright, the father of our subject, who was born in the state of New
York in 1815 and came to Ohio in 1832. He settled in Norwalk township and
became one of the pioneer residents of Huron county, manifesting an active and
helpful interest in the work of public progress as the years went by. About
forty years ago he removed to Rronson township, where the family has since been
represented. He married Susan De Forest, who was born in the state of New
York in 181 2. They were married in the east when very young, being only
about fifteen years of age. Their children were: Elizabeth, Jane. Charles, Lora,
David. Mary. Cornelia, Norman and Emily. The mother, Mrs. Susan Cart-
wright, was a daughter of Walter and Mary De Forest.
No event of special importance occurred to vary the routine of farm life for
Norman S. Cartwright in his boyhood and youth. His educational opportunities
were those afforded by the district schools, while in the work of the fields he was
busily employed through the periods of vacation. Having arrived at years of
maturity he was married on the 2d of July, 1878. to Miss Eva Thayer, who was
born in 1852 and was a daughter of Oliver and Eliza ( Waggoner ) Thayer, who
were of German descent. Mr. and Mrs. Cartwright have become the parents of
five children : Allen, Oliver, Bertie, Roy and Mabel.
Mr. Cartwright is a member of the Grand Army Post at Norwalk and thus
maintains pleasant relations with his old comrades. He was for a year and a half
a soldier of the One Hundred and First Ohio Infantry, being on duty with Com
pany K. During that time he participated in several important battles and skir-
mishes and was ever loyal to his duty. He is equally faithful to his country in
days of peace and in every public relation manifests marked devotion to the public
good. He has been constable in his township and also has done active work in
behalf of the cause of education, serving for fifteen or twenty years on the school
board. He usually gives his support to the republican party but in local affairs
frequently casts an independent ballot, giving his allegiance to the men whom he
thinks best qualified for the office regardless of party affiliations. In his business
life he is reliable as well as enterprising and is now engaged in carefully culti-
vating the farm of fifty acres, from which he annually gathers good harvests.
Charles W. Heyman, an agriculturist of Lyme township, possessing ninety-
three acres of land upon which he lives, was born in Huron county, February 14,
1867, the son of John and Sophia (Upperman) Heyman, who were widely known
as early settlers here. Both parents were natives of Germany but came as young
people to this country. The father, as a young man, came with two of his brothers
and located in this county, where for several years they worked around for dif-
ferent farmers. After a short time, however, John Heyman felt the desire to pos-
sess land of his own and bought seventy-five acres near Hunts Corners. It was
in an uncultivated state and he started in to clear it and make it ready for a home,
for he had already chosen the woman whom he hoped would be his wife. In one
CHARLES W. HEYMAN.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
423
year's time the land was sufficiently cleared to permit of living upon it, and to it
he brought his bride. The rougher work of preparing the soil for cultivation com-
pleted. Mr. Heyman set about improving the farm and adding to it such desirable
sections as he was able, with the result that at his death he had a tract of about
two hundred acres. He was a man prominent in the Reformed church of Hunts
Corners and was among those by whose generosity the erection of the first edifice
was made possible.
Charles W. Heyman was the fourth in a family of five children. Of his
brothers and sisters, John and Mary, the two eldest, have passed away ; Elizabeth
is married to Charles Horn ; and William is living with his mother on the old
homestead. Charles Heyman has always lived in Lyme township, and in the dis-
trict school received hi> elementary education. His practical training, however,
was obtained under the wise guidance of his parents, who taught him the lesson of
work and the value of character, besides initiating him into the secrets of the
cultivation of the soil. He has been loyal to the occupation of his father and has
never sought any other vocation than that of a farmer.
On the 19th of February. 1891, Mr. Heyman was united in marriage to Miss
Sophia Haas, who was born in this county, in October, 1866, the daughter of Jacob
and Kathryn Haas, who claimed Germany as the land of their birth. Mr. and
Mrs. Heyman have four children: Amelia, Gertrude, Laura and Edgar, all of
whom live at home.
The farm to which Mr. Heyman devotes all his time he received from his
father, but during the period of his occupancy he has greatly improved it and in-
creased its value. Up to the present he has not deemed it advisable to specialize
in his business, but has followed general farming and has been successful beyond
the average in the returns he has won from the fruit fill soil. In religious mat-
ters Mr. Heyman gives his allegiance to the Lutheran church of this township.
He also belongs to the German Aid Society of Bellevue and has ever evinced a
strong interest in its work.
A. B. BOWEN.
A. B. Bowen, well known as an enterprising and progressive citizen of Nor-
walk, where he is now engaged in the general insurance business, has been the
architect and builder of his own fortunes. Whatever success he has achieved is
attributable entirely to his own labors. His birth occurred in Fairfield township,
Huron county, on the 14th of February, 1862. His father, William Bowen, was
a native of Tompkins county, New York, and when a lad of twelve years came to
Huron county, Ohio, with his parents. Mr. and Mrs. William Bowen, Sr. The
family home was established in Fairfield township upon a farm, the grand-
father becoming one of the early agriculturists of the community. William
Bowen, the father of our subject, was there reared to agricultural life and con-
tinued in the same department of activity, being numbered among the repre-
sentative farmers of Fairfield township until he was called to his final rest in
1891 when seventy-four years of age. His wife survived him for a long period.
424
HISTORY OF HUROX COUNTY
passing away on the 21st of March, 1909, when eighty-six years of age. There
were three children in the family, two sons and a daughter, but Caroline died in
1902 and Hamilton passed away in August, 1908, leaving A. B. Bowen as the
only surviving member of the family.
Reared on the home farm A. B. Bowen acquired his early education in the
district schools and afterward had the advantage of two terms of instruction in
Oberlin College. Subsequently he engaged in teaching school for ten years dur-
ing the winter months. The summer months during that period were devoted
to farm work and in 1893 he was called to public office through appointment to
the position of deputy treasurer. His experience well qualified him for further
responsibilities when, in 1897, he was elected county treasurer and served for two
terms, his reelection coming to him in recognition of his faithfulness during the
preceding years, and when he retired from office as he had entered it— with the
confidence and good will of the general public — and took up the insurance busi-
ness, he formed a partnership with A. D. Sanders, his deputy in the treasurer's
office. The firm has been very successful in this line, writing a large amount of
insurance annually, and representing the standard companies of the country.
In 1882 Mr. Bowen was married to Miss Fannie Newbury, a native of Green-
field township, Huron county, and a daughter of Everland Newbury, who was
also born in Greenfield township. Mr. and Mrs. Bowen now have one son.
Harold, who was born on the 16th of April, 1893.
In his fraternal relations Mr. Bowen is connected with the Masons, attaining
the Knight Templar degree in the commandery. His maternal grandfather,
Samuel Terry, was a charter member of Fairfield Lodge, F. & A. M., in which
Mr. Bowen also holds his membership. He is also associated with the Macca-
bees, the Knights of Pythias and other orders, being in entire sympathy with their
beneficent spirit and purposes. Both he and his wife hold membership in the
Baptist church of North Fairfield, of which church his grandfather Bowen was a
charter member. Well known in Norwalk, his sterling qualities are those of a
progressive citizen, reliable business man and a faithful friend. In manner he
is always genial and cordial, ever approachable and courteous, and wherever he
goes he wins high regard and esteem.
ELBERT P. B EEC HER.
Elbert P. Beecher, an enterprising and successful agriculturist and stock-
raiser of Wakcman township, was bom on the farm where he now resides his
natal day being June 2. 1855. His parents were Horace J. and Fanny M.
(Pierce) Heecher. The paternal grandparents. Cyrus and Betsy ( Bates) Beecher.
came from Bridgcwatcr, Connecticut, to this state in 1836 and took up their abode
on a farm in Florence township. Erie county, the property being situated on the
boundary line between Erie and Huron counties. This district was at that time
still largely wild and undeveloped and the family shared in all of the hardships
and privations incident to pioneer life. Cyrus Beecher, the grandfather of our
subject, was a bridge carpenter in Connecticut but after coming to this state de-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
425
voted his attention to the pursuit of farming:. Horace J. Beecher, the father of
Elbert P. Beecher. who was a little lad of eight years when he accompanied his
parents on the journey to Ohio, pave his time and energies to general agricultural
pursuits throughout his active business career. Subsequent to his marriage he
came to Huron county, purchasing the farm on which his son, Elbert P., now
resides. He was a firm and unfaltering republican and took an active part in
local politics, serving as township trustee for several terms and also as township
assessor for a similar period. A strong anti-slavery man, he assisted many a
negro on his way to freedom in the north, his home being a station on the famous
underground railroad. He was a man of strong convictions and sterling char-
acter and his upright ami honorable career won for him the regard and esteem
of all with whom he was associated. He died on the loth of April. 1893. at the
age of sixty-four years and six months, having for a number of years survived
his wife, who was called to her final rest in May, 1876. Both lie buried in the
Wakeman cemetery. Their union was blessed with five children, namely: Piatt
P., Elbert P.. Julia A., Harriet A. and Jennie J., all of whom still survive with
the exception of the eldest son.
Elbert P. Beecher was reared on his father's farm and obtained his prelimin-
ary education in the district schools of Wakeman township, while subsequently he
attended the Wakeman high school and for a few terms also prosecuted his studies
at Oberlin College. He was married when about twenty-five years of age. and
established his home in the village of Wakeman. where he was successfully en-
gaged in the conduct of a livery business until 1886. In that year he returned to
the old home place on which he was born and reared and has here since carried
on both farming and stock-raising with excellent success. The property is well
improved and under a high state of cultivation, the well tilled fields annually
yielding bounteous harvests of golden grain as a reward for the care and labor
which is bestowed upon them.
On the 15th of February, 1880, Mr. Beecher was united in marriage to Miss
Helen Josephine White, a daughter of Dr. H. E. and Roxanna (Denman) White,
of Clarksfield, both of whom arc now deceased. The father, a physician by pro-
fession, was for many years engaged in practice at Wakeman and Clarksfield
and was widely recognized as a prominent and skillful representative of his call-
ing. Both the White and Denman families were numbered among the worthy
pioneer settlers of Huron county and took a leading and helpful part in the early
improvement and upbuilding of this part of the state. Unto Mr. and Mrs.
Beecher have been born five children, as follows: Piatt II. ; Ethel, who is now the
widow of Elbert French; Clara B., the wife of Charles Ginste, who follows farm-
ing in W'akeman township ; Glen W. : and Elbert P.. deceased.
In his political views Mr. Beecher is a stanch republican and his fellow towns-
men, recognizing his worth and ability, have called him to various positions of
public trust. He has served as township constable for four years, as township
assessor for five years and for about twenty years was a member of the district
board of education. At the present time he is capably discharging the duties
devolving upon him in the office of township trustee. He is a prominent and
active worker in the local ranks of his party and has acted as a member of the
township election board for some years, being connected therewith at the present
42(J
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
time. He has also been frequently sent as a delegate to county, district and state
conventions and is widely recognized as a most loyal and public-spirited citizen
whose influence is ever given on the side of right, progress, justice and im-
provement. He is a valued member of Wakeman Tent, No. 93. K. O. T. M.,
and Wakeman Grange, Patrons of Husbandry. Religiously, he and his family
are identified with the Wakeman Congregational church, giving liberally of their
time and means to both church and Sunday school. The different members of
the Beechcr family are prominent in the intellectual, social and business life of
the community and hold a high place in public esteem.
EDWARD J. HARLAND.
Edward J. Harland, a prosperous farmer of the older generation in Clarks-
fiekl township, was born in Ontario county. New York, February 7. 1835, anc ^ * s
a son of William J. and Abigail | Hlakeman) Harland. who came to Ohio in 1838
and settled on the farm their son now occupies. The father was a farmer but was
also a man of fine education and before coming to this section had taught school
and followed that profession during the first year of his residence here. His wife
had also been a teacher in New York state, and the couple ever took a deep in-
terest in the educational affairs of this county. Three children were born to them :
James M.. Edward J. and Mary E., all of whom are living. The eldest resides in
California, and the daughter is now the widow of Lewis Hlakeman, of Ciinton.
Michigan. Mr. Harland died in 1850, and his wife survived him thirty-four years,
her death occurring in her eightieth year, on the 13th of July, 1884.
Edward J. Harland was but fifteen years old when his father died, and at that
age assumed the management of the farm, which has been under his care and has
been his home ever since. His has been a busy life from the day of his father's
death and crowded with responsibilities which would have been heavy for a man
many years his senior. His education was but imperfect and desultory, such as
could be obtained from the district school during the few months it was in ses-
sion and when affairs at home did not demand his time. At the outbreak of the
Civil war his brother James M. enlisted in the Fifty-fifth Regiment, Ohio Volun-
teer Infantry, and at the battle of Gettysburg, while supporting a battery of artil-
lery, his hearing was badly impaired, which resulted subsequently in his becoming
totally deaf. Edward J. Harland remained devoted to the arts of peace and stayed
at home to care for affairs there. Under his management his farm, of ninety-four
acres of fine land, has prospered. It is under excellent cultivation and is highly
improved as regards buildings and appurtenances. Of recent years, Mr. Harland,
now in his seventy-fifth year, does little more than superintend the work done, but
now and again for the sake of exercise and diversion rather than tor any other
reason, he will go into the fields and do a good day's work — one too that will put
much younger men than he to their best efforts.
Mr. Harland has been twice married. On the 13th of January, 1863, he wedded
Miss Sarah A. Case, a daughter of George E. and Philinda (Blackman) Case, of
Clarksficld township. Of this union five children were born: William J.. Jennie
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
429
M., Frank E., Dcrtha B, and Raymond, of whom Bertha, now Mrs. R. McClaflin,
of Clarksfield township, alone survives. Mrs. Ilarland died April 20, 1895, and
on the 22<i of June, 1900, Mr. Ilarland married Mrs. Mary J. Noble, who has also
passed away, on October 2, 1906.
Mr. Harland has always been a republican and cast his first vote for John C.
Fremont for president in 1856. He has ever been a man interested in public af-
fairs and has kept posted on all important questions of national and lucal concern,
so that he is able to discuss issues intelligently. He has never aspired to public
office, however, and yet his interest and exertion in the general good would many
a time have recommended him and secured him election if he had so desired.
The strong traits o? his character are not unknown nevertheless, and he is respected
as a fine man, one above reproach in his private life and in his intercourse with
his fellows.
HENRY ROEHLER.
Henry Roehler, who is numbered among the prominent and progressive rep-
resentatives of agricultural pursuits of Lyme township, was born in Sherman
township, this county, September 7. 1854. As the name indicates he comes of
German lineage, his parents, Phillip and Marguerita (Seibel) Roehler, having
both been natives of Germany. The former, who was born November 7, 1824.
left the fatherland for America in 1848, coming direct to Huron county, Ohio,
where he engaged as a farm hand in Peru township for about three years. At
the expiration of that period he purchased land in Lyme township, which he
later sold, subsequently buying a farm in Sherman township. After operating
this land for some time he disposed of it and secured a farm in Peru township.
He was a progressive and successful farmer and at the time of his death, which
occurred May 3, 1897. in Monroeville, Ridgefield township, this county, he was
the owner of considerable property. He had been twice married, his first union
being with Miss Marguerita Seibel, a native of Germany, who was born April
1, 1 831. After her death June 22, 1883. he wedded Miss Jennetta Knoble. Ry
his first union he became the father of six children, namely: William, Henry,
Phillip, Otto. Minnie and Louise, all of whom still survive.
Henry Roehler has always resided in this county and in his youthful days at-
tended the district schools in the acquirement of an education. The periods of
vacation were devoted to assisting his father in the work of the farm and thus
he early gained practical experience that proved of value to him when, in 1 877,
he purchased his present farm from his father and started out in business on his
own account. His home place, an excellent farm of two hundred and twenty-
five acres, is situated in Lyme township and this and another property returns to
him substantial annual profits. He has made all of the improvements upon the
place, including the erection of a fine commodious residence and the farm is
lacking in none of the equipments and accessories that go to make up a model
property of the twentieth century. As he has prospered in his undertakings, he
had added to his holdings from time to time and his success is indicated in the
Digitized by Google
430
HISTORY OF HUROX COUNTY
fact that he is one of the heaviest tax-payers in the township. He owes his suc-
cess primarily to his own industry and to the intelligent appreciation of his op-
portunities. He has ever been diligent, persevering and progressive and his ex-
ample may well serve to encourage and inspire others, showing what may be
accomplished when one has the will to dare and to do.
On January 4, 1877, Mr. Boehler was united in marriage to Miss Louise Horn,
a daughter of Phillip and Katherine (Seel) Horn, natives of Germany. This
union has been blessed with four children: Sarah, the wife of William Kom-
dorfer, of this township, by whom she has one son, Clarence ; Albert, who mar-
ried Matilda Schug and with his wife and son. Henry, resides in this township ,
and Clara and Emma, at home.
Mr. Boehler's religious faith is indicated in his membership in the Lutheran
church, while in politics he is a stanch democrat. His fellow citizens, recogniz-
ing his ability and true worth, have elected him to office and for six years he
served as township trustee, also township assessor and real-estate assessor. Many
tangible evidences can be given of his devotion to the public welfare. His fel-
low townsmen speak of him as the most public-spirited citizen in the county and
there has been no man as active in support of good roads. That his labors have
been effective is shown in the fact that Lyme township has the best roads in the
county and for this Mr. Boehler is directly responsible. His determined pur-
pose enables him to carry forward to successful completion whatever he under-
takes and in his labors for the public highway:, his methods have been practical,
resultant and beneficial. He justly deserves to be accorded the foremost place
among the citizens of his township for he is an aggressive business man, of keen
discrimination, laboring to promote the general welfare as well as individual suc-
cess. The cause of education has found in him a warm friend, his many sterling
characteristics have won for him the esteem and regard of all with whom he has
come in contact, while the success to which he has attained along agricultural
lines entitles him to rank among the representative farmers of this county.
A. D. SANDERS.
A. D. Sanders is widely known in connection with insurance interests in Nor-
walk and is also an active factor in financial circles. His has been the progress
which results from persistency of purpose and undaunted enterprise and the sal-
ient characteristics which he has always displayed in his business life have formed
the foundation of a gratifying success and have won for him an honored name.
He was born in lola. Kansas. September 10. 1872.
His father. Charles M. Sanders, was a native of Peru, Huron county. Ohio,
and on leaving this district became a resident of Illinois, where he remained for
seven years. In the late '6os he went to Kansas, where he followed farming. He
had previously engaged in teaching school in Illinois and in 1874 he returned to
that state, where he remained through the succeeding five years. At the end of
that time he once more became a resident of Peru township, Huron county. Ohio,
where he gave his attention to general agricultural pursuits, bringing his fields
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
431
under a high state of cultivation and adding many modern accessories to his farm.
In 1905, however, he retired from active life and removed to Norwalk, where he
is now living in the enjoyment of well earned rest. He married Louise Morse,
also a native of Peru township, where her father, John E. Morse, settled at a
period when this section of the state was largely a pioneer district. In the
family of Mr. and Mrs. Charles M. Sanders are two sons, the brother of our sub-
ject being Harry E., a resident farmer of this county.
In the district schools of Peru township A. D. Sanders acquired his early edu-
cation and later attended the Norwalk high school, from which he was graduated
with the class of 1892. He also pursued a commercial course in Oberlin and for
three years engaged in teaching school. He then turned his attention to mercan-
tile interests, doing office work for various manufacturers, and in 1897 he was
called to a position of public trust through his appointment as deputy treasurer.
He served for five years in this capacity and in 1903 he engaged in the general
insurance business in connection with A. B. Bowen. He has been closely asso-
ciated with Mr. Bowen for fourteen years, first in the manufacturing business and
then when Mr. Bowen became county treasurer Mr Sanders was his deputy.
At the expiration of the term of office they engaged in the insurance business and
are now operating under the firm style of Bowen & Sanders. They write a large
amount of insurance annually and the business of the firm has now reached ex-
tensive and profitable proportions. Mr. Sanders is also treasurer of the Home,
Savings & Loan Company, having filled this position for a number of years and
is likewise a trustee in the settlement of affairs of the Norwalk Savings Bank
Company. His name is an honored one on commercial paper and his business
rectitude stands as an unquestioned factor in his career.
On the 14th of October, 1903. Mr. Sanders was married to Miss Hettie Long-
well, a native of Crawford county and a daughter of Asbury Longwell. They
have two children: Ralph L., who was born October 10, 1904; and Martha L.,
born May 13, 1906. Both Mr. and Mrs. Sanders are members of the Universalist
church and are interested and active in its work. He is now serving as church
treasurer and as superintendent of the Sunday school. In politics he is an active
and earnest republican and for the past six years has been the secretary of the
McKinley Club. Fraternally he is connected with the Royal Arcanum and the
Junior Order of the United American Mechanics. He is in hearty sympathy with
progressive movements, manifesting in his life a patriotic citizenship that is most
commendable. He has based his business principles and actions upon the rules
which govern industry and strict, unswerving integrity, and the success which he
has achieved is the direct result of his persistence and well directed labor.
C. B. WEEDMAN, M. D.
Dr. C. B. Weedman who since 1894 has continuously practiced medicine and
surgery in New London, his ability winning him an extensive patronage through-
out this part of the county, was born in Ashland county, Ohio, on the 28th of
January, 1858. His father, George W. Weedman, was also a native of Ashland
Digitized by Google
432
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
county, while the grandfather was of German birth. Leaving the land of his
nativity in early life he crossed the ocean to the new world and became a resident
of Ashland county, Ohio, where amid pioneer surroundings he lived for some
years. His son, George Weedman, was there educated and. determining upon a
professional career, he took up the study of medicine, practicing continuously
for forty years, maintaining his office at Nova, Ohio, where he died September
5, 1890. He was a republican in his political views and a very public-spirited
citizen who sought ever the best interests of the community. He married So-
phronia Richards, who was born at Orange, Ashland county, and to them were
born two children, C. B. and Eliza.
The public-school system of his native county afforded Dr. C. B. Weedman
his early educational privileges and he afterward attended the Berea Baldwin
University. Whether environment, inherited tendency or natural predilection
had most to do with his choice or profession it is impossible to determine, but at
all events he resolved to follow in the professional footsteps of his father and
studied medicine in the Western Reserve University, from which he was grad-
uated with the class of 1880. He then entered into partnership with his father
at Nova and they were associated in business for ten years. Dr. C. B. Weedman
continuing there after his father's death. In 1904. however, he removed to New
London and was no stranger here as his practice had extended to this county.
In the intervening years his patronage has steadily increased and his success is
the direct outcome of his skill and understanding of the principles of the medical
science. He is a member of the Cleveland Medical Society and is examiner for
the New York Mutual, the New York Life and the Bankers' Life Insurance
Company of Des Moines, the Pittsburg Life Insurance Company, the Massachu-
setts Life Insurance Company and the Pennsylvania Mutual Life Insurance
Company. In twenty-nine years not a man examined by him has died — a re
markable record. In addition to all this he continues actively in general prac-
tice of medicine and makes a specialty of diseases of children.
Dr. Weedman served as a member of the county pension board for eight years
under appointment of President McKinley and was the nominee of the republican
party for the office of county treasurer of Ashland county, in 1904 His personal
popularity and the confidence reposed in him were indicated in the fact that he
reduced the normal democratic majority from seven hundred to two hundred. He
has filled a number of local offices, but at all times has been stalwart in his cham-
pionship of the republican party, bejieving most firmly in its principles. His
position is never an equivocal one and neither fear nor favor can swerve him
from a course which he believes to be right.
In 1880 Dr. Weedman was married to Miss Lucy Iona Dubois, a native of
Plymouth, Ohio. Her grandfather, Hubbard Dubois, was a pioneer preacher and
revivalist of the Methodist church, identified with the Ohio Northern conference.
Unto Dr. and Mrs. Weedman have been born two children. The son Dr. Don
V. Weedman. is now a dentist of Toledo. Ohio, who was graduated from the
Western Reserve Dental School in 1904. The daughter. Elizabeth, is a musician
of note and a musical director of ability. Dr. and Mrs. Weedman have a wide
favorable acquaintance in New London atid enjoy the hospitality of the best
homes here. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal church and his fra-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
433
ternal relations are with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights
of Pythias. He is in hearty sympathy with the principles of those orders and his
belief in the brotherhood of the race is evidenced in the broad humanitarian spirit
shown in his practice.
WILLIAM C. HEYMAN.
William C. Heyman, who owns and occupies a farm of one hundred and forty-
eight acres in Lyme township, was born in Sherman township, this county,
April 1 8, 1870, the son of George G. and Elizabeth (Longshied) Heyman. Both
of the parents were born in Germany, yet they were numbered among the early
settlers in this part of the state. The father, who was born in 1826, came with his
parents, Mr. and Mrs. William Heyman, to this state in 1848, locating at Hunts
Corners, where the older people passed the remainder of their days. There
George C. Heyman bought a small tract of land, on which he made his home, it
being the nucleus of the larger tract which he later accumulated extending over
seven hundred acres. Mr. Heyman was all his life identified with farming in-
terests and was a man prominent in local affairs, holding such offices as township
trustee here. He was also one of the pillars of the Reformed church, being an
elder at the time of his death, and with his brother was one of those few who
made possible the building of the church here. Seventy-eight years were the span
allotted to him for his earthly course, but his wife had died twenty years
previously. William C. Heyman was the tenth in a family of eleven children, the
others being : Charles . George, deceased ; Amelia, who married August Schied ;
Daniel ; Thomas ; Mary, deceased ; Jacob ; Philip, deceased ; Mary, deceased ; and
Albert.
William C. Heyman passed the first twenty-one years of his life in Sherman
township, where he attended the district schools, obtaining from them such an
education as they were able to give at that period. From his childhood he has been
identified closely with farming interests, learning the rudiments of agriculture un-
der the guidance of his father, so that by the time he had attained manhood he felt
fully competent to manage a farm of his own. Since coming to his present home
he has greatly improved the place in many ways. In November, k)o8. he had
the misfortune to have his house burned to the ground and he is now building
what will be a much finer residence. Though a good farmer and devoted to his
vocation, Mr. Heyman has found time for engaging to a considerable extent in
road contracting and has accepted several commissions to build the stone roads
in the county. He also is possessed of a threshing machine and engine, thereby
being enabled to increase the efficiency of his own farming, as well as to be of great
assistance to his friends and neighbors.
In 1891 Mr. Heyman married Miss Lillian Evans, a daughter of James and
Nancy (Nibelung) Evans. Both the parents are of European birth, but came to
this country at an early date and are numbered among the old settlers of Wood
county. Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Heyman have five children, all of whom are living,
Clifford O.. Clarence, Eva, Willard and Mae. The family are consistent mem-
Digitized by Google
434
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
bers of the Reformed church, which Mr. Heyman's father did so much to estab-
lish here.
Mr. Heyman is one of that legion of persons whose quiet useful lives do much
to assure the stability of the nation. His iife has been devoted to hard toil, which
has brought its own returns in the returns he has won from the land he has tilled,
and those who know him or are numbered among his friends speak well of his
noble qualities.
GEORGE W. BIXBY.
George W. Bixby, who owns and operates a valuable and highly improved
farm of one hundred and twenty-nine acres in Bronson township, is a native son
of Huron county, his birth having occurred in Norwalk, Ohio, on the ist of May,
1862. His father, Henry Clay Bixby, who was born in Vermont in 1829, made
his way to this state in early manhood. When about twenty-one years of age
he entered the employ of the Rutland & Burlington Railroad of Vermont as a
brakeman. continuing in that capacity until he was promoted to the position of
engineer. His health failing, however, he was at length compelled to abandon
the road and afterward worked in the shops of the Lake Shore & Michigan South-
ern Railroad at Norwalk. When about sixty years of age he took up his abode
on his farm in Bronson township and afterward retired to private life, having
won a competence that now enables him to spend his remaining days in well earned
ease. He is a stanch republican in his political views and is well known and
highly esteemed throughout the community as a most substantial and worthy
citizen. In 1859 he married Sarah Holmes, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John
Holmes, of New York, and they became the parents of four children, but only
two are now living, namely: George, of this review; and Anna, the wife of Ed-
ward Butler, of Bronson township. The mother was called to her final rest
August 20, U)o6.
George W. Bixby obtained his education in the common schools and when
twenty years of age started out in life on his own account, purchasing a tract of
land of forty-nine acres from his father. He has since extended the boundaries
of the place by an additional purchase of eighty acres and has made many sub-
stantial improvements on the property, which is now considered one of the finest
in the entire county, being equipped with all the accessories and conveniences of a
model farm of the twentieth century. His time and energies are devoted to the
cultivation of the cereals best adapted to the soil and climate and in the conduct
of his agricultural interests he has met with a most gratifying measure of suc-
cess, which is all the more creditable by reason of the fact that it has been at-
tained entirely through his own efforts.
On the 22d of July, 1882, Mr. Bixby was united in marriage to Miss Cora
Elvira Van Kletck. in whom he has found not only a congenial companion but also
a valuable helpmate on the journey of life. She was born in Allegany county,
New York, on the 15th of January, 1861, a daughter of Lawrence Van Kleeck,
who participated in the Civil war as a soldier of the Union army. On the ist of
Digitized by Google
1IEXRY CLAY BIX BY
>y Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
437
September, 1864, in Yates county, New York, he enlisted as a member of the
Eighty-fifth Regiment of New York Volunteers and was honorably discharged
in 1865, having taken part in several engagements and also spending some time in
a hospital. During the greater part of the time he was stationed at Roanoke
Island, under command of General Schofield. Mr. and Mrs. Bixby are the par-
ents of the following children: Charles H. p who was born October II, 1883; John
L., born January 30, 1886, who attended the business college at Norwalk; Arthur
P., whose birth occurred on the 23d of May, 1894; Harry E., whose natal day
was November 23, 1895 ; and George R., who died in infancy.
At the polls Mr. Bixby casts his ballot in support of the men and measures of
the republican party, believing that its principles are most conducive to good
government. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Methodist
church, while fraternally he is identified with the Maccabees. Throughout the
county where he has always resided he has gained wide and favorable recognition
as a most prosperous, enterprising and progressive citizen whose life record is a
credit to the community.
PETER WILHELM.
General agricultural pursuits engage the attention of Peter Wilhelm, who
owns a well improved and productive farm of one hundred and seventy-five acres
in Peru township. He was born in that township on the 18th of March, i860,
his parents being John and Sophia (Shaffer) Wilhelm, both of whom were na-
tives of Germany. When a young man of twenty-four years the father crossed
the Atlantic to the United States and for about four years worked as a farm hand
for different agriculturists of Huron county. On the expiration of that period
he purchased a tract of forty acres and began farming on his own account but
later disposed of that property and bought a farm of one hundred and eight acres.
On selling that place he purchased a tract of one hundred and twenty-five acres,
which is the old family homestead and on which his son Peter now resides.
Energetic, industrious and enterprising, he won a goodly measure of prosperity
in the conduct of his agricultural interests and was well known as a most sub-
stantial and respected citizen of the community.
His political allegiance was unfalteringly given to the democracy and he
faithfully discharged the duties devolving upon him in the position of township
trustee. He was a prominent and active member of the Catholic church in Peru
township, in the faith of which he passed away, his demise occurring in 1886,
when he had attained the age of sixty-five years. His wife was but two years
of age when brought by her parents, Peter and Catherine Shaffer, to the new
world, the family home being established in Peru township, Huron county, Ohio.
She was called to her final rest in 1906, when seventy-six years of age. By her
marriage she had become the mother of nine children, as follows : Catherine, the
deceased wife of August Dehe; Mary, who is the wife of John Geiger and lives
at Clyde, Ohio; Angeline, the deceased wife of Constatine Spice; Peter, of this
review; Joseph, a resident of Norwalk; Fred, who makes his home in Toledo,
Digitized by Google
438
HISTORY OF HIRON COUNTY
Ohio; John C, likewise a resident of Toledo; Ida, who has passed away; and
Tillie, the wife of Austin Garvin, of Clyde, Ohio.
With the exception of a period of three years spent in Sherman township and
three years in Futnum county. Ohio. Feter Wilhelm has always made his home
in Feru township, this county. In pursuit of an education he attended both the
district and German schools, thus equipping himself by good mental training
for the practical and responsible duties of life. As above stated, he devotes his
time and energies to the cultivation of a tract of one hundred and seventy-five
acres in Feru township, on which hi has placed a number of substantial improve-
ments until at present it is lacking in none of the equipments and conveniences
of a model farming property of the twentieth century.
On the 25th of November. 1884, Mr. Wilhelm was united in marriage to Miss
Clara Miller, a native of Lorain county. Ohio, and a daughter of Mathias and
Magdaline ( Xeff) Miller, of that county. Their union has been blessed with six
children: Arthur, Otio. Theodore. Elmer. Yerna and Walter. On the 25th of
November. 100S. Arthur Wilhelm, the eldest son. wedded Miss Elizabeth Wise,
of Sherman township, and they now have one child, Herman. They reside on a
portion of our subject's farm.
Mr. Wilhelm has capably served in the position of trustee in Peru township
and at present holds the office of township clerk, to which he was elected on the
democratic ticket in 1906. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in
the Catholic church of Feru township. He inherits the industrial qualities, to-
gether with the honesty, of his German ancestry, and aside from being num-
bered among the successful farmers of the community, he is also acknowledged
to be one of the representative citizens of the township.
L. SNOOK.
L. Snook, for ten years a practitioner at the Norwalk bar and also active in
local republican circles, is numbered among Ohio's native sons, his birth having
occurred in Wyandot county on the 14th of November, 1858. His father. William
Snook, was a native of Licking county, this state, but lived for many years in
Wyandot and Hancock counties. By trade he was a carpenter. He died in 1891
at the age of sixty-eight years and is still survived by his widow, who bore the
maiden name of Nancy Starr and is a native of Fairfield county, Ohio. She now
makes her home with her children.
In the country schools of Wyandot and Hancock counties L. Snook pursued
his early education, mastering the branches of learning that constitute the public
school curriculum. He afterward took up the proiession of teaching which he
followed for eighteen years in those two counties. He was not only able to main-
tain discipline— an essential to good teaching— but also imparted readily to others
the knowledge that he had acquired, bringing to his students a thorough under-
standing of the branches of learning that he was required to teach. His leisure
hours during a part of this period were devoted to the study of law. He had
two brothers who took up the study of law. but L. A. Snook died in Sandusky.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
439
Ohio, in 1902, after practicing there for some time. The other brother, W. S.
Snook, is now a successful representative of the bar in Findlay, Ohio. After
mastering many of the principles of jurisprudence, becoming familiar with Kent,
Blackstone and other commentaries, Mr. Snook successfully passed the required
examination for admission to the bar in 1899. In the same year he came to Nor-
walk, opened his office and has since continued in practice here. His life has
been one of continuous activity in which has been accorded due recognition of
labor. He is a strong advocate with a jury and concise in his appeals before the
court. He manifests, moreover, a natural discrimination as to legal ethics and
is able to base his arguments upon thorough knowledge of and familiarity with
precedents and to present a case upon its merits. He throws himself easily and
naturally into the argument, with a self possession and deliberation that indicates
a thorough understanding of the situation. There is a precision and clearness
in his statement and acuteness and strength in his argument which bespeaks a
mind trained in the severest school of investigation and to which the closest reas-
oning has become habitual and easy.
In March, 1884, Mr. Snook was married to Miss Margaret Taylor, a native
of Carroll county, Ohio, and they now have two children, Jennie and Mabel, the
former the wife of J. G. Rorick. Their only son, Taylor, died at the age of five
years.
In his political views Mr. Snook is an active republican, doing all in his power
to further the interests of the party and is now acting as township clerk of Nor-
walk township. He holds membership relations with the Knights of Maccabees
and the Knights of Pythias, and is a member of the Congregational church in
the work of which he is much interested. He is now serving as a member of its
executive committee and also as superintendent of its Sunday school, and his
labors are effective and far reaching in furthering its interests and extending its
influence. His aid is ever given on the side of justice, truth and progress and
while he desires success he will never win it at the sacrifice of any principle or
course which he believes to be right.
OTIS G. CARTER.
Otis G. Carter is a representative of our best type of American manhood and
chivalry. It is one of the laws of life that man shall labor for what he possesses
and while putting forth earnest, persistent effort to acquire success in mercantile
lines, whereby he has become recognized as the leading jeweler of New Ixmdon.
Mr. Carter has also found time and opportunity to cooperate in movements for the
general good and his genuine worth, broad mind and public spirit have made him
a director of public thought and action. He was born in Norwalk, January 5,
1851. His father, Otis G. Carter, Sr., was twenty-one years of age when he ar-
rived in Norwalk. He had previously learned the jewelry and watchmaking trade
in Erie. Pennsylvania, and on his removal to this county established business on
his own account in that line. He continued in active connection with that depart-
ment of trade until 1855 when he went to Chicago, where he conducted a simi-
Digitized by Google
440 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
lar enterprise. In i860, however, he returned to Norwalk, where he remained
in business until his death, working at the jeweler's bench until ninety years of
age. He was a remarkable man, accurate, systematic and energetic and his re-
markable constitution and vitality enabled him to continue a factor in the
world's work until his last days. In politics he was an earnest republican, in-
terested in the welfare of the town and contributing in substantial measure to its
upbuilding and progress. He organized the first Baptist Sundav school of Nor-
walk and on the occasion of its fiftieth anniversary delivered an interesting ad-
dress. His life was an influential factor in the moral as well as the material de-
velopment of the city and wherever he was known he was respected and honored.
He married Miss Julia Berry, a native of Fredonia, New York, and both are
now deceased.
Otis G. Carter of this review was the fourth in order of birth in a family of
ten children. His education was acquired in the schools of Norwalk, where he
passed through successive grades until he was graduated from the high school.
He then entered his father's store and under his direction learned the jewelry busi-
ness, spending five years in that way. Ambitious to engage in business on his own
account, in 1874 he removed to New London, where he established a jewelry store,
which he has since carried on, having now been identified with the mercantile in-
terests of the city for thirty-five years. His first location was across the street
from his present place of business and after some time he built the store which he
now occupies. He carries a large and well selected line of goods, all attractive,
tasteful and artistic patterns and in his trade relations is thoroughly reliable,
building up an extensive and profitable business by reason of his earnest desire
to please his customers, his reasonable prices and his straightforward business
methods.
In 1882 Mr. Carter built the residence on First street which he occupies.
Throughout the period of his residence here he has been more or less active in
public affairs, withholding his aid and cooperation from no movement which he
deems of benefit to the community at large. He has been township clerk since
1898 and a member of the board of public affairs for several years. In politics
he is an active, earnest and zealous republican, yet he does not seek or care for
office as a reward for party fealty. He has labored earnestly, however, to elect his
friends and is a recognized factor in county republican circles, his opinions car-
rying weight in the councils of the party.
In 1871 Mr. Carter was married to Mis< Estella Moorehouse, a native of Nor-
walk and a daughter of David Moorehouse. one of the old residents of Norwalk.
where he has been prominently connected with the lumber trade for a number of
years. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Carter has been blessed with twe daugh-
ters and a son : Elizabeth ; Richard Otis, who received his business training under
his father's direction and is now engaged in the jewelry business in Cleveland;
and Florence M , the wife of D. F. White of Detroit. In his fraternal relations
Mr. Carter is a Mason, holding membership with Floral Lodge, No. 260. A. F. &
A. M. : and New London Chapter, No. no, R. A. M., of New London. He be-
longs to the Methodist church and is interested in the moral progress and intellec-
tual development of the community as well as the promotion of its interests in ma-
terial lines. His life has been one of continuous activity in which has been ac-
Digitized by Google
«
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY 441
corded due recognition of labor and today he is numbered amon^ the substantial
citizens of his county. As a business man he has been conspicuous among his as-
sociates not only for his success but for his probity, fairness and honorable
methods.
C. B. LAWRENCE.
No matter in how much fantastic theorizing one may indulge as to the causa-
tion of success, it will be found that in every instance business progress has its
basis in close application and indefatigable labor. This truth is manifest in the
life record of C. B. Lawrence, now a leading insurance man of Norwalk. He
was born July 5, 1866, in Iowa, a son of Alonzo E. Lawrence, who was born in
Bronson township, Huron county, Ohio, where his father, George Lawrence, had
settled in 1823. The latter was a native of Cayuga county. New York, and re-
moving westward in pioneer times, was busily employed here in cutting away
the forest trees and developing a homestead in the midst of the green woods,
sharing in all of the hardships and privations which fall to the lot of the frontier
settler. His wife bore the maiden name of Rodena Smith and was a native of
the state of New York.
Alonzo E. Lawrence was born on the old family homestead in this county in
1838, was reared to the occupation of farming and assisted his father in the
work of the fields through the period of his minority. He was about twenty-six
years of age, when, in 1864, he enlisted in response to the country's call
for further aid. joining the One Hundred and Sixty-sixth Ohio Volunteer
Infantry, with which he was connected until the close of the war. After the
cessation of hostilities he removed to Butler county. Iowa, and it was during the
residence of the family there that the subject of this review was bom. They re-
mained in Iowa, however, for only four years, after which they returned to
Huron county and settled in Bronson township, upon the old Herrick homestead.
There the father remained, busily employed in general agricultural pursuits until
the time of his death, which occurred April 8, 1906. In early manhood he had
wedded Electa Jane Herrick, also a representative of one of the oldest and most
prominent pioneer families of this part of the state. Her grandfather, Ezra
Herrick. settled in Bronson township in 1818, when Ephraim Herrick, her father,
was a young man of eighteen years. Ephraim Herrick became quite prominent
in local affairs of the county, serving for a long period as justice of the peace,
during which time his decisions were strictly fair and impartial and won high
commendation. The first frame house in Bronson township was built on his
farm and the first township election was held in that house. At that time there
was a log jail in Norwalk and the other public buildings were of almost an equally
primitive character. Ephraim Herrick served as guard over two Indians confined
in the jail for murder and who were afterward executed. He was closely asso-
ciated with many of the early notable events and bore his share in promoting the
work of modern civilization. His daughter. Electa Jane Herrick. was born on
the old homestead in October, 1841. This farm is now in possession of the
Lawrence family. She was one of a family of five children but only one is now
Digitized by Google
442 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
living. On reaching womanhood she gave her hand in marriage to Alonzo E.
Lawrence, who was one of a family of four children, all living with the excep-
tion of himself. His brothers are: Miner, now living on the old Lawrence home-
stead ; and G. A., who is living in Monrovia. California, while the sister, Alice
E., the widow of William Lawrence, is now a resident of South Dakota.
C. B. Lawrence was educated in the public schools of Huron county, to which
he was brought during his early childhood on his parents' return to Ohio. He
afterward had the benefit of instruction in the Normal school at Milan, and later
engaged in fanning on the old homestead until 1896, when he came to Norwalk.
Here he has since lived and for about eleven years he was upon the road as a
traveling salesman, being thu< engaged until 1907, when he bought out the old
established insurance agency of Altaffcr & Canfield and is now engaged in the
general insurance business. He is meeting with good success in this undertak-
ing and is well known as a representative and reliable citizen of Norwalk.
In 1889 Mr. Lawrence was united in marriage to Miss Amelia Schild, a native
of Wood county, Ohio, and a daughter of George Schild. Mr. and Mrs. Law-
rence have one daughter. Marie, who was born on the 13th of April. 1892. His
mother also lives with him. With the exception of the four years spent in Iowa
she always resided on the old Merrick homestead until her husband's death, when
she came to Norwalk to live with her son. Mr. Lawrence is a member of the
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and also of the Presbyterian church and these
organizations indicate much of the nature of his interests and the rules which
govern his conduct. His actions have ever been manly and sincere and while
he has never sought to figure prominently in public life, in the locality where he
lives he is highly respected.
MAJOR A. McINTYRE.
Major A. Mclntyre, a retired farmer of Fitchville township, Huron county,
was born in Hinkley township, Medina county, Ohio, September 1, 1836, a son of
Thomas and Ruth (Collony) Mclntyre. The former was born at White Plains,
Massachusetts, and is of Scotch descent, while the latter was a native of Brad-
dock, Connecticut, and of Irish parentage. They were married and had two chil-
dren before coming to Ohio in 1829. They settled in Hinkley, Medina county,
where Mr. Mclntyre took up the life of a farmer and prosecuted his labors as a
minister of the Methodist Episcopal church. He was a very devout man and a
great worker in the church, and his farm was for a number of years the scene of
Methodist camp meetings, to which ministers and laymen of the faith flocked,
sometimes from great distances. In 1846 he moved his family to Sandusky
county, where they remained a year, then brought them to Huron county. In
1848 he located in Fitchville township, which was his home until his death in
July, 1849. He was a strong and noble man, whose principal concern was that
his twelve children might be well equipped to fight the battles of life. His widow
made her home in Fitchville until 1886, when she went to Claire. Michigan, to visit
her son Arthur, and there was taken sick and died.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
445
Major A. Mclntyre is the youngest of the family and the only one now living.
He received a meager education in the common schools of Fitchville township and
learned the trade of a carpenter. In 1856 he went to Kansas and during the two
years he spent there participated in the border troubles. Many of his experiences
were exciting and thrilling. On one occasion he was captured by the notorious
John Brown, but when it became known that he was journeying for a physician to
assist a sick person in the family with whom he was living, and that he was from
Ohio, he was released. On another occasion, a few months later, when going by
stage from Lawrence, Kansas, to Kansas City, Missouri, both mere hamlets at
the time, he found that one of his companions was his distinguished captor. Many
are the events of those years that he can narrate, and they doubtless prepared him
in some measure for the struggle that enveloped the nation a few years later.
In this, too, Mr. Mclntyre took a part. He enlisted in Company D, Second Ohio
Heavy Artillery, August 23, 1863, and participated in all the battles of the Army
of the Cumberland, but though he was ever at his post in the faithful performance
of his duty, he came from the conflict without a wound and without having been
captured. On the 24th of August, 1865, he was mustered out of the service, and
came directly to Norwalk, Ohio, where he found employment in the carshops of
the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway. In the spring of 1866 he located
in Fitchville but later in the year went to Kansas, not to stay, however, for he re-
turned to Huron county and again secured a position with the Lake Shore &
Michigan Southern. Five years later he engaged in contracting and building in
Norwalk, in which he continued until 1884, when he returned to the farm in Fitch-
ville, which has been his home ever since. He owns one hundred and three acres
of land, of fine quality, on which he practiced a successful line of general farming
to within the last five years, having since in large measure given up the active care
and responsibility of it.
On the 10th of January, 1863, Mr. Mclntyre was married to Miss Mary St.
John, a daughter of William and Ann (Hale) St. John. The St. John is a prom-
inent and influential family of Fitchville township, to which they came from Con-
necticut in the early pioneer days. One son and three daughters are still living:
Hubbard, of Greenwich township ; Myra, now Mrs. Benjamin Fessenden, of Fair-
field township; Charissa, the wife of Dalton Burton, of Olena, and Mary, the wife
of our subject. To Mr. and Mrs. Mclntyre have been born six children: Wil-
liam A., who is married and resides in Cleveland; Mary E., the wife of Levi C.
Brothers, of Fitchville township ; and Ella, Dessie, Burdette and Charles H., who
have passed away.
In politics Mr. Mclntyre is a republican, who cast his first vote for John C.
Fremont in 1856, a few months before he was twenty-one. In 1872 he supported
Horace Greeley, but has since then voted the republican ticket for the most part.
He has ever taken an active interest in political matters and has frequently served
as a delegate to conventions. In the public life of the township he has also par-
ticipated, acting as trustee for a considerable period. In 1858 he was made a
Mason and for long was active in the society's lodges, and was instrumental in
establishing the commandery of the Knights Templar in Norwalk. The Nor-
walk G. A. R. post also includes him on its roll of active members, and on more
than one occasion he has been delegated to represent it in the state and national
Digitized by Google
446 HISTORY OF HURON" COUNTY
conventions. Mr. Mclntyre considers that his most active years have passed, but
his interest in the affairs of the township has not diminished, nor his influence in
promoting its progress and advancement.
MARTIN GROSS.
Martin Gross, president and treasurer of the Gross Lumber Company, of Belle-
vue, Ohio, was born in Germany. July i, 1843, the son of William and Kathryn
(Fritz) Gross. The parents, who died in their native land of Germany, reared a
family of six children : John ; William ; Elizabeth, deceased ; Kathryn ; David, de-
ceased ; and Martin. A seventh child did not live beyond the period of infancy.
Martin Gross came to this country at the age of seventeen years and settled
first at Rochester, New York, where he worked for perhaps six months, at the
cabinet-maker's trade, which he had learned in Germany. From there he came
to Bellevue, Ohio, in February. 1861, but though two of his brothers had come to
this section of the state before him, he could find no work and of necessity sought
employment on a farm. For about a vear and a half he worked for William and
Henry Heyman. in Huron county, and then toward the close of the season he left
to join the army fighting for the Union. On the oth of August. 1862. he was mus-
tered into Company H, One Hundred and Seventh Ohio Volunteer Infantry, join-
ing his regiment at Cleveland. At the battle of Chnncellorsville he was wounded
in the leg and head, necessitating his remaining in the hospital for six months.
Upon being reported fit for service, he was transferred to Company D of the
Ninth Regiment of the Veteran Reserve Corps, at W ashington, with which he
remained until he was discharged June 29, 1865.
Upon his return from the field of battle, Mr. Gross located in Bellevue, -Ohio,
where he worked at the cabinet-maker's trade until 1867, when he ->aw an oppor-
tunity of entering the furniture business in partnership with John S. Wise. For
fourteen years the venture prospered, hut in 1881 Mr. Gross dissolved the firm
in order that he might go into the lumber business with J. H. Weber, who sold
his interest in 1889 to C. D. Stone. When Mr. Stone died three years later, Mrs.
Stone sold his share to Mr. Weber, and so the original partners were together
again, conducting the business in common until Mr. Weber died, in 1895, when
Mr. Gross bought his share Three years afterward he formed a stock company
with a declared capital of forty thousand dollars. Martin Gross was the president
and treasurer of this new concern; George Smith was the vice president: and
Martin F. Gross was the secretary. The board of directors included these men
and Mrs. Martin Gross and James Spade. At present the board of directors con-
sists of, besides the original officials, James Spade, Frank Smith, W. G. Gross and
Charles A. Gross.
On the 1st of May. 1866. was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Gross to Miss
Philippina Schwenk, the daughter of George Schwenk. who did not leave his na-
tive land of Germany. Nine children have been born to the couple. Louise, the
eldest, married T. F. McLaughy, of Bellevue. and is the mother of three daugh-
ters, Norma, Ruth and Agnes. Lizzie married William Cramer and lives in To-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
447
ledo, with her family of three, Carl, Helen and Florence. Martin died at the age
of eight months. Minnie married August Josenhaus, of Toledo, and is the mother
of one son, George. Katie married Joseph Briehl, of Bellevue, and they have three
sons, Martin, Charles and Joseph. Emma died at the age of eighteen. William
G. married Miss Estella Cooley, and like his two younger brothers. Martin F. and
Charles A., lives at Bellevue, being in business with their father. Martin F.
married Miss Etta Brickman and is the father of a son, Paul. Charles A. married
Miss Mabel Long.
Though so much of his time is given to the lumber business which he inaugu-
rated. Mr. Gross has many other interests both in the world of affairs and socially
and fraternally. He is on the board of directors of the Zehner Brothers Packing
Company, of the Bellevue Savings Bank, and is a stockholder in the First National
Bank. He is a member of the local G. A. R. post, and also affiliates with the In-
dependent Order of Odd Fellows. Masons and the Benevolent Protective
Order of Elks. In the former, he has passed through all the chairs. In religious
matters he gives his allegiance to the Lutheran church. Mr. Gross is a business
man of prominence in his city ; his interests are wide and look to the development
of Bellevue as well as to personal gain.
GEORGE P. SCHILD.
A valuable farm of one hundred and seventy-seven acres in Peru township
is the property of George P. Schild and annually pays tribute to his care and labor
in bounteous harvests. His birth occurred in Lyme township, Huron county,
Ohio, on the 4th of December, 1858, his parents being George and Catherine
( Hesselbauch) Schild, both of whom were natives of Germany. In early man-
hood the father came to the United States alone and for a number of years worked
on a lake boat running into j^ndusky, Ohio. Subsequently he peddled merchan-
dise throughout the vicinity and later gave his attention to general agricultural
pursuits, first renting a tract of land in Erie county. Afterward he purchased
a farm in Wood county, Ohio, and later traded that property for a farm belong-
ing to Charles Moore in Sherman township, Huron county. As the years passed
and his financial resources increased, as the result of his well directed and untir-
ing labor, he added to his landed holdings by additional purchase and became
widely recognized as a most successful and enterprising agriculturist. He passed
away in 1893, at the age of sixty-five years, his demise occurring on his farm of
two hundred and sixty-five acres in Greenfield township. He assisted in the
erection of the Lutheran church at Pontiac, and always remained one of its most
active and helpful members. He was married three times and by his first wife,
who died in early womanhood, had two children : one who passed away in in-
fancy ; and Lena, the wife of Sol Beck, of Peru township. The demise of his
second wife occurred in Wood county, and she left a family of seven children to
mourn her loss, namely: Carolina, who is the wife of George Linder, of Peru
township; Libbie, who gave her hand in marriage to Ambrose Smith, of Peru
township ; George P., of this review ; Charles, who is deceased ; Mary, the wife
Digitized by Google
448
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
of William Knoll, of Bellevue ; Louise, the wife of Charles Luteman, of Nor-
walk ; and Anna, who is the wife of Bert Brooks, of Chicago Junction, Ohio. For
his third wife George Schild chose Miss Charlotta Hick and their union was
blessed with four children, as follows: Amelia, who is now the wife of Bert
Lawrence, of Nor walk ; August, who has passed away; William, a resident of
Lansing, Michigan ; and John, who makes his home in Cleveland, Ohio. The
mother of these children still survives and is now living in Norwalk, Ohio.
George P. Schild obtained his education in the district schools of Wood and
Huron counties and since putting aside his text-books has given his attention to
the work of general farming. He has resided on his present farm of one hundred
and seventy-seven acres in Peru township since 1879, and as the years have gone
by has made a number of substantial improvements on the property, remodeling
the house and barn. etc. He keeps his fields rich and arable through the rotation
of crops and has studied, too, the best time and methods of planting and the best
means of cultivating the soil. That his labors have been practical is indicated by
the results which he has achieved, owning now one of the best farms of the com-
munity.
On the 23d of July. 1885, Mr. Schild was united in marriage to Miss Eliz-
abeth Hcrner, a native of Sherman township and a daughter of Phedius and
Lena Herner, who were natives of Germany but became early settlers of Huron
county, Ohio. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Schild have been born three children : Ger-
trude, living in Peru township, who is the wife of John Scheid and has two chil-
dren, Harold and Catherine; William H., whose birth occurred June 26. 1890;
and Clayton, whose natal day was December 3, 1898. The last two are still under
the parental roof.
At the polls Mr. Schild casts his ballot in support of the men and measures
of the democracy and for four years served in the position of township trustee.
At the present time he is doing effective service for the cause of education as a
member of the school board. His religious faith is indicated by his membership
in the Lutheran church at Pontiac, in which he has held various official positions,
including those of trustee and deacon. Most of his life has been spent in Huron
county, where he has a wide acquaintance and is favorably known.
B. D. ROWF.LL.
B. D. Rowell is now filling the office of county treasurer in a manner credit-
able to himself and satisfactory to his constituents, for in the discharge of his du-
ties he is manifesting business ability and systematic methods which have won him
high commendation. He is numbered among Michigan's native sons, his birth hav-
ing occurred in Jackson, that st ite, on the 19th of July. 1854. his parents being
Daniel and Martha (Thompson) Rowell. who were natives of the state of New
York. Roth the paternal and maternal grandfathers were loyal defenders of
American interests in the Revolutionary war. When but five years of age the
father w;s taken by his parents to Indiana, the family home being established in
Stark county. Both he and his wife spent their la<-t davs in Indiana, although
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
449
in the meantime they had resided elsewhere. At the time of the Civil war Daniel
Rowell espoused the cause of the Union, serving in the Twenty-ninth Indiana
Regiment. He was an enthusiastic advocate of the cause of abolition and believ-
ing that the war was a forward step toward securing the freedom of the slaves
and also because of his belief in the supremacy of the Federal government, he
joined the boys in blue. He lost one son who was at the front defending the Union,
and another son served throughout the war until its close.
B. D. Rowell is indebted to the public-school system of that state for the
educational opportunities accorded him and he also engaged in teaching in the
country schools in Indiana during his early manhood. He then took up the study
of telegraphy and was associated with the Western Union until elected to office.
As their representative he came to Norwalk and continued to act as operator
here until he was chosen to the office of county treasurer in 1895. He has served
two terms in the position and has been a faithful custodian of the public funds,
being careful and systematic in the care of the public money and in all of the
work of the office.
Mr. Rowell was married in 1876 to Miss Lucinda Deringer, a native of Hardin
county, Ohio, and they now have one son. Harry E., who is a graduate of Buchtel
College and is now residing in Toronto, Canada. Mr. Rowell is « member of the
Masonic fraternity, being affiliated with Mount Vernon lodge. He also belongs to
the Methodist church and while a man of modest, quiet, reserved manner, he is
much respected for his genuine personal worth and for his creditable official
record.
IRVING CARPENTER.
Irving Carpenter has practiced law in Norwalk since 1905 and has been ac-
corded a liberal clientage. He was born in Fairfield township, Huron county,
October 24, 1879, his parents being Alvin J. and Ollie f Hodges) Carpenter. The
father was born in Ripley township, December 27. 1854, and the mother's birth
occurred in Missouri. The paternal grandfather, Leonard E. Carpenter, is also a
native of this county, having started upon the journey of life in Fairfield town-
ship, December 21, 1829. He is still living at the venerable age of eighty years.
His father was Asa Carpenter, who came from Connecticut to Ohio at an early
epoch in the history of Huron county in company with his father, Daniel Car-
penter, who settled in Fairfield township. He was a soldier of the Revolution-
ary war. participating in the battle of Lexington and in other engagements dur-
ing his three years' service in Captain Macey's company. On the removal west-
ward the family became closely identified with events relative to the pioneer de-
velopment and improvement of the county and were closely associated with its
agricultural interests. In his later years Alvin J. Carpenter removed to Norwalk
township and is now an active and prosperous farmer of that locality.
Irving Carpenter, an only child, was educated in the country schools and in
the North Fairfield high school, from which he was graduated with the class of
1897. Subsequently he engaged in teaching for five years and during that
period he also pursued a literary course in the Ohio Northern University. For
Digitized by Google
450
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
three years he had charge of the schools of Lewistown, Logan county, Ohio, but
he regarded this merely as an initial step to other professional labor and, taking
up the study of law, was graduated from the University of Michigan at Ann
Arbor with the class of 1905. He then located for practice in Norwalk, where
he has since remained, and in the intervening years he has come into close and
prominent connection with the work of the courts, being accorded a liberal pat-
ronage.
Mr. Carpenter was married in 1907 to Miss Myrtle McCracken, a native of
Bellefontaine, Ohio, and one daughter, Helen, was born to them in August, 1909.
His fraternal relations are with Fairfield Lodge, No. 261, A. F. & A. M., and
with Huron Lodge, No. 37, I. O. O. F. He is an exemplary representative of
those fraternities, being in hearty sympathy with their principles and purposes,
He also belongs to the Methodist church and is interested in all that pertains to
the welfare and progress of the community. He represents one of the old and
prominent pioneer families who from the earliest days in Huron county have
been identified with its progress and upbuilding. In the work of general im-
provement he is actively interested and his cooperation can be counted upon to
further various measures for the general good.
BYRON B. HALL.
Byron B. Hall, who is now living retired in Olena, is surrounded by a host
of warm friends, who esteem him for his worth and for his high moral character.
He is a native of Huron county, his birth having occurred February 26, 1844, on
the old homestead farm where his father located in 1838. The parents, Rev. and
Mrs. Franklin P. Hall, both engaged in teaching school for years, the former in
the state of New York and subsequently in Ohio. His education was acquired
in Cazenovia, New York. He was a Baptist in religious faith and for a half cen-
tury engaged in preaching in this county. He organized the church of that de-
nomination in Fitchville and in addition to preaching the Gospel, he officiated at
more funeral services and married a larger number of couples during his work as
a minister than any other minister in Huron county. His death occurred in 1890
and his memory is yet cherished by many, who were benefited by his Christian in-
fluence and by the words of truth which he proclaimed from the pulpit. In 1838
he was united in marriage to Miss Margaret Bums, who was born in Greene coun-
ty, New York, and in 1832 accompanied her father's family on their removal to
Huron county, Ohio, residing in Fitchville township up to the time of her mar-
riage. Other members of the Burns familv were residents of that township up to
1873.
Byron B. Hall was reared on the homestead farm in Fairfield township, which
place is now in his possession and comprises one hundred twelve and a half acres.
He was afforded excellent educational advantages in the schools of Oberlin and
Lebanon, Ohio, and, preparing himself for the teacher's profession, he taught in
the public schools for a long period. In 1898, however, he retired from the pro-
Digitized by Google
Google
Digitized by GoOgL
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
453
fession and removed to his farm, where he spent a few years, but is now living re-
tired in the village of Olena, where he is surrounded by all the comforts of life.
Mr. Hall was married December 24, 1872, to Miss Martha A. Hewet, who was
born in Warrensville, Ohio, October 26, 1844. M rs - Hall was graduated from
the Cleveland Central high school in 1864. after which she engaged in teaching in
the Berea and the Medina high schools. She was a devoted Christian woman,
prominent in the work of the church and Sunday school, was a model housekeeper,
fond of her home and church, and constantly sought to do good wherever oppor-
tunity offered. Her death was the result of an accident, and her demise was a
heavy blow not only to her own household but to a wide circle of friends as well.
The only child of Mr. and Mrs. Hall, Clara M., was educated in the Huron high
school and in Oberlin College. She is now engaged in teaching in the public
schools of Montpelier, Ohio.
Mr. Hall supports the men and measures of the republican party, while his re-
ligious faith is indicated by his membership in the Baptist church. He is a man
of exemplary habits, strict integrity and has a strong personality, and he is now
enjoying in honorable retirement the fruits of his former toil.
WILLIAM STEIN.
William Stein, owning and operating a valuable and well improved farm of
one hundred and seventy-six acres in Lyme township, was born in Ridgefield
township, Huron county, November 9, 1861, his parents being Jacob and Phila-
mena (Brecker) Stein, both of whom were natives of Germany. The father,
whose birth occurred December 13, 1833, came alone to the United States at the
age of eighteen years, taking up his abode at Monroeville, Ohio. During the fol-
lowing eleven years he worked as a farm hand for various agriculturists of the
vicinity, while in i860 he was married and subsequently operated a rented farm for
four years. He then came to Lyme township and purchased eighty-four acres of
land which he cleared and on which he erected a dwelling, continuing to make his
home on that farm for about twenty-three years. On the expiration of that period
he bought his present place of ninety-three acres — a well improved and productive
tract of land. He is a prominent and public-spirited citizen of the community and
has capably served as trustee of Lyme township for five years. His interest in
moral advancement is deep and sincere and he contributed liberally for the erection
of the Evangelical church at Monroeville, while later he helped to build the Luth-
eran church of Lyme township. His residence in this county now covers fifty-
eight years and he was one of the worthy pioneer settlers whose labors contributed
in no small measure to the early development and upbuilding of the community
along many lines. His wife also came to Huron county at an early day and here
they reared their family of seven children, namely : William, of this review ;
Henry ; Sarah, the wife of Andrew Schafer, who resides in Cleghorn, Iowa ; Jacob ;
Lewis, who is deceased ; Emma, the deceased wife of Gus Knoll ; and Bena, who
became the wife of George Schafer.
Digitized by Google
454
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
William Stein obtained a good practical education in the district schools and.
being reared on his father's farm, early became familiar with the duties and labors
that fall to the lot of the agriculturist. Throughout his entire business career he
has been identified with general farming interests, now owning a rich and produc-
tive tract of one hundred and seventy-six acres in Lyme township, to the cultiva-
tion and improvement of which he devotes his time and energies. The place is lack-
ing in none of the equipments and accessories of a model farming property of the
twentieth century, and the commodious and substantial brick residence was erected
by Mr. Stein in 1904. He also cultivates rented land in addition to his own farm
and the success which has attended his undertakings is but the merited reward of
his persistent and well directed labor and capable management.
On the 2d of April. 1891. Mr. Stein was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth
Ohlemacher, a daughter of Philip and Christina (Hunt) Ohlemacher, of Oxford,
Ohio. Unto them have been horn five children: \orm?, Albert. Edwin. Elsie and
Dorothy, all at home. Mr. Stein is a valued member of the Lutheran church, in
which he has held various official positions and in the work of which he is deeply
and helpfully interested. All of his life has been passed in this county and. while
his career has been uneventful in some respects, he belongs to that class of substan-
tial and representative citizens, who constitute the real strength of the nation by
reason of their business activity, their loyalty in citizenship and their honor and
integrity in private life.
D. J. C ARNOLD.
The business ability and enterprising spirit of D. J. C. Arnold have found
tangible expression in the establishment and control of an extensive manufactur-
ing enterprise at New London. He is engaged in the manufacture of brick-yard
supplies and machinery and the business has now reached large and profitable
proportions It is growing year by year.
Mr. Arnold was born in Adams, Massachusetts, in 1854. His father, Elisha
Arnold, was also a native of that locality and a representative of an old New Eng-
land family. He married Electa Hemmingway and. establishing their home in
Adams, Massachusetts, their son. D. J. C. Arnold, was there reared, pursuing his
education in the public schools. He was a young man of about twenty-two when in
1876 he came to New London. From the time that he put aside his text-books he
has always been identified with manufacturing interests and the lumber business
and in New London he became associated with trade interests as a manufacturer of
brick-yard supplies, starting business in a modest way. his output consisting only
of molds, trucks, etc. Under his capable supervision and wise direction the trade
constantly expanded and the factory is now one of the leading industrial institu-
tions of the county. He now manufactures a full line of brick machinery and the
business is very extensive and increases annually. Mr. Arnold has been watchful of
all the indications pointing to success. Prompt, energetic and notably reliable, he
does not delay in filling contracts and lives up to the spirit as wel 1 as the letter of
the law in all of his business relations. His reliability stands as an unquestioned
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
455
fact in his career and his enterprise has enabled him to accomplish important and
gratifying results. In addition to his manufacturing interests he likewise figures
prominently in financial circles, having for many years been the vice president of
the New London National Bank.
In 1875 Mr. Arnold wedded Miss Mary Hemingway, a native of New London,
who died in 1886. His present wife bore the maiden name of Julia West and is a
native of Wellington, Ohio. By the first marriage there were three children and
two of the second marriage., namely: J. H., who is an able assistant of his father
in business; Charles H. ; Mrs. Anna A. Rorick ; Louise; and Gracie. The family
attends the Methodist church, to which Mr. Arnold belongs, and politically he is a
republican and has served as a member of the city council. He consented to hold
office from a sense of duty rather than from any desire for political preferment but
at all times takes a warm interest in the city's welfare and does everything in his
power to promote its progress and advancement. His labors are of a practical na-
ture and the worth of his work is widely acknowledged by his fellow townsmen.
WILMER B. McCAGUE.
A well known and valued representative of the farming interests of Bronson
township is Wilmer B. McCague. He was born September 9, 1863, on the farm
where he now makes his home and in his life work he has displayed energy, en-
terprise and diligence which have enabled him to greatly increase the value of his
property and win substantial success as the years have gone by. His parents
were George W. and Esther E. (Selover) McCague. The family was founded
in America by Thomas McCague, who was born in Ireland, and his wife Jean-
ette Cochran, a native of Scotland. In the year 1774 they came to the United
States and settled in Philadelphia where Thomas McCague, the grandfather of
our subject, was born and reared. The date of his birth was 1784 and after ar-
riving at years of maturity he married Rosanna Coyan. A removal was made
by the family from Philadelphia to Beaver county, Pennsylvania, and in a sub-
sequent generation the family was founded in Holmes county, Ohio. . George W.
McCague, the father of our subject, was born near McKeesport, Pennsylvania,
April 19, 1829. It was about 1845 or 50 that the family home was established in
Huron county. G. W. McCague was united in marriage to Miss Esther E. Se-
lover, who was born in New York, September 16, 1840. Her father Isaac Selover
was born in New Jersey. May 2, 1819, and having arrived at years of
maturity he married Cornelia Westfall, whose birth occurred in the same state,
January 21, 1817. She came to Ohio with her husband, Isaac Selover, in 1841.
He had purchased a tract of land near Olena and a few years later, upon his
death, left his widow with two little daughters. She personally conducted the
farm until her daughters were grown and married and after the death of her
elder daughter's husband she assisted in rearing her three boys. Her younger
daughter also died and three more boys were thus committed to her care. The
motto of this noble woman seemed in harmony with the teaching "not to be
ministered unto, but to minister," for her life was spent in lending a helping
Digitized by Google
456
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
hand to the sick and suffering. She was a daughter of Simeon Westfall, who
was born in New Jersey in 1782, and of Esther Brink, whose birth occurred Sep-
tember 14, 1790.
Wilmer B. McCague spent his youthful days on the home farm and his train-
ing was such as to make him well qualified to carry on agricultural pursuits on
his own account when he attained his majority. He never falters in the pursuit
of a persistent purpose, works earnestly and persistently to accomplish the end
in view and as the years have gone by he has harvested rich crops which annu-
ally bring to him a substantial return. His fields present a neat and attractive
appearance and altogether the farm is one of the desirable properties of the
community.
On the 22d of November, 1893. Mr. McCague was married to Miss Abbie
C. Smedley, who was born Decemher 6, i860, and is a daughter of Lindorf and
Catherine (Light) Smedley. Lindorf Smedley was a son of Chester and Clar-
issa (Landon) Smedley, who were natives of Litchfield, Connecticut, and Chesier
Smedley was a son of Kphraim and Anna (Gibbs) Smedley. I nto Mr. and Mrs.
McCague have been born three daughters: Catherine Esther, born March 12,
1895 ; Vera Jane, born July 6, 1896; and Mae Lue, born February 13, 1900. The
parents are members of the Disciple church and Mr. McCague is a republican in
his political views. He does not seek nor desire office but concentrates his ener-
gies upon his business affairs which are capably conducted. He has always lived
in this community and is well known here, having a circle of friends almost co-
extensive with the circle of his acquaintance.
GARDINER McPHERSON.
Gardiner McPherson, the owner of an excellent farm of one hundred and
twenty-five acres in Bronson township, is devoting his time and energies to its cul-
tivation with gratifying results. His birth occurred in Fairfield township. Huron
county, Ohio, on the 1st of March. 1849. his parents being Andrew and Elizabeth
(McPherson) McPherson. His maternal grandfather was William Mcpherson.
Andrew McPherson and his wife reared a family of three children, namely:
Mary, Isabella and Gardiner.
The last named obtained his education in the common schools and early gained
a practical knowledge of farming through the assistance which he rendered his
father in the work of the fields. He has made his home upon the place where he
now resides since i860, the property coming into his possession at the time of his
father's death. It is a valuable and well improved farm of one hundred and twen-
ty-five acres, located in Bronson township, and the fields pay annual tribute to the
care and labor which is bestowed upon them in bounteous harvests.
As a companion and helpmate on the journey of life Mr. McPherson chose
Miss Orlinda Angell, a daughter of Ephraim and Eliza (Adams) Angell. Their
union has been blessed with two children, Marian and Theresa.
Politically Mr. McPherson gives his allegiance to the men and measures of
the republican party and has capably served in the capacity of township trustee for
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
457
a number of years. His fraternal relations are with the Maccabees. Having
spent his entire life in this county, he has a wide acquaintance here and his salient
characteristics are such as have gained for him the friendly regard and good will
of all with whom he has been associated through either business or social relations.
WILLIAM D. BROOKS.
William D. Brooks, a prosperous, up-to-date and enterprising agriculturist of
Wakeman township, is the owner of one hundred thirteen and one-half acres of
rich and productive farming land. His father, Thomas Brooks, was born in
Huttersfield. England, on the 23d of May, 1816, and came to the I'nited States
when about twenty-four years of age. In his native land, he had become familiar
with the trades of a machinist and weaver. On landing in this country, he made
his way to Cincinnati, Ohio, but after a short time removed to Akron, being em-
ployed in the woolen mills of that city for about two years. During that period
he was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Bernell, a daughter of William and
Elizabeth Bernell. Her father, who was likewise an Englishman and was also
employed in the Akron mills, subsequently returned to his native land and there
passed away. On leaving, Thomas Brooks removed to Black river, near Lake
Eric in Lorain county, where he purchased a farm and during the two years of
his residence there his son William was born. He next took up his abode in Terry-
ville, Eric county, Ohio, where he began the operation of a woolen mill for Speers
& Ward. He operated this mill successfully for probably fifty years, under all
the changes of ownership, continuing its management until the factory was fin-
ally destroyed by high flood. It was never rebuilt. The industry was one of
great importance during its time, wool being carded and spun at the mill for fam-
ilies living for miles around, as in that early day the housewives wove their own
goods. In connection with his other interests. Mr. Brooks also conducted a farm,
purchasing land as opportunity offered. He first became interested in Huron
county lands at the time he bought some property on the Butler road, it being
now a part of the Edward Dcnman farm. He continued to reside at Terryville.
however, until his sons were grown, when he established his home in Wakeman
township on the farm where our subject now lives, the family moving into a log
house which Mr. Brooks had previously erected. This district was still a forest
region and wild game abounded, so that the sons found ample opportunity to in-
dulge their love of hunting. The last deer known to have been killed in Wakeman
township, was shot on the Brooks farm by DeWitt Ennis on the same day that
the steam sawmill, more lately owned by French & Arnold, on the Butler road was
put in operation. Soon after coming to the United States Thomas Brooks took
out his naturalization papers and. though taking no active part in politics, he al-
ways kept well informed on the questions and issues of the day. He was a man
of progressive ideas and positive convictions and his influence was always given on
the side of right, truth, justice and progress. Unto him and his wife were born
two sons. Charles, who died some years ago, held a responsible position with
the Big Four Railroad Company for fourteen years. He passed away in Cin-
Digitized by Google
458
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
cinnati and lies buried beside his parents in Wakeman cemetery. His son, Will-
iam N. Brooks, is now a resident of Chicago. William D., the other son of Thomas
Brooks, is now the only surviving member of his father's family.
William D. Brooks obtained his education in the district schools of Terryville
and Wakeman township. His time and energies have been given to general
agricultural pursuits with excellent success and he is now in possession of part
of the family estate, comprising one hundred thirteen and one-half acres of val-
uable land. The property is well improved and presents a most neat and thrifty
appearance, indicating plainly the supervision of a practical and progressive
owner.
In his political views, Mr. Brooks is a stanch republican and takes an active
and helpful interest in all matters pertaining to the public welfare. He has cap-
ably served his fellow townsmen in the position of road supervisor and also as a
school director. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Con-
gregational church, to the support of which he contributes liberally of his time
and means. Having now resided in this county for more than fifty years, he is
largely familiar with its annals from a pioneer period down to the present time.
Not only has he seen this section of the state grow from a wild country, with
only a few white inhabitants, to a rich agricultural country, containing thousands
of good homes and acres of growing towns, inhabited by an industrious, prosper-
ous, enlightened and progressive people, but he has participated in the slow, per-
sistent work of development which was necessary to produce a change which is
so complete that it has come to be popularly referred to as magical.
JOSHUA B. BARNES.
Joshua B. Barnes was a prosperous farmer, a successful auctioneer and an
exemplary citizen of Clarksfield township, where he was born September 27,
1848, a son of William and Helen (Bissel) Barnes. Both the Bissels and the
Barnes were among those families that braved the hardships of pioneer life. The
former of the two came from Danhury, Connecticut, and the latter from New
York state, and both became prominent in their respective communities. Wil-
liam Barnes became widely known as a farmer who had won a comfortable posi-
tion in life through hard work and was widely respected for his strong character.
Joshua B. Barnes grew up at home under the guidance of his parents, assist-
ing in the ordinary work of the farm. During the winter months he attended the
district schools of the county and always stood at the head his class and as the
ringleader in all boyish pranks and sports. At the age of nineteen he went to
Michigan, where he worked on the farms of relatives for nine years. At the end
of that period he returned to Clarksfield township, this county, where he pur-
chased a farm of one hundred and fifty-eight acres in the same neighborhood in
which he had been born and in which his parents had lived for so many years.
This was his home until his death. As soon as he took up his residence here he
became a prominent figure in the farming community. Large harvests richly re-
paid his arduous toil, and the several business enterprises he undertook prospered
Digitized by Google
JOSHI A B. BARNES
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HI' RON* COUNTY
461
in proportion. At the time of his death he possessed two hundred and sixty acres,
all fine land to start with, hut much improved through the excellent cultivation he
practiced for so many years.
On the 21st of December, 1886, Mr. Barnes was married to Miss Belle Kemp,
the daughter of John and Susanna ( YVellburn) Kemp, of Camden, Lorain county,
Ohio, who were married October 15, 1854. The father was born in Lancaster-
shire, England, March 20, 1821, and came to America with his brother at the
age of thirty-one. He settled in Grafton, Ohio, where he engaged in farm work,
and in a short time by industry and economy was able to save enough to buy a
farm in Lorain county. When he arrived in this country he had almost no cap-
ital, but he attained to a comfortable position before his death. Two years after
his arrival here he married and became the father of ten children, five of whom
are living. They are Edgar, a commissioner of Lorain county ; Mary ; Belle :
Lucy ; and Mabel. William, Ezra, John, Charles, and Elizabeth, are all deceased.
Mr. Kemp died November 13, 1901, and his wife passed away August 4, 1909.
To Mr. and Mrs. Barnes were horn two children, Doris E. and Robert W.,
both of whom are living at home with their mother.
The republican party always found in Mr. Barnes a stanch supporter of its
principles and he took an active interest in local politics, serving as township trus-
tee and as a member of the board of education for a great many years. He also
filled the office of justice of the peace for two terms and refused to again accept
the office despite the great pressure brought to bear upon him by his many friends.
He was probably the most popular man in the eastern part of the county.
Mr. Barnes was taken from this world February 20. 1909, and is mourned by
a large number of persons, who through the intercourse of years had come to
know and love the man for what he was. The success of his work procured the
goodwill of his fellow-citizens, but his loyalty and fearless support of what he be-
lieved to be right drew to him stanch friends, and at the same time his ready wit
and jovial good nature assured him a welcome in whatever gatherings he chanced
to be. He was a hardworking, enterprising farmer and a successful auctioneer,
and in all his business dealings was found to be upright and honorable, a man
whose integrity of purpose in his intercourse with his fellows was never ques-
tioned. In fact, it may truthfully be said that he was a man who had no enemies.
He was buried in the Methodist Episcopal cemetery at Clarksfield.
HENRY HEYMAN.
Among the successful agriculturists of Huron county, is numbered Henry
Iieyman who, through years of patient toil and economic living, has become the
owner of a well improved farm in Lyme township, whereon he now resides. A
native of Ohio, he was born in Sherman township, this county. December 2, 1871,
a son of William A. and Jennctt (Moore) Hcyman, both of whom were born in
Germany, the former in 1832 and the latter in 1836. William A. Heyman, when
a mere boy of seventeen years, left his home and friends in the fatherland, to sail
alone for America, seeking opportunities in the new world that did not exist in his
Digitized by Google
462
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
own country. Journeying overland until he came to the then wild prairies of Ohio,
he decided to make his home in Sherman township, where he was married and
lived the life of a hardy pioneer, for the first two years working out as a farm
hand for farmers of that locality. However, having been industrious and per-
severing, at the end of that time, he was able to buy a farm of his own, consist-
ing of two hundred and fifty-two acres which he himself cleared, adding improve-
ments from year to year. On this farm, in Sherman township, he resided until
his death which occurred in December, 1904, having survived his wife, the mother
of our subject, for twenty-eight years. Respected and honored by his fellow
citizens, during his life here, he filled many prominent township offices, having
been justice of the peace for twenty years, trustee for three years and assessor
for two years. His religious faith was that of the Reformed church and he gave
liberally of his means for the support of a church of that denomination at Hunt's
Corners. He was married twice and his home was blessed with thirteen children,
namely : Charles ; Mary, who married William Boehler ; Emma, who became the
wife of John Miller; David; Benjamin; Adam; William; Henry ; Isaac; Jacob;
Clara; and two, a half brother and sister who died in infancy.
Henry Hey man attended the district schools of Sherman township, where he
resided with his parents until he was twenty-one years of age, assisting his father
in the fields in the summer seasons. When he became of age, he started out to
earn his own living, working for monthly wages on different farms of that lo-
cality for three years, having carefully saved his earnings until he was able to
rent a small farm of fifty-seven acres which, after eight years of persevering
labor and careful expenditure, he was enabled to buy, having erected thereon a
comfortable home, barn and outbuildings for the shelter of his grain and stock.
On Thanksgiving Day, of the year 1891, was celebrated the marriage of Henry
Heyman and Alma Tickner. Mrs. Heyman was born in Canada and is a daughter
of Eugene and Nancy Tickner, who later made their home at Weaver's Corners.
By her marriage she has become the mother of seven children : Harley, Orvil.
Ila, Gordon, Lloyd, Viola and one child who is yet an infant. Mr. Heyman en-
gages in general farming and also teaming to some extent. The family attend
the Lutheran church of which he is a member. A life of industry and upright
character, entitle him to honorable mention with the leading agriculturists of
Lyme township.
JOSEPH FISHER.
Joseph Fisher, devoting his time and energies to the work ot general farm-
ing, is the owner of a well improved tract of seventy acres in Ridgefield town-
ship, on which he makes his home. His birth occurred in Peru township, Huron
county, Ohio, cn the 25th of March, 1855, his parents being Andrew and Steph-
enia (Rimmlev) Fisher, both of whom were natives of Germany. It was in
1848 that the father crossed the Atlantic to the United States, taking up his abode
in Peru township, this county, and opening a blacksmith shop at Macksville. He
thus remained an active factor in the industrial interests of the county until the
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
463
time of his demise, passing away when he had attained the age of sixty-three years.
His wife had accompanied her parents on their emigration to the new world in
1848, the family home being established in Peru township, this county. She was
sixty-seven years of age at the time she was called to her final rest and left an
extensive circle of friends to mourn her death. By her marriage, she had be-
come the mother of eight children, namely: Frances, who is the widow of Joseph
Shaffer ; Lawrence ; Joseph, of this review ; Andrew ; Lanie, the wife of Joseph
Weisenburger ; Albert ; Rosie, who is the wife of George Smith ; and Minnie, who
gave her hand in marriage to Russell Page.
In the acquirement of an education Joseph Fisher attended school at Macks-
ville and also spent one year in the high school at Norwalk. He continued a
resident of Macksville until nineteen years of age and since that time has carried
on general agricultural pursuits in Ridgefield township, where he owns a rich
and productive tract of land of seventy acres. As the years have gone by, he has
placed many substantial improvements on the property and in the conduct of his
farming interests, has won a measure of success that entitles him to recognition
among the prosperous, progressive and enterprising citizens of the community.
On the 9th of October, 1883, Mr. Fisher was united in marriage to Miss Liz-
zie Gefell, who was born in this county in May, 1856, and is a daughter of Hugo
and Josephine Gefell, of this county. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Fisher have been born
six children : Mary ; William, who wedded Miss Rose Cramer and makes his home
in Ridgefield township ; Florence ; Maud ; Albert ; and Robert. Fraternally, Mr.
Fisher is identified with the Red Men at Norwalk. Both he and his wife have an
extensive circle of warm friends throughout the county in which they have spent
their entire lives, having ever displayed those sterling traits of character which
in every land and clime awakens admiration and regard.
JOHN GATES.
John Gates, a resident farmer of Peru township, who owns and cultivates one
hundred and fifty-nine acres of fine land, was born in Sherman township on the
17th of March, 1859, his parents being Joseph and Elizabeth Gates, both of
whom were natives of Germany. In that country, they were reared and mar-
ried and came to Huron county, Ohio, about two years later. They settled first in
Sherman township, where they bought thirty acres of land, and to this they added
from time to time as their financial resources increased, until at his death Joseph
Gates was the owner of a valuable tract of one hundred and sixty acres. He died
when seventy-nine years of age, while his wife departed this life at the age of
sixty-six years. They were both consistent members of the Catholic church of
Sherman township and all who knew them esteemed them for their many sterl-
ing traits of character. Their family numbered eight children, as follows : Joe,
residing in Norwalk township; Benjamin, who makes his home in Sherman town-
ship; Michael, also of Sherman township; John, of this review; Kathryn, the
wife of John Kopping, of Norwich township ; Barbara, the wife of George Mey-
Digitized by Google
4G4
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
ers, of Norwich township ; May, who married Fred Perry and resides in Peru
township; and Elizabeth, the deceased wife of Frank Meyers.
John Gates was born and reared in Sherman township and there lived until
he attained the age of forty-two years. In his youthful days, he attended the dis-
trict and German schools and through the periods of vacation, was trained in the
work of the farm, and throughout his entire life, he has carried on agricultural
pursuits. He first bought one hundred acres of land in Sherman township and
lived thereon for about twelve years. He then sold forty-three acres of the tract
and made investment in the farm on which he now resides, purchasing the prop-
erty from George Baker. He has made many improvements on the place in the
intervening years and in 1907. erected a large frame residence which is conven-
iently arranged and tastefully furnished.
In the fall of 1889, Mr. Gates sought a companion and helpmate for the jour-
ney of life and took to his new home as his wife Miss Rose Cooper, a daughter of
Peter and Mary (Myers) Cooper, of Sherman township. Her parents are still
living in that township, where they reared their family of five children, Rose, Cora,
Emma, Alfred and Ida. who died at the age of eight years. The marriage of
Mr. and Mrs. Gates was blessed with three children. Olive, Carl and Wilma, all
yet at home.
Mr. Gates is a prominent, active and helpful member of the Catholic church
of Sherman township and his life is in harmony with his professions. His at-
tention and energies are largely given to his general fanning interests and what
he has accomplished represents the fit utilization of his innate powers and talents.
He has always worked diligently and persistently to attain the success which he
is now enjoying and which places him with the representative agriculturists of
the county.
C S. BATEIIAM.
One of the enterprises of highest character in Norwalk is the photograph stu-
dio of C. S. Bateham. whose standing in his profession is established not only
by the consensus of public opinion, but also by his professional brethren who have
accorded him high honors in their ranks. A native of Ohio, Mr. Bateham was
born in Painesville, July 31, 1868. His father. M. B. Bateham, was a native of
England and when a young man. came to the United States with his parents. He
moved to Columbus in 1845, where he e>wned and edited the Ohio Cultivator and
was not only successful and prominent in business circles, but also became well
known in connection with the movements for the advancement of horticultural
interests in the state and served as secretary of the Ohio Horticultural Society
from its beginning, until his death in 1880. His wife who bore the maiden name
of Josephine Penfield. spent the last seventeen years of her life lecturing and writ-
ing, as a department superintendent of the National Women's Christian Temper-
ance Union.
While spending his boyhood days under the parental roof. C. S. Bateham pur-
sued his education in the public schools of Painesville and afterward took up the
study of photography. He spent four years as a representative of the profession
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
465
in Elyria and in January, 1891, came to Norwalk, purchasing the gallery of Mr.
Park, the farmer owner of the old Edmondson gallery. At this place, Mr. Bate-
ham has since conducted his studio, which is now well equipped for the con-
duct of the business in accordance with the most modern processes, inventions and
improvements. In 1896. he leased a store room in connection with his studio and
has since conducted an art store in addition to his photographic work. His store
is filled with carefully selected pictures and a variety of frames that would be a
credit to many a larger city. His own artistic nature has been cultivated and with
strong appreciation of the value of li^ht and shade, of pose and color, he is doing
excellent portrait work, securing results which are both natural and artistic. He
has always been in a foremost place in the work for the advancement and eleva-
tion of photography and for many years, he rilled various offices in the Ohio-
Michigan Photographers Association, acting for two years as its president.
In 1908 he was one of the organizers of the Professional Photographers Society,
of Ohio, and was chosen its first president, which position he is now filling. He
has won many medals for his work at state and national photographers' conven-
tions and has a splendid studio, thoroughly modern in every particular. The work
which he does is most attractive and his ability brings him an extensive and grow-
ing patronage.
\Yhi!e his professional duties make heavy demands u)x>n his energies, Mr.
P.ateham also finds time for active and helpful cooperation in public affairs. He
is one of the vice-presidents of the Chamber of Commerce, is greatly interested
in the city's welfare and manifests a most patriotic spirit in his devotion to the
public good.
In 1890, Mr. Rateham was married in Elyria, Ohio, to Miss Katharine Haines,
a daughter of Dr. E. P. Haines, of that city, and they have two sons. Boyd E.,
born July 12. 1894; and Evandcr P.. born June 28, 1897. Mr. Bateham is a
Knight Templar Mason and is identified with other fraternal and social organi-
zations. He is a man of unfailing courtesy and his geniality, kindness and defer-
ence for the opinions of others, have won for him the unqualified respect of all
with whom he has come in contact.
BYRON J. ERNSBERGER.
Byron J. Ernsberger, a successful representative of the agricultural interests
of Huron county, owning and operating an excellent farm of one hundred and
ninety acres in Bronson township, is a native srn of the county, his birth having
here occurred on the 22d of December. 1858. His parents, Jacob and Sarah A.
(Wheeler) Ernsberger. were natives of New York and Huron county. Ohio, re-
spectively. The maternal grandfather of our subject was Edward Wheeler. Mr.
and Mrs. Jacob Ernsberger reared the following children: Andrew. Albert, John
D.. David E., Byron J. and Emma.
Byron J. Ernsberger has made his home on his present farm in Bronson town-
ship, since 1881 and. having brought the fields under a high state of cultivation,
annually harvests good crops from which he derives a gratifying income. He is
Digitized by Google
466
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
not only progressive, but also thoroughly practical in his methods and what he
undertakes, he carries forward to successful completion.
On the 26th of October, 1880, Mr. Ernsberger was united in marriage to Miss
Anna Park, who was born in i860, a daughter of Joseph and Martha (Pilgrim)
Park. Mr. and Mrs. Park, who were born in the years 1828 and 1835 respectively,
reared a family of four children, namely: Anna, Charlie, Delia and Jay. Mr. and
Mrs. Ernsberger have two children : Clara, now the wife of David Mead ; and
Park.
Mr. Ernsberger exercises his right of franchise in support of the men and
measures of the republican party, the principles of which he believes are most con-
ducive to good government. His religious faith connects him with the Presby-
terian church, while fraternally he has been identified with the Maccabees for
many years. He has spent his entire life in this county and is therefore widely
and favorably known, commanding the high regard of all with whom he has
been associated.
hugh a. Mcdonald.
Hugh A. McDonald, a well known and successful agriculturist of Bronson
township, is also the treasurer and a director of the Ohio Mutual Tornado, Cy-
clone & Windstorm Association. His birth occurred in the house where he still
resides, his natal day being June 6, 1876. His parents were Angus and Harriett
Elizabeth (Adriancc) McDonald, the former born in Indiana in 1846, while the
latter's birth occurred in the state of New York in 1851. Roger McDonald, the
paternal grandfather of our subject, was born on the Isle of Skye in Scotland in
1824 and emigrated to the United States when about nineteen years of age. taking
up his abode in Huron county, Ohio. His wife, who bore the maiden name of
Charlotte Parrott, was born in England about 1823. The maternal grandparents
of Hugh A. McDonald were James and Maria (Snyder) Adriance, both of whom
were natives of New York. Mr. McDonald of this review has but one sister,
Elnora V.
Hugh A. McDonald has always continued to reside in Bronson township in the
house where he was born, with the exception of four years while attending school
at Norwalk, and throughout his entire business career has been successfully iden-
tified with general agricultural pursuits. He is likewise serving as the treasurer
and a director of the Ohio Mutural Tornado, Cyclone & Windstorm Association
and for seven years was the secretary of the Huron County Farmers Mutual Fire
Association, but resigned the latter office in the spring of 1909. In all of his busi-
ness affairs he is alert and enterprising and has gained favorable recognition as
one of the prosperous, energetic and progressive citizens of his native county-
On the 26th of October, 1897, Mr. McDonald was united in marriage to Miss
Rose Furniss, who was born in August, 1874, her parents being William F. and
Barbena (Hildebrand) Furniss, the former a native of Germany. Mr. and Mrs.
Furniss reared a family of nine children, namely : Charles F., Gustavus, John D..
Rose, Lucy, Emma, Anna, Lillian and Edith. The home of Mr. and Mrs. Mc
Digitized by Google
Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
469
Donald has been blessed with three children : Roger Bruce, who was born May
19, 1899; Furniss Angus, whose birth occurred on the 24th of April, 1904; and
Donald, whose natal day was May 16, 1908.
In the fall of 1908 Mr. McDonald was elected to the office of county commis-
sioner on the democratic ticket by about nine hundred votes. When taking into
consideration the fact that this county has a normal republican majority of from
nine to twelve hundred, it will be seen that he possesses in an unusual degree the
confidence and trust of his fellow townsmen. Fraternally he is identified with
the Maccabees and the Grange. The rules which govern his conduct and shape his
life are such as command respect and admiration in every land and clime, and in
the community where his entire life has been spent Hugh A. McDonald is honored
and esteemed by all who know him.
A. M. BEATTIE.
It is a well known fact that members of the bar have been more prominent in
public life than any other class of citizens. The reason of this is not far to seek
for the qualities that enable them to win success in practice before the courts also
qualify them for leadership in other directions. Mr. Beattie is by no means a
man in public life in the sense that he seeks political preferment, for the honors
and emoluments of office yet nevertheless he has done not a little to mold public
thought and action, his opinions frequently constituting the influencing force in
affairs which are of vital importance to Norwalk.
Born in Ashland county, Ohio, on the 10th of June, 1853, his parents were
John and Isabel (Thorn) Beattie, both of whom were natives of Scotland. The
father came to the United States and located in Ashland county in 1836, while
the following year witnessed the arrival of the lady whom he afterward made
his wife. He became a successful, prominent and influential farmer and contin-
ued to engage in general agricultural pursuits until his death which occurred
January 8, 1883. when he was sixty-eight years of age. In his family were eleven
children.
A. M. Beattie, the fifth in order of birth, supplemented his public-school course
by study in the Normal School. He afterward engaged in teaching for a number
of years and with desire to become a member of the bar. be took up the study
of law in the office and under the direction of Judge Curtiss. of Ashland. Sub-
sequently, he pursued a course in law in the State University of Indiana and was
graduated with the class of 1877. The following year, he located for practice in
New London, Ohio, where he formed a partnership under the name of Laning
& Beattie. This connection was dissolved in 1882. and Mr. Beattie continued
alone until 1884. when he was elected clerk of the county court and so served
for six years. On the expiration of that period, he resumed active practice and
has become one of the leading attorneys of the county. His knowledge of the
law is comprehensive and exact and his application of legal principles correct.
In the work of the office, which must always precede a strong presentation of a
case in the courts, he prepares for defense as well as attack, viewing his cause from
Digitized by Google
470
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
every possible standpoint. He is, therefore, never surprised by some unexpected
attack and counsel and court listen to him with attention, knowing that there are
few, if any, fallacies in his argument. Aside from his practice, he has also been
connected with business and financial affairs of this city. He became one of the
organizers of the Norwalk Steel Company, an important manufacturing enter-
prise of this city.
On the 15th of April, 1879, Mr. Beattie was married to Miss Dora Suhivan and
they have three sons and two daughters : Blanche, Anna, Walter, Homer and
Arthur. Mrs. Beattie was born in Pennsylvania, February 3, 1854. and during her
girlhood accompanied her parents to Ohio. She was a daughter of Josiah and
Phoebe A. (Hopkins) Sullivan, both of whom were born in the state of New
York in 1825. Removing westward, they settled in Ashtabula county, but both
are now deceased, and the mother of Mr. Beattie passed away April 2, 1909.
Aside from business and home relations, Mr. Beattie finds time for co-opera-
tion in public affairs and has served for many years as treasurer of the board of
education, being greatly interested in affairs relative to the progress and improve-
ment of the schools. His co-operation in other lines has also been of equal value
for he never refuses to lend his aid and influence when he believes the best in-
terests of the community at large are involved.
FRED OPPERMAN.
The farming interests of Lyme township find a worthy representative in Fred
Opperman, who owns and cultivates two hundred and sixty-five acres of land,
constituting one of the fine farms of the community. It is improved with all mod-
ern conveniences and constitutes one of the attractive features of the landscape
in which it is located. The owner is therefore justly accounted one of the pro-
gressive agriculturists of the community! He was born in Germany on the 6th
of November, 1838, and is a son of William and Philemina Opperman, both of
whom died in the fatherland.
Fred Opperman spent the days of his boyhood and youth in his native coun-
try, having attained his majority ere he bade adieu to his friends and European
home and sailed for America in 1864. He lived with his father-in-law and mother-
in-law, William and Mary Margaret Opperman. who were old settlers, and mar-
ried their daughter, Minnie on the 29th of November, 1865. They became the
parents of eight children. Mary M., the eldest, died at the age of one year and
eight months. William is the second of the family. Albert and August are both
deceased. The latter had a very sudden death when only fifteen years of age.
He was a bright young man and had been to town with his father. On their re-
turn, when the team came to the railroad crossing, the horses refused to cross
on account of cars standing there and August Opperman got out of the buggy
to lead them across the car tracks. While so doing, he was taken ill and died in a
few moments. Gustavc, the next member of the family, died at the age of two
years. Pauline is the wife of E. Leibolt, a resident of Attica, Ohio, and they have
four children : Walter, Viva, Wells and Bendina. Lydia, the next member of the
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
471
family, lives at home. The youngest child died in infancy. William Opperman,
who is the second member of the family, is also at home and operates the farm.
The mother, Mrs. Opperman, came to this county at the age of thirteen years with
her parents who settled at Hunt's Corners but afterward removed to the farm
upon which Mr. and Mrs. Opperman now reside. Her father purchased here
one hundred acres of land and for seven years lived in an old log house, but sub-
sequently he erected a large commodious residence and improved the farm, mak-
ing it a valuable property. He was born in 1802 and died in 1874. His wife,
whose birth occurred in 1805, passed away in 1894, both spending their last days
in what is now the Opperman residence. They were the parents of four children :
Philip, Mary, Sophia and Elizabeth, all of whom are now living.
The Opperman family are all members of the Lutheran church of Lyme town-
ship and are worthy and respected citizens, enjoying in large measure the con-
fidence, good will and high regard of all with whom they have come in contact.
E. K. FISHER.
E. K. Fisher is now well known in Norwalk as a representative of real estate
interests but for many years was identified with mercantile pursuits. He has
lived in the county from the age of six years and has ever been greatly interested
in its growth and progress, co-operating in many of its measures for the public
good, while at the same time, he has carefully managed his business affairs. A
native of Pennsylvania, Mr. Fisher was born in Northumberland county on the
22d of August, 1849. His father, Isaac D. Fisher, was a native of New Jersey
and having arrived at years of maturity, he was married in Northumberland
county, Pennsylvania, to Miss Keturah Roadarmel, a native of the Keystone state.
They continued to reside there for several years, but in 1855, removed westward
to Huron county, Ohio, at which time their family consisted of four sons and one
daughter. They lived for a year in Lyme township and then removed to Bronson
township, settling on the Judge Sears farm. The father purchased one hundred and
ninety-three acres of land, for which he paid forty-two dollars per acre. He was
in comfortable financial circumstances at the time of his arrival and always pros-
pered in his undertakings here. He died in 1861, at the age of forty-nine years,-
while his widow long survived him. passing away in 1895. The brothers and sis-
ters of our subject were: Josiah R. ; Amasa P>. ; Simon Peter, now deceased; Eu-
gene K. ; William B. ; Rosanna, now Mrs. Nichols ; Mrs. Keturah Snydei ; and
Mary E., now Mrs. Stiles. With the exception of Simon Peter, all are yet living.
William B. is a minister of the Congregational church, located in Kansas.
E. K. Fisher was but six years of age at the time of the removal westward to
Ohio and in the district schools, he acquired his early education, while later, he
attended the Norwalk high school and the Normal School at Milan, Ohio. His
own education completed, he engaged in teaching for eight years in the district
schools, following that profession through the winter season, while in the summer
months he worked at farm labor. Subsequently, he engaged in farming on his
own account, purchasing a half interest in the old homestead where he remained
Digitized by Google
472
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
for a year. He then sold out ami removed to Townsend township where he en-
gaged in farming for six years, while later he established his home in Norwalk
township and engaged in the cultivation of his farm there until 1897. In that
year, he abandoned agricultural pursuits and established his home in the city.
Here, in 1900. he turned his attention to the real estate business and is still iden-
tified with the purchase and sale of property, both for himself and others. He
has negotiated many important realty transfers and is thoroughly conversant with
the valuation of property and knows what is upon the market.
In 1873 Mr. Fisher was united in marriage to Miss Mary Taylor, who died
in 1900. In 1902 he wedded Miss Alice L. Young, a native of Huron county
and a representative of one of the old families here. Her father, Gardner Young,
was one of the early settlers in this part of the state. At the time of her marriage
Mrs. Fisher was matron of the Children's Home in Norwalk. Mr. Fisher has
four children: Arthur E.. Alfred B., Clavton E. and Retta I... now Mrs. Ram-
sey er.
Mr. Fisher is a member of the Royal Arcanum and of the Methodist church —
associations which indicate much of the nature of his interests and the princi-
ples which govern his conduct. He has lived a busy, active and useful life and
whatever success he has achieved and enjoyed, has come as the direct and merited
reward of his own labors.
HIRAM D. DRAKE.
Hiram D. Drake, who is successfully operating seventy acres of land in Ridge-
field township, Huron county, is a native of this county, his birth having occurred
on the farm upon which he now resides July 7, 1854. He is a son of Salmon and
Cynthia (Dickey) Drake, the former a native of Luzerne county, Pennsylvania,
born in 1827. In 1846. he came to Ohio, settling at Monroeville, where he en-
gaged in carpentering for some time. In 1849 he removed to the farm which is
now in the possession of the subject of this review, and continued to engage in
agricultural pursuits until his demise, the only interruption in his business career
occurring in 1864, when, as a member of a one hundred day company, he was
called oul to serve in the Civil war. In 1849 he married Miss Cynthia Dickey,
whose entire life, from the age of two years, was passed on the farm upon which our
subiect was born. Her father. Thomas Dickey, was one of the early settlers of this
county, coming to Ohio in 1819. shortly after which he was married and removed
to Readtown. In 1823 he returned to this county and located upon the present
Drake homestead. He was a soldier of the war of 1812 and for a number of years
served as justice of the peace of Ridgefield township. He held membership in
the Methodist church, in the faith of which he passed away in 1882 at the ripe
old age of eighty-eight years. Salmon Drake, who belonged to the Disciple church,
was called to his final rest on the 3d of April. 1877. while his wife survived until
1900. In their family were eight children, namely: Eliza J., the wife of George
Klopfen>tein ; Hiram D.. of this review: Charles W. ; Emmagene, the wife of
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
473
George J. Roc; J. A.; Georgia, who wedded H. C. Roadarmel ; Sterry A.; and
Ira, deceased.
Hiram D. Drake, whose entire life, with the exception of a few years, has been
spent on his present farm, was reared to farm lite and acquired his early education
in the district schools of the neighborhood. He later supplemented this training
by a course at the normal school at Milan and after leaving school was engaged
in teaching for two seasons. Putting aside professional life, however, he took up
agricultural pursuits, in which he has since been continually engaged. He pur-
chased the home farm from the other heirs and has since directed his efforts to-
ward its further cultivation and improvement. It is an excellent property in the
midst of which, in 1886. he erected a fine large home, while in 1885 he built a
substantial barn and has equipped the place with other outbuildings and with all
of the modern devices and accessories intended to facilitate the work of the
farm. It is a model farm of the nineteenth century and Mr. Drake, who is giv-
ing his time and attention to general agriculture, is meeting with most gratifying
prosperity.
On the 23d of March, 1887. Mr. Drake was united in marriage to Miss Blanch
Killey, a daughter of Rol>ert and Mary Killey. of Ottawa counts . Ohio, and this
union has been blessed with two children: Louis Karl, born December 29, 1888;
and Eric R.. born November 27, 1892, both of whom are still at home Mr. Drake
is a member of the Grangers and is widely recognized as a loyal and public-spirited
citizen. In this community, where his entire life has been spent, he has gained a
wide acquaintance and the fact that his list of friends is almost coextensive with
his list of acquaintances is an indication that his salient characteristics are such as
command the respect, confidence and good will of all with whom he is associated.
LLSTON GR F.F.N.
The farming interests of Peru township find a worthy representative in Lis-
ton Green, who derives a substantial income from a farm of eighty-three acres
on which he lives. He was born in a log house in Richland county, Ohio, Octo-
ber 8. 1849. «™d a son of Andrew and Maria (Taylor) Green. His father was
born in the state of New York and soon after his marriage removed to Richland
county, where they lived for about six years. On the expiration of that period they
came to Huron county and settled near New Haven, where Andrew ( ireen pur-
chased one hundred and seventy acres of land. He operated that farm for a time
but afterward removed to Huron township and took up bis abode near the farm
upon which bis son Liston now resides, farming a tract of one hundred and eight)
acres of rich and productive land, which he transformed into a valuable and highly
cultivated farm. He continued to reside upon that place until his death, which
occurred in 1892. when he had reached the age of seventy-eight years. His wife
survived him for about sixteen years and died April 11. 1908. They were the
parents of five children, as follows: Caroline, the wife of David Sissinger, of
Richland county, by whom she has two children. Mrs. William White and Alvin ;
Frank, who died in the army at the age of twenty years: Fmmn. who married
Digitized by Google
474
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
George Lawrence of Michigan, by whom she has three children, Clara, Martin ami
one who died in infancy ; Liston, of this review ; and Charles who resides in Fair-
field township.
In taking up the personal history of Liston Green, we present to our readers
the life record of one who is well and favorably known in Huron county where he
has lived from the age of one year, his parents removing to this county during his
infancy. At the usual age he began his education as a pupil of the district schools
and as the years have gone by he has continued in active identification with
agricultural interests. He was early trained to the work of the fields, learned the
best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops and in his farm work
has met with substantial and well merited success. As a companion and helpmate
for life's journey he chose Miss Maggie Baxter, a daughter of Thomas and
Mary Baxter, the wedding being celebrated on the 15th of April, 1886. They
became the parents of three children, but the eldest died in infancy, the others
being Bertha and Clarence, who are yet under the parental roof.
Mr. Green has resided upon hi? present farm for about twenty-eight years,
having purchased the property from John Trott. In the interim, he has made
a number of improvements of a substantial character. He has torn down four
old log houses on the place and built two new farm dwellings, and his other im-
provements are of a modern kind. His first house was set fire by an enemy, soon
after he took possession of the place, and was burned to the ground together with
all of the household effects, while the family was absent. Not allowing this to
discourage him he rebuilt and as the years have gone by has prospered in his
undertakings. He now carries on general farming with good success and his
place presents a most neat and attractive appearance. His political allegiance is
given to the democracy and he has served as a school director for many years,
but otherwise has never sought nor desired office, preferring to concentrate his
energies upon his farming interests, which are capably managed and are now
bringing him in good returns.
PIIILO STONE.
He who forms the subject of this review is a worthy representative of a name
which, from early pioneer times, has stood as a synonym for excellent citizenship
and honorable, upright manhood in Huron county. He was bom in Clarksfield
township, Huron county, on the 12th of June, 1849, a son of Ezra W. and Maria
("Hayes) Stone, who were both born in this county. The grandfathers. Daniel
Stone and Surgess Hayes, however, were natives of Connecticut and came to Ohio
among the early settlers and here cast in their lot with the pioneers. The land
was still to a large extent covered by the primeval forest and the work of trans-
formation had scarcely been begun. With characteristic energy, however, they
joined in the work of improvement and became prominent and influential citizens
in the community in which they resided. Ezra W. Stone, the father of our sub-
ject, was also identified with agricultural pursuits and became one of the pro-
gressive and substantial farmers of his time. He died very suddenly in 1861 from
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
477
heart failure, while driving sheep along the highway, but his wife survived until
February. 1907. In their family were four sons and one daughter, namely : Philo ;
Albert : Elsie, who wedded Elmer Henry ; John ; and Eugene. All are yet living.
Reared to farm life, Philo Stone spent the years of his boyhood and youth under
the parental roof, assisting in the work of the fields and during the winter months
pursuing his education in the public schools of Clarksfield. He remained at home
until his marriage, and in the meantime he received excellent training under the
direction of his father, learning lessons concerning the value of industry, energy
and perseverance. That his early training was thorough and comprehensive is
indicated in the success which came to him later in life. After his marriage he
took up agricultural pursuits on his own account, locating in the eastern part of
Clarksfield township, and in this connection he was actively engaged for twenty-
five years. During that period he directed his efforts to general farming, raising
the cereals best adapted to soil and climate and bringing his fields under a high
state of cultivation. In 1904 he left the farm and removed to the village of
Clarksfield, where he has since resided. He still owns two hundred and sixty
acres of fine farming property in Clarksfield township, however, and continues
to engage in the stock business, which for many years he carried on in connec-
tion with his agricultural pursuits. He is an extensive buyer and shipper of stock
and also deals largely in wool. In all of the various phases of his business he has
been eminently successful, ranking among the substantial and prosperous business
men of the township. He has acquired a very handsome competence which
enables him to live practically retired, with the exception of the supervision of his
livestock interests, enjoying all of the comforts and many of the luxuries of life.
It was on the 31st of December, 1872. that Mr. Stone was united in marriage
to Miss Ida J. Rowland, a daughter of Ezra and Catherine (Snook) Rowland.
She represents a family which has been very prominent in the affairs of Clarks-
field township since early pioneer days, its descendents being very numerous in
this district. The home of Mr. and Mrs. Stone has been blessed with one son,
William H.. a prosperous and well known farmer of this township. He was mar-
ried on the 10th of January. 1900. to Miss Anna O'Hara, a daughter of John
and Celia O'Hara. of Clarksfield township, who came originally from Ireland,
and unto this union has been horn one son. Harry E. William H. Stone is a
young man of excellent character, who stands high in the community in which
he resides.
Since age conferred upon him the right of franchise Mr. Stone has given stal-
wart allegiance to the democracy and has always been very actively interested in
all matters of public note, keeping well informed upon the important questions
and issues of the day. He has been a trustee of Clarksfield township for many
years and has also served as a member of the district board of education. One
of his salient characteristics is his public-spirited citizenship, for at all times he is
strong in his advocacy of reform and improvement, lending his aid and influence
to all measures tending to promote the general welfare and uplift humanity.
Although he has achieved prosperity which ranks him ahead of many of his as-
sociates in the business world, nevertheless the most envious could not grudge him
his success, so honorably has it been won. Square and upright in all his dealings
with his fellowmen, throughout his entire business career there has been not a
Digitized by Google
478
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
single esoteric phase, and the consensus of public opinion accords him a foremost
place among the valued citizens of Clarksfield township, while he is recognized
as a worthy representative of one of the most highly respected families known in
the annals of this township.
H. FULSTOW, D. V. S.
H. Fulstow, the most successful veterinary surgeon practicing in Norwalk,
was born in Lincolnshire, England, March II, 1861. His father, John Dickinson
Fulstow. was a native of Lincolnshire and a representative of one of the old
families there. Having arrived at years of maturity, he married Sarah Huteson,
likewise a native of that county. They began their domestic life in Lincolnshire,
where they remained until 1879, when they crossed the Atlantic to the new woild,
settling in Greenwich t nvnship, Huron county, where the father engaged in
farming. He had previously devoted his energies to agricultural pursuits in his
native country and for a long period he was identified with the tiling of the
soil in the new world. He is now living letired in the village of Greenwich, while
his wife passed away in 1907.
Dr. Fulstow is indebted to the country schools of England for the early edu-
cation which he acquired, while later, he attended a boarding school at Gains-
borough in Lincolnshire. He was a young man of eighteen years when he ac-
companied his parents on the trip across the Atlantic to the new world, and on
reaching this county he worked on a stock farm for seven years, engaged with
various duties in the care of the stock. His taste has always been in that direction
and he has never worked in any other line. He commenced the stinK of veteri-
nary surgery in 1890, in the Ontario Veterinary College, from which he was
graduated with the class of 1892, In 1904 he pursued a post-graduate course
in the Chicago V eterinary College, hollowing his graduation he came to Nor-
walk, where he began practice and has since been located, today having the lead-
ing practice of the county. His business, too, extends to several adjacent coun-
ties for his professional skill and ability have marie him widely known.
In public affairs Dr. Fulstow is also quite prominent and active. He has
served as a member of the city council for two years and has been a member of
the board of health for sixteen years. His political allegiance is given to the re-
publican party and he always keeps well informed on the questions and issues
of the day.
On the nth of July, 1888, Dr. Fulstow was married to Miss Lina Frayer, a
daughter of Ambrose Frayer and a native of Ripley. Huron county. Mr. Frayer
is one of the old settlers and has been a prominent man of affairs, closely con-
nected w ith banking and other business interests in Greenwich, the city profiting
by his enterprise, which has been a factor in its general progress. Dr. and Mrs.
Fulstow have become parents of two children: Phil, now studying veterinary sur-
gery at the University of Pennsylvania ; and Margie. Dr. Fulstow is an exem-
plary representative of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to Mount Vernon Lodge,
A. F. & A. M., and to Huron Chapter. R A M. He is a member of the Ohio
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
479
Society of Comparative Medicine, an association composed of medical doctors
and veterinarians, and he was honored with the presidency of the Ohio State Vet-
erinary Association in 1908, which indicates his high standing in that field of
labor which he has chosen as a life work.
ISAAC HEYMAN.
Isaac Heyman, a representative farmer of Lyme township, Huron county, is
the owner of one hundred and twenty acres of land on which he resides and which
he has converted into rich and productive fields that annually yield large harvests.
He was born in Sherman township, this county, on the 17th of April, 1870. and
is a son of William A. and Jennett (Moore) Heyman. both of whom were born
in Germany, the fonner in 1832 and the latter in 1836. William A. Heyman,
when a mere boy of seventeen years, left his home and friends in the fatherland to
sail alone for America, seeking opportunities in the new world that did not exist
in his own country. Journeying overland until he came to Ohio, he decided
to make his home in Sherman township, where he was married and lived the life
of a hardy pioneer, for the first two years working out as a farm hand for farmers
of that locality. However, having been industrious and persevering, at the end
of that time he was able to buy a farm of his own, consisting of two hundred and
fifty-two acres, which he himself cleared, adding improvements from year to
year. On this farm in Sherman township, he resided until his death which oc-
curred in December, 1904, having survived his wife, the mother of our subject,
for twenty-eight years. Respected and honored by his fellow citizens, during
his life here he filled many prominent township offices, having been justice of
the peace for twenty years, trustee for three years and assessor for two years.
His religious faith was that of the Reformed church and he gave liberally of his
means for the support of a church of that denomination at Hunt's Corners. He
was married twice and his home was blessed with thirteen children, namely:
Charles ; Mary, who married William Boehlcr ; Emma, who became the wife of
Henry Bishop: David; Benjamin : Adam: William: Henry; Isaac; Jacob; Clara;
and two, a brother and sister, who died in infancy.
Isaac Heyman continued to reside in Sherman township until twenty-seven
years of age and in his youthful days attended the district schools, thus acquiring
a good practical English education. He has always been a farmer and his early
training along that line well qualified him to carry on farm work when he started
out in life on his own account. He married Miss Rosa Leiber, a daughter of
Philip and Philemina Leiber, both of whom were natives of Germany and became
early settlers of Lyme township, Huron county, Ohio. It was on the 27th of
February, 1895, at Bcllcvue, Ohio, that Isaac Heyman was married, after which
he began his domestic life on the old homestead farm in Sherman township, where
he remained for about two years. On the expiration of that period, he removed
to the farm in Lyme township, on which he now resides. He first rented the
land from his father, but in 1900. he purchased sixty acres and in 1904, purchased
sixty acres more from J. J. Swaby. Upon the place he made a number of im-
Digitized by Google
480
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
provements, erected a large barn and keeps all of his buildings in good repair,
the neat and thrifty appearance of his place indicating his careful supervision.
Mrs. Heyman was born in Lyme township, May 17. 1874. Her parents also
came from Germany, arriving about 1859 and settled in Huron county. They had
a family of nine children: Charles, Elizabeth, Louis, Adolph, Henry. Minnie.
Emma. Louise and Rosa. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Heyman has been blessed
by five children: Robert. Elsie, Irene, Myrtle and Juanita. all born in the home in
which they now reside with the exception of the eldest.
Mr. Heyman is a member of the Eagles lodge at Beilcvue. He also belong-
to the Lutheran church in Lyme township and has been active in community af-
fairs, serving as school director and as road supervisor. Farming, however, has
been his real life work and he carries on general agricultural pursuits, owning
a fine tract of land which he carefully cultivates and improves in accordance with
the most modern ideas of farming.
AMBROSE B. SMITH.
Ambrose B. Smith, diligent and persistent in his business affairs, his cap-
able management bringing him substantial success, is now the owner of eighty
acres of gocxl farm land in Peru township. He was born in this county on the
13th of March. 1854, at the family home in Greenfield township, his parents being
Marcus P. and Liddic (Coy) Smith. The paternal grandfather. George Smith,
was numbered among the earliest settlers of the county and became a factor in
the pioneer development of this part of the state. He was killed by the caving
in of a well in which he was working on the old Simmons' farm.
Marcus P. Smith was born in 1833. and >pcnt the greater part of his life in
Peru township. In his youthful days he .'hared in all the hardships and privations
incident to pioneer life and the period of his minority was one of earnest toil for
he assisted in the development and cultivation of 1 new farm. He always car-
ried on general agricultural pursuits as a lite work and also engaged in threshing.
He was ever a busy and active man, continuing his identification with farming
interests until his death in 1895. His wife, who was born in IVru township
in 1830, died in 1903. She was a daughter of Henry D. Coy, who was born June
15. 1800, and came to Peru township in 1818 with his father-in-law. Asa Wilson,
who owned the place upon which Ambrose B. Smith now resides. It was upon
this farm that Henry D. Coy passed away in April. 1892. His daughter by her
marriage to Mr. Smith became the mother of six children: Ambrose B. ; Hai.ie.
who died in childhood; Edward, who is living in Fairfield township; Jennie, the
wife of William Linder. residing in Havana. Ohio; Alice, the deceased wife of
Fred Mitchell: and John M.. who is living in Greenfield township.
Ambrose B. Smith has always lived within five miles of the farm on w hich he
now resides. He attended the district schools in his youthful days and in the
periods of vacation assisted more and more largely in the work of the fields as
his age and strength increased. He has been connected with farming and thresh-
ing all his life and has also worked at the carpenter's trade. His skill in this di-
rection enabled him to erect all of the buildings upon his farm, and he has like-
wise assisted in the construction of many others in this vicinity. His life has
been one of diligence and well directed thrift. He purchased the farm from his
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HL'ROX COUNTY
481
father and has made it a valuable property, lacking in none of the accessories and
conveniences of the model farm of the twentieth century.
On the 8th of December, i8~0. Mr. Smith was united in marriage to Mis->
Alice Jones, a daughter of Isaac and Mary Jones, of Weston. Wood comity.
( )hio. She died July 28, 1870. and for his second w ife Mr. Smith chose Elizabeth
J. Schild. a daughter of George Schild. of this county. They w ere married March
11. 1880, and have two children: Flnora M., now the wife of Amos Eastman, of
Peru township; and Herman F., who is living on the home place.
Mr. Smith has been somewhat active in community interests, lie served as
justice of the peace for two terms and as assessor for two terms, being elected
on the republican ticket. I [e has als<i been a member of the school board. He held
membership with the Knights of the Maccabees at Havana until the tent of that
place went out of existence. His time and energies, however, have largely been
concentrated upon his farm and its interests, and his work has made him one of
the substantial agriculturists of this part of the state.
JOSEPH D. FREY.
Among the successful business men of Norwalk is numbered Joseph D. Frey,
a dealer in coal, ice and concrete blocks. In that department of trade he has built
up a good business ai d his enterprising and progressive business methods rank
him with the leading representatives of commercial interests here. He started
upon the journey of life. December 23. 1806. in Ridgetield township, his par-
ents being Benedict and Philomena (Krabach) Frey. The paternal grandfather,
Joseph Frey, a native of Switzerland, came to America in 1858 and, on reaching
Huron county, purchased forty acres of land, to which he added from time to
time as his financial resources increased, until he had one hundred and seven acres.
Both he and his wile died on the old homestead farm. Their son, Benedict Frey,
was born in Switzerland, and was thirteen years of age when, in 1851, he bade
adieu to friends and native land and with his parents came to the United States.
They made their way direct to Ridgetield township. Huron county, and Bene-
dict Frey assisted in the task of developing and improving his father's farm, event-
ually came into possession of the property and made it his home until his denth
in 180,0. He married Philomena Krabach, who was bom in Ridgefield township,
a daughter of Dennis Krabach, who arrived in Huron county at an early period in
its development. Here he engaged in farming and also worked as a stone mason.
It was his daughter who became the wife of Benedict Frey and unto that marriage,
there were born five sons and two daughters.
Joseph D. l*i cy, the eldest son of the family, was reared on the old home farm
and was educated in the country schools. When not busy with his text books
he worked in the fields and continued to devote his time and energies to general
agricultural pursuits until 1802. when he came to Norwalk. He has since been
identified with commercial interests in this city. Turning his attention to the ice
business, he continued therein for two years, after which he extended the scope
of his activities to include coal, concrete blocks and building materials. He has
482
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
been very successful in all branches of his business and attends strictly to his
trade which has been built up by legitimate methods, his enterprise and energy re-
sulting in the acquirement of a large patronage.
In 1802 Mr. Frcy was united in marriage to Miss Dora Gfell, a native of
Huron count), of German descent. They have become parents of three daughters
and a son: Lenora, Esther, Yerna and Arthur. The parents are communicants
of the Roman Catholic church and that Mr. Frev is a popular and valued citizen
is indicated in the fact that against his wishes he was elected to the city council
on the democratic ticket in a republican ward. When the people had thus mani-
fested their choice, he set to work to give them the best services possible, exercis-
ing his official perrogatives in support of every measure and movement calculated
to prove of public benefit. He is a man of strong purpose, giving stalwart sup-
port to whatever he believes to be right, whether in political, business or social
relations. Since entering the commercial circles of Norwalk he has made sub-
stantial progress and his liberal patronage is well merited.
JOSEPH HYDE.
Joseph I lyde. of Townsend to.wnship. was active in local political circles and
an influential factor in community interests. He was born November 2, 1838. in
Milan, Eric county. Ohio, a son of William S. and Adeline (Allen) Hyde, who
removed westward from Green Farm. Connecticut, in 1835. The father en-
gaged for a time in the grain and shipping business at Milan, but afterward
returned t<> Connecticut and was married in 1836. He then brought his bride to
Milan, where he resumed business, making his home there until 1850. when he
took up his abode at Townsend. now Collins. There he engaged in merchandis-
ing and in the manufacture of cultivators and for a long period figured as one of
the representative business men of the community, continuing to make his home
in Townsend until his death, which occurred May 7. 1895, when he was ninety-
five years of age. His wife passed away on the 6th of January, 1882. and their
graves were made in the Townsend cemetery. There were four children in their
family: Arttta J.. Joseph. Thirza A. and William. All are now deceased and
lie buried in the Townsend cemetery with the exception of Thirza A., who was
laid to rest at Berlin Heights.
Joseph Hyde, whose name introduces this review, passed away on the 2d of
March. 1901. He had been educated in the public schools of Milan and of Town-
send and tor a time alse> attended Oberlin College. He taught school for two
years during the winter months and in the summer seasons was engaged in
farming. His entire life was a busy one. characterized by devotion to the dut\
which lay nearest his hand.
On the 15th of March. 1866, he was united in marriage to Miss Emma L.
Humphrey, a daughter of William and Sarah Ann (Bierce) Humphrey. Both
the Humphrey and Bierce families were Connecticut people and the parents
of Mrs. Hyde were married in that state. Afterward they removed westward
to Parma. Ohio, in 183s. Mr. Humphrey was a millwright and followed his trade
Digitized by Google
JOSEPH HYDE
Google
HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
485
in the neighborhood of Cleveland until 1848, when he went to Townsend, Huron
county. There he purchased a farm and built a sawmill for cutting his timber
and added to his landed possessions as his financial resources increased. In
the course of years he became a very extensive landowner and also a large opera-
tor in lumber. In fact he prospered in his various undertakings for he was
a man of keen business discernment and unfaltering energy. At his death, which
occurred on the 22<\ of September, 1874, he owned one thousand acres of land
and had large invested interests besides. His family consisted of four chil-
dren, three daughters and one son: Emma L.. Sarah A.. Delia L. and William
E. Of these Emma L.. now Mrs. Joseph Hyde, is the only one living. Unto
Mr. and Mrs. Hyde were l>orn five children: Caroline, now the wife of William
H. Hurd. of Collins; Mary A., deceased; William H., a practicing physician of
Cleveland, Ohio: Eleanor H., the wife of Ernest Hurst, a farmer of Florence
town»hip. Erie county. Ohio: and Sherman B.. who carries on farming in Town-
send township.
After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Hyde conducted a general store in Town-
send Center for three years and on the expiration of that period removed to
the farm whereon their son Sherman B now lives. They made it their home for
fully thirty years and on leaving that place in n>oo took up their abode in
Collins, where they resided until the death of Mr. Hyde, on the 2d of March,
1 901. He was a very successful man, owning nearly five hundred acres of land,
and he and his wife together had other financial interests. He was seldom if
ever at fault in matters of business judgment and his wise investments and en-
terprise brought him substantial success.
Moreover, he was well known because of his activity and influence in matters
relating to the public welfare. His political allegiance was given to the republican
party and he was ever an intelligent advocate of the measures which he espoused.
For many years he served as the treasurer of Townsend township, was also
trustee for several years and for a long period acted as a member of the district
school hoard. Whatever pertained to the public welfare awakened his interest
and if he believed that a plan was feasible and for the best interests of the com-
munity he would give it his hearty endorsement and support. He held mem-
bership in Townsend Lodge. F. & A. M., and was one of the active representa-
tives of the craft for many years. A man of sterling purpose and honorable
conduct, he was highly respected by all who knew him. He stood as a high
type of the American citizen who by his own energy wins success and at the
same time is neglectful of no duty to the public.
SHERMAN B. HYDE
Sherman B. Hyde, a worthy representative of one of the old pioneer families
of Ohio, now closely associated with the agricultural and live-stock interests of
Townsend township, was lxirn November 6. 1875. and is a son of Joseph and
Emma L. 1 Humphrey) Hyde. The father was a farmer by occupation and the
son was reared on the old homestead place, assisting in the general work relative
Digitized by Google
486
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
to the cultivation and care of the crops. His early education was acquired in the
district schools and subsequently he continued his studies in the schools of Col-
lins and attended Oberlin College for a time. He was a young man of twenty-
five years when on the 19th of December. 1900. he wedded Miss Grace Sher-
man, a daughter of Almond and Emma ( Bowen) Sherman. Both the Sherman
and Bowcn families were prominent in pioneer times here. I nto Mr. and
Mrs. Hyde have been born four children: John; Almond J.; and Grace, who
passed away when three years old : and Emma Maie.
After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Hyde settled on the old home farm where
he had always lived. This is a tract of three hundred and fifty acre* jf very rich
and productive land and the place is well improved with large barns and sheds,
giving ample shelter for grain and stock. There is also a modern dwelling upon
the place. The land is tiled and carefully improved and is now under a high state
of cultivation. Mr. Hyde also makes a specialty of raising live stock, feeding
sheep, cattle and hogs for the markets. His farm presents a neat and thrifty
appearance, and he not only finds ready sale for the product of his fields but also
finds a good market for his stock.
In his political views Mr. Hyde is a republican, active in support of the party
interests. When twenty-two years of age he was elected township trustee and
filled the position for nine years, discharging his duties with promptness and
fidelity. He has been for a long period and is still a member of the township
board of education. He is usually chosen a delegate to the county, district and
state conventions of his party and is a man well informed on questions and issues
of the day. thus being able to support his position by intelligent argument. He
cares little for office, however, preferring to give his time to his private affairs.
His wife is an intelligent lady of fine character and the Hyde home is among
the most attractive in the township. Both are held in high esteem by all who
know them, for their good qualities of heart and mind have endeared them to
many friends. Mr. Hyde is practical in all that he does in a business way, and
the residence and excellent appearance of his place make this one of the best
farms in the county.
MISS MARY NELSON.
Miss Mary Nelson, owning and residing on a fine farm of about two hundred
acres in Bronson township, was born on this place on the 19th of April, 1870.
Her parents. Horatio Perry and Maria (Danforth) Nelson, were both natives
of Peru township, this county, the former born March 17. 1830. and the latter on
the 1st of February, 1837. John Nelson, the paternal grandfather of Miss Nelson,
whose birth occurred in Massachusetts in 1800, became one of the pioneer set-
tlers of Huron county, locating in Peru township with his father, Eli Nelson, in
the year 1816. t'nto him and his wife, who bore the maiden name of Almira
Sherman, were born six children, namely: Fidelia. Mary, Lucia. Elisabeth, Hor-
atio P. and Henry. Aro and Lucy (Taft) Danforth, the maternal grandparents
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
487
of Miss Nelson, were also numbered among the early settlers of Peru township,
making their way to this state from Vermont.
Horatio P. Nelson, the father of the lady whose name initiates this review,
was for a number of years engaged in the operation of a sawmill in Peru town-
ship, but subsequently gave his attention to general agricultural pursuits, con-
tinuing as a successful representative of farming interests until called to his final
rest. He was likewise a stockholder in the Huron County Rank and in the com-
munity where his entire life was spent gained favorable recognition as a sub-
stantial, progressive and leading citizen. His political allegiance was given to
the republican party and his fellow townsmen, recognizing his worth and ability,
called him to various positions of public trust and responsibility. On the 8th
of March, i860, he was united in marriage to Miss Maria Danforth, by whom
he had two children, as follows: Mary: and Charles Danforth, whose natal day
was August 13, 1866. The latter, who wedded Miss Lizzie M. Sanborn, is now
deceased, his demise having occurred on the 28th of November, lojoo His widow
and her two children, Aro Danforth and Ira Sanborn, now make their home in
Boston.
Miss Mary Nelson has spent her entire life on the farm where her birth oc-
curred and \\ Inch is now in her possession. The place is a valuable and well im-
proved tract of land of alxnit two hundred acres and she derives therefrom a grati-
fying annual income. She was reared in the faith of the Universalis church and
attends its services. Her many good traits of heart and mind have endeared
her to all with whom she has come in contact and she is well entitled to mention
in this volume as a representative of two of the prominent and honored pioneer
families of this county.
FRANK SCHLACETER.
Frank Schlageter, owning and operating an excellent farm of one hundred
and two acres located in Bronson township, is meeting with most gratifying suc-
cess in his farming and stock raising interests. A native of Havana, he was
bcrn on the 5th of February. 1867, and is a son of Michael and Mary (Beeler)
Schlageter. The father was a soldier of the Civil war, being a member of the
One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Ohio Volunteer Infantry. In his family were
six children : Frank, Edward. Mary, Lizzie, and two who died in infancy.
Spending the period of his boyhood and youth amid the scenes and environ-
ment of country life, Frank Schlageter assisted his father in the work of the home
farm and acquired his education as a pupil in the common schools. Under the
direction of his father he received thorough business training along agricultural
lines and when he attained his majority and sought to engage in business for him-
self he wisely selected as his life work the occupation to which he had been
reared. He has since devoted his energies to farming and for the past ten years
has resided upon a farm of one hundred and two acres of land in Oronson town-
ship. During this period, he has directed his efforts to its further cultivation and
improvement. It is now a well improved property which indicates in its neat
4SS
HISTORY OF H I 'RON COUNTY
appearance the thrift and progressiveness of its owner, while his well directed in-
dustry, energy and perseverance are finding their reward in the rich harvests
which are annually gathered. In connection with his general agricultural pur-
suits, he breeds cattle, sheep and hogs, and he enjoys a substantial income as b »th
branches of his business — the raiding of grain and the raising of stock — are prov-
ing successful.
It was on the 10th of May. iS«,o. that Mr. Sehkigcter was united in mar-
riage to Miss l.oretta Ru^glcs. who was born in i860 and is a daughter of George
and Elizabeth (Snyder) Ruggles. She was the youngest of a family of hve
children, the others being: Jennie. Walter, Charles and William. Mr. and Mrs.
Schlageter have one child, a sou, Walter Melville. In politics Mr. Schlageter
is independent, reserving the privilege to vote for the men and measures which in
his estimation will best conserve the public good. He is. however, public spirited
in his citizenship and does all in his power to further the substantial growth and
upbuilding of the community, while he ranks among the loyal and representative
citizens of lironson township.
WILLIAM T. SXVDKR.
William T. Snyder, who since 1903 has practically lived retired in Xorwalk,
was in former years actively and successfully identified with the agricultural in-
terests of Huron county. His birth occurred in Milan, Erie county, Ohio, Feb-
ruary 3. 1835. his father being William H. Snyder, who was born in New York
on the 12th of April. 1801. He was a harness maker by trade and in 1833, made
his way to Huron county. Ohio, thus becoming a factor in the pioneer development
and progress of this part of the state. In 1839, he purchased a farm in Peru town-
ship and made his home thereon until the time of his death, devoting his time and
energies to general agricultural pursuits with gratifying success. He passed away
in January, 1885, in the faith of the Presbyterian church, his demise being the
occasion of deep and widespread regret.
W illiam T. Snyder was reared on his father's farm, early becoming familiar
with the duties and labors that fall to the lot of the agriculturist, with which line
of activity he was identified throughout his entire business career. Energetic,
enterprising and progressive, he met with a gratifying and commendable meas-
ure of prosperity in his farming operations and when at length his well directed
labors had brought him a handsome competence he put aside the active work of
the fields am! took up his abode in Xorwalk, where he has lived retired since kk\V
He still retains possession of his farm in Peru township, this county, and though
now past the seventy- fourth milestone on life's journey, he is yet quite a busy
an.l active man. In 1864, he enlisted as a soldier of the I'nion army, becoming
a member of the One Hundred and Sixty-sixth Regiment. Ohio Volunteer In-
fantry, and doing garrison duty at W ashington. 1). C. during his four months'
term of service.
In 1856, Mr. Snyder was united in marriage to Miss Sarah A Perry, who
was lorn in Peru township. Huron county, in 1837. The eight children born of
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
48!)
this union, all of whom still survive, arc as follows: Clarence E., who is a resident
of Indiana; Mrs. Mary E. Stafford, of Michigan; Mrs. Anna Ketchum, living in
Xorwalk; Charles P., who makes his home in Peru township; Mr>. Nettie M.
Rarison. of Huron county; Sadie p.; Mrs. Laura B. Hovt. also a resident of
Huron county; and Mrs. Pkrence S. Crawford, residing in this state. There
have been no deaths in the family and Mr. Snyder n nv has twenty grandchildren.
He celebrated the Christmas of 1908 by a family re-union, inviting all of his chil-
dren and grandchildren to the Christmas dinner.
At the polls Mr. Snyder usually casts his ballot in support of the men and
measures of the democracy, but is n t bitterly partisan, it being his aim to -.up-
port the candidate whom he considers best qualified for office. His fellow towns-
men, recognizing his worth and ability, have called him to various positions of
public trust and responsibility. He served as assessor for ten years, was township'
clerk for ft teen years and for twelve years acted a> justice of the peace in Peru
townslvp. discharging his various < fficial duties in a most able and satisfactory
manner. Both he and his wife have an extensive circle of warm friends through-
out the community, having ever displayed those traits of character which in every
land and clime awaken confidence and regard. Mr. Snyder well deserves mention
in this volume as one of the honored and representative citizens of Huron county,
being thoroughly familiar with it< annals from pioneer times down to the present.
PR ED A. liECKSTElN.
Prcd A. lieckstein, numbered am* tig the successful and enterprising agri-
culturists of Lyme township, where he owns an excellent farm of seventy-eight
acres, was born in this township on the 20th of June. 1877. his parents being
W illiam and Carolina (Longyear) lieckstein. The father, whose birth occurred
in < lenr.any. September jo, 1848. came alone to the new world at the age of seven-
teen \ears. taking up his abode in Huron county. Ohio. Securing employment
as a farm hand, he was thus engaged for about six years and then bought ninety
acres of land in Lyme township, where he continued to make his home until called
to his final rest in 19.05. Throughout his entire business career, he was success-
fully identified with agricultural interests and Ins upright and hononble life won
him the warm regard and 1 stv-em of all with whom hs was associated. He did
effective work for the cause of educatii n as a member of the school board and was
likewise a value ! rnd helpful member of the Lutheran church at I'ellevue. His
wife was horn in Richmond township. Huron county, in the year 1850. her par-
ents. Charles and Mary Longyear, being early settlers ot this county. She still
survives and has an extensive circle of warm friends throughout this county, where
she has spent her entire life. Her family numbers five children, namely: bred A.,
of this review; Lewis; William. Jr.; Carolina, the wire of William Seible ; and
Addie.
Pred A. lieckstein obtained his education in the district and special schools of
his native township and was reared in the usual manner of farm lads. He worked
in the fields when not busy with his textbooks and early became familiar with the
Digitized by Google
400
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops. In 1908, he purchased
his present farm of seventy-eight acres from Daniel Eichenlaub and has since
added many improvements to the property, in the cultivation of which he is meet-
ing with a gratifying and well merited measure of prosperity. He is practical in
his methods and his intense and well directed activity constitutes the basis of the
success which has crowned his efforts.
In 1904, Mr. Beckstein was united in marriage to Miss Flora Seible, whose
birth occurred in Lyme township. October 18, 1878, her parents being Anthony
and Mary (Sipe) Seible, both of whom were natives of Germany. The father,
whose natal day was May 31, 1834, passed away on the 22d of July. 1898. while
the mother, who was born December 30. 1837. st 'M survives. Mr. and Mrs. Heck-
stein have one child, Clara, born on the 30th of January, 1905. In his religious
faith, Mr. Beckstein is a Lutheran, belonging to the church of that denomination
in Bellevue. Both he and his wife have always resided in Lyme township and
enjoy in large measure the confidence and esteem of those with whom they have
come in contact, while the hospitality of their pleasant home is greatly enjoyed by
their many friends.
LEVI L. COLE.
Levi L. Cole, who is numbered among the progressive and enterprising agri-
culturists of Bronson township, is a worthy native son of Huron county, his birth
having here occurred on the 19th of October, 1850. His father, Lyman Cole,
who was born in New York on the 10th of March, 1810, passed away when his
son. Levi L., was but three years of age. The mother, marrying a second time,
afterward became the wife of J. S. Fuller.
Levi L. Cole supplemented his preliminary education, obtained in the country
schools, by a course of study in the normal school at Milan, Erie county. When
eighteen years of age he hired out as a farm hand for one season and subsequently
took charge of the home farm, caring for his mother until she was called to her
final rest on the 2d of February, 1892. He then bought the interest of the other
heirs in the old homestead place of one hundred and one acres, which he has since
owned and operated, the fields annually yielding golden harvests in return for
the care and labor which he bestows upon them. He has added to his landed
holdings by the additional purchase of fifty acres on the opposite side of the
road, where he resides with his daughter. Mrs. West.
On the 20th of October. 1880. Mr. Cole was united in marriage to Miss Elva
T. Boyle, who was born on the 5th of January. 1857, her parents being Richard
and Eliza Boyle, of Huron county. Mrs. Cole passed away on the 12th of Octo-
ber, 1889, leaving a daughter, Anna E.. who gave her hand in marriage to Niles
A. West on the 2d of August. 1904. Mr. and Mrs. West have a little daughter.
Elva Margaret.
In his political views Mr. Cole is a stalwart and unfaltering republican and
has capably served as trustee of Bronson township for twelve years. He was
largely instrumental in furthering the movement which resulted in the building
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
493
of the new stone road from five points south on the old state road, and his aid
and influence arc ever given in support of those measures which tend to advance
the general welfare or promote the country's growth along substantial lines. His
entire life has been passed in this county and that his career has ever been an
upright and honorable one is indicated by the fact that the associates of his boy-
hood and youth are still numbered among his stanch friends and admirers.
BENJAMIN BOURDETTF Wool).
The record of Benjamin Bourdctte W ood is such as to make his history of
general interest, for he today occupies a prominent position in professional and
business circles in Norwalk. Moreover he is a representative of two of the old-
est and most prominent families of this part of the state, families whose activity
has been a most potent element in the work of general progress and improvement
here. His own lines of life have been cast in harmony therewith and his record
retlects credit upon the history of the community. One of Huron county's na-
tive sons, Mr. Wood was born at Hunt's Corners in Lyme township, October 19,
1870. His father is also a native of the same locality but his grandfather, Joseph
Wood, was born in England and became the founder of the family in the United
States, where he arrived in 1833. Making his way westward to Huron, he drove
from that place to Lyme township, settling on the farm, which continued to be
his place of residence for many years. James 15. Wood also followed farming
in Lyme township for a long period and in 1874 removed to Bellevue, where he
engaged in the furniture business and also in the grain trade. He is now vice-
president of the First National I tank, of Bellevue, and occupies a prominent and
honored position in commercial and financial circles. He has attained a most
gratifying measure of success and the methods which he has always pursued have
won him the honor and respect of his associates. He has been quite active in
put, lie affairs, and his influence has been no unimportant factor in promoting prog-
ress and improvement. His wife. Mrs. Julia L. W ood, was a daughter of Bour-
dette Wood, the youngest member of a family of five sons and four daughters.
He became one of the most distinguished and influential men in his section of
Huron county, Bellevue owing much of its growth and progress to him. He was
a man of liberal thought, of pr< gressive and patriotic purposes and of undaunted
enterprise. As the years passed by and he prospered in his undertakings he be-
came a large land owner and was also the president of the old Bellevue Bank.
James B. Wood likewise holds extensive land interests, together with considerable
realty in Bellevue. In addition to his other business interests he is a director in
the (Jilchrist Transportation Company, owning one of the largest independent
fleets in the world. He still makes his home in Bellevue, but in 1901, was called
upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who died on the 8th of June of that year at
the age of fifty-four. She was very active in society and in the Episcopal church
and her influence was ever given on the side of the right, the true and the beauti-
ful. The family numbered hut two children, the daughter being Mrs. Martha
Digitized by Google
494 HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Collins, the wife of E. T. Collins, who is connected with manufacturing interests
in Toledo.
The only son, Benjamin Bourdettc Wood, pursued a public school education
to the time that he was graduated from the Bellevue high school, while later he
entered Kenyon College and subsequently matriculated in the law department of
Michigan University at Ann Arbor, from which he was graduated in June, 1892.
He began practice in NorwaUc in September of the same year and for a short time
was in the office of Judge Wildman. Later he undertook the task of building up
an independent practice and his success is indicated by his high standing in his
profession, the general public and the legal fraternity both acknowledging his
ability and the efficiency of the work which he does in the courts. He was city
attorney of Norwalk for two terms and he has always been active in public affairs,
prominent as a leader in the lccal ranks of the republican party. Aside from
his professional interests, he is a director of and a member of the finance com-
mittee of the Huron County Banking Company and is one of the receivers of die
Laning Printing Company.
In September. 18)8, Mr. Wood was married to Miss Harriet Belle Rood, a
daughter of R. K. Rood, a man of note in Huron county, who at one time served
as county clerk. Her mother, who bore the maiden name of Louise Hadley. was
a representative of an old Huron county family and her father was prominent in
manufacturing circles. Mr. and Mrs. Wood have become parents of two children:
James, born July 13. 1809: and Bourdette, born July 27. 1902.
Mr. Wood is an exemplary representative of the Masonic order and has taken
the degrees of the York Rite up to the including that of the commandery. lie is
a member of the Episcopal church and is now a member of its building committee
and its secretary. He is aim a vestryman of St. Paul's church and his interest in
the church work is manifest in many tangible ways.
CHARLES W PARSONS.
Charles W. Parsons, who is actively and successfully identified with general
farming and stock raising interests in Wakeman township, was born in Town-
send township, Huron county. Ohio, <.n the 20th of November. 1853. his parents
being Charles C. and Elmina M. (Arnett ) Parsons. The father's birth occurred
in Florence township, in what is now Erie county. March 17. 1820. while the
mother was born in Warren. Warren county. Pennsylvania, on the 13th of May.
1831.
Peter Parsons, the great-great-grandfather of Charles W. {'arsons, was a
seafaring man. trading between the colonies and (ireat Britain. About the year
17(10. he brought his family, consisting of seven sons and two daughters, to Fair-
field. Fairfield county. Connecticut. Five of his sons lost their lives in the Revolu-
tionary war. He -was intensely patriotic and at a critical period in the war. after
hearing of the death of three of his sons on the same day, he took the weights of
his old English family clock and. with the assistance of a son. molded them into
bullets, which he contributed as ammunition to the Colonial army. Subsequently
u
gitized by Goog jba
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY 495
he and the son also joined the army, aiding the colonists in their attempt to throw
off the yoke of British oppression.
Joseph Parsons, a son of Peter Parsons and the great-grandfather of our sub-
ject, served as a soldier throughout the entire period of the Revolutionary war.
He and his wife reared a family of two sons and three daughters, of whom the
eldest was Aaron Parsons, the grandfather of Charles W. Parsons. Joseph Par-
sons and his son Aaron left Connecticut in 1811 for the Ohio Firelands, or the
Connecticut Reserve, Aaron Parsons only went as far as New York, but his
father continued the journey to Ohio and took up the land for himself and his
son. The latter remained in the Kmpire state for five years and while there was
married to .Miss Betsy Case. In the year 1816. he made his way to Ohio, settling
at Florence in Florence township, which was then in Huron county, but is now
in Frie county. At that time this section of the state was entirely covered with
timber, which had to be cut down and cleared away before the land could be util-
ized for farming purposes. In 1826, Aaron Parsons established his home in
Wakeman and engaged in general agricultural pursuits as a means of livelihood.
The remains of the original log house which he built for his family are still stand-
ing near the home of his grandson, Charles \V. Parsons. Unto Aaron and Betsy
(Case) Parsons were born seven children, the record of whom is as follows:
two who died in infancy; Flecta A, whose birth occurred in New York, prior
to the removal of her parents to this state; Julia; Charles C. ; Joseph W. ; and
Mary J. Of these. Charles C. Parsons, the father of our subject, is the only one
who still survives. He has now attained the venerable age of eighty-nine years
and is in possession of all his faculties.
Unto Charies C. and Flmina M. (Arnett) Parsons, were born seven children,
two of whom died in infancy, the others being Charles W.. George A., Frank J.,
Andrew F. and Flmina Mae. All are still living with the exception of Frank J.,
who was accidentally drowned while bathing at Valparaiso. Indiana, on the 25th
of July. i88<>. He was at that time a young man of twenty-five years and a law
student at Valparaiso.
Charles W. Parsons, whose name introduces this review, was educated in the
district schools of his native township and spent his hovhood and vouth on his
father's farm. He was married at the age of twenty years and brought his
young bride to the home in which he had been born. In the year 1881. they took
up their abode in Wakeman township, where they have since resided. Through-
out his active business career, Mr. Parsons has devoted his time and energies to
general agricultural pursuits and stock-raising and at times has also been quite
extensively engaged in teaming. In association with his son, James C. he owns
one hundred and eighty-three acres of fine farming land, all of which is under
a high state of cultivation and improvement. He has displayed sound judgment
in all he has undertaken and his energy has been one of the potent features in his
MJCCCSS.
On the 27th of October. 1873. Mr. Parsons wa> united in marriage to Miss
Deborah J. Brewer, a daughter of James and Lydia < Braccy) Brewer, the former
a farmer of Townsend township. Their union has been blessed with five children,
as follows: Nora, now the wife of Homer Ohmo. of Washington. D. C. ; Flmina.
who is the wife of William Felton ; James C, who is engaged in agricultural pur-
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON' COUNTY
suits on a farm adjoining that of his father; and two who died in infancy. He is
a young man of excellent business ability and sound judgment and his progres-
sive, alert and enterprising spirit will undoubtedly carry htm forward toward the
goal of prosperity. On the 21st of December. 1007. he wedded Miss Rosalia
Schoettle. a daughter of Alexander and Ursula Schoettle, of Townsend town-
ship.
Charles \V. Parsons gives his political allegiance to the men and measures of
the republican p;rtv. being a stalwart advocate of its principles. He has cap-
afcly served his fellow townsmen in the position of road supervisor For almost
a century the name of Parsons has now figured prominently and honrably in the
annals of this county in connection w ith its agricultural interests and Mr. Parsons
of this review has ever fully maintained the enviable reputation which the mem-
bers cf the family have borne. He is widely recognized as an influential and re-
spected citizen oi the ci imty in which hi* entire life has been spent, while hi*
many sterling iraits <,f character have won him the warm friendship and re-
gard of tho^e with whom he has come in contact.
DEI.OS O. WOODW ARD.
Delos O. Woodward, a mcml>er of the hrm of Mead & Woodward, of Xor-
walk, was born on the I Oth of January. 1852, a son of Orris P. and Clarissa D.
(Fenn) Woodward. The father, whose birth occurred in Lyons, New York, in
1822. was a tailor by trade and during his early business career, followed mer-
chant tailoring. Subsequently he purchased a farm in Huron county, ( >hio. in the
cultivation and improvement of which he was successfully engaged for a period of
eighteen years, at the end of which time he sold the property and took up his
ibede in Norwalk. Here he erected a handsome new residence and continued a
u< rthy and respected citizen of Norwalk until called to his final rest in 1873.
( )n his arrival in this city, he became identified with mercantile pursuits, conduct-
ing a gr. cerv establishment in association with his two sons, I. J. and Delos 0.
Woodward, under the firm style of O. P. Woodward & Sons. His wife, who bore
the maiden name of Clarissa D. Fenn and was born in Clyde. Ohio, in 1S28. passed
away in the year 1866. Unto this worthy couple, were born ten children, six of
whom still survive, namely: Dewey A.; Mrs. Luanda L. Mead; Delos O., of this
review: Mrs. Laura C. Fuller: Mrs. Ada J. Blair; and Mrs. Azell S. Suydani.
Deli s O. Woodward supplemented his preliminary education, obtained in the
common schools, by a course of study in the Norwalk high school. As before
stated, he became associated with his father and brother. 1. J, Woodward, in the
conduct of a grocery business and subsequent to the death of the father the broth-
ers carried on the enterprise for about fifteen years longer, when it was sold out
on account of the failing health of I. J. Woodward, who is now deceased, his de-
mise having occurred in 1906. After severing his connection with the grocery
trade, Mr. Woodward of this review formed a partnership with J. L. Mead, un-
der the firm style of Mead & Woodward, and they have since carried on an ex-
tensive and successful business as buyers and shippers of grain, wool, hay. etc.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
•197
and also as dealers in coal, wood and seeds of all kinds. Mr. Woodward is also
interested in real estate on quite an extensive scale and has long been numbered
among the prosperous, progressive and most highly respected citizens of the eom-
munitv. He well merits the somewhat hackneyed, but altogether expressive
title of a self-made man, for his success has come as the result of untiring energy,
good business ability and honorable, straightforward dealing.
On the 21st of August, 1878, Mr. Woodward was joined in wedlock to Miss
Harriet S. Mead, who was born on the 23d of May. 1849, her parents being Joel
E. and Betsy Ann (Lewis) Mead. By this union, there are two children, as fol-
lows: Charles Lewis, who was educated in the schools of Norwalk and in the
Cleveland Business College ; and {Catherine W., who first attended school in Nor-
walk and then pursued a course of study in Lake Erie College at Painesville.
Politically Mr. Woodward is a stalwart republican and on that ticket was
elected to the office of township treasurer, serving for two terms. The cause of
education has ever found in him a stanch champion and he was a member of the
school board for three years, but resigned because of his defective hearing.
He is one of the elders in the Presbyterian church and fraternally is connected with
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Maccabees. His friends, and they
are many, speak of him in terms of warm praise and good will and his life record
shows that ho is well entitled to mention among the distinctively representative
citizens of Huron county.
The agricultural interests of Huron county find a worthy representative in
Harry W. Snyder, who owns and operates a fine farm of one hundred acres in
Bronson township, where he engages in general farming and stock-raising. He
was born on the 1 ith of September, 1865. on the farm which is now his home, and
is a son of William Henry and Hannah (Hinkley) Snyder. The former, who is a
son of John and Harriett ( Watrcus) Snyder, was born in 1835, while the latter, a
daughter of Benjamin and Maria (Paine) Hinkley, was born in 1836. Mr. and
Mrs. William Henry Snyder are the parents of four children, Harry, Benjamin,
Ida and Luta.
No event of especial importance occurred to varv the routine of daily life for
Harry W. Snyder in his boyhood and youth, which were spent on the old Hinkley
homestead, where his entire life has been spent. He acquired his education in the
district schools, which he attended during the winter months, while the summer sea-
sons were devoted to assisting his father in the cultivation of the fields. That his
early training along agricultural lines was thorough and practical, is indicated in
the atmosphere of progress and prosperity which surrounds his place today. Ik-
now owns the old homestead which was originally the property of his grandfather,
Benjamin Hinkley. and which constitutes one hundred acres located in Bronson
township. He has directed his efforts toward its further improvement and cultiva-
tion and the place, which is now in an excellent condition, is one of the valuable and
desirable farms of the township. He is progressive and up-to-date in his methods.
HARRY W. SNYDER.
Digitized by Google
408
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
having equipped the place with all of the modern conveniences and devices for the
purpose of facilitating farm lahor. He possesses good husiness ability, which is
manifest in his management of his general fanning and stock-raising interests,
which are proving remunerative as the years go by.
In the year 1888 Mr. Snyder was united in marriage to Miss Sadie F. Snyder,
who was born in 1869, and is a daughter of William T. and Sarah Perry, the for-
.ner a son of William H. Snyder, and the latter a daughter of Horace Perry, who
tracts his ancestry back to Commodore Perry, of Lake Erie fame. Mrs. Harry W.
Snyder is the eldest of a family of eight children, born unto her parents, the others
being Clarence. Charles. Mary. Anna, Nettie, Laura and Florence. Unto Mr. and
Mrs. Harry \Y. Snyder have been born two children, Florence ami Dorothea.
In politics, Mr. Snyder casts his ballot in support of the men and measures of
the republican party for a close study of the principles and platform of that or-
ganization has led him to the belief that thereby the best interests of the community
will be best conserved He was elected township trustee, which office he filled for
about seven years, during which period he discharged his duties with promptness,
faithfulness and loyalty. Public-spirited in his citizenship, his influence can at all
times be depended upon to further all matters having for their object the substan-
tial and permanent upbuilding of the community. In Huron county where his en-
tire life has been passed, Mr. Snyder has won a large circle of friends, who en-
tertain for him hi^h regard and esteem, and he is numbered among the prominent
and valued citizens of Bronson township.
JOHN F. DELLINGER.
In reviewing the lives of men it is interesting to note how many of them
continue in the same line of business from boyhood on through mature years,
developing their capacities and abilities and gradually accumulating a com-
petency that insures freedom from care during declining years. John F. Del-
linger of Richmond township, Huron county, is an excellent example of this
class of man, and he has become one of the substantial farmers of his locality,
now owning one hundred and ten and one-half acres of rich farming land, all of
which is in a good state of cultivation. Mr. Dcllinger was born in Cumberland
county, Pennsylvania. August 27, 1 864. being a son of Henry and Elizabeth
(Sennett) Dellinger. His paternal grandparents were John and Betsy Del-
linger, while his maternal grandparents were Oliver and Elizabeth Sennett, all
born in the Keystone state.
Henrv Dellinger was a cooper by trade and found employment in Pennsyl-
vania and afterwards in Crawford county. Ohio, to which locality he removed
and in which he lived a year before coming to Richmond township. Huron county,
where he spent the remainder of his life, dying January 12. 180,7. His re-
mains are interred in Union Bethel cemetery in Richmond township. His widow
survives. The following named children graced their union: Susan, who mar-
ried William Rapp and lives in Bellevue, Huron county ; William, who lives in
Seneca county ; Catherine, who married Edwin Ilofford and lives in Philadelphia:
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
501
John F.. of this review; Carrie, who married Charles Sage: Howard, who lives
in Richmond township: and George, who died in Pennsylvania.
John F. Dellinger alternated attendance upon the district school with as-
sisting his father, in both Pennsylvania and Ohio, and when but sixteen he left
school and engaged in farming, working by the month until his marriage. After
that event he rented a farm for three years, when he bought sixty-four acres
and owned it for eleven years. Selling this farm, he purchased, in 1902, his pres-
ent property from the heirs of his father-in-law's estate, and it has been the
family home ever since.
On February 29. 1888, Mr. Dellinger married Mary Sage, a daughter of
John \Y. and Catherine (Miller) Sage, natives of Oswego county. New York,
and Columbiana county. Ohio, respectively. The parents of Mrs. Sage were
from Pennsylvania, but emigrated to Columbiana county. Ohio, a short time
prior to her birth. Mrs. Dellinger was one in a family of four children, as
follows: Julia, who married A. W. Harmon; Sanford; Charles; and Mary, who
is the youngest. Mr. and Mrs. Dellinger have had a family as follows: Earl,
who was born in February, 1891, and died in 1898; Cloyce, who was born in
July, 1894; Edna, who was born in September, 1897; and Ilo, who was born
in August, 1900.
Mr. Dellinger's efforts in behalf of the republican party have been appre-
ciated as is shown by his election to the offices of road superintendent, school
director and twice as assessor. The religious affiliations of the family are with
the United Brethren church, and they have many friends in it as they also have
throughout the neighborhood where they are so well and favorably known.
ERNEST W. BECHSTEIN.
Ernest W. Bechstein is a retired agriculturist of Huron county, now residing
on his fine farm of sixty-six acres in Lyme township. He was born in Witten-
berg, Germany, on the 20th of March, 1843, his parents being Louis and Kather-
ine (Strecker) Bechstein, who spent their entire lives in the fatherland. Their
family numbered seven children, namely : Katherine and Julia, who are deceased ;
Anna; Ricka, who has also passed away; Louis; Ernest W., of this review; and
William, who is likewise deceased.
When a young man of twenty-two years, Ernest W. Bechstein determined
to establish his home in the new world and after reaching the United States, he
settled near Monroeville, Ohio, working by the month as a farm hand for five
years. Subsequently, he was engaged in the operation of a rented fatm near
Russell's Corners for about a year and in 1 871, owing to his close economy and
careful expenditure, had accumulated capital sufficient with which to purchase a
farm of his own. He bought a tract of one hundred and eighteen acres in Lyme
township, on which he erected a dwelling and for thirty years, was successfully
engaged in the cultivation of the farm, making many substantial improvements
thereon. On New Year's day of 1900, he took up his abode on his present farm
of sixtv-six acres in Lyme township, which he had purchased in 1893, ant ' R ave
Digitized by Google
502
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
his time and energies 10 its development and improvement. He also ow ned another
tract of thirty-three acres in the same township, which he sold, and in 1905 dis-
posed of the old homestead farm of one hundred and eighteen acres to his son. He
has put aside the active work of the fields and lives retired, his daughter Ida act-
ing as his housekeeper, for his wife was called to her final rest in i«po. He now
rents his farm hut still makes his home thereon, in a fine orick residence, enjoying
in well earned ease the fruits of his former toil.
On the 9th of February. i8<*>. Mr. Bechstein was united in marriage to Miss
Louisa Donner, whose birth occurred in Germany in 1S45. her parents being Fred-
erick and Savina Donner, of that country. Six children were born of this union.
William C, living in Crawford county. Ohio, married Miss Minnie Marquardt. by
whom he has two children, Elmer and Ora. Charles is a resident of California.
Ernest, who wedded Mis> Minnie Hess, passed away at the age of thirty-eight
years. The two children of this marriage. Clarence and Gtadys, live on the old
homestead farm of their grandfather. Lucy, who became the wife of Louis Hess,
has a daughter Frieda. She resides in Sherman township, this county. Ida is at
home with her father. August died at the age of eight months.
Politically Mr. Itechstein is a stalwart democrat and any movement or measure
instituted to advance the general welfare receives his active aid and cooperation.
He served as road supervisor for fifteen years and the fine public highways of
Lyme township are the visible evidence of his fidelity and capability in that office
He not only ably directed the labors of the men under his charge but took an ac-
tive part in the work himself. The cause of education has ever found in him a
stanch champion and he acted as a member of the school hoard for a number of
years. He is likewise a prominent and valued member of the Lutheran church at
Bellcvue. which he was largely instrumental in organizing. He solicited funds for
the erection of the edifice and headed the list of subscriber with a donation of four
hundred dollars, later edding two hundred dollars to his subscription. Until re-
cently he acted as a trustee of the church but about a year ago met with an accident
which prevents him from attending the services. He had a bad fall, dislocating
both kneecaps and has since lieen unable to walk with ut the a ; d of crutches. In
this country he has found oppi rtunity to give full scope to his ambition and cner^v
and though born across the water he is thoroughly American in thought and feel-
ing and is patriotic and sincere in his love tor the stars and stripes. F r more than
four decades he has been numbered among the honored, respected ?w\ public-
spirited citizens of Huron county and a host of friends are not on'y willing but
ea<zer to testify to his sterling worth.
CLARENCE L. FRENCH.
Clarence L. French is a representative business man of Nonvaik who pos-
sesses much of the initiative spirit that enables him to form original plans, while
his determination permits him to carry them forward to successful c mpletion.
He also readily recognizes and utilizes an opportunity m l thus step by step he
has progressed until the place that he now occupies in the business wor d is n
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
503
prominent and substantial one. He was born in Iowa, August 18, i860. His
father, Birdseye C. French, was born in Wakeman township, Huron county, Ohio,
February 7, 1833. He has devoted his entire life to farming and is still living on
his farm of fifty acres. He was one of the pioneer settlers of this county and
assisted in building the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad from Norwalk
to Wakeman. He spent about twenty years of his early life in Iowa, returning
in 1871, feeling satisfied that Ohio was good enough for him. His wife died in*
May. 1903, at the age of sixty-six years. The family consisted of three sons and
one daughter, but the daughter died at the age of twenty-three years.
In the district schools of Ix>rain county. Ohio, Clarence L. French pursued his
education, for his parents returned from Iowa to Ohio in his boyhood days. He
started in business life at the age of eighteen years in the employ of N'oyes Broth-
ers, running a retail wagon through the country for two years. He then took
up the same business on his own account and continued in that field of labor for
about two years, after which he engaged in the wholesale paper and notion busi-
ness in Norwalk. continuing in that line of commercial activity until 1886, when
he sold out. His next step was to form a partnership with James H. Sprague,
under the firm style of Sprague & French, for the manufacture of novelties, in
which they continued for two years and then converted it into the umbrella busi-
ness. On the 15th of October. 1896, after being active in the successful manage-
ment of the concern for some time, he sold out to James H. Sprague and his as-
sociates. At that date in connection with a partner, he engaged in the lumber
business in Mississippi for two years and on selling out returned to Norwalk,
where he began business alone in the exporting of black walnut lojjs fo Hamburg,
Germany. On the expiration of three years devoted to that business, he organ-
ized an incorporated company under the name of the French Lumber Company,
capitalized for thirty thousand dollars with a volume of business amounting to
fifty thousand dollars annually. Their operating field was principally in West
Virginia, although in any state where it could be obtained they bought black wal-
nut for exportation.
In August. Myo~, Mr. French became manager of the Norwalk Vault Com-
pany, of Norwalk. which had been incorporated about a year before, but was
doing but little business. Mr. French then took full charge of the business in
constructing the national steel rc-inforced water proof cement vault and na-
tional cement mould for the manufacturers in other localities. Through their
methods they now handle a Aater-proofing powder cement which positively ex-
cludes all dampness or moisture coming in contact with the body, and the vault
when prepared for burial is properly sealed with this waterproof cement and the
body will remain intact for ages. Their business extends practically over the
whole of the United States. They also have a concern in Missouri which looks
after their western business When Mr. French took hold of this business as its
general manager, it was in its infancy and since he assumed the management, he
has brought the volume of business up to about seventy-five thousand dollars
annually. These moulds are sold outright and the company receives a royalty
for the product. Although the enterprise is a comparatively new one. it is rap-
idly on the increase and under the management of Mr. French, it is destined to be
one of the most prosperous business concerns in Norwalk. It is capitalized for
Digitized by Google
504
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
fortv thousand dollars with advance orders for upwards of twenty-five thousand
dollars worth of moulds at the present time and all the time the patronage i,
growing. Mr. French is a stockholder in the business and in being put to the
front to produce results, has proven himself master of the situation.
In Septemher. 1885, Mr. French was united in marriage to Miss Ella Cunning-
ham, who was born in East Norwalk in February. 1865. They became the par-
ents of two children : Ada M., who was born October 20, 1886, and is now the wife
of Thomas Diamon. by w hom she has one child. Sherman Diamon ; and War-
ren S.
In his fraternal relations. Mr. French is an Odd Fellow and his political sup-
port is given to the republican party, while his religious faith is that of the Metho-
dist church. He has been pre-eminently a man of affairs, active and alert in busi-
ness, and commencing at the bottom, has continuously worked his way upward,
his record being one of honor and success.
NTS T. HANSEN.
Nis T. Hansen, a successful and enterprising agriculturist of Lyme township,
where he owns an excellent farm of fifty-one and a half acres, was born in Den-
mark on the 15th of September, 1848. His parents, Carson S. and Mary ( Thomp-
son) Hansen, passed away at the ages of fifty-five and seventy-seven years respec-
tively. Their family numbered seven children, namely : Carson ; Anna, who is de-
ceased ; Nis T., of this review ; Christina and John, who have likew ise been called
to their final rest ; Sophia ; and John.
In the year 1882, when thirty-four years of age, Nis T. Hansen determined to
seek his fortune in the new world and, crossing the Atlantic to the United States,
located at Port Clinton, Ohio, where he worked as a farm hand for three years.
Subsequently he took up his abode in Sandusky county, Ohio, where he was en-
gaged in the work of the fields for a similar period and then rented a tract of land
in Seneca county, Ohio, continuing its cultivation for fifteen years At the end of
that time, by dint of close economy and careful expenditure, he had accumulated
capital sufficient to enable him to purchase a farm of his own and in IQ04 he
bought his present place of fifty-one and a half acres in Lyme township, Huron
county, from G. G. Patten. His efforts as an agriculturist have been attended with
a most commendable and well deserved measure of prosperity, for the methods
which be follows are practical and at the same time are in keeping with ideas of
progressive farming.
In 1872 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Hansen and Miss Christina Jen-
sen and by this union there have been born eight children. Charles, living in Lyme
township, wedded Miss Clesta Weiker, by whom he has four children : Carl. Gor-
don, Edgar and Lewis. Margaret, who became the wife of Michael Kistler. re-
sides near Clyde. Ohio. They have five children : Allen, Hessie. I^awrence. Oscar
and Ralph. John, of Seneca county, Ohio, married Miss Jennie Zimmerman and
has three children : Walter, Nora and Margaret. Mary, who gave her hand in
marriage to Henry Zimmerman, has one child, Helen. They make their home at
Digitized by Googl
HISTORY OF HI 'RON COUNTY
505
Cleveland. Ohio. Peter. Anna. Adeline and Jennie are the four youngest children
of Mr. and Mrs. Hansen. The different members of the family all belong to the
Lutheran church and are highly esteemed throughout the community in which they
reside. The hope that led Mr. Hansen to leave his native land and seek a home in
America has been more than realized. He found the opportunities he sought —
which, by the way. are always open to the ambitious, energetic man— and making
the best of these he has steadily worked his way upward.
MRS. JULIA JOSEPHINE RUSSELL.
Mrs. Julia Josephine Russell, the widow of William Charles Russell, now owns
a valuable and well improved farm of one hundred and twelve acres in Fairfield
township. Her birth occurred in Ripley township. Huron county, Ohio, on the 8th
of October, 1853, her parents being George and Sarah Hayten Hyde Blackmore.
The father was born in England on the nth of November, 1807. while the mother's
birth occurred in that country on the nth of August. 1821. Their marriage was
celebrated in Derby county, England, on the 20th of September, 1841, and on the
4th of June, 1849, they set sail for the United States, arriving in New York on the
20th of July. They at once made their way to this state and took up their abode
in Sandusky but after a short time came to Fairfield township, Huron county, and
subsequently established their home in Ripley township, where they spent the re-
mainder of their lives. Unto this worthy couple were born the following children :
Faniza Ellen. Julia Josephine, Lucy A., Annie, Sarah, Priscilla, Thomas Hyde,
Isaac. William George and Walter.
On the 6th of January, 1886. Julia Josephine Blackmore gave her hand in
marriage to William Charles Russell, who was born in Ripley township, Huron
county, on the 8th of April, 1858. and was a son of John A. and Mary (Lewis)
Russell, the former a native of New York and the latter also born in the east. In
early life they accompanied their respective parents on the journey to this county.
Mr. and Mrs. John A. Russell reared a family of nine children, namely: George
Wilbur, Homer J.. Adeline. Rebecca Jane. William Charles, Stephen D., Emma.
FYed and Martha. Unto William Charles and Julia Josephine ( Blackmore) Russell
were born two children: George A., whose birth occurred May 20, 1894; and
Mary Blackmore. who first opened her eyes to the light of day on the 12th of Feb-
ruary, 1897.
Mrs. Russell has made her home on the farm where she now resides since 1899,
the place comprising one hundred and twelve acres of rich and productive land.
Her husband, who was successfully identified with general agricultural pursuits
throughout his active business career, was called to his final rest on the nth of
July, 1007, hi<= death being the occasion of deep and w idespread regret. He was
a devoted and consistent member of the Disciple church at North Fairfield, while
fraternally he was identified with the Maccabees. His political allegiance was
given to the republican party and he capably served his fellow townsmen in the
positions of school director and road supervisor. He was well known and highly
esteemed throughout the community in which his entire life was spent, being num-
1
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
bered among its enterprising and progressive agriculturists as well as public-spir-
ited citizens. His widow has likewise been a resident of this county from het
birth to the present time and, being a lady of many excellent traits of heart and
mind, has gained an extensive circle of friends within its borders. She is an exem-
plary and faithful member of the Disciple church of North Fairfield.
EUGENE FECK SILLIMAN.
Eugene Peck Silliman. owning and operating a well improved farm of one
hundred and sixteen acres on the outskirts of North Fairfield, was born on the
place where he now resides, his natal day being April 16, 1841;. His parents,
George and Lydia (Peck) Silliman, were natives of Connecticut and New York
respectively, the former born about 1815 and the latter on the 27th of January,
1817. The paternal grandparents of our subject were Joseph and Lucinda
( Banks) Silliman, the former a native of Connecticut. Isaac and Amy (Carlisle)
Peck, the maternal grandparents of Eugene P. Silliman, were born in the years
1777 and 1790. respectively. Their marriage was celebrated in 1808 and they
reared the following children: William, Lucy, Isaac. Lydia. Matthew, Eli. Cornel-
ius, Lyman, James. Henry and Lucinda. Isaac Peck, the maternal grandfather,
passed away in 1841, while his wife was called to her final rest in 1877.
As above stated, Eugene P. Silliman is now the owner of a fine farm of one
hundred and sixteen acres on the outskirts of North Fairfield, to the cultivation
and improvement of which he devotes his time and energies. He raises the
cereals best adapted to soil and climate, so that he annually gathers and markets
good harvests. Energetic, industrious and enterprising, he has won a gratifying
measure of prosperity in the conduct of his agricultural interests and has long
been numbered among the substantial farmers and representative citizens of his
native county.
On the 2d of January. 1878. Mr. Silliman was united in marriage to Miss
Roxana Pates, whose birth occurred in Montgomery county. New York, on the
1 8th of January, 1853. her parents being James and Amanda (Bellinger) Bates.
The father, who was horn in Herkimer county. New York, in i8in. passed away
in 1 88 J. The mother was born on the 23d of December, 1820. The paternal
grandparent- of Mrs. Silliman were Jacob and Polly (Smith) Hates, born in
tin- years 1777 and 1783 respectively. The former died in 1850 and was sur-
vived by his wife for hut three years, her demise occurring in 1862. The mater
nal grandparents of Mrs. Silliman were John and Elizabeth Mellinger. I In
great-grandfather. Frederick Bellinger, served as a lieutenant colonel in the
Revolutionary war. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Silliman have been born three children.
Maud E.. the eldest, whose birth occurred April 22. 187^. is now the wife of
Frank P. Whitney, su]>erintendent of schools at Collin wood. They have two
children. Charles and Elizabeth. Floyd Silliman. who was born on the 12th of
February, 1881, is now a bookkeeper in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Fay. born on
the 31st of October, 1890. is in Portland. Oregon.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
507
Politically. Mr. Silliman is a stalwart advocate of the republican party and
for six years has acted as trustee of the school hoard. His religious faith is in-
dicated by his membership in the Congregational church, in which he is serving
as deacon. Fraternally, he is identified with the National Insurance Union.
He has spent his entire life in this county and is therefore widely and favorably
known, commanding the high regard of all with whom he has been associated.
JAM ICS E. SEELEY,
James E. Seeley. now living retired in Wakeman. Ohio, is one of the promi-
nent and influential citizens of this city, who throughout the period of his resi-
dence here has been connected not only with the business interests but also with
the public affairs of the community. He was born in Hoboken, New Jersey,
on the ist of September, 1865. a son of Edward and Martha (McLain) Seeley.
The parents were natives of New Jersey and came to Ohio in 1865, settling in
Townsend township, Huron county, where the father engaged in the occupation
of farming. In their family, were seven children: Jennie, the wife of William
Riggs, of Norwalk ; Margaret, the wife of Martin Riggs, of Townsend; Anna,
who married Charles 15(x>ne. of (ilenville, Ohio: Job YY., of Milan; Marshall L.,
of Wakeman; Carrie, the wife of Sidney Stoutenherg. of Norwalk; and James
E.. of this review. This number still remains unbroken by the hand of death,
although the father passed away February 22, 1901, and the mother's death oc-
curred on the 4th of July, 1904. The father had devoted his entire life to farm-
ing and was of a retiring disposition. He nevertheless took a deep and help-
ful interest in public affairs and occupied a high place in the community in which
he lived.
James E. Seeley. whose name introduces this review, was reared upon his
father's farm and attended the schools of Townsend township in the acquire-
ment of his education. He remained at heme, assisting in the work of the fields,
until twenty-two years of age when, attracted toward railroad life, he entered the
employ of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad Company and was
thus engaged for two years. At the expiration of that period, he returned to the
farm and assisted his father for a similar peri< d. On the 13th of May, 1890, he
was united in marriage to Miss Louise Amsdel. a daughter of James and Ann
(Doty) Amsdel. of Townsend township. Her father died when she was an in-
fant and her mother later married (ieorge Fox. a farmer of that township.
Mr. and Mrs. Seeley began their domestic life 111 Wakeman, where the
former became identified with the meat business, continuing in this line until
U)0i, when he purchased a farm and operated the same for two years. He
then returned to Wakeman and was c'gain engaged in the meat business in con-
nection with his brother Marshall L . which partnership was maintained for a
period of two ycar<. after which he spent a similar period in agricultural pursuits.
Again taking up his residence in this city, he turned his attention to the bakery
and confectionery business, in which connection he remained until March. 1009.
at which time he sold his interests and has since been living retired. His busi-
■
Digitized by Google
508
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
ness career had been a very active one, his efforts along various lines being
accompanied by most gratifying results, so that now he is able to enjoy in well
earned rest a handsome competence that affords him all of the comforts and many
of the luxuries of life.
Although his success alone would entitle him to prominence as one of the
representative citizens of this city, he is perhaps equally well known in public
and political circles of the community. He has served as constable of Wakeman
township for two terms, was assessor for a similar period and acted as township
trustee for seven years. Mr. Steeley is stalwart in his advocacy of the democracy,
and the fact that his township is strongly republican, indicates something of
his genuine worth and personal popularity. In 1908 the democratic party, dur-
ing the county convention, nominated him for county infirmary director, and
although Huron county is also strongly republican, he was elected over his op-
ponent by three hundred and forty votes, assuming the duties of office in Jan-
uary, 1909. He has always been deeply and actively interested in public affairs,
his efforts being potent factors in the development and improvement of the
community. He is a stanch advocate of good roads and in fact has engaged in
contract work along this line, having constructed fully seven out of the eight
miles of macadam road in Wakeman township, and it is his intention to continue
in this direction.
The home of Mr. and Mrs. Seeley has been blessed with two daughters,
Edna M. and Ethel N., both bright and attractive young ladies, who are well
known in the social circles of this community. The family residence is one of
the most attractive homes in Wakeman. and its atmosphere of refinement and
culture, is enjoyed by a host of friends of the family to whom its hospitality is
cordially extended at all times. Although they do not hold membership in any
church organization, they nevertheless attend the Congregational services and are
liberal in their support of that church. Mr. Seeley also affiliates with the Mac-
cabees. He is enthusiastic over outdoor sports and is a great admirer of a good
horse, having owned at different times some very fine animals, while he also deals,
to some extent, in horses. He finds recreation and relaxation in occasional hunt-
ing and fishing trips and takes much pleasure in motoring with his family during
the evenings. His interests have been wide and varied, showing a well rounded
character, and the value of his service in community affairs is widely acknowl-
edged, while the consensus of public opinion accords him a prominent place in
Wakeman.
ARTHUR ELI ROWLEY.
Arthur Eli Row ley, now serving as probate judge of Huron county, has been
a prominent representative of the legaj profession here during the past seventeen
years. He was born in North Fairfield, Ohio, a son of Charles and Elizabeth
(Stevens) Rowley. His paternal great-grandfather. Eli Smith Rowley, enlisted
for service in the Revolutionary war when but a lx>y. valiantly aiding the colonists
in their struggle for independence. He was captured by the British but escaped
and returned to his ranks. His remains lie buried in the cemetery at Jefferson.
Digitized by Google
HISTORY OF HURON* COUNTY
509
New York, where, in an address delivered on the 4th of July, 1876. the Hon.
Peter Dyckman said: "Among the noble patriots who have left a record of deeds
of daring and patriotism, we may upon this centennial anniversary day inscribe
upon the banner of liberty the name of Eli Smith Rowley."
Edward Rowley, the grandfather of Arthur E. Rowley, was born October 23,
1788. and passed away in the year 1878. He was an expert cabinetmaker and
manufactured the finest grades of furniture, while later in life he engaged in agri-
cultural pursuits. He was an ardent worker in the Presbyterian church and a mu-
sician of marked talent. At his death he left a family of five sons and three daugh-
ters. Frederick, the eldest son, became a prominent and influential citizen of Scho-
harie. New York. Eli. another son. was the first man in the village of Jefferson to
enlist in the Civil war, giving loyal service, and he died from injuries and sickness
incurred on duty.
Charles Rowley, the youngest son of Edward Rowley, was born in Jeffer-
son, New York, on the 1 ith of January, 1838. After pursuing a course of study in
the Franklin Literary Institute of New York he taught school for a time, and in
i860 took up his abode in Lexington, Michigan, where he became secretary of an
extensive lumber and milling concern. In 1866 he came to North Fairfield, Hu-
ron county, Ohio, here residing until called to his final rest on the 28th of No-
vember. 1891. He was actively and successfully engaged in the conduct of mer-
cantile enterprises at North Fairfield and eventually became connected with agri-
cultural, banking and other interests. His political allegiance was given to the
democracy and his fellow townsmen, recognizing his worth and ability, called him
to various positions of public trust. In 1863 he wedded Miss Elizabeth Stevens, of
Ripley township, who now lives at the old Fairfield home, which she hospitably
maintains, there spending her declining years beloved by all who know her. She
devotes much time and attention to church, charitable and social duties. Her
father. Timothy Stevens, who was numbered among the worthy pioneers and prom-
inent business men of Huron county, made his home at North {'airfield until the
time of his death in 1883. His wife was of Scotch descent and a member of the
Rose and Grant families. Unto Charles and Elizabeth (Stevens) Rowley were
born five children, as follows: Edward F.. a banker of Toledo. Ohio; Arthur Eli,
of this review ; Charles Scott, a lawyer residing in Toledo ; Alcott, who is engaged
in the insurance business in that city ; and Anna, who passed away shortly after
the death of her father.
In his youthful days Arthur Eli Rowley attended the village school and when
not busy with his text-books worked in his father's store or on the farm. He wa^
graduated from the high school in 1884 and the following year pursued a course
of study at < )berlin preparatory to entering the University of Michigan, which in-
stitution conferred upon him the degree <u" bachelor of Philosophy in 1889. The
next year he began the study of law at the Chicago College of Law and, after com-
pleting the prescribed course, was admitted to the Ohio bar in 1802. Immediately
afterward he entered upon the practice of his chosen profession as a partner of
the Hon. Gideon T. Stewart, of Norwalk. where, with the exception of a brief
period spent in Toledo, he has since resided. I lis practice has been general, though
he has been actively engaged in court work and has enjoyed the clientage of several
banks and other large institutions. In 1898, in association with Judges Willis
510
HISTORY OF HURON COUNTY
Vickery and Charles S. Rentley, he organized the Cleveland Law School, one of
the largest and best known institutions of its kind in Ohio, and nas since been a
member of its faculty and board of trustees. He was likewise one of the organ-
izers of the Citizens Ranking Company of Xorwalk and is a member of its board
of directors.
In 1895 Judge Rowley was joined in wedlock to Miss Etta Reed, of North
Fairfield, the accomplished daughter of Hon. D. H. Reed. Their union has been
blessed with three children : Charles Reed, Caroline Annette and Mary Frances.
Politically Judge Rowley is a stalwart advocate of the democracy and an ac-
tive worker in the ranks of the party, having served as a member of the state
executive committee. In i8<>> he was elected mayor of Xorwalk by a majority of
over two hundred, though the city has a normal republican majority of more than
three hundred v ies. That his administration won public approval was indicated
in an unmistakable manner in 1901, when he was re-elected to the mayoralty by a
handsome majority. In 1908 be led the fight of bis party in Huron county and,
thought not a single democrat had held a county office for fifty- four years, their
efforts resulted in the election of sixteen out of seventeen democratic officials. Mr.
Rowley leading by a majority of sixteen hundred and thirty for the office of pro-
bate judge, which position he now holds. He is a Mason, also belongs to the
Beta Thcta Pi college fraternity, and attends divine services at the Presbyterian
church. He is an able, faithful and conscientious member of the bench and bar,
and in his private life is endeared to all who know him by the simple nobility of
his character.
Digitized by Google
BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX
Andrew*, J. J 412
Armstrong, M. V 242
Arnold. I). J. V 424
Averv, tSeorge 3 IS
Rarn'ard. 11 C 41)7
Parties, .1. R. 12a
Rarnes. X. A 324
Barney, B 2M
Rateham, C. S 124
Reattie. A. M 463
Rcchstein. K. W 201
Beckstein. V. A 422
Rcecher. E. 1* 124
iwufdii-t. i). i) am
Bixby, \V 421
Roardman. 1L R 222
Boebler, Henry 429
Row en. A. R. .422
Brooks, W. D 421
Brown, C. F 3112
Buckingham, E. V. B 32fi
Canticld. <;. E 322
Canficld. YV. A 332
Carpenter. Irving 143
Carter, <>. a 422
Curt wright. N*. S 421
Cole. L. L 420
Coleman. M. R imi
Cook. C. C 32Q
took. S. U 2fl4
Dcllinger. J. F 49S
Den man. J. A 342
Derby. Roswcll. Sr 412
Didion, J. 1 4ia
Donne, O. M 222
Donaldson. II. X 2US
Drnke. II. I) 112
Brnsberger. R. J 102
Fisher. E. K. 421
Fisher, Joseph 102
Fleteher. IL F 241
French. C. I 202
Frey, .1. D 421
Fnutow. n 12a
tlnlley. C. r; 312
tJntes. John 423
Gilford. L J 331
Oill, W. E. 323
Gillett, L M 341
C.odfred. Charles 322
Codfnd, IL C 400
Clreen, Linton -*73
Critic. Louis 311S
Growl. Martin 44fi
Haas, L T nop
Hall. B. R 4JiQ
Hansen. X. T 201
Harland, E. .1 ±22
Hawlcy. E. X 223
Heitsi tiger. L. P 300
Heyman. C. C 2114
Heyman, C. J no
Heyman. ('. \V 122
Heyman. Henry 4fii
Heyman. Isaac 122
Hey man, W. C 433
Himl>erger. William 222
Houle, J. . . 322
Houle. W. U 222
Hurst. M. .1 322
Hurst. X. t; 322
Hyde. Joseph . 402
Hyde, M. II. 221
Hyde. S. R 425
Kellogg. T. I' 322
Laning. F. H. Iflfl
Ijiwrence, C. R 441
Lawrence, Thomas 377
Lee. J. A 405
T,oe, X. W 406
Lehman. Ralsor 323
Leis, A. S 320
LoretZ. Peter 351
Me t ague. W. R 452
McDonald. IL A ififi
Melntyre. M. A 442
Mc-Pherson. Cnrdiner 120
Mains, t;. II 312
March. Robert 321
Xelson. Mary 4S«
Xims. D. R. 222
Xorman. John 32»
Oppermnn, Fred. 47Q
Park. J. C 31Q
Parsons. C. W 404
Peck. IL T 322
Pratt. LI 3 fiO
Ransom. .L C 322
Reynolds, o. P 322
Roth. Peter 302
Rowell. R. D. 412
Rowland. E. E 402
Rowley, A. E. 202
Runyan. G. W 342
Russell. C. A 401
Russell. Julia .1 505
Google
HISTORICAL INDEX
Saekett. K. I) iW
Sanders. A. 1) 130.
Sattij*. W. H 3M
Schafl'eld, J. A 31&
Schild. (i. P ±12
Schlatter, Frank Ui2
Soeley. J. E 5112
Seymour, F. B 3£2
Shedd, D. E aim
Silliman. K. P. JH2S
Simmon*. I j. E 2'.).*»
Smith, A. B ISA
Smith. I). C 332
Snook. L 438
Snvdor. H. W 421
Snyder, W. T 13S
Stacey. Charles 313
Stein* William 133
StiniHon, Susanna 2112
Stoll. Oenrge 223
Stone, Pbilo 121
Slower, C. A 414
sweet. Mrs. Joseph tin
Svken, Otis
Thomas. (J. T 2S4
Thompson. C. C Sfifi
Titus. p an
Tow-mend, E. E 3fiA
Tinker. ('. K ±15
Vail. A. S 31i
Viall. A. B 3M
Walter. F. .1 385
Weed ma ii, 0. B 431
White. 1L K 287
Whitman. John 22fi
Wick ham. B. B 223
Wilhelm. I'eter 1^1
Williams, A. C iliii
Wood. B B 432
Woodward. D. 0 12fi
Wyant. L 1 311
Young, Noah, 331
Google
HISTORICAL INDEX
Preface 3
History of the Firelands 5
History of Huron County 6
Roster of County Officials IS
The First Settlers of the Townships 13
Interesting Historical Data 14
Huron County Soldiers 16
The Firelands 20
Xorwalk— Origin of the Name 46
One Century of Xorwalk 51
Xorwalk's Centennial 58
The Churches of Xorwalk 73
Public Buildings of Xorwalk 78
Xorwalk of Today 83
The Indians of the Firelands 84
Settlement of Huron County 85
Indian Traits ami Customs 86
Pioneer Catherines 88
Progress and Changes of the Times 92
Early Schools 9 4
Pioneer Preachers of the Firelands !>.">
Pioneer Stories 97
Hunting In the Early Settlements 102
Pioneer Boyhood on the Firelands 102
Clothing of the Pioneer 108
Schools Ill
Amusements 1 1 il
Transportation 115
Postal Facilities 115
Heath Among the Pioneers 116
Conclusion 117
Johnny Appleseed H7
How .lay Cooke Financed the Ci\il War. .123
The Firelands Historical Society 134
Remember the Pioneers 136
The Past and the Present 138
An Interesting Paper 138
Execution of Two Indians at Xorwalk. . . 144
Honor the Pioneer Men and Women 145
Hunting in Pioneer Times 146
Then and Xow 147
Memorial Day Musings 153
War Events and Incidents 154
A Romance of Real Life 155
Pioneer Men and Women of Ohio 161
Pioneer Times 163
Ruggles iriO
Xew London 167
Monroeville 168
Chicago Junction 173
Xorwalk 183
Bellevue 184
Plymouth 194
List of Townships in Huron County 195
Bronson Township 195
Clarksfield Township 197
Fairfield Township 214
Fitcbville Township 218
(ireenfield Township ' 223
(ireenwieh Township 226
Hartland Township 232
Lyme Township 234
Xorwalk Township 236
Xew London Township 238
Xew Haven Township 243
Xorwich Township 249
Peru Township 256
Richmond Township 259
Ripley Township 2(52
Ridgefield Township 264
Sherman Township 268
Townsend Township 270
Wnkeman Township 274
Digitized by Google
Digitized by Google
■
i
Digitized by Google